Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded PC

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 169 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 169

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    I enjoyed this game, however it became clear as I played that sometimes things are a bit better in retrospect. I loved the whole LSL series and I was a kickstarter supporter of the campaign because of it. I played many of the games multiple times, but perhaps I have aged a little too much, matured, or perhaps I just see a wee bit too much of the old Laffer in myself these days. The humorI enjoyed this game, however it became clear as I played that sometimes things are a bit better in retrospect. I loved the whole LSL series and I was a kickstarter supporter of the campaign because of it. I played many of the games multiple times, but perhaps I have aged a little too much, matured, or perhaps I just see a wee bit too much of the old Laffer in myself these days. The humor was good for the most part, I found the re-mix of a few puzzles confusing, and while the visuals were nice I found the animation a bit too choppy for my tastes. Nit picking I know, still bothered me a bit in this day of fantastically powerful devices. I do give kudos for the excellent cross platform support and it runs quite nicely on my Linux system which alone buys a few points from me. Overall I am happy with the experience, but I would like to have seen a bit more polish, and I really hope instead of going though the series again we will see LSL8 sooner rather than later. Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2013
    7
    I'm not old enough to have played the original, but I did play Love for Sail when it came out, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Compared to it, this remake of the original feels quite limited. It looks beautiful however and does bring back some fond memories. I recognize that Lowe had an extremely tough job, LSL is a series of games that were designed with a very different kind of SundayI'm not old enough to have played the original, but I did play Love for Sail when it came out, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Compared to it, this remake of the original feels quite limited. It looks beautiful however and does bring back some fond memories. I recognize that Lowe had an extremely tough job, LSL is a series of games that were designed with a very different kind of Sunday afternoon in mind, one that existed somewhere in the early and mid 90's and then promptly disappeared, along with much of the world's innocence. He chose to play it safe and aim mainly at the people who have played the original and wanted an updated version without much else, and that's fine. I hope he remakes the rest of the early titles as well and makes some money for his retirement, I'd gladly contribute to that without second thought. I would love to see a brand new LSL game from him, but I'm not sure you can do that anymore and make a game that is as saucy as the original games were for their time, when you are dealing either with people who will instantly rush for a guide when they are stuck at a puzzle, or a horde of hypocritical douchebags who spend half their day watching porn and the other half screaming "MISOGYNY" at the slightest sexual innuendo. Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2014
    7
    Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded is yet another remake of Sierra's infamous 1987 classic, Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards and it does a good job of bringing the audio and music to the 21st century, thanks to top quality voice acting and a fitting soundtrack by master composer, Austin Wintory. It's just a pity that some of the animations could've been better not to mentionLeisure Suit Larry: Reloaded is yet another remake of Sierra's infamous 1987 classic, Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards and it does a good job of bringing the audio and music to the 21st century, thanks to top quality voice acting and a fitting soundtrack by master composer, Austin Wintory. It's just a pity that some of the animations could've been better not to mention gameplay is a bit of a mixed bag: the game does contain some fresh new puzzles (to keep the fans on their toes) but it also has some old-fashioned grind you'll have to overcome too. If you're a fan of Leisure Suit Larry, you probably already have this game and nothing more needs to be said. If you're an adventure game fan that never really played the 1987 or 1991 versions of Leisure Suit Larry, but curious as to what they're about, I'd recommend you give this one a shot. Otherwise, you may want to reconsider checking it out as there's some worthy competition in the adventure gaming sphere nowadays. If only Al Lowe could work on a new story altogether... Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2013
    7
    I'm a big fan of Larry and looked forward to this reloaded version. In honesty, I think they 'reloaded' the wrong game I think the best of the series was Love For Sail. My biggest disappointment was the fact that beyond the graphical update, there was nothing new bars some puzzle tweaks. I think the kickstarter funds would have been better placed creating an entirely new Larry, based onI'm a big fan of Larry and looked forward to this reloaded version. In honesty, I think they 'reloaded' the wrong game I think the best of the series was Love For Sail. My biggest disappointment was the fact that beyond the graphical update, there was nothing new bars some puzzle tweaks. I think the kickstarter funds would have been better placed creating an entirely new Larry, based on what worked with the old ones as many of the 'modern' Larrys are utter crap. I'd have liked a continuation from Love For Sail, which was going to be called Lust In Space. This is a novelty and quickly wore thin for me and can't believe it took $600,000+ to achieve. Good game if you're nostalgic, but I think random gamers with no experience of Larry "won't get it" etc. Very funny, sarcastic humour, all amusing, but still short of that in Love For Sail. If any of the team involved happen to read this, consider Lust In Space next, continuing from the abduction scene at the end of Love For Sail Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2013
    7
    When I saw the kickstarter I was a little apprehensive. The graphics did not look the best but the right people were in place to get it done right. Mostly I felt bad about acquiring the original game through other means so I donated money to help it get made.

    Years later and it is the first kickstarter video game to be released. The graphics... are still nothing to write home about. In
    When I saw the kickstarter I was a little apprehensive. The graphics did not look the best but the right people were in place to get it done right. Mostly I felt bad about acquiring the original game through other means so I donated money to help it get made.

    Years later and it is the first kickstarter video game to be released. The graphics... are still nothing to write home about. In fact, some of the graphics are down right bad. However, the audio, the music, the humor, is spectacular. Every click with every type of mouse pointer gives a different result for every location. What happens when you look at a girl's arm? or lick the sidewalk or type and pick up a building? The narrator will have a unique and sometime hilarious response to your every action. That is what this game is really all about. Some unique Al Lowe humor that everyone has come to know and love. This humor is what was sorely missing in the 3D versions of this game and I missed it so much. Just wished the fixed up the sprite animations more.
    Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2013
    7
    A cool and impressive remake to the classic point-and-click adventure game, Leisure Suit Larry. This game is a lot of fun, especially thanks to the great work done and time spent on this quality remake.

    The only drawback, in my opinion, is the exagerated use of the narrator in the game. Wherever you go, whatever you do, everytime you click the left button of the mouse, you get a long
    A cool and impressive remake to the classic point-and-click adventure game, Leisure Suit Larry. This game is a lot of fun, especially thanks to the great work done and time spent on this quality remake.

    The only drawback, in my opinion, is the exagerated use of the narrator in the game. Wherever you go, whatever you do, everytime you click the left button of the mouse, you get a long and well-acted presentation from the narrator. Why is this bad, you ask? Because the long speeches get boring and tedious and kind of hurt the gameplay. At a certain point I started cutting the narrator mid-sentence, since I wanted to move on, thus missing some important information.

    All in all, despite the tedious narrator, I had fun. Definitely worth buying if you like point-and-click adventures, and especially if you've played one of the previous versions (the original from the late 80s, I think, and the point-and-click remake from the early 90s).
    Expand
  7. Sep 19, 2013
    6
    Whilst the artwork and voice work is well done, LSLR really just shows how far that the point-and-click adventures have moved on since the original and what used to be risqué humour just comes across as rather sad and unfunny. That's not Replay's fault, it's just the world moving on few changes were promised and few changes were given.

    It does fail a little with the animation, it's
    Whilst the artwork and voice work is well done, LSLR really just shows how far that the point-and-click adventures have moved on since the original and what used to be risqué humour just comes across as rather sad and unfunny. That's not Replay's fault, it's just the world moving on few changes were promised and few changes were given.

    It does fail a little with the animation, it's quite clunky at times and bugs (such as with save games and achievements) have not been addressed, which is disappointing. The interface also feels rather unwieldy and slow compared to newer titles.

    As a nostalgia trip, it's fine. As a new point-and-click, it's lagging somewhat.
    Expand
  8. Jun 28, 2013
    0
    This review was originally published to Geek News Network. You can find it in its entirety at http://bit.ly/13cSS8B.

    In the early part of last year a revolution of sorts began in gaming. That revolution being Kickstarter, the web-platform that allows you to post projects and get financial support from a community of people. (I’m sure you’ve heard of it, so I have no idea why I chose to
    This review was originally published to Geek News Network. You can find it in its entirety at http://bit.ly/13cSS8B.

    In the early part of last year a revolution of sorts began in gaming. That revolution being Kickstarter, the web-platform that allows you to post projects and get financial support from a community of people. (I’m sure you’ve heard of it, so I have no idea why I chose to explain it.) It’s now around 14-15 months later and the first of these early gaming projects has been released! That game is Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards: Reloaded, a remake of the 1987 and 1991 game from Al Lowe. (I wrote a series of reviews a little over a year ago on the original Leisure Suit Larry game, as well as its sequels.)

    Providing a narrator as well as having Jan Rabson reprise the role of Larry Laffer, gives the tale of love, perversion, and feelings not wholly unfamiliar a new lease on life.

    In fact, instead of delving into writing a new back story for this game, allow me to quote myself from last year:

    The original Leisure Suit Larry is the tale of Larry Laffer and his journey to city of Lost Wages (a clever play on Las Vegas) in search of the what all 40-year-old males are looking for: A way to lose his virginity. Isn’t that just adorable? Larry’s journey takes him down many paths in search of the right woman. Well, one path to be exact. Hey, this is a classic adventure game of the late-80′s; linear games were the bread and butter of the gaming world at this time. Larry can travel all around Lost Wages and its stylish five locations: the Convenience Store; Disco; Casino; Wedding Chapel; and the most famous bar of them all, as stated by Destructoid, Lefty’s Bar.

    Looking for Love in Lost Wages

    Larry; Larry Laffer is the very definition of a lovable loser. The man, for lack of a better qualification, is a character that is somehow unstuck in time. Larry, and what he represents, shouldn’t make sense in the year 2013, yet here we are looking at a new game starring the aged protagonist. “A new game?” you might be asking. Yes, this is a new game, because while the bones may belong to the classic point-and-click adventure game of 20+ years ago, it has been reimagined and rewritten to bring it into the 21st century.

    The jokes, parts of the story, and even the puzzles have been rethought to both play up the nostalgia for those who played Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards, while also making the game seem fresher in the eyes of a more modern audience. Honestly, after playing through it yesterday I am finding it hard to figure out if it is set in the 1980′s or 2010′s. The jokes work from the perspective of either era; particularly with the narrator regularly breaking the fourth wall to comment on the jokes themselves.

    Speaking of that narrator, Neil Ross makes his triumphant return to Leisure Suit Larry after having narrated the last true Larry game, Love for Sail back in 1997. Our younger readers, or anyone that never played an LSL title will likely recognize Neil from his work as the voice of the codex in the Mass Effect series. This, for the record, is a total mindfrell for me and at least partially explains my fascination with both series. Providing a narrator to this classic Larry adventure, as well as having Jan Rabson reprise the role of Larry Laffer, gives the tale of love, perversion, and feelings not wholly unfamiliar a new lease on life.

    The Times They Are a-Changin’

    Being a remake of a remake of a classic game, there are obviously some changes in store. I already mentioned that some of the puzzles and jokes have been rethought in an effort to spice up the title, but that’s not the only reason for a change. Due to the success of the Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded Kickstarter campaign last year, the folks at Replay Games were able to add in a new “conquest” for the “venerable” Larry Laffer. Jasmine is a lovely, as well as welcome addition to the game; one in which I will not spoil. While her storyline doesn’t top the joy and absurdness of one of my personal favorite love interests, Fawn, I will say that she adds a certain heat to the already enjoyable game. With the addition of Jasmine, the folks at Replay Games and N-Fusion Interactive took the liberty of reworking some of the overall structure of Leisure Suit Larry. In the old days Larry would have the option of tracking down a certain inflatable friend in the hotel room of Eve, the final conquest, inflating said friend, and following it out onto the deck where he would meet the aforementioned Eve. In the new game, things are changed up drastically. Larry finds the blow-up doll still in the closet of a hotel room, but not the same one as before. Said balloon friend is also in terrible condition, requiring of an item that is acquired from Jasmine. It’s a slight change, sure, but it changes up the flow and forces longtime Larry fans to rethink their strategies for completing the game.
    Collapse
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 45
  2. Negative: 12 out of 45
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 7, 2013
    80
    Although the animation isn't what you expect, Larry's return makes you laugh. It proves that adventure games aren't relics, and that something we considered funny as we were kids is still funny. The game relies on nostalgia, but adds its own flavor to the mix. [Aug 2013]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 19, 2013
    60
    A technologically excellent and humorous remake of the original Larry game is an enjoyable little game. Especially for those contemporaries of the once famous series, who are now overgrown by moss. [Issue#232]
  3. PC Gamer
    Sep 13, 2013
    40
    I just sat there and gambled until I finally felt so angry with the game that I wanted to stab my screen. [Nov 2013, p.78]