Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded PC

Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 166 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Larry’s original creator, the infamous game designer Al Lowe, has teamed up with Sierra Veteran Josh Mandel, to bring this game back to life – updated and expanded in a myriad of ways. All they kept from the original game is the plot.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 45
  2. Negative: 12 out of 45
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 7, 2013
    80
    Although the animation isn't what you expect, Larry's return makes you laugh. It proves that adventure games aren't relics, and that something we considered funny as we were kids is still funny. The game relies on nostalgia, but adds its own flavor to the mix. [Aug 2013]
  2. Jul 5, 2013
    77
    Nice adventure remake with the trusted Al Lowe humor. The technical improvements are what you could expect so it would have benefitted from additional content as well.
  3. Jul 20, 2013
    70
    In the end, however, the price of admission is a pretty cheap trip down memory lane. For less than $20 bucks you can relive a bit of naughty fun.
  4. Jul 12, 2013
    63
    Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded is still very funny to play, but some of the mechanics are painful.
  5. Jul 4, 2013
    58
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Jul 1, 2013
    50
    With its creaky, ancient-feeling game mechanics and ultimate lack of replayability, Reloaded feels like it would be much more at home on mobile platforms at a much smaller cost than its $20 release price tag.
  7. Jul 19, 2013
    20
    The world did not need this Leisure Suit Larry game, and it does not need any more.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 70
  2. Negative: 4 out of 70
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    Leisure Suit Larry returns in a remake of the original classic that started it all. And it's not just a 1:1 rehash, either. The story hasLeisure Suit Larry returns in a remake of the original classic that started it all. And it's not just a 1:1 rehash, either. The story has been extended, the puzzles changed, and the graphics updated to a new generation of adventure game fans. But, it still retains the charm that Al Lowe brought back in 1987. If you're a fan of point-and-click games, you won't be disappointed. Collapse
  2. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you haven't played this game, why not! It is full of things the PC Police does not like (sexual innuendos, censored nudity and puzzles that you can figure out if you just write down what the skin mag says in the convenience store). Oh, and you will do better at 21 in the casino if you "save often and restore when you mess up!" I know, there are a lot of puzzles for you youngsters but if you get stumped go to Al Lowe's web site and click on "Email Me!" Warning: This game is not for anyone under 21! You will be booted out of the game. Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In a part of my mind where the years run together, I remember firing up our 386 computer and playing the VGA remake of Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards with my older brother. I think about those days often. Perhaps it is because video games were better back then, or perhaps it is because I simply enjoyed them more. Either way, the magic in video games is gone. When I backed Larry Reloaded, it was entirely for nostalgic reasons. Remake or not, I wanted to see a new Al Lowe game.
    Playing the game, I found a familiar friend—the old icon bar. One of the greatest things about Larry games were the detailed sensory descriptions. As graphics have improved, this has gone away to the detriment of the gaming experience. A picture may say 1,000 words, but not necessarily the right words. In adventures games, narrators felt like characters in their own right. The narrator interacts with the player, compliments him when he solves a puzzle and mocks him when he is stuck.
    When entering Larry Reloaded, the veteran play will find himself in a familiar place, Lefty’s Bar. He’s been here before and knows what to do. The player walks up to the bar and orders a shot of whiskey. Then he walks to the bathroom and gives that shot to a drunk. However, instead of a TV remote, the drunk gives the player a coaster. Suddenly the player—who was content with a quick jog down memory lane—realizes that Al Lowe and Josh Mandel are going to put him to work a bit. The tweaked puzzles add some life to this game without taking away from the original purpose.
    Any fan of the series should be please with this update. It is exactly what we were promised and then some. I look forward to a remake of LSL2, which was always my favorite. And I’ll be the first in line to back that Kickstarter.
    Expand
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    A really good remake! They reloaded the graphics, but the most important thing, they reloaded the puzzles. That offers the possibility thatA really good remake! They reloaded the graphics, but the most important thing, they reloaded the puzzles. That offers the possibility that who played the old versions (like me) can totally enjoy the game again. One more thing, the voices are great! And the laughs are guaranteed! I do recommend it. Expand
  5. Jul 1, 2013
    9
    A nice remake with enhanced puzzles great graphics and sound even new parts, if you like adventure games don't miss this game, for me It'sA nice remake with enhanced puzzles great graphics and sound even new parts, if you like adventure games don't miss this game, for me It's worth every penny Expand
  6. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    This review was originally published to Geek News Network. You can find it in its entirety at http://bit.ly/13cSS8B.

    In the early part of
    This review was originally published to Geek News Network. You can find it in its entirety at http://bit.ly/13cSS8B.

    In the early part of last year a revolution of sorts began in gaming. That revolution being Kickstarter, the web-platform that allows you to post projects and get financial support from a community of people. (I’m sure you’ve heard of it, so I have no idea why I chose to explain it.) It’s now around 14-15 months later and the first of these early gaming projects has been released! That game is Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards: Reloaded, a remake of the 1987 and 1991 game from Al Lowe. (I wrote a series of reviews a little over a year ago on the original Leisure Suit Larry game, as well as its sequels.)

    Providing a narrator as well as having Jan Rabson reprise the role of Larry Laffer, gives the tale of love, perversion, and feelings not wholly unfamiliar a new lease on life.

    In fact, instead of delving into writing a new back story for this game, allow me to quote myself from last year:

    The original Leisure Suit Larry is the tale of Larry Laffer and his journey to city of Lost Wages (a clever play on Las Vegas) in search of the what all 40-year-old males are looking for: A way to lose his virginity. Isn’t that just adorable? Larry’s journey takes him down many paths in search of the right woman. Well, one path to be exact. Hey, this is a classic adventure game of the late-80′s; linear games were the bread and butter of the gaming world at this time. Larry can travel all around Lost Wages and its stylish five locations: the Convenience Store; Disco; Casino; Wedding Chapel; and the most famous bar of them all, as stated by Destructoid, Lefty’s Bar.

    Looking for Love in Lost Wages

    Larry; Larry Laffer is the very definition of a lovable loser. The man, for lack of a better qualification, is a character that is somehow unstuck in time. Larry, and what he represents, shouldn’t make sense in the year 2013, yet here we are looking at a new game starring the aged protagonist. “A new game?” you might be asking. Yes, this is a new game, because while the bones may belong to the classic point-and-click adventure game of 20+ years ago, it has been reimagined and rewritten to bring it into the 21st century.

    The jokes, parts of the story, and even the puzzles have been rethought to both play up the nostalgia for those who played Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards, while also making the game seem fresher in the eyes of a more modern audience. Honestly, after playing through it yesterday I am finding it hard to figure out if it is set in the 1980′s or 2010′s. The jokes work from the perspective of either era; particularly with the narrator regularly breaking the fourth wall to comment on the jokes themselves.

    Speaking of that narrator, Neil Ross makes his triumphant return to Leisure Suit Larry after having narrated the last true Larry game, Love for Sail back in 1997. Our younger readers, or anyone that never played an LSL title will likely recognize Neil from his work as the voice of the codex in the Mass Effect series. This, for the record, is a total mindfrell for me and at least partially explains my fascination with both series. Providing a narrator to this classic Larry adventure, as well as having Jan Rabson reprise the role of Larry Laffer, gives the tale of love, perversion, and feelings not wholly unfamiliar a new lease on life.

    The Times They Are a-Changin’

    Being a remake of a remake of a classic game, there are obviously some changes in store. I already mentioned that some of the puzzles and jokes have been rethought in an effort to spice up the title, but that’s not the only reason for a change. Due to the success of the Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded Kickstarter campaign last year, the folks at Replay Games were able to add in a new “conquest” for the “venerable” Larry Laffer. Jasmine is a lovely, as well as welcome addition to the game; one in which I will not spoil. While her storyline doesn’t top the joy and absurdness of one of my personal favorite love interests, Fawn, I will say that she adds a certain heat to the already enjoyable game. With the addition of Jasmine, the folks at Replay Games and N-Fusion Interactive took the liberty of reworking some of the overall structure of Leisure Suit Larry. In the old days Larry would have the option of tracking down a certain inflatable friend in the hotel room of Eve, the final conquest, inflating said friend, and following it out onto the deck where he would meet the aforementioned Eve. In the new game, things are changed up drastically. Larry finds the blow-up doll still in the closet of a hotel room, but not the same one as before. Said balloon friend is also in terrible condition, requiring of an item that is acquired from Jasmine. It’s a slight change, sure, but it changes up the flow and forces longtime Larry fans to rethink their strategies for completing the game.
    Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    1
    I adored the old Larry games which I played through multiple times as a kid, and recently just to revisit the franchise. This remake playsI adored the old Larry games which I played through multiple times as a kid, and recently just to revisit the franchise. This remake plays worse that the old games, with frustrating controls, an annoying voice over, dull and inconsistent graphics etc.
    This game is a thorough disappointment.
    Expand

See all 70 User Reviews