Leviathan: Warships PC

Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 6, 2013
    71
    Primarily marketed as a multiplayer game, I was a little disappointed to see that there are very few people playing online. Granted, I’m more of a single-player gamer and I enjoyed my time with the single-player missions but these are not fleshed out enough for me to want to play them over and over. The real Leviathan: Warships experience is meant to be consumed online where you compete against human players that employ ever changing tactics and unlimited surprises.
  2. May 30, 2013
    70
    Despite the budget Leviathan: Warships propose a naval RTS interesting and complex.
  3. May 24, 2013
    70
    Leviathan combines real time strategy with turn based elements and confronts me with fleet combination and ship specialization. Unfortunately the campaign is too short and suffers from weak presentation. The multiplayer skirmishes are actually quite good though.
  4. May 9, 2013
    65
    In the enjoyable but bare-bones Leviathan: Warships, you customize a fleet of ships and pit it against your friends' fleets on the high seas.
  5. Jul 23, 2013
    53
    Leviathan is worth its price only in multiplayer as the single-player campaign is too shoddy and boring – just don’t forget to make yourself a big cup of valerian tea beforehand.
  6. Jun 9, 2013
    50
    A mediocre and too simplistic game piece leaving you buying some more fleets moreover. Its single-player campaign is anything but gaming world-shaking. The only positive is its multiplayer game.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. May 1, 2013
    7
    Great little turn based time waster. Felt it has similarities to Frozen Synapse.
    The PC version could use a few extra tweaks in the controls
    Great little turn based time waster. Felt it has similarities to Frozen Synapse.
    The PC version could use a few extra tweaks in the controls to make it more friendly.
    The Tutorial was a bit brief, not explaining much of the game to you after 2 rounds.
    Overall enjoyable, single player is fun. Network is great but a bit laggy at the moment.
    In game store already has DLC's available. So this looks like a DLC explosion game (if that bothers you, think Magicka)
    Full Review »
  2. May 3, 2013
    0
    Another game that releases with a (relatively) massive amount of Day 1 DLC. The product description, which once read that you could play "upAnother game that releases with a (relatively) massive amount of Day 1 DLC. The product description, which once read that you could play "up to 3 factions and 11 ships" has been removed. Why? Because you can only play 1 faction and 3 ships for your $10. For another $4.50 each, you can by the other 2 factions. So, to actually get the game they advertise, you have to pay $20, not $10.

    This puts Paradox right up there with EA in terms of shady practices. Not something I ever expected from them, hence I bought it without waiting for a review. My mistake. Won't happen again, Paradox. For that matter, you won't ever get my money again without an apology for this product.
    Full Review »
  3. May 6, 2013
    7
    The gameplay is good once you get used to it, personally I have no real problems with the controls. The graphics are good, with the big navalThe gameplay is good once you get used to it, personally I have no real problems with the controls. The graphics are good, with the big naval guns having a lot of weight to them. There isn't all that much single player content, and what there is really needs to be played coop anyway. Hopefully more will be added over time, but as it is I'd say it's currently worth the money. Full Review »