Leviathan: Warships PC

Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. May 23, 2013
    75
    It's a game that offers little to the solo player, despite the single-player campaign. With pals, it's an entirely different, much more entertaining experience. If you do have a tablet, then I recommend picking it up for that rather than PC, purely because of the much lower price.
  2. May 14, 2013
    80
    Leviathan’s simplicity is its strength – the games not that hard to make, it’s not that hard to learn, it doesn’t cost that much to acquire, yet it takes hours to master, hours to fiddle and tweak your ship and fleet loadouts.
  3. May 10, 2013
    77
    With easy controls and lots of customization options, naval battles in Leviathan: Warships shine in multiplayer but sputter in the stagnant single-player campaign.
  4. Jun 19, 2013
    81
    Engrossing, lovely to look at and with a potentially healthy shelf-life, if the multiplayer gets a toehold and gels cross-platform.
  5. May 7, 2013
    80
    Arguably this may result in a more watered down experience than PC gamers are used to, but it rarely hinders the gamer in any way. Yes, It does not have the extreme finicky depth of Frozen Synapse, yet it does not really need it.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. May 1, 2013
    7
    Great little turn based time waster. Felt it has similarities to Frozen Synapse.
    The PC version could use a few extra tweaks in the controls
    Great little turn based time waster. Felt it has similarities to Frozen Synapse.
    The PC version could use a few extra tweaks in the controls to make it more friendly.
    The Tutorial was a bit brief, not explaining much of the game to you after 2 rounds.
    Overall enjoyable, single player is fun. Network is great but a bit laggy at the moment.
    In game store already has DLC's available. So this looks like a DLC explosion game (if that bothers you, think Magicka)
    Full Review »
  2. May 3, 2013
    0
    Another game that releases with a (relatively) massive amount of Day 1 DLC. The product description, which once read that you could play "upAnother game that releases with a (relatively) massive amount of Day 1 DLC. The product description, which once read that you could play "up to 3 factions and 11 ships" has been removed. Why? Because you can only play 1 faction and 3 ships for your $10. For another $4.50 each, you can by the other 2 factions. So, to actually get the game they advertise, you have to pay $20, not $10.

    This puts Paradox right up there with EA in terms of shady practices. Not something I ever expected from them, hence I bought it without waiting for a review. My mistake. Won't happen again, Paradox. For that matter, you won't ever get my money again without an apology for this product.
    Full Review »
  3. May 6, 2013
    7
    The gameplay is good once you get used to it, personally I have no real problems with the controls. The graphics are good, with the big navalThe gameplay is good once you get used to it, personally I have no real problems with the controls. The graphics are good, with the big naval guns having a lot of weight to them. There isn't all that much single player content, and what there is really needs to be played coop anyway. Hopefully more will be added over time, but as it is I'd say it's currently worth the money. Full Review »