Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Aug 18, 2011
    98
    LIMBO is a wonderfully dark experience with its only real flaw being its stunted length.
  2. Aug 4, 2011
    95
    Limbo will assault your senses and challenge your intellect with one of the best puzzle-adventure games I've ever played on any system.
  3. Sep 8, 2011
    92
    A beautifully designed masterpiece of a platform game, that will chill, challenge and charm in equal measure. [Oct 2011, p.78]
  4. Aug 8, 2011
    91
    It immerses players almost effortlessly thanks to its sleek design and delightfully subtle lighting effects and creepy-looking shadows.
  5. Sep 19, 2011
    90
    A brilliant indie platformer. Braid can finally retire. [October 2011, p.100]
  6. Sep 15, 2011
    90
    Minimum effort, maximum tension!
  7. Sep 8, 2011
    90
    A superb, harrowing experience, guaranteed to crawl under your skin and stay there for a long time. [Oct 2011, p.58]
  8. 90
    Melancholic yet thrilling adventure you play over all at once. Game of clever puzzles and stylish visuals did not lose any of its appeal since its first appearance on consoles. [Issue#208]
  9. Aug 31, 2011
    90
    We waited a whole year for the PC and PS3 versions of Limbo, but it was worth it – it's a pearl one in a million. Games like this just don't age. [September 2011, p.69]
  10. 90
    A masterpiece that transcends the boundaries of platformers and puzzle games alike. Beautiful visuals, smooth gameplay and fantastic audio - it's one the most atmospheric games we've played in years.
  11. Aug 7, 2011
    90
    Yes, Limbo channels the poems of our inner teenagers about being misunderstood and lonely, but it does so bravely and beautifully, and it is a better game for it; a game that should not be missed.
  12. Aug 2, 2011
    90
    For anyone who isn't immediately enchanted by its look and style, even ten bucks might be a bit of a stretch, but I still find it exceedingly difficult not to wholeheartedly recommend LIMBO to fans of indie games.
  13. Aug 2, 2011
    90
    Thoughtful puzzles and striking aesthetics make Limbo a cerebral adventure you must experience.
  14. Aug 2, 2011
    90
    An incredible achievement. Very few games are as original, atmospheric, and consistently brilliant. It belongs in everybody's collection. The journey may be over too quickly, but you will be entertained every minute. This is one of my favorite games.
  15. Aug 9, 2011
    86
    Limbo is worth experiencing for the atmosphere alone, this little child´s world is an amazing place to get engaged. Aside of an obvious lack of complexity in its gameplay side this is one of the most artistic achievements you will see for years.
  16. Sep 8, 2011
    85
    One of the best physics puzzle games out there. A clever game and one devoid of pretension. [Oct 2011, p.104]
  17. 85
    Timeline that, to be honest, will be quite short. An hour, maybe two. That's if you don't want to get all 13 achievements, in which case you'll most likely need more than one playthrough.
  18. Aug 18, 2011
    85
    Limbo is a game worth playing, that much is for certain. I wouldn't recommend it as a purchase to those who have already played the title before, but if you have yet to experience what it's like walking through the darkness of a world that wants to see you dead, then give it a shot
  19. Aug 8, 2011
    85
    I like that for the most part it tests primarily your thinking capabilities, without resorting to hard-to-accomplish and time out ducking or jumping exercises to increase the game's difficulty. The visuals are shivers-up-your-spine creepy, and from the first to the last, though those two points are not very far apart, I've enjoyed my time in Limbo.
  20. Aug 4, 2011
    81
    This jump & run is a must-buy for every fan of the genre. Even beginners should take a look because Limbo shows that you don't need DirectX 11 or a huge story - just two colors and a lot of love.
  21. Jan 10, 2012
    80
    Limbo is a beautiful, intense experience.
  22. Aug 3, 2011
    79
    Limbo will stay with me for a long time. It's art style and sound design are strong enough to have left a mark. I can guarantee, though, that I will not replay the game. There is nothing to draw me back.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1083 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 224
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    Simple and brilliant. The result of game + art. Game mechanics is great and it's mood quite unique. Puzzles are quite easy but since mistakes often means death and restart, that's a good thing, to avoid them into become annoying. Checkpoints are well and often placed. It somehow reminded me of "Out Of This World" wich is a game I loved. Game sound is also amazing, focused on details and ambience with no music, making it's dark mood even more creepy. The weakest point is the game lenght... quite short... they could've made the game a little bigger, with harder puzzles near the end, but for 10 bucks it's more than worth it. Full Review »
  2. Sep 10, 2011
    4
    This is a really fun and beautifully designed game yet it has some serious flaws. First off, it's way too short, even for a budget title. After beating the game, Steam had my playtime logged at 69 minutes. That means this game actually costs more to play per minute than your typical bloated. big-budget title. My biggest complaint about professional and amateur reviewers is that they pay so little attention to cost. The professionals get the games for free, so I guess they have an excuse. But it is an important consideration. This is a good game but only for a much lower cost. I would price it at $5.00. Another factor relating to cost is that it has virtually no replay value. But that is typical for puzzle games.

    The other serious flaw is that many of the puzzles are entirely unsatisfying. You might think you are solving puzzles at first but at some point you realize you are just taking shots in the dark. Some of the puzzles are not possible to solve until after you've died at least once. My favorite part of playing a puzzle game is trying really hard not to die the first time. This doesn't happen often, but I just feel deflated as soon as I realize there was no way I could have solved it the first time no matter how carefully I thought it out beforehand. You can tell how good a puzzle is by how high you throw you hands up in the air once you finally solve it or are told the solution and say, "Ah, jeeze! How did I not see that to begin with? It's so obvious now!" Many of these puzzle will just leave you shrugging with indifference making this game more of a metaphor for life (and perhaps the afterlife) than I would care for. But it is still a fun game. It just doesn't live up to the absurd amount of hype buzzing around it. I would give it a much higher rating if the price were much lower.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 29, 2011
    4
    I really don't understand why everyone is calling this game a masterpiece.
    The graphics are unique and they work. The puzzle solving is pretty
    clever but it's nothing special. The sounds work for the game but there really aren't any. There's no music throughout, only ambient sounds here and there. The game is fun and surely worth playing but even at the low price of 10â Full Review »