Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1151 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: LIMBO, a black and white puzzle-platforming adventure, puts players in the role of a young boy traveling through an eerie and treacherous world in an attempt to discover the fate of his sister.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Aug 18, 2011
    98
    LIMBO is a wonderfully dark experience with its only real flaw being its stunted length.
  2. Sep 8, 2011
    92
    A beautifully designed masterpiece of a platform game, that will chill, challenge and charm in equal measure. [Oct 2011, p.78]
  3. Aug 2, 2011
    90
    An incredible achievement. Very few games are as original, atmospheric, and consistently brilliant. It belongs in everybody's collection. The journey may be over too quickly, but you will be entertained every minute. This is one of my favorite games.
  4. Aug 2, 2011
    90
    For anyone who isn't immediately enchanted by its look and style, even ten bucks might be a bit of a stretch, but I still find it exceedingly difficult not to wholeheartedly recommend LIMBO to fans of indie games.
  5. Sep 19, 2011
    90
    A brilliant indie platformer. Braid can finally retire. [October 2011, p.100]
  6. Sep 8, 2011
    85
    One of the best physics puzzle games out there. A clever game and one devoid of pretension. [Oct 2011, p.104]
  7. Aug 3, 2011
    79
    Limbo will stay with me for a long time. It's art style and sound design are strong enough to have left a mark. I can guarantee, though, that I will not replay the game. There is nothing to draw me back.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 232
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    Simple and brilliant. The result of game + art. Game mechanics is great and it's mood quite unique. Puzzles are quite easy but since mistakesSimple and brilliant. The result of game + art. Game mechanics is great and it's mood quite unique. Puzzles are quite easy but since mistakes often means death and restart, that's a good thing, to avoid them into become annoying. Checkpoints are well and often placed. It somehow reminded me of "Out Of This World" wich is a game I loved. Game sound is also amazing, focused on details and ambience with no music, making it's dark mood even more creepy. The weakest point is the game lenght... quite short... they could've made the game a little bigger, with harder puzzles near the end, but for 10 bucks it's more than worth it. Expand
  2. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    Limbo is a puzzle side-scroll game that's great. The gist is that you walk down a linear path solving puzzle along the way. The controls areLimbo is a puzzle side-scroll game that's great. The gist is that you walk down a linear path solving puzzle along the way. The controls are as simple as you can get. Use the arrow keys to walk and jump; control key to 'use' switches, crates, and other things. Most puzzles are satisfying and appropriate difficulty. The nice thing is that the puzzles vary throughout the game, keeping your interest. The art-style is worth mentioning. The game is presented in a black and white style. With it's ambient music, it adds to the whole feel of the game. It took me about 3 hours to run through the game once with no knowledge of any of the puzzles. Several steam achievements like finding hidden spots or beating the game with few deaths add to this time, but no more then 2 hours or so. Overall for $10, 5 hours of great gameplay is definitely worth it. This is a must buy. Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    If you can pick it up for $2-3 bucks you owe it to yourself to play it. I doubt it will every crack anyone's Top 10 list, but it's memorableIf you can pick it up for $2-3 bucks you owe it to yourself to play it. I doubt it will every crack anyone's Top 10 list, but it's memorable and touching. Keyboard controls (all five keys) work great. Expand
  4. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    Yes, the game is damn short (you can make it in about 3 hours), but it's not the length or replayability that makes this game fascinating.Yes, the game is damn short (you can make it in about 3 hours), but it's not the length or replayability that makes this game fascinating.

    It's the atmosphere and art that count. With every "puzzle"-ish game, once you know the solution, you won't forget it anymore. But while you're still on it, it will bind you to the screen, make you want to go on, escape, find the boy's sister.

    The way they ended the Demo alone was making me want to continue right away. The game captured me in about half an hour of playtime.

    The puzzles themselves are varied, and you won't feel like you've done this or that before. You'll have to run for your life more or less constantly, it will keep you on your toes.

    At ~3 hours of playtime, you can say that it's about $3 an hour.
    Is the game worth that?

    Yes it is.
    Play it at night, sit down, relax, and let the game get to you.
    Don't resist the chills. This game is worth your while.
    Expand
  5. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    One of the most beautiful and immersive games I've ever played. An extremely good example of what an indie game is and how wonderful of anOne of the most beautiful and immersive games I've ever played. An extremely good example of what an indie game is and how wonderful of an experience a well-made one is. But sadly, like many indies, this game is fairly short, taking most people about 3-4 hours to complete. But it has a lasting impression, and leaves you wanting more from Playdead, more puzzles and perilous obstacles to get past, more of this mysterious, ambient world. Navigating through this simple yet beautiful black-and-white environment to try answer the simple question "What is this place and why am I here?" is definitely a journey worth taking. Expand
  6. Sep 19, 2012
    7
    Love the black & white style to the game and from start to finish I can definitely say it looks beautiful, but it can also feel quiteLove the black & white style to the game and from start to finish I can definitely say it looks beautiful, but it can also feel quite redundant at times. Thankfully there are some memorable moments to break the monotony: the first "boss", the neon signs, and the rotating world all jump to mind. Unfortunately while much attention was paid to the art/animation by the developers - the game itself still feels unfinished. There is no story (only the title and your imagination to go by), little if any music (some levels this works while others beg for atmospheric melodies), and the ending sucked. Even having only offered ~5-6 hours of game-play with no replay value I still don't regret buying it. Its one of those indie games worth supporting. Expand
  7. Jan 5, 2014
    0
    The only reason I'm rating this a 'zero' instead of a 'three' is because the overall score is far too high. I purchased this game for itsThe only reason I'm rating this a 'zero' instead of a 'three' is because the overall score is far too high. I purchased this game for its unique art style and because I wanted a good puzzle game that made me think. However, I am not a fan of dying every five-to-thirty seconds in order to figure out the next puzzle. It turns what, in my view, should be an interesting puzzle game into a 1990s NES platformer. Seriously, the last time I died this often was when I played Ninja Turtles 1. This game is far from what I'd call an "indie masterpiece". It's cheap, it's gimmicky, it's a waste of money. Expand

See all 232 User Reviews

Trailers