LIMBO Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1253 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: LIMBO, a black and white puzzle-platforming adventure, puts players in the role of a young boy traveling through an eerie and treacherous world in an attempt to discover the fate of his sister.

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Aug 18, 2011
    98
    LIMBO is a wonderfully dark experience with its only real flaw being its stunted length.
  2. Sep 8, 2011
    92
    A beautifully designed masterpiece of a platform game, that will chill, challenge and charm in equal measure. [Oct 2011, p.78]
  3. Aug 2, 2011
    90
    An incredible achievement. Very few games are as original, atmospheric, and consistently brilliant. It belongs in everybody's collection. The journey may be over too quickly, but you will be entertained every minute. This is one of my favorite games.
  4. Aug 2, 2011
    90
    For anyone who isn't immediately enchanted by its look and style, even ten bucks might be a bit of a stretch, but I still find it exceedingly difficult not to wholeheartedly recommend LIMBO to fans of indie games.
  5. PC Games (Russia)
    Sep 19, 2011
    90
    A brilliant indie platformer. Braid can finally retire. [October 2011, p.100]
  6. PC Format
    Sep 8, 2011
    85
    One of the best physics puzzle games out there. A clever game and one devoid of pretension. [Oct 2011, p.104]
  7. Aug 3, 2011
    79
    Limbo will stay with me for a long time. It's art style and sound design are strong enough to have left a mark. I can guarantee, though, that I will not replay the game. There is nothing to draw me back.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 240
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    Simple and brilliant. The result of game + art. Game mechanics is great and it's mood quite unique. Puzzles are quite easy but since mistakesSimple and brilliant. The result of game + art. Game mechanics is great and it's mood quite unique. Puzzles are quite easy but since mistakes often means death and restart, that's a good thing, to avoid them into become annoying. Checkpoints are well and often placed. It somehow reminded me of "Out Of This World" wich is a game I loved. Game sound is also amazing, focused on details and ambience with no music, making it's dark mood even more creepy. The weakest point is the game lenght... quite short... they could've made the game a little bigger, with harder puzzles near the end, but for 10 bucks it's more than worth it. Expand
  2. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    Wow this game is brilliant. Who needs fancy 3D graphics? The game is simple, and the sounds with the darkness are definitely the games strongWow this game is brilliant. Who needs fancy 3D graphics? The game is simple, and the sounds with the darkness are definitely the games strong points!

    The puzzles are not to easy, yet you are also not going to solve it in a matter of seconds. It really makes you think, yet with so little controls you automatically know what to do.

    I was playing, and got to a certain point and was properly scared when you meet certain spiders - I don't usually get scared at games, but something just worked.

    I brought this game in the steam sale for £1.70, but after playing it - I'd of gladly paid the full price as well!
    Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    This game is a polished diamond. It's nothing for hardcore nerds who play nothing but Battlefield 3 and don't like to use their brains. LimboThis game is a polished diamond. It's nothing for hardcore nerds who play nothing but Battlefield 3 and don't like to use their brains. Limbo is a piece of game-art and should be treated like this. The optics athe sound designs are mindblowing. Its easy to fall in love with that game very quick. Everyone should have played this clever straight up jump and run thriller at least once. The only reason i didn't gice the game a full 10/10 is because i reached the end after 4 hours. I didnt want it to end cause i liked what i seen. Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    I can't fault the game while you are playing it. It's dark, atmospheric and really is a game that engrosses, astonishes and flat out shocks.I can't fault the game while you are playing it. It's dark, atmospheric and really is a game that engrosses, astonishes and flat out shocks. The only problem is that it's so short and when you finish, you are done. While it lasts though, it's experience that will stay with you for a very long time. Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    8
    After few months I have finally found time for this game. My expectations were high because I heard only praise for Limbo. After 7 hours ofAfter few months I have finally found time for this game. My expectations were high because I heard only praise for Limbo. After 7 hours of ultimate atmospheric ride which contains original puzzles, awesome sounds and unique world I must say that I do not regret the time spent. If you like puzzles or adventure-like games you should buy it right now. I promise that you will not regret. Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2012
    7
    Many of the puzzles seem to expect the player to either be a masochist, or to not notice that they are pseudo-puzzles. By that I refer to theMany of the puzzles seem to expect the player to either be a masochist, or to not notice that they are pseudo-puzzles. By that I refer to the times when you are forced to die to see how the "puzzle" is done so you can proceed. Pseudo-puzzles sap much of the satisfaction, and you begin to feel like you've payed money and spent time to get jerked around.

    I liked the art and music. The controls were slightly awkward but not unbearable. The main negative to this game would be the pseudo-puzzles. If it was all good quality puzzles, then the ratings would be appropriate - otherwise it is over-hyped and it isn't worth paying much for this. I was fortunate enough to get it for $2.50 on Steam, which I think was reasonable. But it isn't worth more than that. It's worth the short amount of time to play, just not worth much money.
    Expand
  7. Jan 5, 2014
    0
    The only reason I'm rating this a 'zero' instead of a 'three' is because the overall score is far too high. I purchased this game for itsThe only reason I'm rating this a 'zero' instead of a 'three' is because the overall score is far too high. I purchased this game for its unique art style and because I wanted a good puzzle game that made me think. However, I am not a fan of dying every five-to-thirty seconds in order to figure out the next puzzle. It turns what, in my view, should be an interesting puzzle game into a 1990s NES platformer. Seriously, the last time I died this often was when I played Ninja Turtles 1. This game is far from what I'd call an "indie masterpiece". It's cheap, it's gimmicky, it's a waste of money. Expand

See all 240 User Reviews

Trailers