Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1187 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: LIMBO, a black and white puzzle-platforming adventure, puts players in the role of a young boy traveling through an eerie and treacherous world in an attempt to discover the fate of his sister.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Aug 18, 2011
    98
    LIMBO is a wonderfully dark experience with its only real flaw being its stunted length.
  2. Sep 8, 2011
    92
    A beautifully designed masterpiece of a platform game, that will chill, challenge and charm in equal measure. [Oct 2011, p.78]
  3. Aug 2, 2011
    90
    An incredible achievement. Very few games are as original, atmospheric, and consistently brilliant. It belongs in everybody's collection. The journey may be over too quickly, but you will be entertained every minute. This is one of my favorite games.
  4. Aug 2, 2011
    90
    For anyone who isn't immediately enchanted by its look and style, even ten bucks might be a bit of a stretch, but I still find it exceedingly difficult not to wholeheartedly recommend LIMBO to fans of indie games.
  5. Sep 19, 2011
    90
    A brilliant indie platformer. Braid can finally retire. [October 2011, p.100]
  6. Sep 8, 2011
    85
    One of the best physics puzzle games out there. A clever game and one devoid of pretension. [Oct 2011, p.104]
  7. Aug 3, 2011
    79
    Limbo will stay with me for a long time. It's art style and sound design are strong enough to have left a mark. I can guarantee, though, that I will not replay the game. There is nothing to draw me back.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 234
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    Simple and brilliant. The result of game + art. Game mechanics is great and it's mood quite unique. Puzzles are quite easy but since mistakesSimple and brilliant. The result of game + art. Game mechanics is great and it's mood quite unique. Puzzles are quite easy but since mistakes often means death and restart, that's a good thing, to avoid them into become annoying. Checkpoints are well and often placed. It somehow reminded me of "Out Of This World" wich is a game I loved. Game sound is also amazing, focused on details and ambience with no music, making it's dark mood even more creepy. The weakest point is the game lenght... quite short... they could've made the game a little bigger, with harder puzzles near the end, but for 10 bucks it's more than worth it. Expand
  2. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    Wow this game is brilliant. Who needs fancy 3D graphics? The game is simple, and the sounds with the darkness are definitely the games strongWow this game is brilliant. Who needs fancy 3D graphics? The game is simple, and the sounds with the darkness are definitely the games strong points!

    The puzzles are not to easy, yet you are also not going to solve it in a matter of seconds. It really makes you think, yet with so little controls you automatically know what to do.

    I was playing, and got to a certain point and was properly scared when you meet certain spiders - I don't usually get scared at games, but something just worked.

    I brought this game in the steam sale for £1.70, but after playing it - I'd of gladly paid the full price as well!
    Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    This game is a polished diamond. It's nothing for hardcore nerds who play nothing but Battlefield 3 and don't like to use their brains. LimboThis game is a polished diamond. It's nothing for hardcore nerds who play nothing but Battlefield 3 and don't like to use their brains. Limbo is a piece of game-art and should be treated like this. The optics athe sound designs are mindblowing. Its easy to fall in love with that game very quick. Everyone should have played this clever straight up jump and run thriller at least once. The only reason i didn't gice the game a full 10/10 is because i reached the end after 4 hours. I didnt want it to end cause i liked what i seen. Expand
  4. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    Yes, the game is damn short (you can make it in about 3 hours), but it's not the length or replayability that makes this game fascinating.Yes, the game is damn short (you can make it in about 3 hours), but it's not the length or replayability that makes this game fascinating.

    It's the atmosphere and art that count. With every "puzzle"-ish game, once you know the solution, you won't forget it anymore. But while you're still on it, it will bind you to the screen, make you want to go on, escape, find the boy's sister.

    The way they ended the Demo alone was making me want to continue right away. The game captured me in about half an hour of playtime.

    The puzzles themselves are varied, and you won't feel like you've done this or that before. You'll have to run for your life more or less constantly, it will keep you on your toes.

    At ~3 hours of playtime, you can say that it's about $3 an hour.
    Is the game worth that?

    Yes it is.
    Play it at night, sit down, relax, and let the game get to you.
    Don't resist the chills. This game is worth your while.
    Expand
  5. Nov 3, 2013
    8
    Limbo is a 2-d puzzle game with a horror theme. It has appeal from both artistic and game play aspects, but it is definitely NOT suitable forLimbo is a 2-d puzzle game with a horror theme. It has appeal from both artistic and game play aspects, but it is definitely NOT suitable for children. The look of the game is very stylized. The colors are black and white, with a dream-like presentation. Foreground objects are out-of-focus, giving a 3-d feel to the game. There are spooky atmospheric sounds, and some sounds that are cues to solve puzzles. The character you control is little boy who is completely in silhouette, with two shining dots to show his eyes when he is still alive. The controls are surprisingly simple, move is the analog stick, X is interact, A is jump. The actions your character takes depend on the context, if you jump toward a rope or chain, you grab it. It you jump toward a ledge, you grab the ledge and then up on the analog stick makes you climb up. From these simple mechanics come some very clever puzzles. Compared to Vessel, which has very complicated actions that use many buttons and both analog sticks, it is a credit to the developer that the puzzles were so good with such a simple control scheme. The game mechanics are not explained in-game. If you are patient, you can figure them all out yourself. I am not quite so patient so I consulted the walk-through a few times to figure some of these out. With a game of this difficulty, I think there is no shame to consult a walk-through once in a while if you get really stuck. Of course, there is satisfaction in solving a really devilish puzzle. I took at least an hour to solve a puzzle involving crates, a ramp, and an anti-gravity field. When I finally solved it there was a YES! moment.

    The horror theme of the game will be a big plus or a big minus depending on your taste. The puzzles are very hard, and take many unsuccessful tries before success. Usually an unsuccessful try means death. The character you control has realistic 2d rag-doll physics including simulated black-and-white gore, and many of the puzzles involve spikes, giant spinning saw blades, spider-like monster that can impale with their legs, etc. Considering that your character is always in black-and-white silhouette, it is surprisingly shocking when your little guy gets chewed up by a sawblade or impaled on a spike or squashed to jelly in a giant piston. For me this created a spooky and tense atmosphere that added to your motivation to solve the puzzle and avoid gory death. Once in a while it was a little too much and I had to look away during the obligatory death before the restart. Of course, if you are a fan of 3-d survival horror games and horror films, this game will be tame and charming by comparison. I would say that if you were grossed out by quasi-horror films like The Shining or Alien then Limbo will be too much for you. For everyone else, I would say this is an excellent game, perhaps the best 2-d puzzle platform game ever made.
    Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2012
    7
    Great artwork, very interesting sometimes adult horror themes, I found the play-through refreshing and fun. there were, however, a coupleGreat artwork, very interesting sometimes adult horror themes, I found the play-through refreshing and fun. there were, however, a couple challenges which I spent most of my time playing the game on that dropped my rating significantly. I didn't want to play through the game again because of the difficultly of those challenges. Expand
  7. Jan 5, 2014
    0
    The only reason I'm rating this a 'zero' instead of a 'three' is because the overall score is far too high. I purchased this game for itsThe only reason I'm rating this a 'zero' instead of a 'three' is because the overall score is far too high. I purchased this game for its unique art style and because I wanted a good puzzle game that made me think. However, I am not a fan of dying every five-to-thirty seconds in order to figure out the next puzzle. It turns what, in my view, should be an interesting puzzle game into a 1990s NES platformer. Seriously, the last time I died this often was when I played Ninja Turtles 1. This game is far from what I'd call an "indie masterpiece". It's cheap, it's gimmicky, it's a waste of money. Expand

See all 234 User Reviews

Trailers