Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    88
    An original videogame with much more than it appears. It's an enchanting story about the friendship and the life from the point of view of a child that enjoys burning toys.
  2. Nov 22, 2012
    60
    Little Inferno is a charming arcade-puzzler with an interesting approach to storytelling. But as soon as your curiosity gets worked up the game is already over. Nonetheless an interesting snack for your lunch break.
  3. Jan 6, 2013
    30
    It's been ages since I wasted 5 hours so pointlessly. I felt like a victim of an exceptionally malicious prank. [1/2013, p.67]
  4. Nov 27, 2012
    60
    There's enough charm here for Little Inferno to get by, but sometimes you might consider taking its advice and stop feeding the flames.
  5. Nov 27, 2012
    80
    Its central mechanic is truly empty and truly compulsive, and yet the barest, most devastatingly mindless circuit of its interactions is redeemed by the wonderful art and the sly imagination on display.
  6. Jan 16, 2013
    78
    A brief, touching sandbox of fiery fun, but maybe too much of an ask at its current cost. [Feb 2013, p.89]
  7. Nov 26, 2012
    70
    Though it's a little too short and a little too expensive, the mostly unseen world outside the Little Inferno Entertainment Fireplace is charming and impressive, and absolutely worth experiencing.
  8. Jan 24, 2013
    60
    The interesting animations and imaginative products give enough for the asking price, and nothing more. [Feb 2013, p.69]
  9. Nov 26, 2012
    50
    The vague story and uninspired puzzles weren't special enough to keep my attention after that initial sense of awe waned, though, and when viewed alongside some annoying constraints that make the gameplay feel unnecessarily constrained, Little Inferno's few great ideas fall apart like so much ash.
  10. Dec 2, 2012
    90
    Little Inferno is a unique game which warms the player's heart with the flame of art.
  11. Feb 1, 2013
    45
    Little Inferno's argument against games I would never elect to play left me rather cold. [March 2013, p.79]
  12. 80
    Little Inferno has a story to tell. It has neither beginning, nor end. It sports but a few characters, and does not care for correct narrative structure. It will leave you with plenty of questions, all of them unanswered. But it will accomplish what few games can. It will mesmerize you. It will awaken your imagination and force you to think of your own ending. It will move you and make you beg for more! [February 2013]
  13. Feb 6, 2013
    70
    A short experiment based around a fairly oblique puzzle system, Litter Inferno succeeds as a compelling curio. [Feb 2013, p.75]
  14. Nov 22, 2012
    80
    Tomorrow Corporation's first work is a total success. The story, the game mechanics and the atmosphere are awesome, and we totally recommend playing this title.
  15. Jan 7, 2013
    80
    The final twenty minutes of the game are sublime.
  16. Jan 8, 2013
    70
    There's not much of a reason to play it after you've beaten it.
  17. Nov 23, 2012
    70
    It's surprising and satisfying, but definitely not for everyone. Actually, it's not a standard game and not even close to World of Goo. Recommended for those who enjoyed games like Doodle God or simply love that "special something" Tomorrow's Corporation's titles have.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 193 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 63
  2. Negative: 10 out of 63
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    4
    I was a HUGE fan of 2D Boy's first game called World of Goo. It was a work of art from the art style, the music, the puzzles, and mostI was a HUGE fan of 2D Boy's first game called World of Goo. It was a work of art from the art style, the music, the puzzles, and most importantly the gameplay and story. Right when I saw Little Inferno on steam I got very excited to see what these guys would bring in the realm of great puzzles and interesting stories next but I was extremely dissapointed and honestly feel ripped off. Not many games have made me actually feel ripped off as if I payed too much for the product. Off the top of my head the games that I have honestly REGRETED purchasing were dead island, AC revelations/brotherhood, and now Little Inferno. The great art style and amazing soundtrack is still there but thats where anything good ends. Let me summarize this game for you so you can decide if you want to purchase this without any spoilers:

    -The game consists entireley of buying (with fake currency) a toy or object, dragging it with other objects into a sqaure fire place and buring them together trying to get combinations of 2 or 3 together. A small hint is supplied for each combo. That is literally 99% of this game. There are a few cool effects that some of the objects have with each other or with fire but thats only cool the first time, not the [explitive] 30th time you burn that crap. I literally felt nauseaus and had a headache after playing this game, there is no actual puzzle to stimulate your mind or challenge you, it is literally just reading a hint like "bear trap" and buying a bear toy and a trap toy and burning them together to get more coins to do the whole process over again with a different toy. My intelligence felt insulted from this game, I started playing it thinking, "Okay this is just the beginning, the whole game cant possibly just be this" and lo and behold that is all the game consists of short of a ***minor spoilers*** very short, confusing, and non interesting albeit slightly funny ending sequence that Tomorrow Corp (2D Boy) tried to make seem interesting with slightt "mysterious" letters sent to you throughout the game.

    Please dont think for a SECOND that this game is anywhere near as good, interesting, or even charming as World of Goo. Thats the only reason that I bought this game and I will NEVER be tricked by 2D Boy again, even if they change there name a third time. This literally felt like a [expletive]ing childs game suitable for an age range of 2-at the very most 10 but whats worse is I wouldnt even suggest it for children because it could give them the idea to play with fire so it obviously wasnt even geared towards children. Save your money but if you absolutely must have it and dont beleive me, then at least wait for a steam sale or a Humble Indie bundle with the game, I wouldnt even buy this game for $5 unless that went to helping a charity. Youve lost a big fan 2D Boy aka Tomorrow Corp, but world of goo shall still remain one of my favorite games.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    6
    The game is somewhat fun, and the visual style is very pleasing. So is the humour. It is a game from the developers of "World of Goo",The game is somewhat fun, and the visual style is very pleasing. So is the humour. It is a game from the developers of "World of Goo", visually and stylistically they are very similar. However, this is where similarities end. "Little Inferno" is not a game in a normal sense of word, you just take different toys and watch them burn in the fireplace. With over a hundred different toys with different animations you will have some fun indeed, but it quickly get repetitive. You will skim through all toys in a few hours, There's no real challenge. You need to find "combos" (burn specific items together) to progress, and while the game gives you hints on the available combos, it is still largely trial and error. Having to accumulate money to buy toys and wait for them to deliver/restock makes this process more of a burden than fun. The story is thin and unsatisfying. While some fourth-wall breaking adds a pleasant twist, it just is too simple. It doesn't really develop most of the themes hinted through the game.

    Overall, while this game can be fun, it definitely a very short one and also a fun not for everyone. Nowhere near to World of Goo.
    Full Review »
  3. Fix
    Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Little Inferno is unlike any game you've played before. I wouldn't consider myself a casual gamer, but I was entertained from beginning toLittle Inferno is unlike any game you've played before. I wouldn't consider myself a casual gamer, but I was entertained from beginning to end. Just sit back, burn different toys together to figure out the combos, and watch as a story unfolds. Full Review »