• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Jul 26, 2005
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 546 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 96 out of 546

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Werner
    Nov 23, 2003
    3
    Gets only three points from me, because the full version doesn't work with Windows ME. Major issue and a strange thing because the demo worked. There is no key overview card in the package, most of the manual is only available als Acrobat PDF. Some graphic bugs, complicated and confusing menus and mission planer, poor performance especially when flying over city, crashes somethimes Gets only three points from me, because the full version doesn't work with Windows ME. Major issue and a strange thing because the demo worked. There is no key overview card in the package, most of the manual is only available als Acrobat PDF. Some graphic bugs, complicated and confusing menus and mission planer, poor performance especially when flying over city, crashes somethimes with bluescreen. Looks overall very unfinished. X-MAS is coming. SO RUSH RUSH Hope the fix the major issues soon, I don't want another "Strike Fighters-Project 1" in my shelf! But even then LOMAC will be far from being perfect! Expand
  2. NoclueNeeded
    Jan 16, 2004
    2
    The first patch has improved many things, but the starting point was so low that it?s moot point at this point in time. It appears several more patches are going to be needed to bring this GAME up to playable levels for the majority of users, not just those on the fanboy sites. If you have a blind obedience mindset, like to play follow the fool, and only want to post rave reviews and The first patch has improved many things, but the starting point was so low that it?s moot point at this point in time. It appears several more patches are going to be needed to bring this GAME up to playable levels for the majority of users, not just those on the fanboy sites. If you have a blind obedience mindset, like to play follow the fool, and only want to post rave reviews and comments, warranted or not, about the game, rush out and buy it. Or, you can use common sense and wait until things are fixed before buying a game that contains un-optimized code making unplayable on anything less than a machine made for the gods. Good Luck! Expand
  3. KORN_WWTE
    Dec 16, 2003
    3
    The game is uncomplete, to much emphasis on having to create interesting missions yourself. Default missions are plain and short, starting in the air and not on the ramp, no need to learn engine start sequences. Campaigns are dull und unispiring. Any action on screen or weather other than clear starts to slow the FPS down until unplayable. This game needs a patch before I reconsider The game is uncomplete, to much emphasis on having to create interesting missions yourself. Default missions are plain and short, starting in the air and not on the ramp, no need to learn engine start sequences. Campaigns are dull und unispiring. Any action on screen or weather other than clear starts to slow the FPS down until unplayable. This game needs a patch before I reconsider giving it another go. Expand
  4. TomD
    Dec 16, 2003
    2
    Unfriendly user interface, taxing mission editor, vague missions, bugs bugs and more bugs. The game was rushed out, if your not into tweaking and tweaking then leave this on the shelf until the developers finish it of properly.
  5. PhillipM.
    Dec 16, 2003
    3
    Weak documentation, buggy, rushed out earily to beat Falcon4 Gold OIR in my opinion. Will be a great sim when fixed.
  6. frag_tallnmbao
    Dec 16, 2003
    0
    They 've to give us money cause we need CRY2 system to run this missed game, i said "game" ok? :) that is.
  7. TorL.
    Dec 17, 2003
    2
    Poorly written graphics engine, will not perform on current hardware. Minimum specs (on the box) is a joke / marketing ploy. I returned the game for a refund.
  8. CarlN.
    Dec 17, 2003
    3
    It's a bit shite.
  9. Hocking
    Dec 17, 2003
    4
    In it's current state, the F15 can be considered still in development, and therefore not flyable at this time. The radar has a few bugs, but more importantly, the missiles are under-modeled by about 10 times. They are simply not effective at all, and extremely unreallistic upon the time of release. They need a complete makeover to bring them up to the level that can be considered In it's current state, the F15 can be considered still in development, and therefore not flyable at this time. The radar has a few bugs, but more importantly, the missiles are under-modeled by about 10 times. They are simply not effective at all, and extremely unreallistic upon the time of release. They need a complete makeover to bring them up to the level that can be considered realistic. The Aim120 has a range of less than 5 miles, the Aim 7 is the most accurate of the group, and the Aim 9 has difficulty tracking down a target at less than 2 miles (I once fired three Aim 9's at a MIG about 2 miles in front of me while I was on his six and all three missiles missed). Can't beleive that this passed the beta testers. The game can become good, but upon release, it is about 70% complete. Expand
  10. DavidDuce
    Dec 17, 2003
    3
    Buyer BEWARE and not so fast my 9/10 rating friends. This game may be a 9/10 in a few years, but right now it?s just another little light on the horizon. Many things are wrong with this game that will need heavy patching to fix.

    1. System requirements, high and low end: Who came up with them? They are way off and badly misleading to the consumer. Looks like a badly programmed
    Buyer BEWARE and not so fast my 9/10 rating friends. This game may be a 9/10 in a few years, but right now it?s just another little light on the horizon. Many things are wrong with this game that will need heavy patching to fix.

    1. System requirements, high and low end:
    Who came up with them? They are way off and badly misleading to the
    consumer. Looks like a badly programmed graphics engine. Heavy optimizations are need to allow the average consumer to play this thing.

    2. Gamplay:
    Too scripted, boring, and clean. Limited missions for those that want to jump in and have fun. Seems to an update Flanker, another boring game.

    3. Encyclopedic bug list:
    Way too may to have let this product hit the market, Why? Where was QA? Does the company expect buyers to be beta testers? If so, we deserve a rebate!
    4. Documentation:
    No keycard shipped, but you can download one. How about the people without the means to see that chance?
    Disgustingly useless PDF manual. When you try to print it, it?s unreadable. But wait! You can purchase anadditional manual for $40 plus shipping. What a deal, they sell you a game without the documentation to properly play it, but will gladly sell you one. What a scam.

    People, educate yourself before buying this game, in its current state, it can?t be called a SIMULATION. To compare it to previous SIMULATORS is a slap in the face to them. Take the advice of several other reviews here and elsewhere, wait at least a year before buying it, you?ll save yourself a lot of wasted time and by then, hopefully, the beta testing period will be over.
    Expand
  11. ErikF.
    Dec 17, 2003
    3
    This game has problems, many problems. The system required to play this game is not yet available, but people say to upgrade this and upgrade that. What a bunch of bull! If the game is suppose to play satisfactorily on mid range systems, why do they say to upgrade? To cover up a poorly programmed game, that?s why. Those that say they have bought this and that are only fooling themselves This game has problems, many problems. The system required to play this game is not yet available, but people say to upgrade this and upgrade that. What a bunch of bull! If the game is suppose to play satisfactorily on mid range systems, why do they say to upgrade? To cover up a poorly programmed game, that?s why. Those that say they have bought this and that are only fooling themselves and buying into the hype, don?t fall into the trap they have! How it can be rated over a 6 at this point in time is beyond me. There are bugs everywhere, the game runs slow, setup is horrendous, and no one knows how many patches it will need to bring it up to an acceptable level. As far as looking good, that?s the best thing that people can say about it. See it in action before you buy it. If the store won?t load it up for you, walk away from it until summer. It will need longer, but at least you?ll get it at cheaper price. $40 is way too much for a game that was slapped together with proper Quality Assurance procedures in place. Expand
  12. FaelF.
    Dec 17, 2003
    4
    Ok, First I have to be honest about my experience with fighter sims. Im not an enthusiast who logs 30 flight hours per week. In fact, the last flight sim I played religiously was US Navy Fighters (loved that game). But I am a hardcore gamer that tries to keep up with the hardware upgrades (as much as my wallet allows). So with that my review. Dissapointment...plain and simple. Im not Ok, First I have to be honest about my experience with fighter sims. Im not an enthusiast who logs 30 flight hours per week. In fact, the last flight sim I played religiously was US Navy Fighters (loved that game). But I am a hardcore gamer that tries to keep up with the hardware upgrades (as much as my wallet allows). So with that my review. Dissapointment...plain and simple. Im not talking about the graphics and in-game realism. Im talking about my expectation as a consumer...ipso facto...a money spending one. The amount of support available, the state in which my product was purchased (incomplete), ease of use (this game is more dialed into experienced flight simmers so it has a steep learning curve), and the famous bug issues most lo-mac forums are rife with. Let me say that most of those bugs are fixable if you tone down the settings and take the time to bug hunt your problems. But for ease of use and consumer satisfaction....lo-mac is stuck with a generous 4. Its just not "out of the box" satisfaction. Expand
  13. GrantM.
    Dec 17, 2003
    3
    The reason for the low score is that the game is not finished yet by a long shot. Its like a beautifull woman that never stops moaning. An irritation at this stage. The game should still be on the development desk sorting out the similar problems that were in the demo. No doubt this game has potential to be a fantastic flight sim and a 9/10 rating at the end of the day. The minimum specs The reason for the low score is that the game is not finished yet by a long shot. Its like a beautifull woman that never stops moaning. An irritation at this stage. The game should still be on the development desk sorting out the similar problems that were in the demo. No doubt this game has potential to be a fantastic flight sim and a 9/10 rating at the end of the day. The minimum specs on the box are a total thumb suck. If you dont have the biggest, meanest pc with an 'UBER' GPU forget about getting this game. Patches will no doubt sort out a lot of the problems, but this is a clear case of getting releasing the game before Christmas just to reap in the sales when they new all to well the game was still in a beta stage. It does have fanatastic potential though. Expand
  14. GunterH.
    Dec 18, 2003
    4
    So-so game with good graphics. Needs work.
  15. M.
    Dec 18, 2003
    0
    Great ideas behind the game BUT realisation is poor for now. Very bad. Lots of bugs of important functions, killing the fun to use the game - very, very sadly...
  16. NikkiS.
    Dec 18, 2003
    2
    Compared to Falcon 4.0, this is just another game. The avionics are arcade-like and a generation behind the king. To compare this game in its current state to Falcon 4.0 only hurts LOMAC! Its graphics are the best thing going for it and if it weren?t for that, who knows where it would stand. It appears plenty of work needs to be done to get this lump of code in working order. It actually Compared to Falcon 4.0, this is just another game. The avionics are arcade-like and a generation behind the king. To compare this game in its current state to Falcon 4.0 only hurts LOMAC! Its graphics are the best thing going for it and if it weren?t for that, who knows where it would stand. It appears plenty of work needs to be done to get this lump of code in working order. It actually appears to be Flanker rewrapped with a few more planes ?thrown? in. The consumer was taken for granted on this one and it seems many fell for the trap and hype. Don?t be one of them. Wait until Falcon 4:OIR comes out before making your decision. There?s more to calling yourself a flight?SIM? than pretty graphics. Expand
  17. SimonL.
    Dec 18, 2003
    3
    I really should have given a 0, but that's to harsh and would really like to give it a ten, but I hate to lie. This has got to be the most overrated game in a long time. People state to make sure your system is properly configured and optimzed, but even that doesn't cover up the sloppy coding that has brought out hundreds of bug reports. They say they are being sorted out, I really should have given a 0, but that's to harsh and would really like to give it a ten, but I hate to lie. This has got to be the most overrated game in a long time. People state to make sure your system is properly configured and optimzed, but even that doesn't cover up the sloppy coding that has brought out hundreds of bug reports. They say they are being sorted out, we'll see. My money goes elsewhere for now, your's should too. Read the 9 and 10 reviews with your fingers crossed, they are misleading and an attempt to ramp up the ratings, Expand
  18. ShawnD.
    Dec 18, 2003
    3
    Really poor programming. This program was not ready to be released. It may improve in the future if they have competent developers on-hand.
  19. GaryP.
    Dec 18, 2003
    3
    Plenty of PROMISE, but in its current state, its still a dream.
  20. NolanS.
    Dec 19, 2003
    1
    Sickening framerates and useless support! This puppy is going back. Anybody want to follow me and be the next sucker to buy it?
  21. Warthog
    Dec 19, 2003
    2
    Assumptions by some, like Bruce and Steve, are what landed this game in the position its in. The programmers thought they needed to develop the game to novices and it shows and that?s why you see all the 9 and 10 ratings. The hardcore simmers are the ones that don?t like it due to its simplicity and piece-meal design. Some say it?s a follow up of the Flanker series. This game makes you Assumptions by some, like Bruce and Steve, are what landed this game in the position its in. The programmers thought they needed to develop the game to novices and it shows and that?s why you see all the 9 and 10 ratings. The hardcore simmers are the ones that don?t like it due to its simplicity and piece-meal design. Some say it?s a follow up of the Flanker series. This game makes you glad you didn?t play Flanker. This game will lead the real flight SIM genre in the wrong direction. There is no immersion factor in the game; the terrain is bland, it contains useless cockpits that add nothing to the feel of the game except in reducing frame rates, and the hundreds of bugs make trying to setup your system to play this things a pain in the royal behind. If you have time and money to waste, this is your game, but realize you?re not getting a true FLIGHT SIM, only an arcadish survey game with aircraft in it. Expand
  22. RichT.
    Dec 19, 2003
    2
    This has got to be a joke. A company should not be allowed to release something in this state and people give it a 10? On what basis do they give it a 10? These people are mindless Lemmings that would by the Grand Canyon if you tried to sell it to them. Do believe a game in this condition is a 10. If you buy it now, you'll be sorry and if's a gift, you'll be laughed at! This has got to be a joke. A company should not be allowed to release something in this state and people give it a 10? On what basis do they give it a 10? These people are mindless Lemmings that would by the Grand Canyon if you tried to sell it to them. Do believe a game in this condition is a 10. If you buy it now, you'll be sorry and if's a gift, you'll be laughed at! Make an informed decision. Expand
  23. Curtis
    Dec 19, 2003
    2
    If you're old enough to drink a few beers before playing, it's not too bad. When you try it sober, you start looking for another few beers. Who let this out the door? Where were the quality people? You can its Christmas time when trash like this comes out. Under the influence rating: 7 Sober rating: 2.
  24. ErikK.
    Apr 29, 2004
    4
    Played the demo, but I don't think I'm gonna invest my few euros on this sim. It's just another Flanker-sim with a couple of american jets thrown in. The western aircraft somehow have too much of a russian feel. Sure it looks good, but it still can't beat that certain modern air combat sim that has been released six years ago and has gotten better ever since.
  25. AnonymousMC
    Dec 16, 2003
    0
    This game isn't even half-way finished. If I buy a car, I expect it to be delivered with wheels so I can drive it. Its a reasonable assumption, isn't it? This game is unstable and unplayable even on high end machines running XP (which im using). A game cannot be released for hardware that hasnt even been invented yet. The minimum system requirements on the cover is not only aThis game isn't even half-way finished. If I buy a car, I expect it to be delivered with wheels so I can drive it. Its a reasonable assumption, isn't it? This game is unstable and unplayable even on high end machines running XP (which im using). A game cannot be released for hardware that hasnt even been invented yet. The minimum system requirements on the cover is not only a joke, is also a legal cause to return the game and getting your money back purely because its a lie. Furher, there isnt a patch in this world that can fix everything that is broken in this game. Im not even going further into that, because its already been dwelled over and over again by hundreds. My advice to anyone considering to buy this game is to think twice (just read the forum posts). Why should you spend your hard earned money on a product that isnt even finished. Its a beta1 release only witout the ?beta? label. If you buy it, youre only going to be dissapointed and feel cheated, like I did, no matter what hardware you have. This game is an insult to all of us that paid good money for it, just to get a box of frustration. It doesnt even come with a proper manual. I could live with that, simply because the good old days of Falcon4-type-of-manuals are long gone and will probably never come back. If the game should be delivered with a proper printed manual, there wouldnt be just as much money over for the sharks, now wouldnt it? What really bothers me though, is that it doesnt even come with a proper un-printed manual!! The documentation that follows this game is the same kind of joke as the system requirements. So what am I exactly paying for? A half way finished, poorly documented pre-beta release for a full retail price. I admit, I must be stupid to have such high expectations. After all, its only a game. Gamers/simmers aren?t real customers, theyre just a bunch of stupid kids we can cheat money from over and over again.. Think again, Ubisoft. The amount of effort put in by the developer in this game is yet amazing. Still, its all wasted because of the short-term economical-or-whatever disaterous descisions leading to this premature release of an unfinished product. I feel cheated, and I?ll certainly think twice before buying anything from Ubisoft again. I also feel sad for the developers that put their hard work and effort into bringing this game to the sim world community. I feel sad because they dont really deserve all this critisims. However, as a paying customer I reserve the right to make some demands. I dont demand a perfect product. At the least however, I demand that the game is playable more than five minutes, has more than 1 fps on a high-end machine 5-6 times faster than the ?minimum? specs, and doesnt contain a zillion bugs and wrongs that ruins the whole experience. Expand
  26. Someguy
    Dec 16, 2003
    1
    worthless crap game buggy as hell for most people few get it to run and it still is missing much funtionality i returned it 3 days after i got it might be good in 6 months when fully patched but dont get ripped of by this beta quality crap.
  27. Mike'sDaddy
    Dec 19, 2003
    0
    I wouldn't give this to Goodwill, it would be a crime! Don't ruin someone's Christmas by giving them this.
  28. LiquidFuse_RW
    Dec 19, 2003
    0
    Really sucks.
  29. LarryS.
    Dec 19, 2003
    2
    Misleading reviews and forum comments. Reading the bulk of reviews here you think the game is great, not true. After loading I was met with many crash-to-desktops and a game that when it ran, was slow as hell. If you buy this game, be sure your machine is a very high one, over 3ghz, or you will be very unhappy. This is probably a good survey sim, it?s more an arcade game, but the problems Misleading reviews and forum comments. Reading the bulk of reviews here you think the game is great, not true. After loading I was met with many crash-to-desktops and a game that when it ran, was slow as hell. If you buy this game, be sure your machine is a very high one, over 3ghz, or you will be very unhappy. This is probably a good survey sim, it?s more an arcade game, but the problems don?t warrant buying at this time. Collapse
  30. AllenP.
    Dec 20, 2003
    3
    The 10 ratings are unbelievable! How can these people rate a game a 10 with a bug list longer than the names in the New York city phone book? This GAME is not in a sellable state, but it was pushed out because of the time year. The lemmings that rate this a 10 were asked to come here and help bump up the ratings. Wait to buy this, I wish I had.
  31. HogDriver
    Dec 22, 2003
    1
    Don't buy this over-hyped bug ridden piece of garbage. The LOMAC community is laced with zealots that attack any owner/poster with anything negative to say. It's slow, the bug list is huge, and the promise of a patch keeps sliding into the future. Buy something else this Christmas.
  32. Ty
    Dec 23, 2003
    4
    Do yourself a favor and believe the lower ratings. Wait for the patch to see if it really improved anything before plunking down your cash for this game. The time it's taking to get this patch together is a big indicaton of number of bugs that are present. Hopefully the performance issues will be addressed.
  33. DaleW.
    Jan 27, 2004
    4
    First, this game is not a 10 and won?t be for some time. How people can continually give it above a 7 is a real mystery. The bugs are still highly numerous, the American planes have been designed to be inferior, and even after the patch the graphics engine has not been optimized. They state the game is built for the future; but it?s appearing it?s a statement made to cover up poor First, this game is not a 10 and won?t be for some time. How people can continually give it above a 7 is a real mystery. The bugs are still highly numerous, the American planes have been designed to be inferior, and even after the patch the graphics engine has not been optimized. They state the game is built for the future; but it?s appearing it?s a statement made to cover up poor programming. Do yourself, or someone else a favor and avoid this for a year until it?s been fixed. Expand
  34. Ferdy
    Nov 23, 2003
    4
    + Realistic flight modelling (some of the best ever!) + Great graphics would be a 9 of 10, but... - riddled with many bugs e.g. missing radio communications between US airplanes and some graphical glitches e.g. planes dissapearing - Doesn't even start under Win 98SE/ME on three different PCs! - CD recognition problems with some drives - rebooting system problems - blue screen of + Realistic flight modelling (some of the best ever!) + Great graphics would be a 9 of 10, but... - riddled with many bugs e.g. missing radio communications between US airplanes and some graphical glitches e.g. planes dissapearing - Doesn't even start under Win 98SE/ME on three different PCs! - CD recognition problems with some drives - rebooting system problems - blue screen of death - un-user friendly menus (same als Flanker 2.0/2.5) - un-userfriendly battle planner (same as Flanker 2.0/2.5) - small printed manual, ok at least a big one is on CD. - NO keyboard keycard included! - serious framerate/performance problems even on state-of-the-art systems so the best it can get in the current state is 4 points. Expand
  35. YourDaddy
    Nov 27, 2003
    1
    Beware dont buy this game if your not running windows XP even though the box says 98/ME it doesnt work. be sure to check their website before buying.
  36. GlenW.
    Dec 16, 2003
    3
    If you own a Radeon 9800XT, 1gig of RAM and have windows XP, then this sim is ok. If you run on any other operating system or if you have a mid grade graphics card then you will have serious problems at this time. Once a patch or two fixes the insane number of bugs this will be a must have for any flight sim fan. But at the current time I can?t recommend it. The terrible performance on If you own a Radeon 9800XT, 1gig of RAM and have windows XP, then this sim is ok. If you run on any other operating system or if you have a mid grade graphics card then you will have serious problems at this time. Once a patch or two fixes the insane number of bugs this will be a must have for any flight sim fan. But at the current time I can?t recommend it. The terrible performance on good PC?s combined with serious stability issues and some very funky radar bugs on some planes makes LOMAC a bad sim to buy at this time. At the current time it is debatable as to if it was beta tested at all. I consider this an alpha version of LOMAC, it doesn?t even qualify as a beta. If you like flight sims I suggest you wait and see how this one turns out. Maybe in a month or two it will be worth getting but at the current time it is not. Expand
  37. JackS.
    Dec 16, 2003
    3
    If Ubi/ED hadn't pumped up this sim for so long, I would feel better about it. But with all the promises and hype (3 years?) this program should work better than what it does. Runs poorly on box specs, or even worse on high octane machines. I know it's been built for the future, but what good is it if it runs poorly now, or not at all. Bug ridden...and the manual is an obscene If Ubi/ED hadn't pumped up this sim for so long, I would feel better about it. But with all the promises and hype (3 years?) this program should work better than what it does. Runs poorly on box specs, or even worse on high octane machines. I know it's been built for the future, but what good is it if it runs poorly now, or not at all. Bug ridden...and the manual is an obscene joke. Wait til they fix this thing before you consider buying it...you'll be really disappointed. Expand
  38. LockOnUser
    Dec 16, 2003
    3
    Lock On simply was not ready to send to customers. While no software is ever released perfect, it is completely unsatisfactory that there are so many performance problems and bugs with this software. Like many others I am NOT a beta tester and did not purchase the software to be one. Maybe, with fixes, the game will be a good one someday but as it stands today it does not deserve my Lock On simply was not ready to send to customers. While no software is ever released perfect, it is completely unsatisfactory that there are so many performance problems and bugs with this software. Like many others I am NOT a beta tester and did not purchase the software to be one. Maybe, with fixes, the game will be a good one someday but as it stands today it does not deserve my recommendation. I'd return it if I could. Expand
  39. JakeM.
    Dec 16, 2003
    2
    graphics are great but no filler. You can put lipstick on a pig but it is still a pig.
  40. SteveyG.
    Dec 16, 2003
    2
    Terrible, bugs everywhere, had good prospects. The Win 98 bug was a disgrace, false advertising by saying on the box it ran on 98 but they knew rightly it wouldn't, so now I can either spends loads to upgrade my computer or jus throw it away, what a great buy that was.
  41. RobertM.
    Dec 16, 2003
    4
    I've been waiting a long time for this game. It's been in the works for a long time. I enjoy Falcon 2, Flanker 2, USAF and have been a flight simmer for many, many years. (I'm 51.) Lomac, sadly, must be reviewed and rated on what it is right now rather than what it plans and hopes to be within a patch (or two or three). Lock ups. Missing textures. Bugs aplenty, I've been waiting a long time for this game. It's been in the works for a long time. I enjoy Falcon 2, Flanker 2, USAF and have been a flight simmer for many, many years. (I'm 51.) Lomac, sadly, must be reviewed and rated on what it is right now rather than what it plans and hopes to be within a patch (or two or three). Lock ups. Missing textures. Bugs aplenty, unfortunately. However, I did enjoy the demo. If you want to fly a fun mission with the A10 (though I think the A10 model is boshed up too) then download the demo and wait on the game. Honestly, I think something's wrong with some of the files on the Lomac CD. For instance, the controlini file keeps overwriting your preferences and cannot be made to be a solely "Archive" file. It keeps reverting to be a "Read Only" and overwrites your preferences. I'll keep looking for a good future for Lomac, but I don't intend to be a beta tester. Expand
  42. JonL.
    Dec 16, 2003
    0
    Sorry but, NO. Right now it has potential, but is teh suck.
  43. TotalScience
    Dec 16, 2003
    3
    It has beautiful graphics, nice sound, and has immense replay value. Unfortunetly, the game will runs slow even if you have the greatest computer available. I can barely run the game on the lowest detail settings on my high end computer. I uninstalled it for now, hopefully they will optimize the code, but until then, it's not worth it. It feels like an incomplete product rushed out It has beautiful graphics, nice sound, and has immense replay value. Unfortunetly, the game will runs slow even if you have the greatest computer available. I can barely run the game on the lowest detail settings on my high end computer. I uninstalled it for now, hopefully they will optimize the code, but until then, it's not worth it. It feels like an incomplete product rushed out the door, even though it was already delayed to "ensure a quality product". Ridden with bugs. A real dissapointment for those of us who reserved our copies months and months ago. I feel very let down. Expand
  44. MausiP.
    Dec 16, 2003
    1
    boring
  45. Nathan
    Dec 16, 2003
    3
    Even on a high end system this game blows! I am running P4 3.2 ati radeon 9800. With this system i should have no probs but i still get ctd's. With some weather and a few units this thing starts to drop frame rates fast. This is horrendous! The graphics are well done but you can tell that this was released to early. I wish they spent more time on it.
  46. RudiVanZyl
    Dec 16, 2003
    0
    Had to install it 3 times before the multiplayer worked. Whenever me and my friend fly against each other, and one is shot down, both of us are thrown out of the game. Biggest fault i have made with this game is buying it.
  47. PatrickB.
    Dec 17, 2003
    2
    Cant play it yet - joystick problems....will be a 10 when fixed...
  48. MarkB.
    Dec 17, 2003
    3
    This sim has never been immersive the real fighter jet audio on the menu puts it to shame when you hear the ingame sound which is almost non existant. Full of bugs and graphics problems. released far too early. even the campaign is a disappointment. never been so disappointed in a flight sim b4. it does have potential in a few years after half a dozen patches and 3rd party addons. but 4This sim has never been immersive the real fighter jet audio on the menu puts it to shame when you hear the ingame sound which is almost non existant. Full of bugs and graphics problems. released far too early. even the campaign is a disappointment. never been so disappointed in a flight sim b4. it does have potential in a few years after half a dozen patches and 3rd party addons. but 4 now it's total shite Expand
  49. BillA.
    Dec 17, 2003
    0
    This game sucks ass!!! I'll never buy another UBI product.
  50. FarleyB
    Dec 18, 2003
    0
    Out of the box HELL! S T A Y A W A Y !!!!
  51. SubZero
    Dec 18, 2003
    1
    Let's just say that I can't post what needs to be said without having it deleted! My rating says it all.
  52. JG53Harti
    Dec 18, 2003
    3
    Reasons are: the german Version has NO Instruction Manual --> but i've paid for itr :( Too many bugs in the game, nearly unplayable in MP. It looks like a big betatest. After patches will be released i and the bugs are fixed i will give the game a higher ranking. maybe 8 or 9 is correct after the patch
  53. MickyC.
    Dec 18, 2003
    2
    Watch out for the one-line, three word reviews. I believed them and found out the hard way that this is a disappointing game at this point in time. It appears the game was released to grab some of the money being spent during the holiday buying season. There are many bugs in it that severely hamper game play and its enjoyment. Joysticks are a bear to setup, and more times than not the Watch out for the one-line, three word reviews. I believed them and found out the hard way that this is a disappointing game at this point in time. It appears the game was released to grab some of the money being spent during the holiday buying season. There are many bugs in it that severely hamper game play and its enjoyment. Joysticks are a bear to setup, and more times than not the settings aren?t saved once you leave the game. There are performance issues that even the biggest machine couldn?t solve, it appears some optimizations are badly needed not only in the graphics engine, but throughout the entire game. There are campaign issues, including canned scenarios that take away from the immersion feeling found in several other titles. This could be the result of it being a follow-up to Flanker, which was a substandard game in many areas itself. Support for the game is unproven and seeing the state the game was released in makes you wonder what the real intent is, and if the problems can be fixed. The confidence level about this game getting fixed is low; if it was released this way, what was their intent? Was is it an attempt to build a fan base, only at a fanatic fan-boy level right now, and toy with them for a few years? Do yourself, and anyone you plan on giving this game to, a favor, read all the reviews and wait. Find another product for the time being and revisit this one in the summer. There are many other flight sim titles out there right now that provide everything this one does and one thing LOMAC doesn?t, a completed product. LOMAC has potential, but it?s going to take the same effort to fix it as it did to produce it. If you buy it, can you wait another three years for it to be fixed? Think about it and be weary of three word reviews! Expand
  54. MickyC.
    Dec 18, 2003
    2
    Watch out for the one-line, three word reviews. I believed them and found out the hard way that this is a disappointing game at this point in time. It appears the game was released to grab some of the money being spent during the holiday buying season. There are many bugs in it that severely hamper game play and its enjoyment. Joysticks are a bear to setup, and more times than not the Watch out for the one-line, three word reviews. I believed them and found out the hard way that this is a disappointing game at this point in time. It appears the game was released to grab some of the money being spent during the holiday buying season. There are many bugs in it that severely hamper game play and its enjoyment. Joysticks are a bear to setup, and more times than not the settings aren?t saved once you leave the game. There are performance issues that even the biggest machine couldn?t solve, it appears some optimizations are badly needed not only in the graphics engine, but throughout the entire game. There are campaign issues, including canned scenarios that take away from the immersion feeling found in several other titles. This could be the result of it being a follow-up to Flanker, which was a substandard game in many areas itself. Support for the game is unproven and seeing the state the game was released in makes you wonder what the real intent is, and if the problems can be fixed. The confidence level about this game getting fixed is low; if it was released this way, what was their intent? Was is it an attempt to build a fan base, only at a fanatic fan-boy level right now, and toy with them for a few years? Do yourself, and anyone you plan on giving this game to, a favor, read all the reviews and wait. Find another product for the time being and revisit this one in the summer. There are many other flight sim titles out there right now that provide everything this one does and one thing LOMAC doesn?t, a completed product. LOMAC has potential, but it?s going to take the same effort to fix it as it did to produce it. If you buy it, can you wait another three years for it to be fixed? Think about it and be weary of three word reviews! Expand
  55. DannyT.
    Dec 18, 2003
    3
    After reading some of the reviews here, I felt I had to add mine. This game is unacceptable in the condition it?s being sold. I?m I a complainer as some seam to think? No, I?m a consumer that purchased a product that should not have been released in a beta state! Why people rate this thing a 10 is obvious, they are trying to pump up that ratings, and is beyond belief. The game is slow, After reading some of the reviews here, I felt I had to add mine. This game is unacceptable in the condition it?s being sold. I?m I a complainer as some seam to think? No, I?m a consumer that purchased a product that should not have been released in a beta state! Why people rate this thing a 10 is obvious, they are trying to pump up that ratings, and is beyond belief. The game is slow, and it?s not really the computers fault. It?s the substandard programming and quality assurance practices that were used to produce the un-optimized bug ridden code. I?m judging this GAME, in this condition it?s not a SIMULATOR, on how well of a simulator it is, or suppose to be, and on a computer that it states it can run on. With that in mind, it falls short in every category except graphics. If you want to take nice screenshots and enter a contest on a particular fanboy site, this is your game. If you wanted a flight simulator, don?t even pick this up for now. Wait until 2007 when the machines people say it needs to run on are available and after it?s 25?th patch! Expand
  56. PhilZ.
    Dec 19, 2003
    3
    This is not the direction hard-core sims need to be going in. At best this is a survey sim and a very poor one at that. It?s simplistic design makes new users, which seems to be the 9 & 10 raters, think they are playing a complex game. Avionics are basic and landings are scripted. The only thing complex about this GAME is in setting it up. The user interface is awkward and many settings This is not the direction hard-core sims need to be going in. At best this is a survey sim and a very poor one at that. It?s simplistic design makes new users, which seems to be the 9 & 10 raters, think they are playing a complex game. Avionics are basic and landings are scripted. The only thing complex about this GAME is in setting it up. The user interface is awkward and many settings don?t persist from one session to the next. Frame rates are horrendous, yet people who have problems are called whiners and worse at the games main forum; this is an indication of extreme fanboy mentality. Some say this game needs a few bug fixes, this couldn?t be further from the truth. This game has MAJOR bugs, in the hundreds, and it?s going to take several patches to bring it up to acceptable standards. When you buy this game, you are paying for a beta, plain and simple. This thing may mature in time, but how long will it take? Too many hardcore simmers are staying away from this one, you should too for the next year. Don?t believe the egotistic morons that post the 9 & 10?s, download the DEMO and see for yourself before you buy this un-optimized piece of code! Expand
  57. BruceL
    Dec 19, 2003
    4
    Definitely doesn't deserve an 8 or above. There are just to many things wrong. Still I can't rate it higher than a 4 for several other reasons; poor gameplay, controller setup doesn't work properly, amd the documentation is poor. And I will not be strong-armed into buying another manual for $40 when the proper documentation should've came with the game.
  58. Mike'sDaddy
    Dec 19, 2003
    0
    I wouldn't give this to Goodwill, it would be a crime! Don't ruin someone's Christmas by giving them this.
  59. JamesT.
    Dec 19, 2003
    1
    Terrible game. Got it for me and my roomate. Yet to get his to work and mine will load, but framerates are terrible. No voice and images will ghost at various times. Have to spend hours and hours learning to fly and Sturmovik I got into the cockpit and was flying in seconds. Next time make it as easy as Sturmovik and not such arcadic graphics like it is.
  60. WilliamM.
    Dec 19, 2003
    2
    Beware of the Fanboy?s that give this a 9 or 10. They are mindless trolls that have been seduced into coming here to inflate the rating of this over-hyped GAME. How they can rate this game a 10 at this point in time, with the hundreds of bugs present, doesn?t say much about them. I say game because at this point it?s as far from a simulation as can be. Proper system configuration is Beware of the Fanboy?s that give this a 9 or 10. They are mindless trolls that have been seduced into coming here to inflate the rating of this over-hyped GAME. How they can rate this game a 10 at this point in time, with the hundreds of bugs present, doesn?t say much about them. I say game because at this point it?s as far from a simulation as can be. Proper system configuration is important in some game and maybe this one, but the way the game is programmed, it doesn?t matter at this point in time. Multiplayer performance is pitiful, you must turn the settings down to get it to play on even the most high end machines, and the ?dynamic campaign? is a joke. If all you want to do is look at pretty pictures, like the stooges that give this a 10, buy it. If you want a game that you can play, PASS this one by. Expand
  61. HaroldR.
    Dec 19, 2003
    2
    Pass on this for now. Too buggy for the average user, much less a juvenile.
  62. ClintG.
    Dec 19, 2003
    3
    Spend your money on another product, this one bites the high hard one!
  63. Colin
    Dec 21, 2003
    1
    Utter rubbish! How this made it out of the door and still bought by consumers is above comprehension! With trash like this, UBI and Eagle Dynamics should?ve lost the confidence of all but the most brainless buyers!
  64. Thesoloelite
    Dec 20, 2003
    1
    1st off you need a mega machine to play this game ;( I OPEN THE BOX NO MANUAL no key card and then u have to buy a 3rd party manual for 40.00 more bucks.kinda sad the game had to be realesed during hoildays(all about the money) ban the french.
  65. Eagle
    Dec 22, 2003
    1
    If you haven't bought it, don't, if you have, too bad! The devs should've put this one in the recycle bin instead of burining it to a CD.
  66. RolfF.
    Dec 22, 2003
    2
    Do as someone here suggested, download the demo and try it first. I wish I had read that before buying mine.
  67. Chris
    Dec 5, 2003
    1
    This game is still a beta. I've tried it with Win98SE and Win2K with DX9. Both are unstable. Using my GF4, 512Mb RAM and a XP2000+ uP, there are various graphics anomolies, freezes and crash-to-desktops. This game is a very poor relation IL2-FB. Don't make my mistake and buy it - at least yet. Maybe if it goes through a few patch releases things will be different - however, at This game is still a beta. I've tried it with Win98SE and Win2K with DX9. Both are unstable. Using my GF4, 512Mb RAM and a XP2000+ uP, there are various graphics anomolies, freezes and crash-to-desktops. This game is a very poor relation IL2-FB. Don't make my mistake and buy it - at least yet. Maybe if it goes through a few patch releases things will be different - however, at this time I feel totally duped. Expand
  68. [Anonymous]
    Dec 5, 2003
    4
    It deservers more than this but with all the bug issues that they have to work out it doesn't get much. I shouldn't have to go out and get top of the line pc for one game.
  69. DisappointedBuyer
    Jan 12, 2004
    1
    Don?t waste your time with this POS at this point in time. Even after the patch, it?s still buggy as hell, frame rates are still low, and the graphics engine has still not been optimized. It looks like Eagle Dynamics and UBI have pulled off a good one. They release a beta, almost alpha, product before the holidays for a quick buck. All the defending fan boys and company reps on the LOMAC Don?t waste your time with this POS at this point in time. Even after the patch, it?s still buggy as hell, frame rates are still low, and the graphics engine has still not been optimized. It looks like Eagle Dynamics and UBI have pulled off a good one. They release a beta, almost alpha, product before the holidays for a quick buck. All the defending fan boys and company reps on the LOMAC site can?t change the truth, this game is still not ready for public use. Don?t waste your time posting negative comments on the LOMAC site, you?ll be attacked as a troll and an idiot; makes you wonder who moderates and backs the company on the site? [Ed: I moderate & nobody backs anybody. Get a clue.] Expand
  70. GeneD.
    Dec 16, 2003
    4
    Poor performance, non clickable cockpits and the lack of a printed manual make this game more of a headache than anything fun.
  71. WonHongLo
    Dec 16, 2003
    2
    Crappy work by the developers. Doesn't work with Win98SE,2000 etc. No manual. Bugs out the ying-yang. Crappy message boards and tech support.
  72. BlingBlingbling
    Dec 16, 2003
    3
    Could be good, but too many glitches and problems. Its really no better than the demo. I really don't think that it has the same accuracy and attention to functional detail as the likes of falcon 4 or Janes f18. More of just an eye pleaser with lots of bugs.
  73. AnthonyB.
    Dec 16, 2003
    2
    This game is in dire need of some more work. Too many things were left unfinished and the amount of bugs and the fact that members of the community have to rely on third party programs to run the game with the joystick they have is just upsetting. I hope this game gets a good strong patch to fix this soon.
  74. Essemmnope
    Dec 16, 2003
    4
    fps issues...bugs...poor coding...I can't play online b/c I have an NForce chipset...not a good game
  75. PaulF.
    Dec 16, 2003
    3
    Too much wrong to list. Really a beta released to the public to get money during the Christmas rush. Avoid it for now and wait for a few patches before even trying this abomination!
  76. DMoust
    Dec 16, 2003
    2
    Waste of Hard Drive Space !!!
  77. NicoleF.
    Dec 16, 2003
    1
    Lack of documentation makes this a lame game. Performace is poor and if it wasn't for the pretty graphics and ability to make nice desktop shots, this would be a total bust! AVOID IT !!!
  78. Noone
    Dec 16, 2003
    4
    This Simulator is a fine attempt at a difficult subject. A lot has been implemented but alas much of what has been done here contains many negative issues. The lack of two seat flyable aircraft being included (Even if the aircraft was to be flown solely from the Front seat perspective!) detracts greatly. Once again the flight sim community is offered Aircraft that have all been done This Simulator is a fine attempt at a difficult subject. A lot has been implemented but alas much of what has been done here contains many negative issues. The lack of two seat flyable aircraft being included (Even if the aircraft was to be flown solely from the Front seat perspective!) detracts greatly. Once again the flight sim community is offered Aircraft that have all been done before, I am surprised not to see an F-16 included as a flyable aircraft! Where are the European aircraft? Taking Ubisofts explanation of aircraft systems, two seat cockpits etc well wheres the Sepecat Jaguar? It rivals the A-10 on the Technology stakes, no major Nav Attack systems there, its single seat AND its operated by many airforces so you would get a vast coverage. It seems we are bound to the worlds policemen, as they would liek to see themselves portrayed, once more. Regarding the Bug issues being discussed on the LOMAC Forums there a distinct line between Ubisoft Fanatics that would appear that they are on the Ubisoft Payroll and those that are basically trying to trash Ubisoft. There are those such as myself that are trying to make our voices heard in a mature manner with genuine issues to raise but alas we find ourselves silenced and tarred with the same brush as those malcontents who seem hell bent to destroy LOMAC as a viable Sim. All in all it is a good attempt at a simulator, I feel confident that Ubisoft will do the right thing and get the Bugs ironed out, but the last question is: Should they have been there in the release version in the first place, what happened to plain old Quality Assurance? LOMAC, you have a long ways to go, no doubt you will get there. Good luck. Expand
  79. .:P:.AirRaid
    Dec 16, 2003
    4
    This game is good in the sence that it has great graphics and gameplay,but in the line of how it runs is not as well. I have a state-of-the-art system and i even get shutters in the game and buttons probs,and blue screen and crashes. I hope to see this fixed ,but still stratch my head wondering why they release something saying XP/ME/98 and it doesnt. Glad i got XP. If you dont have at This game is good in the sence that it has great graphics and gameplay,but in the line of how it runs is not as well. I have a state-of-the-art system and i even get shutters in the game and buttons probs,and blue screen and crashes. I hope to see this fixed ,but still stratch my head wondering why they release something saying XP/ME/98 and it doesnt. Glad i got XP. If you dont have at least a 2.5 and 1gig ddr then dont buy this game. Expand
  80. Kristiank.
    Dec 16, 2003
    4
    you might like it... but i am not satisfied with this product at all. reasons 1. just like flanker, LO-MAC is more of the same. very "dry" feeling, i always know im "at my desk, watching a monitor" compared to another sim, where i feel "in the cockpit".. not enuff graphical emersion the terrrain is bland looking ,very pastel colored 2.UBI did a very poor job of including several you might like it... but i am not satisfied with this product at all. reasons 1. just like flanker, LO-MAC is more of the same. very "dry" feeling, i always know im "at my desk, watching a monitor" compared to another sim, where i feel "in the cockpit".. not enuff graphical emersion the terrrain is bland looking ,very pastel colored 2.UBI did a very poor job of including several essentials, always needed for a serious flight sim.... 3. fidelity of damaged aircraft is not there. while "damaged" decals look good. its basically an intact plane . not that i need planes to explode instantly, but being hit with 9 sams should destroy an aircraft. here, you exist, and are alive in most cases. not pulling a cheap shot here, but if you like the damage system in IL-2, you wont find that here. (please dont confuse with jet vs prop damage.) i mean actual shearing,tearing.leaking,oily,breaking, bursting, damage. 4. you CAN fly thru trees. how many going to use this cheat online? 5. really NEEDS a mutli thousand $$$$ game rig to play on the best settings.. if you dont have that, you have to settle for graphics that look just like the old FLANKER. really. 6. control screen should be easier, for HOTAS/JOYSTICKS set-up. 7. sevaral variants of essesntially the same plane. not bad i guess, but thats the same to me as having every version of a honda civic LX,DX SI (or whatever the models are). sure they do different stuff, but its essentially the same aircraft. 8. there is no way to get your money back if you purchase this, and opened up the celophane wrapper. do as i did, and get it for early christmans present. that way you didnt buy it and feel ripped if you dont like it. its a a technical marvel, really! but to me, there were just to many flaws for me to like it. but im voicing my own opinoin. if you try it, i do hope you like it. Expand
  81. Faisalx
    Dec 16, 2003
    4
    Quite a total disappointment since I have waited 1.5 years for a good sim game but still, I think LOMAC can pull it off with a couple of patches.
  82. RonaldT.
    Dec 17, 2003
    2
    BEWARE of the high ratings. It's a scam from the members of a certain forum to flood this place with overly high ratings to cover up a less than average game. It plays too slow, there are too many bugs, excessive tweaking is needed to even get the game to run, and the documentaiton is poor! Avoid this one like the dead skunk.
  83. Feb 21, 2013
    2
    Here's the problem with this game.

    Bugs.. so many bugs it's stupid. After you solve the bugs you find a mediocre game. First off, there's 2 american planes, the rest are Russian. No european jets nothing The missions are half baked generic garbage. Not much attention paid to detail at all This game purely comes down to the flying.. which it does exceptionally well to the
    Here's the problem with this game.

    Bugs.. so many bugs it's stupid.

    After you solve the bugs you find a mediocre game.

    First off, there's 2 american planes, the rest are Russian. No european jets nothing
    The missions are half baked generic garbage. Not much attention paid to detail at all
    This game purely comes down to the flying.. which it does exceptionally well to the detriment of everything else.

    The radar is stupid. I have read manuals/forums to no end to try and get the upper hand on my enemy. The way I see it if you're flying the F15 you are LUCKY to get a radar reading of anything beyond 10 nm.. when something comes within 10 miles of you it's a scramble to get the heap of radar system back down to a 10m radius to lock on to the damn planes.. IF... IF you can find them again in time before a missile is launched.

    It's just not the reality of most situations.

    The missiles.. the missiles. They're stupidly effective.. and for some reason hard to see. On that note everything is IMPOSSIBLE to see in this game due to the lack of proper anti aliasing.

    Basically if you enjoy flying jets this is the game for you, but ONLY flying jets. Everything else plays out terribly, inaccurately, and above all frustrating.

    This is after playing both the F15 and A10 campaigns. The A10 campaign was fun, but was just shooting tanks non stop. The F15 campaign was an exercise in relying on my wingman to direct me to the bandits as you're essentially flying blind 90% of the time.

    The AWACS is useless too, every few seconds it bleats in your ear the enemies bearing instead of being any actual help. Wingman likewise RARELY throw out a 'Watch your six'

    Your early warning radar is the epitome of useless despite what the manual says. It is blank 90% of the time when it should be flashing to telling you where missiles are, telling you where everyone is.

    Nope, instead it just tells you where the enemy AWACS is half the time then proceeds to tell you when a missile is launched but gives you no idea of how long until it's right at your doorstep.

    As I said if you enjoy flying the aircraft, get it for that but do not expect anything other than that.
    Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Our favourite is the A-10 Warthog – cruising at 50 feet, on the prowl for enemy tanks, it’s one of the most exhilarating missions available in any recent simulator.
  2. Detailed terrain, buildings, water, and effects lend an unprecedented feeling of speed to low-level flight. [March 2004, p.82]
  3. It has great graphics, fairly simple controls, great scenery, a decent choice of planes, and a great editor. Although the sounds easily get on your nerves, it will be the load times and need for a computer upgrade that will have you pulling your hair out.