Lock On: Modern Air Combat PC

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Jul 26, 2005
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 549 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 96 out of 549
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JedB.
    Mar 8, 2004
    10
    This is the best simulation I have every owned. The graphics are fabulous and the detail is incredible. I have been flying mostly the A-10 Warthog and it is a pleasure. This is the one I have been waiting for all my gaming life. Thanks to Eagle Dynamics, great job. No kudos to the publisher, Ubi Soft. They did a lousy job with the release. I finally had to order it from Amazon.com because This is the best simulation I have every owned. The graphics are fabulous and the detail is incredible. I have been flying mostly the A-10 Warthog and it is a pleasure. This is the one I have been waiting for all my gaming life. Thanks to Eagle Dynamics, great job. No kudos to the publisher, Ubi Soft. They did a lousy job with the release. I finally had to order it from Amazon.com because the EB near my house didn't have any and claimed that Ubi Soft "ran out of them". I also did not get a Key Command Card but was able to finally get one sent to me after I called Ubi Soft. (By the way, to the reviewer below - Codemasters is the publisher of Operation Flashpoint, not Ubi Soft) Expand
  2. JohnF.
    Feb 5, 2004
    9
    Just bought Lock On this past weekend. I really like it. It looks great, has lots of great aircraft and the missions are fun. I have not had a chance to fly multiplayer yet, but I will try this coming weekend. Just playing single player has shown me that this game is one of the best sims I have ever owned. I still can't believe how great it looks. Sure, it is not for older systems, I Just bought Lock On this past weekend. I really like it. It looks great, has lots of great aircraft and the missions are fun. I have not had a chance to fly multiplayer yet, but I will try this coming weekend. Just playing single player has shown me that this game is one of the best sims I have ever owned. I still can't believe how great it looks. Sure, it is not for older systems, I have a pretty good rig. But, if you are serious about flying complex jets then this is the one for you. I can understand that people that have inferior hardware might not like a game like this, but they are going to be crying big time when new games come out this year that are going to be just as demanding as Lock On. Don't make the mistake of listening to the doom and gloom bunch. Get this great game now. JF. Expand
  3. AndyM.
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    great game, I realy dont have any problems running it at all. Ok ive got a high spec computer but if you want to run a high spec game like this then you need the hardware to run it. I some times have to reming my self that its only a sim, the graphics are that good. I know there are some problems for some people but hopefully the up comming patch should sort those problems out.
  4. MikeK.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    AMAZING GAME !!!
  5. DaveC.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    Looks amazing has cool graphics but my pc sucks to play it :(
  6. JurgenT.
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    Great game but even on easy somme things are very hard (can't shoot a plane down whit a missle)
  7. Rob
    Dec 18, 2003
    9
    Splendid game - nice balance between hard-core sim and playablilty without sacrificing riealism. Given the support the developers gave Flanker2 and IL2, I have no doubt that this product will also receive solid support. There are some issues which need resolving (and I understand a patch is imminent). Notwithstanding this, the game is great and I'm addicted to it! Once patched, Splendid game - nice balance between hard-core sim and playablilty without sacrificing riealism. Given the support the developers gave Flanker2 and IL2, I have no doubt that this product will also receive solid support. There are some issues which need resolving (and I understand a patch is imminent). Notwithstanding this, the game is great and I'm addicted to it! Once patched, I'd give it a 10. As for now, a 9 will suffice. Expand
  8. AlexisG.
    Oct 2, 2004
    10
    A fine game. Really enjoyed the look and feel of it. I am rather stupid when it comes to complicted games but this one was worth the time and study I put in to learn it. If a moron like me can enjoy it then I am sure others will be able to have a great time with this cool simulation game.
  9. Smack5
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    Great sim, even with the bugs (patch is on the way). Having said that, pay attention to the RECOMMENDED specs on the box. I'll second the "don't listen to the crybabies" comment. If your system is meeting the minimum specs, then be prepared for a minimal experience. With decent hardware, you shouldn't have many problems, and it's definately playable in it's Great sim, even with the bugs (patch is on the way). Having said that, pay attention to the RECOMMENDED specs on the box. I'll second the "don't listen to the crybabies" comment. If your system is meeting the minimum specs, then be prepared for a minimal experience. With decent hardware, you shouldn't have many problems, and it's definately playable in it's current state. Expand
  10. JakeyZ.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    Out of the box I believe this game is an 8 easily. The graphics are amazing.. there's no question of this. It's hard on your system though, so be prepared to tune things down. Even so, on the lowest it still looks good. With a patch coming out soon to fix the minor bugs, this will be at least a 9/10!
  11. Extreeem
    Dec 17, 2003
    8
    The game is outstanding I just wish that the current systems were able to run the game at it's full potential. Since multiplayer is my biggest interest I can't comment on campaigns but for MP is has most all the features I've wanted in an air combat sim. Although the game is capable of an almost arcade like setting those who play in that mode are not the ones who will The game is outstanding I just wish that the current systems were able to run the game at it's full potential. Since multiplayer is my biggest interest I can't comment on campaigns but for MP is has most all the features I've wanted in an air combat sim. Although the game is capable of an almost arcade like setting those who play in that mode are not the ones who will really appreciate the game .... now those how enjoy the emersion and learning curves, this game is for you. Expand
  12. xy
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    Love the A-10 :D
  13. HåkanJ.
    Dec 17, 2003
    8
    Even though the game has some bugs in it it's the best flight sim availiable together with FB. It got great potential for addons and further development. Good graphics and FM/DM. But i wont lie, it takes a lot of your PC!!!
  14. Torch
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    This is LOMAC, need I say more. Bugs will be fixed and performance will increase as my PC gets better. But it isn't perfect (yet) so a 9 out of 10 is well deserved.
  15. RickL.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    This is one incredible sim, which will only get better in time, like a fine wine. rjetster
  16. RandyN.
    Dec 18, 2003
    8
    This is the best combat flight sim to date. Falcon 4 Gold is around the corner and will surely give it a challenge. It is nice to see our favorite genre of game get a boost this year. :P
  17. JoeC.
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    Unbelievable! This is a cool game! Amazing that there are so many crybabies that can't figure out how to load this game. I had no problems and I am no computer expert. If you like jets and modern weapons THIS is the game for you.
  18. JohnnyW.
    Oct 2, 2004
    10
    Fantastic simulation of both Western and Eastern aircraft. Incredible graphics and accurate flight models. One of the best modern air combat sims I have EVERY flown. Ignore the crybabies and get this simulaiton! With the 1.02 patch it is a must if you love modern air warfare.
  19. TimI.
    Feb 13, 2004
    9
    I just bought Lock On this past week. Spent the day playing it and have to say that it truly is a work of art. The attention to detail is outstanding. I did apply the V1.01 patch at the official website and I have had no problems running this simulation. This one is a keeper on my hard drive. I hope they make more add ons with new planes and missions. Tim.
  20. ThomasH.
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    You low raters are childish. This is an awesome sim you morons. Because you wont spend money on new hardware to enjoy this game you complain. na na na! Get a job lowlives.
  21. JamesR.
    Feb 5, 2004
    9
    Call me a fanboy then. I just got this game last week and while I initially had some problems, once I had gone throught the Readme.txt file and made some adjustments the game ran fine. There were some bugs but after downloading the Version 1.01 patch from the www.lo-mac.com website and getting some additional performance tips from the official forum at the ubi soft's website, I have Call me a fanboy then. I just got this game last week and while I initially had some problems, once I had gone throught the Readme.txt file and made some adjustments the game ran fine. There were some bugs but after downloading the Version 1.01 patch from the www.lo-mac.com website and getting some additional performance tips from the official forum at the ubi soft's website, I have been enjoying this simulation greatly. It has the best graphics I have ever seen in any flight sim. The missions are challenging and fun. The multiplayer throught Hyperlobby is a total gas!!! I played online last night in a coop mission where we took out armored columns of Russian vehicles with A-10s. It was the most fun I have had playing online. This is a great game and I am one happy sim pilot for having purchased it. All you guys moaning must not being playing the same game that I am because this one is staying on my computer for years! Buy this game! Expand
  22. Baranth
    Sep 2, 2006
    8
    Having been a Lock On player for quite some time I feel I can cast this accuratly... my only real gripe is with the developers.... Black Shark looks good.. and anyone with the Flaming Cliffs LOMAC is probably quite happy with it... all and all it is a good game but "I Feel" the developers are missing the boat with the whole adding helo's thing and should first go for getting all the Having been a Lock On player for quite some time I feel I can cast this accuratly... my only real gripe is with the developers.... Black Shark looks good.. and anyone with the Flaming Cliffs LOMAC is probably quite happy with it... all and all it is a good game but "I Feel" the developers are missing the boat with the whole adding helo's thing and should first go for getting all the planes flyable... and making accurate Flight Model for all the aircraft in the game... not just the magic 6... then add the helos in after... granted... the mods out there to make them all flyable... but these mods don't use accurate flight models or cockpits... BUT it IS comparable to Falcon 4... oh... and developing different theatres would be nice as well... but all and all.... good game none the less. Expand
  23. Luis
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    Best flight sim ever..with the right equiptment...ofcourse....
  24. ChrisCatchlove
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    Great game, patch is coming soon, best flight sim I have flown for awhile. Love it.
  25. AnonymousMC
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    This is not for the weekend arcade gamer. LOMAC makes a great attempt to keep it as real as a flight sim game can. From the modeling to flight charecteristics all the way to the graphics, hands down this is the best looking modern combat sim around. Worth every penny!
  26. FelixE.
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    Great Game!
  27. PILOTA-1
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    I have'nt had 99% of the problems people list below, runs great on my winXP system, I dont have a completely top of the line PC but with settings on mostly medium, runs great and considering the graphics and details its the closest thing you'll get to flying a combat jet (and not just 1 but several!) A patch ot two should fix the problems people are having and theres NO pc game I have'nt had 99% of the problems people list below, runs great on my winXP system, I dont have a completely top of the line PC but with settings on mostly medium, runs great and considering the graphics and details its the closest thing you'll get to flying a combat jet (and not just 1 but several!) A patch ot two should fix the problems people are having and theres NO pc game that has'nt needed a patch soon after release. Eagle Dynamics should be congratulated for breathing life into an all but dead genre..what else is out there..Jetfighter 5 or that hack which is Falcon5. Expand
  28. Silverfox388thVFW
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    Superb flight characteristics, The graphics effects will knock your socks off. At first glance you will notice the beautifull flight models and enviormental and lighting effects(unsurpassed) but you will need to spend a lot more time in the game to really appreiciate its genius. One note however it dont get frusttrated with getting the grphics set correctly. With some patience and Superb flight characteristics, The graphics effects will knock your socks off. At first glance you will notice the beautifull flight models and enviormental and lighting effects(unsurpassed) but you will need to spend a lot more time in the game to really appreiciate its genius. One note however it dont get frusttrated with getting the grphics set correctly. With some patience and research you can fine tune the sim to run on your system provided it is not near or below recommended. Definetly a must have! Expand
  29. s81o
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    Where flight simulators are concerned this is the finest, no doubt.
  30. AndyJ.
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    Well, not all that I've expected came true, but, technically, this is the best product on simulator arena now.
  31. FerryW.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    The game has a lot of potential, looks fantastic and has a very high replay value. This combined with the power of hyperlobby and soon come 3rd party software and the patch which should fix the main issues... It holds a great future.
  32. ChuckC.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    I give the game an 8. The graphics are stunning especially down low. The cites are very well modeled. People have had troubles running it in Win98/Me but if your a gamer you most likely aren't using those old versions of Windows anyway. I use Windows 2000 and it works fine. There are some bugs but that is to be expected. None of the bugs I've had are game stopping. Great I give the game an 8. The graphics are stunning especially down low. The cites are very well modeled. People have had troubles running it in Win98/Me but if your a gamer you most likely aren't using those old versions of Windows anyway. I use Windows 2000 and it works fine. There are some bugs but that is to be expected. None of the bugs I've had are game stopping. Great visuals, realistic flight model, good enemy pilot AI. It's a great game. System I use to play Lock On AthlonXP 2600, 1GB of RAM, Geforce 4Ti 4600 Windows 2000 Expand
  33. ElyP.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    A very good game for you modern day simulator freaks. It will take some tweaking to get to run at full effeciency though, and it will take a pretty powerful system. Nevertheless, a very good game that I'd recommend if you've waited for a A-10 simulator for a long time.
  34. EricM.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    Very good game, too many bug in the relase :(
  35. Jenikov
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    Amazing graphics, sweetly modelled planes and incredibely cool ground battles. Good multiplayer and a great sense of teamwork if you play with the right crowd. Cons: Some instability issues, system hog, memory leak, and occasional weird behavious of planes/avionics. Finally: Best modern day sim to date, period.
  36. VaporB.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    Great game with lots of potencial but a FPS killer.
  37. NazgulN
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    Its just another milestone in Flightsim history, it has great potential to become the best. I play Flightsims for over 20 years now, and ive seem them all, and played most of them. I gave it a Fat9, cos i know that nothing is perfect and complete, But Lock-on will, and then ill give it a 10 with stars*****
  38. DarthMaul
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    A very nice game. The Flanker roots are still there. Same Mission Editor witch is good. The interface is very easy to use. Only some small bugs,Missiles should be more efficient(all missiles Blue or Red). It is working on modes computers like mine.(XP2000/256Mb/Gf2MX).
  39. CN_Luke
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    This game is great, but need to be pulished a lot. In one year, if the developers keep patching it, creating addons and they add a dynamic campaign, will be a classic. If receives the same support as Strike Fighters P1, this sim will die soon. If is updated like IL2, will be the best jet fighter sim of all times.
  40. JohnS.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    If you are an avid flight sim nut then you appreciate the beauty of LockOn. It is great currently but has some few growing pains. One thing to remember is all the best flight sims had growing pains. Be patient, get the patch when it comes out and watch your 6.
  41. MJ
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    Needs work, but has the potential to dethrone Falcon 4. Steep Hardware requirements, but third party hotfixes to tweak FPS are out already, a patch to squash some bugs mentioned earlier is on it's way. A must for fans of Migs and SU's.
  42. RCRC
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    An excellent, if not revolutionary game in most counts. The reasons why I don't award it a full 10 are: lack of a good (dynamic) campaign system, which would add immersion to the game; lack of a dynamic weather system; and although I am able to run the game perfectly, it does have bugs that cause some people a lot of problems - in some cases preventing them from playing them. An excellent, if not revolutionary game in most counts. The reasons why I don't award it a full 10 are: lack of a good (dynamic) campaign system, which would add immersion to the game; lack of a dynamic weather system; and although I am able to run the game perfectly, it does have bugs that cause some people a lot of problems - in some cases preventing them from playing them. Overall, the best flight models, scenery, and graphics you have ever see in a flight sim. It's a must see!!! Expand
  43. BrettF.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    This game was meant to push hardware to the limits like so many other flight sims in the past.. F4, F18, etc..etc.. Each are still being played today. If you want a fun smooth arcade game, go back to a XBox. You want to simulate a flight experience in a smooth enviroment (medium setting will do just fine for most people), then this game is for you. 2 bad points. 1. UBISoft's This game was meant to push hardware to the limits like so many other flight sims in the past.. F4, F18, etc..etc.. Each are still being played today. If you want a fun smooth arcade game, go back to a XBox. You want to simulate a flight experience in a smooth enviroment (medium setting will do just fine for most people), then this game is for you. 2 bad points. 1. UBISoft's cheapskate tendencies showed up with a manual that is barely readable. (tho this has been rectified with a higher res version on the website) 2. Some game play bugs that effect most older hardware/OS users. These are being address in the first patch, which is expected before this year's end. Like F15, F18, F4 and others, they were as buggy if not worse in some instances during their intial release. Instant gratification types (XBOX PS2 types) need not apply with this game. I enjoy it immensely and have the time of my life with it. Expand
  44. JohnB.
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    Great sim.
  45. JamesKnight
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    This game is definatly the new benchmark for modern flight sims. Move over Falcon 4!
  46. MrMudd
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    In a time of multiple entertainment avenues for the home consumer. LOCK on has many challenges set before it. The choice ofton these days as opposed to the mid 90's when Flight Simulations were at their height. is now you have some competitors for your personal entertainment. Today you have Consoles, and DVDS, and internet to fill the void. In this publishers understand that the In a time of multiple entertainment avenues for the home consumer. LOCK on has many challenges set before it. The choice ofton these days as opposed to the mid 90's when Flight Simulations were at their height. is now you have some competitors for your personal entertainment. Today you have Consoles, and DVDS, and internet to fill the void. In this publishers understand that the Investment required to make a quality sim far exceeeds a return on investment. Lock on is a novel approach. in this approach they attemtped to laydown a high defined flying enviroment with plenty of dynamics and challenges available to the player provided tey wish to use the fast mission planner or user Mission planner. Te player is afforded multiple aircraft to fly. the other neat aspect. Is that theres other activities other than flying. With the high investment into AI objects in the game. battle scenarios and capabilities can be tested. This is one avenue military enthusiest will enjoy. Next is the Spielbergs of gameing. Those enthusiests that enjoy cinemetographer pursuits. this has been a very popular aspect of the IL2 online community. The differnce of Lomac is they provide you the media makeing tools. with a Track recording and playback feature, that allows the end user to manipulate camera views and then to record them with the movie makeing feature, that captures the whole event 1 screen capture at a time. While this is a slow process it provides you with game quality photage that far exceeds Digital out and or 3rd party screen capture methods. This is one feature that had the fans of this title ecstatic through the whole development process. When critics make instant judgements against lomac they fail to grasp the multitude of differnt activities available to the LOMAC consuker. Above is just a few of the highlights. LOMAC deliever a very very solid foundation with graphics quality far exceeding any simulation to date. It is an aviators wonderland. With multiple developers buyouts by several publishers and companies. I am amazed that the integrity of the simulation was held together. This is an Attribute to a very sound development plan that weighed, changeing budgets, Publisher deadlines and consumer expectations. the developers, Consultants, and Producers succeeded in creating a very solid foundation. On the surface to the hardcore crowd it may look below the par for genre. but i believe this is not the case. LOMAC never has had a Roof set over it. Its primary goal was to provide all the differnt Enthusiests an activity in one package. This title has Expansion and growth all over it. their is no limit, to what can be done in the sime for the enthusiest or the developer. This title is a goldmine. All that is required is forthe Consumer to pickup the tools that have been made available to them and harvest this multifaceted entertainment package. I belive lock on has sold the community a 500 Dolalr simulation package 40 dollars at a time. I expect great things from the Eagle Dynamics and Fighter Collection team. Expand
  47. V.D.
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    This is just a new Simbenchmark and a whole new Flightsimexperience, don´t miss it...
  48. JohnM.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    Il2 with modern jet combat. Requires a superlative video card to make the most of its graphics, some of which can't be run on the fastest of todays PCs, however - the best of it genre.
  49. PinpointH.
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    This game is under V1.0 There will be more patches, this will be the IL2 for the Modern Jet fighter. The campaingn editor is great and very easy to build missions. Many rant that its a beta, Ubi is beyond hope of proper distribution and advertisement. Eagle Dynamic built a very good flight simulator, its not a perfectly realistic, but it does the job and quite well. As with any new This game is under V1.0 There will be more patches, this will be the IL2 for the Modern Jet fighter. The campaingn editor is great and very easy to build missions. Many rant that its a beta, Ubi is beyond hope of proper distribution and advertisement. Eagle Dynamic built a very good flight simulator, its not a perfectly realistic, but it does the job and quite well. As with any new software, it has some demanding system specs in order to work well. I hope the soon to be patch will fix many of the major issues. Expand
  50. BisonBranco
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    Hey, it´s the best! Simple as that!
  51. Eagle
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    I love the game. I have a nice system with WinXP Pro and it works wonderfully. If you have a large system to run it the game is wonderful. I'd have liked more depth, but it's still a LOT of fun.
  52. JoeP.
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    Terrific ....best I've played..needs work, but played right out-of-the box w/ minor tweaks. Realistic and still "fun". Great grafics and sound. After patches..it will be superior and 10+ rating.
  53. Tosch
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    Best military flightsim i ever played. Has the potential for a 10.
  54. 195th_HollywoodLeMieux
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    This game is very promising.. Although with its bugs that game has GREAT potential.. By far the best flight sim made...
  55. MikeH.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    Rushed out the door, but still a worthy and solid "8". Had the patch been out, and some of the bugs worked out radar and otherwise- It would rate much higher. Lock On is a deep sim, and is worth getting and learning on even before the patch is due to be released (soon). Add this one to your Christmas list folks.
  56. Ola
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    The new benchmark
  57. PhilipC.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    A very good combat sim! Excellent graphics and very realistic!
  58. FrankE.
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    Really really a rough diamond which will become the ultimate flight sim after a patch or two. BUY this one if you're the slightest bit interested in flight simulators.
  59. BillM.
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    Outstanding flight simulator. Only let down by lack of missions and dynamic campaign - which could limit its longevity. UBI needs to produce a campaign, or make it open sourced for 3rd party developers.
  60. RyanD.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    Awesome game!
  61. ChuckB.
    Dec 17, 2003
    8
    It doesn't get much better than this in a jet flight sim. It's going through some growing pains, but every decent flight sim does. It's as good or better than Jane's FA18 just because of the wide variety of aircraft that you can chose from. Anyone who is seriously interested in flight sims of current aircraft is missing the boat if they don't get this one.
  62. MarkT.
    Dec 17, 2003
    8
    Although a problem playing from the box after running some simple tweaks and replacing some files you have a very smooth and playable flight sim with great immersion value. Cooperative online play brings you closer to the war raging. You will need to honestly be 'into' flight sims to play this but even for fairly new flight sim player like myself I found it easy to get in to. Although a problem playing from the box after running some simple tweaks and replacing some files you have a very smooth and playable flight sim with great immersion value. Cooperative online play brings you closer to the war raging. You will need to honestly be 'into' flight sims to play this but even for fairly new flight sim player like myself I found it easy to get in to. XP2000+ with Ti4200 (64) and 1Gb Ram works with medium gfx settings very smooth (after the tweaks). Buy It! Expand
  63. Devothaan
    Dec 17, 2003
    8
    Not perfect, has some issues but it also has the potential to become by far the best flight sim ever.
  64. StaffanJ.
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    Flightdynamics are very accurate, sense of speed is fabulous, graphics are very nice (but powerhungry). Documentation is lacking to say the least, and a patch is required for some issues, I give it 9/10
  65. Witness
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    Superb game!
  66. NS
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    Its everything a sim should be.
  67. Stephane
    Dec 17, 2003
    8
    This is a fantastic game. No one could imagine such a game released without any bugs. Any flight sim fan knows that a game is stable 6 months after its official release, when user inputs have been used to correct the game's problems. Anyway, even with those bugs (some are bad I admit), this is a GREAT game and I enjoy it every evening.
  68. DavidS.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    LO-MAC offers the most detailed realistic and amazing graphic avionic and flight model EVER! it is a complete packadge, with immersion puringg out your eyes and ears, it is as close as you get to perfection and there is no flight simulation to beat it withing sights, graphic get 9/10, immersion get 8/10, realism get 9/10, multiplayer ease of use get 10/10, recording track/avi ability get LO-MAC offers the most detailed realistic and amazing graphic avionic and flight model EVER! it is a complete packadge, with immersion puringg out your eyes and ears, it is as close as you get to perfection and there is no flight simulation to beat it withing sights, graphic get 9/10, immersion get 8/10, realism get 9/10, multiplayer ease of use get 10/10, recording track/avi ability get 9/10 (10 if you could alter views while playing back the track more like a replay), training get 9/10 (10 if miss spelling was left out and voice over included) all in all it is the most beautiful wonderful amazing flight simulator to date and one where you actually have to learn an aircraft to fly it, and the more willing you are to learn and master it, the bigger the reward in game will be, i could write a LONG extensive review but i wont, three words, BEAUTIFUL, IMMERSIVE, IMPRESSIVE! only thing that troubles it is the feel of an unfinished product released to quickly/early, with miss spellings, things left out of the PDF manual and already not beeing complete at all (70% of everything good to know and learn you will have to get on your own on the internet or the forum) and graphic glitches and miss-out's and avionics glitches and miss-out's, model glitches and miss-out's, etc. no introduction video, left out dynamic campaign, requires a high end computer which in my case i dont have but still LOVE that it is that way, when i do upgrade again ill set settings up and go at it again, REPLAYABILITY! good thing it got such a good support by developers, producersm ubisoft, patches will be made bringing it constantly towards perfection, A MUST BY! try to fly it you will be STUCK! Expand
  69. HaraldSeisenbacher
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    This is a very serious attempt at a simulation of flying jets of the late 20th centrury era.

    The flight models are impressive, the eye candy is unsurpassed and the full mission planner potentially gives you a tool to fly whatever mission you might dream up. Of course there are som bugs to be squashed still - but show me one pice of software without the need for at least one patch
    This is a very serious attempt at a simulation of flying jets of the late 20th centrury era.

    The flight models are impressive, the eye candy is unsurpassed and the full mission planner potentially gives you a tool to fly whatever mission you might dream up.

    Of course there are som bugs to be squashed still - but show me one pice of software without the need for at least one patch nowadays.

    As for the needed sys-specs: I always wonder about people who turn everything up to "maximum" on their outdated systems.
    Either turn the options down if you have an old machine (that is the reason for having options in the first place), or go buy yourself a new one. It´s that easy. This simulation will still be interesting from with tomorrows machines - I for my part, I´m apreciating this.

    Harald, a.k.a. Odin914
    Expand
  70. CoolSpy
    Dec 17, 2003
    8
    This sim has some clear potential to become the top one for the years to come. Sure, it has its issues for now: crashes, choppy framerate, bad TrackIR 2 support. But my friends, sims always suck when they come out, don't they ? Remember Falcon 4 at its beginnings ? Look at how Falcon 4 is like now !? When we get the proper patches, this will become an amazing product. The only BIG This sim has some clear potential to become the top one for the years to come. Sure, it has its issues for now: crashes, choppy framerate, bad TrackIR 2 support. But my friends, sims always suck when they come out, don't they ? Remember Falcon 4 at its beginnings ? Look at how Falcon 4 is like now !? When we get the proper patches, this will become an amazing product. The only BIG COMPLAIN about the game (which explains my rating) is for me the ridiculous manual and missing keycard i found in the box ! Sure there is a PDF, but Jesus, we are talking about a flight sim ! We need a decent manual with the game, even if we have to pay a few more bucks for it ! I still remember the Falcon 4 doc or the Flanker 2.0 one: this is what we needed guys ! Except this, Lock On is a jewel: great graphics, great flight models and radar modes, great HOTAS support ... really you will love it for the years to come ! Expand
  71. Brooks
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    great game, I run windows xp pro and love this game. My only reason for not a 10 was it didn't come with a key card and I had to contact the vendor to get one.. Which they sent me.
  72. SørenK.
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    It's a beaty. Playable, highstrung, and will deliver great immersive experiences for years to come. The only thing that prevents me from giving this a 10 is the HUGE amount of bugs in the initial release. But hopefully a series of patches will adress these
  73. JensF.
    Dec 17, 2003
    8
    This game is good... it need some tweaks... but is great 2 have 5 planes to fligh...
  74. AdamB.
    Dec 17, 2003
    8
    Fantastic sim, graphics and flight model. Few bugs but they should be ironed out in the upcoming months. It does exactly what it says on the tin.
  75. SkylaneRGMig-29S_RG
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    In an decade when fighter simulation is overpopulated with NATO aircraft, I find refreshing to shoot back at those aircraft who always seemed to have the upper hand. Eagle Dynamics has by far gone beyond my expectations as they did with their first product Su-27. There is certainly a lesson learned flying a rough, rugged, unsophisticated aircraft devoid of all the bells and whistles that In an decade when fighter simulation is overpopulated with NATO aircraft, I find refreshing to shoot back at those aircraft who always seemed to have the upper hand. Eagle Dynamics has by far gone beyond my expectations as they did with their first product Su-27. There is certainly a lesson learned flying a rough, rugged, unsophisticated aircraft devoid of all the bells and whistles that can hang in any dogfight and even come out on top. From helmet mounted sights to 0/0 ejection seats, I am most pleased with the modeling and capability these formidable aircraft present. LOMAC is the definitive Soviet block sim to last and has certainly succeeded Flanker 2.5. It may contain its' share of bugs and what have you but it is still a top notch simulation anyone getting their hand around won't want to give up quickly. Expand
  76. JuanL.
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    Awesome.
  77. MarkW.
    Dec 18, 2003
    9
    Yes it has some issues - but I think that most of those are related to underpowered systems (mine included) and the fact that the game is attempting to set new standards. Give the game a chance as it is going to be phenomenal. You get the best sense of low level combat that I have seen anywhere before. The visuals will be stunning on high end machines and the 3D virtual cockpit allows it Yes it has some issues - but I think that most of those are related to underpowered systems (mine included) and the fact that the game is attempting to set new standards. Give the game a chance as it is going to be phenomenal. You get the best sense of low level combat that I have seen anywhere before. The visuals will be stunning on high end machines and the 3D virtual cockpit allows it to stand out on its own. Recommend you having it in your collection before it becomes a cult title like some of the other modern combat sims. Expand
  78. WaiW.
    Dec 18, 2003
    8
    Good sim with bugs.
  79. MarietaJ.
    Dec 19, 2003
    8
    Really good game, but still need some improvement, hope the incoming patches would upgrade the rate....
  80. BruceS.
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    A complex and detailed combat flight sim that is one of the best I have flown. Those complaining with the low scores are morons that are unable to configure their systems properly or lack the required hardware to run the game. Don't listen to the boo hoo boys. This game rocks!!!
  81. Wazza
    Dec 23, 2003
    10
    Awsome just awsome.
  82. DonaldT.
    Jan 23, 2004
    10
    WOW! This is a fantastic simulation! I was a bit concerned at first when I read some of the reviews by other users, but I went ahead and got it last week. I got the 1.01 patch and this baby is cool!!! The detail is incredible. I get good performance on my Pentium 4 2.4 Ghz with an ATI 9800 Pro video card. I run the settings on medium-high and get very good framerates. I played my first WOW! This is a fantastic simulation! I was a bit concerned at first when I read some of the reviews by other users, but I went ahead and got it last week. I got the 1.01 patch and this baby is cool!!! The detail is incredible. I get good performance on my Pentium 4 2.4 Ghz with an ATI 9800 Pro video card. I run the settings on medium-high and get very good framerates. I played my first multiplayer on Hyperlobby last night and it was a blast!!! Lots of great guys flying last night. I just can't believe some of the negative comments being tossed about here!!! This is now one of my favorites!! I like it better than IL-2, Falcon, Strike Fighters, all the rest! This one is a keeper on my hard drive, for sure! Buy it! Expand
  83. Quevro
    Jan 5, 2004
    10
    This has got to be the best flight-sim I?ve ever loaded up. The graphics are superb, game-play outstanding, and bugs, what bugs. I?m getting great framerates and if I have a problem, I know where I can go to get the help I need; the LOMAC site. The moderators are so nice and helpful and they seem to tolerate a lot of abuse. I should know, I got banned for being a poophead! I hope this This has got to be the best flight-sim I?ve ever loaded up. The graphics are superb, game-play outstanding, and bugs, what bugs. I?m getting great framerates and if I have a problem, I know where I can go to get the help I need; the LOMAC site. The moderators are so nice and helpful and they seem to tolerate a lot of abuse. I should know, I got banned for being a poophead! I hope this rating will get me back into the good graces of the god of mods; Diceman, my idol. Quevro@www.tacopilots.com Expand
  84. JohnHarrian
    Feb 16, 2004
    8
    Very beautiful sim. The graphics are truly stunning. I've had some problems with performance but thanks to the reviewer below that mentioned the new 1.01 patch, I am running very smooth now. Thanks. I have only started the campaign for the F-15 but so far it has been lots of fun. It's hard, but really fun. I am glad I ran the training missions before patching to V1.01.Very beautiful sim. The graphics are truly stunning. I've had some problems with performance but thanks to the reviewer below that mentioned the new 1.01 patch, I am running very smooth now. Thanks. I have only started the campaign for the F-15 but so far it has been lots of fun. It's hard, but really fun. I am glad I ran the training missions before patching to V1.01. Great job Ubi Soft! This is a great game. Expand
  85. MarkK.
    Feb 22, 2004
    9
    Lock On is one of those rare products that has the fine detail and intense fidelity that you rarely find in software games these days. I am blown away at just how great the modeling is in this product. I also love the Mission Editor. I am able to create missions that I can fly in or I can just have an AI battle that I can watch. It is better than reading a Tom Clancy novel. It is so cool Lock On is one of those rare products that has the fine detail and intense fidelity that you rarely find in software games these days. I am blown away at just how great the modeling is in this product. I also love the Mission Editor. I am able to create missions that I can fly in or I can just have an AI battle that I can watch. It is better than reading a Tom Clancy novel. It is so cool to make videos and then edit them into movies. I make videos and share them on the Internet with my friends. I love Lock On and I think it is the best game I have purchased in the past year. Expand
  86. GeorgeM.
    Feb 9, 2004
    9
    GREAT GAME! I like the detail and the cool graphics. Better than thos arcade games on playstation. This one makes me feel like I am a real pilot.
  87. Rooivalk
    Mar 6, 2004
    9
    The only other game I have been waiting for with the same degree of anticipation was "Operation Flashpoint" (incidentally also UbiSoft), and as before, I was not disappointed. I have played the un-patched game for a while now (to go through the tuts) and I installed the patch minutes ago. As yet I haven't played the patched version at all, and still I am so impressed by the sheer The only other game I have been waiting for with the same degree of anticipation was "Operation Flashpoint" (incidentally also UbiSoft), and as before, I was not disappointed. I have played the un-patched game for a while now (to go through the tuts) and I installed the patch minutes ago. As yet I haven't played the patched version at all, and still I am so impressed by the sheer detail and quality that I give it an unhesitant "9". Hard-core flight simmers, this one is a must! Expand
  88. JasonK.
    Jul 17, 2004
    10
    This sim is excellent, especially after the V1.02 patch that was released last month. A fantastic online mupltiplayer experience. A pity that the publisher released it too soon, but fortunately the developer stuck with it and have produced an outstanding simulation with the new patch. Get this sim! It rocks!
  89. BrianY.
    Nov 21, 2003
    9
    Great flight sim, upholds the high standard of IL2, and Flanker. Steep learning curve, and poor manual are the only pitfalls to this masterpiece.
  90. Bohunk
    Dec 14, 2003
    9
    An outstanding air combat simulation that is not for the individual that wants an arcade experience. This is a very detailed and capable product, yet it is accessable for a novice user. The only reason I did not give it a 10 is for the poor job the publisher, Ubi Soft did in testing the final version and for not including the key command card in the first batch to hit the shelves. This is An outstanding air combat simulation that is not for the individual that wants an arcade experience. This is a very detailed and capable product, yet it is accessable for a novice user. The only reason I did not give it a 10 is for the poor job the publisher, Ubi Soft did in testing the final version and for not including the key command card in the first batch to hit the shelves. This is the best air combat sim I have ever played. A patch is reported to be pending release which will solve most of the problems, including the Win98 buts. Make no mistake, this is a demanding product hardware wise, but it is stunning how detailed and how beautiful the graphics are in this game. Don't listen to the crybabies, if you are interested in the subject of modern air combat then this is the one for you. Give it a decent chance. Expand
  91. Cory
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    If you enjoy jet simulations, this is a must. The graphics are far above anything else I've seen. All of the aircraft are modeled very accurately, graphically and in the flight model. The sound is very immersive. The AI will give you a good fight even on average setting. The difficulty is easy to tweak for begginers and hardcore flightsim enthusiasts, such as myself. You will have to If you enjoy jet simulations, this is a must. The graphics are far above anything else I've seen. All of the aircraft are modeled very accurately, graphically and in the flight model. The sound is very immersive. The AI will give you a good fight even on average setting. The difficulty is easy to tweak for begginers and hardcore flightsim enthusiasts, such as myself. You will have to spend a fair amount of time learning how to play the game to become succefull in the missions especially on full realism. This game does require a well built gaming rig, because the game was designed to take full advantage of current high end devices and next generation devices. But, with a little tweaking to the graphics, you can still run this game very well on a standard gaming rig like mine. Even on the lowest graphic setting, the game looks great. There are still some bugs that need to be addressed, but no game stoppers. Win98 users may have some difficulty, but the developers have already stated that this is fixed in the next patch. The game has not once crashed to desktop on my Win2000 machine. The developers are very dedicated to this game and have spent a lot of effort staying in touch with the community before and after the launch and will continue to do so. The community is very dedicated and have been able to answer all of my questions on the official forums very quickly. Expand
  92. Konkussion
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    Absolutely stunning sim. Issues that can't be fixed by tweaking settings are: 1. an extremely poor manual. 2. the editors of missions and aircraft are horribly complicated. They look user friendly at first glance, but they are really uncooperative. 3. multiplayer lobby is bizarre at best. But I have been spoiled by Nova- the best or at least easiest multiplayer setup there is.
  93. Christian
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    great gameplay, although many bugs... great graphics indeed. Will be great after the patches. Sehm
  94. R.K.
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    How can anyone with a brain give this game a 1? Children will be children or in a other word, moron! This game is amazing. There are bugs that need and will be addressed. This project was a ambitious one from the start. This sim is ground breaking and do to the complexe code and ambitious development team have the best flight sim ever created. Its a shame that people who could really get How can anyone with a brain give this game a 1? Children will be children or in a other word, moron! This game is amazing. There are bugs that need and will be addressed. This project was a ambitious one from the start. This sim is ground breaking and do to the complexe code and ambitious development team have the best flight sim ever created. Its a shame that people who could really get into this game would rather rant and in return put this great sim out to paster before they let it breed and give the flight sim community a successful future of addons and patchs to enjoy for some time. I would give it a 9 but to ofset the morons that count past 1. I raise my vote be 1. There you go, 10. Expand
  95. JohnD.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    This game has good emersion and excellent graphics even at lower settings. Still some bug but seems to be well suported by Ubisoft.
  96. MarcusR.
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    Yes there are some bugs in the initial release, BUT it's still awesome in it's current state and as the bugs slowly get ironed out, this sim can only improve. I run it on a 2Ghz P4, 1GB Ram and 64mb GF440 MX. and love it!!
  97. AntonS.
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    Best flight sim out yet, NOT for W.S.A.D people.
  98. Tuff
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    If it would have shipped with a dynamic campaign it would have been a perfect 10. But no worries, I think the Mission editor will keep me busy for a long time, This sim is just rocks, Eagle Dynamics did a great job to bring us the new benchmark in combat sims.
  99. [617th]Joker
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    Excellent game, like most sims, it requires constant tweaking, which for me is a part of the game, and I don't mind it at all. This is going to be an interesting game for many years to come, with an active community, so I can only rate it high!
  100. Summoner
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    This is a major game. The complexity and immerion are just outstanding. This makes you actually FEEL in a cockpit flying faster than the sound. The graphics are incredible. Simultaneously the greatest strength and greatest weakness of the game. no modern computer can run the game maxed out. I play it at 1024*768*32, with medium/high settings, and find that specially over sea it is This is a major game. The complexity and immerion are just outstanding. This makes you actually FEEL in a cockpit flying faster than the sound. The graphics are incredible. Simultaneously the greatest strength and greatest weakness of the game. no modern computer can run the game maxed out. I play it at 1024*768*32, with medium/high settings, and find that specially over sea it is playable. Yet I don't have any hopes to activate Anti Aliasing, as that just kills it. Over sea I get 25 fps, increasing with altitude. Over land it drops to 20. Over cities it can drop to 18 if they are HEAVY. My system: AMD 1700+ @ 1800 mhz, 768 mb DDR PC 2700, Radeon 9500 PRO OC. I am still intent to read the manuals before playing the various missions and go online afterwards, yet I've seen the videos foudn ingame. The second about an air intercept mission with Mig 29's in a dark rainy and cloudy day gives me 15-11 fps. The volumetric clouds are without doubt the greatest problemmakers of the game. Having AA on in this occasion resulted in immediate drop to 2 fps. Heatblur was supposed to be a big issue, yet it has no impact on my porformance, not even when turning AA on, which I do when I fly on less craving missions. The gameplay is so far superb. The handling of the various aircrafts is well distinct, and finding your way through all the analogue gaugues is challenging enough. You have the ability to change the angle at which you look at the cockpit itself, so to see it more or less zoomed in. distant surely looks good, but makes reading the altimeters and various speed indicators impossible. However, when in need of checking the HUD, or using it for gunning, you can zoom directly in to it, helping much on things. Overall a sim to get. Even if you have the gfx settings at medium, it looks impressive, so don't let that discourage you ;). The comunity is very gentle and competent, the producers interact with it, and if you have questions or issues, you WILL be heard. How many other games can we say the same of? ;) Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Our favourite is the A-10 Warthog – cruising at 50 feet, on the prowl for enemy tanks, it’s one of the most exhilarating missions available in any recent simulator.
  2. Computer Gaming World
    70
    Detailed terrain, buildings, water, and effects lend an unprecedented feeling of speed to low-level flight. [March 2004, p.82]
  3. It has great graphics, fairly simple controls, great scenery, a decent choice of planes, and a great editor. Although the sounds easily get on your nerves, it will be the load times and need for a computer upgrade that will have you pulling your hair out.