• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Jul 26, 2005
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 546 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 96 out of 546

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mike
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    The scope of the project and the depth of the game play makes it a remarkable combat flight sim. The game is playable out of the box, but not to the full potential. Depending on your specific hardware (not your horsepower but who makes it) you may or may not be able to play the game until it is patched. If you like flight serious sims and have more patients than the average person I would The scope of the project and the depth of the game play makes it a remarkable combat flight sim. The game is playable out of the box, but not to the full potential. Depending on your specific hardware (not your horsepower but who makes it) you may or may not be able to play the game until it is patched. If you like flight serious sims and have more patients than the average person I would get LOMAC. If you don't on either of the two conditions then wait and get it a few patches down the line. It's a rewarding game, but not easy to pick up unless you are determined to learn how to fly. Expand
  2. Dutch
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    The only thing that is stopping me having a 10 is the simple fact that I still own a GeForce3 Ti500.
  3. FredM.
    Dec 17, 2003
    7
    Great visuals but lacks a printed manual that is really neded for the complexity of the game. I do not think that a person should have to pay to have the manual. Also I have a high end machine...the best of everything and the game play hiccups.
  4. LarsA
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    Best modern flight sim to date. I've played them all...started playing sims in 84'.
  5. JoeD.
    Dec 17, 2003
    8
    Remember all that the developers said that "Lock On was written for the next generation of computers" But it plays great and from what I understand is still being developed
  6. AlanA
    Dec 17, 2003
    8
    Can't fully enjoy all it has to offer yet on my older PIII system but what I've seen so far is awesome. This sim will be around for a long time.
  7. ChrisM>
    Dec 17, 2003
    7
    If you can get it to play smooth it is awesome. Will definately need patching though.......
  8. Mark
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    Very good, a few problems but the dev team is patching it as we speak. There's nothing like it around.
  9. MICHAELS.
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    Considering everything in the past, this one is the best so far. yes there are bugs, but it is a very complex game. easily fill up half a day of nothing but fun.
  10. WynH.
    Dec 17, 2003
    7
    This game needs optimizing. It's a little too little work for 2 years of waiting. Gotta wait for patch.
  11. KevinB.
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    Great game with a lot of replay value. There are definately some bugs they need to work out but I know its being worked on.
  12. IvanM.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    i love this game, even if it have come out before was totally finished.
  13. FelixE.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    Great Game!
  14. TomM.
    Dec 17, 2003
    8
    Okay, so it has some bugs, but I don't doubt for a moment that they'll be patched soon enough.
  15. JeffC.
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    Great potential.. Going ot be the standard which others are measured by in the really near future. A must have for the aviation simmer!
  16. ReggieF.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    Ok, a lot of complainers are upset because the game doesn't run smooth on their system. Everyone needs to keep in mind this game IS designed for high-end machines of the near future. This game is designed so in 2007 it will STILL be an amazing highly-detailed game. That's obvious. It's just ACCEPTABLE on a low-end machine (and yes P4 2.4ghz and slower are low-end machines Ok, a lot of complainers are upset because the game doesn't run smooth on their system. Everyone needs to keep in mind this game IS designed for high-end machines of the near future. This game is designed so in 2007 it will STILL be an amazing highly-detailed game. That's obvious. It's just ACCEPTABLE on a low-end machine (and yes P4 2.4ghz and slower are low-end machines from my point of view). This is an AMAZING game when it comes to it's purpose... A flight Simulator. It's VERY accurate when it comes to realism. Though it does have a few bugs (bugs that have a promised patch approaching), it is still WELL worth a 10. If you're going to JUDGE this game. Do it based on how well of a Simulator it is, It will win easily... Don't judge it based on a computer that isn't designed for such a powerful simulator. Expand
  17. -325th-SixGun
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    Liking the game alot! It's a huge amont of fun especially when flying w/ all my friends online. It is a system hog, but I'm having VERY few issues w/ the game right now. It's only gonna get better. You better get a HOTAS!
  18. SteveG.
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    A serious and ambitious flight/combat sim that meets almost all of my expectations. Problems - sure. System req. are high, but so were Falcon 4's and the bugs that do exist will surely be corrected with a patch or two. This is probably the last hurrah for the serious flight sim enthusiast for a long time and I can think of no better way to enjoy the coming sim drought than with LOMAC.
  19. GongZ.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    A perfect Flight-Sim
  20. GongZ.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    A perfect Flight-Sim
  21. RichardS.
    Dec 18, 2003
    9
    I have given this game a 9/10 only because of a couple of bugs - which I hasten to add are been sorted out! Other than that I have to say that the graphics and game play that I have experienced are excellent, bordering on the phenomenal...
  22. CalogeroC.
    Dec 18, 2003
    8
    LOMAC has the potential to be part of the video game/simulation canon. I say "potential" because there are a few bugs to be worked out. Great inital effort though.
  23. RichC.
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    Its awesome !!
  24. RobertC.
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    This is a game for the beefy PC but LOMAC alone was worth me plunking down a cool grand in upgrades. A masterpiece - plain and simple.
  25. GeeMan
    Dec 18, 2003
    9
    Has a few bugs but with a little tweaking it will be perfect! I love it!
  26. Aaron
    Dec 18, 2003
    8
    Overall, I have to say that I am impressed with this game thus far. Going into it, I was not expecting Falcon 4 or Janes F-18. When purchasing a survey sim, it is completely unreasonable expecting a dynamic campaign and having every radar mode modeled for every aircraft. Even study sims don't model avionics exactly. When looking at this game as a survey sim, the amount of detail is Overall, I have to say that I am impressed with this game thus far. Going into it, I was not expecting Falcon 4 or Janes F-18. When purchasing a survey sim, it is completely unreasonable expecting a dynamic campaign and having every radar mode modeled for every aircraft. Even study sims don't model avionics exactly. When looking at this game as a survey sim, the amount of detail is stunning. It is the first survey sim I have played that has truly unique avionics for each aircraft. Let me tell you this, I don't miss velocity search at all. In fact, I never use it in the sims that feature it. LOMAC gives you all the features you need to fulfill the missions. Now to the actual review. Starting with the campaign, it does what is expected well. What would have been beyond expectation is at least a branching campaign. That would add to the immersion factor. Perhaps one could be added on later in an update or expansion pack. The flight models seem believeable. I cannot swear to their authenticity since I am not a pilot myself. They seem at least on par with every other sim. In addition, they all differ in a believeable way from plane to plane. The one thing I did have a problem with is an easily corrected one. In fact I am sure it is being fixed as I type this. This issue is of course the F15 radar and air to air missles. I never though I would see myself selecting an AIM-7 over an AIM-120 during intermediate range engagements. Even with the Sparrow the engagements in my opinion are at near dogfighting range. The radar seems to be off a bit as well. However, all I have to do usually is climb to a higher altitude to pick up a bogey. I hope the developers just fix the problem and don't dumb the radar down. It would just be nice to be able to use it at altitudes below 4000 feet. That is the only real issue I had with the game. Alot of complaining seems to be going on about frame rates. Thinking back, I cannot remember a single flight sim that ran perfectly smooth with all the details on high or even medium. In fact, I get better initial performance out of LOMAC than I ever have with previous titles I own. Only within the last year and a half have I been able to run Falcon 4 and Janes f-18 at acceptable frame rates. F-18 was especially hard on the system I had at the time I purchased it...not to mention USNF. Even with the settings turned down to mid level, the graphics are stunning in LOMAC. A few things like the highest detailed water, anti aliasing, and heat blur will definitely bring the average system to its knees. LOMAC is the first sim I have seen to do trees correctly as well. I am also impressed they modeled the low smoke rocket motor of the AIM-120. So, for a quick recap, don't expect a dynamic campaign...its a survey sim for crying out loud, avionics details are good, weapon and radar performance need to be tweaked, and the graphics rock. Expand
  27. ArthurK.
    Dec 19, 2003
    8
    + Very nice graphics Good mission editor Excellent flight model Slightly simplyfied but still very good avionics wounderful cocpits - no dynamic campaign some bugs (crashing in some situations) horrible hardware reqirements for high settings errors in the German version weapon texts bad tutorials no printed manual (only to buy separate)
  28. PatrikH.
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    Excellent game, detailed graphics, correct modeling, realistic voice communication and a superb controlling system.
  29. MakahliaR.
    Dec 21, 2003
    9
    Very nice simulation. It has several problems but there is a patch that should be available soon. Despite the few minor problems I have encountered, this is one of the best jet sims I have ever played. It is detailed, complex, and very fun to play. I recommend it highly.
  30. JedP.
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    A fantastic product. Even with the few bugs I have encountered, this is a keeper. Not for the weak minded console user or crybaby that does not know how to run a computer. Don't buy it if you can't figure out how to configure your system. If you love modern air combat and have half a brain, you MUST buy this product.
  31. BarneyW.
    Dec 26, 2003
    10
    Best air combat game I have ever purchased. It's obvious to me that the people who rate it low are ignorant and unable to properly configure their systems or still use older hardware. These people are console users or cheapskates who want great performance but don't want to pay for it. Ignore the ignorant ones and get this product (provided you have the gear and the brains to Best air combat game I have ever purchased. It's obvious to me that the people who rate it low are ignorant and unable to properly configure their systems or still use older hardware. These people are console users or cheapskates who want great performance but don't want to pay for it. Ignore the ignorant ones and get this product (provided you have the gear and the brains to run it). Peace, out. Expand
  32. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    This review is directed to all those who are looking for a great and fairly realistic modern air combat SIMULATOR (I wrote it using capital letters because this isn't some simplistic arcade flight game) .
    You'll need a decent rig if you want to play this game in acceptable conditions (to avoid lag and low FPS), as this game works with a demanding graphics engine. With that said, there it
    This review is directed to all those who are looking for a great and fairly realistic modern air combat SIMULATOR (I wrote it using capital letters because this isn't some simplistic arcade flight game) .
    You'll need a decent rig if you want to play this game in acceptable conditions (to avoid lag and low FPS), as this game works with a demanding graphics engine. With that said, there it goes:
    Do you want to fly some of the most magnificent supersonic war birds in the world? Do you want to establish your supremacy in lethal air-to-air and air-to-ground combat?
    Do you want to master the radar/infrared/ECM/Weapons systems of these warbirds?
    Do you want to do all this while enjoying one of the best graphics engine in all the PC air simulation world? If the answer to all these questions is affirmative, then here is you shopping list: 1-Lock On:Modern Air Combat
    2-Flaming Cliffs 2 expansion, which is COMPULSORY (Flaming Cliffs 3 is about to be released, by the way)
    3-A decent joystick
    4-Search the internet for free downloadable plane 3D models for Flaming Cliffs 2 (such as Gys F-15 model, 3GO Su-27 model or SimMod A-10 model...they infinitely surpass the stock 3d models from the game)
    5- Pick up pen and paper, take notes of the procedures described in the instructional videos for each plane (you can download these videos from the game's website). 6-Configure your joystick and keyboard bindings at your will. Now you are ready to fly the most complete, realistic and nice looking modern air combat simulator that currently exists in the gaming market. You'll need many hours of flight practice and systems familiarization in order to become a decent combat pilot, but if you like combat jets you'll enjoy every minute of it.
    Expand
  33. FloE.
    Dec 17, 2003
    6
    A bit dissapointed.gam is not what was advertised.too bad.F4 + SP3 still remain de refference.amazing , eh? after 5 years!
  34. MathewR.
    Dec 16, 2003
    6
    LOMAC is destined to be a good sim in the long-run, assuming the developer follows through with their promises, which I have confidence in. I'm really enjoying it already, but can't give a high score until the overall program code is more refined and stable. I look forward to that taking place. Regarding complexity, I had expected LOMAC to be very challenging to learn the LOMAC is destined to be a good sim in the long-run, assuming the developer follows through with their promises, which I have confidence in. I'm really enjoying it already, but can't give a high score until the overall program code is more refined and stable. I look forward to that taking place. Regarding complexity, I had expected LOMAC to be very challenging to learn the controls and flight, and as it turns out, it's a lot easier than I expected. I somewhat hope there's an enhancement to the difficulty, later, once they release the more important fixes. A dynamic campaign system would be great, especially if it worked for Multiplayer. Expand
  35. AnonymousMC
    Dec 16, 2003
    0
    This game isn't even half-way finished. If I buy a car, I expect it to be delivered with wheels so I can drive it. Its a reasonable assumption, isn't it? This game is unstable and unplayable even on high end machines running XP (which im using). A game cannot be released for hardware that hasnt even been invented yet. The minimum system requirements on the cover is not only aThis game isn't even half-way finished. If I buy a car, I expect it to be delivered with wheels so I can drive it. Its a reasonable assumption, isn't it? This game is unstable and unplayable even on high end machines running XP (which im using). A game cannot be released for hardware that hasnt even been invented yet. The minimum system requirements on the cover is not only a joke, is also a legal cause to return the game and getting your money back purely because its a lie. Furher, there isnt a patch in this world that can fix everything that is broken in this game. Im not even going further into that, because its already been dwelled over and over again by hundreds. My advice to anyone considering to buy this game is to think twice (just read the forum posts). Why should you spend your hard earned money on a product that isnt even finished. Its a beta1 release only witout the ?beta? label. If you buy it, youre only going to be dissapointed and feel cheated, like I did, no matter what hardware you have. This game is an insult to all of us that paid good money for it, just to get a box of frustration. It doesnt even come with a proper manual. I could live with that, simply because the good old days of Falcon4-type-of-manuals are long gone and will probably never come back. If the game should be delivered with a proper printed manual, there wouldnt be just as much money over for the sharks, now wouldnt it? What really bothers me though, is that it doesnt even come with a proper un-printed manual!! The documentation that follows this game is the same kind of joke as the system requirements. So what am I exactly paying for? A half way finished, poorly documented pre-beta release for a full retail price. I admit, I must be stupid to have such high expectations. After all, its only a game. Gamers/simmers aren?t real customers, theyre just a bunch of stupid kids we can cheat money from over and over again.. Think again, Ubisoft. The amount of effort put in by the developer in this game is yet amazing. Still, its all wasted because of the short-term economical-or-whatever disaterous descisions leading to this premature release of an unfinished product. I feel cheated, and I?ll certainly think twice before buying anything from Ubisoft again. I also feel sad for the developers that put their hard work and effort into bringing this game to the sim world community. I feel sad because they dont really deserve all this critisims. However, as a paying customer I reserve the right to make some demands. I dont demand a perfect product. At the least however, I demand that the game is playable more than five minutes, has more than 1 fps on a high-end machine 5-6 times faster than the ?minimum? specs, and doesnt contain a zillion bugs and wrongs that ruins the whole experience. Expand
  36. Someguy
    Dec 16, 2003
    1
    worthless crap game buggy as hell for most people few get it to run and it still is missing much funtionality i returned it 3 days after i got it might be good in 6 months when fully patched but dont get ripped of by this beta quality crap.
  37. PaulH.
    Dec 16, 2003
    5
    Me being a die hard Falcon 4 flyer, I can honestly say that this game has much potential. The graphics are suberb, the FM's are awesome, sounds quality explosive. Not to mention that you can fly other planes with it's own characteristics. The things that I did not like are: No dynamic campaigns Cockpits lack realism in functionality In time, I feel that the furture releases may Me being a die hard Falcon 4 flyer, I can honestly say that this game has much potential. The graphics are suberb, the FM's are awesome, sounds quality explosive. Not to mention that you can fly other planes with it's own characteristics. The things that I did not like are: No dynamic campaigns Cockpits lack realism in functionality In time, I feel that the furture releases may enhance these experiences and be a truely great sim. Expand
  38. JeremyL.
    Dec 18, 2003
    9
    This game is one of the best flight sims I have ever played. I have no desire to play any other since I got LOMAC. At first there was some complications getting the game running. But with all the great help from the community on the lo-mac forum it has been nothing but pure pleasure for me. I do not have todays top of the line system and the game runs great. It will even run better after This game is one of the best flight sims I have ever played. I have no desire to play any other since I got LOMAC. At first there was some complications getting the game running. But with all the great help from the community on the lo-mac forum it has been nothing but pure pleasure for me. I do not have todays top of the line system and the game runs great. It will even run better after the patch. I would recommend this game to anybody that enjoys flight sims. Jeremy Expand
  39. DaveK.
    Dec 18, 2003
    9
    Despite a few teething troubles this is the best modern era flight sim I've ever owned, fantastic value for money !
  40. DrewP.
    Dec 18, 2003
    9
    Best Combat flight sim for modern aircraft I have ever seen. It has some bugs but the support from the devs is very good and I have no doubt that the problems will be fixed.
  41. AlexS.
    Dec 18, 2003
    9
    Heard that many people have probs with the game. I´d give 10 points if FPS were better. This is the very best jet sim ever came out!
  42. Haggis
    Dec 18, 2003
    9
    This sim is a patch away from being stunning! I'm having a great time creating my own missions with the user friendly mission editor. Lomac has a steep learning curve but very rewarding once a little time has been invested. I would recommend anybody whos interested in this genre to buy the game. I have a feeling this game will be kept alive by 3rd party modders for years to come :)
  43. Mike'sDaddy
    Dec 19, 2003
    0
    I wouldn't give this to Goodwill, it would be a crime! Don't ruin someone's Christmas by giving them this.
  44. LiquidFuse_RW
    Dec 19, 2003
    0
    Really sucks.
  45. LarryS.
    Dec 19, 2003
    2
    Misleading reviews and forum comments. Reading the bulk of reviews here you think the game is great, not true. After loading I was met with many crash-to-desktops and a game that when it ran, was slow as hell. If you buy this game, be sure your machine is a very high one, over 3ghz, or you will be very unhappy. This is probably a good survey sim, it?s more an arcade game, but the problems Misleading reviews and forum comments. Reading the bulk of reviews here you think the game is great, not true. After loading I was met with many crash-to-desktops and a game that when it ran, was slow as hell. If you buy this game, be sure your machine is a very high one, over 3ghz, or you will be very unhappy. This is probably a good survey sim, it?s more an arcade game, but the problems don?t warrant buying at this time. Expand
  46. AllenP.
    Dec 20, 2003
    3
    The 10 ratings are unbelievable! How can these people rate a game a 10 with a bug list longer than the names in the New York city phone book? This GAME is not in a sellable state, but it was pushed out because of the time year. The lemmings that rate this a 10 were asked to come here and help bump up the ratings. Wait to buy this, I wish I had.
  47. HogDriver
    Dec 22, 2003
    1
    Don't buy this over-hyped bug ridden piece of garbage. The LOMAC community is laced with zealots that attack any owner/poster with anything negative to say. It's slow, the bug list is huge, and the promise of a patch keeps sliding into the future. Buy something else this Christmas.
  48. RobertF.
    Dec 23, 2003
    5
    Not a particular good game, at the moment. There are numerous problems and a patch is promised. There are quite a few bugs, of which quite a few are hampering my game play at the moment. System setup is important, for any game, but it seems this game needs more than even Computer Science major can supply. After reading all the reviews here, I'm stunned at the number of 10's. Not a particular good game, at the moment. There are numerous problems and a patch is promised. There are quite a few bugs, of which quite a few are hampering my game play at the moment. System setup is important, for any game, but it seems this game needs more than even Computer Science major can supply. After reading all the reviews here, I'm stunned at the number of 10's. This game has the potential to be a 10, but that?s far in the future. To give it a 10 now means it has nowhere else to go or nothing left to fix, which all but the most mindless fanboy knows to be false. If you have a strong high-end system, which is required for this game, and you have the time to sit and tinker instead of playing, and you can wait for many, many months before this game is really playable, take a chance and buy it. I?d wait 6-8 months until the most major of bugs are worked out before buying this if I had the chance to do it again. Expand
  49. Ty
    Dec 23, 2003
    4
    Do yourself a favor and believe the lower ratings. Wait for the patch to see if it really improved anything before plunking down your cash for this game. The time it's taking to get this patch together is a big indicaton of number of bugs that are present. Hopefully the performance issues will be addressed.
  50. JohnWilstW.one
    Dec 23, 2003
    9
    Excellent sim! Amazing that some people are giving this game a low rating. They must have a different game than me as I am having a BLAST!!! Great graphics, cool jets, and lots of vehicles and ships. This is a really good sim product.
  51. DaleW.
    Jan 27, 2004
    4
    First, this game is not a 10 and won?t be for some time. How people can continually give it above a 7 is a real mystery. The bugs are still highly numerous, the American planes have been designed to be inferior, and even after the patch the graphics engine has not been optimized. They state the game is built for the future; but it?s appearing it?s a statement made to cover up poor First, this game is not a 10 and won?t be for some time. How people can continually give it above a 7 is a real mystery. The bugs are still highly numerous, the American planes have been designed to be inferior, and even after the patch the graphics engine has not been optimized. They state the game is built for the future; but it?s appearing it?s a statement made to cover up poor programming. Do yourself, or someone else a favor and avoid this for a year until it?s been fixed. Expand
  52. TfixT.
    Jan 4, 2004
    9
    Only some bugs and the heavy hardware you need is down 1 point. Bud for the rest it is Horny game. But most lightly build for multiplayer, you can fly single but it is not much. And the edit mode is cool.
  53. TheREALMower
    Jul 11, 2006
    5
    A mediorce sim in the abstract and lite weight in the absolute. For beginners and the easily impressed/amused only.
  54. Ferdy
    Nov 23, 2003
    4
    + Realistic flight modelling (some of the best ever!) + Great graphics would be a 9 of 10, but... - riddled with many bugs e.g. missing radio communications between US airplanes and some graphical glitches e.g. planes dissapearing - Doesn't even start under Win 98SE/ME on three different PCs! - CD recognition problems with some drives - rebooting system problems - blue screen of + Realistic flight modelling (some of the best ever!) + Great graphics would be a 9 of 10, but... - riddled with many bugs e.g. missing radio communications between US airplanes and some graphical glitches e.g. planes dissapearing - Doesn't even start under Win 98SE/ME on three different PCs! - CD recognition problems with some drives - rebooting system problems - blue screen of death - un-user friendly menus (same als Flanker 2.0/2.5) - un-userfriendly battle planner (same as Flanker 2.0/2.5) - small printed manual, ok at least a big one is on CD. - NO keyboard keycard included! - serious framerate/performance problems even on state-of-the-art systems so the best it can get in the current state is 4 points. Expand
  55. YourDaddy
    Nov 27, 2003
    1
    Beware dont buy this game if your not running windows XP even though the box says 98/ME it doesnt work. be sure to check their website before buying.
  56. GlenW.
    Dec 16, 2003
    3
    If you own a Radeon 9800XT, 1gig of RAM and have windows XP, then this sim is ok. If you run on any other operating system or if you have a mid grade graphics card then you will have serious problems at this time. Once a patch or two fixes the insane number of bugs this will be a must have for any flight sim fan. But at the current time I can?t recommend it. The terrible performance on If you own a Radeon 9800XT, 1gig of RAM and have windows XP, then this sim is ok. If you run on any other operating system or if you have a mid grade graphics card then you will have serious problems at this time. Once a patch or two fixes the insane number of bugs this will be a must have for any flight sim fan. But at the current time I can?t recommend it. The terrible performance on good PC?s combined with serious stability issues and some very funky radar bugs on some planes makes LOMAC a bad sim to buy at this time. At the current time it is debatable as to if it was beta tested at all. I consider this an alpha version of LOMAC, it doesn?t even qualify as a beta. If you like flight sims I suggest you wait and see how this one turns out. Maybe in a month or two it will be worth getting but at the current time it is not. Expand
  57. KristofferR.
    Dec 16, 2003
    7
    Very nice game, well done but eats a lot of your pc's performance.
  58. JackS.
    Dec 16, 2003
    3
    If Ubi/ED hadn't pumped up this sim for so long, I would feel better about it. But with all the promises and hype (3 years?) this program should work better than what it does. Runs poorly on box specs, or even worse on high octane machines. I know it's been built for the future, but what good is it if it runs poorly now, or not at all. Bug ridden...and the manual is an obscene If Ubi/ED hadn't pumped up this sim for so long, I would feel better about it. But with all the promises and hype (3 years?) this program should work better than what it does. Runs poorly on box specs, or even worse on high octane machines. I know it's been built for the future, but what good is it if it runs poorly now, or not at all. Bug ridden...and the manual is an obscene joke. Wait til they fix this thing before you consider buying it...you'll be really disappointed. Expand
  59. JData
    Dec 16, 2003
    7
    For its release, LOMAC isn't bad at all. There are some areas that need a tweak here and there but they sure aren't show stoppers. There would be hardware and gameplay issues for people not familar with the minimum requirements on the box. Most people would tend to expect a lot from LOMAC in regarding FPS but they forget that a modern combat game/simulation takes far more For its release, LOMAC isn't bad at all. There are some areas that need a tweak here and there but they sure aren't show stoppers. There would be hardware and gameplay issues for people not familar with the minimum requirements on the box. Most people would tend to expect a lot from LOMAC in regarding FPS but they forget that a modern combat game/simulation takes far more calculations than your standard prop WWII game. Graphically, it is beautiful with its stunning landscape, weather, andeffects/damage modeling. Some 3D models are updated and some are not. The overall color palette is tad bright for my tastes but I do prefer the winter landscape over the summer any day. Artificial Intelligence behavior needs a tad bit of work as they don't use correct logic nor are they using their true aerodynamic capabilities and the redundant/repetative audio calls can be a sore spot. Moreover, the overall atmosphere lacks as they are no abundance of calls from other flights which could lead to a lack of immersion as it is just bland. Yet, in RL isn't exactly Hollywood with its glitz and glamour in the communication department. Flight modeling is nice with the scripted high AOA behavior. Yaw authority is a bit too sensitive enough I have tried modifying the axis curve and it still feels artificial. The bottomline? Well, LOMAC is above average in most areas and below in others. The PROs outsway the CONS IMHO but I don't see higher than 9+ given its current state. Let's just be honest. LOMAC has a lot of potential and hopefully the sales will continue and the saga continues. *crossing fingers* Jewels Expand
  60. DaveD.
    Dec 16, 2003
    6
    Good graphics/Sound just does'nt feel 'right' engaging enemies is a chore, finding out why you can't lock with Long Range, why the little lines keep dissapearing, also runs ridiculously slow on my fairly modern system. Feels like it could've used an open beta...
  61. LockOnUser
    Dec 16, 2003
    3
    Lock On simply was not ready to send to customers. While no software is ever released perfect, it is completely unsatisfactory that there are so many performance problems and bugs with this software. Like many others I am NOT a beta tester and did not purchase the software to be one. Maybe, with fixes, the game will be a good one someday but as it stands today it does not deserve my Lock On simply was not ready to send to customers. While no software is ever released perfect, it is completely unsatisfactory that there are so many performance problems and bugs with this software. Like many others I am NOT a beta tester and did not purchase the software to be one. Maybe, with fixes, the game will be a good one someday but as it stands today it does not deserve my recommendation. I'd return it if I could. Expand
  62. Stan
    Dec 16, 2003
    7
    While i was very disappointed at the begin (LOMAC would crash with my DirectX7 card on a Geforce4), i am increasingly developing a greater interest for this sim. Although i need to set my effects to none (a patch might make it possible to play Lomac with effects set at least to low), i'm exploring all the facets of this wonderfully programmed game. Going from free flight to complex While i was very disappointed at the begin (LOMAC would crash with my DirectX7 card on a Geforce4), i am increasingly developing a greater interest for this sim. Although i need to set my effects to none (a patch might make it possible to play Lomac with effects set at least to low), i'm exploring all the facets of this wonderfully programmed game. Going from free flight to complex missions created with the internal mission editor (which should be improved in terms of more editing freedom), Lomac finally hooked me up and i can say it definatelly was worth the long wait and... the initial struggles to have this product run at all on my XP2000-512mb ram-GF4MX400 system. The upcoming patches might raise my initial rate of 7 to a full blown 10. Expand
  63. Burgers22
    Dec 16, 2003
    7
    Great grahpics, though they tax even the best systems, at least this means it'll look even btter in years to come. Flying low & fast is a great buzz & at altitued the visuals are realy good. I love the view comands with fluid zooming & real head movment add greatly to the imersion. On the minus side the avioncs are ok, but are bettered else where, the MFD displays are a bit unclear & Great grahpics, though they tax even the best systems, at least this means it'll look even btter in years to come. Flying low & fast is a great buzz & at altitued the visuals are realy good. I love the view comands with fluid zooming & real head movment add greatly to the imersion. On the minus side the avioncs are ok, but are bettered else where, the MFD displays are a bit unclear & the lack of a keycard is a real disapointment. The flight model seems good at speed, but slow speed departs just cause you to sink to earth, whilts the controls retain there autority, very odd when compared to IL2. Over all, you need a fast system, great imersion, ok avionice & flight model, good damage model. Expand
  64. JakeM.
    Dec 16, 2003
    2
    graphics are great but no filler. You can put lipstick on a pig but it is still a pig.
  65. SteveyG.
    Dec 16, 2003
    2
    Terrible, bugs everywhere, had good prospects. The Win 98 bug was a disgrace, false advertising by saying on the box it ran on 98 but they knew rightly it wouldn't, so now I can either spends loads to upgrade my computer or jus throw it away, what a great buy that was.
  66. RobertM.
    Dec 16, 2003
    4
    I've been waiting a long time for this game. It's been in the works for a long time. I enjoy Falcon 2, Flanker 2, USAF and have been a flight simmer for many, many years. (I'm 51.) Lomac, sadly, must be reviewed and rated on what it is right now rather than what it plans and hopes to be within a patch (or two or three). Lock ups. Missing textures. Bugs aplenty, I've been waiting a long time for this game. It's been in the works for a long time. I enjoy Falcon 2, Flanker 2, USAF and have been a flight simmer for many, many years. (I'm 51.) Lomac, sadly, must be reviewed and rated on what it is right now rather than what it plans and hopes to be within a patch (or two or three). Lock ups. Missing textures. Bugs aplenty, unfortunately. However, I did enjoy the demo. If you want to fly a fun mission with the A10 (though I think the A10 model is boshed up too) then download the demo and wait on the game. Honestly, I think something's wrong with some of the files on the Lomac CD. For instance, the controlini file keeps overwriting your preferences and cannot be made to be a solely "Archive" file. It keeps reverting to be a "Read Only" and overwrites your preferences. I'll keep looking for a good future for Lomac, but I don't intend to be a beta tester. Expand
  67. MrDude
    Dec 16, 2003
    6
    Good game and alot of work done to make it realistic. Nice graphpics but needs a patch. Runs rather OK with lowres mods (sky/water) but without them you have to turn a lot of the graphic goodies down and then it looks rather "cheap". 2,1 Ghz 1gb RAM and ATI 9800 Pro should get me a litle bit further than this.
  68. SpektreUser
    Dec 16, 2003
    7
    Having been flying the Flanker series of flightsims I had high expectations for this game. But then again, they promised much. Throughout the development, we were constantly fed plenty of eye-candy as the game progressed. Graphically...LOMAC is second to none. In playability...its sub-par. For some, the lack of a "dynamic campaign" was a major issue. For others, it was more about the Having been flying the Flanker series of flightsims I had high expectations for this game. But then again, they promised much. Throughout the development, we were constantly fed plenty of eye-candy as the game progressed. Graphically...LOMAC is second to none. In playability...its sub-par. For some, the lack of a "dynamic campaign" was a major issue. For others, it was more about the avionics and flight model. For me, it was the "whole experience" both within the game and out. I was recently BANNED from their forums for questioning their software testing especially after they admitted that they had allowed certain KNOWN bugs to make it to the final release. I helped the community at first but when I "stepped out of line" I was ostracized and criticized and then eventually banned. I hope that all that purchase this game realize that the sense of "community" is reserved for a select few and in particular all that don't question. Once the games' performance issues are addressed, as well as the AI issues, the Windows 98 compatability issues, and some other minor details I think this sim has tremendous potential and will definitely have some serious longevity. But then again...one can only hope... Expand
  69. Olivier
    Dec 16, 2003
    5
    Flight sim enthousiast since Falcon 1, Lomac is a pleasure to fly if you have a machine powerfull enought. I love the attention to details in the graphics and military hardware used. A true pleasure to see each individual parts in action from the SAMs to the planes. Alas, the lack of Dynamic Campaign makes the game quickly borring, then your only satisfaction becomes to fly online with Flight sim enthousiast since Falcon 1, Lomac is a pleasure to fly if you have a machine powerfull enought. I love the attention to details in the graphics and military hardware used. A true pleasure to see each individual parts in action from the SAMs to the planes. Alas, the lack of Dynamic Campaign makes the game quickly borring, then your only satisfaction becomes to fly online with your friends your favorite mission over and over. More planes+dynamic campaign would make me rate a 11 despite demanding computer hardware requirement. Expand
  70. Dayak
    Dec 16, 2003
    5
    the game need to be optimized and alot of bug to be squashed.
  71. JonL.
    Dec 16, 2003
    0
    Sorry but, NO. Right now it has potential, but is teh suck.
  72. TotalScience
    Dec 16, 2003
    3
    It has beautiful graphics, nice sound, and has immense replay value. Unfortunetly, the game will runs slow even if you have the greatest computer available. I can barely run the game on the lowest detail settings on my high end computer. I uninstalled it for now, hopefully they will optimize the code, but until then, it's not worth it. It feels like an incomplete product rushed out It has beautiful graphics, nice sound, and has immense replay value. Unfortunetly, the game will runs slow even if you have the greatest computer available. I can barely run the game on the lowest detail settings on my high end computer. I uninstalled it for now, hopefully they will optimize the code, but until then, it's not worth it. It feels like an incomplete product rushed out the door, even though it was already delayed to "ensure a quality product". Ridden with bugs. A real dissapointment for those of us who reserved our copies months and months ago. I feel very let down. Expand
  73. Archangel
    Dec 16, 2003
    7
    Every game has it teething problems, and LOMAC is no different. I find this game very good value and a hell of a lot of fun. It will take a bit to learn but that gives the game longevity. All I ask is PLEASE, PLEASE bring out addons for this game and please make it so we can customize our skins!! Way to go UBI! your close to having another winner.
  74. MausiP.
    Dec 16, 2003
    1
    boring
  75. Nathan
    Dec 16, 2003
    3
    Even on a high end system this game blows! I am running P4 3.2 ati radeon 9800. With this system i should have no probs but i still get ctd's. With some weather and a few units this thing starts to drop frame rates fast. This is horrendous! The graphics are well done but you can tell that this was released to early. I wish they spent more time on it.
  76. ErichH.
    Dec 16, 2003
    5
    While I see the potential I find it very lacking. The publishers charge teh same amount $39.99 and give you a game with no manual but do place it on the CD if you want to kill 168 pages and dry up your print cartridge. The interface is easy enough and the training missions are ok. With the amount of lag though due to graphic drains even on high end systems, locking on with Mavricks is While I see the potential I find it very lacking. The publishers charge teh same amount $39.99 and give you a game with no manual but do place it on the CD if you want to kill 168 pages and dry up your print cartridge. The interface is easy enough and the training missions are ok. With the amount of lag though due to graphic drains even on high end systems, locking on with Mavricks is best saved for auto. The layout and key commands are very clumky and not very well laid out. I recommend spending about an hour going in and reassigning all of the key funtions for not jsut your keyboard but you stick as well. A HOTAS setup with save you lots of time but with the lack of a mouse selectable cockpit there are to many functions that asre basically jsut for fine tuning radar settings etc. BEing able to use the mosue and have an interactive cockpit control enviroment would have really helped. Again though to get decent frames I had to turn many of the eye candy off and I am running a AMD2800+ with 1GB of PC3200 on a GeForce FX5900 256Mb card! Still fun to tool around in though but I am waiting on a patch to see if this simm can then shine. Expand
  77. RudiVanZyl
    Dec 16, 2003
    0
    Had to install it 3 times before the multiplayer worked. Whenever me and my friend fly against each other, and one is shot down, both of us are thrown out of the game. Biggest fault i have made with this game is buying it.
  78. AnonymousMC
    Dec 16, 2003
    7
    ED/UBI know how to make a flight sim. Graphicly LOMAC will amaze you with it's level of detail. Each of the flyable aircraft have a distinct look and feel. Some people say it's a survey sim but they are wrong. You will have 100s of hours of gameplay as you become proficient with each aircraft. The mission editor is probly the best ever seen in a flight sim. The campaignED/UBI know how to make a flight sim. Graphicly LOMAC will amaze you with it's level of detail. Each of the flyable aircraft have a distinct look and feel. Some people say it's a survey sim but they are wrong. You will have 100s of hours of gameplay as you become proficient with each aircraft. The mission editor is probly the best ever seen in a flight sim. The campaign unfortunatly is not dynamic. Multiplayer runs well and is a good time when you can find a game you want to join. There are some things that prevent the game from getting a higher score...lack of printed manual, poor quality PDF manual, varius bugs that can range from slight annoyances to very frustrating...and what has been the biggest problem with the LOMAC community...the VERY hefty system requirements to see the game run with much, if any of the graphics set to high. LOMAC has some problems but the game is still amazing and you will be blown away by the sence of flight, the weapons, and the landscapes. For any flight sim enthusiast this game is a must have that will only get better as patches are released as UBI/ED is currently to working on patches for the game. Expand
  79. BrandonH.
    Dec 16, 2003
    7
    I think after a few patches this game will be a 10.
  80. NicholasF.
    Dec 17, 2003
    7
    This product has the same vision and goal as the Old Falcon 4.0 did and certainly has promise with further support. But in its current form is is incomplete, lacks documentation, and its campaign is just a series of six canned missions per aircraft. However, if you are a diehard flight simmer with some serious hardware you will no doubt find hours of enjoyment with this product and at This product has the same vision and goal as the Old Falcon 4.0 did and certainly has promise with further support. But in its current form is is incomplete, lacks documentation, and its campaign is just a series of six canned missions per aircraft. However, if you are a diehard flight simmer with some serious hardware you will no doubt find hours of enjoyment with this product and at only 39$ it doesn't hurt the wallet a much. Expand
  81. GaryR.
    Dec 17, 2003
    7
    Superb. Points dropped for lack of paper manual and problematic (for some) copy protection. Requires a good system apparently, but I'm problem-free with a 2.53P4, 9700pro and xp with 1 gig memory. Some slow-down in parts but not life-threatening. If you like jet sims buy it without hesitation. If you don't - don't. Its that simple. Graphically and aurally unmatched, great Superb. Points dropped for lack of paper manual and problematic (for some) copy protection. Requires a good system apparently, but I'm problem-free with a 2.53P4, 9700pro and xp with 1 gig memory. Some slow-down in parts but not life-threatening. If you like jet sims buy it without hesitation. If you don't - don't. Its that simple. Graphically and aurally unmatched, great work by developers, support from them is wonderful, active forum, let down by the usual piss-poor performance from Ubisoft (not even a keycard in the box). Expand
  82. HenrydeLange
    Dec 17, 2003
    7
    A 7 at current status but could be more if the patch makes it more fps friendly and no blue screens.
  83. JeffN.
    Dec 17, 2003
    6
    This game has great potential and will no doubt in it's finished form blow everything else out of the water! But hey, lets be honest here..this is supposed to be a rating of the game "As it is " not how it "Will be ". My advice..wait a month or so till some of the MAJOR bugs are worked out.
  84. PatrickB.
    Dec 17, 2003
    2
    Cant play it yet - joystick problems....will be a 10 when fixed...
  85. SebastianG.
    Dec 17, 2003
    7
    There is big potential in this game !
  86. Kev
    Dec 17, 2003
    7
    In time this will be awesome. Provided Ubi stick with it that is.
  87. MarkB.
    Dec 17, 2003
    3
    This sim has never been immersive the real fighter jet audio on the menu puts it to shame when you hear the ingame sound which is almost non existant. Full of bugs and graphics problems. released far too early. even the campaign is a disappointment. never been so disappointed in a flight sim b4. it does have potential in a few years after half a dozen patches and 3rd party addons. but 4This sim has never been immersive the real fighter jet audio on the menu puts it to shame when you hear the ingame sound which is almost non existant. Full of bugs and graphics problems. released far too early. even the campaign is a disappointment. never been so disappointed in a flight sim b4. it does have potential in a few years after half a dozen patches and 3rd party addons. but 4 now it's total shite Expand
  88. BillA.
    Dec 17, 2003
    0
    This game sucks ass!!! I'll never buy another UBI product.
  89. JohnK.
    Dec 18, 2003
    7
    7 now, but as I find more bugs and figure a way around them I'll revote. Great game and has the potential to be even greater than Falcon 4.0. Just started, so give me time.
  90. FarleyB
    Dec 18, 2003
    0
    Out of the box HELL! S T A Y A W A Y !!!!
  91. SubZero
    Dec 18, 2003
    1
    Let's just say that I can't post what needs to be said without having it deleted! My rating says it all.
  92. JG53Harti
    Dec 18, 2003
    3
    Reasons are: the german Version has NO Instruction Manual --> but i've paid for itr :( Too many bugs in the game, nearly unplayable in MP. It looks like a big betatest. After patches will be released i and the bugs are fixed i will give the game a higher ranking. maybe 8 or 9 is correct after the patch
  93. MickyC.
    Dec 18, 2003
    2
    Watch out for the one-line, three word reviews. I believed them and found out the hard way that this is a disappointing game at this point in time. It appears the game was released to grab some of the money being spent during the holiday buying season. There are many bugs in it that severely hamper game play and its enjoyment. Joysticks are a bear to setup, and more times than not the Watch out for the one-line, three word reviews. I believed them and found out the hard way that this is a disappointing game at this point in time. It appears the game was released to grab some of the money being spent during the holiday buying season. There are many bugs in it that severely hamper game play and its enjoyment. Joysticks are a bear to setup, and more times than not the settings aren?t saved once you leave the game. There are performance issues that even the biggest machine couldn?t solve, it appears some optimizations are badly needed not only in the graphics engine, but throughout the entire game. There are campaign issues, including canned scenarios that take away from the immersion feeling found in several other titles. This could be the result of it being a follow-up to Flanker, which was a substandard game in many areas itself. Support for the game is unproven and seeing the state the game was released in makes you wonder what the real intent is, and if the problems can be fixed. The confidence level about this game getting fixed is low; if it was released this way, what was their intent? Was is it an attempt to build a fan base, only at a fanatic fan-boy level right now, and toy with them for a few years? Do yourself, and anyone you plan on giving this game to, a favor, read all the reviews and wait. Find another product for the time being and revisit this one in the summer. There are many other flight sim titles out there right now that provide everything this one does and one thing LOMAC doesn?t, a completed product. LOMAC has potential, but it?s going to take the same effort to fix it as it did to produce it. If you buy it, can you wait another three years for it to be fixed? Think about it and be weary of three word reviews! Expand
  94. MickyC.
    Dec 18, 2003
    2
    Watch out for the one-line, three word reviews. I believed them and found out the hard way that this is a disappointing game at this point in time. It appears the game was released to grab some of the money being spent during the holiday buying season. There are many bugs in it that severely hamper game play and its enjoyment. Joysticks are a bear to setup, and more times than not the Watch out for the one-line, three word reviews. I believed them and found out the hard way that this is a disappointing game at this point in time. It appears the game was released to grab some of the money being spent during the holiday buying season. There are many bugs in it that severely hamper game play and its enjoyment. Joysticks are a bear to setup, and more times than not the settings aren?t saved once you leave the game. There are performance issues that even the biggest machine couldn?t solve, it appears some optimizations are badly needed not only in the graphics engine, but throughout the entire game. There are campaign issues, including canned scenarios that take away from the immersion feeling found in several other titles. This could be the result of it being a follow-up to Flanker, which was a substandard game in many areas itself. Support for the game is unproven and seeing the state the game was released in makes you wonder what the real intent is, and if the problems can be fixed. The confidence level about this game getting fixed is low; if it was released this way, what was their intent? Was is it an attempt to build a fan base, only at a fanatic fan-boy level right now, and toy with them for a few years? Do yourself, and anyone you plan on giving this game to, a favor, read all the reviews and wait. Find another product for the time being and revisit this one in the summer. There are many other flight sim titles out there right now that provide everything this one does and one thing LOMAC doesn?t, a completed product. LOMAC has potential, but it?s going to take the same effort to fix it as it did to produce it. If you buy it, can you wait another three years for it to be fixed? Think about it and be weary of three word reviews! Expand
  95. DannyT.
    Dec 18, 2003
    3
    After reading some of the reviews here, I felt I had to add mine. This game is unacceptable in the condition it?s being sold. I?m I a complainer as some seam to think? No, I?m a consumer that purchased a product that should not have been released in a beta state! Why people rate this thing a 10 is obvious, they are trying to pump up that ratings, and is beyond belief. The game is slow, After reading some of the reviews here, I felt I had to add mine. This game is unacceptable in the condition it?s being sold. I?m I a complainer as some seam to think? No, I?m a consumer that purchased a product that should not have been released in a beta state! Why people rate this thing a 10 is obvious, they are trying to pump up that ratings, and is beyond belief. The game is slow, and it?s not really the computers fault. It?s the substandard programming and quality assurance practices that were used to produce the un-optimized bug ridden code. I?m judging this GAME, in this condition it?s not a SIMULATOR, on how well of a simulator it is, or suppose to be, and on a computer that it states it can run on. With that in mind, it falls short in every category except graphics. If you want to take nice screenshots and enter a contest on a particular fanboy site, this is your game. If you wanted a flight simulator, don?t even pick this up for now. Wait until 2007 when the machines people say it needs to run on are available and after it?s 25?th patch! Expand
  96. ShawnW.
    Dec 18, 2003
    5
    A very good beginning for a game that has the potential to be the best ever flight sim produced to date. I gave it a '5' because of obvious faults that should have been fixed before release, such as the game's inability to hold the options that the player picks. That is a pedestrian effort at best. I hope that forcing the customer to be the ultimate beta tester isn't A very good beginning for a game that has the potential to be the best ever flight sim produced to date. I gave it a '5' because of obvious faults that should have been fixed before release, such as the game's inability to hold the options that the player picks. That is a pedestrian effort at best. I hope that forcing the customer to be the ultimate beta tester isn't going to be the future trend of software development. Expand
  97. PhilZ.
    Dec 19, 2003
    3
    This is not the direction hard-core sims need to be going in. At best this is a survey sim and a very poor one at that. It?s simplistic design makes new users, which seems to be the 9 & 10 raters, think they are playing a complex game. Avionics are basic and landings are scripted. The only thing complex about this GAME is in setting it up. The user interface is awkward and many settings This is not the direction hard-core sims need to be going in. At best this is a survey sim and a very poor one at that. It?s simplistic design makes new users, which seems to be the 9 & 10 raters, think they are playing a complex game. Avionics are basic and landings are scripted. The only thing complex about this GAME is in setting it up. The user interface is awkward and many settings don?t persist from one session to the next. Frame rates are horrendous, yet people who have problems are called whiners and worse at the games main forum; this is an indication of extreme fanboy mentality. Some say this game needs a few bug fixes, this couldn?t be further from the truth. This game has MAJOR bugs, in the hundreds, and it?s going to take several patches to bring it up to acceptable standards. When you buy this game, you are paying for a beta, plain and simple. This thing may mature in time, but how long will it take? Too many hardcore simmers are staying away from this one, you should too for the next year. Don?t believe the egotistic morons that post the 9 & 10?s, download the DEMO and see for yourself before you buy this un-optimized piece of code! Expand
  98. BruceL
    Dec 19, 2003
    4
    Definitely doesn't deserve an 8 or above. There are just to many things wrong. Still I can't rate it higher than a 4 for several other reasons; poor gameplay, controller setup doesn't work properly, amd the documentation is poor. And I will not be strong-armed into buying another manual for $40 when the proper documentation should've came with the game.
  99. CharlesK.
    Dec 19, 2003
    5
    Other than the flight models none of the combat is very realistic, if it has to do with anything on the ground then it's completly unrealistic.
  100. Mike'sDaddy
    Dec 19, 2003
    0
    I wouldn't give this to Goodwill, it would be a crime! Don't ruin someone's Christmas by giving them this.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Our favourite is the A-10 Warthog – cruising at 50 feet, on the prowl for enemy tanks, it’s one of the most exhilarating missions available in any recent simulator.
  2. Detailed terrain, buildings, water, and effects lend an unprecedented feeling of speed to low-level flight. [March 2004, p.82]
  3. It has great graphics, fairly simple controls, great scenery, a decent choice of planes, and a great editor. Although the sounds easily get on your nerves, it will be the load times and need for a computer upgrade that will have you pulling your hair out.