• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Jul 26, 2005
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 546 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 96 out of 546

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Werner
    Nov 23, 2003
    3
    Gets only three points from me, because the full version doesn't work with Windows ME. Major issue and a strange thing because the demo worked. There is no key overview card in the package, most of the manual is only available als Acrobat PDF. Some graphic bugs, complicated and confusing menus and mission planer, poor performance especially when flying over city, crashes somethimes Gets only three points from me, because the full version doesn't work with Windows ME. Major issue and a strange thing because the demo worked. There is no key overview card in the package, most of the manual is only available als Acrobat PDF. Some graphic bugs, complicated and confusing menus and mission planer, poor performance especially when flying over city, crashes somethimes with bluescreen. Looks overall very unfinished. X-MAS is coming. SO RUSH RUSH Hope the fix the major issues soon, I don't want another "Strike Fighters-Project 1" in my shelf! But even then LOMAC will be far from being perfect! Collapse
  2. NoclueNeeded
    Jan 16, 2004
    2
    The first patch has improved many things, but the starting point was so low that it?s moot point at this point in time. It appears several more patches are going to be needed to bring this GAME up to playable levels for the majority of users, not just those on the fanboy sites. If you have a blind obedience mindset, like to play follow the fool, and only want to post rave reviews and The first patch has improved many things, but the starting point was so low that it?s moot point at this point in time. It appears several more patches are going to be needed to bring this GAME up to playable levels for the majority of users, not just those on the fanboy sites. If you have a blind obedience mindset, like to play follow the fool, and only want to post rave reviews and comments, warranted or not, about the game, rush out and buy it. Or, you can use common sense and wait until things are fixed before buying a game that contains un-optimized code making unplayable on anything less than a machine made for the gods. Good Luck! Expand
  3. Sputnik
    Jan 29, 2004
    5
    Unlike others here giving this game an 8 or above, I see it for what it is now, not what it?s going to be after 4-5 more patches. How else should it be rated? People stating they?re getting great performance and frame rates, they achieve this by turning the settings to LOW, don?t be fooled by their rhetoric. There are problems with the F-15?s avionics, along with the toning down of US Unlike others here giving this game an 8 or above, I see it for what it is now, not what it?s going to be after 4-5 more patches. How else should it be rated? People stating they?re getting great performance and frame rates, they achieve this by turning the settings to LOW, don?t be fooled by their rhetoric. There are problems with the F-15?s avionics, along with the toning down of US missiles and radar effectiveness. To the zealots, it?s always ?The next patch? will fix it. Too many with high end systems are having problems and knowing how to setup your system is not the problem. The problem lies in poorly designed code. As you can see in previous posts, those that post other than stellar reviews or comments are called complainers, whiners, trolls, and other names. It?s not that we don?t own or play the game, it?s because we dare post accurate comments, according to what we see, and aren?t so weak-minded that we are swayed by the fan-boys to post lovely reviews and comments. If you?re not expecting outstanding performance and want a great LOOKING game, this is for you. You can always take and post your lovely screenshots to certain message boards or give them to your friends for their desktop. Expand
  4. KORN_WWTE
    Dec 16, 2003
    3
    The game is uncomplete, to much emphasis on having to create interesting missions yourself. Default missions are plain and short, starting in the air and not on the ramp, no need to learn engine start sequences. Campaigns are dull und unispiring. Any action on screen or weather other than clear starts to slow the FPS down until unplayable. This game needs a patch before I reconsider The game is uncomplete, to much emphasis on having to create interesting missions yourself. Default missions are plain and short, starting in the air and not on the ramp, no need to learn engine start sequences. Campaigns are dull und unispiring. Any action on screen or weather other than clear starts to slow the FPS down until unplayable. This game needs a patch before I reconsider giving it another go. Expand
  5. TomD
    Dec 16, 2003
    2
    Unfriendly user interface, taxing mission editor, vague missions, bugs bugs and more bugs. The game was rushed out, if your not into tweaking and tweaking then leave this on the shelf until the developers finish it of properly.
  6. PhillipM.
    Dec 16, 2003
    3
    Weak documentation, buggy, rushed out earily to beat Falcon4 Gold OIR in my opinion. Will be a great sim when fixed.
  7. frag_tallnmbao
    Dec 16, 2003
    0
    They 've to give us money cause we need CRY2 system to run this missed game, i said "game" ok? :) that is.
  8. TorL.
    Dec 17, 2003
    2
    Poorly written graphics engine, will not perform on current hardware. Minimum specs (on the box) is a joke / marketing ploy. I returned the game for a refund.
  9. CarlN.
    Dec 17, 2003
    3
    It's a bit shite.
  10. Hocking
    Dec 17, 2003
    4
    In it's current state, the F15 can be considered still in development, and therefore not flyable at this time. The radar has a few bugs, but more importantly, the missiles are under-modeled by about 10 times. They are simply not effective at all, and extremely unreallistic upon the time of release. They need a complete makeover to bring them up to the level that can be considered In it's current state, the F15 can be considered still in development, and therefore not flyable at this time. The radar has a few bugs, but more importantly, the missiles are under-modeled by about 10 times. They are simply not effective at all, and extremely unreallistic upon the time of release. They need a complete makeover to bring them up to the level that can be considered realistic. The Aim120 has a range of less than 5 miles, the Aim 7 is the most accurate of the group, and the Aim 9 has difficulty tracking down a target at less than 2 miles (I once fired three Aim 9's at a MIG about 2 miles in front of me while I was on his six and all three missiles missed). Can't beleive that this passed the beta testers. The game can become good, but upon release, it is about 70% complete. Expand
  11. DavidDuce
    Dec 17, 2003
    3
    Buyer BEWARE and not so fast my 9/10 rating friends. This game may be a 9/10 in a few years, but right now it?s just another little light on the horizon. Many things are wrong with this game that will need heavy patching to fix.

    1. System requirements, high and low end: Who came up with them? They are way off and badly misleading to the consumer. Looks like a badly programmed
    Buyer BEWARE and not so fast my 9/10 rating friends. This game may be a 9/10 in a few years, but right now it?s just another little light on the horizon. Many things are wrong with this game that will need heavy patching to fix.

    1. System requirements, high and low end:
    Who came up with them? They are way off and badly misleading to the
    consumer. Looks like a badly programmed graphics engine. Heavy optimizations are need to allow the average consumer to play this thing.

    2. Gamplay:
    Too scripted, boring, and clean. Limited missions for those that want to jump in and have fun. Seems to an update Flanker, another boring game.

    3. Encyclopedic bug list:
    Way too may to have let this product hit the market, Why? Where was QA? Does the company expect buyers to be beta testers? If so, we deserve a rebate!
    4. Documentation:
    No keycard shipped, but you can download one. How about the people without the means to see that chance?
    Disgustingly useless PDF manual. When you try to print it, it?s unreadable. But wait! You can purchase anadditional manual for $40 plus shipping. What a deal, they sell you a game without the documentation to properly play it, but will gladly sell you one. What a scam.

    People, educate yourself before buying this game, in its current state, it can?t be called a SIMULATION. To compare it to previous SIMULATORS is a slap in the face to them. Take the advice of several other reviews here and elsewhere, wait at least a year before buying it, you?ll save yourself a lot of wasted time and by then, hopefully, the beta testing period will be over.
    Expand
  12. ErikF.
    Dec 17, 2003
    3
    This game has problems, many problems. The system required to play this game is not yet available, but people say to upgrade this and upgrade that. What a bunch of bull! If the game is suppose to play satisfactorily on mid range systems, why do they say to upgrade? To cover up a poorly programmed game, that?s why. Those that say they have bought this and that are only fooling themselves This game has problems, many problems. The system required to play this game is not yet available, but people say to upgrade this and upgrade that. What a bunch of bull! If the game is suppose to play satisfactorily on mid range systems, why do they say to upgrade? To cover up a poorly programmed game, that?s why. Those that say they have bought this and that are only fooling themselves and buying into the hype, don?t fall into the trap they have! How it can be rated over a 6 at this point in time is beyond me. There are bugs everywhere, the game runs slow, setup is horrendous, and no one knows how many patches it will need to bring it up to an acceptable level. As far as looking good, that?s the best thing that people can say about it. See it in action before you buy it. If the store won?t load it up for you, walk away from it until summer. It will need longer, but at least you?ll get it at cheaper price. $40 is way too much for a game that was slapped together with proper Quality Assurance procedures in place. Expand
  13. FaelF.
    Dec 17, 2003
    4
    Ok, First I have to be honest about my experience with fighter sims. Im not an enthusiast who logs 30 flight hours per week. In fact, the last flight sim I played religiously was US Navy Fighters (loved that game). But I am a hardcore gamer that tries to keep up with the hardware upgrades (as much as my wallet allows). So with that my review. Dissapointment...plain and simple. Im not Ok, First I have to be honest about my experience with fighter sims. Im not an enthusiast who logs 30 flight hours per week. In fact, the last flight sim I played religiously was US Navy Fighters (loved that game). But I am a hardcore gamer that tries to keep up with the hardware upgrades (as much as my wallet allows). So with that my review. Dissapointment...plain and simple. Im not talking about the graphics and in-game realism. Im talking about my expectation as a consumer...ipso facto...a money spending one. The amount of support available, the state in which my product was purchased (incomplete), ease of use (this game is more dialed into experienced flight simmers so it has a steep learning curve), and the famous bug issues most lo-mac forums are rife with. Let me say that most of those bugs are fixable if you tone down the settings and take the time to bug hunt your problems. But for ease of use and consumer satisfaction....lo-mac is stuck with a generous 4. Its just not "out of the box" satisfaction. Expand
  14. GrantM.
    Dec 17, 2003
    3
    The reason for the low score is that the game is not finished yet by a long shot. Its like a beautifull woman that never stops moaning. An irritation at this stage. The game should still be on the development desk sorting out the similar problems that were in the demo. No doubt this game has potential to be a fantastic flight sim and a 9/10 rating at the end of the day. The minimum specs The reason for the low score is that the game is not finished yet by a long shot. Its like a beautifull woman that never stops moaning. An irritation at this stage. The game should still be on the development desk sorting out the similar problems that were in the demo. No doubt this game has potential to be a fantastic flight sim and a 9/10 rating at the end of the day. The minimum specs on the box are a total thumb suck. If you dont have the biggest, meanest pc with an 'UBER' GPU forget about getting this game. Patches will no doubt sort out a lot of the problems, but this is a clear case of getting releasing the game before Christmas just to reap in the sales when they new all to well the game was still in a beta stage. It does have fanatastic potential though. Expand
  15. GunterH.
    Dec 18, 2003
    4
    So-so game with good graphics. Needs work.
  16. M.
    Dec 18, 2003
    0
    Great ideas behind the game BUT realisation is poor for now. Very bad. Lots of bugs of important functions, killing the fun to use the game - very, very sadly...
  17. NikkiS.
    Dec 18, 2003
    2
    Compared to Falcon 4.0, this is just another game. The avionics are arcade-like and a generation behind the king. To compare this game in its current state to Falcon 4.0 only hurts LOMAC! Its graphics are the best thing going for it and if it weren?t for that, who knows where it would stand. It appears plenty of work needs to be done to get this lump of code in working order. It actually Compared to Falcon 4.0, this is just another game. The avionics are arcade-like and a generation behind the king. To compare this game in its current state to Falcon 4.0 only hurts LOMAC! Its graphics are the best thing going for it and if it weren?t for that, who knows where it would stand. It appears plenty of work needs to be done to get this lump of code in working order. It actually appears to be Flanker rewrapped with a few more planes ?thrown? in. The consumer was taken for granted on this one and it seems many fell for the trap and hype. Don?t be one of them. Wait until Falcon 4:OIR comes out before making your decision. There?s more to calling yourself a flight?SIM? than pretty graphics. Expand
  18. SimonL.
    Dec 18, 2003
    3
    I really should have given a 0, but that's to harsh and would really like to give it a ten, but I hate to lie. This has got to be the most overrated game in a long time. People state to make sure your system is properly configured and optimzed, but even that doesn't cover up the sloppy coding that has brought out hundreds of bug reports. They say they are being sorted out, I really should have given a 0, but that's to harsh and would really like to give it a ten, but I hate to lie. This has got to be the most overrated game in a long time. People state to make sure your system is properly configured and optimzed, but even that doesn't cover up the sloppy coding that has brought out hundreds of bug reports. They say they are being sorted out, we'll see. My money goes elsewhere for now, your's should too. Read the 9 and 10 reviews with your fingers crossed, they are misleading and an attempt to ramp up the ratings, Expand
  19. ShawnD.
    Dec 18, 2003
    3
    Really poor programming. This program was not ready to be released. It may improve in the future if they have competent developers on-hand.
  20. GaryP.
    Dec 18, 2003
    3
    Plenty of PROMISE, but in its current state, its still a dream.
  21. NolanS.
    Dec 19, 2003
    1
    Sickening framerates and useless support! This puppy is going back. Anybody want to follow me and be the next sucker to buy it?
  22. Warthog
    Dec 19, 2003
    2
    Assumptions by some, like Bruce and Steve, are what landed this game in the position its in. The programmers thought they needed to develop the game to novices and it shows and that?s why you see all the 9 and 10 ratings. The hardcore simmers are the ones that don?t like it due to its simplicity and piece-meal design. Some say it?s a follow up of the Flanker series. This game makes you Assumptions by some, like Bruce and Steve, are what landed this game in the position its in. The programmers thought they needed to develop the game to novices and it shows and that?s why you see all the 9 and 10 ratings. The hardcore simmers are the ones that don?t like it due to its simplicity and piece-meal design. Some say it?s a follow up of the Flanker series. This game makes you glad you didn?t play Flanker. This game will lead the real flight SIM genre in the wrong direction. There is no immersion factor in the game; the terrain is bland, it contains useless cockpits that add nothing to the feel of the game except in reducing frame rates, and the hundreds of bugs make trying to setup your system to play this things a pain in the royal behind. If you have time and money to waste, this is your game, but realize you?re not getting a true FLIGHT SIM, only an arcadish survey game with aircraft in it. Expand
  23. RichT.
    Dec 19, 2003
    2
    This has got to be a joke. A company should not be allowed to release something in this state and people give it a 10? On what basis do they give it a 10? These people are mindless Lemmings that would by the Grand Canyon if you tried to sell it to them. Do believe a game in this condition is a 10. If you buy it now, you'll be sorry and if's a gift, you'll be laughed at! This has got to be a joke. A company should not be allowed to release something in this state and people give it a 10? On what basis do they give it a 10? These people are mindless Lemmings that would by the Grand Canyon if you tried to sell it to them. Do believe a game in this condition is a 10. If you buy it now, you'll be sorry and if's a gift, you'll be laughed at! Make an informed decision. Expand
  24. Curtis
    Dec 19, 2003
    2
    If you're old enough to drink a few beers before playing, it's not too bad. When you try it sober, you start looking for another few beers. Who let this out the door? Where were the quality people? You can its Christmas time when trash like this comes out. Under the influence rating: 7 Sober rating: 2.
  25. JedB.
    Mar 8, 2004
    10
    This is the best simulation I have every owned. The graphics are fabulous and the detail is incredible. I have been flying mostly the A-10 Warthog and it is a pleasure. This is the one I have been waiting for all my gaming life. Thanks to Eagle Dynamics, great job. No kudos to the publisher, Ubi Soft. They did a lousy job with the release. I finally had to order it from Amazon.com because This is the best simulation I have every owned. The graphics are fabulous and the detail is incredible. I have been flying mostly the A-10 Warthog and it is a pleasure. This is the one I have been waiting for all my gaming life. Thanks to Eagle Dynamics, great job. No kudos to the publisher, Ubi Soft. They did a lousy job with the release. I finally had to order it from Amazon.com because the EB near my house didn't have any and claimed that Ubi Soft "ran out of them". I also did not get a Key Command Card but was able to finally get one sent to me after I called Ubi Soft. (By the way, to the reviewer below - Codemasters is the publisher of Operation Flashpoint, not Ubi Soft) Expand
  26. JohnF.
    Feb 5, 2004
    9
    Just bought Lock On this past weekend. I really like it. It looks great, has lots of great aircraft and the missions are fun. I have not had a chance to fly multiplayer yet, but I will try this coming weekend. Just playing single player has shown me that this game is one of the best sims I have ever owned. I still can't believe how great it looks. Sure, it is not for older systems, I Just bought Lock On this past weekend. I really like it. It looks great, has lots of great aircraft and the missions are fun. I have not had a chance to fly multiplayer yet, but I will try this coming weekend. Just playing single player has shown me that this game is one of the best sims I have ever owned. I still can't believe how great it looks. Sure, it is not for older systems, I have a pretty good rig. But, if you are serious about flying complex jets then this is the one for you. I can understand that people that have inferior hardware might not like a game like this, but they are going to be crying big time when new games come out this year that are going to be just as demanding as Lock On. Don't make the mistake of listening to the doom and gloom bunch. Get this great game now. JF. Expand
  27. AndyM.
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    great game, I realy dont have any problems running it at all. Ok ive got a high spec computer but if you want to run a high spec game like this then you need the hardware to run it. I some times have to reming my self that its only a sim, the graphics are that good. I know there are some problems for some people but hopefully the up comming patch should sort those problems out.
  28. MikeK.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    AMAZING GAME !!!
  29. DaveC.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    Looks amazing has cool graphics but my pc sucks to play it :(
  30. JurgenT.
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    Great game but even on easy somme things are very hard (can't shoot a plane down whit a missle)
  31. Rob
    Dec 18, 2003
    9
    Splendid game - nice balance between hard-core sim and playablilty without sacrificing riealism. Given the support the developers gave Flanker2 and IL2, I have no doubt that this product will also receive solid support. There are some issues which need resolving (and I understand a patch is imminent). Notwithstanding this, the game is great and I'm addicted to it! Once patched, Splendid game - nice balance between hard-core sim and playablilty without sacrificing riealism. Given the support the developers gave Flanker2 and IL2, I have no doubt that this product will also receive solid support. There are some issues which need resolving (and I understand a patch is imminent). Notwithstanding this, the game is great and I'm addicted to it! Once patched, I'd give it a 10. As for now, a 9 will suffice. Expand
  32. AlexisG.
    Oct 2, 2004
    10
    A fine game. Really enjoyed the look and feel of it. I am rather stupid when it comes to complicted games but this one was worth the time and study I put in to learn it. If a moron like me can enjoy it then I am sure others will be able to have a great time with this cool simulation game.
  33. Smack5
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    Great sim, even with the bugs (patch is on the way). Having said that, pay attention to the RECOMMENDED specs on the box. I'll second the "don't listen to the crybabies" comment. If your system is meeting the minimum specs, then be prepared for a minimal experience. With decent hardware, you shouldn't have many problems, and it's definately playable in it's Great sim, even with the bugs (patch is on the way). Having said that, pay attention to the RECOMMENDED specs on the box. I'll second the "don't listen to the crybabies" comment. If your system is meeting the minimum specs, then be prepared for a minimal experience. With decent hardware, you shouldn't have many problems, and it's definately playable in it's current state. Expand
  34. JakeyZ.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    Out of the box I believe this game is an 8 easily. The graphics are amazing.. there's no question of this. It's hard on your system though, so be prepared to tune things down. Even so, on the lowest it still looks good. With a patch coming out soon to fix the minor bugs, this will be at least a 9/10!
  35. Extreeem
    Dec 17, 2003
    8
    The game is outstanding I just wish that the current systems were able to run the game at it's full potential. Since multiplayer is my biggest interest I can't comment on campaigns but for MP is has most all the features I've wanted in an air combat sim. Although the game is capable of an almost arcade like setting those who play in that mode are not the ones who will The game is outstanding I just wish that the current systems were able to run the game at it's full potential. Since multiplayer is my biggest interest I can't comment on campaigns but for MP is has most all the features I've wanted in an air combat sim. Although the game is capable of an almost arcade like setting those who play in that mode are not the ones who will really appreciate the game .... now those how enjoy the emersion and learning curves, this game is for you. Expand
  36. xy
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    Love the A-10 :D
  37. HåkanJ.
    Dec 17, 2003
    8
    Even though the game has some bugs in it it's the best flight sim availiable together with FB. It got great potential for addons and further development. Good graphics and FM/DM. But i wont lie, it takes a lot of your PC!!!
  38. Torch
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    This is LOMAC, need I say more. Bugs will be fixed and performance will increase as my PC gets better. But it isn't perfect (yet) so a 9 out of 10 is well deserved.
  39. RickL.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    This is one incredible sim, which will only get better in time, like a fine wine. rjetster
  40. RandyN.
    Dec 18, 2003
    8
    This is the best combat flight sim to date. Falcon 4 Gold is around the corner and will surely give it a challenge. It is nice to see our favorite genre of game get a boost this year. :P
  41. JoeC.
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    Unbelievable! This is a cool game! Amazing that there are so many crybabies that can't figure out how to load this game. I had no problems and I am no computer expert. If you like jets and modern weapons THIS is the game for you.
  42. JohnnyW.
    Oct 2, 2004
    10
    Fantastic simulation of both Western and Eastern aircraft. Incredible graphics and accurate flight models. One of the best modern air combat sims I have EVERY flown. Ignore the crybabies and get this simulaiton! With the 1.02 patch it is a must if you love modern air warfare.
  43. TimI.
    Feb 13, 2004
    9
    I just bought Lock On this past week. Spent the day playing it and have to say that it truly is a work of art. The attention to detail is outstanding. I did apply the V1.01 patch at the official website and I have had no problems running this simulation. This one is a keeper on my hard drive. I hope they make more add ons with new planes and missions. Tim.
  44. ThomasH.
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    You low raters are childish. This is an awesome sim you morons. Because you wont spend money on new hardware to enjoy this game you complain. na na na! Get a job lowlives.
  45. JamesR.
    Feb 5, 2004
    9
    Call me a fanboy then. I just got this game last week and while I initially had some problems, once I had gone throught the Readme.txt file and made some adjustments the game ran fine. There were some bugs but after downloading the Version 1.01 patch from the www.lo-mac.com website and getting some additional performance tips from the official forum at the ubi soft's website, I have Call me a fanboy then. I just got this game last week and while I initially had some problems, once I had gone throught the Readme.txt file and made some adjustments the game ran fine. There were some bugs but after downloading the Version 1.01 patch from the www.lo-mac.com website and getting some additional performance tips from the official forum at the ubi soft's website, I have been enjoying this simulation greatly. It has the best graphics I have ever seen in any flight sim. The missions are challenging and fun. The multiplayer throught Hyperlobby is a total gas!!! I played online last night in a coop mission where we took out armored columns of Russian vehicles with A-10s. It was the most fun I have had playing online. This is a great game and I am one happy sim pilot for having purchased it. All you guys moaning must not being playing the same game that I am because this one is staying on my computer for years! Buy this game! Expand
  46. ErikK.
    Apr 29, 2004
    4
    Played the demo, but I don't think I'm gonna invest my few euros on this sim. It's just another Flanker-sim with a couple of american jets thrown in. The western aircraft somehow have too much of a russian feel. Sure it looks good, but it still can't beat that certain modern air combat sim that has been released six years ago and has gotten better ever since.
  47. Baranth
    Sep 2, 2006
    8
    Having been a Lock On player for quite some time I feel I can cast this accuratly... my only real gripe is with the developers.... Black Shark looks good.. and anyone with the Flaming Cliffs LOMAC is probably quite happy with it... all and all it is a good game but "I Feel" the developers are missing the boat with the whole adding helo's thing and should first go for getting all the Having been a Lock On player for quite some time I feel I can cast this accuratly... my only real gripe is with the developers.... Black Shark looks good.. and anyone with the Flaming Cliffs LOMAC is probably quite happy with it... all and all it is a good game but "I Feel" the developers are missing the boat with the whole adding helo's thing and should first go for getting all the planes flyable... and making accurate Flight Model for all the aircraft in the game... not just the magic 6... then add the helos in after... granted... the mods out there to make them all flyable... but these mods don't use accurate flight models or cockpits... BUT it IS comparable to Falcon 4... oh... and developing different theatres would be nice as well... but all and all.... good game none the less. Expand
  48. ApathyC.
    Feb 6, 2007
    7
    A decent effort and very pretty, but it was programmed the way Russians approach everything -- by half-measures. Quite entertaining, and by far the best effort in the "medium-realism" sim market, it trips over constant bugs and design flaws, even after three years of patching. Its strength lies mainly in the A-10 missions, which are the most credible yet in the sim world, and an A decent effort and very pretty, but it was programmed the way Russians approach everything -- by half-measures. Quite entertaining, and by far the best effort in the "medium-realism" sim market, it trips over constant bugs and design flaws, even after three years of patching. Its strength lies mainly in the A-10 missions, which are the most credible yet in the sim world, and an accessible (though buggy) mission builder. In many ways, however, LOMAC is little more than "Flanker 3.0." In the end, the interface and design quality of the game simply mirror the confusion and dodginess of the real plane's avionics. It is, other words, a quintessentially Russian game -- with both the good and bad things that entails. On a realism scale of 1 to 10, LOMAC is clearly a seven. If you desire ultra-realism, then Falcon 4.0: Allied Force is a much better choice. For the occasional "hop," however, LOMAC makes for a nice, relaxing, (if somewhat buggy) distraction from the real world. Expand
  49. Luis
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    Best flight sim ever..with the right equiptment...ofcourse....
  50. ChrisCatchlove
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    Great game, patch is coming soon, best flight sim I have flown for awhile. Love it.
  51. AnonymousMC
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    This is not for the weekend arcade gamer. LOMAC makes a great attempt to keep it as real as a flight sim game can. From the modeling to flight charecteristics all the way to the graphics, hands down this is the best looking modern combat sim around. Worth every penny!
  52. FelixE.
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    Great Game!
  53. PILOTA-1
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    I have'nt had 99% of the problems people list below, runs great on my winXP system, I dont have a completely top of the line PC but with settings on mostly medium, runs great and considering the graphics and details its the closest thing you'll get to flying a combat jet (and not just 1 but several!) A patch ot two should fix the problems people are having and theres NO pc game I have'nt had 99% of the problems people list below, runs great on my winXP system, I dont have a completely top of the line PC but with settings on mostly medium, runs great and considering the graphics and details its the closest thing you'll get to flying a combat jet (and not just 1 but several!) A patch ot two should fix the problems people are having and theres NO pc game that has'nt needed a patch soon after release. Eagle Dynamics should be congratulated for breathing life into an all but dead genre..what else is out there..Jetfighter 5 or that hack which is Falcon5. Expand
  54. Silverfox388thVFW
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    Superb flight characteristics, The graphics effects will knock your socks off. At first glance you will notice the beautifull flight models and enviormental and lighting effects(unsurpassed) but you will need to spend a lot more time in the game to really appreiciate its genius. One note however it dont get frusttrated with getting the grphics set correctly. With some patience and Superb flight characteristics, The graphics effects will knock your socks off. At first glance you will notice the beautifull flight models and enviormental and lighting effects(unsurpassed) but you will need to spend a lot more time in the game to really appreiciate its genius. One note however it dont get frusttrated with getting the grphics set correctly. With some patience and research you can fine tune the sim to run on your system provided it is not near or below recommended. Definetly a must have! Expand
  55. s81o
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    Where flight simulators are concerned this is the finest, no doubt.
  56. AndyJ.
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    Well, not all that I've expected came true, but, technically, this is the best product on simulator arena now.
  57. JackG.
    Dec 16, 2003
    7
    Its just a patch away from getting an 8 or 9 from me. I love the game but bugs do bring the rating down for me.
  58. FerryW.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    The game has a lot of potential, looks fantastic and has a very high replay value. This combined with the power of hyperlobby and soon come 3rd party software and the patch which should fix the main issues... It holds a great future.
  59. ChuckC.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    I give the game an 8. The graphics are stunning especially down low. The cites are very well modeled. People have had troubles running it in Win98/Me but if your a gamer you most likely aren't using those old versions of Windows anyway. I use Windows 2000 and it works fine. There are some bugs but that is to be expected. None of the bugs I've had are game stopping. Great I give the game an 8. The graphics are stunning especially down low. The cites are very well modeled. People have had troubles running it in Win98/Me but if your a gamer you most likely aren't using those old versions of Windows anyway. I use Windows 2000 and it works fine. There are some bugs but that is to be expected. None of the bugs I've had are game stopping. Great visuals, realistic flight model, good enemy pilot AI. It's a great game. System I use to play Lock On AthlonXP 2600, 1GB of RAM, Geforce 4Ti 4600 Windows 2000 Expand
  60. ElyP.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    A very good game for you modern day simulator freaks. It will take some tweaking to get to run at full effeciency though, and it will take a pretty powerful system. Nevertheless, a very good game that I'd recommend if you've waited for a A-10 simulator for a long time.
  61. EricM.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    Very good game, too many bug in the relase :(
  62. Jenikov
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    Amazing graphics, sweetly modelled planes and incredibely cool ground battles. Good multiplayer and a great sense of teamwork if you play with the right crowd. Cons: Some instability issues, system hog, memory leak, and occasional weird behavious of planes/avionics. Finally: Best modern day sim to date, period.
  63. VaporB.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    Great game with lots of potencial but a FPS killer.
  64. NazgulN
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    Its just another milestone in Flightsim history, it has great potential to become the best. I play Flightsims for over 20 years now, and ive seem them all, and played most of them. I gave it a Fat9, cos i know that nothing is perfect and complete, But Lock-on will, and then ill give it a 10 with stars*****
  65. DarthMaul
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    A very nice game. The Flanker roots are still there. Same Mission Editor witch is good. The interface is very easy to use. Only some small bugs,Missiles should be more efficient(all missiles Blue or Red). It is working on modes computers like mine.(XP2000/256Mb/Gf2MX).
  66. CN_Luke
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    This game is great, but need to be pulished a lot. In one year, if the developers keep patching it, creating addons and they add a dynamic campaign, will be a classic. If receives the same support as Strike Fighters P1, this sim will die soon. If is updated like IL2, will be the best jet fighter sim of all times.
  67. JohnS.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    If you are an avid flight sim nut then you appreciate the beauty of LockOn. It is great currently but has some few growing pains. One thing to remember is all the best flight sims had growing pains. Be patient, get the patch when it comes out and watch your 6.
  68. Drummerwhosaidthat
    Dec 16, 2003
    6
    Going to be a great game but not yet. The bugs and the lack of a decent written manual by the publishers [UBI soft] mean I give it a 6. Now maybe in six months when the bugs have been addressed in a patch or two....I would love to revise this score.
  69. MJ
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    Needs work, but has the potential to dethrone Falcon 4. Steep Hardware requirements, but third party hotfixes to tweak FPS are out already, a patch to squash some bugs mentioned earlier is on it's way. A must for fans of Migs and SU's.
  70. RCRC
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    An excellent, if not revolutionary game in most counts. The reasons why I don't award it a full 10 are: lack of a good (dynamic) campaign system, which would add immersion to the game; lack of a dynamic weather system; and although I am able to run the game perfectly, it does have bugs that cause some people a lot of problems - in some cases preventing them from playing them. An excellent, if not revolutionary game in most counts. The reasons why I don't award it a full 10 are: lack of a good (dynamic) campaign system, which would add immersion to the game; lack of a dynamic weather system; and although I am able to run the game perfectly, it does have bugs that cause some people a lot of problems - in some cases preventing them from playing them. Overall, the best flight models, scenery, and graphics you have ever see in a flight sim. It's a must see!!! Expand
  71. BrettF.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    This game was meant to push hardware to the limits like so many other flight sims in the past.. F4, F18, etc..etc.. Each are still being played today. If you want a fun smooth arcade game, go back to a XBox. You want to simulate a flight experience in a smooth enviroment (medium setting will do just fine for most people), then this game is for you. 2 bad points. 1. UBISoft's This game was meant to push hardware to the limits like so many other flight sims in the past.. F4, F18, etc..etc.. Each are still being played today. If you want a fun smooth arcade game, go back to a XBox. You want to simulate a flight experience in a smooth enviroment (medium setting will do just fine for most people), then this game is for you. 2 bad points. 1. UBISoft's cheapskate tendencies showed up with a manual that is barely readable. (tho this has been rectified with a higher res version on the website) 2. Some game play bugs that effect most older hardware/OS users. These are being address in the first patch, which is expected before this year's end. Like F15, F18, F4 and others, they were as buggy if not worse in some instances during their intial release. Instant gratification types (XBOX PS2 types) need not apply with this game. I enjoy it immensely and have the time of my life with it. Expand
  72. Zembla
    Dec 16, 2003
    7
    The game is known to bring even the best platforms to its knees, reason for this is the complexity of the game. A rather unpleasant side effect of this is the prone-ness to bugs, simple logics. Unfortunalty the the game currently is far from bug-free, even though the designers spent lots of time debugging the product some evident bugs have slipped through to the "gold disc". Additionally The game is known to bring even the best platforms to its knees, reason for this is the complexity of the game. A rather unpleasant side effect of this is the prone-ness to bugs, simple logics. Unfortunalty the the game currently is far from bug-free, even though the designers spent lots of time debugging the product some evident bugs have slipped through to the "gold disc". Additionally the creators have done little or nothing to improve compatibility with common hardware such as for example the GeForce 4MX line of graphical cards. Eventhough they have made improvements in that regard, the effort seems a little sloppy through some evident bugs that are connected with this compatibility. One would wonder what's the best suitable system for Lo-MAC? I don't know, I'm able to run it on my P4 2Ghz 768MB PC2100 and my GF4MX460 pretty fine (part from the bugs). Of course if you're used to FPS framerates you'll be disappointed when seeing the FPS readouts. The game itself is magnificent in every way, perhaps the lack of a dynamic campaign is a little disappointing, but the gameplay and realism make up for this, this realism however is something that's not entirely bug-free - BUT don't start saying they're biased in their 'accurate' modeling of softicitated military hardware. The graphical beauty is endless. Get's a 7 from me... Expand
  73. JohnB.
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    Great sim.
  74. JamesKnight
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    This game is definatly the new benchmark for modern flight sims. Move over Falcon 4!
  75. MrMudd
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    In a time of multiple entertainment avenues for the home consumer. LOCK on has many challenges set before it. The choice ofton these days as opposed to the mid 90's when Flight Simulations were at their height. is now you have some competitors for your personal entertainment. Today you have Consoles, and DVDS, and internet to fill the void. In this publishers understand that the In a time of multiple entertainment avenues for the home consumer. LOCK on has many challenges set before it. The choice ofton these days as opposed to the mid 90's when Flight Simulations were at their height. is now you have some competitors for your personal entertainment. Today you have Consoles, and DVDS, and internet to fill the void. In this publishers understand that the Investment required to make a quality sim far exceeeds a return on investment. Lock on is a novel approach. in this approach they attemtped to laydown a high defined flying enviroment with plenty of dynamics and challenges available to the player provided tey wish to use the fast mission planner or user Mission planner. Te player is afforded multiple aircraft to fly. the other neat aspect. Is that theres other activities other than flying. With the high investment into AI objects in the game. battle scenarios and capabilities can be tested. This is one avenue military enthusiest will enjoy. Next is the Spielbergs of gameing. Those enthusiests that enjoy cinemetographer pursuits. this has been a very popular aspect of the IL2 online community. The differnce of Lomac is they provide you the media makeing tools. with a Track recording and playback feature, that allows the end user to manipulate camera views and then to record them with the movie makeing feature, that captures the whole event 1 screen capture at a time. While this is a slow process it provides you with game quality photage that far exceeds Digital out and or 3rd party screen capture methods. This is one feature that had the fans of this title ecstatic through the whole development process. When critics make instant judgements against lomac they fail to grasp the multitude of differnt activities available to the LOMAC consuker. Above is just a few of the highlights. LOMAC deliever a very very solid foundation with graphics quality far exceeding any simulation to date. It is an aviators wonderland. With multiple developers buyouts by several publishers and companies. I am amazed that the integrity of the simulation was held together. This is an Attribute to a very sound development plan that weighed, changeing budgets, Publisher deadlines and consumer expectations. the developers, Consultants, and Producers succeeded in creating a very solid foundation. On the surface to the hardcore crowd it may look below the par for genre. but i believe this is not the case. LOMAC never has had a Roof set over it. Its primary goal was to provide all the differnt Enthusiests an activity in one package. This title has Expansion and growth all over it. their is no limit, to what can be done in the sime for the enthusiest or the developer. This title is a goldmine. All that is required is forthe Consumer to pickup the tools that have been made available to them and harvest this multifaceted entertainment package. I belive lock on has sold the community a 500 Dolalr simulation package 40 dollars at a time. I expect great things from the Eagle Dynamics and Fighter Collection team. Expand
  76. V.D.
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    This is just a new Simbenchmark and a whole new Flightsimexperience, don´t miss it...
  77. JohnM.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    Il2 with modern jet combat. Requires a superlative video card to make the most of its graphics, some of which can't be run on the fastest of todays PCs, however - the best of it genre.
  78. MamJ.
    Dec 16, 2003
    7
    I like averything in this game exept 3 things. you need a very fast machine and a good video card to run this game at max settings even if you max it out you will still have low fps sometimes. second this is Campaign, you can't play the next mission if you have not completed the one your curently in, how arcade is that? and last is the lack of communication between flights. if you I like averything in this game exept 3 things. you need a very fast machine and a good video card to run this game at max settings even if you max it out you will still have low fps sometimes. second this is Campaign, you can't play the next mission if you have not completed the one your curently in, how arcade is that? and last is the lack of communication between flights. if you are not using labels you will have no clue whats going on. Overall I will recommand to buy this game, I have only said bad things about this sim but it deos not mean it's not good. this sim has more good things than bad, it would take too much time for me to write all the good things. Expand
  79. PinpointH.
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    This game is under V1.0 There will be more patches, this will be the IL2 for the Modern Jet fighter. The campaingn editor is great and very easy to build missions. Many rant that its a beta, Ubi is beyond hope of proper distribution and advertisement. Eagle Dynamic built a very good flight simulator, its not a perfectly realistic, but it does the job and quite well. As with any new This game is under V1.0 There will be more patches, this will be the IL2 for the Modern Jet fighter. The campaingn editor is great and very easy to build missions. Many rant that its a beta, Ubi is beyond hope of proper distribution and advertisement. Eagle Dynamic built a very good flight simulator, its not a perfectly realistic, but it does the job and quite well. As with any new software, it has some demanding system specs in order to work well. I hope the soon to be patch will fix many of the major issues. Expand
  80. BisonBranco
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    Hey, it´s the best! Simple as that!
  81. Eagle
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    I love the game. I have a nice system with WinXP Pro and it works wonderfully. If you have a large system to run it the game is wonderful. I'd have liked more depth, but it's still a LOT of fun.
  82. JoeP.
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    Terrific ....best I've played..needs work, but played right out-of-the box w/ minor tweaks. Realistic and still "fun". Great grafics and sound. After patches..it will be superior and 10+ rating.
  83. Tosch
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    Best military flightsim i ever played. Has the potential for a 10.
  84. 195th_HollywoodLeMieux
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    This game is very promising.. Although with its bugs that game has GREAT potential.. By far the best flight sim made...
  85. MikeH.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    Rushed out the door, but still a worthy and solid "8". Had the patch been out, and some of the bugs worked out radar and otherwise- It would rate much higher. Lock On is a deep sim, and is worth getting and learning on even before the patch is due to be released (soon). Add this one to your Christmas list folks.
  86. Ola
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    The new benchmark
  87. PhilipC.
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    A very good combat sim! Excellent graphics and very realistic!
  88. FrankE.
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    Really really a rough diamond which will become the ultimate flight sim after a patch or two. BUY this one if you're the slightest bit interested in flight simulators.
  89. BillM.
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    Outstanding flight simulator. Only let down by lack of missions and dynamic campaign - which could limit its longevity. UBI needs to produce a campaign, or make it open sourced for 3rd party developers.
  90. RyanD.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    Awesome game!
  91. ChuckB.
    Dec 17, 2003
    8
    It doesn't get much better than this in a jet flight sim. It's going through some growing pains, but every decent flight sim does. It's as good or better than Jane's FA18 just because of the wide variety of aircraft that you can chose from. Anyone who is seriously interested in flight sims of current aircraft is missing the boat if they don't get this one.
  92. MarkT.
    Dec 17, 2003
    8
    Although a problem playing from the box after running some simple tweaks and replacing some files you have a very smooth and playable flight sim with great immersion value. Cooperative online play brings you closer to the war raging. You will need to honestly be 'into' flight sims to play this but even for fairly new flight sim player like myself I found it easy to get in to. Although a problem playing from the box after running some simple tweaks and replacing some files you have a very smooth and playable flight sim with great immersion value. Cooperative online play brings you closer to the war raging. You will need to honestly be 'into' flight sims to play this but even for fairly new flight sim player like myself I found it easy to get in to. XP2000+ with Ti4200 (64) and 1Gb Ram works with medium gfx settings very smooth (after the tweaks). Buy It! Expand
  93. Devothaan
    Dec 17, 2003
    8
    Not perfect, has some issues but it also has the potential to become by far the best flight sim ever.
  94. StaffanJ.
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    Flightdynamics are very accurate, sense of speed is fabulous, graphics are very nice (but powerhungry). Documentation is lacking to say the least, and a patch is required for some issues, I give it 9/10
  95. Witness
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    Superb game!
  96. AndyK.
    Dec 17, 2003
    7
    Good potential, but shipped with a lot of bugs. The first patch or two should shape it up nicely though.
  97. NS
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    Its everything a sim should be.
  98. Stephane
    Dec 17, 2003
    8
    This is a fantastic game. No one could imagine such a game released without any bugs. Any flight sim fan knows that a game is stable 6 months after its official release, when user inputs have been used to correct the game's problems. Anyway, even with those bugs (some are bad I admit), this is a GREAT game and I enjoy it every evening.
  99. DavidS.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    LO-MAC offers the most detailed realistic and amazing graphic avionic and flight model EVER! it is a complete packadge, with immersion puringg out your eyes and ears, it is as close as you get to perfection and there is no flight simulation to beat it withing sights, graphic get 9/10, immersion get 8/10, realism get 9/10, multiplayer ease of use get 10/10, recording track/avi ability get LO-MAC offers the most detailed realistic and amazing graphic avionic and flight model EVER! it is a complete packadge, with immersion puringg out your eyes and ears, it is as close as you get to perfection and there is no flight simulation to beat it withing sights, graphic get 9/10, immersion get 8/10, realism get 9/10, multiplayer ease of use get 10/10, recording track/avi ability get 9/10 (10 if you could alter views while playing back the track more like a replay), training get 9/10 (10 if miss spelling was left out and voice over included) all in all it is the most beautiful wonderful amazing flight simulator to date and one where you actually have to learn an aircraft to fly it, and the more willing you are to learn and master it, the bigger the reward in game will be, i could write a LONG extensive review but i wont, three words, BEAUTIFUL, IMMERSIVE, IMPRESSIVE! only thing that troubles it is the feel of an unfinished product released to quickly/early, with miss spellings, things left out of the PDF manual and already not beeing complete at all (70% of everything good to know and learn you will have to get on your own on the internet or the forum) and graphic glitches and miss-out's and avionics glitches and miss-out's, model glitches and miss-out's, etc. no introduction video, left out dynamic campaign, requires a high end computer which in my case i dont have but still LOVE that it is that way, when i do upgrade again ill set settings up and go at it again, REPLAYABILITY! good thing it got such a good support by developers, producersm ubisoft, patches will be made bringing it constantly towards perfection, A MUST BY! try to fly it you will be STUCK! Expand
  100. HaraldSeisenbacher
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    This is a very serious attempt at a simulation of flying jets of the late 20th centrury era.

    The flight models are impressive, the eye candy is unsurpassed and the full mission planner potentially gives you a tool to fly whatever mission you might dream up. Of course there are som bugs to be squashed still - but show me one pice of software without the need for at least one patch
    This is a very serious attempt at a simulation of flying jets of the late 20th centrury era.

    The flight models are impressive, the eye candy is unsurpassed and the full mission planner potentially gives you a tool to fly whatever mission you might dream up.

    Of course there are som bugs to be squashed still - but show me one pice of software without the need for at least one patch nowadays.

    As for the needed sys-specs: I always wonder about people who turn everything up to "maximum" on their outdated systems.
    Either turn the options down if you have an old machine (that is the reason for having options in the first place), or go buy yourself a new one. It´s that easy. This simulation will still be interesting from with tomorrows machines - I for my part, I´m apreciating this.

    Harald, a.k.a. Odin914
    Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Our favourite is the A-10 Warthog – cruising at 50 feet, on the prowl for enemy tanks, it’s one of the most exhilarating missions available in any recent simulator.
  2. Detailed terrain, buildings, water, and effects lend an unprecedented feeling of speed to low-level flight. [March 2004, p.82]
  3. It has great graphics, fairly simple controls, great scenery, a decent choice of planes, and a great editor. Although the sounds easily get on your nerves, it will be the load times and need for a computer upgrade that will have you pulling your hair out.