Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 546 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Feel the power of commanding a modern jet fighter. Fly a variety of combat aircraft in the most graphically rich, audio intense game environment ever created for a combat flight simulator. Lock On: Modern Air Combat combines a broad scope of game play that includes engaging missions, an immersive combat environment, and in-your-face action. Choose from eight U.S. and Russian jets that range from the tank-killing A-10 Warthog and, ground-pounding Su-25 Frogfoot to air superiority fighters like the F-15C Eagle and Su-27 Flanker. Filled with intense campaigns, realistic flight modeling and flexible game options, Lock On will provide unlimited game play action to both novice and veteran flight sim fans. [Ubi Soft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Learning to fly can be a bitch but the reward is a sense of accomplishment and a feeling of freedom that you just can't get from Mario.
  2. As a flight simulator goes, this is as technical and detailed as it gets. For fans of warplanes and flight sims, you should look forward to getting this running on your highly advanced PC system.
  3. When totally bug-fixed and modded, LOMAC could stand alone as the preeminent modern jet combat simulation. However, if you install the first patch and can deal with challenging frame rates, LOMAC already rocks.
  4. While we can't see Lock-On bringing the genre back to the masses, the sheer visual appeal, the depth of the missions and ability to customise and make the game your own should see it do a lot better than recent efforts.
  5. Lock-on will mature as more patches are released and it could well become one of the great flight sims but with the initial problems it's made this a tough game to score. It's a shame the Q&A process failed this game, it would have been better if the developers had just held off and the Beta testers had got off their backsides and spotted some of the more nasty bugs.
  6. The "Full Monty" in terms of the era it covers and it has all the jets! Although a lot is thrown at the player at the start of the experience, with carefully reading the manual, as well as going through the training mission and taking in all you are told will pay its rewards. This is a game you can't rush!
  7. One of the most user-unfriendly sims ever committed to ones and zeros. [Apr 2004, p.67]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 83 out of 447
  1. AlexisG.
    Oct 2, 2004
    10
    A fine game. Really enjoyed the look and feel of it. I am rather stupid when it comes to complicted games but this one was worth the time and study I put in to learn it. If a moron like me can enjoy it then I am sure others will be able to have a great time with this cool simulation game. Collapse
  2. AntoniusV.
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    I know to some, a 10 rating may seem high, but this sim has been an outstanding performer for me. I started w/a low end vid card (ATI 7200 64MB) and it ran w/o a hitch. I upgraded to an ATI 9800 and it just plain freaks me out how beautiful it is. This sim, after all the nit picking and naysayers have had their way, will go down as a history maker and groundbreaker. I have been simming since the early 80s and it isn't often a sim has the impact on me that Lock On does. The sky is the limit for this one. Outstanding job Eagle Dynamics. Expand
  3. KevinB.
    Dec 17, 2003
    9
    Great game with a lot of replay value. There are definately some bugs they need to work out but I know its being worked on.
  4. Thomas
    Dec 16, 2003
    8
    Whilst the does suffer from bugs in its initial release it's a wonderful release, the attention to detail and the flight model are both superb and you can spend countless hours just looking at things while you fly, I never stop getting amazed at how beautiful it really is once you take the time to look at it. And once you start flying against real opponents you'll really get your moneys worth. Expand
  5. DaveCarpenter
    Dec 17, 2003
    8
    Great sim I'm running it on a mid level machine and it works very well for me. I've had to back off on the graphics settings somewhat to get a reasonable frame rate but the game still looks great and runs well. Documentation is a weak point but the interface is pretty friendly. Expand
  6. Zembla
    Dec 16, 2003
    7
    The game is known to bring even the best platforms to its knees, reason for this is the complexity of the game. A rather unpleasant side effect of this is the prone-ness to bugs, simple logics. Unfortunalty the the game currently is far from bug-free, even though the designers spent lots of time debugging the product some evident bugs have slipped through to the "gold disc". Additionally the creators have done little or nothing to improve compatibility with common hardware such as for example the GeForce 4MX line of graphical cards. Eventhough they have made improvements in that regard, the effort seems a little sloppy through some evident bugs that are connected with this compatibility. One would wonder what's the best suitable system for Lo-MAC? I don't know, I'm able to run it on my P4 2Ghz 768MB PC2100 and my GF4MX460 pretty fine (part from the bugs). Of course if you're used to FPS framerates you'll be disappointed when seeing the FPS readouts. The game itself is magnificent in every way, perhaps the lack of a dynamic campaign is a little disappointing, but the gameplay and realism make up for this, this realism however is something that's not entirely bug-free - BUT don't start saying they're biased in their 'accurate' modeling of softicitated military hardware. The graphical beauty is endless. Get's a 7 from me... Expand
  7. RudiVanZyl
    Dec 16, 2003
    0
    Had to install it 3 times before the multiplayer worked. Whenever me and my friend fly against each other, and one is shot down, both of us are thrown out of the game. Biggest fault i have made with this game is buying it. Expand

See all 447 User Reviews