User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 39
  2. Negative: 14 out of 39

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    THE SUMMER SURPRISE? Yes, you may be thinking 9/10 is being silly, but if you score this game in it's own category then it starts to look about right. Anyone reading this old enough to remember the likes of California Games and the great Athlete Kings on the, less than great, Sega Saturn, will know that these kind of games, when made properly, can be amazing. Let me just say; Sega have made London 2012 properly. The visuals on the PC are very good, although I was slightly miffed that my native resolution (2560x1440) is not supported, Sega limiting the output to a now common 1920x1080. But with in-game settings at max, all extra control panel settings pushed up, and using NV Inspector to apply SGSSAA, London 2012 looks sharp and colourful, perfect for a sports title. The motion capture work is a bit of a mixed bag, but generally it's very good, some is excellent. Sound is good, albeit with repetitive commentary, but the same can be said about AAA sports titles. The controls are simple and intuitive with a 360/Windows controller, I've not tried with keyboard and I don't intend to. Steam (as well as other sellers) make it clear that the game is optimised for a 360 pad. Enthusiast PC gamers (i.e. not those who play the odd game on their laptop) who play a range of games (especially arcade/TPS/racing titles) and don't have a 360 pad need to buy one or stop whining. 'KnowTheTruth' spouts off with the usual, "IT'S A PORT", post, but let's be sensible here: How many games on PC are developed solely for the PC, or even have it's own base code? A handful. Business is business, that's life. Yes, I agree, Sega is lazy, it could have easily allowed for key rebinding and maybe it will in a patch, but London 2012 is far, far better with an analogue controller, most of the events benefit hugely from using analogue sticks, making the whole game more fun and more intuitive. The simple fact is, London 2012 was made for a controller and should be played with one. If some PC gamers can't live with the truth that the keyboard and mouse isn't the be all and end all, then tough. Scoring a game '0' just because you can't rebind keys on a control device already unsuitable for this particular game, and/or don't own/use the optimal control method is foolish. Anyway, on with the game....The single player events and Olympic campaign are a good way of honing your button timing skills but, as with any sporting pastime played alone, it becomes old. The saving grace is online. Playing random events against other players from around the world is great fun, and the sense of both personal and national pride is great. There's a National Pride Leaderboard running which lets you see how your country is doing, I like to think my efforts have helped GBR reach 2nd place, behind the formidable Germans. The online department is simple but effective. Currently there are enough players (especially German and French) to make up decent competition, but it would be even better if/when more join in. Seriously, take a break from the CoD/MoH/BF games and enjoy some really fun online competition. Gamesplanet are selling this game for £20.99 until the 16th July. Grab a bargain and help your country reach 1st place! Expand
  2. Jul 6, 2012
    0
    The game play is amazingly bad. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. Its impossible to play without a gamepad. If you do buy this game, get a hard copy and expect to trade it back in shortly after. Plus, the graphics are very poor, no better than The Olympics game of 2004. MAJOR WARNINGS. NOT GOOD, not sure what its like for PS3/XBOX but dear god, not on PC.
  3. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    How many idiots does it take to make a console port? Answer - none! But it does take an idiot to complain about not being able to play a game on PC that was designed for consoles without a game pad. Many games we have seen on PC over the last 6 years or so would have never existed without consoles for them to ported from. But i guess you wingers aren't exactly big picture viewing types =/ Noobs/elitists that go on about bad ports are likely the same numpties that pirate games and ruin it for the rest of us.
    Grow up, wake up and if you can't be arsed with a game pad in this day and age then good luck to you lol.

    On topic - excellent Olympics sports game. So for what it is 8/10.
    Expand
  4. Aug 5, 2012
    8
    3D OPTION -If you have a 3d tv/projector. It's a good Olympic game made better with sound pc joypad control ideas. I use my ps3 controller using "motionjoy" in xbox mode. The event list is massive. I've given it an 8 (not a deserved 7 for gameplay/graphics etc) because it has a 3d option (sbs) which looks amazing with the clever camera angles. Recommended and will put you in the Olympic spirit.
    If I could make it better I'd add a face import option.
    Expand
  5. Jul 1, 2012
    7
    This is a pretty nice game if you're a sports and Olympics fan. The gameplay is good, the atmosphere makes you feel like you're really competing for your country and since it's Olympics period you'll might want to try it out just to emulate the real athletes. The replay value is high enough because of the good number of disciplines and challenge it offers. The controls are easy to figure out thanks to the tutorials and after you try a discipline a few times you'll eventually get good at it. It works only with a xbox360 controller (or Keyboard and Mouse but i wouldn't recommend that) so either you buy one or you get an emulation software that allows you to use your gamepad as an xbox360 controller. The graphics are average, I could compare it to the latest pes maybe although the physics and movements are not so accurate and fluid. To sum it up it's a good timing-and-button-smash type of game with a good variety of challenges. The price is a little high though. Expand
  6. Jul 1, 2012
    0
    They don't even try to hide PC ports anymore. No rebindable controls, with action buttons being the A, B, X, and Y keys, left, right, up, down being the arrow keys, and start/pause being F1. Whoever was responsible for making the PC port of this game quite literally took the Xbox 360 controller, looked at the names of the buttons, and without any further thought, matched each button with its respective key on the keyboard.

    If you're having trouble visualizing the stupidity of this, please look up NerdCubed's attempt at playing this game. The results are not pretty.
    Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    This game is much better than Beijing 2008!!!! It's AWESOME!!!!!!!!! Only problem is that that there should be more teams like how it was in Athens 2004!!! THE BEST GAME FOR OLYMPICS!!!
  8. Apr 14, 2013
    0
    Not good for PC. Would get it on XBOX seen as all the controls are still in the XBOX controls on the game and this game is certinally made for use on XBOX.
  9. May 4, 2013
    10
    the game is bad but this game recreate the Olympic Games .if you want play sports THIS GAME IS FOR YOU and the graphics are very real but the 3D is very horrible BUY THIS GAME
  10. Oct 6, 2012
    7
    Although it is not a great game, but the developers would otherwise have to do it? The campaign does not impress and you will see that it is better to play in a new fifa. But ... I think developers really tried. How to play sports in which you can see buildings and tp. graphics look good. Various competitions were done as well. Added to this is the split-screen, even for 4 So why not have fun. Some like it, some do not. My rating-7/10 Collapse
  11. Aug 12, 2012
    4
    The Keyboard controller is sucks.....and also the game locked the joystick for another type. Don't buy it until there's an update from the developer!
  12. Jan 2, 2014
    6
    I like the game of the Olympic Games but this failed me. All players have the same stats and most disciplines are simply pressing a button (such as running). Yet this is not the worst. The worst aspect of the game is to control the pc. The creators of control as they assigned to the pad for Xbox360 or A on the pad then A on the keyboard, and so on (you can not change it). If you do not have a controller to the PC you better not play. Expand
  13. AWG
    Jun 17, 2013
    5
    This game is soo bad and still almost gets to achieve the passing grade. Why is it bad? Because it's a smash-the-buttons game from the '00s that fails to recreate the complexity of any of the available sports. Why does it almost gets to achieve the passing grade then? Because it manages to be addictive enough to be funny. PC porting is not perfect (it shows only controller's keys, and not keyboard's). 5 out of 10 for the utter-bad multiplayer matching system. Expand
  14. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Best played with a gamepad no surprise there as its a SPORTS game Be like playing FIFA are F1 with keyboard and mouse then complaining about it :)

    The graphics are very good and its a nice old school button basher and timing game A nice mix of events and good fun when played with friends. Does not set the world on fire but its the best Olympic sports game on the market for PC. Look
    for a sale its well worth it Expand
  15. Dec 14, 2013
    1
    Whoa... this is real garbage... Let us be clear: - it have no bugs - it have a pretty decent graphic - it have some interesting event... ... and... - it have too few events! Where are the other events? - we are in 2012/2013! Why create a "smash-button" game? Also, why creating the official game of an Olympic Game like this!? - pc controls are simply awful! - it cost almost 20 euro/dollars upon its release!!!

    Crap... no other words...
    Expand
  16. Oct 6, 2012
    0
    Although it is not a great game, but the developers would otherwise have to do it? The campaign does not impress and you will see that it is better to play in a new fifa. But ... I think developers really tried. How to play sports in which you can see buildings and tp. graphics look good. Various competitions were done as well. Added to this is the split-screen, even for 4 So why not have fun. Some like it, some do not. My rating-7/10 Collapse
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    62
    Traditionally, the problem with these games is that the developers churn them out mechanically, in short development cycles, without attention to detail. London 2012 is no exception. Despite its flaws however, some games are actually fun and that grants the game high replayability values. [August 2012]
  2. 70
    Nicely done sport simulation scores with its true Olympics atmosphere and thanks to its online mode game will last long. [Issue#220]
  3. Jul 31, 2012
    55
    Simplifications in London 2012 are painful (especially if you saw other similar games) and playing it alone is pretty much pointless. [September 2012, p.74]