User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 41
  2. Negative: 14 out of 41

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    This game is much better than Beijing 2008!!!! It's AWESOME!!!!!!!!! Only problem is that that there should be more teams like how it was in Athens 2004!!! THE BEST GAME FOR OLYMPICS!!!
  2. May 4, 2013
    10
    the game is bad but this game recreate the Olympic Games .if you want play sports THIS GAME IS FOR YOU and the graphics are very real but the 3D is very horrible BUY THIS GAME
  3. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Best played with a gamepad no surprise there as its a SPORTS game Be like playing FIFA are F1 with keyboard and mouse then complaining about it :)

    The graphics are very good and its a nice old school button basher and timing game A nice mix of events and good fun when played with friends. Does not set the world on fire but its the best Olympic sports game on the market for PC. Look
    for a sale its well worth it Expand
  4. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    THE SUMMER SURPRISE? Yes, you may be thinking 9/10 is being silly, but if you score this game in it's own category then it starts to look about right. Anyone reading this old enough to remember the likes of California Games and the great Athlete Kings on the, less than great, Sega Saturn, will know that these kind of games, when made properly, can be amazing. Let me just say; Sega have made London 2012 properly. The visuals on the PC are very good, although I was slightly miffed that my native resolution (2560x1440) is not supported, Sega limiting the output to a now common 1920x1080. But with in-game settings at max, all extra control panel settings pushed up, and using NV Inspector to apply SGSSAA, London 2012 looks sharp and colourful, perfect for a sports title. The motion capture work is a bit of a mixed bag, but generally it's very good, some is excellent. Sound is good, albeit with repetitive commentary, but the same can be said about AAA sports titles. The controls are simple and intuitive with a 360/Windows controller, I've not tried with keyboard and I don't intend to. Steam (as well as other sellers) make it clear that the game is optimised for a 360 pad. Enthusiast PC gamers (i.e. not those who play the odd game on their laptop) who play a range of games (especially arcade/TPS/racing titles) and don't have a 360 pad need to buy one or stop whining. 'KnowTheTruth' spouts off with the usual, "IT'S A PORT", post, but let's be sensible here: How many games on PC are developed solely for the PC, or even have it's own base code? A handful. Business is business, that's life. Yes, I agree, Sega is lazy, it could have easily allowed for key rebinding and maybe it will in a patch, but London 2012 is far, far better with an analogue controller, most of the events benefit hugely from using analogue sticks, making the whole game more fun and more intuitive. The simple fact is, London 2012 was made for a controller and should be played with one. If some PC gamers can't live with the truth that the keyboard and mouse isn't the be all and end all, then tough. Scoring a game '0' just because you can't rebind keys on a control device already unsuitable for this particular game, and/or don't own/use the optimal control method is foolish. Anyway, on with the game....The single player events and Olympic campaign are a good way of honing your button timing skills but, as with any sporting pastime played alone, it becomes old. The saving grace is online. Playing random events against other players from around the world is great fun, and the sense of both personal and national pride is great. There's a National Pride Leaderboard running which lets you see how your country is doing, I like to think my efforts have helped GBR reach 2nd place, behind the formidable Germans. The online department is simple but effective. Currently there are enough players (especially German and French) to make up decent competition, but it would be even better if/when more join in. Seriously, take a break from the CoD/MoH/BF games and enjoy some really fun online competition. Gamesplanet are selling this game for £20.99 until the 16th July. Grab a bargain and help your country reach 1st place! Expand
  5. Aug 5, 2012
    0
    3D OPTION -If you have a 3d tv/projector. It's a good Olympic game made better with sound pc joypad control ideas. I use my ps3 controller using "motionjoy" in xbox mode. The event list is massive. I've given it an 8 (not a deserved 7 for gameplay/graphics etc) because it has a 3d option (sbs) which looks amazing with the clever camera angles. Recommended and will put you in the Olympic spirit.
    If I could make it better I'd add a face import option.
    Collapse
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    62
    Traditionally, the problem with these games is that the developers churn them out mechanically, in short development cycles, without attention to detail. London 2012 is no exception. Despite its flaws however, some games are actually fun and that grants the game high replayability values. [August 2012]
  2. 70
    Nicely done sport simulation scores with its true Olympics atmosphere and thanks to its online mode game will last long. [Issue#220]
  3. Jul 31, 2012
    55
    Simplifications in London 2012 are painful (especially if you saw other similar games) and playing it alone is pretty much pointless. [September 2012, p.74]