Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. PC PowerPlay
    May 30, 2012
    70
    A surprisingly rich survival horror game that doesn't try to frighten you so much as leave you feeling slightly uneasy. [June 2012, p.65]
  2. May 3, 2012
    70
    At the end of the day, Superflat Games have triumphed in creating an original title that both plays and looks as you expect. The way the story progresses is interesting, and there's enough gravity to player choices that it's worth a second play-through. If you've been longing for a survival horror experience that reminds you of the genre's glory days, you can't do any better for a budget price of $9.99. That is, if you're confident survival horror is just as immersive and fun to play as you remember it…
  3. Apr 24, 2012
    70
    Its clumsiness of presentation and lack of explanation might be partly excused as aesthetic choices that enrich even as they frustrate. But perhaps its truest accolade is in returning the horror of survival itself to the survival horror genre.
  4. Apr 20, 2012
    70
    All that aside, Lone Survivor is solid. It delivers in all the areas a horror game should. You'll feel fear, loneliness, desperation and those of you who aren't familiar with the Silent Hill formula will also be intrigued by the narrative.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 140 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 38
  2. Negative: 9 out of 38
  1. dak
    Apr 26, 2012
    10
    Thrilling, scary, stylish a atmospheric adventure with sounds and music that sit as a bespoke suit. The game provides you with feelings andThrilling, scary, stylish a atmospheric adventure with sounds and music that sit as a bespoke suit. The game provides you with feelings and immersion that commercial survival horrors are after. Full Review »
  2. Sep 24, 2012
    1
    Probably the worst game i've received in a HIB. Horrible graphcis, horrible level design, horrible gameplay. Constant messages proclaimingProbably the worst game i've received in a HIB. Horrible graphcis, horrible level design, horrible gameplay. Constant messages proclaiming that your character is hungry or tired. The story makes no sense, the flow of the game doesn't make sense either. It gets a 1 because you can atleast start the game up and play it without any problems. It gets -9 for being a complete piece of trash. Full Review »
  3. Sep 3, 2012
    4
    I bought it because I wanted to enjoy a suvival horror story, not a time management and character management simulator.

    I give it a 4
    I bought it because I wanted to enjoy a suvival horror story, not a time management and character management simulator.

    I give it a 4 because it has atmosphere and some nice ideas. As others have written, I was also bored by the constant messages of being hungry and sleepy. I could not go back to the game and finish it.

    The graphics are TOO low res, you need to shrink the aspect ratio with "q" or sit far away from your monitor to actually enjoy it.
    Full Review »