Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lords of Football brings the everyday routine of football to life, simulating footballers' training to improve their skills and all the drama and real-life distractions that unfold during a normal season.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13
  1. Jun 7, 2013
    60
    Lords of Football has a great idea behind it, but it's an unripe fruit. After enjoying it for some time, you will inevitably notice some gaps in the gameplay mechanics.
  2. May 6, 2013
    60
    Lords of Football comes to live in the rare moments when your front man scores a goal at the last second thanks to your timely instructions. The rest of it is sheer boredom without licensed teams and any depth at all.
  3. May 19, 2013
    60
    The original idea to combine footballer’s life simulation dynamics with football manager’s management mechanics is surely intriguing, but not fully developed, failing to entertain for more than a season or two. It is like trying to get Balotelli and Mourinho to coexist: lots of fun for a while, bone-crushing in the long run.
  4. Apr 12, 2013
    50
    Always dreamed of a night on the town with a famous soccer player? The statistics from traditional soccer management-games are traded in Lords of Football, for cheeky brats who prefer to spend entire nights at the disco: real soccer players. The game sits somewhere in between Football Manager and The Sims, but is never as good or as expansive as either of these titles. When the humor wears off you’ll just ask yourself: why am I still playing this?
  5. May 14, 2013
    50
    Even though Lords of Football has some interesting ideas, in a few hours the game becomes unbearably repetitive thing unable to challenge nor reward its players.
  6. Apr 30, 2013
    50
    It’s an interesting title if only for a few hours and with a hefty price tag it doesn't help itself in getting off the subs bench.
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    40
    Lords of Football's problem is that there's a load of well-established games which fare much better in almost every aspect it tries to simulate. You want to test your mettle as a manager? Get Football Manager or EA's equivalent. You want to simulate the daily life of different characters? Get The Sims or even The Movies. Because, in the end, just throwing all of these elements into the same kettle doesn't automatically make for a good game.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 4 out of 20
  1. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    I really like this game. Simulation is very challenging. You feel like an actual coach, trying to exploit your team to obtain the best.I really like this game. Simulation is very challenging. You feel like an actual coach, trying to exploit your team to obtain the best. Nightlife is fun. I like changing activity and see what happens to my players.
    I also like real-time commands issued during a match, just like you were a coach shouting from the bench
    Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2013
    9
    You can jump in with only a basic understanding of how the game works and immediately start having fun. But with a little bit of practice,You can jump in with only a basic understanding of how the game works and immediately start having fun. But with a little bit of practice, you’ll unearth the complexities of the game. The more time you spend learning the game, the more you’ll feel rewarded. This game is challenging and accessible at the same time. Expand
  3. Apr 6, 2013
    8
    Benchè possa sembrare spoglio di contenuti, Lords of Football ha buone potenzialità per aggiungere un nuovo genere, alla blasonata categoriaBenchè possa sembrare spoglio di contenuti, Lords of Football ha buone potenzialità per aggiungere un nuovo genere, alla blasonata categoria dei giochi sportivi. Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2013
    8
    This is very different from other football games out there, It's like a mix of a Sims like world and interaction with a mix of a typicalThis is very different from other football games out there, It's like a mix of a Sims like world and interaction with a mix of a typical management style game.

    I found it to be fun and a crazy spin on what i'm used to in football games. It consists of training footballers on different exercises in the day and moving them around the town at night to keep them happy and then playing a match which you can interact with.

    Over time you unlock new events in the town and the club buildings improve to give you more space and new training exercises. It's not super deep but it has enough to make me want to play more and actually get to the Champions league (or whatever they call it)

    With this game I like the match and its interactions, even though they could be improved, they work and its above all fun to get your team doing what you want them to.

    Granted there is room for improvement, but i see the huge potential that this game has to bring a new type of football game to the market. If they can make some updates and give even more things to do I think it can be even better.
    Expand
  5. Apr 7, 2013
    7
    Lords of Football is a good idea and a game with a lot of potential, the actual game looks quite nice and is fun, however the game can getLords of Football is a good idea and a game with a lot of potential, the actual game looks quite nice and is fun, however the game can get quite repetitive after a while and sometimes it lacks originality with the in game "addiction" feature, although if you can keep yourself enjoying the game then it can be a silly mix of "Football Manager" and "The Sims" and a lot of fun. Collapse
  6. Apr 11, 2013
    5
    Geniaware's Lords of Football is a creative and unique simulation with endless potential. But all the potential in the world will not help youGeniaware's Lords of Football is a creative and unique simulation with endless potential. But all the potential in the world will not help you if your game is released half finished, and that is how this game feels: rushed and incomplete. The graphics are excellent and the gameplay itself is functional and working as intended. If they expanded on the basic principles and functions that the game flirts with, I do believe it could be a Game of the Year candidate for football enthusiasts and sim enthusiasts alike.

    The reality is that this game, in its current form, falls flat on its face and will have you constantly expecting more.
    Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2013
    1
    "Utterly boring" that's all I can say about this game. The graphic itself if okay but the game just makes me feel sick. It lacks of creativity"Utterly boring" that's all I can say about this game. The graphic itself if okay but the game just makes me feel sick. It lacks of creativity and style. Don't ever buy this game, ever. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews