Lords of the Fallen PC

Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. CD-Action
    Dec 13, 2014
    90
    I was flabbergasted by what two largely unknown studios managed to achieve. Lords of the Fallen is not just a creative take on the formula introduced by From Software, but also a game that can rival the greatest recent RPGs and looks like Monica Bellucci and Sophie Marceau from their best years. [Dec 2014, p.40]
  2. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Nov 25, 2014
    87
    Who would have thought that the union of two studios which didn’t have a single prominent game between them will yield a game worthy of all possible attention. This exciting and entertaining Action RPG adopted some Dark Souls’ basic mechanics but managed to preserve its own unique face. [Dec 2014, p.60]
  3. Oct 27, 2014
    85
    A surprisingly solid title that wasn’t even on my radar. While it borrows heavily from the Souls franchise, it’s done well and with its own signature flair. I highly recommend this game to anyone that enjoys that series, and if you haven’t gone down that road before, it might be a more forgiving entry point into the action RPG.
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    Dec 15, 2014
    83
    Lords of the Fallen may be a simplified, easier version of Souls games, but is it necessarily a bad thing? Being an overpowered iron mountain at the end game, well, it is actually quite satisfying for a change. [Dec 2014]
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 3, 2014
    80
    Straightforward copycat of "Souls" games achieved a success because it can reach players the Japanese series could not because it was too difficult. The game is still challenging but you won't be desperate from playing it. [Issue#247]
  6. Nov 2, 2014
    79
    Entertaining Action-RPG with great fight mechanics, but full of problems regarding game balance and story.
  7. Nov 9, 2014
    78
    A good action RPG that tries to emulate the Souls series but lacks in terms of variety and length.
  8. Oct 28, 2014
    77
    Lords of the Fallen looks a lot like Dark Souls, but it doesn't reach its superb quality. It's still a good game, especially for gamers looking for a challenging Action RPG.
  9. Nov 24, 2014
    75
    Lords of the Fallen is a small miracle when you consider the size of the studios that have worked on the project and the quality of the art direction and combat system, but unfortunately it does not completely shine.
  10. Nov 11, 2014
    75
    Despite the game’s shortcomings, you will hardly regret spending time with Lords of the Fallen. The developers set out to create a more humane version of Dark Souls 2, and they accomplished their mission, albeit not as brilliantly.
  11. Nov 7, 2014
    75
    Clone or not, Lords of the Fallen is a good game in its own right. Powerful combat, lots of weapons and beautiful visuals will please those who are craving a challenge, despite some technical quirks, an obstructive camera and bland storytelling.
  12. Nov 5, 2014
    75
    It’s a solid action/RPG that stumbles on the execution of several of its fantastic ideas, but nevertheless provides a great entry point for those looking to get into the type of deep, challenging, and rewarding experiences that games like Dark Souls and Demon’s Souls provide.
  13. Oct 29, 2014
    75
    Lords of the Fallen has an intriguing idea for itself and as a result is simply a good game. The developers have borrowed Dark Souls' essence and modified it for a regular gamer. The game is smaller but more "to the point". Well thought-out but plagued with minor issues. Fortunately, most of them could easily be fixed, and all other flaws do not influence the fun.
  14. Oct 27, 2014
    75
    Lords of the Fallen is derivative; there’s no doubt about that. But it’s also a surprising show of skill and hopefully a sign of much brighter things to come.
  15. Nov 6, 2014
    74
    Lords of the Fallen is a very capable, if not fully realized and polished RPG. Its story and adventure are linear, but your path towards completion is Zelda-like in that you’ll revisit old areas and uncover new secrets. So a small world is made compelling by having it layered and fraught with danger. Deck13’s game is the sleeper hit for me of this year. I did not expect to like it as much as I did, and it certainly is a “Dark Souls Clone” much in the same way there are now “Diablo Clones” in the wild. Yet Lords of the Fallen proves there is plenty of room for more difficult, deep, and engaging RPGs in the world and does enough different to stand out from the pack. I sincerely hope we get a sequel, as I feel like Deck13 is only just beginning to build this world and carve a niche in the genre.
  16. Oct 27, 2014
    74
    Delivers entertaining hack-and-slash combat centered on combos and spells, but its risk-based reward system seems slightly out of place in a world where its hero so easily achieves great power and defense and makes risk obsolete.
  17. Oct 27, 2014
    73
    The more straightforward design of Lords of the Fallen puts more focus on combat than building an interesting world. Players may be less likely to get lost, but the game lacks a sense of wonder and isn’t helped by its dull narrative and recycled enemies. Still, the solid mechanics are a step in the right direction.
  18. Dec 3, 2014
    70
    Dark Souls-ish action RPG with more civilized gameplay that makes it accessible to wider audience.
  19. PC PowerPlay
    Nov 30, 2014
    70
    Tough, unforgiving but lacking a certain something. [Dec 2014, p.56]
  20. Nov 30, 2014
    70
    Lords of the Fallen is a truly epic game but its smaller and worst than the Souls series games... at least it tried to dare where no one dared before.
  21. Nov 12, 2014
    70
    An interesting training ground for whoever wants to face bigger challenges in the near future, but it doesn't have the bone structure to fully stand as an all around experience on its own. On the other hand, some aspects of the combat system show personality, and will make the drawbacks even more annoying.
  22. Nov 8, 2014
    70
    Lords of the Fallen isn’t ashamed of cloning the mechanics of the Souls series to bring a different perspective on the genre.
  23. Nov 4, 2014
    70
    Lords of the Fallen serves as a solid entry point to those toeing the waters of the Souls franchise, but simplified systems, a shallow story and forgettable bosses keep this game from dethroning the greats.
  24. Oct 31, 2014
    70
    This game offers entertaining battles that will make you work for it: hard. But at the same time it tries to be accessible, which seems to disturb the balance.
  25. Oct 30, 2014
    70
    As a casual styled Dark Souls type game, it’s quite fun.
  26. Oct 30, 2014
    70
    Lords of the Fallen is a decent role-playing experience with some innovative features but it's weighed down by the balancing problems and the technical issues. After a few updates, it might become a good and challenging RPG, but for now, it falls short.
  27. Oct 29, 2014
    70
    Lords of the Fallen, a shameless and sloppy copy of Dark Souls, shouldn't be as enjoyable as it is. Somehow, through all its imbalance and oddity, it remains a surprising amount of fun, even if its propensity to make the player laugh is a sheer accident.
  28. Oct 28, 2014
    70
    The world and characters are forgettable and uninspired without any of that deeper lore and storytelling Dark Souls is known and loved for. But despite those criticisms Lords of the Fallen is still worth a look if you’re after challenging combat and a grisly dark medieval world to explore.
  29. Oct 28, 2014
    70
    The solid combat system is fun and entertaining, but the lack of a deep and fleshed out level design is a huge gap between Lords of the Fallen and the Souls saga.
  30. Oct 28, 2014
    70
    As the game clock ticked towards 20 hours and beyond, I could never quite shake the feeling that I'd still rather be failing in Dark Souls than succeeding in Lords of the Fallen.
  31. Oct 28, 2014
    70
    Lords of the Fallen isn’t going to triumph in a direct match-up with Dark Souls, but seeing the Souls combat system and level design transplanted with this degree of success into a shorter, more accessible game is really no bad thing.
  32. Nov 6, 2014
    65
    Inspired by the glorious Dark Souls series, Lord Of The Fallen was aiming at bringing some of the hardcore RPG magic to the next gen consoles. Truth is it's only a cheap ripoff of From Software's IP, with a difficulty that mainly comes from its slow and heavy hero, and not much appeal besides a few cleaver features.
  33. Nov 5, 2014
    65
    A slightly below average game tarnished by bugs and glitches to the point where it simply can't be recommended.
  34. Oct 28, 2014
    60
    To those who are looking for another action-RPG fix prior to the release of Bloodborne and can overlook LotF’s derivative nature, then it’s worth a shot. For everyone else, though, there are plenty more games releasing just around the corner to warrant you overlooking this one.
  35. Oct 28, 2014
    60
    Taken on its own this is a sophisticated fantasy RPG executed with consideration and thought, but Lords of the Fallen never really escapes the spectre of Souls, and it can only blame itself.
  36. Oct 28, 2014
    58
    If you have a capable rig—and don’t experience the crashes I did—I think it’s a worthwhile experience. Still, it’s less interesting than Dark Souls in terms of plot and setting, and full of wandering and grinding that first tested my patience, and finally made me as powerful as some of the bosses. If I could take its combat system, weapons, and enemies and put it in another more interesting game, I would.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 590 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 131
  2. Negative: 35 out of 131
  1. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    now this is a game that keeps me busy for sometime, and it's gloriously amazing! I'm a dark souls type of gamer and I like a lot of RPGs. thisnow this is a game that keeps me busy for sometime, and it's gloriously amazing! I'm a dark souls type of gamer and I like a lot of RPGs. this one has surpassed my expectations! Well done City Interactive! Full Review »
  2. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    A great looking action RPG with a distinct next-gen feel. If you ever wanted the satisfying combat of the Souls series, this is it. EvenA great looking action RPG with a distinct next-gen feel. If you ever wanted the satisfying combat of the Souls series, this is it. Even without finishing the NG+ a second time, I got solid 30 hours from it so definitely worth giving it a shot. Full Review »
  3. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    Finally an excellent game from CI GAMES. Beautiful graphics, excellent game mechanics, awsome combat system, amazing leveling of mainFinally an excellent game from CI GAMES. Beautiful graphics, excellent game mechanics, awsome combat system, amazing leveling of main character. As true gamer - you can't miss this title. Full Review »