User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 65
  2. Negative: 21 out of 65

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    My son and I played this game over a weekend for 15.3 Hours,the multiplayer is very fun.
    The artowrk and camera fx in this game make it seem like your watching a movie The visual quality of the art here in my oppinion as a game developer is extreemly well.All in all this was one of the best 10 games i bought this last year.
  2. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    In the space of time it took to get from XBOX and PS3 to Windows, LP2 was treated to some of the pickiest reviews I've ever seen. Despite having not played the first Lost Planet game at the time and the almost unanimous negative-to-average critical reaction, the stunning visuals and trailer prompted me to buy this game and I'm definitely glad I ignored those reviews. The design, interface and other issues noted with console versions were (for me) non-existent. I don't have a problem with Lost Planet 2 because of its arcade sensibilities, it's not attempting to tell you a story with the scope and pathos of classic literature, all you need from the premise is to pick up a gun, dash through wonderfully crafted (if at times linear) environments and shoot at some of the biggest and best-designed alien creatures ever put on a computer screen. Many critics picked on Lost Planet for being faceless or lacking engaging characters but that's moot, really - it's not that sort of game. It's fun, which is all that should matter. Expand
  3. Jan 7, 2011
    9
    En effet le jeu se repose presque essentiellement sur son multi, comme c'est la mode en ce moment et le cas d'autres grosses licences qui cartonne, on pourra dire que cette aspect parfois trop présent, l'est au détriment du reste.
    De fait je peux comprendre que les amateurs du premier opus soit déçus, mais finalement Capcom à
    pris le risque de ne pas faire un simple copier/coller de son premier jeu.

    Particulièrement attiré par tout les aspects multijoueurs d'un jeu, je trouve LP2 suffisamment solide et prometteur pour devenir l'un des rares TPS compétitif intéressant sur PC (ne jouant pas sur console, je ne donne pas mon avis).
    Le jeu est atypique, ce qui n'est sans doute pas pour plaire à tout le monde certes, mais enfin ! quel plaisir !
    Expand
  4. Feb 4, 2011
    9
    This game looks great, and is tons of fun when played with friends. It loses one point due to being a somewhat lazy port from 360. When you first start the game you will notice that the dead spots from the console analog sticks were not removed, which translates into the aiming reticule not moving if you move the mouse at slow speeds. This issue is fixed by increasing the sensitivity levels(there are two of them for some reason) all the way up and then you will adjust the aim speed to your liking. One unfortunate thing at least on the steam version, but for which I did not deduct a point for because I do not feel it is really the game's fault, is that for most modes of multiplayer it is very difficult to find a game. I assume this is due to low population, which should not be surprising given the ridiculously low scores from critics. Most people won't even try a game that is lower than 8 or 8.5 metacritic, which is unfortunate in my opinion because people miss out on a lot of great games. Personally I only pay attention to the user metacritic rating because it seems to be a better gauge of whether or not I will like a game. Expand
  5. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    Even though I liked the original lost planet, this one was better. It took me a while to get going, and the controls were quite a bit different from the original game yet the story and the action were better than ever. Some might say the story is shallow and linear. However, there was plenty of action and it held my interest throughout I would recommend this game to anybody
  6. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    my favourite game of the generation. i think it isn't understand for the general public, its a personalÃ
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Great Game,played it on my PS3 and got it for my pc as well,everything is cool but u cant reduce the mouse sensivility,no matter what you do,,,,,crappy control settings but besides that this is a great a game
  8. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    Great game and fun to replay. It has great mechanics and enemy's as well as being action packed. People give it bad reviews because it isn't call of duty first person shooter. Don't knock this game till you tried it, you'll either fall in love or you will move on. Me...it's my cup of tea! Can't wait for number 3!
  9. Dec 25, 2013
    9
    This game easily qualifies as a contender for the best puzzle game of the century. A brilliantly thought out storyline draws players to spend hours on the log in menu alone. The intricate labyrinth of a login process for multiplayer is simply extraordinary. You can tell from the sleek black window and on screen visuals that the creators have spent months making sure every aspect of it is beautifully rendered and polished. I have tried coop on it and I can truly say that it is absolutely incredible. Although we were baffled by the email verification level on this game, we pressed on and found that it was really actually unsolvable! Truly a must-buy game. 9/10 would play again. Expand
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Jan 15, 2011
    38
    Lost Planet 2 is a disjointed mess without style or substance. The developers don't bother themselves with well-designed levels, clever triggers and challenging AI. They just throw you into a hostile crowd, hoping that you'll have fun.
  2. Jan 11, 2011
    81
    Great action game including huge boss fights against over-sized monsters. A must have for those who like to play coop games for up to four players. In case you play the game alone alongside AI partners the difficulty level may frustrate you from time to time.
  3. Jan 8, 2011
    80
    The PC version of Lost Planet 2 solves some problems present on consoles, offering some excellent visuals thanks to the DirectX 11 support. Unfortunately, the developers could not remedy to the flaws of the original game (interesting plot but anonimous characters, several short missions in the single player campaign and a mediocre AI), but the combat system is still excellent and there are plenty of nice multiplayer modes. If you loved the first Lost Planet, this sequel won't disappoint you, definitely.