Lost Planet 2 Image
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next installment in the popular action series returns in Lost Planet 2. Lost Planet: Extreme Condition, the landmark third-person shooter that debuted on Xbox 360, went on to sell over 2.3 million units worldwide after its release. Lost Planet 2, will offer deeper insight into the world of E.D.N III and the uncertain fate of future mankind. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    81
    Great action game including huge boss fights against over-sized monsters. A must have for those who like to play coop games for up to four players. In case you play the game alone alongside AI partners the difficulty level may frustrate you from time to time.
  2. Jan 8, 2011
    80
    The PC version of Lost Planet 2 solves some problems present on consoles, offering some excellent visuals thanks to the DirectX 11 support. Unfortunately, the developers could not remedy to the flaws of the original game (interesting plot but anonimous characters, several short missions in the single player campaign and a mediocre AI), but the combat system is still excellent and there are plenty of nice multiplayer modes. If you loved the first Lost Planet, this sequel won't disappoint you, definitely.
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    75
    Lost Planet 2 is one of the best co-ops that we have seen. It has the same AI problems that we saw in his first part... but his great multiplayer doesn't need it.
  4. Dec 21, 2010
    67
    If you haven't snapped up Lost Planet 2 in a bargain bin some place for consoles, the PC port has been out and runs like a dream.
  5. 60
    Defrosted sequel to the first Lost Planet brings new and interesting jungle environment to the scene. Unfortunately, the sidekick bots are not-so-smart and are awkward to control. [Dec 2010]
  6. Oct 20, 2010
    60
    If you've burned through other multiplayer or co-op options, then there might be something for you in Lost Planet 2. The single player campaign is lengthy at around 14 hours with full co-op support and the multiplayer has plenty of maps and modes. Just do yourself a favor: buy some insurance for the controller you'll invariably throw across the room at one of Lost Planet 2's seemingly endless design and interface issues.
  7. Jan 15, 2011
    38
    Lost Planet 2 is a disjointed mess without style or substance. The developers don't bother themselves with well-designed levels, clever triggers and challenging AI. They just throw you into a hostile crowd, hoping that you'll have fun.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    My son and I played this game over a weekend for 15.3 Hours,the multiplayer is very fun.
    The artowrk and camera fx in this game make it seem
    like your watching a movie The visual quality of the art here in my oppinion as a game developer is extreemly well.All in all this was one of the best 10 games i bought this last year. Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    my favourite game of the generation. i think it isn't understand for the general public, its a personalÃ
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Great Game,played it on my PS3 and got it for my pc as well,everything is cool but u cant reduce the mouse sensivility,no matter what you do,,,,,crappy control settings but besides that this is a great a game Expand
  4. May 6, 2011
    8
    I agree with the reviews: this game has a few glaring faults that really get on my nerves when playing it. Nonetheless I believe it gets the credit it deserves for what it does well, let's go through that first:

    I am absolutely blown back by how well your typical western-styled shooter meets the japanese adventure and arcade elements that is so unique to our asian friends. It is a pure and great hybrid and the gameplay mechanics are exciting and very rewarding: an A rating for that I'll tell you.
    Then if that's not enough there's also the graphics and the designs: the japanese flair a lá overman king gainer and other related styles is simply nothing I have ever seen in a game.
    I don't really get the story to be honest but that's a japanese thing: never expect to truly understand the whole story. You either like it or not: but it's not a bad thing.

    So I'm raving on and on about how great this game is... then... exactly what's wrong?
    Well everything *around* the game is wrong and drags it down. First off the menus and interface: on PC it is just retarded, convoluted, overly designed, poorly designed, unintuitive, etc. I struggle to remember a game with worse menus.
    Second are the controls which are basically yuck. Maybe they work on console, I don't know: but on PC it requires some tinkering and simple grinding to get used to them and see them as barely decent.
    Third is how little the game guides you when playing. I don't like hand-holding but come on give me a few required headers and tips instead of just thrusting me into a situation with a mission I am not sure how to achieve. Most elements in the game you have to figure out and that is just not fun.

    All in all I praise it for its solid core consisting of a unique take on shooter/japanese arcader with great design and gameplay. But everything around that core is just unintuitive, garbled and more of a nuisance.
    Expand
  5. Jun 30, 2012
    8
    A game Completely focused on Co-op...to a fault. It's a pain to complete the story with a team AI that doesn't really understand teamwork (even after the update). Graphics are very nice and weapons are not too over exaggerated. Very fun overall. The plot is very Japanese. Almost straight manga style with an offensive view of other cultures or females. BUY THIS GAME IF: -You are all about Co-op. -You can turn off your brain to a piecemeal plot or approach it with humor (MST3k fans already have the skill) -You like lots of guns and mechs. -you like to customize. AVOID IF: -You are looking for good PvP. -You want a complete plot. -You are easily offended by stereotypes. -You abhor grinding for weapons/gear.
    OVERALL: Grab 3 friends when this is on sale and have a good time.
    Expand
  6. Dec 27, 2010
    8
    Visually speaking, when played on a pc with adaquate graphics horsepower, this game is stunning. The DX11 graphics and cut scenes really are amazing. If you have a nice rig hooked up to a high def monitor this game is worth getting. That said, their are a few issues. The game play in this sequel is a pretty big departure from the 1st in my opinion. I have yet to complete it, but thus far (about 7 hrs in) I have not used the VS's that much at all. Most of the campaign mode has been done in little short missions which do not usually last long. This coupled with substantial load times for missions makes for a somewhat broken up experience. There is also a heavy focus on a multilayer campaign mode in this game. I personally liked the way the first one was done and wish they stuck to the format used in it. But in conclusion, the graphics in this game make up for my gripes in game play. I think this is worth having if for nothing else than to show off what DX11 is capable of with the gorgeous cinematics that are offered frequently in the game. Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    This game is obviously not adapted to PCs... playing it on PC therefore rewards the game 0 in this scale. However, playing it on a console might be much better. I definitely think co-op on console would be a great experience! Expand

See all 20 User Reviews