Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 174 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lost Planet 3 is the third entry in the Lost Planet series. With a variety of multiplayer modes and a cinematic single player experience, Lost Planet 3 dives deeper into the Lost Planet universe, uncovering hidden truths within the unique environment of E.D.N. III.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Sep 23, 2013
    88
    Even if you haven't played any of the other Lost Planet games, Lost Planet 3 is a great game with a lot of action and a good story.
  2. Sep 13, 2013
    76
    The plot is gripping, the characters more sympathetic.
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    65
    In the end, Lost Planet 3 isn't all that bad. The gameplay is solid enough as long as you're on foot, and the story is well acted even if it doesn't end up being very interesting.
  4. Sep 19, 2013
    60
    As weird and ironic it sounds, given the score, this is the finest game in the Lost Planet trilogy, and the most successful title ever made by Spark Unlimited. Because compared to the abysmal Lost Planet 2, this mediocrity is a huge step forward.
  5. Sep 9, 2013
    55
    Just as how The Bureau: XCOM Declassified was a watered down focused tested version of Mass Effect, Lost Planet 3 feels like a watered down Dead Space. Any redeeming qualities of the Lost Planet franchise are dead and gone, leaving a husk of its former self.
  6. Aug 30, 2013
    50
    While it does what any shooter does, it doesn’t really do anything especially good or bad, putting the gamer in an awkward spot. You can’t really love it, and you can’t really point out anything to hate either. It just… is. Ugh.
  7. Sep 9, 2013
    40
    Only its relatively decent narrative along with its fine soundtrack buoys the Lost Planet 3 title up. Otherwise, it's just a shooter full of frustrating bugs. A game you've played innumerable times before.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 44
  2. Negative: 13 out of 44
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    Don't pay attention to the negative reviews. Those are based on expectations. This is a more story driven mature game than the first 2. If it was released with a new franchise name without the expectations, it would have been voted much higher for the excellent character and story development, with a little less frenetic action. Expand
  2. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    I have played all Lp games THIS ONE IS THE BEST Open world allot of combat It is somtimes realy hard and unfair too you but this is what lost planet is made of unfair and nasty situations I LOVE IT. BUY IT BUY IT Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    Great jump forward in the Lost Planet games! This game is superior than the other two games (that I still enjoyed). The graphics are stunning and the controls feel great. I still haven't beaten it, but after 6 hours I'm still entertained.
    P.S. To fully enjoy this game, you need at least 1 friend
    Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2013
    7
    yeah the gameplay and the graphics are average,but the story,characters,the good soundtrack and the well done voice acting will keep you playing this game seriously wanting to know what will happen.
    the game also has the a very good atmosphere. gameplay is not good but not bad too and the Rig parts are where the gameplay shines especially that fight with Laroche in the final hours of the game.
    there's also a radio in the rig but you won't get the chance to listen coz it's TEMPORARLY UNAVAILABLE for about 95% of the game. Damn that really pissed me off
    the game took me 13 hours and 26 minutes to finish with doing some side missions too
    i can only give it a 7.5. and i could've given it a 8 if the gameplay was better than this,coz killing humans really sucked in this game and if it had a bigger world and more sidemissions
    Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2014
    5
    I was an avid player of the lost planet series, I loved the first and second game. The third however was a lot different from the other two. The third game failed to give the same progressive or linear story the other two gave and it seemed like it was an attempt to create an open world for the player which I did not feel was achieved. I also did not appreciate the lack of larger bosses and VS suits. The Akrid were extremely lacking in this game and it felt like instead of surviving on a planet infested by giant glowing alien bugs I was on an alien planet dodging bad guy humans and there just happened to be a few Akrid along the way. I was also longing for a battle between me and other VS suits that did NOT involve me in an over sized mech drilling platform. In comparison to the other two games, this was a disappointment to me. If they decide to make another game in the LP series, I really hope they go back to their previous game play styles. If you have never played the LP series, get the first and second game and play those first and THEN play this game. If you have played and liked the other games in the LP series, you may not like this one as much. Expand
  6. Sep 13, 2013
    4
    First of all it should be noted, I loved Lost Planet 1 and 2, they were far from perfect but they had their own thing going for them.

    And
    yes, the story of this is a little better written than the previous games.

    HOWEVER...

    The gameplay is lackluster, they took things that made the previous games enjoyable and scrapped them, trying to appeal to a more Dead-Space/Gears of War audience.

    The camera is tighter making it infuriatingly difficult to spot when an enemy is approaching from behind, the grappling hook is practically gone (now instead used on selected ledges when you get a button prompt), the weapons are sluggish and ineffective, enemies weak spots are small and pointless, the Akrid have lost most of their bug like charm.

    The fun Vital Suits are gone, instead replaced with the big RIG, which as an addition would have been kick ass but it feels like a feature downgrade. The HUD is temperamental, the Multi-player is a meagre 5v5 (and only a short while after release, apparently barren to) compared to the 8v8.

    The reason I loved Lost Planet 1 and 2 (and I imagine most fans will agree) was their gameplay, sure it was a little slower and at time, cluttered and anarchic, which could be kind of infuriating but also fun, but it was different, it wasn't just 'Generic COD clone #425' or 'Third Person Shooter #233', it was Lost Planet, what Spark has tried to do here is gather more of an audience by replicating main stream games, and, without the budget those games are packing or the ground-up focus those games have, they've plummeted short.

    The art is disappointing, while in Lost Planet 1 I could see and hear the crunches of the snow and in number 2 the jungle and desert environments were stunning, in here they just feel kinda bland, you feel like a guy walking over a movie set built to look like a snowed in wasteland, not like you're actually there, all in an attempt to make the game feel more survival horror, a-la Dead Space, again robbing the series of its own style.

    What about the story that everyone's talking about? Yes, the characters are a little more relatable (or some of them are, whatever, I'll get to that in a second), yes the writing is better than Capcoms attempt, but the purpose of a game is to play, an area where this game falls DRASTICALLY short.

    The writing and story is better and the voice acting for both the main character and Gale is pretty good, but some characters just sound bored, some of the voice actors did a terrible job, sounding like they're reading lines for a radio advert or something.

    And on a slightly more personal note, the need to make everything darker and grittier is infuriating, seriously, I liked my slightly cheesy story with giant mechs, stirring speeches, a clear bad guy and glowing orange aliens, just because every other game decided they were going to paint the scenery and the story with an extra thick layer of grit doesn't mean you have to jump on board because hey, all the kids are buying that up.

    So overall the writing is slightly better, if only slightly, but the gameplay is butchered in an attempt to mimic the 'big games', the enemies, environment, weapons, characters have all lost the things that made them unique, several key elements of play from previous games have been cut down to simple button prompts, removed entirely or over emphasized (such as weak points now being an absolute rather than a reward), and everything that made the series fun in its own way has been removed.

    The multiplayer has been butchered, practically completely hacked off and is plagued by long waiting times and miniscule lobbies, a player backing out just before the start of a game will leave everyone else in the lobby in a state of Limbo as players can't leave, new players can't join and the game wont start until there's a full lobby (only remedied by completely quitting the game and restarting), with simple things like a mute player option missing, because a boolean is a hard thing to add.

    The gameplay is still slightly enjoyable and some attention to writing is good to see, so while this isn't my cup of tea (and if you're a fan of the first two, probably not yours either) some people may find some enjoyment in this fairly generic shooter (hence the 4) but if you're a fan of the series give this a miss, it was built to try and please fans of the mainstream action games, not fans of the series.
    Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2013
    0
    I was a fan of the first game and i even liked the second part, but this game is just terrible. It has nothing in common with the previous games. It's just terrible. Seems like they wanted to make it look like Dead Space, but they failed, the gameplay is boring, like the plot. A great step back in the franchise. Expand

See all 44 User Reviews