User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 317 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 68 out of 317

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. rick
    Aug 25, 2007
    4
    After installing and reviewing my computer status for compatibility it states I have everything to play the game...right !!!!!!!!!! once the game is installed and I try to play it under dx9 or dx10 it states it's incompatible with my system. I can't even sell this game because you have to imput the registration key when you download it. And why in the HELL do you have to go thruAfter installing and reviewing my computer status for compatibility it states I have everything to play the game...right !!!!!!!!!! once the game is installed and I try to play it under dx9 or dx10 it states it's incompatible with my system. I can't even sell this game because you have to imput the registration key when you download it. And why in the HELL do you have to go thru steam anyway???. It seems more of a monoply than a convience for the customer... Expand
  2. homersimpson
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    It´s an awesome game. This game is pure action and it´s an exciting challenge to master it.
  3. JamieS.
    Jul 2, 2007
    7
    "Full of sound and fury, yet signifying nothing". As soon as I started playing Lost Planet, that was what it seemed to me. When will game makers learn that it takes more than great graphics to make a great game? Lost planet looks great, but as soon as it opens it's mouth, it begins to sound stupid. There's the cliches - the teenage would-be-hero Wayne, prevented from showing his "Full of sound and fury, yet signifying nothing". As soon as I started playing Lost Planet, that was what it seemed to me. When will game makers learn that it takes more than great graphics to make a great game? Lost planet looks great, but as soon as it opens it's mouth, it begins to sound stupid. There's the cliches - the teenage would-be-hero Wayne, prevented from showing his mettle by an over-protective dad. For christs sake capcom it's 2007 and we've been playing video games for more than 20 years now. I myself am 46; i suspect most of your audience is at least 25+. Stop aiming at teens. Then there's the narrated story itself. It seems as if it's been rewritten several times by several different authors - winding up with something that makes less and less sense the more you examine it. "Humanity had no weapons with which to repel the invaders" -- while this gem is sonorously narrated, we are treated to footage of guys weaponed to the hilt firing furiously at aliens. So what about those weapons, huh? Perhaps they meant "No effective weapons". Expand
  4. Oct 11, 2010
    8
    I'd give this a 10/10 except for the IMPOSSIBLE boss battles. It's like they decided to make a perfect game, and then piss off all the fans with boss battles that will make you want to rip your hair out.
  5. Dec 11, 2011
    4
    I should have read the reviews of this game before I plunked down $20 for it. On the plus side: great graphics and animations, creative creature design. On the down side, everything else. Controls are very clunky ie aiming is woefully inaccurate and clunky, and the game is basically a shooting gallery which so easy, I never once died and had to restart, as the damage given is so small fromI should have read the reviews of this game before I plunked down $20 for it. On the plus side: great graphics and animations, creative creature design. On the down side, everything else. Controls are very clunky ie aiming is woefully inaccurate and clunky, and the game is basically a shooting gallery which so easy, I never once died and had to restart, as the damage given is so small from most enemy attacks. Great game for kids, but if you're above mid teens, pass this one up. Expand
  6. guytune
    Feb 28, 2009
    7
    i only paid 4.99 for this game. its still downloading but for that price how can you hate it?hell a video rental cost that much. im sure this will last longer than 2 hrs. and im sure it will be alot more fun. go steam !! I KNOW THE ONLINE CRAP SUCKS, BUT FOR 4.99 WHO CARES??
  7. StevenC.
    Nov 3, 2007
    9
    I have noticed that alot of the people tearing the game apart are Xbox360 owners which tells me that either there very bitter about the fact the graphics are enhanced for the PC version or they just have a crappy PC that would have trouble playing Doom 1 never mind anything else, i thought this game was amazing the graphics are great and the sound excellent even my brother who brought and I have noticed that alot of the people tearing the game apart are Xbox360 owners which tells me that either there very bitter about the fact the graphics are enhanced for the PC version or they just have a crappy PC that would have trouble playing Doom 1 never mind anything else, i thought this game was amazing the graphics are great and the sound excellent even my brother who brought and Xbox360 when they first came out prefers this vesion, or maybe its because they getting back at the PC comunity for the up coming version of Gears of War with its extra missions and enhanced graphics. Don't bitch and whine if you don't like it, why did you buy it in the first place after all there was a demo out that you could try BEFORE spending you money. Expand
  8. Marc
    Oct 7, 2007
    4
    First impression: omg what's with this horrible response time! even with all settings at the lowest there is half a second delay between moving the mouse or hitting a key and a reaction in the game (and no it's not just my computer). Then after a short while you realize that it's a really amateur game. graphics ok, but everything else mediocre. could the dialogs be any more First impression: omg what's with this horrible response time! even with all settings at the lowest there is half a second delay between moving the mouse or hitting a key and a reaction in the game (and no it's not just my computer). Then after a short while you realize that it's a really amateur game. graphics ok, but everything else mediocre. could the dialogs be any more awkward? are those actors speaking? and the gameplay gets boring fast. nothing new nothing special, just shoot some aliens. Expand
  9. ChristopherB.
    Sep 16, 2007
    4
    After purchasing this game it would not install on my 64bit xp system. I upgraded directx and did several changes suggested in forums online. It would not run. I upgraded to Vista 64 and it still will not run under directx 10. I have a 512meg x1800 Radeon pci eXpress x16 graphics card, 4gigs of dual channel DDR2 at 800mhz, and a socket AM2, AMD Athlon 64 FX 62 running at 3.02 ghz with After purchasing this game it would not install on my 64bit xp system. I upgraded directx and did several changes suggested in forums online. It would not run. I upgraded to Vista 64 and it still will not run under directx 10. I have a 512meg x1800 Radeon pci eXpress x16 graphics card, 4gigs of dual channel DDR2 at 800mhz, and a socket AM2, AMD Athlon 64 FX 62 running at 3.02 ghz with refrigerated liquid cooling, and it tells me my system was not good enough. Eventually by working on it for several hours I got the game to work under Vista with the Directx 9.0c version. Then after playing for about an hour I was disgusted with the gameplay. It is not suited to use with a keyboard and mouse. The excitement was just not there like it is in other shooters. I think the third person view ruined it for me. Just makes it seem shabby. In effect, I did not like the game at all and wish I never would have purchased it. It was error prone and too system demanding without the level of enjoyment I was hoping for. Expand
  10. JoshS.
    Jun 28, 2009
    4
    It's a good game in its core, but thats it. I got it free from a friend, but i wouldn't recommended buying it unless it was on sale for less than $10. The engine is laggy, controls are shaky, and the storyline is off. I think the aspect that makes me go back to this game maybe once every two months is the fact that its a 3rd-person shooter. Just mediocre in every aspect. Plus, It's a good game in its core, but thats it. I got it free from a friend, but i wouldn't recommended buying it unless it was on sale for less than $10. The engine is laggy, controls are shaky, and the storyline is off. I think the aspect that makes me go back to this game maybe once every two months is the fact that its a 3rd-person shooter. Just mediocre in every aspect. Plus, the online experience isn't even worth trying. Expand
  11. BrianO'Connor
    Dec 13, 2008
    4
    this game is unfortunately less than mediocre it would be better if the life lasted longer but it is way too easy to die. plus capcom didnt bother to really convert the xbox 360 version to the pc making controling the character akward at best. overall, i would not recommend to a friend.
  12. StefanK.
    Jul 20, 2007
    0
    Always crashes in first mission after first enemy contact. Who minds directx 10 if the game isn't even stable in directx 9? Unplayable until fixed.
  13. WasimI.
    Aug 7, 2007
    9
    Great game and gameplay. Awesome graphics.
  14. MattB.
    Oct 5, 2007
    0
    Complete waste of $40. The motion blur feature is very annoying and draws heavily on your PC's resources. Turning off motion blur gave me a 20 FPS increase and made the game a little more enjoyable. Knowing what I know now, I would have avoided this game. Online gameplay is horrible. Once you begin to get shot at, you can't even fire back.
  15. DamionM.
    Jun 3, 2007
    8
    Entertaining. I like the idea behind staying alive in the game.
  16. TimG.
    Jul 20, 2007
    8
    It was fun to play, the story line was engaging and apart from hitting the 10th level and the cutscenes started messing up, it was relatively bug free. Just wish it had a better save system because dying 9/10 of the way through the level and having to do it all again drives me up the wall. Finally in my opinion the outro movie at the end, really messed what could have been a very good story.
  17. CM.
    Aug 28, 2007
    9
    Beautiful game to behold. Great action. The story is a little hokey but the cut scenes are gorgeous. Forget about the keyboard and mouse. This game is a console game and should only be played with an X360 controller.
  18. MatthewW.
    Sep 4, 2007
    5
    I can sum this game up pretty quick. Boring, slightly btter boss fights, can't hold a candle to most pc shooters. This was just an excercise in DX10... not worth the money.
  19. LaytonC.
    Sep 9, 2007
    10
    This game is one of the better games to come out lately in my opinion, All this talk about mouse lag and shoddy action is bullsh*t. I have never experienced crashes, mouse lag, or any other major problems with this game what so ever. Although I did get very frustrated on level 5.
  20. D3MitrisZ
    Jan 20, 2008
    9
    Great game. Super fun. I like the play mechanics, presentation and overall experience. Totally worth playing. I play tons of games and always have - this is a quality action game, especially at the price ($30).
  21. robotechm
    Mar 3, 2009
    3
    So I payed 5 dollars for this game because it was on sale... I'm considering asking for my money back. This is a classic console monkey very inline with your gaylo and other ripe off/dumbed down version of PC games. The plus side is it has good graphics and a decent story line. On the downside its very badly ported to PC. The only way to really picture how badly is your basically So I payed 5 dollars for this game because it was on sale... I'm considering asking for my money back. This is a classic console monkey very inline with your gaylo and other ripe off/dumbed down version of PC games. The plus side is it has good graphics and a decent story line. On the downside its very badly ported to PC. The only way to really picture how badly is your basically running in debug mode. The coding in classic console monkey fashion is sloping. It requires a very powerful PC in order to run on max setting. If they had ported it correctly and coded it correctly they could have easily reduced the requirements by 1/3 maybe as much as 1/2. The control are clunky and their is no tech support as far as I know at the time of this review. The AI is impressive...impressively stupid. If your a hardcore console monkey who likes gaylo and must have your console games on PC go for it. If your a PC gamers dig through your old games whip out DOOM2. Yeah the graphics aren't as pretty but the AI is a lot smarter. Expand
  22. LambertZ.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    Really good shooting game even if theres a lack of chat system ingame like Unreal Tournament.
  23. ArchonM.
    Dec 1, 2007
    7
    The game is gorgeous on the PC, I haven't played the xbox 360 version, but it cant possibly look better. the plot did suck, but its a glamor title, just supposed to look pretty. the video game equivalent of a summer blockbuster.
  24. SteveH.
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    I love it, it's a nice break from all my rpg's. Lovely graphics and tons of action, cool explosions and great sound. I like the setting, weapons and the characters. Sure no game is perfect, but this game is good at what it is intened to do... blow things up!
  25. DonR.
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    What an awesome game! Refreshing story line that takes you into more than just a shot em up but makes you part of the script. Doom 3, Half Life 2 and now Lost Planet. It's good to be a gamer. :O)
  26. Ben
    Oct 7, 2007
    9
    This game is amazing after beating it on all the difficulties i thought it would be done and id forget about it but in truth the multiplayer is amazing and some of the very best ive ever played while not perfect this game is amazing.
  27. ColbyA.
    May 29, 2007
    9
    I've only played the demo on Valve's Steam program, but I can tell you that it was completely awesome. My computer can't quite tackle the graphics though - in other words the game is visually stunning. It has awesome effects (for example, the longer you run through the snow, the more it sticks to your pants), and the boss fights were interesting (there are two you can takeI've only played the demo on Valve's Steam program, but I can tell you that it was completely awesome. My computer can't quite tackle the graphics though - in other words the game is visually stunning. It has awesome effects (for example, the longer you run through the snow, the more it sticks to your pants), and the boss fights were interesting (there are two you can take part in in the demo). I like the general concept of the game, and look forward to probably buying it when it comes out for PC. Expand
  28. MakisA.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    I had many years to see something that will keep my eyes opened until tears comes out, because I stuck on the screen! If you have a powerfull machine this game is for you, the graphics are gorgeous at max settings!!! The sound is very good and the giant enemies will not let your hands rest.. A big 10 out of 10 from me, the online features of the game isn't usefull for me and does not I had many years to see something that will keep my eyes opened until tears comes out, because I stuck on the screen! If you have a powerfull machine this game is for you, the graphics are gorgeous at max settings!!! The sound is very good and the giant enemies will not let your hands rest.. A big 10 out of 10 from me, the online features of the game isn't usefull for me and does not affect my vote. Expand
  29. [Anonymous]
    Jul 1, 2007
    9
    Awesome game, just horribly ported to PC.
  30. GrandC.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    Great game looks better then anything i ever saw before, online play fun as hell but needs to be worked on so u can see how many people are loged in to play and chat would be really really really helpful but besides that the online play makes me lose sleep in a good way.
  31. RickD.
    Jul 1, 2007
    4
    Very dissapointing title, another console to PC port fails to create anything more than dissapointment in boundless ammounts. The fact that it retains the X360 control scheme and is riddled with bugs smacks of cheapness when the game ships for $49.99 on Steam. That said there are glimpses of greatness and the visual prowess is impressive.
  32. YannickP.
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    Lost Planet have the best Graphic ever. For a people with Dx9 is the game not so good like for a people with dx10.like me
  33. TriggerusM.
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    Grafix=Awsome, single player=awsome, multiplayer online=bad.
  34. CurlenM.
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    Great game! One of the bext console to PC ports I've played to date.
  35. ChristianT.
    Jul 20, 2007
    8
    I like this game. Fight for survival against Akrids is great and a plot in the background. Those bigger ones really make you run for cover. CAPCOM has shown it's ability with Resident Evil for PS and now they come to PC. I had problems running the game first, but after setting display driver settings to Application Preference it has been running like a charm and oh man it looks I like this game. Fight for survival against Akrids is great and a plot in the background. Those bigger ones really make you run for cover. CAPCOM has shown it's ability with Resident Evil for PS and now they come to PC. I had problems running the game first, but after setting display driver settings to Application Preference it has been running like a charm and oh man it looks great! Well, now back to fight! Expand
  36. SpyderC.
    Jul 23, 2007
    9
    Sweet game. Get my adrenaline pumped. You need the best hardware on the market to get the full enjoyment. This is a game that will be more enjoyable if you lower the settings to achive the highest framerate. Don
  37. DeanB.
    Jul 8, 2007
    8
    I'm glad that this great game has come to the PC gaming public. It's tough enough to provide a significant challenge, yet leaves the player feeling that they have a genuine chance of progressing. Repetitive? If this is repetitive then so are all other shooters on the market! The animated cutscenes blend well with the gameplay. The rest of the game is atmosphric as one would I'm glad that this great game has come to the PC gaming public. It's tough enough to provide a significant challenge, yet leaves the player feeling that they have a genuine chance of progressing. Repetitive? If this is repetitive then so are all other shooters on the market! The animated cutscenes blend well with the gameplay. The rest of the game is atmosphric as one would expect. I can't give it top marks because some silly bug remain and the moultiplayer features seems barely functional. Expand
  38. JosephW.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    The controls for the computer was really easy to use and even when I got a game control is made it more funnier to play then it was with a keyboard and mouse. Just he weapons themselves are kool and the mercs are really nicely detailed.
  39. BoL.
    Aug 14, 2007
    8
    This review is for the PC version. Lost Planet is a fair shooter even for the PC. Fast paced action, meaty and solid weapons as well as properly sized bosses (a rarity nowadays, but I would expect no less from the people behind Mega Man). The story is almost hilariously bad, but I suppose that is to be expected. At least it provides an excuse for showing us the well endowed women in the This review is for the PC version. Lost Planet is a fair shooter even for the PC. Fast paced action, meaty and solid weapons as well as properly sized bosses (a rarity nowadays, but I would expect no less from the people behind Mega Man). The story is almost hilariously bad, but I suppose that is to be expected. At least it provides an excuse for showing us the well endowed women in the cut scenes. The multiplayer obviously suffers because of the games console origins, but since the latest patch I have not had problems finding games. The different game modes aren't exactly numerous, but there's enough variety to keep it interesting. Also, I find the additional freedom offered by the characters wire hook to be a welcome addition, as it adds vertical movement and bullet dodging to the normal shooter controls. Thankfully, the stages have also been well crafted and created with this in mind. My last positive note is that the game is beautiful, it's definitely up there with the best. The physics may not be very impressive (rocks rolling downhill seem like they were made of papier mache or something), but it's definitely a looker. This game might be worth a purchase for all the visual goodness alone. My only big gripe with the game is regarding the Vital Suit controls. Vital Suits are small mechs, armored walker machines that usually pack heavy firepower. They are equipped with thrusters to enable jumping and limited flight, and may sometimes transform into secondary modes, such as hoverbikes. The translation to PC has not gone painlessly for these beasts, as it is sometimes quite hard to direct their firepower when, for example, trying to strafe incoming fire. This is mostly because of the placement of the buttons that enable special mech functions, such as having to press X+sideways to initiate a thruster powered gliding maneuvre. Predicting the lenght of jumps may also be quite hard. Capcom should have consulted games like Mario 64. Add a big shadow under the mech, shift the camera up a bit so you have a good view of the landing area and presto, your jumping would have improved greatly. To conclude, the game has some flaws, inculding a short-ish single player campaign, and weird controls (which can, however, be reconfigured), but is generally a very solid title, and definitely has a japanese feel that is often hard to find in PC titles. So if you feel your inner console guy needs something to play, Lost Planet would be a good choice! This is definitely worth an 8. Expand
  40. Dante'R.
    Aug 14, 2007
    8
    Game is tight, and graffics Amazing, but gameplay is REALLY hard once you get to a boss, unless you play on easy ofcourse.
  41. JaimeA.
    Aug 3, 2007
    8
    Nice game maybe low quality online settings because of lag due no servers support this game, but nice realism and high graphics. 8 Rating.
  42. TimW.
    Aug 6, 2007
    8
    Good game .. tough on the old rig , had to purchase a new PC Quad Core / 8800GTX / 2Gb Ram ... runs sweet.
  43. PhilS.
    Sep 24, 2007
    8
    Gameplay awesome. Waiting for next patch for muiltiplayer.
  44. LeoB.
    Sep 6, 2007
    3
    Pretty bad crossover to the PC. Need an update to play offline. I can go on and on...About the only thing going well for the game is the graphics. Gameplay itself is sketchy, BIG WASTE OF MONEY FOR PC Gamers.
  45. EricB.
    Sep 8, 2007
    8
    The single player is fun to play. the controls are ok and the graphics are awesome. not the best but sure is a good game. i could not try it online since there was nobody on when i tried. i hope it gets popular so that i can try it online.
  46. RyanT.
    Sep 9, 2007
    9
    Its good but you need to give it time, fiddle with the settings and stuff, once you get it just like you want it, its great. You have to think about everything in the story to understand it though, but it is a great arcade shooter, online is killer dispite that there is sometimes very few servers.
  47. GwenaëlP.
    Apr 13, 2008
    9
    Very good game. Smashing graphics even if a big graphic card is needed.
  48. lamichedu49
    May 31, 2008
    10
    A once-reasonable game for the PC is now a distinctly mediocre game for the x .
  49. BennetK.
    May 30, 2008
    9
    Nice graphics, nice boss fights, nice effects. Just G.R.E.A.T. only the single player campaign is too short.
  50. BetsyP.
    Jul 9, 2008
    2
    Why do I have to use Steam to play this? I would already be playing if I was just using my own computer with no internet funny-business. There is No Reason that is valid - to me - to force the owners of this game to use Steam. It lacks intellect to assume that everyone will blindly follow the dictates of pompous blackguards with dollar signs for morals. HA!
  51. voodoojedizinifzin
    Aug 2, 2008
    3
    It's obvious they made the game part first and then they made up the dumbest storyline you have ever heard what a joke. A planet where the snow is 20 feet deep but there's cars parked all over the place I can go on and on but the whole story is just ridiculous. The graphics are OK not a real difference between direct can or direct ten or nine. The Ai is a joke I think they spent It's obvious they made the game part first and then they made up the dumbest storyline you have ever heard what a joke. A planet where the snow is 20 feet deep but there's cars parked all over the place I can go on and on but the whole story is just ridiculous. The graphics are OK not a real difference between direct can or direct ten or nine. The Ai is a joke I think they spent more money on advertisement and buying reviews than they did in making the game. Expand
  52. Gerard
    Mar 1, 2009
    5
    I just bought this game for $5 and I'm contemplating if it's worth it. It's a horrible port from xbox with xbox control instructions popping up, horrible AI that stand around and don't respond until you shoot, Random spawning and re-spawning, and the cheesiest and most illogical storyline you could possibly make. What is sad is that the storyline completely kills theI just bought this game for $5 and I'm contemplating if it's worth it. It's a horrible port from xbox with xbox control instructions popping up, horrible AI that stand around and don't respond until you shoot, Random spawning and re-spawning, and the cheesiest and most illogical storyline you could possibly make. What is sad is that the storyline completely kills the game. I've written better in elementary school. Expand
  53. JorgeY.
    Oct 10, 2007
    2
    I had high expectantions for this game before it was rleased but when played the whole game through I simply found very little on it that was satisfactory. Boss battles were more frustrating than anything else and vehicles/robots felt like a chore to ride while the stages themselves were just plain boring. Capcom could learn a thing or two from games like Ninja Gaiden, Gears of War and I had high expectantions for this game before it was rleased but when played the whole game through I simply found very little on it that was satisfactory. Boss battles were more frustrating than anything else and vehicles/robots felt like a chore to ride while the stages themselves were just plain boring. Capcom could learn a thing or two from games like Ninja Gaiden, Gears of War and God of War before designing a game this bad. Expand
  54. Dim.
    Oct 11, 2007
    1
    Steam is a pure waste of time. For the last 2 hours I could not play the game as this stupid Steam program fails to avtivate my Game bought for 79USd 50Euro as the server is to busy... For that price I can expect to play the game when I want to. What did I got so far: being spammed with adds by Steam. DONT BY ANY PROGRAM BASED ON STEAM!
  55. PatrickD.
    Oct 13, 2007
    8
    It a great game but the only draw back is that the cold countdown gives you little time to explore the maps
  56. JohanW.
    Oct 27, 2007
    8
    I liked this game, very nice story with amazing cutcenese etc. a really nice cinematic game....love it.
  57. TomR.
    Jun 30, 2007
    9
    If your PC can handle this it looks stunning. I advise you to get a 360 controller for the PC, but then you may as well just buy it for the 360. The game rocks but there is little change from the 360 version. The combat is fluid, fast and delicious!
  58. BobbyS.
    Jul 11, 2007
    9
    Simply amazing! First the negs: YES- it seems to be repetitive, BUT- so are all the other shooter games out there. Also, the AI-is pretty reidiculously dumb. When I first saw the game, I thought " man that's horrible..you have to try and keep yourself alive" but in a way.... the movies "Crank", "StarShipTroopers", the game "Devil May Cry", and a few others come to mind- and after a Simply amazing! First the negs: YES- it seems to be repetitive, BUT- so are all the other shooter games out there. Also, the AI-is pretty reidiculously dumb. When I first saw the game, I thought " man that's horrible..you have to try and keep yourself alive" but in a way.... the movies "Crank", "StarShipTroopers", the game "Devil May Cry", and a few others come to mind- and after a bit of game play..it really turned out to be an awesome game. Simply magnificent graphics, non stop action, definitely recommended!! Expand
  59. SMan
    Jul 21, 2007
    5
    I have not seen much in the multiplayer realm since purchasing this game, and that isn't my problem. I like the game and it plays sound on my machine. Pent D 3.2 4 gigs of ram and 570 gb over 3 hd's. I do have a problem with having to ask steam to play the game I bought, it isn't right. I'm 27 and I quit asking permission about what I do in my off time a long time ago. I have not seen much in the multiplayer realm since purchasing this game, and that isn't my problem. I like the game and it plays sound on my machine. Pent D 3.2 4 gigs of ram and 570 gb over 3 hd's. I do have a problem with having to ask steam to play the game I bought, it isn't right. I'm 27 and I quit asking permission about what I do in my off time a long time ago. I asked for the update needed to play off line if I take mind to 10 years from now and got nothing but the run around. Game manufact. need to realize one simple facet of selling a game, the people who buy it are no longer interested in being dependent on you to play....THAT'S WHY WE BOUGHT IT IN THE FIRST PLACE. Put out a downloadable patch that players can use to play off line years from now when support for this game falters. Expand
  60. JohnS.
    Jul 21, 2007
    0
    Control in the game has to be the worst ever.
  61. DiegoM.
    Jul 22, 2007
    8
    Lots of action, magnifical graphics, little short, best multiplayer.
  62. MikeS.
    Jul 28, 2007
    9
    Awesome graphics, especially on DX10, runs perfectly on highest settings on a 8800GTS. Only gripe is short single-player campaign and online play lobby (no listing of servers, etc.)
  63. BruceL.
    Jul 29, 2007
    0
    When starting the game, I must update the game online, it's really waste my time(cause by the low connection speed), and I can't play game without finishing update.T his method of updating really sucks.
  64. MichaelG.
    Jul 3, 2007
    0
    Nothing worse than having steam d/c you when you get to the end of level and haveta do it all over again. And the worst thing is that multiplayer doesn't work for most people.
  65. SnowedOutIngraham
    Jul 7, 2007
    7
    No joke. You better have a very fast computer. My 7800 GT, 2GB ram, and 3800 wasn't good enough. If you do have the horses then this game (from what I could play) was entertaining. Non stop shooting and explosions, this ain't for those with high blood pressure. Tastes like Call of Duty on the rocks, with a shot of 151 to spice things up.
  66. WesC.
    Aug 13, 2007
    9
    Great game! The gameplay is amazingly fun! The downside is that you need a great computer to run it!
  67. Dan
    Aug 18, 2007
    4
    Good gameplay , bad MP-Modus, no chat. Lost all my rank after a unprofessional update! Multiplayer-Mod and Server-connectings are bad.
  68. LoganB.
    Aug 5, 2007
    0
    Steam is totally useless. I would give the game a 7 if it were not for steam but the constant updating, using 130mb ram and always trying to get online just dragges the game down to steams level.
  69. RayF.
    Sep 28, 2007
    6
    Fun, but huge difficulty spike on the chapter 6 boss, I couldn't get past it. Plus the multiplayer has never worked, maybe thats why no one plays this online.
  70. alphaomega
    Dec 27, 2008
    2
    Good graphics, cool weapons, seriously let down by poor gameplay, he seems to have to pause or stop to do basic things. Why does it take forever to get into a VM and start to use it? Why does performing actions need incredible precision (i don't know how many times i removed a weapon from a VM just trying to get into it).
  71. RaymondR.
    Feb 21, 2008
    2
    The fact that you can't it directly play it on pc stinks...you pay good money for it and have to go through "steam" i don't want steam, i just wanna play the game. Feel very ripped off...steam doesn't even work half the time. gave it a two cause it has a nice cover...otherwise garbage.
  72. DanH
    Feb 25, 2008
    5
    The gameplay was ok. It really wasnt that exciting. To people like Steven C: NO WE ARE NOT COMPLAINING BECAUSE WE HAVE CRAPPY COMPUTERS!!! I ran every setting maxed out on DX10 and never got below 40 frames per second except for the transition to a trailer. IT IS LAGGY. They did not get rid of the BS factor from the console. Q6600 and XFX 8800GTX both OCd slightly and 4gb ram on Ultimate.The gameplay was ok. It really wasnt that exciting. To people like Steven C: NO WE ARE NOT COMPLAINING BECAUSE WE HAVE CRAPPY COMPUTERS!!! I ran every setting maxed out on DX10 and never got below 40 frames per second except for the transition to a trailer. IT IS LAGGY. They did not get rid of the BS factor from the console. Q6600 and XFX 8800GTX both OCd slightly and 4gb ram on Ultimate. No its not the computer. Its the game. Lost planet look really good even with the fur. It just was not tuned correctly for the PC. Crysis blew this game out of the water in terms of a game... Expand
  73. VinnyB.
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    Great Gameplay, Great Graphics, I thought the campaign was neat. Online could use some help. This could be an awsome online/lan game if their online had more features. (Friends list, Better ranking system, ect.) Steam friends doesn't even work when your playing in dx10 mode. Hopefully a patch will fix that.
  74. EricH.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Best action ever! intense and well layed out for a 3rd PS. Graphics nice!
  75. AmerA.
    Jun 1, 2008
    9
    The game is nice if you have a good computer. A solution for online mouse lag is to play for about 2 matches, and it wont bother you anymore. Its also pretty challenging to defeat the Japanese pros. The gameplay is hard to get used to, because most people are used to first person shooters and small battle arenas. I'd give it a 10 only if the users hosting online matches didn't The game is nice if you have a good computer. A solution for online mouse lag is to play for about 2 matches, and it wont bother you anymore. Its also pretty challenging to defeat the Japanese pros. The gameplay is hard to get used to, because most people are used to first person shooters and small battle arenas. I'd give it a 10 only if the users hosting online matches didn't wait 10 minutes for another player to join. Expand
  76. DanO'D
    Feb 28, 2009
    1
    I bought this on Steam on the PC for $5. It was $4 too much! If you are tempted to buy this steaming pile of gameplay think twice. If you want to play a game that feels like playing arcade Virtua Cop 1 on your PC, then this is the game for you. It feels lifeless and disconnected.

    You have been warned! Save your money!
  77. Dalek
    Mar 20, 2009
    2
    Great, another game with a crap engine. I have 2.50Ghz 2GB of ram and 2 8600 GeForce's. And this engine lags even on lowest settings, well I didn't lower the res otherwise it would suck but my pc isn't crap because it can run pretty good games. The engine sucks its laggy especially with a billion light fx, the controls are hard since it is based on an Xbox 360 game. ITS 7GB Great, another game with a crap engine. I have 2.50Ghz 2GB of ram and 2 8600 GeForce's. And this engine lags even on lowest settings, well I didn't lower the res otherwise it would suck but my pc isn't crap because it can run pretty good games. The engine sucks its laggy especially with a billion light fx, the controls are hard since it is based on an Xbox 360 game. ITS 7GB AND THAT IS ALOT.. I spent most of the time finding out where the hell to go since it is so confusing and I uninstalled the game on the 2nd part since it sucked so much, waste of time and space. Expand
  78. AnonymousMC
    May 9, 2009
    8
    Fun mecha game. The interchangeable weapons are a cool touch. Its even cooler that you can use the big mech weapons without the mech. Multiplayer is interesting. Nice animation and visuals as well.

    However the game is quite linear, and quite short. The story is pretty uninteresting.

    I feel the game is a bit underrated.
  79. EricB
    Jul 3, 2009
    8
    It's a great, challenging shooter with some interesting mechanics, and when people are online, pretty damn great multiplayer. Sure, the story is a bit strange and "out there", but you will have a lot of fun with this game while it lasts. The graphics are freaking excellent, even though the lip syncing in cutscenes is a bit off, but that's just nitpicking. If you catch this game It's a great, challenging shooter with some interesting mechanics, and when people are online, pretty damn great multiplayer. Sure, the story is a bit strange and "out there", but you will have a lot of fun with this game while it lasts. The graphics are freaking excellent, even though the lip syncing in cutscenes is a bit off, but that's just nitpicking. If you catch this game on sale, buy it. I might just be giving it some slack because I got it for $5 on steam, but oh well. Expand
  80. StuartLipscomb
    Dec 29, 2007
    0
    Steam ruined this game. First, it took about 20 minutes to install. Though I can't really complain about that. It is a big game. But then I went and tried to play, only to find out that I could not play until it updated. This update is still going after about two hours. It's at 94% now and I have 1.5Mbit download speed. Also, it took several tries to make it install. TheSteam ruined this game. First, it took about 20 minutes to install. Though I can't really complain about that. It is a big game. But then I went and tried to play, only to find out that I could not play until it updated. This update is still going after about two hours. It's at 94% now and I have 1.5Mbit download speed. Also, it took several tries to make it install. The installation is handled by Steam and it is buggy as shit. I don't care how good the game is. I'm going to see if I can exchange it for something else. I'll grab a copy of Lost Planet off the pirate bay if anyone ever manages to remove Steam from it. Expand
  81. WayneS.
    Jun 27, 2007
    8
    Straight forward, but fun. The help screens only show information for the X-Box 360 control scheme, so it may be confusing if you use a mouse and keyboard. Regardless, it's still possible to move well in the game without the game pad.
  82. Kevf
    Jun 28, 2007
    1
    This game will not run on windows 2000, so I have to give it a 1. There is no reason why this game can not run on XP and 2K, since the two operating systems are very close to each other. Upon start up, the game just goes away, no error message no nothing. At the very least the programmers could have added an error - "this game only runs on XP."
  83. SethVorman
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    Es ist ein supatolles Spiel ich liebe es die weilt wie sie dargestellt ist atemberaubend die Akriden sind schön animiert das schnee gestöber herlich, das Leveldesign auch sehr gut gewählt aber mein persönlicher höhepunkt waren und sind die VS hammer die dinger dann dieses Grandiose Stecksystem gefällt mir ausserordndlich gut.
  84. KyleD.
    Jul 19, 2007
    0
    Badly made game! So many glitches and bugs in it. Runs like crap on the pc and Capcom wasn't smart enough to make two versions, one for xbox and one for pc so everything is messed up when played on pc. Don't Buy!!
  85. JayT.
    Jul 21, 2007
    1
    Had to wait 3 days for some card drivers for it to work with 8 series cards. Then to take the biscuit, the multi player dosen't work for half the LP community. I bought half a game and feel like i've been ripped off. Tried all the port forwarding crap on the forums but that did nothing. Hate the game.
  86. HobbyB.
    Jul 22, 2007
    0
    Only having problems with this game, it just does not want to run under vista. I have no hardware problems (computer is new), even cannot run it as admin.
  87. JohnR.
    Jul 23, 2007
    10
    Amazing game ! Wonderful graphics.Nice sound. Anime story.
  88. AaronW.
    Jul 26, 2007
    8
    Amazing graphics (DX 10 mode), not even at max settings. Keyboard controls are clunky. If you can stand to use a controller, do so and it's much more fun. Story is kind of out there. You need a fairly top of the line rig to run it enjoyably; E6700 @ 2.66 with a geforce 8600GTS runs it flawlessly on vista. Haven't played multiplayer, the option is greyed out on the main menu. All Amazing graphics (DX 10 mode), not even at max settings. Keyboard controls are clunky. If you can stand to use a controller, do so and it's much more fun. Story is kind of out there. You need a fairly top of the line rig to run it enjoyably; E6700 @ 2.66 with a geforce 8600GTS runs it flawlessly on vista. Haven't played multiplayer, the option is greyed out on the main menu. All in all a fun, futuristic shoot 'em up game. Expand
  89. ShaunP.
    Jul 28, 2007
    9
    Excellent graphics, right now im running it on medium-high mostly except for shadows and motion-blur on a Sempron 3000+, XFX 7600GS 52MB AGP OC'd to 576core and 900mem, 1gig DDR400 and im using a mouse and Key-board. Easy for me 2 get used 2 da controls. The gamplay is fast paced in most places with MASSIVE dung-bettels smaking da SH$#$ out of u wit der big arms, and sum VERY dumb Excellent graphics, right now im running it on medium-high mostly except for shadows and motion-blur on a Sempron 3000+, XFX 7600GS 52MB AGP OC'd to 576core and 900mem, 1gig DDR400 and im using a mouse and Key-board. Easy for me 2 get used 2 da controls. The gamplay is fast paced in most places with MASSIVE dung-bettels smaking da SH$#$ out of u wit der big arms, and sum VERY dumb terriesdat cant tell da difference between bug and man-"A sir im at da bomb site over"-"er, do u hav da bomb over?"- "yes sir, am i supposed 2 plant it over?"-"ermmmm... "-but other dan dat its a mousa fun game for guys wit leet machines, unlike mine, to play. All-in-all a great game except for dos dam terries wit absolutely no brain cells wat-so-eva, which is da only reason im giv'n dis game a 9/10. Expand
  90. ChrissS.
    Jul 29, 2007
    10
    Best graphics ever! My girlfriend has the Xbox 360 version and when I saw this superb graphics, I wanted this game too for my PC (I don't like consoles). I had to spend me a lot of money for hardware (GeForce 8800 GTS OC @650Mhz, C2D OC@3300Mhz, etc) and software (Vista Ultimate and the game itself) but it was absolutley worth it. The Xbox 360 version kicks ass, but the PC version Best graphics ever! My girlfriend has the Xbox 360 version and when I saw this superb graphics, I wanted this game too for my PC (I don't like consoles). I had to spend me a lot of money for hardware (GeForce 8800 GTS OC @650Mhz, C2D OC@3300Mhz, etc) and software (Vista Ultimate and the game itself) but it was absolutley worth it. The Xbox 360 version kicks ass, but the PC version with DX10 looks even better. First I had some problems (about 10 fps) but with the latest video driver I have about 40-60 frames on my 22" WS TFT @1650*1080. Everything on max settings, except 2xFSAA, medium HDR and low Shadows. I'm looking forward for the next Lost Planet game. CAPCOM rulez Expand
  91. JasonK.
    Aug 15, 2007
    8
    I love steam, if have good pc, runs awesome. not the best story, or multiplayer. but all games arnt perfect. great.
  92. ElmerM.
    Aug 16, 2007
    0
    From what i've seen of the game it looks great.but i spent more time logging onto steam servers an getting updates than i do playing the game . bottom line is ,if steams gonna support a game at least make so plp. can play a game they paid for.this is as bad as ea games taking over ultima online , they've just took the fun out of the play.
  93. MijaelA.
    Sep 27, 2007
    9
    This game is awsome love it love the visuals and controls everything except that is too short, never had problems with it!! those who gave it a low score just dont have the hardware to experience the way its meant to be played, yeah thats right!! nvidia! FOE LIFE!
  94. MarekJ.
    Feb 28, 2008
    9
    This Game is really the best I played.
  95. ChristopherN
    Mar 16, 2009
    9
    This may not be the best shooter out there, but if you're looking for a classic arcade style 3rd person shooter with DirectX10 graphics, this is a pretty good choice! If you're a fan of starship troopers you'll love this game, if not get Unreal 3 and download the titan pack.
  96. MattN
    Mar 25, 2009
    6
    This game is like Marmite, you either love it, or you hate it. There are many reasons to love it, fantastic graphics, exceptional effects, diverse range of weaponry, intense boss fights. But there are many reasons to hate it. Very short missions, story not being explained properly, etc etc. The game is very much a console game, you could configure the controls to PC, but it would really This game is like Marmite, you either love it, or you hate it. There are many reasons to love it, fantastic graphics, exceptional effects, diverse range of weaponry, intense boss fights. But there are many reasons to hate it. Very short missions, story not being explained properly, etc etc. The game is very much a console game, you could configure the controls to PC, but it would really be better off not being released on the PC, the missions are rather short, although the boss fights at the end of the missions can be very exciting. If you do buy this game for PC, make sure you have a PC that can run high specification games at a reasonable level, otherwise you'll be stuck with low settings and a very small resolution. The story is rather predictable, and you always seem to know what's coming next, the game play is mediocre at best, but can be very entertaining. If you're a fan of graphics and like using heavy duty weaponry, fighting Aliens 10stories high, then this game is for you, if you want a game with an in depth story, as well as exceptional game play, then get the Half Life 2 series. Overall 6/10 as the graphics are above par and the actions is top dog. Expand
  97. ChrisH
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    OMG. This game is crazy. Giant monsters on every level. The story is excellent. Pirates, monsters with orange thingy's, having to stay alive by collecting those orange thingy's. C'mon everyone. it's a really good game.
  98. Mike
    Dec 22, 2009
    8
    Not an amazing game but a good shooter none the less. Capcom have done a good job of porting it over from console, unlike alot of other companies. Its a shame that you have to buy the newer version to emjoy multi platform multiplayer. Would have been nice if current owners could just patch to latest version.
  99. TylerB
    Dec 29, 2009
    0
    Why would a crappy port like this ever be allowed to be sold? I got it free as a present and still want to uninstall it. Crappy controls and the engine lags on a quad-core PC on lowest settings, it's just designed to NEVER RUN RIGHT. Controls as mentioned already are not good, very hard to aim or steer a VS. Guns are unrealistically balanced out and overall the idea of the game is Why would a crappy port like this ever be allowed to be sold? I got it free as a present and still want to uninstall it. Crappy controls and the engine lags on a quad-core PC on lowest settings, it's just designed to NEVER RUN RIGHT. Controls as mentioned already are not good, very hard to aim or steer a VS. Guns are unrealistically balanced out and overall the idea of the game is stupid with the thermal energy, you're always on the clock. If a planet is that cold there would be ways to live extended amounts of time without extract of alien monsters. Lastly story, typical Japanese 'long-haired hero goes through trials to find out he is a man after all' kind of story. He even holds a grudge against a monster that got his dad. A grudge on an animal is a pre-juvenile sort of thing. Overall the game itself is not the best, mounted on top of a super ineffecient engine that will never run fast and you got the makings of a crappy game no one should buy. EVER. Expand
  100. Jun 1, 2013
    9
    This is the best game i`ve ever played. It`s difficult, its fun, its challenging, it has great multiplayer (even better in Colonies Edition), awesome mechs, weapons, animations, mechanics, battlefield balance, sound, music everything is just perfect. I didn`t give it 10 due broken connection system. You need some luck to join multiplayer matches. Thanks God they improved it in Colonies.This is the best game i`ve ever played. It`s difficult, its fun, its challenging, it has great multiplayer (even better in Colonies Edition), awesome mechs, weapons, animations, mechanics, battlefield balance, sound, music everything is just perfect. I didn`t give it 10 due broken connection system. You need some luck to join multiplayer matches. Thanks God they improved it in Colonies. In Extreme Difficulty mode this game is real challenge even for hardcore players. Expand
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Shot-for-shot this is the same game console players had in January - a fantastic, hard as hell shooter that'll knock your eyes out of your head. But with no new content at all and a lack of the ultra-cool bonus multiplayer maps, we've got to dock it a bit.
  2. 50
    Talk about the old sound and fury saw -- you'll finish Lost Planet too soon and won't go back for seconds. That's really the definition of why not to buy something, isn't it?
  3. Lost Planet's strong single-player campaign stands out, in spite of buggy online functionality and other missteps.