Lost Planet: Extreme Condition PC

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 321 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 69 out of 321

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamieS.
    Jul 2, 2007
    7
    "Full of sound and fury, yet signifying nothing". As soon as I started playing Lost Planet, that was what it seemed to me. When will game makers learn that it takes more than great graphics to make a great game? Lost planet looks great, but as soon as it opens it's mouth, it begins to sound stupid. There's the cliches - the teenage would-be-hero Wayne, prevented from showing his "Full of sound and fury, yet signifying nothing". As soon as I started playing Lost Planet, that was what it seemed to me. When will game makers learn that it takes more than great graphics to make a great game? Lost planet looks great, but as soon as it opens it's mouth, it begins to sound stupid. There's the cliches - the teenage would-be-hero Wayne, prevented from showing his mettle by an over-protective dad. For christs sake capcom it's 2007 and we've been playing video games for more than 20 years now. I myself am 46; i suspect most of your audience is at least 25+. Stop aiming at teens. Then there's the narrated story itself. It seems as if it's been rewritten several times by several different authors - winding up with something that makes less and less sense the more you examine it. "Humanity had no weapons with which to repel the invaders" -- while this gem is sonorously narrated, we are treated to footage of guys weaponed to the hilt firing furiously at aliens. So what about those weapons, huh? Perhaps they meant "No effective weapons". Expand
  2. guytune
    Feb 28, 2009
    7
    i only paid 4.99 for this game. its still downloading but for that price how can you hate it?hell a video rental cost that much. im sure this will last longer than 2 hrs. and im sure it will be alot more fun. go steam !! I KNOW THE ONLINE CRAP SUCKS, BUT FOR 4.99 WHO CARES??
  3. MatthewW.
    Sep 4, 2007
    5
    I can sum this game up pretty quick. Boring, slightly btter boss fights, can't hold a candle to most pc shooters. This was just an excercise in DX10... not worth the money.
  4. ArchonM.
    Dec 1, 2007
    7
    The game is gorgeous on the PC, I haven't played the xbox 360 version, but it cant possibly look better. the plot did suck, but its a glamor title, just supposed to look pretty. the video game equivalent of a summer blockbuster.
  5. Gerard
    Mar 1, 2009
    5
    I just bought this game for $5 and I'm contemplating if it's worth it. It's a horrible port from xbox with xbox control instructions popping up, horrible AI that stand around and don't respond until you shoot, Random spawning and re-spawning, and the cheesiest and most illogical storyline you could possibly make. What is sad is that the storyline completely kills theI just bought this game for $5 and I'm contemplating if it's worth it. It's a horrible port from xbox with xbox control instructions popping up, horrible AI that stand around and don't respond until you shoot, Random spawning and re-spawning, and the cheesiest and most illogical storyline you could possibly make. What is sad is that the storyline completely kills the game. I've written better in elementary school. Expand
  6. SMan
    Jul 21, 2007
    5
    I have not seen much in the multiplayer realm since purchasing this game, and that isn't my problem. I like the game and it plays sound on my machine. Pent D 3.2 4 gigs of ram and 570 gb over 3 hd's. I do have a problem with having to ask steam to play the game I bought, it isn't right. I'm 27 and I quit asking permission about what I do in my off time a long time ago. I have not seen much in the multiplayer realm since purchasing this game, and that isn't my problem. I like the game and it plays sound on my machine. Pent D 3.2 4 gigs of ram and 570 gb over 3 hd's. I do have a problem with having to ask steam to play the game I bought, it isn't right. I'm 27 and I quit asking permission about what I do in my off time a long time ago. I asked for the update needed to play off line if I take mind to 10 years from now and got nothing but the run around. Game manufact. need to realize one simple facet of selling a game, the people who buy it are no longer interested in being dependent on you to play....THAT'S WHY WE BOUGHT IT IN THE FIRST PLACE. Put out a downloadable patch that players can use to play off line years from now when support for this game falters. Expand
  7. SnowedOutIngraham
    Jul 7, 2007
    7
    No joke. You better have a very fast computer. My 7800 GT, 2GB ram, and 3800 wasn't good enough. If you do have the horses then this game (from what I could play) was entertaining. Non stop shooting and explosions, this ain't for those with high blood pressure. Tastes like Call of Duty on the rocks, with a shot of 151 to spice things up.
  8. RayF.
    Sep 28, 2007
    6
    Fun, but huge difficulty spike on the chapter 6 boss, I couldn't get past it. Plus the multiplayer has never worked, maybe thats why no one plays this online.
  9. DanH
    Feb 25, 2008
    5
    The gameplay was ok. It really wasnt that exciting. To people like Steven C: NO WE ARE NOT COMPLAINING BECAUSE WE HAVE CRAPPY COMPUTERS!!! I ran every setting maxed out on DX10 and never got below 40 frames per second except for the transition to a trailer. IT IS LAGGY. They did not get rid of the BS factor from the console. Q6600 and XFX 8800GTX both OCd slightly and 4gb ram on Ultimate.The gameplay was ok. It really wasnt that exciting. To people like Steven C: NO WE ARE NOT COMPLAINING BECAUSE WE HAVE CRAPPY COMPUTERS!!! I ran every setting maxed out on DX10 and never got below 40 frames per second except for the transition to a trailer. IT IS LAGGY. They did not get rid of the BS factor from the console. Q6600 and XFX 8800GTX both OCd slightly and 4gb ram on Ultimate. No its not the computer. Its the game. Lost planet look really good even with the fur. It just was not tuned correctly for the PC. Crysis blew this game out of the water in terms of a game... Expand
  10. MattN
    Mar 25, 2009
    6
    This game is like Marmite, you either love it, or you hate it. There are many reasons to love it, fantastic graphics, exceptional effects, diverse range of weaponry, intense boss fights. But there are many reasons to hate it. Very short missions, story not being explained properly, etc etc. The game is very much a console game, you could configure the controls to PC, but it would really This game is like Marmite, you either love it, or you hate it. There are many reasons to love it, fantastic graphics, exceptional effects, diverse range of weaponry, intense boss fights. But there are many reasons to hate it. Very short missions, story not being explained properly, etc etc. The game is very much a console game, you could configure the controls to PC, but it would really be better off not being released on the PC, the missions are rather short, although the boss fights at the end of the missions can be very exciting. If you do buy this game for PC, make sure you have a PC that can run high specification games at a reasonable level, otherwise you'll be stuck with low settings and a very small resolution. The story is rather predictable, and you always seem to know what's coming next, the game play is mediocre at best, but can be very entertaining. If you're a fan of graphics and like using heavy duty weaponry, fighting Aliens 10stories high, then this game is for you, if you want a game with an in depth story, as well as exceptional game play, then get the Half Life 2 series. Overall 6/10 as the graphics are above par and the actions is top dog. Expand
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Shot-for-shot this is the same game console players had in January - a fantastic, hard as hell shooter that'll knock your eyes out of your head. But with no new content at all and a lack of the ultra-cool bonus multiplayer maps, we've got to dock it a bit.
  2. 50
    Talk about the old sound and fury saw -- you'll finish Lost Planet too soon and won't go back for seconds. That's really the definition of why not to buy something, isn't it?
  3. Lost Planet's strong single-player campaign stands out, in spite of buggy online functionality and other missteps.