Lucius PC

Lucius Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 152 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lucius is the son of the devil who has to clear the mansion of it’s residents. To do this he must orcastrate “accidents” without anyone suspecting him of any foul play. The player starts as Lucius and must cleverly devise these incidents from simple household items. Every time he succeeds heLucius is the son of the devil who has to clear the mansion of it’s residents. To do this he must orcastrate “accidents” without anyone suspecting him of any foul play. The player starts as Lucius and must cleverly devise these incidents from simple household items. Every time he succeeds he will gain supernatural powers to help him take full control. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Nov 15, 2012
    85
    The Finns decided to make an interactive version of the Omen. Playing the spawn of Satan is certainly refreshing, but unfortunately the game fails to grasp it's promising premise. Kiddie version of the Hitman isn't scary, but not very funny either. [Nov 2012]
  2. PC Master (Greece)
    Feb 6, 2013
    66
    Lucius’s main premise is amazing. But the execution could have been way more solid. It limits the player, it’s ruthlessly and unjustly difficult in some cases, the characters pale and the graphics fail to impress. Lucius will be remembered as a great idea that “could have been”. [December 2012]
  3. Nov 10, 2012
    65
    While the question of whether it's a good idea to put players in the role of a dead-eyed mute psychopath is open for debate, it's undeniable that Lucius's developers have captured the feel of their inspiration perfectly. There are missteps that keep the game from truly excelling, and the story is serviceable at best, but Lucius provides a unique horror gameplay experience, and any hardcore fans of the genre owe it to themselves to give it a look, provided they have strong stomachs.
  4. Oct 16, 2012
    60
    An interesting b-movie inspired horror game that offers a nice atmosphere, but lacks a certain identity to inspire the player.
  5. Nov 7, 2012
    60
    This adventure game is unorthodox. It has a controversial theme along with its inconsistent gameplay. The creators have failed to fulfill the original concept, nevertheless all of you the old B-horror movies lovers are going to have fun. Besides, if you love playing the "wrong" side having sadistic tendencies, there's no time to hesitate.
  6. Nov 6, 2012
    60
    Lucius can be engrossing, charming, and even darkly funny. Sadly, the game is bogged down by its poor execution, inconsistent atmosphere, buggy levels, and monotonous mission objectives.
  7. Nov 6, 2012
    30
    Lacking in personality, visually ugly, harshly limited and pieced together sloppily, Lucius is a sad little waste of a good idea. I've waited years for another great game that lets you be the unrepentant bad guy. Looks like I'll have to keep waiting.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 32
  2. Negative: 12 out of 32
  1. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lucius is amazing. It is about a devil child who has to do missions for his father (the devil). I love how you can just roam around the house, doing different tasks.

    Here's a quick example - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1K9hK3BcbAI&feature=youtu.be
    Expand
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    7
    I actually miss the mansion when I stop playing. The environment alone is really interesting to run around in and explore... but you also getI actually miss the mansion when I stop playing. The environment alone is really interesting to run around in and explore... but you also get to murder people?!? Excellent. Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2012
    7
    Since my initial review, the developer has released a patch and is interactive with the community to trouble shoot and improve the gameSince my initial review, the developer has released a patch and is interactive with the community to trouble shoot and improve the game overall on Steam. This effort merits a higher score, therefore, it's a B-Movie with a grade of B-. It's has the whole creepy evil kid thing down very well. The graphics and video shorts I think are well done, the sounds adequate and the house has a creepy vibe to it. Although the lip sync issue is pretty bad in the English version. It reminds me of an interactive movie, the puzzles aren't too terribly difficult to figure out and its fun poking around the house and collecting items, but extremely linear -- its not like Lucius is going to do something that is not in the script or get into much trouble running around wielding a wrench in his hands without question by the adults. For that matter, the chores are pretty much more of a 'quest' than actual consequences if you continue to ignore the adults around you. It would be nice if some dark humor was intermixed with the items you can interact with, to make it more like a Monkey Island type of experience. The house members and staff are pretty much a three line conversation deal. What carries you along is the plot of what Lucius might end up doing next and how he is going to take out the next person in game. I will say the Steam achievements seem to be the only thing to pop-up unexpected. Reminds me alot of the Call of Cthulu: Dark Corners of the Earth -- if you are a fan of Lovecraft, it works well enough. With that said, if you like the old Omen movies or B movie horror films, you will enjoy Lucius more than most and is worth the money. Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2012
    5
    I enjoyed most of this game, although there was unfortunately no chance to get creative with the way you kill the characters, you just have toI enjoyed most of this game, although there was unfortunately no chance to get creative with the way you kill the characters, you just have to do what you're supposed to. This was still pretty fun though, it's just a shame that the characters didn't do what they were supposed to. Some of the pathfinding was dreadful, one character in particular spent ages turning around in circles instead of heading to the room they kept saying they were off to. There's also an encounter later on which is very buggy - your attacks pass straight through your enemies, they get stuck, teleport to right behind you and instantly end the game, you get stuck on furniture, sometimes everyone gets stuck and you have to quit and restart. This encounter is a lot easier when the game switches to first person view, unfortunately this seems to be a bug as there's no option for it anywhere and it happens sporadically at best. And maybe I'm being picky, but if I'm an evil kid I want to at least be able to hit someone when they're down...
    Also the spelling is pretty poor in places.
    Expand
  5. Feb 28, 2014
    4
    A great idea but poor execution with a very limiting storyline. Quirky game play and skills but ultimately somewhat dry and hard to chew asA great idea but poor execution with a very limiting storyline. Quirky game play and skills but ultimately somewhat dry and hard to chew as the game progresses. It is also very short for something that could have been expanded much further with more depth maybe into the target characters/side characters to make it a more engaging story. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is boring, you don't really do much but explore a house and murder people, which gets mundane since you don't really control how you do it. Way too linear and a lack of freedom and action. Also fun fact if you walk in on your mom having sex, it's an instant game over... doesn't really have anything to do with how I'm scoring the game, but I figured I'd bring it up. Expand
  7. Jun 6, 2013
    0
    The worst game in history... This game makes even games from back in the early 1920's or so look far more better. This game has satan writtenThe worst game in history... This game makes even games from back in the early 1920's or so look far more better. This game has satan written all over it. You don't explore much except areas and objects that will be used in crime scenes/murder cases. The mission's are the same, you wake everyday to kill another person that lives in the house.. The tutorials are very helpful and physics seem good. The TPS is one of the setups i like but thats it. I found this game very offensive to the amish since people in it wear the same clothing as the amish so i give it 0/10 Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Trailers