Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 99 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lucius is the son of the devil who has to clear the mansion of it’s residents. To do this he must orcastrate “accidents” without anyone suspecting him of any foul play. The player starts as Lucius and must cleverly devise these incidents from simple household items. Every time he succeeds he will gain supernatural powers to help him take full control. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    85
    The Finns decided to make an interactive version of the Omen. Playing the spawn of Satan is certainly refreshing, but unfortunately the game fails to grasp it's promising premise. Kiddie version of the Hitman isn't scary, but not very funny either. [Nov 2012]
  2. 66
    Lucius’s main premise is amazing. But the execution could have been way more solid. It limits the player, it’s ruthlessly and unjustly difficult in some cases, the characters pale and the graphics fail to impress. Lucius will be remembered as a great idea that “could have been”. [December 2012]
  3. Nov 10, 2012
    65
    While the question of whether it's a good idea to put players in the role of a dead-eyed mute psychopath is open for debate, it's undeniable that Lucius's developers have captured the feel of their inspiration perfectly. There are missteps that keep the game from truly excelling, and the story is serviceable at best, but Lucius provides a unique horror gameplay experience, and any hardcore fans of the genre owe it to themselves to give it a look, provided they have strong stomachs.
  4. Oct 16, 2012
    60
    An interesting b-movie inspired horror game that offers a nice atmosphere, but lacks a certain identity to inspire the player.
  5. Nov 7, 2012
    60
    This adventure game is unorthodox. It has a controversial theme along with its inconsistent gameplay. The creators have failed to fulfill the original concept, nevertheless all of you the old B-horror movies lovers are going to have fun. Besides, if you love playing the "wrong" side having sadistic tendencies, there's no time to hesitate.
  6. Nov 6, 2012
    60
    Lucius can be engrossing, charming, and even darkly funny. Sadly, the game is bogged down by its poor execution, inconsistent atmosphere, buggy levels, and monotonous mission objectives.
  7. Nov 6, 2012
    30
    Lacking in personality, visually ugly, harshly limited and pieced together sloppily, Lucius is a sad little waste of a good idea. I've waited years for another great game that lets you be the unrepentant bad guy. Looks like I'll have to keep waiting.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 25
  2. Negative: 10 out of 25
  1. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lucius is amazing. It is about a devil child who has to do missions for his father (the devil). I love how you can just roam around the house, doing different tasks.

    Here's a quick example - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1K9hK3BcbAI&feature=youtu.be
    Expand
  2. Aug 5, 2014
    8
    Quite an entertaining game. Would certainly recommend if found in a bundle or on sale. Puzzles and gameplay are fairly simplistic, but the entertainment for me came from the darkness of it. You are running around as an evil child...

    For achievement hunters: Easy 100%. A small guide or couple of play throughs with plenty of exploration is what is required. A full play through doesn't take many hours.
    Expand
  3. Nov 23, 2012
    7
    game pretty fun and i enjoy using a little boy and control around objects and kill people. but the quality is just normal and no offence, lucius' face can be a little bit more good looking? Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2012
    5
    I enjoyed most of this game, although there was unfortunately no chance to get creative with the way you kill the characters, you just have to do what you're supposed to. This was still pretty fun though, it's just a shame that the characters didn't do what they were supposed to. Some of the pathfinding was dreadful, one character in particular spent ages turning around in circles instead of heading to the room they kept saying they were off to. There's also an encounter later on which is very buggy - your attacks pass straight through your enemies, they get stuck, teleport to right behind you and instantly end the game, you get stuck on furniture, sometimes everyone gets stuck and you have to quit and restart. This encounter is a lot easier when the game switches to first person view, unfortunately this seems to be a bug as there's no option for it anywhere and it happens sporadically at best. And maybe I'm being picky, but if I'm an evil kid I want to at least be able to hit someone when they're down...
    Also the spelling is pretty poor in places.
    Expand
  5. Feb 28, 2014
    4
    A great idea but poor execution with a very limiting storyline. Quirky game play and skills but ultimately somewhat dry and hard to chew as the game progresses. It is also very short for something that could have been expanded much further with more depth maybe into the target characters/side characters to make it a more engaging story. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is boring, you don't really do much but explore a house and murder people, which gets mundane since you don't really control how you do it. Way too linear and a lack of freedom and action. Also fun fact if you walk in on your mom having sex, it's an instant game over... doesn't really have anything to do with how I'm scoring the game, but I figured I'd bring it up. Expand
  7. Jun 6, 2013
    0
    The worst game in history... This game makes even games from back in the early 1920's or so look far more better. This game has satan written all over it. You don't explore much except areas and objects that will be used in crime scenes/murder cases. The mission's are the same, you wake everyday to kill another person that lives in the house.. The tutorials are very helpful and physics seem good. The TPS is one of the setups i like but thats it. I found this game very offensive to the amish since people in it wear the same clothing as the amish so i give it 0/10 Expand

See all 25 User Reviews