Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A modern take on the classic arcade game, Lunar Lander, Lunar Flight extends the experience to a fully fictionalized and accessible lunar module simulator providing a variety of mission types involving transporting cargo, acquiring data at survey locations and locating lost cargo.

    Completing missions earns experience points and money to be used to refuel, repair and upgrade the lunar module. In addition to missions there are time trial challenges complete with online leader boards and a globally ranked 'pilots' leader board, ranked by experience. To round out the game there are a variety of achievements to provide additional challenges and objectives.

    A truly unique and challenging flight simulation experience, Lunar Flight will give you many hours of immersive, addictive and rewarding gameplay.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jun 22, 2012
    91
    Lunar Flight may not appeal to everyone. Those that dream of flight or have a passion for space exploration owe themselves a look at this game.
  2. Feb 28, 2013
    78
    This is a decent space flight simulation that keeps you coming back, but could have done much better with more depth and more comfort functions.
  3. May 30, 2012
    70
    An appropriately simplistic arcade update that hits the fun/challenge sweet spot. [June 2012, p.60]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
  1. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    Easily one of the best indie games and best sim experiences I've ever played. Sells for an absolute bargain price and is always challenging and rewards by the bucket. If you yearn for the halcyon days when PC sims felt and looked great but were still accessible whilst remaining challenging and lets not forget fun and atmospheric then I can't recommend Lunar Flight enough. It looks great, the music is amazing and the sound effects and harsh lighting add to the amazing atmosphere this game weaves around you as you drift across the barren lunar surface. *Highly recommended* Expand
  2. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    If you enjoy a challenge, you will enjoy this game. Flying the lunar module is like learning a new musical instrument. At first, you will fumble a bit, and it'll seem impossibly unwieldy. But soon you start to get the hang of it and you start racking up the cash to purchase that next upgrade. I've been playing for about 3 months and still see myself improving. It really is like a musical instrument in that the more you play, the better you get over a long period of time. My favorite part of the game is the time trials with global leader boards, but a lot of people seem to enjoy just doing the missions. The main thing to remember is just not to give up! Embrace the challenge! Expand
  3. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    This is a great simulator, and very fun to play. It's easy to learn, but difficult to master. There are good tutorials and instructions available, achievements, global high scores, missions. If you ever played Lunar Lander, or enjoy anything related to space, get this. You won't regret it. Expand
  4. Jun 30, 2012
    9
    watch the tutorial before playing the game, especially the last few video's.
    it will help you to understand proper control of the lunar
    lander, and show you how to "aim" your landing point from afar by changing the **** display to the third option which locks view to your destination so you can keep your crosshairs aligned with the destination landing pad.

    it takes some time to master, but its a really fun challenging game. dont expect an arcade style cakewalk.
    Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2012
    9
    Lunar Flight is a very good simulation game. Very few games still use space as a background and it it is good to see that this one does. For a small price you get a pretty reasonable indie simulator with strategy elements, which cannot be said about all indie games. Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    If you love real flight simulation with a little fun, fantastic graphics then join in on an incredible adventure. Great work to the team of Lunar Flight. the most realistic and genuine fun both in failing and succeeding to fly over the Lunar landscape. Thanks guys it is intense, real and most of all fun! Expand
  7. Nov 9, 2012
    3
    I'll probably get flamed for this on this board, but overall, I just didn't enjoy this much. If you really like hardcore simulations you might give this a whirl, but I just crashed a whole bunch or ran out of fuel starting out and it never got to a point where I could see that it was going to be fun. Found keeping altitude constant or stable quite difficult while trying to otherwise maneuver the ship. Once I got one axis out of alignment with horizontal (from sitting down on moon surface I was hopeless. 2.1 hours per steam before I gave up, uninstalled and moved on to something else. Wanted to like it, but just not for me. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews