Machinarium Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 448 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Machinarium is independent puzzle / adventure game developed by the makers of popular web-games Samorost and Samorost2. A little robot who’s been thrown out to the scrap yard behind the city must return and confront the Black Cap Brotherhood and save his robot-girl friend.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. One of the most beautiful games to hit home computers in a long time.
  2. One of the greatest PC games that we've tried so far this year is a puzzle game mixed with stunning graphics. A truly robotical adventure that's meant to be one of this year's GOTY without any doubt.
  3. Remakes and IP revivals may be raking in the big bucks at the moment, but this artistically unique original is the game that really deserves your love and respect. [Nov 2009, p.106]
  4. Therefore, Machinarium can be considered a very successful adventure game, which I recommend to any player, be it or not a passionate of the genre.
  5. Machinarium is a successful mix of unique audiovisual atmosphere and traditional point-and-click adventuring. While the character control is a bit flimsy, beautiful hand drawn graphics and funny puzzles make it a true gem among indie games. [Feb 2010]
  6. But the puzzles themselves are nearly an unmitigated joy.
  7. Old school graphic adventure that doesn't pull its punches with either the puzzles or the gorgeous art.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 86
  2. Negative: 5 out of 86
  1. krise
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    Wonderfully artistic with extreme detail, lovable characters and interesting puzzles which clue you to the next level. Absolutely gorgeous! I Wonderfully artistic with extreme detail, lovable characters and interesting puzzles which clue you to the next level. Absolutely gorgeous! I can't wait for Amanita Design's next adventure. Expand
  2. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    An interesting journey through an atmospheric world with a phenomenal soundtrack. Definitely recommend this game, played it through two timesAn interesting journey through an atmospheric world with a phenomenal soundtrack. Definitely recommend this game, played it through two times and loved every bit of it. A few of the last puzzles can be frustrating though so beware. Beautiful game in every way. Expand
  3. Bill
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    Amazing game, artistically as well as strategically. It's an adventure, puzzle, and exploration game all in one. Totally unique, never Amazing game, artistically as well as strategically. It's an adventure, puzzle, and exploration game all in one. Totally unique, never seen anything like it before! I HIGHLY recommend, best buy ever. Expand
  4. OliverS
    Oct 24, 2009
    9
    Fantastic music, beautiful art, charm in spadefuls mean that otherwise frustratingly difficult puzzles are just a reason to sit and have an Fantastic music, beautiful art, charm in spadefuls mean that otherwise frustratingly difficult puzzles are just a reason to sit and have an assault on your senses. Not only that, you're free to look at the solution if you get too annoyed, though if you do solve them you'll be grinning from the genius of it for ages. It didn't get a 10 simply because I have qualms with giving out a perfect score unless I actually think it's perfect. Expand
  5. Jul 28, 2013
    9
    Definitely not a game for people with short patience. Hard puzzles, but not impossible, that make you think before making your next move, andDefinitely not a game for people with short patience. Hard puzzles, but not impossible, that make you think before making your next move, and not randomly clicking your way to find the exit as fast as possible. Beautiful artwork and backgrounds, good soundtrack and likable characters with a simple story to tell. I got on steam for $3 and it definitely paid off.
    The only reason I find to not give this game a 10, is that sometimes, depending on your graphic settings, the game just froze and the animation crashed. But despite some minor glitches, it's a gem hidden in a sea of mindless "point'n'clicks".
    Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    really really great ambient music and awesome graphics is what makes this game great in my opinion. though for me, some puzzles were way too obscure.
  7. CRL
    Aug 31, 2011
    1
    Yes. The visuals are amazingly vivid and beautiful. Yes. The music is fantastic. News flash: I don't buy a game because of it's visualsYes. The visuals are amazingly vivid and beautiful. Yes. The music is fantastic. News flash: I don't buy a game because of it's visuals and music, for that I buy a documentary about Italy. I buy a game for a fun and interesting experience, and on that front this was quite frankly a waste of money. Each puzzle is either completely obvious or so ridiculous that you need to resort to the little walkthrough minigame to find the answer. Then, if you actually want to gain some satisfaction by completing a puzzle, the only solution is to randomly click on every possibly object that could be used in said puzzle. Also, it would have been nice to know that deleting flash cookies would clear all saves too... but apparently that's not important enough for the fine print. And there is no way anyone should be able to charge $10 for a game so obscenely boring and eventually extremely annoying. Expand

See all 86 User Reviews