Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 391 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Machinarium is independent puzzle / adventure game developed by the makers of popular web-games Samorost and Samorost2. A little robot who’s been thrown out to the scrap yard behind the city must return and confront the Black Cap Brotherhood and save his robot-girl friend.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. One of the most beautiful games to hit home computers in a long time.
  2. With a brilliant musical score, gorgeous artwork, solid adventuring mechanics, and a ton of other generic positive reviewer comments I can heap on it, Machinarium is elevated from merely good to gaming greatness, and I can only hope that the minds at Amanita produce some more masterpieces like this one
  3. Remakes and IP revivals may be raking in the big bucks at the moment, but this artistically unique original is the game that really deserves your love and respect. [Nov 2009, p.106]
  4. It's as accessible and charming as any Pixar creation, and it's completely won over this reviewer's heart. [Christmas 2009, p.95]
  5. This is excellent, independent game design - a small, self-contained, and awesome experience, easily justifying the $20 asking price
  6. But the puzzles themselves are nearly an unmitigated joy.
  7. Those playing for a long time have developed the 'eye of the old-gamer', a sort of skill that allows them to lead back the majority of games to a minimum of seeds that give life to the 99% of videogames. We then salute with joy Machinarium, a modern title that goes back to the past, rediscovering what we could call a casual adventure for hardcore gamers.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 80
  2. Negative: 5 out of 80
  1. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    Fantastic music, beautiful art, charm in spadefuls mean that otherwise frustratingly difficult puzzles are just a reason to sit and have an assault on your senses. Not only that, you're free to look at the solution if you get too annoyed, though if you do solve them you'll be grinning from the genius of it for ages. Expand
  2. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    Amazing game!
    Just play the demo and you'll be hooked!
    The developers went really far in this adventure - the artwork is amazing and unique,
    sound is professional done, with some of the best sound tracks you'll encounter, the story is so cute, and the puzzles never reach the "insanely hard and ridiculous" mode :)
    Strongly recommend - even if you have never played an Adventure / Quest genre before.
    Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    Gee son, if you have not played Machinarium yet then how can you be a true master race gamer?
    Also beware for ultrasexymagichot Music from
    Tomas Dvorak Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    I really enjoyed this game. Fantastic art and wonderful music. A little too short for my taste but if you are looking for a nice adventure then buying Machinarium is not a lost money. Expand
  5. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    If you love Scumm Engine games of yesteryear such as Full throttle, the Dig, Sam and Max etc... Then you will thoroughly enjoy this game. Amanita created a very cool world with this game, likeable characters, and surprisingly tough puzzles. I have always tried to complete games like this without the use of walkthroughs, and I can honestly say I only had to look up the location of a single item. Note that many of the puzzles took a substantial amount of time to solve, but are extremely rewarding when you figure them out. On the other hand, if you have no patience for puzzles this is probably not the game for you. Not the flashiest (no pun intended) game, but great music and style were well worth the price/time invested. Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    really really great ambient music and awesome graphics is what makes this game great in my opinion. though for me, some puzzles were way too obscure.
  7. CRL
    Aug 31, 2011
    1
    Yes. The visuals are amazingly vivid and beautiful. Yes. The music is fantastic. News flash: I don't buy a game because of it's visuals and music, for that I buy a documentary about Italy. I buy a game for a fun and interesting experience, and on that front this was quite frankly a waste of money. Each puzzle is either completely obvious or so ridiculous that you need to resort to the little walkthrough minigame to find the answer. Then, if you actually want to gain some satisfaction by completing a puzzle, the only solution is to randomly click on every possibly object that could be used in said puzzle. Also, it would have been nice to know that deleting flash cookies would clear all saves too... but apparently that's not important enough for the fine print. And there is no way anyone should be able to charge $10 for a game so obscenely boring and eventually extremely annoying. Expand

See all 80 User Reviews

Trailers