Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 414 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Machinarium is independent puzzle / adventure game developed by the makers of popular web-games Samorost and Samorost2. A little robot who’s been thrown out to the scrap yard behind the city must return and confront the Black Cap Brotherhood and save his robot-girl friend.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. One of the most beautiful games to hit home computers in a long time.
  2. With a brilliant musical score, gorgeous artwork, solid adventuring mechanics, and a ton of other generic positive reviewer comments I can heap on it, Machinarium is elevated from merely good to gaming greatness, and I can only hope that the minds at Amanita produce some more masterpieces like this one
  3. Remakes and IP revivals may be raking in the big bucks at the moment, but this artistically unique original is the game that really deserves your love and respect. [Nov 2009, p.106]
  4. It's as accessible and charming as any Pixar creation, and it's completely won over this reviewer's heart. [Christmas 2009, p.95]
  5. This is excellent, independent game design - a small, self-contained, and awesome experience, easily justifying the $20 asking price
  6. But the puzzles themselves are nearly an unmitigated joy.
  7. Those playing for a long time have developed the 'eye of the old-gamer', a sort of skill that allows them to lead back the majority of games to a minimum of seeds that give life to the 99% of videogames. We then salute with joy Machinarium, a modern title that goes back to the past, rediscovering what we could call a casual adventure for hardcore gamers.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 83
  2. Negative: 5 out of 83
  1. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    Entrancingly beautiful and very playable with some fiendishly difficult puzzles. Wonderful atmosphere and music. If you played the flash game Samorost you will have an idea of what is in store for you. A classic graphical adventure / puzzle game that will keep you busy for a few days. Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Signed up to give this game the feedback it deserves. I come from an adventure game background, (Monkey Island, The Dig, Full Throttle, LOOM, Beneath A Steel Sky etc). For those of use who love the genre, very little has been produced in the last decade. When it is, it isn't always great.

    But this is great.

    ARTWORK: At one point, I was staring at a gas canister on an elevator in the game, wondering how it got from being visualised to finished result. A mix of simple and super detailed, these are characterful and top notch environments. Great attention to detail, such as an unfocused panning foreground in some scenes.

    CHARACTERS: For a game without dialogue, I got a great feel for the main character, loved what I was allowed to know about the villains, and was attached enough to drive the story.

    STORY: A lot of cut scenes, both of scene-setting and back-story could have been used, but it's to the game's glory that they weren't. It allows the game to move faster, and lets you work out what kind of a setting/society/government they are in as you go along, rather than having it all spelled out for you. What you do know keeps you playing, a mix of survival, save the day, save the girl, and exploration.

    SOUNDTRACK: I thought it was perfect match, and I have no complaints. A good variety, subtly faded in and out if the source is a radio within the game etc. Again, for a small production, knowing they must have recorded sounds from the musicians in the street down to the screwing on of a metal lid is inspiring.

    PUZZLES: I marvel at the poor reviews from people who found it too hard. If you are used to adventure games, this borders on a little too easy. It makes it playable in a day, whilst having the enjoyment of eureka moments. The puzzles are fair/sensible, one or two have a red herring thrown in, but there is nothing that will have you wandering the same screens for hours wondering if you missed an item somewhere.

    The second main distinction between this and other point and clicks in my experience (the first being the lack of dialogue), is the PUZZLE puzzles thrown in. This isn't just a case of 'pick up x, combine x and y, give to z', you will get some great IQ test moments! I found these deeply satisfying, and very constructive. It's easy to feel like you're wasting time even on good games, you will feel smarter after these mini-games! They are all possible, but they are rewarding, so don't expect first-try success.

    I noticed a great many parallels to Beneath A Steel Sky, and it's a worthy homage. Certain locations and the end scenes for sure. Machinarium is very much its own unique world and style, so this mirroring is done tastefully and very nostalgically for those of us who have played B.A.S.S.

    In a world where expensive graphics cards need to be bought to realistically portray chunks of flesh flying everywhere, this is a lovingly made, very skilfully crafted game. From the sound effects to the backgrounds to the puzzles, it is well worth buying and playing. Think of a man carving an exquisitely ornamented cabinet by candle-light, knowing many of the finer details may go unnoticed anyway. That is the sort of deidcated talent this game harks to.

    Currently it can be bought cheaper than ever via Humble Bundle 4, google that if you're interested.

    If you have enjoyed any adventure games in the past, be ready to add this to your list.

    Charm, fun, variety and style.
    Expand
  3. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    Fantastic music, beautiful art, charm in spadefuls mean that otherwise frustratingly difficult puzzles are just a reason to sit and have an assault on your senses. Not only that, you're free to look at the solution if you get too annoyed, though if you do solve them you'll be grinning from the genius of it for ages. Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    This little game is a gem! The visuals and the music combine perfectly to create a surreal atmosphere that's both bizarre and charming. The characters are all quirky, in the best possible way. Now, too much cuteness can become tacky and even repulsive, but Machinarium manages to throw bucketfuls of cute at you without ever crossing that line. It's a bit like being in a cross between a Pixar short and the sci-fi cult classic, "Fantastic Planet" ("La Planète Sauvage"). The latter, coincidentally, is also a Czech production. The whole thing is clever and imaginative and completely immersive. The puzzles are fun and you're in for a few nice surprises and chuckles in terms of games within the game. The game is very short and the replayability is quite low, in large part because it's linear and the puzzles are not randomized. Some would criticize the game for this, but that would be misunderstanding Machinarium. It's more like a movie experience than a video game that you can play over and over, and I've had far less fun at movies for less time and a more money. But even if you play it only once, that one time is worth it and you're missing out if you avoid the game just for that. My only complaints are (1) the resolution is fixed, which is normal for this kind of hand-drawn artwork, but unsatisfying when you have a 1080p screen that's used only partly, and (2) since this is a flash game, when you right-click, you get Adobe's useless menu, which kind of breaks the mood. I bought it today, played through it, and it left me with a sense of joy and satisfaction, and maybe a little twinge that it's over. And to hell with replayability, I'll come back to it again just to revisit this wonderful little world. Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    A Wonderful point-and-click adventure, with nice story, cute characters and delightful music. Although a save bug that may stole you hours of gameplay, a bad designed final room that may stole you hours of gameplay too, and the bizarre absence of support from developers, it is one of the best games on this genre i ever play. With no time losses it grants you around 10 hrs playing. Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2012
    8
    THE REASON, PLAIN AND SIMPLE. PRISTINE ARTWORK OF EPIC PROPORTIONS, STYLISHLY CREATIVE PUZZLES AND THE BAR OF CHALLENGE IS SET FAR IN CLOUDS. Machinarium, is epic-ally phenomenal leap, in the puzzle universe of games. From the sometimes extreme challenge of levels, the careful and utter beauty of the artwork, and the symphony of the pure soundtrack. This is must buy, no , its a buy right now. So buy it! CDO Expand
  7. CRL
    Aug 31, 2011
    1
    Yes. The visuals are amazingly vivid and beautiful. Yes. The music is fantastic. News flash: I don't buy a game because of it's visuals and music, for that I buy a documentary about Italy. I buy a game for a fun and interesting experience, and on that front this was quite frankly a waste of money. Each puzzle is either completely obvious or so ridiculous that you need to resort to the little walkthrough minigame to find the answer. Then, if you actually want to gain some satisfaction by completing a puzzle, the only solution is to randomly click on every possibly object that could be used in said puzzle. Also, it would have been nice to know that deleting flash cookies would clear all saves too... but apparently that's not important enough for the fine print. And there is no way anyone should be able to charge $10 for a game so obscenely boring and eventually extremely annoying. Expand

See all 83 User Reviews

Trailers