Machinarium PC

Machinarium Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 496 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Machinarium is independent puzzle / adventure game developed by the makers of popular web-games Samorost and Samorost2. A little robot who’s been thrown out to the scrap yard behind the city must return and confront the Black Cap Brotherhood and save his robot-girl friend.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. One of the most beautiful games to hit home computers in a long time.
  2. One of the greatest PC games that we've tried so far this year is a puzzle game mixed with stunning graphics. A truly robotical adventure that's meant to be one of this year's GOTY without any doubt.
  3. games(TM)
    90
    Remakes and IP revivals may be raking in the big bucks at the moment, but this artistically unique original is the game that really deserves your love and respect. [Nov 2009, p.106]
  4. Therefore, Machinarium can be considered a very successful adventure game, which I recommend to any player, be it or not a passionate of the genre.
  5. Pelit (Finland)
    85
    Machinarium is a successful mix of unique audiovisual atmosphere and traditional point-and-click adventuring. While the character control is a bit flimsy, beautiful hand drawn graphics and funny puzzles make it a true gem among indie games. [Feb 2010]
  6. But the puzzles themselves are nearly an unmitigated joy.
  7. Old school graphic adventure that doesn't pull its punches with either the puzzles or the gorgeous art.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 90
  2. Negative: 5 out of 90
  1. krise
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    Wonderfully artistic with extreme detail, lovable characters and interesting puzzles which clue you to the next level. Absolutely gorgeous! I Wonderfully artistic with extreme detail, lovable characters and interesting puzzles which clue you to the next level. Absolutely gorgeous! I can't wait for Amanita Design's next adventure. Expand
  2. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    An interesting journey through an atmospheric world with a phenomenal soundtrack. Definitely recommend this game, played it through two timesAn interesting journey through an atmospheric world with a phenomenal soundtrack. Definitely recommend this game, played it through two times and loved every bit of it. A few of the last puzzles can be frustrating though so beware. Beautiful game in every way. Expand
  3. Gabriel
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    Fantastic game! Point and click adventure with superb art and clever puzzles, a pitty it's a bit too short, but it's worth every praise.
  4. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    I really enjoyed this game. Fantastic art and wonderful music. A little too short for my taste but if you are looking for a nice adventureI really enjoyed this game. Fantastic art and wonderful music. A little too short for my taste but if you are looking for a nice adventure then buying Machinarium is not a lost money. Expand
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    9
    Almost a classic... almost, because he lacks VERY little to be it...

    However, highly recommended graphic adventure: the choice of the
    Almost a classic... almost, because he lacks VERY little to be it...

    However, highly recommended graphic adventure: the choice of the setting, with a series of "neurotic" robots, one more "cute" than the other, makes it almost irresistible.

    Again, warmly recommended...
    Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    really really great ambient music and awesome graphics is what makes this game great in my opinion. though for me, some puzzles were way too obscure.
  7. CRL
    Aug 31, 2011
    1
    Yes. The visuals are amazingly vivid and beautiful. Yes. The music is fantastic. News flash: I don't buy a game because of it's visualsYes. The visuals are amazingly vivid and beautiful. Yes. The music is fantastic. News flash: I don't buy a game because of it's visuals and music, for that I buy a documentary about Italy. I buy a game for a fun and interesting experience, and on that front this was quite frankly a waste of money. Each puzzle is either completely obvious or so ridiculous that you need to resort to the little walkthrough minigame to find the answer. Then, if you actually want to gain some satisfaction by completing a puzzle, the only solution is to randomly click on every possibly object that could be used in said puzzle. Also, it would have been nice to know that deleting flash cookies would clear all saves too... but apparently that's not important enough for the fine print. And there is no way anyone should be able to charge $10 for a game so obscenely boring and eventually extremely annoying. Expand

See all 90 User Reviews