Machinarium Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 458 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Machinarium is independent puzzle / adventure game developed by the makers of popular web-games Samorost and Samorost2. A little robot who’s been thrown out to the scrap yard behind the city must return and confront the Black Cap Brotherhood and save his robot-girl friend.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. One of the most beautiful games to hit home computers in a long time.
  2. One of the greatest PC games that we've tried so far this year is a puzzle game mixed with stunning graphics. A truly robotical adventure that's meant to be one of this year's GOTY without any doubt.
  3. Remakes and IP revivals may be raking in the big bucks at the moment, but this artistically unique original is the game that really deserves your love and respect. [Nov 2009, p.106]
  4. Therefore, Machinarium can be considered a very successful adventure game, which I recommend to any player, be it or not a passionate of the genre.
  5. Machinarium is a successful mix of unique audiovisual atmosphere and traditional point-and-click adventuring. While the character control is a bit flimsy, beautiful hand drawn graphics and funny puzzles make it a true gem among indie games. [Feb 2010]
  6. But the puzzles themselves are nearly an unmitigated joy.
  7. Old school graphic adventure that doesn't pull its punches with either the puzzles or the gorgeous art.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 88
  2. Negative: 5 out of 88
  1. krise
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    Wonderfully artistic with extreme detail, lovable characters and interesting puzzles which clue you to the next level. Absolutely gorgeous! I Wonderfully artistic with extreme detail, lovable characters and interesting puzzles which clue you to the next level. Absolutely gorgeous! I can't wait for Amanita Design's next adventure. Expand
  2. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    Amazing game!
    Just play the demo and you'll be hooked!
    The developers went really far in this adventure - the artwork is amazing and unique,
    Amazing game!
    Just play the demo and you'll be hooked!
    The developers went really far in this adventure - the artwork is amazing and unique, sound is professional done, with some of the best sound tracks you'll encounter, the story is so cute, and the puzzles never reach the "insanely hard and ridiculous" mode :)
    Strongly recommend - even if you have never played an Adventure / Quest genre before.
    Expand
  3. Gabriel
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    Fantastic game! Point and click adventure with superb art and clever puzzles, a pitty it's a bit too short, but it's worth every praise.
  4. OliverS
    Oct 24, 2009
    9
    Fantastic music, beautiful art, charm in spadefuls mean that otherwise frustratingly difficult puzzles are just a reason to sit and have an Fantastic music, beautiful art, charm in spadefuls mean that otherwise frustratingly difficult puzzles are just a reason to sit and have an assault on your senses. Not only that, you're free to look at the solution if you get too annoyed, though if you do solve them you'll be grinning from the genius of it for ages. It didn't get a 10 simply because I have qualms with giving out a perfect score unless I actually think it's perfect. Expand
  5. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    Machinarium is one incredibly beautiful game. It has wonderful graphics, exceedingly cute characters, and just a wonderful, wonderful setting.Machinarium is one incredibly beautiful game. It has wonderful graphics, exceedingly cute characters, and just a wonderful, wonderful setting. I love just about everything it has to offer, from interesting puzzles to awesome music.

    My only gripe, or rather, lament, with it is the lack of continuation. It's neither based on chapters nor episodes, and looks to be a one-off unless the creators announce a sequel to it. It has lots of potential. I just wish it'd continue.

    Oh, and, if you're ever stuck in this game and are too lazy or impatient to check out communities online or youtube walkthroughs, the game offers you hints provided you play a game for it first. It's a fine addition the Machinarium and I love that they thought of little details like this.

    If you're into pretty/soothing visuals, cute characters and fun puzzles to solve, Machinarium is your game! Just be warned that it will entertain you for a few hours at best before the game ends and you're left to mourn its premature conclusion.
    Expand
  6. Feb 12, 2012
    8
    Okay it might just be a flash game (deletes all browsing history on computer = loses all Machinarium save data - Ahhhhh!), but it oozes charm.Okay it might just be a flash game (deletes all browsing history on computer = loses all Machinarium save data - Ahhhhh!), but it oozes charm. An absolute delight of a game with beautiful hand drawn scenes and wonderful memorable characters (I still feel bloody awful about that cat). As a point-and-click adventure it does of course suffer from moments of random clicking allover the screen as you fail to pick up on a clue, but less so than other games of its type. I think the only thing which I didn't appreciate about the game, was the fact that it was flash based. It would have been nice to have something a little more robust, especially for my money. But I'm nit picking there because this is a truly wonderful little game with some brilliantly designed puzzles and oodles of charm. Expand
  7. CRL
    Aug 31, 2011
    1
    Yes. The visuals are amazingly vivid and beautiful. Yes. The music is fantastic. News flash: I don't buy a game because of it's visualsYes. The visuals are amazingly vivid and beautiful. Yes. The music is fantastic. News flash: I don't buy a game because of it's visuals and music, for that I buy a documentary about Italy. I buy a game for a fun and interesting experience, and on that front this was quite frankly a waste of money. Each puzzle is either completely obvious or so ridiculous that you need to resort to the little walkthrough minigame to find the answer. Then, if you actually want to gain some satisfaction by completing a puzzle, the only solution is to randomly click on every possibly object that could be used in said puzzle. Also, it would have been nice to know that deleting flash cookies would clear all saves too... but apparently that's not important enough for the fine print. And there is no way anyone should be able to charge $10 for a game so obscenely boring and eventually extremely annoying. Expand

See all 88 User Reviews