Mage Knight: Apocalypse PC

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 6 out of 16
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CedricO.
    Oct 1, 2006
    5
    I think I'm going to have to agree with the comments made by the Gamepro reviewer to some extent. On the surface of it the game cannot be set to 1900x1200 resolution for wide screens which is silly given it is a new game, the graphics themselves seem tired and not at all any sort of improvement. The quality present is something I would have expected to see a few years ago. The game I think I'm going to have to agree with the comments made by the Gamepro reviewer to some extent. On the surface of it the game cannot be set to 1900x1200 resolution for wide screens which is silly given it is a new game, the graphics themselves seem tired and not at all any sort of improvement. The quality present is something I would have expected to see a few years ago. The game itself doesn't add much to the genre and the way you see items and equipment on yourself is all these silly little circles which I have to say in my humble opinion is really aesthetically displeasing and enough to put one off the game in and of itself. The story is ok.. I mean after all a story is a story... but a good story alone does not a good game make. On another note the leveling up system is far to hands off. It's like driving a big new mercedes... the car does so much for you that you no longer feel the road or the drive itself... it kills the experience of driving... much like this games leveling system kills the experience of an RPG that might have otherwise been present. Anyhow that's my two cents. Expand
  2. JazzyD
    Oct 4, 2006
    8
    It's definitely got its share of bugs, might want to wait for the patch, but if you can see past these it's a good run through. It took me a couple days to get through the whole thing. It's got good RPG elements, the skills are set up well, and some of the later equipment you get is sweet looking. After all is daid and done, I had a good time with it.
  3. Marshall
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    It's been a long time since we've had such an involved multiplayer RPG. Even with a few shortcomings, which will probably be fixed with mods and patches, this game really shines when you get caught up in questing with your friends. Some of the character design is similar to WoW, but as a WoW veteran I can say that's where the similarities end. Give it a try, and I'm It's been a long time since we've had such an involved multiplayer RPG. Even with a few shortcomings, which will probably be fixed with mods and patches, this game really shines when you get caught up in questing with your friends. Some of the character design is similar to WoW, but as a WoW veteran I can say that's where the similarities end. Give it a try, and I'm sure you'll like it. I'm enjoying it so far. Expand
  4. AndrásL.
    Oct 6, 2006
    8
    Nice game, beautiful graphics. Bad things are bugs, annoying sound & music.
  5. Strongbaddd
    Sep 28, 2006
    7
    I got this game off D2D, not knowing anything about it, because I needed an new RPG and couldn't wait for NWN2. I actually think it's pretty cool. I'm about halfway through it and the story is great and the characters are fun to play. I don't think it's the greatest game of all time but definitely worth my 50 bucks.
  6. LukeG.
    Oct 13, 2006
    3
    Terrible controls, audio so annoying you will turn your speakers off, lots of bugs, poor graphics, etc. Stay away.
  7. Rdrunner
    Oct 6, 2006
    3
    Hello... I must say I am glad i didnt buy this game. I was testing it at a Friends place and we both agree on it... The controls of this game are arkward. The game itself is not even considering being user friendly. I only managed to complete the tutorial before i decided I dont like this game. The grafics of the game are "decent" but the UI still needs improvement. It is not intuitive at Hello... I must say I am glad i didnt buy this game. I was testing it at a Friends place and we both agree on it... The controls of this game are arkward. The game itself is not even considering being user friendly. I only managed to complete the tutorial before i decided I dont like this game. The grafics of the game are "decent" but the UI still needs improvement. It is not intuitive at all. Take the example of looting... After the tuturial I had a full inventory. But I only looted a few minor item like pots and plants. When I checked my Inventory all pots where using up a seperate slot and the game expected ME to sort them. Also the UI is not scaling with resolutions, and on a 1280er screen all items look tiny and lack details. The overal feeling is "Not ready" - So stay away! Expand
  8. RobE.
    Oct 11, 2006
    3
    Entirely deriviative, and poorly at that. Controls are awkward, skills are awkward. It looks like someone watched someone else play Guild wars, WoW, diablo, then made a game about what they saw. If you want this game, only TONS better, play Guild Wars.
  9. Icecold
    Oct 12, 2006
    5
    I cannot recommend this game! Yes, the game looks about like what you see on the box, screenshots etc. However, EVERYTHING else appears to have been purposefully made bad. First of all don't think that you can actually play the game while viewing anything up close like you see on the box. Even this is forgiveable though. Everything else about this game looks cheap and blocky. The I cannot recommend this game! Yes, the game looks about like what you see on the box, screenshots etc. However, EVERYTHING else appears to have been purposefully made bad. First of all don't think that you can actually play the game while viewing anything up close like you see on the box. Even this is forgiveable though. Everything else about this game looks cheap and blocky. The animation quality is equivalent to "very poor" in other games. This means that when you swing your sword (for example), in one frame you start the swing, and in the next, the swing in ends, and the enemy is on the ground. This is abhorable and takes all the fun out of the game. It is absolutely terrible, and it seems like they made purposefully unenjoyable. Expand
  10. D.G.
    Oct 3, 2006
    9
    I like this game quite a bit. The camera that some folks don't like is totally familiar to me as an MMO player, and I really love the advancement and forging systems. I feel like I'm getting rewards constantly and customizing my own equipment. The world is big and the story is interesting, and even if the gameplay is similar to others in this genre, I still feel like I'm I like this game quite a bit. The camera that some folks don't like is totally familiar to me as an MMO player, and I really love the advancement and forging systems. I feel like I'm getting rewards constantly and customizing my own equipment. The world is big and the story is interesting, and even if the gameplay is similar to others in this genre, I still feel like I'm getting something original and creative. (I like the dialog a lot.) I know the developers are working on a patch for those with technical issues, but my game has played great since day one. Overall...I'm loving this game and don't understand the GamePro article at all. Expand
  11. KennyL.
    Jan 10, 2007
    0
    Numerous bug, highly frustrating controls and camera make for one of the worst gaming experience ever. At $50, I felt totally robbed. Then the price went down to $20....still a ripoff. Not worth the disc it was made on.
  12. GripperK.
    Oct 25, 2006
    1
    Please... Please do not buy this game. They failed at every aspect... Too linear, too boring, click fest, poor graphics, and terrible design.
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 25
  2. Negative: 14 out of 25
  1. 40
    What we have in Mage Knight is a poor attempt to hop on the "WoW" gravy train. The developer clearly flayed all the depth and nuance out of the formula that made WoW such a huge commercial success, delivering instead a soulless husk stuffed with empty promises and features that you wouldn't want anyway.
  2. Devotees of this universe's mix of fantasy staples and steampunk gadgetry might find themselves unable to resist Mage Knight: Apocalypse's dubious lure, and may even enjoy the game's character-building freedom if an effective patch comes along, but they aren't likely to stay enamored for long when this holiday season's bigger and better RPG offerings finally appear.
  3. 54
    Unfortunately, the game suffers from all around poor AI, several bugs like being able to blast spells through doors, and an all too beneficial save-respawn system that make it incredibly easy to beat.