Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Jun 14, 2011
    91
    Overall, Duels of the Planeswalkers 2012 is a relatively by-the-numbers enhancement of the previous game. Normally these sorts of increments would be frustrating, but considering the tremendous value the game presents to causal Magic fans it's easy to overlook another purchase when compared to the alternative. For the cost of a few booster packs, Duels of the Planeswalkers 2012 provides a balanced, enjoyable experience that Magic fans of all levels can enjoy – at least until next year.
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    90
    Unfortunately, I play-tested the game pre-launch, so there wasn't anyone active in the multiplayer community when I went to try it out, but this should change with the full launch of the game. One disappointment in custom/multiplayer play is that you can't play as the archenemy in an Archenemy game - again, I'm hoping that this eventually becomes an option.
  3. Jun 26, 2011
    85
    This edition shows vast improvement.
  4. Jun 20, 2011
    85
    Magic: The Gathering - Duels of the Planeswalkers 2012 is great for both veterans of the card game and newbies looking to get into it.
  5. Aug 2, 2011
    80
    Duels of the Planeswalkers 2012 is – just like its predecessor – just an introduction to the world of Magic: The Gathering. For instance, it does not let you create your own deck from scratch. But what it does offer is enough for many long evenings and I can recommend it not only to the CCG fans, but also to everyone who's keen to see what's it all about. [August 2011, p.55]
  6. Jul 26, 2011
    80
    Stainless Games simply retooled the 2009 version in accordance with the latest edition of the original CCG - Magic 2012. Even with all the changes, this game is basically a big glorified DLC, but, on the other hand, it costs only $10, and offers a lot of fun for this kind of money.
  7. Jun 27, 2011
    80
    The great card game is ready to download trough Xbox Live and PSN, a new Magic: The Gathering Game is coming. The Game is ready to impress.
  8. Jun 17, 2011
    80
    Duels of the Planeswalkers is the videogame faster of Magic The Gathering. It's a great product to learn to play and a delight to advanced players. A lot of extra contents and cards ready to show their magical power.
  9. Jun 15, 2011
    80
    Archenemy mode flopping on its face and a few minor balance issues aren't enough to keep me from appreciating Duels of the Planeswalkers 2012. This is a fantastic way to play Magic without eating your entire bank account in the process. Lapsed players like me will have a grand time messing around with some of the newer cards and mechanics, particularly in online play against other humans. If there were more decks and cards, and/or an online league structure to compete in, this could have been a true gem. As it is, it's fun as a solid, but limited, digital adaptation of one of the definitive tabletop games of our generation.
  10. Jun 14, 2011
    80
    With all of its expansion packs, the first game has greater card variety; but if you're looking for some innovative changes to the classic gameplay formula, Planeswalkers 2012 deserves your attention.
  11. Jun 24, 2011
    76
    With a deep single-player mode, 10 decks to unlock, and new online modes, you'll get plenty of value from this $10 package.
  12. Jun 30, 2011
    75
    Magic: The Gathering is a great game and Duels of the Planeswalkers 2012 does a great job of bringing that experience into the virtual space – even if it's in a somewhat simplified form.
  13. Aug 11, 2011
    70
    For a paltry 10 bucks though, there's plenty here to enjoy, and the new cards and decks make it a worthy upgrade for those who own last year's Duels of the Planeswalkers. [Oct 2011, p.81]
  14. Aug 7, 2011
    70
    A faithful adaptation of Magic: The Gathering that offers something for players old and new, hindered only by design and presentation inconsistencies. Good value for money.
  15. Jun 28, 2011
    70
    This is the best Magic game ever in terms of learning curve and tutorials, so it is a perfect way for newcomers to familiarize themselves with the world of Magic cards. But for seasoned Magic players, the game will not offer that much of a challenge.
  16. Jun 26, 2011
    70
    Duels of the Planeswalkers 2012 is the most accessable version of Magic to date. Experienced players may feel limited by the premade decks and the slightly flawed single player modes, but it's still good fun and well worth its price.
  17. Jun 25, 2011
    70
    Duels of the Planeswalkers 2012 offers fast, fun games of Magic: the Gathering, and the PC edition is the best, thanks to its mouse-driven control scheme.
  18. Jun 20, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  19. Aug 8, 2011
    60
    Great card game, and dangerously addictive, but fails to realise the potential of both the Magic system and platform. [Sept 2011, p.70]
  20. Jun 27, 2011
    60
    Duels of the Planeswalkers 2012 is indeed an enhanced version of the previous one, but it still holds the same shortcomings. Two in particular are particularly displeasing : no way to personally manage your mana, and no way to create your own decks with the cards of this edition. It still is an affordable and fun way to start playing Magic : The Gathering, or to enjoy casually a game or two once in a while against human players through the internet, despite its limited card collection and the two aforementioned flaws.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 50
  2. Negative: 23 out of 50
  1. Jun 16, 2011
    9
    I hadn't played M:TG for about 15 years so my memory was a little shaky going in. The game quickly brings you up to speed with tutorials, and then lets you play. The 10 decks it comes with are all very good and play very differently from one another. Campaign mode is good, as it lets you get a feel for each deck as you play against them. Computer can be a bit cheesy at times, to the point where it almost feels like they're not playing by the same rules you are. The best aspect of this game is definitely the multiplayer. There are 3 different game types which you can play with friends or random players. All and all, it's a very accessible way to get into (or back into) Magic: The Gathering. It really brings all the fun of the card game for a fraction of the cost, and without having go to dank comic book shops on gaming night to compete with the "regulars." Full Review »
  2. Aug 25, 2011
    1
    WELL..... where to start.... not much to say about this steaming pile of monkeysh!t... MAIN REASONS THIS IS UNPLAYABLE... The 'Chandra' Red deck: Unquenchable Fire and the 'Kiora' Blue/Green deck, they are insanely overpowered and everyone picks them. The decks play themselves, you really just play all the cards in your hand and easily beat anyone facing you who isn't playing the same deck. This game also causes (occasionally) weird video glitches that create waves and tearing and make it so I have to restart my computer... this is the only game that does that. lol Archenemy games it happens more often. This whole thing was an obvious cash-grab, seriously, slapped together right away with 0 consideration. NO balance to the game. NO costumization, which is what makes the game, THE GAME that it is. The other decks can be ok, but they are linear or have weak combinations that rely on a specific card to operate tactically. And with what I said about the other 2 decks, you will almost always lose no matter who's playing any of those 2 decks against you playing any other deck. My cousin and I got 2 of these through STEAM for 20 bones and we want our money back... lol. For the reasons I mentioned, it's just practically unpalyable. THere is no text chat either... although it alludes to it, and it is hard trying to find a game in multiplay. ALSO... I have had hacked games, where people can stall the game and then drop you and your partner. Too many reasons this just isn't worth the cash. Even if they release an expansion to this.... do not buy it, the base-part of this whole thing is broken really, no expansion or adding of other decks is going to save it or make it fair or playable. Full Review »
  3. Jul 14, 2011
    5
    I love Magic: The Gathering. I probably spent over $1000 in the first month MTG:O was online. My physical card collection count is probably in the millions. I knew what to expect from Duels of the Planeswalkers 2012 because I had already played the original. Thats why I can't really bash it for what it is.

    However, when the developers come out and say they are going to fix the deck building aspects of the game, I expect them to actually do so. Instead we are presented with the same deck modifying that we saw before, only with the ability to remove unwanted cards. The decks are pretty standard stuff and it pains me when I think about the kinds of decks I could put together if they allowed. Even if the pool was limited to cards you've unlocked in other decks, it would still be better than this.

    The main change in this edition is the archenemy battle which pits you and two allies versus a boss. I don't like it. It feels like another game being played with MTG cards. For $10 I expected to get more.
    Full Review »