Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Mar 24, 2011
    74
    Tactics adds layers of depth, but the cost of booster packs quickly makes a mockery of the "free-to-play" label. [April 2011, p.77]
  2. Feb 7, 2011
    65
    Magic: The Gathering – Tactics is a mixed bag. The basic gameplay is extremely fun and well designed. The graphics are vibrant and amusing whilst the sounds add to the game. The interface is well designed and easy to navigate. However, the fact that the game requires a good deal of money or a lot of time grinding to be competitive really hurts the game.
  3. Mar 4, 2011
    60
    Magic the Gathering Tactics is a very well-designed tactical game surrounded by a mediocre economy and bad supporting interface. The skeleton is sound, and if SOE improved the musculature and skin, MTGT could be the six million dollar game.
  4. Mar 7, 2011
    50
    Magic The Gathering Tactics offers a fresh and original take on the collectible card game. The new elements make the game both tactically challenging and very entertaining. But unfortunately the game is plagued by bugs, mismangement and a severe lack of communication from the developers, making it still an unfinished product.
  5. Feb 18, 2011
    50
    Magic The Gathering: Tactics is a strong strategy game in its gameplay base mechanics but heavily flawed by rushed decisions, bugs and poor prgramming.
User Score
2.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 10 out of 15
  1. Feb 11, 2012
    1
    The free to play part is shockingly short. Dishonest marketing where people will trap for spending huge amounts of money. And a HUGE pay toThe free to play part is shockingly short. Dishonest marketing where people will trap for spending huge amounts of money. And a HUGE pay to win factor is present. So don't trap for it people! But the game itself is fun if it was normally priced it will be a between 6 and 8. Full Review »
  2. Sep 8, 2011
    5
    This is hardly a free to play game. It's more like a demo with benefits. The first and only free 5 mission chapter took about 30 minutes toThis is hardly a free to play game. It's more like a demo with benefits. The first and only free 5 mission chapter took about 30 minutes to complete. Only one of the cards I was awarded for completing the chapter was even compatible with the color I chose. Multiplayer is near impossible to win due to people willing to pay for gold and booster packs to acquire more powerful spells. Because of this, the game very quickly loses its "free to play" replay value. I've also experiences some bugs, such as my deck of 40+ cards being registered as incomplete, and the icons displaying turn order not appearing in their bar. In spite of this, I think this game could have some great potential if it became a little more free-user friendly and a little smoother in the programming. Full Review »
  3. Feb 11, 2012
    2
    As I played the game, a number of issues came up. All the matches are timed, with separate timers for each player, but the game isAs I played the game, a number of issues came up. All the matches are timed, with separate timers for each player, but the game is unbelievably laggy for the small amout of information it has to transfer. I won and lost a few matches just because one of the players lagged whole minutes at a time. UI is acceptable, but it visibly suffers from the existence of a console version and is a bit annoying for today's standars. The game won't even remeber my graphic settings at times, and worse of all only a few resolutions are supported. But these problems are something I'd be willing to overlook, as the idea behind this game is really interesting. The real problem is that this is a lame pay to win game. After finishing the 1 hour campaign you will receive your first talent point, which will give you an in-game advantage. Point is, there are other campaigns in the game and you have to pay to play them. Most F2P games maintain a balanced gameplay by offering aesthetically pleasing and/or time saving stuff for real money, this time you pay to have a strong tactical edge, like permanent buffs on the next creature you summon. Want a few more cards? Sell a kidney. You can buy any card in the in-game auction house or booster pack for real money, and I'm talking of cards costing 5$ each. If you want to spend so much money in cards just play MTG in real life, at least you will be able to resell them for real money when you get tired. There would have been may ways to make a good game out of this, but this is not one of them. Full Review »