Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Magicka: Vietnam delivers over-the-top action as players take on the role of four meek and physically inept wizards as they try to do what so many 80’s action stars have done in the past: blow stuff up.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. May 5, 2011
    80
    It's as crazy as you can think of, like Vietcong popping out of your magic cauldron. And fun as hell.
  2. Apr 18, 2011
    80
    Magicka goes Vietnam and brings more firepower to the original formula. The use of weapons changes the gameplay and the overall feeling is good. Unfortunately the DLC is tiny but the price is balanced.
  3. Jun 12, 2011
    72
    Vietnam's story mission is pants, but the new weapons and survival map will please devoted Magicka fans.
  4. May 3, 2011
    60
    Magicka: Vietnam completely changes the way you play Magicka, but there's not enough content and as the difficulty level so high this is more for the most hardcore players of the game.
  5. Apr 19, 2011
    55
    Magicka: Vietnam has its moments, but this oddball add-on is marred by frustrating difficulty.
  6. May 6, 2011
    50
    Despite my best wishes and my fondness for Arrowhead Studios, it's hard to call Magicka: Vietnam anything else but a product designed for a fast buck. I believe that the game's price shouldn't influence its overall grade but I have to revise that statement. One hour of fun for half of the full game's price is ridiculous.
  7. Jun 9, 2011
    40
    Look, just play Magicka. Because it at least makes some kind of sense. [July 2011, p.65]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    One of the 2 best DLC for a great game, this pack has a wave survival and a hostage rescue mission as well as an awesome robe and 2 of the best weapons in the game, a staff that fires an explosive grenade and a machine gun that tears through enemies with ease. The music for the levels are awesome! they're like pop tunes in a hilarious and yet very serious environment that just adds another layer of awesomeness to this great package. The only downside is the slightly to high price of $5 AUD which is only $1 AUD below the stars are left which includes a complete extra campaign but I got this on special for 50c AUD and I'd happily pay say $3-$4 for this amazing dlc that is just awesome and will keep you in the crazy mood all the way through. Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2011
    8
    I really like the "Vietnam Rescue Mission" level a lot. Indeed, it is "die and you start over", but as such, I think it makes for an interesting arcade-style experience. That in combination with the interesting mash-up of spell-casting and Vietnam war aesthetics (which somehow works) make this experience quite a different one from the base Magicka game. I think if "mash-up" or "arcade" caught your eye, it's probably for you. The other map, blah. Collapse
  3. Zri
    Apr 23, 2011
    7
    I bought this hoping that there would be a significant single player campaign akin to the main game, but alas, it was only 'challenge' content (so if you die, you start again). To be fair however, it's also cheap, and what's there is a lot of fun (as long as you bring friends... it's Hard). Brings a few new laughs from old movie cliches, some new weapons, and of course a lot more blowing stuff up.

    Summary: Fun addon, but nothing special.
    Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2011
    5
    I bought this as a double pack with the original in the steam sale the other week... graphically its decent i guess, but as the DLC goes there not very much of it for the money... barely 2 MP maps and a new survival mode... just 1 campaign mission which is very brief. Expand