Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 551 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Magicka is an action-adventure game set in a rich fantasy world based on Norse mythology. The player assumes the role of a wizard from a sacred order tasked with the ultimate goal of stopping an evil sorcerer who has thrown the world into turmoil, his evil creations besieging the forces of good.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
  1. May 6, 2011
    90
    The rich, luscious colors somehow make the world a lot more believable than games like Crysis 2 could ever be.
  2. Feb 7, 2011
    85
    The fact that, at the time of writing, Magicka had surpassed 150,000 sales, is just a testament to how fun and addictive the core game really is. Now that most of the major hiccups out of the way, this is definitely a must-buy game, but it really needs to be experienced to get how much fun it is.
  3. Feb 24, 2011
    80
    It's long, it's tough, it's huge fun, and it's cheap. But it will never be perfect.
  4. Feb 7, 2011
    75
    Arrowhead Studios came up with a marvelous game, but the company's excitement in rushing it to the market often creates more problems than they're worth.
  5. Mar 31, 2011
    70
    Exciting to play with friends, utilising a clever, magic system that makes you think. [Apr 2011, p.54]
  6. Feb 17, 2011
    70
    Magicka is a solid action adventure title with a clever spellcasting mechanic that will provide hours of entertainment for gamers, especially if they play co-operatively.
  7. 30
    I started Magicka over from the beginning six times in my attempt to give it the best possible chance I could. In the end though, I can't possibly suggest anyone spend any money on a game released in such a broken state, whether it's ten dollars or ten cents.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 175
  1. May 30, 2011
    10
    Remarkable example of a remarkable game. Unique and successful game play and controls that blow you away. Humorous story line with numerousRemarkable example of a remarkable game. Unique and successful game play and controls that blow you away. Humorous story line with numerous easter eggs. Fun and extremely challenging ( but still possible) single player action packed game play, even better when played with up to 4 friends. A virtual "Hack n Slash" but with spells and "Magicks", the combination of 8 different "elements" which all can create different unique spells by certain combinations add to the fun. Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2011
    10
    The best 10 euros i spent EVER.
    Even though it has its share of bugs,
    the game is tons of fun especially co-op. and is very replayable :)
    The best 10 euros i spent EVER.
    Even though it has its share of bugs,
    the game is tons of fun especially co-op.
    and is very replayable :)
    Download the demo and see for yourself.
    Expand
  3. Zri
    Apr 1, 2011
    9
    Magicka is just plain fantastic. From the derpaderp speech of the characters, to the level and enemy design, to the just brilliant spellMagicka is just plain fantastic. From the derpaderp speech of the characters, to the level and enemy design, to the just brilliant spell system. As soon as you get outside the tutorial, you run into a woman with a big gold exclamation mark over her head in good old RPG fashion, asking you to kill rats in her basement or something like that. You know you're on a winner when she gets attacked by goblins and the quest marker falls off onto the ground and you get down to some good old blowin' stuff up instead.

    Best things about Magicka? No mana. Limited inventory (you can pick up a staff and carry a 'melee' item). No quests apart from killing the next thing in front of you. GREAT spell system, where you have 8 different elementals, each bound to a key, and you can combine them in any way you want to create spells, some of which just combine effects, some of which form unique Magicks.

    Worst thing about Magicka is that the engine doesn't always perform as well as it could. That's all there is. It's a very hard game in places, but people, there's absolute simplicity in the rest of the game so you can focus on STRATEGY. Everything is quite straightforward once you figure out what the enemy's weaknesses are, and that's half the fun. (The other half of the fun is blowing up goblins in new and exciting ways.)

    Summary: buy this game. Now.
    Collapse
  4. May 14, 2012
    8
    If you're like me and you bought magicka on launch, I don't blame you for hating magicka. The launch was probably one of the worst for recentIf you're like me and you bought magicka on launch, I don't blame you for hating magicka. The launch was probably one of the worst for recent games, with it being unplayable for about a week or two. If you bought the game after this or had patience in it like me then you will find the game a very rewarding and unique experience. The skill cap is high while the game is easy to pick up. Magicka is a great game to paly with friends as well, weather you are pvping, doing the campaign or doing the survival modes. The amount of crappy DLC that was released for it at a high price was pretty damn disappointing unless you bought it all on sale (good chance you would have seen it was on sale a lot). Overall Magicka is a great game definately worth buying at this time, it was just a shame that some of its reputation was ruined due to the buggy launch and overpriced dlc with little free content. Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2011
    7
    Magica achieves something rather different in the gaming world. It's the only game I have ever come across that can be described as aMagica achieves something rather different in the gaming world. It's the only game I have ever come across that can be described as a 'glorious failure'. It's awesomely fun and amazingly broken. It seems so silly to be critical of a game that gives you so much for ten measly dollars. I had more fun with this game in a few minutes than I did with something like Dragon Age in 20 hours and at four times the price. The great news about this game is that it's innovate, creative, and there is nothing else out there like it on the PC. The sad news about this game is that it doesn't actually have an identity. It's best described as what happened when someone mixed an RPG fantasy setting with platform mechanics. Yes, the game remains horribly broken from a technical point of view. But the real problem with the game is that it doesn't mix the single player mode and the multi-player mode well, at all. It simply lacks any type of game play balance. It's either super duper easy or preposterously hard. Balance is always a challenge in any type of RPG MMO. And I cannot help but think that one of the reasons this game is so broken is because the developers bit off more than they could chew. If they had just focused on making a single player game this game might have been hailed as revolutionary. The same way if they had made what was essentially a multi-player game only. But as it stands it's just a mess. The thing is though that it remains a hilarious, fun, and enticing mess. I struggle on how to rate this game because a 3 (execution), a 6 (design), and a 10 (value) all seem reasonable depending on how one looks at it. Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2011
    6
    Magicka, Hench the name, offers the elements we all know in daily life. And is now implemented in a realistic strategy like game where youMagicka, Hench the name, offers the elements we all know in daily life. And is now implemented in a realistic strategy like game where you have to combine elements in order to cast your spell. This offers space to experiment, but sadly causes frustration when you're in a tight spot or suddenly die. For $10 dollars you get an overall decent game, but not something you would play for hours on end. Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2012
    0
    Interesting concept, quite funny, enjoyable multiplayer. But this game is broken, very broken. I experience bugs (no, it isn't because of myInteresting concept, quite funny, enjoyable multiplayer. But this game is broken, very broken. I experience bugs (no, it isn't because of my PC) about every 15 min of online play. Either my screen turns black or i disconnect... Since yesterday I even can't join a game no more... Almost 2 years after release this game still is just one big bug with some fun parts in between it... Expand

See all 175 User Reviews