User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 128
  2. Negative: 16 out of 128
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 22, 2011
    8
    Even with its weakness i cant get enough of it. Its fun, innovative and relaxing. One of the most interesting RTS-RPG mix in the last years. Well worth the buy.
  2. Jul 1, 2011
    8
    A game that's innovative and nostalgic at the same time, with lighthearted humor, and just simply fun. onus points for the cheesy voice acting. Fantastic game overall, the only real issue is having a weird difficult curve.
  3. DanM
    Oct 2, 2009
    9
    Great game, with a significant improvement over first majesty game. I read some comments and it's like they are talking about a different game. It's just great fun seeing your heroes leveling up and having fun killing hoards of enemy... just unique in RTS games.
  4. TonyR
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    Majesty 2 is not a blockbuster game. It was a quiet, nice, and cheap diversion. The improvement from the first game is immense, and the first game and it's expansion were brilliant. The patch that they've released addresses most all of the issues that people had with it. Is the game perfect? No, but it doesn't have to be at a mere $30. Well worth the buy.
  5. BrianF
    Sep 21, 2009
    9
    For people who say "your heroes are annoying, etc," i'm sorry, but you missed the ENTIRE POINT of this game. If you don't like not being able to force people to do exactly what you want, when you want, you will not like this game because it is specifically designed to prevent that. That said, I have a pretty favorable opinion of majesty 2. The wizards dont die in 1 hit from a For people who say "your heroes are annoying, etc," i'm sorry, but you missed the ENTIRE POINT of this game. If you don't like not being able to force people to do exactly what you want, when you want, you will not like this game because it is specifically designed to prevent that. That said, I have a pretty favorable opinion of majesty 2. The wizards dont die in 1 hit from a rat at the start, but they're still pretty easily killed, and the addition of specific building locations for trade posts and temples is another limiting factor i'm a fan of. Protection flags are also really great. Collapse
  6. Ger
    Dec 8, 2009
    8
    Interesting story. Fun. Little bit short playtime if you can do all maps on first try. Players who started to play RTS may find it difficult to complete= challenging Its a good game.
  7. May 18, 2011
    10
    If you want a Real-Time-STRATEGY game that focuses on Strategy rather than micro-management and Tactics, then the novel and refreshing approach of the Majesty series to the genre may well interest you. Set in a fantasy world (with the stereotypical rangers, dwarves, wizards, dragons and the like) Majesty 2 lets you play the role the King, focusing on the major decisions of building,If you want a Real-Time-STRATEGY game that focuses on Strategy rather than micro-management and Tactics, then the novel and refreshing approach of the Majesty series to the genre may well interest you. Set in a fantasy world (with the stereotypical rangers, dwarves, wizards, dragons and the like) Majesty 2 lets you play the role the King, focusing on the major decisions of building, research and growing your economy - while the bean-counting that usually dominates RTS, is thankfully left in the capable hands of the subjects themselves. You can group your subjects into parties (of up to 4 at an inn - well-balanced parties function much more effectively than the individuals by themselves and adds a great strategic element to the game) and set general objectives for them by setting different types of 'flags' with gold rewards as incentives (to let them where, when and what you want them to do). In the end the style of game play is a great blend of the elements of SimCity, an RTS and a party-based RPG. It doesn't take itself too seriously either with plenty of quips (and narration by a Sean Connery sound-alike) that, if not hilariously funny, at least poke fun at itself and some of the fantasy stereo-types. As a budget-priced game, with plenty of add-ons and special offers on Steam, this provides plenty of fun-for-the-money, and many of the scenarios provide a rewardingly-difficult challenge - don't expect to blast through the main campaign without having to reload or even restart some of the tougher scenarios until you get a solid strategy figured out. Highly recommended. Expand
  8. May 17, 2011
    10
    I would pay $40 for this game, but now it is only $10. If you enjoy building your cities and recruiting armies like in age of empires, this game is close. But instead of watching your troops stand around, each one has a personality and will go on his own missions. You can even set characters in a party so they adventure together. With great graphics and unique game play, this is a gameI would pay $40 for this game, but now it is only $10. If you enjoy building your cities and recruiting armies like in age of empires, this game is close. But instead of watching your troops stand around, each one has a personality and will go on his own missions. You can even set characters in a party so they adventure together. With great graphics and unique game play, this is a game no one should pass on. Expand
  9. Jul 22, 2011
    8
    This game was a pleasant surprise. I expected another Spellforce-type rpg/rts, but this was something different... but in a good way! + Controlling your heroes through monetary incentives = revise your usual rts strategies :)
    + Heroes level up, buy inventory, find artifacts, but become pickier about jobs with time
    + You can save the best heroes and rehire them later in the campaign = time
    This game was a pleasant surprise. I expected another Spellforce-type rpg/rts, but this was something different... but in a good way! + Controlling your heroes through monetary incentives = revise your usual rts strategies :)
    + Heroes level up, buy inventory, find artifacts, but become pickier about jobs with time
    + You can save the best heroes and rehire them later in the campaign = time not wasted
    + Not short at all: campaign+single maps = almost 40 hours i have on record + It was fairly challenging for single maps too, i had to restart/rethink some a few times
    Expand
  10. May 1, 2011
    9
    I picked the Majesty 2 bundle pack on steam for like 12$, and was very impressed with the content. I liked Majesty 1, yet it was a bit too difficult for me. The new game is more fun. The advisor voice is awesome and really brings life to the game. I'm glad majesty 2 really polished the economy system and explained the game concepts much better, resulting in a pleasant experience. It isI picked the Majesty 2 bundle pack on steam for like 12$, and was very impressed with the content. I liked Majesty 1, yet it was a bit too difficult for me. The new game is more fun. The advisor voice is awesome and really brings life to the game. I'm glad majesty 2 really polished the economy system and explained the game concepts much better, resulting in a pleasant experience. It is well worth its current price! Expand
  11. Jul 4, 2012
    8
    Great game though it can be quite easy on even the hardest maps to beat once you realize how the game functions. You basically control the kingdom (market, adding new skills for the heroes, grouping) and the AI heroes do their own thing. You can help direct them with flags to tell them where the adventure is but for the most part the AI heroes are like a player in a D&D world. You justGreat game though it can be quite easy on even the hardest maps to beat once you realize how the game functions. You basically control the kingdom (market, adding new skills for the heroes, grouping) and the AI heroes do their own thing. You can help direct them with flags to tell them where the adventure is but for the most part the AI heroes are like a player in a D&D world. You just create the world around them. Expand
  12. Feb 9, 2013
    8
    First of all I have to say I tried Majesty 2 because I was curious of the description of the game: a fantasy kingdom simulation where you don't control your heroes directly but still have to achieve some objectives and kill the usual over-grow creature or daemon. From that moment on I bought every game was set in Ardania (the name of this magical world). Paradox created same really goodFirst of all I have to say I tried Majesty 2 because I was curious of the description of the game: a fantasy kingdom simulation where you don't control your heroes directly but still have to achieve some objectives and kill the usual over-grow creature or daemon. From that moment on I bought every game was set in Ardania (the name of this magical world). Paradox created same really good games.
    So what is so great about this game? First of all is quite innovative. You basically have to grow a city, constructing buildings, hiring heroes and enabling upgrades for your heroes. The money returns back on taxes and thing that your heroes buy. Your heroes are not directly paid by you, but they have to explore the world finding chests, killing enemies or solving quests that you gave them. Giving quest through flags is the only way you have to interact with them. There are four types: defend an area/escort something, kill that thing/destroy that den, explore that area or don't go there (this a special one that simply keeps heroes far from a dangerous area).
    Said like that seems quite a simple game, but I have to say that the story is not original but really interesting, the maps have an increased level of difficulty (visible before entering the level) and I have to say even after having finished the game multiple times, the hardest missions are really hard if you are not quick enough to level your heroes and make them strong enough to achieve your final objective before you are overwhelmed by monsters coming from everywhere. Yes, there are quite a few bugs, some heroes are particularly dumb and sometimes you have to personally save their life by healing them or killing their opponent with magic that you unlock during the campaign, but in general is really absorbing and I never found problems playing with it or really annoying bugs that spoil your fun while playing.
    There are several expansions that add new missions, heroes, buildings and some stuff for the multiplayer mode. I'm not interested in multiplayer in general, so never tried and I can't comment it, but here this mode is present.
    Even if now the graphic is a little outdated, I would still recommend it, in particular for a bargain price to random players who just want to have some fun, especially the first missions are quite easy even for not experts and every mission is re-playable.
    Expand
  13. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    Majesty 2, hoe to begin. Have you ever wondered, what is the king doing, while you risk your life in a dark dungeon, trying to complete the quest he gave you Well, in this game you will be the one sitting on the throne, giving quests for heroes and watching them die for your cause. Game itself is mix between strategy and RPG system. You begin with your castle, few houses and some gold inMajesty 2, hoe to begin. Have you ever wondered, what is the king doing, while you risk your life in a dark dungeon, trying to complete the quest he gave you Well, in this game you will be the one sitting on the throne, giving quests for heroes and watching them die for your cause. Game itself is mix between strategy and RPG system. You begin with your castle, few houses and some gold in your treasury. You can build guilds, where you can hire heroes, support buildings like market and blacksmith, where your heroes can buy better equipment, potions etc. You can also build defense towers, but not walls. Hired heroes have their unique names, they level up, have inventory for potions, rings, they can buy better weapons and armor, they can loot chests they find. They have their own mind, you cant control them directly like in other strategy games, but you can give them quests with rewards, like defending a bulding, attacking a monster or lair and scouting an area. If the reward for the quests is high enough, some heroes will go and fulfil the quest. If he suceed, he gain money, return to village, buy better equipment, refill his potions and he waits for another quest. Economic itself is a nicely done game mechanic. You get money from taxes and trade (the more money heroes spend in your market, the more money you get from it). You can also build trade caravans on special places on map. As heroes level up, they can use class specific abilities (which you must first unlock by researching it). We have mages, clerics, knights, rangers, thiefs, elves, dwarfs and each of them has unique pros and cons. Each guild you build can hire up to 3 heroes of that class, so if you want more mages, you must build another wizzards guild which will cost you twice more gold then the first one, same comes with every building and towers. Every hero who die, can be revived in graveyard (in later game you can have ressurect spell), when revived he have the same inventory he had and of course the same level as he died. But the higher the level of hero, the more the ressurect costs. As a king, you can also use magic (after you research it), which costs you gold from your treasury. You can heal, destroy, revive and more. Now for the cons. Sometimes heroes lost their lives in useless fight, sometimes when you give them quest to destroy enemy wizzards towers, healers decide not to go and your 10 another heroes gets killed because of that. At least you can put heroes in groups (using tavern) which almost eliminates this.
    Graphics is nice, with the right fantasy look, hero will look different with basic equipment and masterwork equipment, dificulty is nicely done, sometimes the game will give you hell, but its fun, not frustrating, campaing is developing, alowing you to use more and more things as you advance, there is also place for fun, your advisor will make you smile almost everytime he says something. If you are RPG/strategy fan, this is something you must have or at least try. Seriously, I mean it.
    Expand
  14. Sep 21, 2013
    9
    Majesty 2 is not a blockbuster game. It was a quiet, nice, and cheap diversion. The improvement from the first game is immense, and the first game and it's expansion were brilliant. The patch that they've released addresses most all of the issues that people had with it. Is the game perfect? No, but it doesn't have to be at a mere $30. Well worth the buy.
  15. Sep 22, 2013
    8
    Good game, but why you can't make russian version in steam? I can download this game from any torrent and play with russian language. I hope you make it.
  16. Sep 11, 2014
    9
    A very nice blend of RTS, RPG and economic game. You are the ruler of Ardania, Fantasy Kingdom. You construct the guilds, economic buildings, research better weapons and shields. But you cannot control your heroes directly. They are controlled by setting rewards for specific goals like exploring a territory or killing a monster.

    There is a variety of missions and quests, some of which
    A very nice blend of RTS, RPG and economic game. You are the ruler of Ardania, Fantasy Kingdom. You construct the guilds, economic buildings, research better weapons and shields. But you cannot control your heroes directly. They are controlled by setting rewards for specific goals like exploring a territory or killing a monster.

    There is a variety of missions and quests, some of which require attacking specific places or killing a monster which requires certain strategy. Others require simultaneous construction of some temples or defending a merchant caravan.

    "Majesty 2" has nice, colorful 3D fantasy graphics and music which sets the mood really nice (with some beautifully epic pieces for final monster fights). There is a huge choice of hero classes like warriors, wizards, rogues, clerics, paladins and nice selection of monsters with their dwellings including vampire crypts, elemental portals and wolf dens.

    The game has a unique style merging some qualities of "Heroes of Might and Magic", some of "Age of Empires" and others from RPG games. Many missions are really demanding. I needed to consult strategy guides to finish some of the levels, but even after reading a strategy guide you can find your unique tactics to defeating the boss. After 25 hours of playing I have finished this really enjoyable game.
    Expand
  17. Jan 8, 2016
    10
    Finished many times basic game + expansions.
    I was a fan of Majesty 1, so that one was no brainer.
    In the beginning I was terrified by difficulty level, but basically you just need to learn how to play, and how to synnergise your classes together.
    Overally really good game I can recommend to every RPG/RTS fan
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Majesty 2 brings some fresh updates and spruces up the overall gameplay to make up for almost an entire decade of technological advances in between the games. It isn't cutting edge by any means, but the modern touch will no doubt bring many new players into the fold. They won't be disappointed.
  2. Majesty 2 succeeds in delivering a new kind of RTS experience. The removal of direct control promotes new tactics, especially in multiplayer, and provides a different way to progress through yet another RTS campaign.
  3. The makers of Majesty 2 call your heroes “somewhat obnoxious subordinates.” That is an understatement. Their stubbornness makes this terribly challenging RTS, at times, nearly impossible.