Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
Buy On
  1. A mediocre action-adventure with an excellent sense of style. If you love hip-hop and spray-paint, you should be playing this game, otherwise, this game is best left on the shelf.
  2. PC Gamer UK
    74
    Stylish street art, but lacks substance. [Apr 2006, p.90]
  3. Game Informer
    73
    As it stands, Getting Up is a game I like more for its potential than its execution, and that's a shame [Apr 2006, p.114]
  4. 70
    By enlisting graffiti legends such as Futura and Shepard Fairey and hip-hop artists like P. Diddy and Talib Kweli, Getting Up presents itself as an immersive experience for those new to graffiti culture. This is where Getting Up shines: It is a game that can provide what no other game has before (no, we won't compare it to "Jet Set Radio").
  5. 70
    I appreciate what this game is trying to do. Unfortunately, it can’t quite get the fundamental controls to work well enough.
  6. 65
    Game play is like "Jet Grind Radio," minus the roller skates. Worse still, the game's camera wheels around like Flava Flav after quaffing too much Dom P.
  7. As it is, "Getting Up" has some fun and holds a few surprises but may not be everyone's cup of tea.
  8. It's a surprisingly entertaining, well-designed game that stays interesting from start to finish, and if nothing else it'll give you a whole new perspective on those rat bastards who keep tagging your house.
  9. Computer Games Magazine
    60
    Taken purely as a game, Getting Up works. But whoa, its message is a mess. [May 2006, p.49]
  10. Ever try tagging a moving subway train while dodging obstacles overhead and on the side, all while searching in vain for the designated spot? Not easy.
  11. PC Zone UK
    57
    It's designed for console, so the mouse and keyboard controls are horrendous and the disparate gameplay elements don't add up to a whole hill of black-eyed beans.
  12. PC Format
    51
    Deserves to be banned over here as well. This is wack, even for toys. [Apr 2006, p.91]
  13. PC Gamer
    50
    I wanted to like Getting Up, but flawed game mechanics and a hip-flop plot send this Trane off its tracks. [May 2006, p.98]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 4 out of 6
  1. Dec 14, 2013
    8
    I loved this game as a child. The sound track is amazing and matches the atmosphere so well. The story does get a little over the top, but theI loved this game as a child. The sound track is amazing and matches the atmosphere so well. The story does get a little over the top, but the character and game play are what made this game special to me. I really hope this game release onto steam is them rebooting the series. Full Review »
  2. CropCircle
    Mar 22, 2006
    3
    Another dissapointment and money wasted on a game that I lose interest in due to the fact that I cant play the game on my PC like a PC game, Another dissapointment and money wasted on a game that I lose interest in due to the fact that I cant play the game on my PC like a PC game, because I cant use the mouse like I've been using it since. I use the Mouse Please! Full Review »
  3. YarrrPirate
    Sep 22, 2007
    4
    Good game but also some flaws: the controls in the PC version are difficult to use. No custom tags.