User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 834 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 99 out of 834

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    4
    Mark of the Ninja is a good stealth game, with a great art style and a fresh take on the genre. But I still do not have any idea why people lavish the game with such high praise. While the game has an amazing art style, the game has flaws. The game-play is basically a stealth game in 2D. While I like the fact that you can hide bodies, set traps, upgrade your arsenal, and even terrorizeMark of the Ninja is a good stealth game, with a great art style and a fresh take on the genre. But I still do not have any idea why people lavish the game with such high praise. While the game has an amazing art style, the game has flaws. The game-play is basically a stealth game in 2D. While I like the fact that you can hide bodies, set traps, upgrade your arsenal, and even terrorize your enemies, the level design ranges from good to poor, usually on the bad end of the spectrum. The game constantly you through trial-and-error sections, with the end result of me learning nothing at all and feeling extremely frustrated. Also, the control can be a bit wonky, as sometimes, I'll end up grabbing a body when I meant to pick a lock. And the game loses its appeal once you go through 60% of the game, as you will be frustrated with the fact its basically the same thing over and over but with added traps that are extremely cheap. Also, when you complete the game, you will feel robbed of your efforts. When Mark Of The Ninja does things right, you really will feel like a ninja. However, the sections are few and far between. If you enjoyed Mark Of The Ninja, that's great, you made a good purchase. But for me, Mark Of The Ninja is a clear example of not living up to its potential. Expand
  2. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Being a fan of fast-paced dodging and killing games (Mirror's Edge, for instance), I got into his game instantly. It does not matter how you like to play. If you like to be sneaky, fast, cruel, or unmerciful, then this 2D side-scroller is for you. You play as a ninja who accepts the First Mark, a tattoo with strange powers, to avenge your clan who was recently attacked by a security and arms enterprise. However, accepting the mark also means sacrificing yourself, as the ink in the tattoo has been said to drive people into stark madness and blind defiance. In my opinion, this was the best 1200 Microsoft Points (Xbox 360) I've spent, and I am more than willing to pay another 15-20$ just to play it on the computer. A great game with flawless animation and an overall amazing gaming experience. 10/10! Expand
  3. Dec 26, 2012
    8
    A new take on the stealth genre, I believe that Mark of the Ninja does its job in showing that not all good stealth games need to be in 3D. It is interesting and fun play. Overall the game does do what a game should set out to do...mainly entertain. It has a nice story line that can get most anyone involved with the mission. The missions get longer and harder as one progress making oneA new take on the stealth genre, I believe that Mark of the Ninja does its job in showing that not all good stealth games need to be in 3D. It is interesting and fun play. Overall the game does do what a game should set out to do...mainly entertain. It has a nice story line that can get most anyone involved with the mission. The missions get longer and harder as one progress making one have to constantly view the surroundings in order to avoid almost instant death. The most interesting part is that you cannot go guns blazing ever because as it turns out your fists and kunai don't kill people, only your sword does. While the concept is there, Mark does fail in a few categories, namely the visibility and movement. I would prefer that the entire outer point of the screen not be all foggy, but this is quickly fixed by a check box in the settings. My real problem with the game is frankly the lack of color unless the room is lighted in which case your probably dead by getting shot and the movement because I doubt a ninja hasn't been trained to run silently, so for most of the game one is moving at a slow pace. Repetition is very obvious as the game progress so don't think that you can beat the game in one sitting, you'll probably get bored before you finish. Don't be chased away however because of these relatively small problems. The leaderboards for every level give a huge incentive to replay some of your best moments and the killing scenes are frankly done just right, but not too many variety to kill someone unless you start getting the power ups which start a bit too late for my taste. Great game to play, frankly one that should be taken time with not just sped through. Would recommend to those who have their tablets in which case its perfect and some core gamers looking for an indie game that steps outside lines and still delivers. Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best stealth games I've played, probably the best 2D one. The visual style is perfect, gameplay is smooth and everything you do feels incredibly terrifying. Even though the controls are a bit confusing sometimes, it still deserves a spot in my top 10 games of this year.
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    5
    Typical 2012 'light' fare... unless you REALLY like stealth games I'd wait for the demo. Typical Microsoft moneygrab designed to look good in gameplay videos but lacks compelling gameplay. Yes all the hipsters playing on their ipads will like it... if you like a game with some meat on it I'd wait for the demo... Its exceptionally well done when it comes to seeing it in a gameplayTypical 2012 'light' fare... unless you REALLY like stealth games I'd wait for the demo. Typical Microsoft moneygrab designed to look good in gameplay videos but lacks compelling gameplay. Yes all the hipsters playing on their ipads will like it... if you like a game with some meat on it I'd wait for the demo... Its exceptionally well done when it comes to seeing it in a gameplay video... controls are excellent.. sound effects, atmosphere...until it comes to actually playing the game.. which is a yawnfest.. I played a few times made every effort to get into it.. maybe its just me but it just made no effort whatsoever to draw me in or compel me to continue... your mileage may vary. Expand
  6. Jan 7, 2013
    3
    As a stealth game, Mark of the Ninja excels. It eschews the typical snail's pace of most stealth games and lets you jump and grapple your way into position for quick and deadly stealth kills. There's still plenty of sneaking past guards and hiding behind pots, but there's also plenty of silent and deadly action. It does a great job of making you feel like a ninja.

    Unfortunately,
    As a stealth game, Mark of the Ninja excels. It eschews the typical snail's pace of most stealth games and lets you jump and grapple your way into position for quick and deadly stealth kills. There's still plenty of sneaking past guards and hiding behind pots, but there's also plenty of silent and deadly action. It does a great job of making you feel like a ninja.

    Unfortunately, everything else about this game is awful. The controls are far too limited, with buttons serving far too many functions causing you to constantly do the wrong thing at a crucial moment. Puzzles are exercises in tedium, rather than creativity, as you painstakingly work your way through rooms performing tasks to complete a mechanism that you figured out within 15 seconds. Then if you mishandle the controls, you end up having to repeat the entire process. Killing guards is extremely repetitive, and for some reason forces you to perform a quick-time event (press a random button in a short time limit) to succeed. Every time. There's a variety of tools that you can use, but none of them adds much beyond a flamboyant way to achieve what you could do just as easily without the tools. The trap sections are horribly designed, and combined with the limited field of view in 2D, simply force you to use trial and error. Prepare to reload your game a lot as you work your way through trap levels, figuring out what will and won't kill you by getting killed by it (or not).

    By far the worst aspect of this game, however, is its checkpoint save system. After having to restart a mission four times, from scratch, due to being auto-saved in an impossible position, I eventually gave up on even finishing the game. You have no control over when the game saves, and once it does you're unable to revert to a previous save. In my case, I'd timed things perfectly to slip past one guard, kill another, and escape. Unfortunately halfway through doing this, I hit a checkpoint save. From that point on, every time I reloaded, both guards saw me and shot me to pieces before I could so much as jump to safety. The only solution? Play through the first 40 minutes of the level again. For the fifth time. No thanks.

    The parts of this game that work, work fantastically. Unfortunately it needed a far better PC port, and less gimmicks (like QTEs and repetitive puzzles). Skip it unless you love being forced to replay the same content through no fault of your own.
    Expand
  7. Oct 20, 2012
    10
    This game is great! i only normally write reviews if a game is either really good or really bad, this game is a solid 10. For $15 off Steam its more than worth the price. If you liked Shank 1 or Shank 2, its the same type of graphics and same gameplay on a keyboard and mouse like shank 2, its made by the same company, and its still a side scrolling game like the Shanks except this oneThis game is great! i only normally write reviews if a game is either really good or really bad, this game is a solid 10. For $15 off Steam its more than worth the price. If you liked Shank 1 or Shank 2, its the same type of graphics and same gameplay on a keyboard and mouse like shank 2, its made by the same company, and its still a side scrolling game like the Shanks except this one involves stealth gameplay and stealth kills. One of the best parts about this game is the game length, its quite long for a 15 dollar indie game and once you think ok this is probably the last level since the story is winding down and the end boss is in this level and the girl even tells you its last mission, well no it keeps going. The story in the game is interesting i suppose nothing special but good enough to keep your attention, its the gameplay thats amazing. The numerous ways u can kill enemys or not kill them is genious. The music is fitting for a stealth ninja game, voice acting is top notch, game length is long enough for me, steam achievements are reasonable, some arent easy but its not kill 100,000 enemys requireing you to play the game 20 times over to achieve it which is really nice, definately possible to get all achievements 2nd time through. GREAT game i really really hope they make a Mark of the Ninja 2. Expand
  8. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    Honestly, for a 15$ game this game is totally worth it. How often would you find a an amazing high action stealth game in 2D. Haven't had this much fun for a while, try it!
  9. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    An unexpectedly good game. I'm not a big fan of the Shank games, but this one is very addictive with tons of replayability.
    The first playthrough was fun, story kept me interested until the end (which was kind of mind blowing). However, the real fun stared after unlocking additional costumes and features, which enabled me to play the game again in a completely different way. You can play
    An unexpectedly good game. I'm not a big fan of the Shank games, but this one is very addictive with tons of replayability.
    The first playthrough was fun, story kept me interested until the end (which was kind of mind blowing). However, the real fun stared after unlocking additional costumes and features, which enabled me to play the game again in a completely different way. You can play as a merciless assassin, a true unseen ninja or a trickster that likes to mess with enemy's mind.
    The controls need a while to get used to. It might happen to you that you will fall off a ledge, even though you only wanted to take a peek. Once you get used to the controls, you will be able to maneuver quickly and do fancy ninja techniques without any problems.
    The overall gameplay experience is absolutely amazing also thanks to the clean graphics. You always know what is happening around you and what you can do about it.
    The game is available on Steam, so you can wait for a discount to grab it, but it's definitely worth it, if you're into stealthy action games.
    Expand
  10. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    I felt compelled to write a review; this game is quite simply, amazing. I was a huge fan of the first Tenchu: Stealth Assassin game on the PlayStation and this tweaks my nostalgia-nub hard. Agent 47 and Shank had a beautiful, kick-ass, baby and you're invited to his party for $15.
  11. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing. The best ninja game I've ever played! This game provides so much variety on how to play the game. From stabbing everyone in the back, to using traps and environments to kill, to even completely avoiding every enemy and remaining unseen. The puzzles/challenges are also brilliant. Solving them gives me the same feeling as solving a Portal puzzle, very satisfying. IThis game is amazing. The best ninja game I've ever played! This game provides so much variety on how to play the game. From stabbing everyone in the back, to using traps and environments to kill, to even completely avoiding every enemy and remaining unseen. The puzzles/challenges are also brilliant. Solving them gives me the same feeling as solving a Portal puzzle, very satisfying. I HIGHLY recommend this game. I had fun the entire time, and the ending was crazy! Don't wait until steam sales, get it NOW! Expand
  12. Feb 28, 2013
    1
    An overall enjoyable title but it has far too many problems to be praised this much. To begin with, the game is plagued with the same issues that Hitman: Absolution had where it is essentially a stealthing-game for the impatient, the 2d limitations only proves to further hamster the potential this game could have had and while I can appreciate the stylish artstyle and cartoony cutscenesAn overall enjoyable title but it has far too many problems to be praised this much. To begin with, the game is plagued with the same issues that Hitman: Absolution had where it is essentially a stealthing-game for the impatient, the 2d limitations only proves to further hamster the potential this game could have had and while I can appreciate the stylish artstyle and cartoony cutscenes with a decent story just as much like the next guy, game-play wise it is an collection of frustrations. To truly assassinate an enemy, you need to be undetected closely behind them (which can be a long and bothersome process involving a lot of trial-and-error) and then click M1, followed by a certain swipe movement with your mouse which either very often gets miss-read by the game, screwing the kill up completely or you knock something over on your desk. Getting to the point of being behind the NPC's is also tedious as you need to find the intended scripts that the developers put in place and if you choose to skip all that (not possible at many occasions) and simply engage them with your fists, the enemies will spam "Combat-rolls" which essentially make them invulnerable (Kunais, your throwable items literally bounce off them) leaving single 1v1 fights a matter of "Waiting for the invulnerability to go away" while with enemy teammates turns to a "Pause the game every half second to spam stun projectiles or you'll die" competition. Yes, the feature of freezing time and instantly throwing projectiles at enemies to stun them is an honest game feature which should let the next fact come less of a surprise: You engage any enemies that have spotted you with your fists instead of using weapons. I am dead serious. To fully kill an enemy requires a mandatory melee-range grab when they are incapacitated (for a few seconds after you've punched them about 20 times in the face)to fully kill them which is just laughable. I also had several occasions where I would be almost done cutting a guy's throat and he'd suddenly still somehow put out an alarm, making every enemy on a 5 kilometer radius rush to my location. And even with all these "bullsh!t" moments, I found the game to be ridiculously easy due to the no-limit freeze-time function, allowing you to take your time at any moment and mark enemies to be instantly thrown with Kunais, infinitely stunning every single enemy you see. I cannot honestly see the logic behind actually implanting something like this. It does not benefit the combat in a positive way and it is just an eyesore of a function for the stealth as well since it removes any actual difficulty. But I guess these kinds of poorly-thought through design choices are mandatory and very obvious trait of being ported from the 360. To sum it all up, did I like Mark of the Ninja? No. Why? Because this can be played in a browser and stealth-games are not meant to be played through 2D. Oh and, all the retards spamming thumbs down on negative reviews in regards to this game should give you even more reason to stay away from this smelling turd of a game. Expand
  13. Oct 18, 2012
    10
    Heard about this game back when it came out for the Xbox LIVE Arcade and how disappointed was I that I did not own an XBox 360. When it was announced for the PC via Steam I was thrilled. I feel that Mark of the Ninja is well worth the price. Quite an enjoyable stealth game and it looks great. I'm not usually one for the cartoony art style but it works well in and is gorgeous, reminds me aHeard about this game back when it came out for the Xbox LIVE Arcade and how disappointed was I that I did not own an XBox 360. When it was announced for the PC via Steam I was thrilled. I feel that Mark of the Ninja is well worth the price. Quite an enjoyable stealth game and it looks great. I'm not usually one for the cartoony art style but it works well in and is gorgeous, reminds me a bit of Samurai jack at times. The animations are not overdone and fluid. The stealth mechanics are great and provide a good variety of sneaking, hiding, stealth kills, sabotage and evasive platforming. The gameplay emphasizes the shadowy, stealthy nature of the ninja to an excellent degree. The AI feels sharp enough, enemies react accordingly to the level of stealth you employ (or lack thereof). I just wish Steam had advertised this game AT ALL leading up it's release; Mark of the Ninja is worthy of a lot of recognition and recommendation. Expand
  14. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    This game is a gem! Not a raw gem, but a sculpted one, polished with care and attention to detail. An incredibly enjoyable experience, definitely worth the 15$ price of admission. You feel in control of your character at all times and the wonderful aesthetics cement that feeling. Feedback is instantaneous and clear: there's no confusion as to what's happening on screen. You can play thisThis game is a gem! Not a raw gem, but a sculpted one, polished with care and attention to detail. An incredibly enjoyable experience, definitely worth the 15$ price of admission. You feel in control of your character at all times and the wonderful aesthetics cement that feeling. Feedback is instantaneous and clear: there's no confusion as to what's happening on screen. You can play this game slow-paced, taking your sweet time avoiding every guard, or you can try and play at a somewhat more frantic and chaotic pace, using your quick reflexes to jump over guards while avoiding their cone of sight and flashlights, distracting them when need be and killing them when necessary. The controls lend themselves excellently to both play styles! The world needs more games as brilliantly executed as this one. Expand
  15. Oct 20, 2012
    9
    It is simply fun. Challenging yet doesn't hamper fluidity. In most cases you could choose to kill or evade without the use of any consumables, both in a variety of different ways. It's among the very few games that I would actually like to replay.
  16. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    It is a rare thing indeed to rate games a full '10' (it's more like a 9.5 really). There are so many average and below/above average games nowadays that some people have become jaded. I was one one of those jaded folks until I came across "Mark of the Ninja". It takes a lot - and I mean a lot - of time, patience, talent and testing to create such a magnificent accomplishment in gamingIt is a rare thing indeed to rate games a full '10' (it's more like a 9.5 really). There are so many average and below/above average games nowadays that some people have become jaded. I was one one of those jaded folks until I came across "Mark of the Ninja". It takes a lot - and I mean a lot - of time, patience, talent and testing to create such a magnificent accomplishment in gaming (and just about anything really) with all the competition and hype that comes with newer titles. MotN is an epic game with amazing gameplay, spectacular art and design and mechanics that work all the way through to its end. Platformers are becoming more popular again as well as stealth games and this game does both impeccably. There are NO issues here - none. Not one fault. OK, maybe the fact that the guards aren't bright at times and are easy to take advantage of - until you play the highest difficulty (after the game is completed) then you wish it wasn't this hard. The artwork is similar to old school Disney and Genndy Tartoksky's "Samurai Jack" with tons of blood and violence. The backgrounds move and fluctuate and are brilliantly rendered. It's almost like a piece of art hanging at the MoMA. The movements, attacks and tactics are versatile and unique and the player can choose between which best suits them or even which not to use at all with the option to choose some or none. The upgrade system is simple and fluid with no complications or annoyances. Enemies are sharp,adaptive and deadly. Level designs are articulate and challenging with hidden items through. The foley work is excellent as well as the music. The writing is sharp and the plot is engaging. Even the hailkus in the game are brilliantly written. How many games can you say that about?! It's worth more than it's going for and has great replay value. It gets my vote for best game of 2012. Expand
  17. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    If there is a game out there that can convince someone to enjoy super-invisible, deep stealth (like Thief and the first Splinter Cells), as much as Batman-style action stealth, this is that game. The mechanics of this 2D game are surprisingly and amazingly deep. Enemies will respond to sounds, investigate where they think they saw you, and even be terrorized by your actions. There are aIf there is a game out there that can convince someone to enjoy super-invisible, deep stealth (like Thief and the first Splinter Cells), as much as Batman-style action stealth, this is that game. The mechanics of this 2D game are surprisingly and amazingly deep. Enemies will respond to sounds, investigate where they think they saw you, and even be terrorized by your actions. There are a whole assortment of gadgets that you can use in many ways to turn the tables on your foes. You can perform all sorts of tricks, such as climbing up almost every wall, scurry around in the air ducts, throw a dead body to terrorize some hapless guard. There are even multiple solutions to your problems: do you shank that guard at the first opportunity? Or do you use your gadgets to distract him while you slip past? Or do you even get them to kill each other by accident? The choice is yours. Even months later, I still cannot find anything wrong with this game. It's length is bolstered by the presence of New Game+, its animation is beautiful and well crafted, its sound and music creates perfect ambiance, and even its story, despite being small and short, has a surprising amount of twist and turns to it. Buy this game. This is stealth done PERFECTLY. Expand
  18. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    I have no idea why this game didn't sell well on Xbox, this is hands down one of the best pure-stealth games, It's so perfect! The Art style is simply beautiful, And this game allows a lot of different approaches, which adds a huge amount of replay value, And for 15 bucks, It's a must have title! Klei made a smart move by putting ít's best game by far on steam, I really hope thisI have no idea why this game didn't sell well on Xbox, this is hands down one of the best pure-stealth games, It's so perfect! The Art style is simply beautiful, And this game allows a lot of different approaches, which adds a huge amount of replay value, And for 15 bucks, It's a must have title! Klei made a smart move by putting ít's best game by far on steam, I really hope this game sells well because it deserves it! Expand
  19. Oct 20, 2012
    10
    It is a great game. I want to play it again and again. At present almost no games are combining high-quality graphics and fun gameplay. It is revolution in stealth genre!
  20. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Okay, first of all let me ask a question: what is pop up in your mind when some one ask you about stealth game?? Most of the peoples answer is splinter cell series or hitman series. Most of the stealth game was 3D. But Mark of The Ninja kind of rewrite the history. This is the first pc game which bring stealthy game play in 2D platform. Basically it is a fusion of action, stealth andOkay, first of all let me ask a question: what is pop up in your mind when some one ask you about stealth game?? Most of the peoples answer is splinter cell series or hitman series. Most of the stealth game was 3D. But Mark of The Ninja kind of rewrite the history. This is the first pc game which bring stealthy game play in 2D platform. Basically it is a fusion of action, stealth and platform game. Game story is perfect and the game physics and game dynamics is really cool. If you still hesitate I can give you word that after playing this game you will not regret. Expand
  21. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    One of the best 2D stealth games I have ever played. Grabbed it for $10 during a Steam sale and I'm loving. The art style is amazing, the gameplay is fluid and the ending... Well, just play it for yourself to see.
  22. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Perfection. This game is a must own for any stealth fan. Its polished to the max. Art style is gorgeous, and gameplay is flawless, and controls are tight, really tight. What really sticks out for me is the ability to choose how to handle a situation. The level designs give you many choices on how approach a situation which gives big replay value. The killing animations are awesome too. IPerfection. This game is a must own for any stealth fan. Its polished to the max. Art style is gorgeous, and gameplay is flawless, and controls are tight, really tight. What really sticks out for me is the ability to choose how to handle a situation. The level designs give you many choices on how approach a situation which gives big replay value. The killing animations are awesome too. I am surprised why this game is not getting the recognition is deserves. Best stealth game I played in a long time. 10/10 Expand
  23. Feb 13, 2013
    3
    So you're a mythical-strength ninja; The plot is literally about you flipping out and killing things, and that's about it. Gameplay revolves around quickloading everytime you are spotted and mouse gestures for silent kills. Graphics are poorly upscaled, soundtrack is your stereotypical "oriental" themed "*gong* WOOOOOOOOOOOOO" stuff, and the sound effects are pulled from a stock library.So you're a mythical-strength ninja; The plot is literally about you flipping out and killing things, and that's about it. Gameplay revolves around quickloading everytime you are spotted and mouse gestures for silent kills. Graphics are poorly upscaled, soundtrack is your stereotypical "oriental" themed "*gong* WOOOOOOOOOOOOO" stuff, and the sound effects are pulled from a stock library. Many bugs ruin the experience ranging from small things like guards being blind to you standing right in front of them to gamebreaking bugs such as getting stuck on a wall or in a vent. An unlock system lets you kill from different angles and gives you some new tools but it doesn't really change the core gameplay of "kill silently and without being seen". I love slowly stalking through stealth games but this one is ruined by too many checkpoints, an overabundance of bugs, balancing issues (one outfit and one weapon are clearly the best at what they do), and everything else mentioned above. Running at around 10-12 hours, this is a flash game better left to XBLA. Expand
  24. Dec 20, 2012
    1
    A really bad game. The graphics don't even exist here. Everything is black; not even white!!
    Don't waste even one dollar to buy this game, you'll regret it the next second!!
    A 2D boring black game doesn't have place into my games collection!!
  25. Jun 20, 2013
    0
    The rating for this game is way too high. This game is a typical uninspired platformer. It's a direct clone to Shank 1/2 with rudimentary metal gear solid mechanics. The art style is typical, cheap, and overused. I'm tired of flash games like this. If it wasn't for the 3.75$ I payed on steam I would of never payed full price 14.99$ for it. It's not worth the 15 dollar price tag. It's aThe rating for this game is way too high. This game is a typical uninspired platformer. It's a direct clone to Shank 1/2 with rudimentary metal gear solid mechanics. The art style is typical, cheap, and overused. I'm tired of flash games like this. If it wasn't for the 3.75$ I payed on steam I would of never payed full price 14.99$ for it. It's not worth the 15 dollar price tag. It's a waste of money.

    This game could be played on a browser. Bad indie company is bad.
    Expand
  26. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    Great game. I didn't think i could still really enjoy a 2d puzzle-ish game. But yeah, i can. The story is pretty simple, but the gameplay compensates, very diverse and interesting from start to finish. Worth every penny.
  27. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    Very fun and well made game. It's a 2D platformer, but it doesn't need to be anything else. Everything is done just right. If you liked the platform games of the 80s and early 90s on the old Atari systems etc, you will probably like it. If your a COD kid you will probably hate it because it doesn't have amazing graphics and a new release every 3 months.
  28. Mar 18, 2013
    2
    This game does deserve ANYWHERE NEAR the praise that critics and users give it!

    It is an uninspired platformer with nice art and mechanics, but I can have that experience with SNES games if I have a nostalgic itch to scratch. It brings nothing interesting to the table. You have a hook-shot that works, ninja stars that hit stuff, and a few ninja moves to kill and sneak. It is empty and
    This game does deserve ANYWHERE NEAR the praise that critics and users give it!

    It is an uninspired platformer with nice art and mechanics, but I can have that experience with SNES games if I have a nostalgic itch to scratch. It brings nothing interesting to the table. You have a hook-shot that works, ninja stars that hit stuff, and a few ninja moves to kill and sneak. It is empty and vapid.

    Unless you are a die-hard stealth fan, you will be disappointed that you actually spent money on this. I spent $6, and I regret it immensely. Have never been so disappointed by a Metacritic score.
    Expand
  29. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    I first got hooked to this game at PAX East before it was released for Xbox. One of the first questions I had back then was "When is it coming out for PC?" The creator seemed honestly puzzled, like he didn't realized that PC gaming was a thing. They've done an amazing job bringing it over and getting it working extremely well in Steam with achievements. Here's hoping for a sequel,I first got hooked to this game at PAX East before it was released for Xbox. One of the first questions I had back then was "When is it coming out for PC?" The creator seemed honestly puzzled, like he didn't realized that PC gaming was a thing. They've done an amazing job bringing it over and getting it working extremely well in Steam with achievements. Here's hoping for a sequel, multi-player, and Steam-powered. Expand
  30. Dec 21, 2012
    8
    I got this game on steam just without any expectations. And I got really surprised how good it is. The game reminds you with its art style of some old times when we played games on commodore or some earlier pc platforms. But this game is really fun, I played it trough in 1-2 days. Only its a bit to short.
  31. Feb 21, 2013
    8
    Mark of the Ninja is a 2-D sidescrolling, stealth-action, platformer. It is first and foremost a stealth game, from sneaking through the shadows and having to hide bodies. Mark of the Ninja brings a fresh take on the genre with is unique visuals and gameplay mechanics.
  32. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    fantastic game. i dont play stealth games or i use firepower whrn going throuh stealth missions but this stealth is fun. great game as a platformer, as a stealth action beautiful stilization and graphics. i enjoy it big time!
  33. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Mark of the Ninja is a good stealth game, with a great art style and a fresh take on the genre. But I still do not have any idea why people lavish the game with such high praise. While the game has an amazing art style, the game has flaws. The game-play is basically a stealth game in 2D. While I like the fact that you can hide bodies, set traps, upgrade your arsenal, and even terrorizeMark of the Ninja is a good stealth game, with a great art style and a fresh take on the genre. But I still do not have any idea why people lavish the game with such high praise. While the game has an amazing art style, the game has flaws. The game-play is basically a stealth game in 2D. While I like the fact that you can hide bodies, set traps, upgrade your arsenal, and even terrorize your enemies, the level design ranges from good to poor, usually on the bad end of the spectrum. The game constantly you through trial-and-error sections, with the end result of me learning nothing at all and feeling extremely frustrated. Also, the control can be a bit wonky, as sometimes, I'll end up grabbing a body when I meant to pick a lock. And the game loses its appeal once you go through 60% of the game, as you will be frustrated with the fact its basically the same thing over and over but with added traps that are extremely cheap. Also, when you complete the game, you will feel robbed of your efforts. When Mark Of The Ninja does things right, you really will feel like a ninja. However, the sections are few and far between. If you enjoyed Mark Of The Ninja, that's great, you made a good purchase. But for me, Mark Of The Ninja is a clear example of not living up to its potential. Collapse 123 Expand
  34. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Amazing game. Game of the Year for me. It totally reminded me of my old times platying Metal Gear Solid, trying to stay away from the guards and killing them when they weren't looking. If you enjoy stealth games, you'll have a lot of fun with this. It doesn't become repetitive at all and the art is beautiful to look at. And what's even better, it's only 15$!
  35. Mar 2, 2013
    9
    A great stealth game, that captures the spirit of old Shinobi games while adapting it to a new generation of gaming. Great graphics, perfect animations, very inspired level design and a upgrade system that gives more option without mindlessly increasing power combine to make this an outstanding game. It's also a great PC port: it works perfectly well with the keyboard, controls are veryA great stealth game, that captures the spirit of old Shinobi games while adapting it to a new generation of gaming. Great graphics, perfect animations, very inspired level design and a upgrade system that gives more option without mindlessly increasing power combine to make this an outstanding game. It's also a great PC port: it works perfectly well with the keyboard, controls are very responsive, menus work very well with keyboard and mouse. This is a very good example of how to make a ninja game, a stealth game and a PC port. Expand
  36. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    If you like old-school side-scollers you're in for a treat. Fantastic gameplay all around. The controls can be a little sticky at first, but in no time you'll be zipping around and dispatching enemies like its 2nd nature. The levels are interesting, with always multiple ways to beat them. The stealth mechanics are really something special, with light, sounds, and LOS/cover reallyIf you like old-school side-scollers you're in for a treat. Fantastic gameplay all around. The controls can be a little sticky at first, but in no time you'll be zipping around and dispatching enemies like its 2nd nature. The levels are interesting, with always multiple ways to beat them. The stealth mechanics are really something special, with light, sounds, and LOS/cover really playing well together. Leaning up against a door to 'hear' what's on the other side, or creeping along the underside of a sewer 'seeing' the footsteps of the guards above is really something special. Stringing up bodies to scare the guards is just hilarious. There's alot of little details that make this game so much fun. The story is deeper than you expect at first, and plays out subtly but very well by the end. Lots of secret levels/items/upgrades hidden around. A solid game across the board and well worth the $10-$20 price tag. Expand
  37. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    It's very refreshing to see such a distinct game every now and then. In a market full of RTS and FPS games, a stealth one is very welcome. And I hadn't seen such a good one ever since Thief came out.

    So I bought it and have been playing for the last few days. It's already in my favorites in Steam. The level design is gracious and the art is wonderful and eye catching. Also loved the
    It's very refreshing to see such a distinct game every now and then. In a market full of RTS and FPS games, a stealth one is very welcome. And I hadn't seen such a good one ever since Thief came out.

    So I bought it and have been playing for the last few days. It's already in my favorites in Steam. The level design is gracious and the art is wonderful and eye catching. Also loved the gameplay. The only reason I'm not giving it a 10 is because of the shallow, hollow story.
    Expand
  38. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    Mark of the Ninja is an awesome game. The one aspect of the game which I dont think is awesome would be the actual storyline. Aside from that I loved everything about it. My favourite thing would have to be the way in which the game gets harder as you go along, and after you finish it there is new game+ which really amps up the difficulty. Not often that you get to feel overpowered andMark of the Ninja is an awesome game. The one aspect of the game which I dont think is awesome would be the actual storyline. Aside from that I loved everything about it. My favourite thing would have to be the way in which the game gets harder as you go along, and after you finish it there is new game+ which really amps up the difficulty. Not often that you get to feel overpowered and challenged at the same time. There is also a lot of freedom in how you choose to go about doing the levels, be it super sneaky of super stabby. As a side note its total BS that the game is boring at the 50% mark. Most of the more challenging obstacles and traps are only towards the end of the game and there is a new game plus really adds to the re-playability imo. Expand
  39. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    This is the best 2D stealth game I've ever played, and is only beat by the Arkham games for general stealth. Being reckless will get you killed as it should in any stealth game, but even an action approach, if done correctly, can take down a room full of guards. This opens up various options for combat, or even pure, violence-free stealth.
  40. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    Game has excellent balance between action packed platform jumping and still moment of stealth games. I can recommend this game for everyone that loves platform games.
  41. Dec 30, 2012
    9
    First of all, I really never liked platform games. Being an older gamer, I am a K/M kinda guy. I was a big fan of the Thief series some years back. After so many great reviews, I finally downloaded this and I must say am really nicely impressed. All the stealth tools are there...and its a platform game! The checkpoint system is good. I think the devs at Klei have come up with a really goodFirst of all, I really never liked platform games. Being an older gamer, I am a K/M kinda guy. I was a big fan of the Thief series some years back. After so many great reviews, I finally downloaded this and I must say am really nicely impressed. All the stealth tools are there...and its a platform game! The checkpoint system is good. I think the devs at Klei have come up with a really good solid game in a time when they are few and far between. Is it perfect? No. Is it enjoyable? Yes it really is! Once I was through my "platform" block, this little gem came shining through. The price is awesome and this one really rocks!! Expand
  42. Jan 22, 2013
    9
    A very fluid stealth game. There is a steep learning curve on the controls, but by the time you learn all the character abilities, it feels a bit more natural. The perfect amount of gameplay. Maybe not such an original story, but told well. The animation is well executed and a welcome departure from 3D. Not impossibly challenging, good casual gaming.
  43. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    Klei is one of the most outstanding indie game developers around and Mark of the Ninja is a FANTASTIC stealth game. Being a big fan of stealth games it has been a LONG time since a really good stealth game has come out and this one was worth waiting for. The graphics are great, the story is fun and engaging and the play mechanics - they are so well developed. This game requires you toKlei is one of the most outstanding indie game developers around and Mark of the Ninja is a FANTASTIC stealth game. Being a big fan of stealth games it has been a LONG time since a really good stealth game has come out and this one was worth waiting for. The graphics are great, the story is fun and engaging and the play mechanics - they are so well developed. This game requires you to THINK and rewards true stealth play handsomely. Its a challenge without being impossible and being available on Steam for $15 - you would be a fool to not play this game. Its an absolute steal! Expand
  44. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    I feel like I had to write a review for this amazing game in order to help its small title out.

    To get it out there, this game is amazing and the best modern stealth game hands down. Games like Dishonored and Assassins Creed have huge budgets and 3D worlds yet this games simple 2D mechanics are awesome. While you may think 2D means simple there are many ways to play the game. You
    I feel like I had to write a review for this amazing game in order to help its small title out.

    To get it out there, this game is amazing and the best modern stealth game hands down. Games like Dishonored and Assassins Creed have huge budgets and 3D worlds yet this games simple 2D mechanics are awesome.

    While you may think 2D means simple there are many ways to play the game. You unlock different moves, outfits (with abilities that change your playstyle), attack items, and distraction items. Gameplay is tremendous and long lasting. Each level has 3 hidden scrolls (one is in a puzzle), 3 scores to achieve (highscore unlocks all 3 obviously) and 3 unique goals (i.e. kill these guards steathly). This makes you replay the levels which you are glad to do in order to figure it out. The game also gets progressively harder as lasers and guards w/night vision goggles are introduced.

    The story is also good and interesting which is a plus, its not just a random killing game.

    One of the most fun things about the game is killing is actually encouraged. Dishonored made me mad by advertising all sorts of cools ways to kill people then punish you for killing them. Mark of the Ninja gives you different ways to kill people to earn achievments and see fun deaths ranging from dropping chandeliers on guards, hiding in the floor and killing upward, dangling from a lamp and hanging a guard, or my favorite, throwing flesh eating insects on a guard.

    Bottom line if you want a fun action game with violent deaths this game is for you and WELL worth the $15.
    Expand
  45. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    This is an amazing game! The stealth gameplay beats most of not all other stealth titles out there. Actually feels great to sneak by opponents, or equally great to rid them of their patrol path. The game feels simple to start, but gets nice and challenging later on. The upgrading system eventually gives you the abilities you wished for at the start. Highly recommended.
  46. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    Here is a great stealth game that places a bar on all other stealth games in the future. The game sports a 2D platform type of gameplay with a focus on stealth and tactical maneuvering rather than a full action combat. The game has fluid animation, beautifully created atmosphere, challenging (yet not frustrating) puzzles and encouragement of user creativity during missions, but of courseHere is a great stealth game that places a bar on all other stealth games in the future. The game sports a 2D platform type of gameplay with a focus on stealth and tactical maneuvering rather than a full action combat. The game has fluid animation, beautifully created atmosphere, challenging (yet not frustrating) puzzles and encouragement of user creativity during missions, but of course like with all things, it has it's flaws. It's 2D perspective sometimes make item interactivity a bit annoying (trying to interact with object A ends you up interacting with object B). Still, this is just a minor inconvenience and the overwhelming amounts of innovation in gameplay could more than make up for it. This is a game well suited for anyone who likes gaming for their gameplay and mechanics over superior graphics. Mark of the Ninja is a simple and easy to learn game yet stands above some of the more popular games this past few years. Expand
  47. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    Solid platform action with excellently executed stealth elements. The story is told through the masterful art direction at every level. A breath of fresh air in an era of video game decadence.

    Controls are intuitive. A smart level design and good hit detection make for an enjoyable ride. The in-game achievements and level system keep level progression interesting.

    Highly recommended.
  48. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    I bought this game because it was on sale for Steam and was about stealth. 12 hours later, I am still trying to finish the achievements and looking for new ways to kill those guards. The game is somewhat linear but there are a couple options on how to take down guards and/or sneak past them. If you want a real challenge, try to sneak by the level without killing a guard or being seen. ThisI bought this game because it was on sale for Steam and was about stealth. 12 hours later, I am still trying to finish the achievements and looking for new ways to kill those guards. The game is somewhat linear but there are a couple options on how to take down guards and/or sneak past them. If you want a real challenge, try to sneak by the level without killing a guard or being seen. This game has a lot of replay for me. Expand
  49. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    This game is an incredible contribution to the stealth genre. Its controls are tight, its art style is amazing, Its system on how it rewards different play styles is well done, and the story can actually be good at times. If it wasn't for the lackluster ending, I would've probably gave Mark of the Ninja 10/10, but aside from that, this game is definitely a must buy for anyone who enjoysThis game is an incredible contribution to the stealth genre. Its controls are tight, its art style is amazing, Its system on how it rewards different play styles is well done, and the story can actually be good at times. If it wasn't for the lackluster ending, I would've probably gave Mark of the Ninja 10/10, but aside from that, this game is definitely a must buy for anyone who enjoys the stealth or action genre. Expand
  50. Mar 22, 2013
    9
    In my opinion, this takes stealth to a whole new level. In a lot of stealth games, it is difficult to know when you can be seen and when you can't. this is never an issue in this game and its all the better for it. This game is a gem and not to be missed.
  51. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    best stealth and perfect 2D game ever it has very unique style of gameplay is smooth and incredibly awesome. Perfect game fast and fluid and s superb.
  52. Feb 12, 2013
    8
    What a great platformer. I had tremendous fun being a stealthy ninja and it wasn't made easy with point reductions and the fact you cant slash enemies head on. May be punishing at times, but that's the fun of it. The fun lasts for a good few hours, worth it.
  53. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing. I can't think of any complaints, flaws, bugs, or really any room for improvement. Unless you have a mental block that says that all games must feature 3D, this game should be on your shelf.
  54. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    Mark Of The Ninja is a great indie stealth platformer. I played it with xbox 360 controller and it works very good. The enemies have mostly a good KI and the gameplay is cool.
  55. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    Picked up Mark of the Ninja in the steam sale at Christmas. Wasn't convinced it would be my kind of game but the reviews looked good and I'm a sucker for a bargain. Now that I've had chance to play it I've got to say it is probably the best 'why not?' purchases I've made. For a 2D stealth game the graphics work really well and it has tremendous replay value. Each level has 9 things toPicked up Mark of the Ninja in the steam sale at Christmas. Wasn't convinced it would be my kind of game but the reviews looked good and I'm a sucker for a bargain. Now that I've had chance to play it I've got to say it is probably the best 'why not?' purchases I've made. For a 2D stealth game the graphics work really well and it has tremendous replay value. Each level has 9 things to achieve including completing specific objectives, collecting items and posting high scores. You can run through each level killing everything in your path like a maniac or creep through each level using stealth and distraction. As you progress through the game you get to upgrade your skills, distraction items and attack items as well as your ninja abilities. These different abilities along with the 9 'achievements' per level and the option to play through it all again with an increased level of difficulty have resulted in over 40 hours of game play for me so far. I've managed to complete the game on the normal setting gaining all steam achievements at that level and am working towards playing through the game on the harder setting of "new game plus" to gain the last steam achievement I need. If you can get it in a sale then buy copies for your friends. Enjoy and give joy. Expand
  56. Feb 26, 2013
    9
    I am gonna keep this simple. Go buy the game now and make sure you play on a nice gamepad. This is not only a great stealth game, it's one of the best game of 2012. I've been gaming since the early 90s and very rarely I will put in the effort to log in and post a review. Trust me, this game is worth your time and money.
  57. Feb 27, 2013
    7
    I can tell this game is SPACE! IT IS SPACE AND YOU WILL PRAISE THIS GAME BECAUSE IT IS SPACE!!!1 Space art style and space gameplay space graphicts and space everything except bug and shortness and that my friends IS NOT SPACE BECAUSE MY NINJA WAS BUGGED IN ONE LEVEL AND I COULDNT MOVE THEN I FIGURED OUT: "Hmm THIS IS NOT SPACING SPACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" AND THEN II can tell this game is SPACE! IT IS SPACE AND YOU WILL PRAISE THIS GAME BECAUSE IT IS SPACE!!!1 Space art style and space gameplay space graphicts and space everything except bug and shortness and that my friends IS NOT SPACE BECAUSE MY NINJA WAS BUGGED IN ONE LEVEL AND I COULDNT MOVE THEN I FIGURED OUT: "Hmm THIS IS NOT SPACING SPACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" AND THEN I RAGED AND KILLED THE SPACE GAME BUT IT REVIVED AND THAT IS WHY THIS GAME IS SPACE,BECAUSE IT IS JESUS AND IT WILL BE BORN AGAIN! This game is SIMPLY space!
    I give this game 7. /10 spaces
    Expand
  58. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    Mark of The Ninja, truly a masterpiece in not only the indie genre, but the stealth genre as well. Klei knocks another one out of the park, with a truly magnificent title that challenges the player with puzzling stealthy and/or combative platforming. This is definitely one of the strong points of the title. You can choose whether to go through the game slicing and dicing all your enemiesMark of The Ninja, truly a masterpiece in not only the indie genre, but the stealth genre as well. Klei knocks another one out of the park, with a truly magnificent title that challenges the player with puzzling stealthy and/or combative platforming. This is definitely one of the strong points of the title. You can choose whether to go through the game slicing and dicing all your enemies head-to head, sneakily scurry past everyone, without raising an alarm or killing a guard, or even a mixture of the two, silently killing the guards off, one-by-one. Mark of the Ninja just doesn't have some of the best stealth gameplay I've seen, either. Klei brings it's now signature artstyle to the table, the likes of which have been seen in their previous Shank titles. Notably less gruesomely gorey, the game presents remarkably clean lines with interesting design. The sound is spot on, and is represented by visual cues, so you know if that guard is going to hear you sprinting through the vents or not. The music is pleasant but satisfyingly unobtrusive, and the controls are tight and perfected. I played through the game using keyboard an mouse, but then went through part of the New Game+ mode using the XBXO 360 pad. I personally preferred keyboard and mouse for this stellar title. The game is not difficult, and is not terribly long, either. Dying only a few times during the length of the first playthrough, it lasted me roughly 6-7 hours, without raising alarms and being the super-stealthy ninja that I am. The different gameplay styles offer replayability, and the addicting gameplay will keep you coming back for more.

    All things considered, Mark of the Ninja is definitely in my Top 10 Games of 2012.
    Expand
  59. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    Mark of the ninja is a 2D stealth/action, slightly puzzle game that let's you decide your own course of action. You may choose to kill every enemy in the game or none of them, use traps and devices to move undetected, to kill swiftly or just to distract enemies. The art style is very similar to Shank 1 2 although not as colorful, but rather a bit grim and gloomy which suits the theme veryMark of the ninja is a 2D stealth/action, slightly puzzle game that let's you decide your own course of action. You may choose to kill every enemy in the game or none of them, use traps and devices to move undetected, to kill swiftly or just to distract enemies. The art style is very similar to Shank 1 2 although not as colorful, but rather a bit grim and gloomy which suits the theme very well. Fantastic game if you're into sneaking, planning and/or killing your way through the game. Expand
  60. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    The best Ninja game I've played, and I've played plenty of them. An incredible sidescroller, in which stealth is very important. It is very replayable, as you can improve your score and obtain points to develop your character. It has beautiful graphics, smooth controls and runs perfect on PC. Awesome game.
  61. Mar 10, 2013
    9
    This game was a slap in the face reminder that games do not need cutting edge graphics to be amazing. I had seemed to forget that. This game makes me wish that I could find a full-sized exploratory rpg game with this kind of 2D graphics. I heavily enjoyed the style of the game and its game play. I got 15 hours in before I beat it but it also has some legit re playability and I plan to beatThis game was a slap in the face reminder that games do not need cutting edge graphics to be amazing. I had seemed to forget that. This game makes me wish that I could find a full-sized exploratory rpg game with this kind of 2D graphics. I heavily enjoyed the style of the game and its game play. I got 15 hours in before I beat it but it also has some legit re playability and I plan to beat it again soon. Controls could have been slightly polished, preventing it from getting a 10/10 from me. Expand
  62. Apr 27, 2013
    1
    This "game" does not deserve to be in the same category with actual stealth games like Metal Gear Solid. This is a simple flash game, nothing more. This is the kind of thing you would expect to see on Kongregate. I am ashamed and disgusted in all of you for legitimizing the sale of pathetic flash games.
  63. Jun 18, 2013
    4
    I found mark of the ninja to be a mediocre basic stealth game. It is the type of game that I play once, then forget about forever. There is nothing that stands out in this basic 2D stealth game. I find this game easy, but to play it correctly if would take forever with lots of waiting and planning. I find this extremely boring. But if you try to do face your enemies once in a while, youI found mark of the ninja to be a mediocre basic stealth game. It is the type of game that I play once, then forget about forever. There is nothing that stands out in this basic 2D stealth game. I find this game easy, but to play it correctly if would take forever with lots of waiting and planning. I find this extremely boring. But if you try to do face your enemies once in a while, you have to deal with the crap combat system. Fighting means jumping and then clicking a bunch on the enemy until he falls over. I don't see why there are such great reviews on this game. It's decent, but not memorable or amazing in any way Expand
  64. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers. An absolutely amazing game. It was hard to stop once I'd start playing, wasting hours of my day. Very frustrating sometimes, but it never really feels like it's impossible. Chose the "dishonorable" death at the end- the girl might be a lie, but not the tattooist. Collapse
  65. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    Fantastically designed and animated. The implementation of the stealth mechanism is sublime, and there's nothing more satisfying than terrorising an opponent to make them run into their own trap.

    I found the game addictive with great replay value. More than once I caught myself thinking "Damn, if I'd done that differently, I wouldn't have wasted that item". It forces you to think
    Fantastically designed and animated. The implementation of the stealth mechanism is sublime, and there's nothing more satisfying than terrorising an opponent to make them run into their own trap.

    I found the game addictive with great replay value. More than once I caught myself thinking "Damn, if I'd done that differently, I wouldn't have wasted that item". It forces you to think tactically which is almost unheard of with other stealth games.

    About my only complaint is that while the controls are largely intuitive and simple, you have a tendency to grab onto things even when you didn't mean to (eg when trying to climb down off a box in a narrow shaft you often end up clinging either to the wall or the side of the box).

    The ending was suitably ambiguous that it really made me stop and think before proceeding.

    All in all, thoroughly enjoyable (so much so, I bought it for friends in the Steam sale) and I can't wait to replay it with everything I've learnt form the first play through.
    Expand
  66. Dec 30, 2013
    0
    Thank God I bought this during a Steam sale; I'm so mad at myself for wasting money on this game I want to punch myself in the balls. While this game is fantastic in concept (think about a 2D version of Metal Gear Solid), and the stealth aspect well-executed, the game is utterly ruined by its terrible combat controls.

    There are two main objectives in this game: sneaking and killing. In
    Thank God I bought this during a Steam sale; I'm so mad at myself for wasting money on this game I want to punch myself in the balls. While this game is fantastic in concept (think about a 2D version of Metal Gear Solid), and the stealth aspect well-executed, the game is utterly ruined by its terrible combat controls.

    There are two main objectives in this game: sneaking and killing. In a game where half the point is to kill people, there is no point in having melee combat if it doesn't help achieve this goal. Worse still, you cannot switch between melee and weapons combat. Hell, when it gives you the option to kill, it makes you swipe your mouse in an arbitrary direction in order to maintain stealth while you do so. WHY? WHAT'S THE POINT? Why did not not occur to the devs that ninjas are able to kill with their bare hands?

    I would have given this game a 1, but it's so bad I'm never playing it again, and I've only played it for thirty minutes.
    Expand
  67. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    "Mark of the Ninja" may be the best stealth game I have ever played. Or at least the most fun one. Because it doesn't require you to spend so much damn time like e.g. Thief but it still punishes you pretty quickly and harshly for not sneaking. At least if you try to get all the "seals" (certain accomplishments for each level). Or you just don't want to be detected, period. Numerous"Mark of the Ninja" may be the best stealth game I have ever played. Or at least the most fun one. Because it doesn't require you to spend so much damn time like e.g. Thief but it still punishes you pretty quickly and harshly for not sneaking. At least if you try to get all the "seals" (certain accomplishments for each level). Or you just don't want to be detected, period. Numerous unlockables and new game plus with actually very fun changes means quite a bit of replayability as well. I especially love one play style that one can unlock that makes literally running through stealthily while not harming anyone possible. Controls are fantastic and whenever the game punishes you, you know that you deserved it. The only unfortunate thing I can find about "Mark of the Ninja" is that it is only available through Steam. But I bet that won't bother anybody here... Expand
  68. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Mark of the Ninja is an absolutely amazing stealth/platformer. The art style and gameplay are all top notch. Yes, it's 2D, but it's not linear as you can often choose which angle to attack from and can bypass obstacles and enemies entirely. One of the best games of 2012.
  69. May 15, 2013
    8
    TL;DR Really fun side-scrolling stealth game, if a little short. Ending makes you think. Definitely try it.

    I really enjoyed this game. It's a side-scrolling stealth game with an art style that really makes me think of Samurai Jack. The gameplay is really gun and fairly challenging at times. The controls are really good, and hardly ever caused an issue besides once or twice where I
    TL;DR Really fun side-scrolling stealth game, if a little short. Ending makes you think. Definitely try it.

    I really enjoyed this game. It's a side-scrolling stealth game with an art style that really makes me think of Samurai Jack. The gameplay is really gun and fairly challenging at times.

    The controls are really good, and hardly ever caused an issue besides once or twice where I stuck to the wrong wall, but that was likely my fault. The controls are so good enough that you never feel cheated when you die, it's always your fault.

    The story doesn't seem like much until you get close to the end, where there's a twist and then everything starts to make sense. The ending itself left me felt a little unfulfilled, but I think it's made to make you fill in the blanks yourself. It really gets you thinking about your choice, why you did what you did, but doesn't tell you what happens next, so how good the conclusion to this game really is what you make of it.

    I only got 7 hours out of this game, so I felt like it could have been longer, although I did skip a lot of the side missions, and I do feel like much of the challenge comes from the challenges you set yourself (Don't raise any alarms, never get seen, don't kill anyone, etc). but besides that I can't really think of anything that was wrong with this game.

    I'm not sure what else I can say about this game, but if you enjoy stealth games, this one is great fun, and worth the money. If the store page looks good, get it, otherwise try it when it's a bit cheaper.

    8/10
    Expand
  70. Jan 8, 2014
    4
    This game didn't speak to me. I love Shank, and the second was OK. Thought I'd give this a try.... think a Shank-ish looking game with stealth sounds amazing. The idea, preview movies, and reviews shouted a masterpiece... but it's mundane and boring stealth game. If the levels were designed in a way to really utilize the need for being stealthy, then perhaps it might work; but, the levelsThis game didn't speak to me. I love Shank, and the second was OK. Thought I'd give this a try.... think a Shank-ish looking game with stealth sounds amazing. The idea, preview movies, and reviews shouted a masterpiece... but it's mundane and boring stealth game. If the levels were designed in a way to really utilize the need for being stealthy, then perhaps it might work; but, the levels design lacked interested scenarios begging for stealthy tactics. The way the character felt when maneuvering didn't feel satisfying like Shank did. The bad guys were very easy to kill... out of boredom you might try to rush a kill to get some fun. The build-up of hiding and getting spotted is lacking (maybe because it's a 2D game). Expand
  71. Feb 10, 2013
    5
    Way to easy.unrealistic. its only strong point was the story, overall eh, im surprised at the high review. no variety in kills and no real drive to replay
  72. Jan 19, 2014
    8
    I am relieved to say that we finally have a good game from Klei Entertainment. Their previous iterations of Shank and its sequel were disappointing to say the least. Thankfully, Mark of the Ninja is a great game. It's a 2D stealth game where you go around hiding bodies, sneaking through levels, setting traps, and solving puzzles. The art style is the same as all of Klei's games and that'sI am relieved to say that we finally have a good game from Klei Entertainment. Their previous iterations of Shank and its sequel were disappointing to say the least. Thankfully, Mark of the Ninja is a great game. It's a 2D stealth game where you go around hiding bodies, sneaking through levels, setting traps, and solving puzzles. The art style is the same as all of Klei's games and that's fine. The gameplay itself is good and never seems to get repetitive. The game is a decent length for an indie game, clocking in at 6-7 hours for a single playthrough. There are hidden collectibles, challenges, and a scoring system as well as a New Game+ mode to add to the value. The cons are the story, which strives to be something great, and judging by the ending, they thought they had something great, but in reality I really wasn't interested at all in the story. There was nothing about it that drew me in and in the end, you are faced with a decision that you must make, but i was so confused by what was going on, the gravity of that choice didn't have any meaning to me. On top of that, as with all Klei games, the controls are terrible. I played with a gamepad and the controls annoyed me, i can only imagine how awful they are with K&M. There are way too many keys that are used for multiple functions. For instance, you press the "B" key on my 360 gamepad to pick up/drop a body and to interact with cover and other items in the world. So, if you have a body in front of cover or an item to interact with, you have to pick up and move the body and then go back to use the item or cover. There were quite a few times this poor control scheme cost me a life. All in all, the game just isn't fun enough for me to say it is one of the best games I have played. It is a very good one, and definitely the highlight of Klei. If you enjoy 2D games or stealth games, you should definitely check this out. Expand
  73. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    Fun side-scrolling stealth-action gameplay, with some puzzles. Nice art-style and story as well elevate this game above its competition in the price-range. Level-design is hit and miss though needed a little more variety. Generally-speaking it's worth checking out.
  74. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing, the gameplay is perfectly done and I love the ending. Although some people may be disappointed by the choices, I felt the game would have had less impact on me if it had ended any other way.
  75. Nov 26, 2012
    6
    Its a good game, no 9/10 tho. Half way thru the game you pretty much discover every tool you need to become a good ninja which leaves the other half of the game a bit stale. Its a fun game just don't expect that much replay value.
  76. Vex
    Nov 29, 2012
    6
    Good 2d stealth game with solid stealth mechanics. While it doesn't compare to some games such as Splinter Cell in terms of pure stealth, it should still provide decent gameplay. Expect to get about 10-15 hours out of the game. On a more negative note, level design is boring and the game turns out to be quite repetitive once you're past the 50% mark. All in all, nothing special and overlyGood 2d stealth game with solid stealth mechanics. While it doesn't compare to some games such as Splinter Cell in terms of pure stealth, it should still provide decent gameplay. Expect to get about 10-15 hours out of the game. On a more negative note, level design is boring and the game turns out to be quite repetitive once you're past the 50% mark. All in all, nothing special and overly memorable though it is a good deal at $15 price tag. Expand
  77. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    This game is unexpectedly fabulous. I thought I wouldn't be having lots of fun with it, but I did, big time. The graphics are very detailed and toon-like, and very very good animated. The story is cool too, somehow a bit of a cliché but hey, you play like a crazy ninja killing machine so it doesn't really matter. The stealth system is a key factor on the game, and very well crafted. IThis game is unexpectedly fabulous. I thought I wouldn't be having lots of fun with it, but I did, big time. The graphics are very detailed and toon-like, and very very good animated. The story is cool too, somehow a bit of a cliché but hey, you play like a crazy ninja killing machine so it doesn't really matter. The stealth system is a key factor on the game, and very well crafted. I liked the character personalization a lot, you have tons of gadgets and techniques to combine, different ninja clothes, and so on, that change the way you play, which is great. As cons, I will say I was a bit disappointed with the endings (there's two possible endings), and also disappointed with the fact that you can not play as a female ninja! And that would be cool Anyway, this game is a must have this year! Expand
  78. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    This game is really close to perfection.
    The design and atmosphere are really great. The gameplay is fantastic and deep.
    Much like in Orcs Must die, you start by just completing the levels, then you unlock all objectives and then you compete on the scoring ladder.
    So it's got a really good playtime (60+ hours for me). Definitely recommended.
  79. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    This was an excellent story and it was just the right length. The game play was excellent, this is a 2D game that scrolls as you move and it worked very well. No timed mission, which rush you. Stealth is the key, you can go pacifist or assassin. The upgrades are useful and interesting to unlock as you go and contribute to your style pacifist with distractions or assassinate withThis was an excellent story and it was just the right length. The game play was excellent, this is a 2D game that scrolls as you move and it worked very well. No timed mission, which rush you. Stealth is the key, you can go pacifist or assassin. The upgrades are useful and interesting to unlock as you go and contribute to your style pacifist with distractions or assassinate with weapons & traps. I played Shank 2 (made by Klei as well) all of about 30 mins before giving up on it, so I was skeptical, but this game was so much better. I have to admit that I like stealth games, so I'm biased. Run and gunners may not like it as much. The visuals in the game and cut scenes were a perfect style for the game. This isn't a triple A title, but it is what I expect from an Indie. Excellent value at a reasonable price. Well done Klei. Expand
  80. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    Before Mark of the Ninja, a 2D stealth didn't seem possible. However, thanks to Klei Entertainment's brilliant level design and mechanics this actually proved to be a possible task. The game was fun and addicting. The stealth mechanics like the covor system, grappling hooks, visible sounds, and climbing worked surprisingly well to create a well designed 2D stealth game. The game was veryBefore Mark of the Ninja, a 2D stealth didn't seem possible. However, thanks to Klei Entertainment's brilliant level design and mechanics this actually proved to be a possible task. The game was fun and addicting. The stealth mechanics like the covor system, grappling hooks, visible sounds, and climbing worked surprisingly well to create a well designed 2D stealth game. The game was very fun and unlike a lot of other stealth games on the market, this game felt like a true stealth game rather than it being blended with some other genre like action for example. The game also has an achievement-like honor system which is great for completionists, and honor gained can be used to purchase upgrades and abilities for your character and your gear. The are only few complaints I have for this game. The story for this game is badly written and the endings aren't very satisfying, and I felt the Newgame+ mode was a bit tedious. Overall I felt the game was very enjoyable and a welcome addition to any Stealth fan's game library. Expand
  81. Apr 22, 2013
    8
    Never played a stealth game before. Positives: 1. The "oh crap I've been seen" factor that sends you into panic. (This becomes easy as you adjust and you simply hide in a vent or just barely out of their sight range). 2. Exciting missions usually entailing assassination, escape, security shutdown, etc. 3. Choice of killing everyone or sneaking past everyone (minus assassinations). 4.Never played a stealth game before. Positives: 1. The "oh crap I've been seen" factor that sends you into panic. (This becomes easy as you adjust and you simply hide in a vent or just barely out of their sight range). 2. Exciting missions usually entailing assassination, escape, security shutdown, etc. 3. Choice of killing everyone or sneaking past everyone (minus assassinations). 4. Ability to see around corners so you have an idea of what to expect next. 5. Good voice acting pulls you into story 6. Good variety in weapons, distraction items, and ninja outfits which modify your abilities. 7. Good music/sfx 8. Good puzzles 9. Harder difficulty in new game+ if you thought it was too easy 1st time 10. Three optional scrolls and three optional objectives give plenty to do when replaying
    Negatives: 1. Short game (12 levels 20-50 minutes each) 2. Sometimes find yourself simply waiting 10 seconds after you are spotted making it stop & go action. 3. No difficulty settings except for new game+(requires completion of original play-through 4. Control problems when multiple options are available for the E key/ right mouse button-- sometimes you will pick up a body when you meant to hide/close door/ or grapple (usually not big problem) 5. A LOT of checkpoints so not very much challenge (sometimes I would suicide just for the hell of it)
    Overall: Great game, beaten in about 10 hours (1st play-through). Don't know if worth $15, maybe buy on sale.
    Expand
  82. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    Mark of the ninja is actually quite a good game. The stealth system is well built, the challenges are real and the continuous progress of your character makes you replay the levels to find new techniques to pass them, earning achievements.
  83. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    The controls and feedback this game provides are what pushes it above the rest. The movement of the player character feels free and easy, yet the mechanics provide a feeling of precision and control that lesser platformers lack. Imagine if someone decided to make a 2D stealth-action game and they combined all of the best elements of Dishonored and Super Meat Boy. This is it. Buy thisThe controls and feedback this game provides are what pushes it above the rest. The movement of the player character feels free and easy, yet the mechanics provide a feeling of precision and control that lesser platformers lack. Imagine if someone decided to make a 2D stealth-action game and they combined all of the best elements of Dishonored and Super Meat Boy. This is it. Buy this game! It's one of the best two dimensional games I've played in many years. Expand
  84. Mar 15, 2013
    5
    It's just a plataform game, with all its limitations. It is not really creative no true innovations. Yes, it is somehow fun to play, but it would be a great free online game.
  85. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    Mark of the Ninja is a great and interesting game.
    Klei did great job on this game.
    This game is awesome.
    Amazing 10/10!
    Hop too see the next one and plus the Shank 3.
  86. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    The best in its genre, also because I never saw any other 2D stealth game. I can't come up with any cons, you could really do whatever you want, and whatever strategy you want to adopt, the game gives you the chance.
    Every scenario is playable with any of the possible player configuration. It's a thing pretty rare, these days.
    A must have.
  87. May 2, 2013
    9
    My favorite game, definetly. I may have given DMC 4 a 10, but i was fanboying. This game is FAR superior to most stealth games, as it just as simple as it is advanced. It's basically a 2d stealth game, that nails every stealth aspect perfectly. All the way from the story to the gameplay and atmosphere. This game makes you feel like a ninja, wether you want to kill everybody, or sneak pastMy favorite game, definetly. I may have given DMC 4 a 10, but i was fanboying. This game is FAR superior to most stealth games, as it just as simple as it is advanced. It's basically a 2d stealth game, that nails every stealth aspect perfectly. All the way from the story to the gameplay and atmosphere. This game makes you feel like a ninja, wether you want to kill everybody, or sneak past them, that's all up to you. Even the maps are so comically full of opportunities that's they are anything but linear. And not to mention that you can unlock multiple styles, increasing the variety even further. The cartoon artstyle is awesome. Now that's not to say that the game is perfect. Voice-acting is... rather odd. It seems like when the guards are angry and enraged, they sound very calm. I guess all the work was put into the terrified voices xD Amiright?! Also there are a few glitches here and there, but they are very difficult to come by. And hey! The cardboard box is here! Expand
  88. Mar 5, 2013
    6
    Just bought this on sale on Steam. It is not a 9 or 10 point game. But for the price, it gets a decent score. The game starts off a bit tough with hard sticky controls (see below). It was fun for about 8 hours than becomes repetitive. Though 8 hours of fun may be worth the money to you.

    The Good: I like the graphics. Ninja story is pretty cool. The many stealth puzzles can be fun but
    Just bought this on sale on Steam. It is not a 9 or 10 point game. But for the price, it gets a decent score. The game starts off a bit tough with hard sticky controls (see below). It was fun for about 8 hours than becomes repetitive. Though 8 hours of fun may be worth the money to you.

    The Good: I like the graphics. Ninja story is pretty cool. The many stealth puzzles can be fun but repetitive. If you die you don’t start off at some far away waypoint.

    The Bad: Sticky controls. Literally. You have a “spider man” stick to things that have gotten me killed many times. You will die a lot, trial and error to complete missions (but as mentioned the waypoints aren’t far). The game is really hard at first until you get weapons/items Some points it pull your hair out frustrating.
    Expand
  89. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    Mark of the Ninja caught my attention while browsing steam after pages and pages of first person shooters and scores of tasteless looking puzzle and tactical games. The game justifies its score with a great art design, and a well rounded up overall game dynamic. Nothing is perfect though and a few decisions made by the developers may prove frustrating to some of the least patient players.Mark of the Ninja caught my attention while browsing steam after pages and pages of first person shooters and scores of tasteless looking puzzle and tactical games. The game justifies its score with a great art design, and a well rounded up overall game dynamic. Nothing is perfect though and a few decisions made by the developers may prove frustrating to some of the least patient players.

    Never since Metal Gear Solid on PSone, have I enjoyed sneaking past heavily guards that much. Mark of the Ninja borrows a lot from the Konami's flagship series. To make the game enjoyable, the rules are made simple: you can see the guards eyesight limit therefore precisely calculate your path. You are given some bandwith (very little) to make errors and therefore help the pace of some of the mission. It is that aspect that may prove tideous to non fans of steath games. However if you are like me and find the option of finishing a game without killing one single enemy an exciting challenge, then this game is for you.

    The graphics are very enjoyable. 2D games in HD usually do, but in Mark of the Ninja, the shadows and visual representations of the sounds are part of the gameplay and are integrated in a really controlled manner. The fluidity of it all is a joy, and the character's movement are of an amazing precision, A controller is highly recommended; I actually don't see how that game could be enjoyed played with a keyboard.

    Sneaking past enemies, jumping from wall to wall and hanging down from ceiling and lamp posts: this is pretty much all you do in this game. Accesorily you can kill anyone without a sound if you enjoyed that way better. I guess that is the big no of this game. It is particular and needs to be accepted as a whole to be enjoyed. It may surprise some gamers with its originality, but it will certainly disappoint and/or frustrate others who were looking for something more Ninja Gaiden like. There is also the Steam integration that is sometimes..well... weird and choppy. I have for instance never been able to post my scores even in Online mode. Not that it makes the game less enjoyable, but it takes away from that good old fashioned score breaking gaming motivation.

    Buy it!
    Expand
  90. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    Gorgeous! It really is spectacular! This game is the best I've ever seen was a platform game. Let Assassin's Creed, Hitman Assassin game this year, this is it.
  91. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    this is the best arcade game i've ever played so far it has amazing soundtrack amazing art style and although it is a 2D game it has one of the best stealth game play ever with a bit RPG elements this game is not like SHANK going out there and hit the button to kill enemies no it makes you think how to kill them silently and make your way as you advance you get more items and morethis is the best arcade game i've ever played so far it has amazing soundtrack amazing art style and although it is a 2D game it has one of the best stealth game play ever with a bit RPG elements this game is not like SHANK going out there and hit the button to kill enemies no it makes you think how to kill them silently and make your way as you advance you get more items and more powers that will make the game more fun and the story is so good in this game it even has 2 endings when you finish the game you'll immediately play the new plus game it is so good and so fun highly recommend it Expand
  92. Mar 12, 2013
    6
    Mark of the Ninja is a nice past time game. A bit like Flashback from Megadrive-era, but campier story, sneaking and modern graphics. Controls are quite good and most of the time character does what you wish it to do, but no means MotN is not Super Meatboy. Main issue with this game is that it is far too easy and when combined to check points every minute or two, the whole challenge isMark of the Ninja is a nice past time game. A bit like Flashback from Megadrive-era, but campier story, sneaking and modern graphics. Controls are quite good and most of the time character does what you wish it to do, but no means MotN is not Super Meatboy. Main issue with this game is that it is far too easy and when combined to check points every minute or two, the whole challenge is gone. This would not be a problem if there would be a strong and interesting story behind all, but it is a passing story for a 90s kung-fu movie, but no more than that.

    I am actually puzzled why this game got so high critic scores, but it was well worth the money (Steam sale 5€). I guess MotN deserve those scores as a mobile game as there is little to no quality on that arena, but as a PC/XBOX-game those perfect/near-perfect scores are way off. If there would be more challenges it would get easily eight, but now the main function is to make gamers feel good about themselves.
    Expand
  93. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    I always wanted to be the ninja. In this game i am. Silent assassin, with no mercy. I use my sword as a clerk uses the pencil. In this game sword is mighty er than the pen and my enemies go down one by one. But not, mandatory. You can kill everyone or you can sneak pass by them and they wouldn't know that you where here. Any way, graphics in this game are very good, controls are just likeI always wanted to be the ninja. In this game i am. Silent assassin, with no mercy. I use my sword as a clerk uses the pencil. In this game sword is mighty er than the pen and my enemies go down one by one. But not, mandatory. You can kill everyone or you can sneak pass by them and they wouldn't know that you where here. Any way, graphics in this game are very good, controls are just like it should be. Not a big fan on side scrolling games but this one is really worth playing over and over again. Expand
  94. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    This is the first Indie game i have given a perfect score. This game is one of the best stealth games i have ever played. Its easy to learn, but as the game progresses it gets incredibly challenging. I love the fact that just because you have gotten good at the game doesn't mean it gets too easy. You must be patient and smart in order to complete this game or have any fun with it. So myThis is the first Indie game i have given a perfect score. This game is one of the best stealth games i have ever played. Its easy to learn, but as the game progresses it gets incredibly challenging. I love the fact that just because you have gotten good at the game doesn't mean it gets too easy. You must be patient and smart in order to complete this game or have any fun with it. So my only warning for this game is that if you are not a patient person, or are the guy who plays Splinter Cell as a Third Person Shooter, this is not the game for you. Expand
  95. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    I give this a 10 not only because of its few noticeable flaws, but also because of the small things that push it above other stealth games, and really other games in general. The small things not only motivate you to do specific, even more challenging tasks than what the levels require in order to unlock new equipment or get points.
    One of the things I love the most about this game is its
    I give this a 10 not only because of its few noticeable flaws, but also because of the small things that push it above other stealth games, and really other games in general. The small things not only motivate you to do specific, even more challenging tasks than what the levels require in order to unlock new equipment or get points.
    One of the things I love the most about this game is its art. It's style is continued through the cutscenes and the game itself, and looks amazing. Many games now neglect "art" and rather try to accomplish "the best graphics out there" or "the most realistic graphics", but Mark of the Ninja really shows how you can incorporate art into a game, whether it's physical appearance, a character, music, or any other forms of art. In terms of gameplay, the game is very flexible. If you accomplish certain "seals", which are goals that award you with a new "path" to choose if you get three of a kind. Each path is a different armor set that are useful for different things. One doesn't allow you to carry a sword, yet is completely silent and carries two distraction items. Another gives you extra health and better fighting skills, but doesn't allow for you to freeze time to mark places to throw darts or items. Even if you haven't unlocked any "paths", there are still many ways to go about getting past an area.
    There are a lot of collectibles throughout the game, some of which are artifacts, others poems. There is also a challenge room per level, which is a puzzle that requires certain aspects of the game you just learned. I always enjoy puzzles in games, and even though the ones in Mark of the Ninja were easy, they were still pretty fun. You get a certain collectible at the end of each challenge room, which tell the story of the Marks and the Ninja clan. Talking about story, this game doesn't deliver an amazing story- there is a semi-plot twist later in the game, which was very predictable. It was similar to many books you've read and many movies- nothing special there.
    In total, I had fun the entire way through while admiring the art and level design, which allowed you to go about at least 3 different ways for an area. Probably my favorite stealth game yet.
    Expand
  96. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    Mark of the Ninja is 2D platformer stealth game, a type of game I found refreshingly new on the scene. Although the plot is rather simplistic, the gameplay itself provides a wide array of entertainment. Player is given (with time) a choice of tools, whichever suits him best, and then uses his wit to overcome increasingly difficult problems. There is no set in stone solution and manyMark of the Ninja is 2D platformer stealth game, a type of game I found refreshingly new on the scene. Although the plot is rather simplistic, the gameplay itself provides a wide array of entertainment. Player is given (with time) a choice of tools, whichever suits him best, and then uses his wit to overcome increasingly difficult problems. There is no set in stone solution and many possible approaches to the game. You want to be bloodthirsty murderer Be my guest. You prefer more peaceful approach of unseen ghost Sure! But be careful, whatever you choose the game will never let you just sprint through with cannons blazing a certain amount of thinking is required all the time. And whenever you are getting too familiar with the game, a new element is introduced, be it enemy or ninja tool. The game itself is not very hard, even when doing the achievements, but satisfying. The only downside, in my opinion, is the rather uninformative ending, but that might be the matter of taste. Expand
  97. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    Excellent game I believe all the mixed reviews are mainly coming from pc users but for consoles this is revolutionary. There is a lot of depth to this game and there is plenty of room for working out the bugs and minor details. This is my first MMO and its a great place to start.
  98. Sep 18, 2013
    2
    Ridiculously over hyped. Once again, I got this in a Steam sale but I was hesitant to buy because I don't have a good game pad and prefer mouse/keyboard. I had a DEV tell me in the forums that this game is totally fine with mouse/keyboard; it's not. Controls are crap with mouse/keyboard. Good art style. I guess great if you're *really* in to stealth games it might be worth it but it'sRidiculously over hyped. Once again, I got this in a Steam sale but I was hesitant to buy because I don't have a good game pad and prefer mouse/keyboard. I had a DEV tell me in the forums that this game is totally fine with mouse/keyboard; it's not. Controls are crap with mouse/keyboard. Good art style. I guess great if you're *really* in to stealth games it might be worth it but it's just a forgettable sidescroller for me and not a particularly good one. Expand
  99. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    Probably the best game I've played in several years. I rarely go back to complete achievements after I finish a game; but this one (taking all of fifteen hours) was quite enjoyable even during a second -more difficult- play through. It could be quite challenging at times, but never beat-your-face-on-your-keyboard-screaming-difficult. It's cheap, it's fun, and relatively rewarding, buy it.
  100. Jun 25, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers. An absolutely amazing game. It was hard to stop once I'd start playing, wasting hours of my day. Very frustrating sometimes, but it never really feels like it's impossible. Chose the "dishonorable" death at the end- the girl might be a lie, but not the tattooist. Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. 84
    A dreamy amalgamation of Shinoby, Deus Ex and Thief. It’s not only the best downloadable game of the year, but a welcome gift for fans of pure stealth gameplay. [November 2012]
  2. 80
    Splendid stealth platformer offers high levels of addictiveness. Surely aspiring to the title of "Independent title of the year". [Dec 2012]
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    88
    Corvo Attano and Agent 47 couldn't possibly have expected that a platformer from the creators of Shank would stab them in the backs and claim the title of this year's best stealth game.