Mark of the Ninja PC

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 964 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 3, 2015
    9
    Amazing game by Klei, makers of Don't Starve. 2D stealth platforming game, brilliantly executed with buttery smooth gameplay and perfect art style. Great voice-over and cool story. Loved it!
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    Great game. I didn't think i could still really enjoy a 2d puzzle-ish game. But yeah, i can. The story is pretty simple, but the gameplay compensates, very diverse and interesting from start to finish. Worth every penny.
  3. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    Very fun and well made game. It's a 2D platformer, but it doesn't need to be anything else. Everything is done just right. If you liked the platform games of the 80s and early 90s on the old Atari systems etc, you will probably like it. If your a COD kid you will probably hate it because it doesn't have amazing graphics and a new release every 3 months.
  4. Feb 28, 2013
    1
    An overall enjoyable title but it has far too many problems to be praised this much. To begin with, the game is plagued with the same issues that Hitman: Absolution had where it is essentially a stealthing-game for the impatient, the 2d limitations only proves to further hamster the potential this game could have had and while I can appreciate the stylish artstyle and cartoony cutscenesAn overall enjoyable title but it has far too many problems to be praised this much. To begin with, the game is plagued with the same issues that Hitman: Absolution had where it is essentially a stealthing-game for the impatient, the 2d limitations only proves to further hamster the potential this game could have had and while I can appreciate the stylish artstyle and cartoony cutscenes with a decent story just as much like the next guy, game-play wise it is an collection of frustrations. To truly assassinate an enemy, you need to be undetected closely behind them (which can be a long and bothersome process involving a lot of trial-and-error) and then click M1, followed by a certain swipe movement with your mouse which either very often gets miss-read by the game, screwing the kill up completely or you knock something over on your desk. Getting to the point of being behind the NPC's is also tedious as you need to find the intended scripts that the developers put in place and if you choose to skip all that (not possible at many occasions) and simply engage them with your fists, the enemies will spam "Combat-rolls" which essentially make them invulnerable (Kunais, your throwable items literally bounce off them) leaving single 1v1 fights a matter of "Waiting for the invulnerability to go away" while with enemy teammates turns to a "Pause the game every half second to spam stun projectiles or you'll die" competition. Yes, the feature of freezing time and instantly throwing projectiles at enemies to stun them is an honest game feature which should let the next fact come less of a surprise: You engage any enemies that have spotted you with your fists instead of using weapons. I am dead serious. To fully kill an enemy requires a mandatory melee-range grab when they are incapacitated (for a few seconds after you've punched them about 20 times in the face)to fully kill them which is just laughable. I also had several occasions where I would be almost done cutting a guy's throat and he'd suddenly still somehow put out an alarm, making every enemy on a 5 kilometer radius rush to my location. And even with all these "bullsh!t" moments, I found the game to be ridiculously easy due to the no-limit freeze-time function, allowing you to take your time at any moment and mark enemies to be instantly thrown with Kunais, infinitely stunning every single enemy you see. I cannot honestly see the logic behind actually implanting something like this. It does not benefit the combat in a positive way and it is just an eyesore of a function for the stealth as well since it removes any actual difficulty. But I guess these kinds of poorly-thought through design choices are mandatory and very obvious trait of being ported from the 360. To sum it all up, did I like Mark of the Ninja? No. Why? Because this can be played in a browser and stealth-games are not meant to be played through 2D. Oh and, all the retards spamming thumbs down on negative reviews in regards to this game should give you even more reason to stay away from this smelling turd of a game. Expand
  5. Mar 18, 2013
    2
    This game does deserve ANYWHERE NEAR the praise that critics and users give it!

    It is an uninspired platformer with nice art and mechanics, but I can have that experience with SNES games if I have a nostalgic itch to scratch. It brings nothing interesting to the table. You have a hook-shot that works, ninja stars that hit stuff, and a few ninja moves to kill and sneak. It is empty and
    This game does deserve ANYWHERE NEAR the praise that critics and users give it!

    It is an uninspired platformer with nice art and mechanics, but I can have that experience with SNES games if I have a nostalgic itch to scratch. It brings nothing interesting to the table. You have a hook-shot that works, ninja stars that hit stuff, and a few ninja moves to kill and sneak. It is empty and vapid.

    Unless you are a die-hard stealth fan, you will be disappointed that you actually spent money on this. I spent $6, and I regret it immensely. Have never been so disappointed by a Metacritic score.
    Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    "Mark of the Ninja" may be the best stealth game I have ever played. Or at least the most fun one. Because it doesn't require you to spend so much damn time like e.g. Thief but it still punishes you pretty quickly and harshly for not sneaking. At least if you try to get all the "seals" (certain accomplishments for each level). Or you just don't want to be detected, period. Numerous"Mark of the Ninja" may be the best stealth game I have ever played. Or at least the most fun one. Because it doesn't require you to spend so much damn time like e.g. Thief but it still punishes you pretty quickly and harshly for not sneaking. At least if you try to get all the "seals" (certain accomplishments for each level). Or you just don't want to be detected, period. Numerous unlockables and new game plus with actually very fun changes means quite a bit of replayability as well. I especially love one play style that one can unlock that makes literally running through stealthily while not harming anyone possible. Controls are fantastic and whenever the game punishes you, you know that you deserved it. The only unfortunate thing I can find about "Mark of the Ninja" is that it is only available through Steam. But I bet that won't bother anybody here... Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    If you like old-school side-scollers you're in for a treat. Fantastic gameplay all around. The controls can be a little sticky at first, but in no time you'll be zipping around and dispatching enemies like its 2nd nature. The levels are interesting, with always multiple ways to beat them. The stealth mechanics are really something special, with light, sounds, and LOS/cover reallyIf you like old-school side-scollers you're in for a treat. Fantastic gameplay all around. The controls can be a little sticky at first, but in no time you'll be zipping around and dispatching enemies like its 2nd nature. The levels are interesting, with always multiple ways to beat them. The stealth mechanics are really something special, with light, sounds, and LOS/cover really playing well together. Leaning up against a door to 'hear' what's on the other side, or creeping along the underside of a sewer 'seeing' the footsteps of the guards above is really something special. Stringing up bodies to scare the guards is just hilarious. There's alot of little details that make this game so much fun. The story is deeper than you expect at first, and plays out subtly but very well by the end. Lots of secret levels/items/upgrades hidden around. A solid game across the board and well worth the $10-$20 price tag. Expand
  8. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    I first got hooked to this game at PAX East before it was released for Xbox. One of the first questions I had back then was "When is it coming out for PC?" The creator seemed honestly puzzled, like he didn't realized that PC gaming was a thing. They've done an amazing job bringing it over and getting it working extremely well in Steam with achievements. Here's hoping for a sequel,I first got hooked to this game at PAX East before it was released for Xbox. One of the first questions I had back then was "When is it coming out for PC?" The creator seemed honestly puzzled, like he didn't realized that PC gaming was a thing. They've done an amazing job bringing it over and getting it working extremely well in Steam with achievements. Here's hoping for a sequel, multi-player, and Steam-powered. Expand
  9. Jan 1, 2015
    6
    The idea of this game is good and the mechanics are fun. And yet, I just stop playing it after a while because something is missing.

    The good: The art style is great, the base game mechanics are fun and easy to use. The bad: it does end up being you versus puzzle setups. You see a situation and have to match your skills in the right way to solve the puzzle. That's fine but not very
    The idea of this game is good and the mechanics are fun. And yet, I just stop playing it after a while because something is missing.

    The good:
    The art style is great, the base game mechanics are fun and easy to use.

    The bad:
    it does end up being you versus puzzle setups. You see a situation and have to match your skills in the right way to solve the puzzle. That's fine but not very immersive in itself and sometimes end up being more of a roadblock in your way than something you like to do.

    In the end what the game misses is stealth, ironically. Yes, there are elements of that but a lot of the time it's more similar to puzzle solving than anything else. The game is actually a puzzle game and not a stealth assassination game.
    Expand
  10. Oct 18, 2012
    10
    Heard about this game back when it came out for the Xbox LIVE Arcade and how disappointed was I that I did not own an XBox 360. When it was announced for the PC via Steam I was thrilled. I feel that Mark of the Ninja is well worth the price. Quite an enjoyable stealth game and it looks great. I'm not usually one for the cartoony art style but it works well in and is gorgeous, reminds me aHeard about this game back when it came out for the Xbox LIVE Arcade and how disappointed was I that I did not own an XBox 360. When it was announced for the PC via Steam I was thrilled. I feel that Mark of the Ninja is well worth the price. Quite an enjoyable stealth game and it looks great. I'm not usually one for the cartoony art style but it works well in and is gorgeous, reminds me a bit of Samurai jack at times. The animations are not overdone and fluid. The stealth mechanics are great and provide a good variety of sneaking, hiding, stealth kills, sabotage and evasive platforming. The gameplay emphasizes the shadowy, stealthy nature of the ninja to an excellent degree. The AI feels sharp enough, enemies react accordingly to the level of stealth you employ (or lack thereof). I just wish Steam had advertised this game AT ALL leading up it's release; Mark of the Ninja is worthy of a lot of recognition and recommendation. Expand
  11. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    It is a rare thing indeed to rate games a full '10' (it's more like a 9.5 really). There are so many average and below/above average games nowadays that some people have become jaded. I was one one of those jaded folks until I came across "Mark of the Ninja". It takes a lot - and I mean a lot - of time, patience, talent and testing to create such a magnificent accomplishment in gamingIt is a rare thing indeed to rate games a full '10' (it's more like a 9.5 really). There are so many average and below/above average games nowadays that some people have become jaded. I was one one of those jaded folks until I came across "Mark of the Ninja". It takes a lot - and I mean a lot - of time, patience, talent and testing to create such a magnificent accomplishment in gaming (and just about anything really) with all the competition and hype that comes with newer titles. MotN is an epic game with amazing gameplay, spectacular art and design and mechanics that work all the way through to its end. Platformers are becoming more popular again as well as stealth games and this game does both impeccably. There are NO issues here - none. Not one fault. OK, maybe the fact that the guards aren't bright at times and are easy to take advantage of - until you play the highest difficulty (after the game is completed) then you wish it wasn't this hard. The artwork is similar to old school Disney and Genndy Tartoksky's "Samurai Jack" with tons of blood and violence. The backgrounds move and fluctuate and are brilliantly rendered. It's almost like a piece of art hanging at the MoMA. The movements, attacks and tactics are versatile and unique and the player can choose between which best suits them or even which not to use at all with the option to choose some or none. The upgrade system is simple and fluid with no complications or annoyances. Enemies are sharp,adaptive and deadly. Level designs are articulate and challenging with hidden items through. The foley work is excellent as well as the music. The writing is sharp and the plot is engaging. Even the hailkus in the game are brilliantly written. How many games can you say that about?! It's worth more than it's going for and has great replay value. It gets my vote for best game of 2012. Expand
  12. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Mark of the Ninja is an absolutely amazing stealth/platformer. The art style and gameplay are all top notch. Yes, it's 2D, but it's not linear as you can often choose which angle to attack from and can bypass obstacles and enemies entirely. One of the best games of 2012.
  13. May 15, 2013
    8
    TL;DR Really fun side-scrolling stealth game, if a little short. Ending makes you think. Definitely try it.

    I really enjoyed this game. It's a side-scrolling stealth game with an art style that really makes me think of Samurai Jack. The gameplay is really gun and fairly challenging at times. The controls are really good, and hardly ever caused an issue besides once or twice where I
    TL;DR Really fun side-scrolling stealth game, if a little short. Ending makes you think. Definitely try it.

    I really enjoyed this game. It's a side-scrolling stealth game with an art style that really makes me think of Samurai Jack. The gameplay is really gun and fairly challenging at times.

    The controls are really good, and hardly ever caused an issue besides once or twice where I stuck to the wrong wall, but that was likely my fault. The controls are so good enough that you never feel cheated when you die, it's always your fault.

    The story doesn't seem like much until you get close to the end, where there's a twist and then everything starts to make sense. The ending itself left me felt a little unfulfilled, but I think it's made to make you fill in the blanks yourself. It really gets you thinking about your choice, why you did what you did, but doesn't tell you what happens next, so how good the conclusion to this game really is what you make of it.

    I only got 7 hours out of this game, so I felt like it could have been longer, although I did skip a lot of the side missions, and I do feel like much of the challenge comes from the challenges you set yourself (Don't raise any alarms, never get seen, don't kill anyone, etc). but besides that I can't really think of anything that was wrong with this game.

    I'm not sure what else I can say about this game, but if you enjoy stealth games, this one is great fun, and worth the money. If the store page looks good, get it, otherwise try it when it's a bit cheaper.

    8/10
    Expand
  14. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    This game is a gem! Not a raw gem, but a sculpted one, polished with care and attention to detail. An incredibly enjoyable experience, definitely worth the 15$ price of admission. You feel in control of your character at all times and the wonderful aesthetics cement that feeling. Feedback is instantaneous and clear: there's no confusion as to what's happening on screen. You can play thisThis game is a gem! Not a raw gem, but a sculpted one, polished with care and attention to detail. An incredibly enjoyable experience, definitely worth the 15$ price of admission. You feel in control of your character at all times and the wonderful aesthetics cement that feeling. Feedback is instantaneous and clear: there's no confusion as to what's happening on screen. You can play this game slow-paced, taking your sweet time avoiding every guard, or you can try and play at a somewhat more frantic and chaotic pace, using your quick reflexes to jump over guards while avoiding their cone of sight and flashlights, distracting them when need be and killing them when necessary. The controls lend themselves excellently to both play styles! The world needs more games as brilliantly executed as this one. Expand
  15. Jan 8, 2014
    4
    This game didn't speak to me. I love Shank, and the second was OK. Thought I'd give this a try.... think a Shank-ish looking game with stealth sounds amazing. The idea, preview movies, and reviews shouted a masterpiece... but it's mundane and boring stealth game. If the levels were designed in a way to really utilize the need for being stealthy, then perhaps it might work; but, the levelsThis game didn't speak to me. I love Shank, and the second was OK. Thought I'd give this a try.... think a Shank-ish looking game with stealth sounds amazing. The idea, preview movies, and reviews shouted a masterpiece... but it's mundane and boring stealth game. If the levels were designed in a way to really utilize the need for being stealthy, then perhaps it might work; but, the levels design lacked interested scenarios begging for stealthy tactics. The way the character felt when maneuvering didn't feel satisfying like Shank did. The bad guys were very easy to kill... out of boredom you might try to rush a kill to get some fun. The build-up of hiding and getting spotted is lacking (maybe because it's a 2D game). Expand
  16. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best stealth games I've played, probably the best 2D one. The visual style is perfect, gameplay is smooth and everything you do feels incredibly terrifying. Even though the controls are a bit confusing sometimes, it still deserves a spot in my top 10 games of this year.
  17. Feb 10, 2013
    5
    Way to easy.unrealistic. its only strong point was the story, overall eh, im surprised at the high review. no variety in kills and no real drive to replay
  18. Oct 20, 2012
    10
    This game is great! i only normally write reviews if a game is either really good or really bad, this game is a solid 10. For $15 off Steam its more than worth the price. If you liked Shank 1 or Shank 2, its the same type of graphics and same gameplay on a keyboard and mouse like shank 2, its made by the same company, and its still a side scrolling game like the Shanks except this oneThis game is great! i only normally write reviews if a game is either really good or really bad, this game is a solid 10. For $15 off Steam its more than worth the price. If you liked Shank 1 or Shank 2, its the same type of graphics and same gameplay on a keyboard and mouse like shank 2, its made by the same company, and its still a side scrolling game like the Shanks except this one involves stealth gameplay and stealth kills. One of the best parts about this game is the game length, its quite long for a 15 dollar indie game and once you think ok this is probably the last level since the story is winding down and the end boss is in this level and the girl even tells you its last mission, well no it keeps going. The story in the game is interesting i suppose nothing special but good enough to keep your attention, its the gameplay thats amazing. The numerous ways u can kill enemys or not kill them is genious. The music is fitting for a stealth ninja game, voice acting is top notch, game length is long enough for me, steam achievements are reasonable, some arent easy but its not kill 100,000 enemys requireing you to play the game 20 times over to achieve it which is really nice, definately possible to get all achievements 2nd time through. GREAT game i really really hope they make a Mark of the Ninja 2. Expand
  19. Oct 30, 2012
    5
    Typical 2012 'light' fare... unless you REALLY like stealth games I'd wait for the demo. Typical Microsoft moneygrab designed to look good in gameplay videos but lacks compelling gameplay. Yes all the hipsters playing on their ipads will like it... if you like a game with some meat on it I'd wait for the demo... Its exceptionally well done when it comes to seeing it in a gameplayTypical 2012 'light' fare... unless you REALLY like stealth games I'd wait for the demo. Typical Microsoft moneygrab designed to look good in gameplay videos but lacks compelling gameplay. Yes all the hipsters playing on their ipads will like it... if you like a game with some meat on it I'd wait for the demo... Its exceptionally well done when it comes to seeing it in a gameplay video... controls are excellent.. sound effects, atmosphere...until it comes to actually playing the game.. which is a yawnfest.. I played a few times made every effort to get into it.. maybe its just me but it just made no effort whatsoever to draw me in or compel me to continue... your mileage may vary. Expand
  20. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    If there is a game out there that can convince someone to enjoy super-invisible, deep stealth (like Thief and the first Splinter Cells), as much as Batman-style action stealth, this is that game. The mechanics of this 2D game are surprisingly and amazingly deep. Enemies will respond to sounds, investigate where they think they saw you, and even be terrorized by your actions. There are aIf there is a game out there that can convince someone to enjoy super-invisible, deep stealth (like Thief and the first Splinter Cells), as much as Batman-style action stealth, this is that game. The mechanics of this 2D game are surprisingly and amazingly deep. Enemies will respond to sounds, investigate where they think they saw you, and even be terrorized by your actions. There are a whole assortment of gadgets that you can use in many ways to turn the tables on your foes. You can perform all sorts of tricks, such as climbing up almost every wall, scurry around in the air ducts, throw a dead body to terrorize some hapless guard. There are even multiple solutions to your problems: do you shank that guard at the first opportunity? Or do you use your gadgets to distract him while you slip past? Or do you even get them to kill each other by accident? The choice is yours. Even months later, I still cannot find anything wrong with this game. It's length is bolstered by the presence of New Game+, its animation is beautiful and well crafted, its sound and music creates perfect ambiance, and even its story, despite being small and short, has a surprising amount of twist and turns to it. Buy this game. This is stealth done PERFECTLY. Expand
  21. Jan 19, 2014
    8
    I am relieved to say that we finally have a good game from Klei Entertainment. Their previous iterations of Shank and its sequel were disappointing to say the least. Thankfully, Mark of the Ninja is a great game. It's a 2D stealth game where you go around hiding bodies, sneaking through levels, setting traps, and solving puzzles. The art style is the same as all of Klei's games and that'sI am relieved to say that we finally have a good game from Klei Entertainment. Their previous iterations of Shank and its sequel were disappointing to say the least. Thankfully, Mark of the Ninja is a great game. It's a 2D stealth game where you go around hiding bodies, sneaking through levels, setting traps, and solving puzzles. The art style is the same as all of Klei's games and that's fine. The gameplay itself is good and never seems to get repetitive. The game is a decent length for an indie game, clocking in at 6-7 hours for a single playthrough. There are hidden collectibles, challenges, and a scoring system as well as a New Game+ mode to add to the value. The cons are the story, which strives to be something great, and judging by the ending, they thought they had something great, but in reality I really wasn't interested at all in the story. There was nothing about it that drew me in and in the end, you are faced with a decision that you must make, but i was so confused by what was going on, the gravity of that choice didn't have any meaning to me. On top of that, as with all Klei games, the controls are terrible. I played with a gamepad and the controls annoyed me, i can only imagine how awful they are with K&M. There are way too many keys that are used for multiple functions. For instance, you press the "B" key on my 360 gamepad to pick up/drop a body and to interact with cover and other items in the world. So, if you have a body in front of cover or an item to interact with, you have to pick up and move the body and then go back to use the item or cover. There were quite a few times this poor control scheme cost me a life. All in all, the game just isn't fun enough for me to say it is one of the best games I have played. It is a very good one, and definitely the highlight of Klei. If you enjoy 2D games or stealth games, you should definitely check this out. Expand
  22. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    It's very refreshing to see such a distinct game every now and then. In a market full of RTS and FPS games, a stealth one is very welcome. And I hadn't seen such a good one ever since Thief came out.

    So I bought it and have been playing for the last few days. It's already in my favorites in Steam. The level design is gracious and the art is wonderful and eye catching. Also loved the
    It's very refreshing to see such a distinct game every now and then. In a market full of RTS and FPS games, a stealth one is very welcome. And I hadn't seen such a good one ever since Thief came out.

    So I bought it and have been playing for the last few days. It's already in my favorites in Steam. The level design is gracious and the art is wonderful and eye catching. Also loved the gameplay. The only reason I'm not giving it a 10 is because of the shallow, hollow story.
    Expand
  23. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    Fun side-scrolling stealth-action gameplay, with some puzzles. Nice art-style and story as well elevate this game above its competition in the price-range. Level-design is hit and miss though needed a little more variety. Generally-speaking it's worth checking out.
  24. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    I have no idea why this game didn't sell well on Xbox, this is hands down one of the best pure-stealth games, It's so perfect! The Art style is simply beautiful, And this game allows a lot of different approaches, which adds a huge amount of replay value, And for 15 bucks, It's a must have title! Klei made a smart move by putting ít's best game by far on steam, I really hope thisI have no idea why this game didn't sell well on Xbox, this is hands down one of the best pure-stealth games, It's so perfect! The Art style is simply beautiful, And this game allows a lot of different approaches, which adds a huge amount of replay value, And for 15 bucks, It's a must have title! Klei made a smart move by putting ít's best game by far on steam, I really hope this game sells well because it deserves it! Expand
  25. Oct 20, 2012
    9
    It is simply fun. Challenging yet doesn't hamper fluidity. In most cases you could choose to kill or evade without the use of any consumables, both in a variety of different ways. It's among the very few games that I would actually like to replay.
  26. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Perfection. This game is a must own for any stealth fan. Its polished to the max. Art style is gorgeous, and gameplay is flawless, and controls are tight, really tight. What really sticks out for me is the ability to choose how to handle a situation. The level designs give you many choices on how approach a situation which gives big replay value. The killing animations are awesome too. IPerfection. This game is a must own for any stealth fan. Its polished to the max. Art style is gorgeous, and gameplay is flawless, and controls are tight, really tight. What really sticks out for me is the ability to choose how to handle a situation. The level designs give you many choices on how approach a situation which gives big replay value. The killing animations are awesome too. I am surprised why this game is not getting the recognition is deserves. Best stealth game I played in a long time. 10/10 Expand
  27. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing, the gameplay is perfectly done and I love the ending. Although some people may be disappointed by the choices, I felt the game would have had less impact on me if it had ended any other way.
  28. Nov 26, 2012
    6
    Its a good game, no 9/10 tho. Half way thru the game you pretty much discover every tool you need to become a good ninja which leaves the other half of the game a bit stale. Its a fun game just don't expect that much replay value.
  29. Vex
    Nov 29, 2012
    6
    Good 2d stealth game with solid stealth mechanics. While it doesn't compare to some games such as Splinter Cell in terms of pure stealth, it should still provide decent gameplay. Expect to get about 10-15 hours out of the game. On a more negative note, level design is boring and the game turns out to be quite repetitive once you're past the 50% mark. All in all, nothing special and overlyGood 2d stealth game with solid stealth mechanics. While it doesn't compare to some games such as Splinter Cell in terms of pure stealth, it should still provide decent gameplay. Expect to get about 10-15 hours out of the game. On a more negative note, level design is boring and the game turns out to be quite repetitive once you're past the 50% mark. All in all, nothing special and overly memorable though it is a good deal at $15 price tag. Expand
  30. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    This game is unexpectedly fabulous. I thought I wouldn't be having lots of fun with it, but I did, big time. The graphics are very detailed and toon-like, and very very good animated. The story is cool too, somehow a bit of a cliché but hey, you play like a crazy ninja killing machine so it doesn't really matter. The stealth system is a key factor on the game, and very well crafted. IThis game is unexpectedly fabulous. I thought I wouldn't be having lots of fun with it, but I did, big time. The graphics are very detailed and toon-like, and very very good animated. The story is cool too, somehow a bit of a cliché but hey, you play like a crazy ninja killing machine so it doesn't really matter. The stealth system is a key factor on the game, and very well crafted. I liked the character personalization a lot, you have tons of gadgets and techniques to combine, different ninja clothes, and so on, that change the way you play, which is great. As cons, I will say I was a bit disappointed with the endings (there's two possible endings), and also disappointed with the fact that you can not play as a female ninja! And that would be cool Anyway, this game is a must have this year! Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Feb 6, 2013
    84
    A dreamy amalgamation of Shinoby, Deus Ex and Thief. It’s not only the best downloadable game of the year, but a welcome gift for fans of pure stealth gameplay. [November 2012]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 30, 2012
    80
    Splendid stealth platformer offers high levels of addictiveness. Surely aspiring to the title of "Independent title of the year". [Dec 2012]
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    88
    Corvo Attano and Agent 47 couldn't possibly have expected that a platformer from the creators of Shank would stab them in the backs and claim the title of this year's best stealth game.