User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 836 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 99 out of 836

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    "Mark of the Ninja" may be the best stealth game I have ever played. Or at least the most fun one. Because it doesn't require you to spend so much damn time like e.g. Thief but it still punishes you pretty quickly and harshly for not sneaking. At least if you try to get all the "seals" (certain accomplishments for each level). Or you just don't want to be detected, period. Numerous"Mark of the Ninja" may be the best stealth game I have ever played. Or at least the most fun one. Because it doesn't require you to spend so much damn time like e.g. Thief but it still punishes you pretty quickly and harshly for not sneaking. At least if you try to get all the "seals" (certain accomplishments for each level). Or you just don't want to be detected, period. Numerous unlockables and new game plus with actually very fun changes means quite a bit of replayability as well. I especially love one play style that one can unlock that makes literally running through stealthily while not harming anyone possible. Controls are fantastic and whenever the game punishes you, you know that you deserved it. The only unfortunate thing I can find about "Mark of the Ninja" is that it is only available through Steam. But I bet that won't bother anybody here... Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    I first got hooked to this game at PAX East before it was released for Xbox. One of the first questions I had back then was "When is it coming out for PC?" The creator seemed honestly puzzled, like he didn't realized that PC gaming was a thing. They've done an amazing job bringing it over and getting it working extremely well in Steam with achievements. Here's hoping for a sequel,I first got hooked to this game at PAX East before it was released for Xbox. One of the first questions I had back then was "When is it coming out for PC?" The creator seemed honestly puzzled, like he didn't realized that PC gaming was a thing. They've done an amazing job bringing it over and getting it working extremely well in Steam with achievements. Here's hoping for a sequel, multi-player, and Steam-powered. Expand
  3. Oct 18, 2012
    10
    Heard about this game back when it came out for the Xbox LIVE Arcade and how disappointed was I that I did not own an XBox 360. When it was announced for the PC via Steam I was thrilled. I feel that Mark of the Ninja is well worth the price. Quite an enjoyable stealth game and it looks great. I'm not usually one for the cartoony art style but it works well in and is gorgeous, reminds me aHeard about this game back when it came out for the Xbox LIVE Arcade and how disappointed was I that I did not own an XBox 360. When it was announced for the PC via Steam I was thrilled. I feel that Mark of the Ninja is well worth the price. Quite an enjoyable stealth game and it looks great. I'm not usually one for the cartoony art style but it works well in and is gorgeous, reminds me a bit of Samurai jack at times. The animations are not overdone and fluid. The stealth mechanics are great and provide a good variety of sneaking, hiding, stealth kills, sabotage and evasive platforming. The gameplay emphasizes the shadowy, stealthy nature of the ninja to an excellent degree. The AI feels sharp enough, enemies react accordingly to the level of stealth you employ (or lack thereof). I just wish Steam had advertised this game AT ALL leading up it's release; Mark of the Ninja is worthy of a lot of recognition and recommendation. Expand
  4. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    It is a rare thing indeed to rate games a full '10' (it's more like a 9.5 really). There are so many average and below/above average games nowadays that some people have become jaded. I was one one of those jaded folks until I came across "Mark of the Ninja". It takes a lot - and I mean a lot - of time, patience, talent and testing to create such a magnificent accomplishment in gamingIt is a rare thing indeed to rate games a full '10' (it's more like a 9.5 really). There are so many average and below/above average games nowadays that some people have become jaded. I was one one of those jaded folks until I came across "Mark of the Ninja". It takes a lot - and I mean a lot - of time, patience, talent and testing to create such a magnificent accomplishment in gaming (and just about anything really) with all the competition and hype that comes with newer titles. MotN is an epic game with amazing gameplay, spectacular art and design and mechanics that work all the way through to its end. Platformers are becoming more popular again as well as stealth games and this game does both impeccably. There are NO issues here - none. Not one fault. OK, maybe the fact that the guards aren't bright at times and are easy to take advantage of - until you play the highest difficulty (after the game is completed) then you wish it wasn't this hard. The artwork is similar to old school Disney and Genndy Tartoksky's "Samurai Jack" with tons of blood and violence. The backgrounds move and fluctuate and are brilliantly rendered. It's almost like a piece of art hanging at the MoMA. The movements, attacks and tactics are versatile and unique and the player can choose between which best suits them or even which not to use at all with the option to choose some or none. The upgrade system is simple and fluid with no complications or annoyances. Enemies are sharp,adaptive and deadly. Level designs are articulate and challenging with hidden items through. The foley work is excellent as well as the music. The writing is sharp and the plot is engaging. Even the hailkus in the game are brilliantly written. How many games can you say that about?! It's worth more than it's going for and has great replay value. It gets my vote for best game of 2012. Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Mark of the Ninja is an absolutely amazing stealth/platformer. The art style and gameplay are all top notch. Yes, it's 2D, but it's not linear as you can often choose which angle to attack from and can bypass obstacles and enemies entirely. One of the best games of 2012.
  6. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    This game is a gem! Not a raw gem, but a sculpted one, polished with care and attention to detail. An incredibly enjoyable experience, definitely worth the 15$ price of admission. You feel in control of your character at all times and the wonderful aesthetics cement that feeling. Feedback is instantaneous and clear: there's no confusion as to what's happening on screen. You can play thisThis game is a gem! Not a raw gem, but a sculpted one, polished with care and attention to detail. An incredibly enjoyable experience, definitely worth the 15$ price of admission. You feel in control of your character at all times and the wonderful aesthetics cement that feeling. Feedback is instantaneous and clear: there's no confusion as to what's happening on screen. You can play this game slow-paced, taking your sweet time avoiding every guard, or you can try and play at a somewhat more frantic and chaotic pace, using your quick reflexes to jump over guards while avoiding their cone of sight and flashlights, distracting them when need be and killing them when necessary. The controls lend themselves excellently to both play styles! The world needs more games as brilliantly executed as this one. Expand
  7. Oct 20, 2012
    10
    This game is great! i only normally write reviews if a game is either really good or really bad, this game is a solid 10. For $15 off Steam its more than worth the price. If you liked Shank 1 or Shank 2, its the same type of graphics and same gameplay on a keyboard and mouse like shank 2, its made by the same company, and its still a side scrolling game like the Shanks except this oneThis game is great! i only normally write reviews if a game is either really good or really bad, this game is a solid 10. For $15 off Steam its more than worth the price. If you liked Shank 1 or Shank 2, its the same type of graphics and same gameplay on a keyboard and mouse like shank 2, its made by the same company, and its still a side scrolling game like the Shanks except this one involves stealth gameplay and stealth kills. One of the best parts about this game is the game length, its quite long for a 15 dollar indie game and once you think ok this is probably the last level since the story is winding down and the end boss is in this level and the girl even tells you its last mission, well no it keeps going. The story in the game is interesting i suppose nothing special but good enough to keep your attention, its the gameplay thats amazing. The numerous ways u can kill enemys or not kill them is genious. The music is fitting for a stealth ninja game, voice acting is top notch, game length is long enough for me, steam achievements are reasonable, some arent easy but its not kill 100,000 enemys requireing you to play the game 20 times over to achieve it which is really nice, definately possible to get all achievements 2nd time through. GREAT game i really really hope they make a Mark of the Ninja 2. Expand
  8. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    If there is a game out there that can convince someone to enjoy super-invisible, deep stealth (like Thief and the first Splinter Cells), as much as Batman-style action stealth, this is that game. The mechanics of this 2D game are surprisingly and amazingly deep. Enemies will respond to sounds, investigate where they think they saw you, and even be terrorized by your actions. There are aIf there is a game out there that can convince someone to enjoy super-invisible, deep stealth (like Thief and the first Splinter Cells), as much as Batman-style action stealth, this is that game. The mechanics of this 2D game are surprisingly and amazingly deep. Enemies will respond to sounds, investigate where they think they saw you, and even be terrorized by your actions. There are a whole assortment of gadgets that you can use in many ways to turn the tables on your foes. You can perform all sorts of tricks, such as climbing up almost every wall, scurry around in the air ducts, throw a dead body to terrorize some hapless guard. There are even multiple solutions to your problems: do you shank that guard at the first opportunity? Or do you use your gadgets to distract him while you slip past? Or do you even get them to kill each other by accident? The choice is yours. Even months later, I still cannot find anything wrong with this game. It's length is bolstered by the presence of New Game+, its animation is beautiful and well crafted, its sound and music creates perfect ambiance, and even its story, despite being small and short, has a surprising amount of twist and turns to it. Buy this game. This is stealth done PERFECTLY. Expand
  9. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    I have no idea why this game didn't sell well on Xbox, this is hands down one of the best pure-stealth games, It's so perfect! The Art style is simply beautiful, And this game allows a lot of different approaches, which adds a huge amount of replay value, And for 15 bucks, It's a must have title! Klei made a smart move by putting ít's best game by far on steam, I really hope thisI have no idea why this game didn't sell well on Xbox, this is hands down one of the best pure-stealth games, It's so perfect! The Art style is simply beautiful, And this game allows a lot of different approaches, which adds a huge amount of replay value, And for 15 bucks, It's a must have title! Klei made a smart move by putting ít's best game by far on steam, I really hope this game sells well because it deserves it! Expand
  10. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Perfection. This game is a must own for any stealth fan. Its polished to the max. Art style is gorgeous, and gameplay is flawless, and controls are tight, really tight. What really sticks out for me is the ability to choose how to handle a situation. The level designs give you many choices on how approach a situation which gives big replay value. The killing animations are awesome too. IPerfection. This game is a must own for any stealth fan. Its polished to the max. Art style is gorgeous, and gameplay is flawless, and controls are tight, really tight. What really sticks out for me is the ability to choose how to handle a situation. The level designs give you many choices on how approach a situation which gives big replay value. The killing animations are awesome too. I am surprised why this game is not getting the recognition is deserves. Best stealth game I played in a long time. 10/10 Expand
  11. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing, the gameplay is perfectly done and I love the ending. Although some people may be disappointed by the choices, I felt the game would have had less impact on me if it had ended any other way.
  12. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    This is the best 2D stealth game I've ever played, and is only beat by the Arkham games for general stealth. Being reckless will get you killed as it should in any stealth game, but even an action approach, if done correctly, can take down a room full of guards. This opens up various options for combat, or even pure, violence-free stealth.
  13. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    Game has excellent balance between action packed platform jumping and still moment of stealth games. I can recommend this game for everyone that loves platform games.
  14. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    This was an excellent story and it was just the right length. The game play was excellent, this is a 2D game that scrolls as you move and it worked very well. No timed mission, which rush you. Stealth is the key, you can go pacifist or assassin. The upgrades are useful and interesting to unlock as you go and contribute to your style pacifist with distractions or assassinate withThis was an excellent story and it was just the right length. The game play was excellent, this is a 2D game that scrolls as you move and it worked very well. No timed mission, which rush you. Stealth is the key, you can go pacifist or assassin. The upgrades are useful and interesting to unlock as you go and contribute to your style pacifist with distractions or assassinate with weapons & traps. I played Shank 2 (made by Klei as well) all of about 30 mins before giving up on it, so I was skeptical, but this game was so much better. I have to admit that I like stealth games, so I'm biased. Run and gunners may not like it as much. The visuals in the game and cut scenes were a perfect style for the game. This isn't a triple A title, but it is what I expect from an Indie. Excellent value at a reasonable price. Well done Klei. Expand
  15. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    Klei is one of the most outstanding indie game developers around and Mark of the Ninja is a FANTASTIC stealth game. Being a big fan of stealth games it has been a LONG time since a really good stealth game has come out and this one was worth waiting for. The graphics are great, the story is fun and engaging and the play mechanics - they are so well developed. This game requires you toKlei is one of the most outstanding indie game developers around and Mark of the Ninja is a FANTASTIC stealth game. Being a big fan of stealth games it has been a LONG time since a really good stealth game has come out and this one was worth waiting for. The graphics are great, the story is fun and engaging and the play mechanics - they are so well developed. This game requires you to THINK and rewards true stealth play handsomely. Its a challenge without being impossible and being available on Steam for $15 - you would be a fool to not play this game. Its an absolute steal! Expand
  16. Oct 20, 2012
    10
    It is a great game. I want to play it again and again. At present almost no games are combining high-quality graphics and fun gameplay. It is revolution in stealth genre!
  17. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    I feel like I had to write a review for this amazing game in order to help its small title out.

    To get it out there, this game is amazing and the best modern stealth game hands down. Games like Dishonored and Assassins Creed have huge budgets and 3D worlds yet this games simple 2D mechanics are awesome. While you may think 2D means simple there are many ways to play the game. You
    I feel like I had to write a review for this amazing game in order to help its small title out.

    To get it out there, this game is amazing and the best modern stealth game hands down. Games like Dishonored and Assassins Creed have huge budgets and 3D worlds yet this games simple 2D mechanics are awesome.

    While you may think 2D means simple there are many ways to play the game. You unlock different moves, outfits (with abilities that change your playstyle), attack items, and distraction items. Gameplay is tremendous and long lasting. Each level has 3 hidden scrolls (one is in a puzzle), 3 scores to achieve (highscore unlocks all 3 obviously) and 3 unique goals (i.e. kill these guards steathly). This makes you replay the levels which you are glad to do in order to figure it out. The game also gets progressively harder as lasers and guards w/night vision goggles are introduced.

    The story is also good and interesting which is a plus, its not just a random killing game.

    One of the most fun things about the game is killing is actually encouraged. Dishonored made me mad by advertising all sorts of cools ways to kill people then punish you for killing them. Mark of the Ninja gives you different ways to kill people to earn achievments and see fun deaths ranging from dropping chandeliers on guards, hiding in the floor and killing upward, dangling from a lamp and hanging a guard, or my favorite, throwing flesh eating insects on a guard.

    Bottom line if you want a fun action game with violent deaths this game is for you and WELL worth the $15.
    Expand
  18. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Being a fan of fast-paced dodging and killing games (Mirror's Edge, for instance), I got into his game instantly. It does not matter how you like to play. If you like to be sneaky, fast, cruel, or unmerciful, then this 2D side-scroller is for you. You play as a ninja who accepts the First Mark, a tattoo with strange powers, to avenge your clan who was recently attacked by a security and arms enterprise. However, accepting the mark also means sacrificing yourself, as the ink in the tattoo has been said to drive people into stark madness and blind defiance. In my opinion, this was the best 1200 Microsoft Points (Xbox 360) I've spent, and I am more than willing to pay another 15-20$ just to play it on the computer. A great game with flawless animation and an overall amazing gaming experience. 10/10! Expand
  19. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    fantastic game. i dont play stealth games or i use firepower whrn going throuh stealth missions but this stealth is fun. great game as a platformer, as a stealth action beautiful stilization and graphics. i enjoy it big time!
  20. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    I felt compelled to write a review; this game is quite simply, amazing. I was a huge fan of the first Tenchu: Stealth Assassin game on the PlayStation and this tweaks my nostalgia-nub hard. Agent 47 and Shank had a beautiful, kick-ass, baby and you're invited to his party for $15.
  21. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    Honestly, for a 15$ game this game is totally worth it. How often would you find a an amazing high action stealth game in 2D. Haven't had this much fun for a while, try it!
  22. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Mark of the Ninja is a good stealth game, with a great art style and a fresh take on the genre. But I still do not have any idea why people lavish the game with such high praise. While the game has an amazing art style, the game has flaws. The game-play is basically a stealth game in 2D. While I like the fact that you can hide bodies, set traps, upgrade your arsenal, and even terrorizeMark of the Ninja is a good stealth game, with a great art style and a fresh take on the genre. But I still do not have any idea why people lavish the game with such high praise. While the game has an amazing art style, the game has flaws. The game-play is basically a stealth game in 2D. While I like the fact that you can hide bodies, set traps, upgrade your arsenal, and even terrorize your enemies, the level design ranges from good to poor, usually on the bad end of the spectrum. The game constantly you through trial-and-error sections, with the end result of me learning nothing at all and feeling extremely frustrated. Also, the control can be a bit wonky, as sometimes, I'll end up grabbing a body when I meant to pick a lock. And the game loses its appeal once you go through 60% of the game, as you will be frustrated with the fact its basically the same thing over and over but with added traps that are extremely cheap. Also, when you complete the game, you will feel robbed of your efforts. When Mark Of The Ninja does things right, you really will feel like a ninja. However, the sections are few and far between. If you enjoyed Mark Of The Ninja, that's great, you made a good purchase. But for me, Mark Of The Ninja is a clear example of not living up to its potential. Collapse 123 Expand
  23. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Amazing game. Game of the Year for me. It totally reminded me of my old times platying Metal Gear Solid, trying to stay away from the guards and killing them when they weren't looking. If you enjoy stealth games, you'll have a lot of fun with this. It doesn't become repetitive at all and the art is beautiful to look at. And what's even better, it's only 15$!
  24. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Okay, first of all let me ask a question: what is pop up in your mind when some one ask you about stealth game?? Most of the peoples answer is splinter cell series or hitman series. Most of the stealth game was 3D. But Mark of The Ninja kind of rewrite the history. This is the first pc game which bring stealthy game play in 2D platform. Basically it is a fusion of action, stealth andOkay, first of all let me ask a question: what is pop up in your mind when some one ask you about stealth game?? Most of the peoples answer is splinter cell series or hitman series. Most of the stealth game was 3D. But Mark of The Ninja kind of rewrite the history. This is the first pc game which bring stealthy game play in 2D platform. Basically it is a fusion of action, stealth and platform game. Game story is perfect and the game physics and game dynamics is really cool. If you still hesitate I can give you word that after playing this game you will not regret. Expand
  25. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    Solid platform action with excellently executed stealth elements. The story is told through the masterful art direction at every level. A breath of fresh air in an era of video game decadence.

    Controls are intuitive. A smart level design and good hit detection make for an enjoyable ride. The in-game achievements and level system keep level progression interesting.

    Highly recommended.
  26. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    One of the best 2D stealth games I have ever played. Grabbed it for $10 during a Steam sale and I'm loving. The art style is amazing, the gameplay is fluid and the ending... Well, just play it for yourself to see.
  27. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    The controls and feedback this game provides are what pushes it above the rest. The movement of the player character feels free and easy, yet the mechanics provide a feeling of precision and control that lesser platformers lack. Imagine if someone decided to make a 2D stealth-action game and they combined all of the best elements of Dishonored and Super Meat Boy. This is it. Buy thisThe controls and feedback this game provides are what pushes it above the rest. The movement of the player character feels free and easy, yet the mechanics provide a feeling of precision and control that lesser platformers lack. Imagine if someone decided to make a 2D stealth-action game and they combined all of the best elements of Dishonored and Super Meat Boy. This is it. Buy this game! It's one of the best two dimensional games I've played in many years. Expand
  28. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    An unexpectedly good game. I'm not a big fan of the Shank games, but this one is very addictive with tons of replayability.
    The first playthrough was fun, story kept me interested until the end (which was kind of mind blowing). However, the real fun stared after unlocking additional costumes and features, which enabled me to play the game again in a completely different way. You can play
    An unexpectedly good game. I'm not a big fan of the Shank games, but this one is very addictive with tons of replayability.
    The first playthrough was fun, story kept me interested until the end (which was kind of mind blowing). However, the real fun stared after unlocking additional costumes and features, which enabled me to play the game again in a completely different way. You can play as a merciless assassin, a true unseen ninja or a trickster that likes to mess with enemy's mind.
    The controls need a while to get used to. It might happen to you that you will fall off a ledge, even though you only wanted to take a peek. Once you get used to the controls, you will be able to maneuver quickly and do fancy ninja techniques without any problems.
    The overall gameplay experience is absolutely amazing also thanks to the clean graphics. You always know what is happening around you and what you can do about it.
    The game is available on Steam, so you can wait for a discount to grab it, but it's definitely worth it, if you're into stealthy action games.
    Expand
  29. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    Mark of the Ninja is a great and interesting game.
    Klei did great job on this game.
    This game is awesome.
    Amazing 10/10!
    Hop too see the next one and plus the Shank 3.
  30. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    best stealth and perfect 2D game ever it has very unique style of gameplay is smooth and incredibly awesome. Perfect game fast and fluid and s superb.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. 84
    A dreamy amalgamation of Shinoby, Deus Ex and Thief. It’s not only the best downloadable game of the year, but a welcome gift for fans of pure stealth gameplay. [November 2012]
  2. 80
    Splendid stealth platformer offers high levels of addictiveness. Surely aspiring to the title of "Independent title of the year". [Dec 2012]
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    88
    Corvo Attano and Agent 47 couldn't possibly have expected that a platformer from the creators of Shank would stab them in the backs and claim the title of this year's best stealth game.