Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 792 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: "Mark of the Ninja" is a side-scrolling stealth action game from Klei Entertainment that combines fluid 2D animation with intense stealth gameplay. Observe your enemies from afar, manipulate them with your tools, and execute your plan with precision. But be careful - you're as fragile as you are powerful. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Oct 18, 2012
    100
    Nothing short of a stealth masterpiece, Mark of the Ninja highlights everything we love about the genre. [Nov 2012, p.77]
  2. 100
    There's nothing like Mark of the Ninja on Xbox Live Arcade, and now, Steam. Others may taunt fast action stealth, but this is the true evolution of that concept with speedy and thought-provoking mechanics. Keyboard and mouse controls can take a while to get used to, but once you've got it down, you feel like a master assassin. Mark of the Ninja is a triumphant victory that is a must-buy for any and all stealth fans.
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    100
    Rather than pushing off being sneaky to sections or merely offering it as an option, Mark of the Ninja is a return to form for the stealth genre where bypassing an opponent is just as thrilling as killing them.
  4. Oct 24, 2012
    90
    The joy is in figuring out what kind of ninja you want to be. Mark of the Ninja gives you the tools to get the job done, and lets you run wild through levels with diverging paths, tons of secrets, and ways of slaughtering guards. As a result, that feeling of badassery I get upon pulling off a perfectly executed symphony of violence is a well-earned one.
  5. Nov 8, 2012
    90
    A stealth game that turns you into a predator rather than prey. Mark of the Ninja is an engaging sandbox of stealth.
  6. Nov 29, 2012
    88
    Corvo Attano and Agent 47 couldn't possibly have expected that a platformer from the creators of Shank would stab them in the backs and claim the title of this year's best stealth game.
  7. 80
    Splendid stealth platformer offers high levels of addictiveness. Surely aspiring to the title of "Independent title of the year". [Dec 2012]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 123
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Being a fan of fast-paced dodging and killing games (Mirror's Edge, for instance), I got into his game instantly. It does not matter how you like to play. If you like to be sneaky, fast, cruel, or unmerciful, then this 2D side-scroller is for you. You play as a ninja who accepts the First Mark, a tattoo with strange powers, to avenge your clan who was recently attacked by a security and arms enterprise. However, accepting the mark also means sacrificing yourself, as the ink in the tattoo has been said to drive people into stark madness and blind defiance. In my opinion, this was the best 1200 Microsoft Points (Xbox 360) I've spent, and I am more than willing to pay another 15-20$ just to play it on the computer. A great game with flawless animation and an overall amazing gaming experience. 10/10! Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    Wow This is an amazing game... One of the best games I've ever played in my life.... Never expected indie games to be so good and this one...is just fabulous. It shows what a Ninja is truly capable of. If you are even not a fan of platformers this one is a must-play... Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Amazing game. Game of the Year for me. It totally reminded me of my old times platying Metal Gear Solid, trying to stay away from the guards and killing them when they weren't looking. If you enjoy stealth games, you'll have a lot of fun with this. It doesn't become repetitive at all and the art is beautiful to look at. And what's even better, it's only 15$! Collapse
  4. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    Mark of the Ninja caught my attention while browsing steam after pages and pages of first person shooters and scores of tasteless looking puzzle and tactical games. The game justifies its score with a great art design, and a well rounded up overall game dynamic. Nothing is perfect though and a few decisions made by the developers may prove frustrating to some of the least patient players.

    Never since Metal Gear Solid on PSone, have I enjoyed sneaking past heavily guards that much. Mark of the Ninja borrows a lot from the Konami's flagship series. To make the game enjoyable, the rules are made simple: you can see the guards eyesight limit therefore precisely calculate your path. You are given some bandwith (very little) to make errors and therefore help the pace of some of the mission. It is that aspect that may prove tideous to non fans of steath games. However if you are like me and find the option of finishing a game without killing one single enemy an exciting challenge, then this game is for you.

    The graphics are very enjoyable. 2D games in HD usually do, but in Mark of the Ninja, the shadows and visual representations of the sounds are part of the gameplay and are integrated in a really controlled manner. The fluidity of it all is a joy, and the character's movement are of an amazing precision, A controller is highly recommended; I actually don't see how that game could be enjoyed played with a keyboard.

    Sneaking past enemies, jumping from wall to wall and hanging down from ceiling and lamp posts: this is pretty much all you do in this game. Accesorily you can kill anyone without a sound if you enjoyed that way better. I guess that is the big no of this game. It is particular and needs to be accepted as a whole to be enjoyed. It may surprise some gamers with its originality, but it will certainly disappoint and/or frustrate others who were looking for something more Ninja Gaiden like. There is also the Steam integration that is sometimes..well... weird and choppy. I have for instance never been able to post my scores even in Online mode. Not that it makes the game less enjoyable, but it takes away from that good old fashioned score breaking gaming motivation.

    Buy it!
    Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2013
    9
    This game was a slap in the face reminder that games do not need cutting edge graphics to be amazing. I had seemed to forget that. This game makes me wish that I could find a full-sized exploratory rpg game with this kind of 2D graphics. I heavily enjoyed the style of the game and its game play. I got 15 hours in before I beat it but it also has some legit re playability and I plan to beat it again soon. Controls could have been slightly polished, preventing it from getting a 10/10 from me. Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    Fun side-scrolling stealth-action gameplay, with some puzzles. Nice art-style and story as well elevate this game above its competition in the price-range. Level-design is hit and miss though needed a little more variety. Generally-speaking it's worth checking out. Expand
  7. Mar 1, 2014
    0
    This game is NOT a 2D Metal Gear Solid. MGS had a depth of story and style as well as tight controls and action that could be played as a NON-stealth game. This game does not have that. It forcefully holds gamers hands and makes them plod through set pieces without much thought for imagery or imagination. Multiple branching pathways or engrossing storyline will not be found here. Expand

See all 123 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.