Mars: War Logs PC

Mars: War Logs Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 255 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mars: War Logs takes you to the red planet over a century after the catastrophe that threw the planet and its colonists into chaos. Water has become the most precious resource on the arid planet with a few companies fighting a perpetual war for its control. In the middle of this struggle,Mars: War Logs takes you to the red planet over a century after the catastrophe that threw the planet and its colonists into chaos. Water has become the most precious resource on the arid planet with a few companies fighting a perpetual war for its control. In the middle of this struggle, players take on the role of Roy Temperance, a renegade with multiple talents, and plunge into a thrilling cyberpunk RPG on the Red Planet! Players develop Roy and his combat style by choosing among dozens of skills and perks, and fight for his life in dynamic real-time combat against the fearsome creatures of Mars. The crafting system lets players create and modify equipment to maintain an edge over enemies. Dialogue choices as well as actions and decisions made will influence the destiny of the people Roy crosses paths with...and perhaps the fate of all colonies on Mars. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Jun 5, 2013
    85
    This small studio has done remarkably well, despite limited funds and has presented a sci-fi RPG with a slight cyberpunk mood, that has gathered all the good elements from various genre blockbusters. [June 2013]
  2. Apr 29, 2013
    70
    Mars War Logs isn't free of shortcomings, and not all of them can be explained by the low budget of the studio. Some are design mistakes, or skewed ideas. But its basics are pretty solid, and this RPG, as well as its universe, are ambitious and realistic. Its shortcomings should really be overlooked, for a sequel with more means would probably be even more enjoyable.
  3. Jul 14, 2013
    65
    Mars: War Logs is worth a go as long as you understand out of the gate it’s not a triple -A -title. But as a gamer, a true gamer, you may just find yourself some entertainment here.
  4. May 3, 2013
    60
    With a higher budget Mars: War Logs might have become a completely different action-RPG, but even so, despite the many limitations and considering the budget price, the final result is more than satisfactory.
  5. May 9, 2013
    55
    As a follow-up to Of Orcs and Men, War Logs is a let down. If you only have $20, however, supporting a studio as intrepid as Spiders is worthy endeavor and there is fun to be had here. Still, caution is advised.
  6. Jun 24, 2013
    50
    With a dearth of decent western RPGs as of late, players desperate for something new might find that Mars War Logs scratches that itch, but don't expect anything amazing.
  7. May 10, 2013
    40
    With better pacing and a lot more balancing, Mars: War Logs could have been a fresh, satisfying take on BioWare’s proven formula. Its intriguing premise and characters eventually succumb to its broken systems, creating a fiction you’ll hope sooner to finish than completely understand.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 88
  2. Negative: 8 out of 88
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    Very well done game for the price of $20. They've done a lot of things right.

    The combat is fairly good, at first it may seem weird but it
    Very well done game for the price of $20. They've done a lot of things right.

    The combat is fairly good, at first it may seem weird but it works well.
    The quest are somewhat interesting, some are fetch this, bring it back, but other feel well placed for the setting.
    For the lip sync you end up not realising that it's out of time and done fairly bad. Voice acting isn't the best but the main characters voice acting is done very well!
    The setting is great, the graphics are not top notch, but they don't have to be. I fell it adds character the the Mars setting and the fits the game very well.
    Has good character progression. Things you do can reflect on comments made by other characters. Skill tree isn't as vast as say Skyrim, but you wouldn't need anything more than what it gives.

    Overall, It's a really fun game. The characters are done well, dialogue is all there(character background etc. combat works great, story is interesting. Well worth the buy!

    10/10! May seem high to some but this little title that came from no where is great
    Expand
  2. May 4, 2013
    9
    I usually have such a hard time finishing games but this one was able to keep my attention the whole time. The game was a little short (tookI usually have such a hard time finishing games but this one was able to keep my attention the whole time. The game was a little short (took 11 hours), but the combat was fun. This game was worth more than 20$ in my opinion as this is by far one of the best indie games I've played.
    I went with medium difficulty which was a little too easy. They definitely reward you if you enjoy looking in every corner, as you can almost guarantee loot.
    Voice acting wasn't as bad as I thought it would be from all of the other reviews. Although they did pronounce egotistical wrong (like 'leggo my eggo'-tistical) and that gave me a laugh. They also didn't always follow the subtitles either (only minor differences).
    As far as the story goes it was pretty good and doing the side missions were enjoyable instead of a grind.
    Expand
  3. May 8, 2013
    9
    The best RPG I have played in recent years. It has all what I look for in this genre: good argument, exciting atmosphere, charismaticThe best RPG I have played in recent years. It has all what I look for in this genre: good argument, exciting atmosphere, charismatic characters and a deep combat system. Highly recommended, believe me! Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2015
    8
    This Game is buggy, doesn't have many animations nor 3d models, but it's fun. I like it.

    It's a great game despite all the bad critics.
    This Game is buggy, doesn't have many animations nor 3d models, but it's fun. I like it.

    It's a great game despite all the bad critics. Spiders is a small and very talented studio from France, I like what they do.
    Expand
  5. Jun 26, 2014
    7
    Don't be repelled by my rating of 7 - it is a good rating after all and the game is solid. It has unique setting, engaging narrative andDon't be repelled by my rating of 7 - it is a good rating after all and the game is solid. It has unique setting, engaging narrative and passionate voice acting. It is a solid RPG with melee fighting system. However the game does not reach higher than 7 for me for a number of reasons - repeating environments(ala Dragon Age 2), limited ranged weapons(1 in total), skill trees not balanced and not well designed, too much unnecessary animations - like opening doors(although they can be skipped), too much running back and forth in linear environment. But, dialogues and decision making is there and this is what makes a good rpg. Worth the money spent, just wish it had a bigger budget. Expand
  6. Dec 5, 2015
    7
    Keeping in mind 'Mars: War Logs' is made by a small studio, with considerably less resources than AAA devs, I feel it deserves an seven, whenKeeping in mind 'Mars: War Logs' is made by a small studio, with considerably less resources than AAA devs, I feel it deserves an seven, when compared to the cheap thrills that larger studios blow their advertising wads on these days.

    War Logs is an actual RPG, not just in namesake like most 'RPG' games recently which have been crafted to within an inch of actually being a First Person Shooter.(barely any RPG elements). ie. Mass Effect 2, Dragon Age 2 etc.

    War Logs:Mars is great value for it's price, it just needed to be fleshed out a little more, both in content and scope. Yes it is a little too bare, and could use better writing, however, the foundation has been set for a great successor to be created.
    I hope to see a more expansive War Logs game in the near future!
    Expand
  7. May 15, 2013
    0
    I'd love to tell you how the game plays, but I can't the cursor keys don't work for moving forward back left right, and you can't remapI'd love to tell you how the game plays, but I can't the cursor keys don't work for moving forward back left right, and you can't remap ANY controls whatsoever! The controls menu simply shows what keys do what it doesn't actually allow changes. The PC version even has a picture of a console controller in the options that's how bad the PC port is.

    I know this isn't a AAA game by a major studio, but even so, there is a reasonable user interface baseline which quite frankly, this game doesn't even meet 1990's "shareware" games standard (even "Doom" in 1993 had standard cursor key controls). WASD vs cursor keys flexibility is for left vs right handers and variable mouse position to the left vs right of the keyboard (and even then many right handers prefer cursor keys some right handers also use the mouse with their left hand). This is not exactly a "new thing" and has been known to PC game designers for what 20 years now? Not being a major studio is no excuse This is by the far the worst game interface on any game in years.
    Expand

See all 88 User Reviews