Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 622 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Marvel Heroes is a free-to-play online game from Gazillion Entertainment.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 38
  2. Negative: 9 out of 38
  1. Jun 17, 2013
    80
    Marvel Heroes won't win any prizes for originality, but it is an extremely fun game in its own right that makes effective use of the license at its disposal, and it's always refreshing to encounter a free-to-play title that is intended to be precisely that.
  2. Jun 13, 2013
    73
    You can play Marvel Heroes through without spending any money on it, and it will be a decent experience for you. However, the inelegant handling of multiple characters, along with the lack of any real difficulty means that it doesn’t quite reach the heights of other games in the genre. But it is the only game of its type where you can play as your favourite Marvel characters and that is certainly something that will draw many people in.
  3. Jun 22, 2013
    70
    In an era where superheroes are extremely popular, it is very smart to make a videogame and put large parts of the Marvel Universe in it. This is done pretty okay in the free-to-play action-RPG Marvel Heroes. It's not as deep and big as other online RPG's, which makes it attractive to the mainstream crowd.
  4. Jun 19, 2013
    60
    Marvel Heroes honours the Marvel material, but its game mechanics lack enough variety and personality to justify the intrusive and aggressive monetisation model implemented by Gazillion.
  5. Jul 16, 2013
    60
    At the end of the day, though, these few good points don’t make up for the flaws with what should be the most important elements of a game like this - the combat and the loot grind - and an overall lack of polish. Being free to play, you don’t lose out on anything but 15 odd gigabytes of your data cap if you want to give Marvel Heroes a go, but with that said, it’s hard to recommend this game over the other free to play lootfests that are around.
  6. 50
    A hack & slash game without a skinner-box loot reflex is bad enough. T o make matters worse, the quality of the fighting mechanics never holds up with the wide roster of heroes. If your favorite Marvel character is in the starting line up of this free-to-play MMO, one go can't hurt. Still, it's a shame what this turned out to be, considering the promising license.
  7. Jun 25, 2013
    30
    The combat is dull, the graphics are boring, even the heroes – the games' big selling point – are totally underwhelming. Not to mention ridiculously expensive for any extras. It's free to try, but it's not really worth the bandwidth either.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    My favorite part of Marvel Heroes is character. character's power skill is nice and cool.
    but, some lag made me annoy.
    if some lag is fixed
    and more fun contents is added, Marvel Heroes will be great game. Expand
  2. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    As a Premium Pack owner, let me say I am glad I invested the money in this game. Sure, the launch was rocky. Things have improved drastically since then though. In short, the developers have been listening to the community and making [EXCELLENT] changes accordingly. They are giving our beloved characters an [at least] once over. They are making a better systems that allows players to be able to obtain heroes (and other items) without having to pay anything. They have dropped prices. They are adding a lot of content in the next couple of months. I would encourage both new players and those thinking about returning to check out their website and look the Doomsaw Dev Blog #1 and Eternity Splinter posts. Seriously, if you are thinking about returning now is the time. They are getting ready to implement a ton of new things that address issues that plagued the game early on! Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    This game is a ton of fun. It a terribly rocky launch but things are smooth now. It still has bugs though but that's common with launches. They should be ironed out soon. Every character is a blast to play and after beating the main missions the end game content will keep you coming back for more. I'm not much of PVPer so you'll have to check another review for that. Right now the game is a 7 out 10 with potential to be a 9 or 10 once everything is more balanced and the bugs are gone. Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    The game is a lot of fun. The bosses are all unique and incredibly challenging. I don't think anyone will be able to complete this game without dying on their first try. I've died over 10 times already and im a pretty experienced gamer. So far I've only really played Cyclops and I'm having a blast. Each class is pretty unique and there is definitely a hero for everyone out there

    Only downsides to the game are the pricing model (everything seems to be incredibly expensive), the grind in between zones (however this is good if you like to explore everything), and the bugs/client problems.
    Expand
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    6
    Quick answer, do I like the game? Hell no, boring, not enough characters I would play to choose from and repetitive game play with very little reward. Will I be keeping an eye on the game for heroins I want to play such as X-23, yes. I would play the crap out of this game if I had options like that. There is a list actually in the forums asking people who they want to see as a playable character in-game. People from all wakes of life and Marvel fandoms have given answers.

    First off, I should state that this game does have developers from Diablo II. They have also stated that many of them also loved Diablo II when it was big. That being said, yes this game is more or less a Diablo II clone. I believe that fans of Diablo II would greatly enjoy this game because it has many elements of game play from D2. Though there is a “if and only if” clause to that statement.

    You should enjoy online games, you would need to at the least enjoy comic book like story telling, and also understand the quality of a made to be, Free to Play online MMO (F2P). I was invited during the second tier closed beta, I believe and when I first started the game was just barely playable. Really laggy, client and server side, the frames per second were much too low to actually play comfortably. The User Interface was just ugly as fresh dog dooky, and controls were only friendly to me because I new the core game.

    As a testament to gazillion games though, I want to point out that every single problem early beta had has been cleaned up, fixed, and polished for their summer release. Of course minor game bugs are still here and there but those can be cleaned up with time.

    I think a lot of the numbers Marvel Heroes will see right after going live will be those that have been following the game because of either of those elements, gaming, and comics. I also think that if you haven’t play Super Hero Squad Online, that you should research a little about the game before you hate on Marvel Heroes in its current version.

    The game play, if you have not ever played Diablo II, is your standard dungeon crawler with your character’s movements controlled by mouse clicks and your hand placed across “ASDF”. You use your Super Powers with “ASDF” and your basic attacks with left and right mouse. You can also hold down Shift to stand in one place while you get off a few ranged shots before the melee npc swarm you.

    I should point out that this game is character driven. By that I mean, if you don’t like or at least tolerate one of the starting characters you’ll find the game to be rather boring.

    I was comfortable with Scarlet Witch until I was able to use Ms. Marvel and see for myself the drastic game play difference. Scarlet is weak in melee and I got my butt kicked a lot, but with Ms. Marvel I was a wreaking ball. I spent most of my time with Ms. Marvel until we were given more G’s to spend in the store. G’s are this game’s real money transfer currency. Here is where my first issue with this game lays. If you don’t want to play any of the starting characters you have to either A) keep playing and experience everything new with someone you don’t like until a hero you do want is dropped as loot. B) You spend real money for in-game money and buy your favorite hero, or second favorite hero.

    I’m well aware that I am a minority here when I say this but I really only like to play female heroes, super or otherwise. If I play this after it goes live I either have to spend money on a free game or play it half hearted until someone better drops. Here is this problem’s saving grace. Like I mentioned before, this game very closely resembles Super Hero Squad Online. They are also made by the same company, this gives me a higher outlook for this game that I would by just reading reviews about it. SHSO has a CRAP ton of possible heroes and heroins to play as, from Emma Frost to She-Hulk.

    I should also point out that you can use the “armor” loot that drops from mobs but it won’t change your appearance at all. You have to wait for costume patterns to drop and then make them with ingredients that also drop, or just use some G’s and buy them in the store. Costumes are a little more than vanity items unless you craft them, then they have minor stats on them.

    So, does all this mean that Marvel Heroes is going to make a boom when it hits the free MMO market? Not a chance, at least not in the way most people think it will right now. Luckily, this game isn’t going to be subscription based, otherwise it would surely flop. The income for this game will be solely from the G Store sales and possible deals they might run through out the year.

    Does this game stand up against Diablo III, sure, if you love Super Heroes more than sand and medieval settings. Does this game stand up against DC Universe Online, totally, it is something new and fresh for the time being but it is only PC for now.
    Expand
  6. Dec 27, 2013
    4
    Game is a total money grab. Leveling up gets so frustrating that you are almost forced to buy xp potions. Considering how many heroes there are this is just insane. To level one hero to level 60 in a decent amount of time (15 hours) you would need at least 100% bonus xp all the time. Which amounts to 15 potions per leveling. Transferred into that means 15$ to level a hero. Or double the time needed to level him.
    Next on the list are retcon devices. They are there to reset your skill points. Problem is the game has constant changes and updates to skills and heroes so you will need to spend money on those too. So again Item drops are ok until you hit lvl 60. By that time you will maybe obtain all the unique items(if you are lucky enough) for one hero, and guess what, once you have them there are no better items to be found.
    Which brings us to legendary items. Those can be obtained through gathering enough odinmarks, and odinmarks are rewards for finishing legendary missions. Problem with those is they really aren't that impressive, you can only wear one at the time and they take too much time to acquire. Not worth the time.
    Items that drop during leveling can be upgraded to higher level but again the amount of credits you need to gather to upgrade just one of them is insane. And credits take again an absurd amount of time. Imagine you have 5 unique items that are not lvl 60. Now if you want to upgrade them all to lvl 60 items you will need to farm for credits for at least 10 hours to be able to upgrade ONE. That is 50 hours just there. And the credit cam is only 3 million...go figure.

    All those boosts and retcons can of course be obtained for free but in such a small amount it's not even enough to level one hero.

    What i must say is that playnig from the beginning game is very fun but once you realize what endgame is you just loose interest, especially if you are one hero kind of guy. I have spent more than 100€ in the last 6 months since the release and i only have 1 lvl 60 hero. Lots of my friends lost interest too.

    Mr. David Brevik (former Blizzard north/diablo 2) was promising all kinds of stuff which sadly were not delivered. Kinda reminds me of Jay Wilson (also former Blizzard north/diablo 2).
    At gazillion entertainment they are really trying to make this game better and they are very involved into the forums community but things that most hinder this game still persist.

    If you are not a real marvel fan, or casual player/kid you should really try and play this game for free and not invest anything. If you are hardcore i suggest you try Path of Exile, Torchlight 2, The incredible adventures of van helsing or even Diablo 3. Those are far better choices for you. I surly hope Gazillion makes the drastic changes and try to market more costumes instead of making a game frustrating and marketing exp potions.

    IMHO those are my 2 cents
    Expand
  7. Apr 19, 2014
    0
    Just like another review said, do NOT trust any review that rates this game as 8+. They're all given by fanboys trying to raise the score so Gazillion can lure more unsuspecting victims to their sinking ship.

    The fact that this company is also responsible for Super Hero Squad Online (which is basically "baby's first action RPG") should clue you in to its lack of experience making more complex games. e.g.: horrible optimization, characters that are rushed full of game-breaking bugs because of deadlines, lack of helpful itemization, and a need to constantly destroy the way you mitigate damage for no reason other than wanting players to die over and over.

    And the worst part is their boldfaced lies. Always claiming that they "listen to the community," and are "willing to accept criticism, as long as it's constructive." It seems that "constructive" to them means "as long as it doesn't hurt our precious feelings." Any criticism, no matter how respectful, is met with unfair bans or all comments being hidden from the public (not deleted, just that no one can see victims' forum posts). And they keep talking about "buffing, not nerfing," but every buff ends up being worthless, and every nerf is disastrous.

    I pray for the day that Marvel opens their eyes and wrests the license away from these worthless wannabes, and gives it to a REAL game developer.
    Expand

See all 324 User Reviews