Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Cerberus has procured the service of Kasumi Goto, the galaxy’s most enigmatic master thief. In return for her help, Kasumi has asked Shepard’s help on a dangerous heist to infiltrate the vault of a deadly master criminal named Donovan Hock. Gain Kasumi’s loyalty on the planet Bekenstein, where Hock is throwing a party for the galaxy’s richest and most deranged criminal minds to recover data of great importance to Kasumi... and to the galaxy at large. New squad member, weapon, research, and achievement. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. No matter the reasoning, "Stolen Memory" is something every Mass Effect junkie should own, if not just to justify popping the disk in again.
  2. Sure, it is more of a great game, but for only a couple of hours maximum of game play it hardly seems an appropriate price point.
  3. Kasumi - Stolen Memory is money well spent and a great expansion to Mass Effect 2 that tells the story about the space ninja Kasumi Goto. It really fits in the universe and feels like a natural add-on that all Mass Effect-fans should get.
  4. Honestly, Kasumi's Loyalty Mission isn't that great. Also, you're only getting about an hour and a half (max) of additional content. At least the extra goodies and crew member are solid.
  5. With only a couple of minor decisions to be made and just a short shootout section there's no significant replay value to KSM, but you do get a marginally improved SMG, a stealthy, lethal companion and a snazzy new casual outfit to strut around the Normandy in. [July 2010, p.79]
  6. The combat is fun and the references are clever, but this incredibly short downloadable add-on lacks character.
  7. If you are just playing (or replaying) through Mass Effect 2, then grab this DLC and inject the added content into your adventure. But if you have been done with the game for a while, a lone new Achievement, an added team member, a very short new mission, and a scrap of new loot may not be enough for extended service aboard the Normandy.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    I really like Kasumi and this mission it's good to have her all to myself and apart from her introduction on board the Citadel you never get to talk to her except in auto dialogue which is a shame,anyway I like this as it's not all about shooting,you can actually walk around taking in the views as well,it would have been nice if it was longer,but it made a pleasant change and you get an excellent SMG as well,this by far is my Favourite DLC but all ME2 content is better than the final game in my opinion. Expand
  2. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    It was short but this was absolutely the best DLC for Mass Effect 2. I cannot say enough about Kasumi and her abilities. Her personality was so awesome. My ONLY disappointment was that she didn't have a deeper dialogue options like the rest of you squad members. I whole-heartedly hope that Kasumi will return for Mass Effect 3! Expand
  3. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved this dload.
    It was different than the main game and other dload, in the sense that you didnt have to kill everything and anyone to some degree.
    Alot of alternative options, do surveilance then distract guards.
    1st playthrough I went for a more sneaky route, I thought but ended up killing a ton of guards, 2nd play I inspeceted all the surrondings and managed to trick a guard --> 0 bullets fired.

    The SMG you get as a reward is alot of fun.
    Kasumi is a rather likeable companion, she's like a Robin Hood of ME.

    Main drawback is that its rather short, scenery is awesome but since the explore options are limited to watching a beautiful panaroma it dont offer enough.

    Given price vs fun-value I still rate it very highly
    Expand
  4. Sep 7, 2010
    8
    The content is worth it alone, for the acquisition of Kasumi, a master of stealth and technical abilities. This is definitely a DLC worth downloading on a new play through, so you can reap the benefits of having Kasumi at your disposal at an earlier point in the story, and hearing more of her unique dialogue present in earlier missions. However, the content itself does more than enough to stand in good stead on a current play through. Much like the content that includes Zaeed, Stolen Memory adds two new missions, one the Dossier mission from the Illusive Man, and two, the loyalty mission, which in this case feels something slightly altered from what we are used to seeing in the Mass Effect series. Without giving too much away, it does feel slightly more spy, James Bond-esque, with the player having to infiltrate undetected, going undercover finding passwords by talking to guards, and overall being a bit more sneaky than perhaps the rest of the series is geared towards. It is a refreshing change to using biotic powers on waves of robot mech's, and if the player is interested in a different approach, then they will feel right at home with this DLC. It still features combat towards the end of the mission. It would just have been slightly more interesting had a few more missions or assignments been present to get to know Kasumi a little better, perhaps assisting on more of her assassination missions, I could imagine a night time museum mission appropriate, with spotlight evasion and a silenced weapon. Still, even without turning the series into a Splinter Cell spin-off, the content is worth its weight on its own merit, an interesting mission, and a fabulous new squad member, that will assist on the Suicide Mission, should it not be complete. Kasumi's quarters on the Normandy is probably the most interesting of the lot too, you can see a variety of objects she has stolen on her past missions, and she will talk you through the background behind them all. She also has a bar where the player can drink, an observation window for looking into space, and what seems to be a 22nd Century games console, although unfortunately it is not interactive! Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2010
    8
    I pretty much downloaded this DLC for the chance to use Kasumi, with the actual loyalty mission as more of a bonus. The character design of Kasumi is very interesting; something of a Jedi-looking ninja something or other, but I like her design a lot. I was pleasantly surprised that they didn't go the usual route of giving the character a stereotypical "Asian accent" which was a nice change of pace (nothing wrong with the accent, but it's done every time). Kasumi's powers are what you would expect, reminding me of Makoto Kusanagi from Ghost in the Shell, and are very ninja-like. All in all I was very happy with her performance and she's actually quite powerful with her cloaking maneuver. The loyalty mission itself is nice, although I do wish the developers would have given the female Shepherd a better walking animation when in the casual outfit. The movement is not very pretty when in a dress, but I guess in a way a female Shepherd would probably still walk like a soldier. All in all the beginning of the mission was fun, with a nice bit of variety from the standard run in and start shooting types. Also a plus is that for those who do like to go out in a hail of gunfire, then this one will get your interest towards the end of it, and it's a pretty good challenge with only you and Kasumi (difficulty was Veteran). I enjoyed the experience and the chance to get Kasumi, but for some the price may not be worth it. Collapse
  6. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kasumi is one of the best designed characters in the series to this point, featuring skills and talents that later went on to get used for the 'Infiltrator' class in Mass Effect 3. Stolen Memory heads off on a tangent from the main Mass Effect story to provide you a brief break from dealing with the Reapers to recruit somebody, who in my opinion, is one of the best characters in the series (after Garrus and Tali, of course).

    It is definitely worth picking this up before starting a new playthrough and recruiting Kasumi as early on as possible.

    As a bonus to completing Stolen Memory, Kasumi will make a brief cameo appearance in Mass Effect 3 and the Mass Effect 3: Citadel DLC.
    Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2012
    7
    Not a necessary addition, but nice to have regardless. For the Mass 2 fanatic gasping for more (which many of us were when this was released), you could do so much worse. Expand