User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3993 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 12, 2017
    8
    This game is great as both a standalone venture and as a sequel. The highlight of the game is the combat which is both simplistic and complex enough to feel rewarding without having to put too much effort. Compared to the first game there are a lot of improvements, namely in the combat and character development, but at times the dialogue does suffer from being a bit out of place. In factThis game is great as both a standalone venture and as a sequel. The highlight of the game is the combat which is both simplistic and complex enough to feel rewarding without having to put too much effort. Compared to the first game there are a lot of improvements, namely in the combat and character development, but at times the dialogue does suffer from being a bit out of place. In fact behind the whole game there is that feeling of being "out of place" which is the main reason I gave it an 8... beyond the fact its super easy to accidentally get stuck behind cover. Expand
  2. Nov 29, 2017
    8
    Nice Sequel, again great story, soundtrack and characters but this time game-play and side quests are very good, and last mission......last mission is the best mission of all games! Very Good game and definitely best Mass Effect.
  3. Nov 18, 2017
    10
    It's a must have game.
    It's on pair with Fallout 1 (1997), Baldur's Gate 2 (2000), Dragonage (2009) and all the other classic rpg.
    Plenty of player choice, very good narrative, detailed character, splendid voice acting, fun combat (Beware though that it's more action oriented....gameplay it's more "simple" than old school turn-based rpg). I really liked the interactions between player
    It's a must have game.
    It's on pair with Fallout 1 (1997), Baldur's Gate 2 (2000), Dragonage (2009) and all the other classic rpg.
    Plenty of player choice, very good narrative, detailed character, splendid voice acting, fun combat (Beware though that it's more action oriented....gameplay it's more "simple" than old school turn-based rpg).
    I really liked the interactions between player and companions and npc.
    Play it !!!!, Now you cand find it very cheap.
    Expand
  4. Oct 27, 2017
    10
    Bellissimo!! Consigliato, non posso aggiungere nulla alle altre recensioni...... da comprare assolutamente!!! 10/10!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  5. Aug 13, 2017
    10
    One of the best games in gaming history if not the best. I really enjoyed the mass effect 3 but yeah the ending wasn't the best. Still the story, the characters, the jokes, the epic moments, the choices u had to make and everything was perfect. It's a shame that u can't say that from the Andromeda
  6. Jul 10, 2017
    10
    Mass Effect 2 takes the story and characters from the first game and adds an even better story and more characters with a darker, almost noir / horror overtone. More of a third-person-shooter with RPG elements instead of a “regular” RPG, the missions, voice-acting, music, combat, and graphics come together for an unforgettable ride. Mass Effect 2 is BioWare’s high water mark and theMass Effect 2 takes the story and characters from the first game and adds an even better story and more characters with a darker, almost noir / horror overtone. More of a third-person-shooter with RPG elements instead of a “regular” RPG, the missions, voice-acting, music, combat, and graphics come together for an unforgettable ride. Mass Effect 2 is BioWare’s high water mark and the pinnacle of the developer’s “golden age.” A less than ideal DLC situation tempers the enthusiasm, but only a little.

    ++ That final mission. What missions you have completed (or haven’t!), what upgrades you installed (or didn’t!), who you assign to certain tasks as part of the mission – the fate of your crew literally rests on your decisions.

    + Mass Effect 2 assembles a fantastic cast of diverse characters. Several return from the first game (like Garrus and Tali), while the new additions all have unique personalities and back stories. Including DLC, there are TWELVE possible squad-mates.
    + The stakes are high. With the rest of the galaxy closing their eyes to the Reaper threat that manifested in the first Mass Effect game, Shepard is the only person with the opportunity to halt the coming invasion.
    + Character missions. While saving the galaxy is well and good, helping your team become focused for the final battle involves the completion of individual “loyalty missions.” Lots of variety here, from pursuing a gang lord through a burning factory (Zaeed’s mission), to exploring the rubble of the krogan homeworld (Mordin’s mission) to fighting the criminal underworld in the backstreets of Ilium (Miranda’s mission), you’ll be taken many places as you help the members of your squad find a small measure of peace.
    + The voice acting is some of the best in a video game. In addition to the return of series regulars voiced by Mark Meer / Jennifer Hale, Keith David, Brandon Keener and Seth Green, the supporting cast includes Martin Sheen (yes, THAT Martin Sheen), Yvonne Strahovski, Claudia Black, Adam Baldwin, Tricia Helfer, Shohreh Aghdashloo, and Michael Hogan.
    + Great soundtrack. Jack Wall & crew kept the synth base of the previous Mass Effect soundtrack, but added more orchestra and bigger Hollywood-style heroic themes.
    + Good graphics (Unreal 3). While not Crysis, still some of the best visuals of its time. Low-res textures aside, they hold up well.
    + Ability to import saves from Mass Effect 1. Several of the decisions you made in the first game have an impact here.

    +/- Greatly improved combat over the first Mass Effect game. Weapons have decent heft, while individual weapons feel and sound different from each other (even if the damage they do is largely similar). Gone, though, is the unlimited ammunition of the previous game; now we have “thermal clips,” which makes the gunplay much like every other shooter out there. The tactical pause menu is present, and is still useful, as companion AI is still not the best.
    +/- The Mako rover (and planetary exploration) is gone. Rejoice, ye who hated the Mako.
    +/- Mass Effect 2 is a complete experience without DLC, but several DLC are great adventures (Lair of the Shadow Broker, Kasumi, Arrival, Overlord).

    - No, the Deluxe Edition does NOT include all the DLC.
    - The DLC is pricey. Buying ALL the available, non-free DLC will require 3600 “BioWare Points” (BP), which will cost $45.
    - Logging in to EA’s “Cerberus Network” is required to play with DLC installed.
    - Capped at 62 fps. This can be unlocked via a config file.
    - Load times are oddly high.
    - RPG elements are greatly reduced / gone. Skills and talents are extremely streamlined. Using one skill puts ALL of the skills on cool-down, forcing you to create combos with your squad (in the first Mass Effect, using a skill triggered a cool-down for only that skill). The loot and inventory management is completely gone; instead Shepard finds credits, medigel, the occasional weapon and “various industrial bits” (seriously, that’s what some scrap is called).
    - Forced sequence of missions. Unlike the first Mass Effect, which allowed you to play the primary missions in any order, Mass Effect 2 tiers the primary missions in prescribed stages. My understanding is that the game was forced into this format so console players wouldn’t need to keep swapping discs.
    - The famous “climbing bug” can happen anywhere, any time Shepard makes contact with terrain. It has never been patched. Quick-save often.

    Mass Effect 2 is a superb sequel and one of the great narrative-driven space adventure games. It would easily be worth the asking price, but the pricey DLC means you should only get it when on sale for 75% off. EA is mercilessly milking a fantastic game because they know they have a true classic on their hands, and they know that people will pay to experience it. *smh*
    Expand
  7. Jul 2, 2017
    9
    Mass Effect 2 is like Christopher Nolan's The Dark Knight - the type of outstandingly amazing sequel that surpasses every aspects of its memorable predecessor.
  8. Jun 10, 2017
    9
    Great game. i have spent a lot of time on this title. It has a great story with memorable characters. Good gameplay with lots of possibilities during missions and best cut scenes with good dialogs.
  9. Jun 6, 2017
    10
    Звёздные Войны от мира игр:часть вторая.

    Игра продолжает рассказывать историю начатую в прошлой части и если говорить без спойлеров,а просто,то она делает это великолепно 9,7/10.Графику чуть улучшили смотрится играбельно 7,6/10.Геймплей и боёвка стали намного лучше и стрелять приятней,и спелы выглядят более привлекательнее 9/10.Сайд квесты стали намного лучше чем в 1 части
    Звёздные Войны от мира игр:часть вторая.

    Игра продолжает рассказывать историю начатую в прошлой части и если говорить без спойлеров,а просто,то она делает это великолепно 9,7/10.Графику чуть улучшили смотрится играбельно 7,6/10.Геймплей и боёвка стали намного лучше и стрелять приятней,и спелы выглядят более привлекательнее 9/10.Сайд квесты стали намного лучше чем в 1 части 9,6/10.Музыка,звуки,атмосфера всё на месте(хотя в 1 части атмосфера была чуть лучше)10/10.Диалоги,даже не знаю что сказать кроме того что они стали ещё лучше чем в первой части.Система диалогов,её тоже подправили и теперь Шепард говорит практически в точности то,что ты хочешь(хотя иногда случаются проёбы).Ну вот вроде и конец,в итоге могу сказать вот что 9,7/10/

    P.S.Я кстати ни ебу кто придумал называть ME ЗВ,наверно потому что они оба про космос,ну или потому что они оба шедевральны!
    Expand
  10. May 17, 2017
    9
    Mass Effect 2 improves on the already impressive Mass Effect in almost every way. Space exploration feels deeper, the characters and missions more varied and even better your squad mates can take their guns from their holsters without shooting themselves in the face, an absolute must play.
  11. May 12, 2017
    10
    The Best Mass Effect game. The Best companions, the Best music, the Best variety of endings, the Best dialogue.
    I recommend to play or replay this one instead of ugly, 1 ending, boring, non-effort Andromeda.
  12. Apr 26, 2017
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is maybe the best sci-fi game ever made. Despite some repetitive sections (like the scanning minigame) the game is absolutely amazing. The story and the characters are incredibly well-written. The gameplay is fun, full of choices and far superior than the gameplay of the original Mass Effect. The graphics were very polished for its time. And the sound design is in a very highMass Effect 2 is maybe the best sci-fi game ever made. Despite some repetitive sections (like the scanning minigame) the game is absolutely amazing. The story and the characters are incredibly well-written. The gameplay is fun, full of choices and far superior than the gameplay of the original Mass Effect. The graphics were very polished for its time. And the sound design is in a very high quality level. Almost perfect. Expand
  13. Apr 19, 2017
    10
    many years later, just wanting to add this is the game that other games measure by. 10/10 is a bit extreme, but by hindsight comparison, this game had it all and it was at Biowares best with all the talent, the creativity, and the love for games.
    May they one day reclaim some of this past glory.
  14. Apr 17, 2017
    10
    Troisième fois que je le finis (après deux fois sur la version 360) et c'est toujours une joie ! Une sorte de simulateur de relations humaines (souvent drôles) dans un univers fascinant avec des combats qui tutoient la perfection (immense amélioration depuis le premier épisode) et une histoire simple certes mais très efficace. Les douze salopards dans l'espace en somme (13 avec Shepard siTroisième fois que je le finis (après deux fois sur la version 360) et c'est toujours une joie ! Une sorte de simulateur de relations humaines (souvent drôles) dans un univers fascinant avec des combats qui tutoient la perfection (immense amélioration depuis le premier épisode) et une histoire simple certes mais très efficace. Les douze salopards dans l'espace en somme (13 avec Shepard si on prend en compte tous les DLC...).

    Cette version PC n'est hélas pas aussi soignée que celle du premier Mass Effect : l'interface marque le pas (menu de commandement perfectible, menu de navigation mal fait, roulette non prise en compte dans les menus, double clic non pris en compte, 3 réglages de vitesse de la souris seulement ! et toujours une touche pour 3 actions distinctes...). Et la manette n'est pas supportée...

    Le jeu n'est pas vraiment plus beau que sur Xbox 360 malgré la présence d'un AA et de quelques textures plus propres ici et là et de temps de chargement très réduits (quand même). Cela étant dit, on a le confort des 60 im/s, ce qui n'est pas négligeable non plus.

    Ce second épisode de la saga (qui donne envie d'enchaîner immédiatement sur le troisième) demeure un incontournable du jeu de rôle occidental, même sur PC : une oeuvre épique, rien de moins.
    Expand
  15. Apr 16, 2017
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is like the perfect pizza. Impossible to stop eating. It is an unbelievable journey, and much more than worth the time. It does everything perfectly.
  16. Apr 8, 2017
    8
    Увы - деградация РПГ составляющей налицо, но планку удержали персонажи интересные (Явик, Джек, Миранда да все практически интересны) и шикарная финальная миссия.
  17. Apr 6, 2017
    10
    Excelente RPG de ação, com uma narrativa um pouco arrastada, mas que compensa com incríveis missões de lealdade, que engrandecem o relacionamento dos personagens. Um RPG impar que merece ser jogado.
  18. Apr 4, 2017
    9
    The characters became more interesting and much better written, the plot began to twist around these characters. A lot of new cool moments, and the next saving the world give this game a place in my personal library the best games of all time.
  19. Mar 31, 2017
    8
    With the world of ME already established, Mass Effect 2 brings it back with its continued story of Commander Shepard. ME2 spans on its characters from ME1 bringing them to a more personal level. If the world and plot were the greatest strengths of the first game, the characters and their motivations are the strengths of ME2.
    Even though Graphics and combat have both been improved from the
    With the world of ME already established, Mass Effect 2 brings it back with its continued story of Commander Shepard. ME2 spans on its characters from ME1 bringing them to a more personal level. If the world and plot were the greatest strengths of the first game, the characters and their motivations are the strengths of ME2.
    Even though Graphics and combat have both been improved from the original game with combat being revamped to a cover system, not all of ME2 is an improvement from the original. ME2 suffers from the cutback of RPG elements, worlds being more streamlined and smaller, reduced exploration, and main story plot holes that are big enough to fit a Collector Base in. However, even with ME2's weaker world and storyline, it makes up for them on its fleshed out characters their personalities, backstories, and their loyalty missions. These are the saving graces of ME2 and it is still great game. 8.5/10
    Expand
  20. Mar 25, 2017
    10
    True Masterpiece made by Bioware. Probably the best Bioware game so far outrunning many other great titles. I don't think there is much more to say if you like Mass Effect you will love this game. 10/10
  21. Mar 24, 2017
    9
    This game is the best gift if i ever received. I just loved the gameplay, story (oh this story...), and characters. I think this is the best of Mass Effect saga. I strongly recommend it.
  22. Mar 23, 2017
    10
    Space opera of the computer gaming world. The best PC game trilogy. Story telling and narrative at its best. A piece of art, a classic and its legacy will endure. Long may the trilogy be remembered.

    Repost as clicked 0 instead of 10 by accident.
  23. Mar 23, 2017
    9
    For me, this is the best of the trilogy. Gameplay it's heavily better than ME 1, really dynamic and fun, fast but also complex and deep. I loved the exploration without using the Mako (in ME 1 side quests were very boring) and the characters are very detailed, with specific mission related to them. The last part of the game is a masterpiece.
  24. Mar 22, 2017
    10
    Perfect game. Amazing story & gameplay.................................................................................................................
  25. Mar 20, 2017
    10
    This is a sequel to the awesome first game. Mass Effect 2 was even better! What is better? All!
    The plot became more thrilling, interesting, intriguing. From the last mission I had goose bumps walking on the skin.
    The dialogue and the characters more interesting.In the dialogues there was a possibility of interruption, and it fit perfectly! It is very interesting to assemble YOUR TEAM.
    This is a sequel to the awesome first game. Mass Effect 2 was even better! What is better? All!
    The plot became more thrilling, interesting, intriguing. From the last mission I had goose bumps walking on the skin.
    The dialogue and the characters more interesting.In the dialogues there was a possibility of interruption, and it fit perfectly!
    It is very interesting to assemble YOUR TEAM. Each team member is a person with his history. There will be old friends!
    The battle system has become even easier, now shoot much better and even more cool to use the abilities of your class.
    We will visit the Krogan planet, and many more where. Believe me, the plot sometimes makes you shrink in your chair, and you will not rest until you pass the game to the end.
    Expand
  26. Mar 19, 2017
    10
    I was late to the party on the Mass Effect series. I'm currently drilling the trilogy before Andromeda launches tomorrow. Mass Effect 2 was absolutely incredible. I can't in good conscience give it anything less than a 10 although there are some changes from the first ME game that I think went in the wrong direction.

    The character profiles are top notch. I had fairly strong emotions
    I was late to the party on the Mass Effect series. I'm currently drilling the trilogy before Andromeda launches tomorrow. Mass Effect 2 was absolutely incredible. I can't in good conscience give it anything less than a 10 although there are some changes from the first ME game that I think went in the wrong direction.

    The character profiles are top notch. I had fairly strong emotions towards each member of my team throughout the game, even the DLC characters. Even a character like Miranda, who thoroughly annoyed me for the entire game, at least had a genuine sincerity about her beliefs. Joker & EDI combined for an amazing comedic relief duo. There were multiple scenes that had me busting a gut.

    The side missions did not become overbearing and extremely tedious like they were in ME1, in fact the stories behind many of them were very interesting (I loved the marooned freighter where the survivors turned feral because of the toxic flora). There were significantly less sidequests than ME1, but they were higher quality, which I thought was a great adjustment. The main story followed a familiar course from the first game, and while there weren't many plot twists or major surprises, I thought it flowed very well and at least kept me motivated towards the goal.

    Now for the aspects of the game that I kinda bugged me (but not enough to drop this game's 10 ranking):
    -Money. I did absolutely everything that wasn't DLC-related and still did not have enough credits to purchase every upgrade from the shops, because unlike ME1, there's nothing you can sell in this game. Everything is purchase and upgrade. I had to leave a couple upgrades behind on Tachanka. This was irritating.

    -The probing for metals got old quickly. Thankfully I used probes like crazy in the early game and amassed enough to get me through every upgrade and multiple respecs with plenty to spare. They elimination of planet exploration is a mixed blessing. In ME1 roving around those boring planets was a mind-numbing experience combined with the goofy physics of the vehicle. I was hoping for improved controls and physics in this game but they just removed it completely (if you don't count the Firewalker DLC)

    -The loading times are kinda long, even on a great modern computer.

    -I see why some games now give you clear notification that you are reaching a point of no return. Realizing I couldn't wrap up other quests without it having dire consequences was a bit of a buzzkill.

    Overall this game is an absolute must-play for anyone who is a science fiction fan. The amount of detail they go into with planetary science and astronomy is typically unheard of, and it makes you realize how much thought they put into this. Can't wait to break into ME3!
    Expand
  27. Mar 13, 2017
    9
    Overall, I like mass effect 1's more rpg like focus to it's mechanics and stats than mass effect 2's more functional and bare streamlining. However, while this game is a better rpg - it also has more lows in it's pacing. Some sections in mass effect are incredible and interesting, others are slow moving. I think mass effect 2 should have never removed the planet exploration. In the end. IOverall, I like mass effect 1's more rpg like focus to it's mechanics and stats than mass effect 2's more functional and bare streamlining. However, while this game is a better rpg - it also has more lows in it's pacing. Some sections in mass effect are incredible and interesting, others are slow moving. I think mass effect 2 should have never removed the planet exploration. In the end. I score both games the same. 9/10. For different reasons, mass effect 2 is a perfectly paced game, that was successfully streamlined. However lost some of it's scale as a result. Mass effect 1 was more ambitious, however it was occasionally boring. Expand
  28. Feb 28, 2017
    8
    Mass Effect 2
    Overrated.
    Mass Effect 2 is a 3rd person shooter that continues the story of Commander Sheppard... Who is customizable if you choose... When the game starts you have the choice of loading your character and choices from mass effect 1 or start fresh and choose the important decisions from that game during a brief recap… Which I was thankful for since the first mass effect
    Mass Effect 2
    Overrated.
    Mass Effect 2 is a 3rd person shooter that continues the story of Commander Sheppard...
    Who is customizable if you choose...
    When the game starts you have the choice of loading your character and choices from mass effect 1 or start fresh and choose the important decisions from that game during a brief recap…
    Which I was thankful for since the first mass effect wasn’t interesting enough or fun enough for me to finish…
    Thankfully Mass Effect 2 is much more enjoyable...
    Youre still dealing with the threat of the reapers here…
    You wake up from a 2 year long comma.. Things have changed, past relationships have changed, and now you have to deal with the collectors who are working for the reapers…
    And you spend the entire 24 hours of this game going to different planets, recruiting the best mercenaries out there and gaining their loyalty by completing their own missions with them after they join your crew…
    And if you see a fine piece of booty on that ship, you can hug them...
    You can hug them all…
    The sex scenes are no witcher 3 scenes...
    But the option to romance is there if you want to see bras or naked backs I guess.
    Or pretend that someone loves you while you shoot things with them.
    Between each mission you’re back in your ship the Normandy, and you choose the solar system and planet to travel to, you can then mine some of the planets for materials to upgrade your weapons and ship, or land for the mission…
    And before every land you choose the 2 characters to bring with you as well as edit unspent skill points and change their weapon loadouts…
    But the journey to the credits is fairly repetitive…
    There are a few cool missions in here that mix things up, making you use your brain to investigate or figure out how to get inti a secured location..
    But for the most part you’re clicking r3 to get the tiniest idea where to go with the games added objective compass, which is for the most part useless as it goes crazy and often points in the wrong direction…
    And you shoot everything in your way…
    Take cover... wait for these super spongey enemies to need to reload, use your powers... swap your weapons or command your squad to use their powers and swap their weapons…hop out of cover, shoot them, move on… along your ways hack some doors for credits or to progress and do all of it over and over until you get a mission complete…
    And none of these levels are interesting to run through.. They look and feel the same throughout... 0 cool moments... even the boss battles are lame... They’re just for the most part larger and spongier enemies...
    This is all 24 hours of the game…
    The combat is spaced out as you always have to find an npc to talk to and then they tell you to go this location and talk to someone else…
    But none of this is ever interesting.. none of the dialog choices seemed to hold any weight…
    And seemingly didn’t matter…
    I found myself just shooting or assaulting every time the option popped up to get on with it…

    I understand why people love Mass Effect 2…
    There are so many interesting characters with interesting backstories…
    But beyond that I just don’t get it…
    Did I have fun with the game? Yes
    But it never blew me away…. The story was a cool idea…
    The delivery of the story was a cool idea…
    But the repetitive mission structure and level design stops it from being amazing
    Mass Effect 2 is a Great game
    but nowhere near this masterpiece that everyone has made it out to be.
    I give Mass Effect 2
    an 8/10
    Expand
  29. Dec 21, 2016
    10
    Key: 1 = Poor, 3 = Average, 5 = Great

    Graphics 5
    Audio 5
    Characters 5
    Story 5
    Controls 5
    Intuitiveness 5

    ...........................................
  30. Oct 26, 2016
    9
    My only gripe with Mass Effect 2 is that Bioware listened too much to the casual action prefering side of original game's fanbase, its nearly stripped from all RPG mecnanics and turned into a standard TPS, a good one at that, but still i woulda prefered a more refined formula of the first one.

    Still much of those qualities that made the first game so amazing are still there.
  31. Oct 11, 2016
    10
    This is hands-down one of the best games I have ever played in my life. Can't wait to start Mass Effect 3. LOL at the people giving this game a zero. So much character development and lore. Bioware sure the hell know how to tell a phenomenal story. Would give this game an "11" if I could.
  32. Sep 9, 2016
    9
    Very good game for what it is: A great Gears of War clone with a great setting and story. I don't agree with it being the best of 2010, the best of that year was Fallout New Vegas. But it was close.

    I liked the gameplay elements, the action, the graphics, the story, the characters, the voice acting and the dialogs, the choices. It was a really fun sci-fi experience. I was
    Very good game for what it is: A great Gears of War clone with a great setting and story. I don't agree with it being the best of 2010, the best of that year was Fallout New Vegas. But it was close.

    I liked the gameplay elements, the action, the graphics, the story, the characters, the voice acting and the dialogs, the choices. It was a really fun sci-fi experience.

    I was dissappointed with the dumbing down of RPG elements compared to the first Mass Effect though. Make no mistake, this is no RPG anymore. This is a shooter with a dialogue wheel. While this is not necessarily bad, a game doesn't have to be an RPG to have a great story, this game was FALSELY advertised as an RPG by the press and some fans.

    The only issues i have with this game, are the repetitive combat with the braindead enemies, and that the story doesn't really advance the franchise storyline much. It was somewhat uneeded as a part in the trilogy, made just for the sake of making it to earn more money one more time with the engine.

    Still, i did enjoy it. And remember it fondly. So a 9/10, recommended for all sci-fi fans.
    Expand
  33. Aug 24, 2016
    9
    What a show! What an ending! I miss already but I can't imagine any other Shephard that mine. Fantastic, immersive story, colorful, deep characters, improved shooting, there's nothing I could complain about. Almost, I suffered being forced to amass elements. Beside that it's THE game you want to play when you come home after work.
  34. Aug 7, 2016
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mass Effect 2 is awesome game, but in this game bad ending, which the cause cry. In this game awesome graphics for 2009, amazing storyline, good main hero - Captain Shepard, which should make you. Mass Effect 2 is best game of 2009 and even better than Assassin's Creed 2, Mass Effect 2 is best game in series and I think this game can compare with The Elder Scrolls Skyrim . AWEEESOOME Game, but sad ending, Captain Shepard and his team was died. Expand
  35. Jul 10, 2016
    8
    a master piece if wasn't for all the buyable dlcs that increases a great part of the game , thanks to EA and his abillity to launch games missing parts to sell after .
  36. Jul 10, 2016
    10
    Increíble juegazo y obra maestra, mucho mas divertido que el primero, la jugabilidad super mejorada, los actores de doblaje increíbles, ambientación, decisiones geniales. Un juego super rejugable para probar diferentes caminos y clases. Super recomendado 10/10
  37. Jul 10, 2016
    10
    Gioco fantastico. Azione, RPG, storia, personaggi, colonna sonora e Grafica ne fanno un Capolavoro. Migliora in tutto il primo capitolo, e prepara le basi per la degna conclusione.
  38. Jul 6, 2016
    9
    Gameplay : 9
    Graphics : 9
    Story : 8
    Sound : 9
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 9
  39. Jun 22, 2016
    9
    2/18/2012: People love to hate on this game, but I feel like it fixed a lot of the first game's problems, maybe too well: It really just feels like a slightly RPGish cover shooter. This is not a bad thing, but it's a pretty dramatic switch from the first game. And it made that game, which I utterly loved the first time through, seem really crappy, and that feels weird to say. Mass Effect 22/18/2012: People love to hate on this game, but I feel like it fixed a lot of the first game's problems, maybe too well: It really just feels like a slightly RPGish cover shooter. This is not a bad thing, but it's a pretty dramatic switch from the first game. And it made that game, which I utterly loved the first time through, seem really crappy, and that feels weird to say. Mass Effect 2 is nothing if not damn fun (And has a much improved PC port), but it can drag on a bit, has horrendous load times, and yeah, the mining mini-game sucks. But it pulled me in and kept me in my seat in a way most shooters would only dream of. Again, the game's strong point is its writing and in-depth universe. One would hope the upcoming third and quote "final" (and lo and behold, it was not) iteration addresses the flaws of the earlier titles while preserving what I loved about the first two- a true sense of the epic, the wonder of exploring the galaxy and the feeling of power you get from being Shepard.

    6/22/2016: I was right about that last bit.
    Expand
  40. Jun 21, 2016
    8
    A second instalment in what is probably the best sci-fi shooting RPG.

    In game you become resurrected captain Sherppard to face the ever present danger from the Reapers and their newest lackeys in the form of Collectors. To stop them from harvesting humans you need to travel the galaxy far and wide to recruit your allays and defeat the Collectors. This game does not differ very much
    A second instalment in what is probably the best sci-fi shooting RPG.

    In game you become resurrected captain Sherppard to face the ever present danger from the Reapers and their newest lackeys in the form of Collectors. To stop them from harvesting humans you need to travel the galaxy far and wide to recruit your allays and defeat the Collectors.

    This game does not differ very much from the first part but it doesn't have to to be good. The graphics, the voice acting, the music - everything is top notch. You get a wide array of weapons with which to shoot your enemies. And special powers to augment your weapons and strike your enemies. The gameplay is very nice and smooth, you control your character from third person view, and can give commands to your two team mates. In most situations they do just fine with only once in a while necessity to directly issue orders.

    The environment is pretty, varies from place to place and is well designed. The shooting in most cases is a familiar cover based fire fight. You one from one cover to another, reload and shoot with weapon best suited for the situation.

    The only problem I had with the game is that there is not that much of a main story line. Most of the missions can be treated separately as most of them is either recruiting a new team member or helping him out with his specific task. Almost all of them need a separate recruitment and all of them come with a single mission not really related to the main task. For a completionist this sets the main mission on hold and you get the feeling of "no hurry - we've got time" contrary to the what the game would like to make you feel.

    Space exploration is fun as well though looking for resources can be a bit tedious at times. But each mission is designed with care and creates a solid, atmospheric experience.

    Overall really liked the game and can highly recommend it to anyone liking sci-fi.
    Expand
  41. Jun 14, 2016
    10
    the best rpg game shooter ever, the character and storyline is well developed, i can play this game for 5 hours straight bcs of the well written story (as expected from bioware). not only mass effect 2, but also the mass effect trilogy is the best rpg shooter series i've ever played, hands down for this masterpiece
  42. May 9, 2016
    10
    I am assuming direct control of this review:

    BioWare’s first Mass Effect felt like a KOTOR clone. The universe was a place we wanted to live in, but there were too many systems and menus to dig through to get there. BioWare streamed back and watered down RPG mechanics and streamlined gameplay to put more emphasis on the shooting mechanics with the 2nd game of the saga. Turns out, it
    I am assuming direct control of this review:

    BioWare’s first Mass Effect felt like a KOTOR clone. The universe was a place we wanted to live in, but there were too many systems and menus to dig through to get there. BioWare streamed back and watered down RPG mechanics and streamlined gameplay to put more emphasis on the shooting mechanics with the 2nd game of the saga. Turns out, it wasn't so bad after all: Mass Effect 2 trims just enough fat to let you focus on what matters: the optional Loyalty missions for your team.

    Instead of an exercise in galactic exploration, Mass Effect 2 plays out like a sci-fi Ocean's Eleven or Dirty Dozen. Recruiting a team to take on the Collectors puts the focus on small, interesting stories. Each Loyalty mission gives you insight into your companions’ motivations, making every member of the Normandy's crew an unusually deep character. Once you've grown to know and love them, the endgame suicide run is one of the tensest final missions ever. It's rare for a game to spend more time on character arcs than its central driving narrative, but Mass Effect 2 pulls it off. This is some of the best writing in BioWare's history, and a deeply satisfying gaming experience.

    The clunky controls with the usual catering to consoles drag down PC gameplay, Trying to determine how scale-itch got onto Normandy. Sexually-transmitted disease. Only carried by varren. Implications unpleasant.

    Still 6 years later, Mass Effect 2 hold the line. So enjoy yourself while possible, Shepard. Will be here, replaying Mass Effect 2. Much simpler. Less alcohol and mood music required. Only BioWare could pull something like that, someone else might have gotten it wrong.

    I rate 10 because it’s so easy to see the galaxy in black and white. Gray? I don’t know what to do with gray.
    Expand
  43. Apr 18, 2016
    10
    To say that this game earned the title of one of the best games ever made is a bit understated. The first Mass Effect was ok...but Mass Effect 2?! Holy crapola!

    I hated the conversations in the first game, but this time around I couldn't WAIT to see how things would go! The interactions with all the various crew members was just outstanding! The game play....outstanding! The mods
    To say that this game earned the title of one of the best games ever made is a bit understated. The first Mass Effect was ok...but Mass Effect 2?! Holy crapola!

    I hated the conversations in the first game, but this time around I couldn't WAIT to see how things would go! The interactions with all the various crew members was just outstanding! The game play....outstanding! The mods available to make it look better than it already did...OUTSTANDING!!

    The only thing about this game that I absolutely can NOT stand is male sheppard's voice. God, how monotone can you be?! Totally sounded like he would rather be having a root canal than have anything at all to do with this story.

    That's why I will ALWAYS play FemShep. :)

    On a scale of 1 to 100, ME2 gets a 99.9 from me. The .01 off is thanks to MaleShep's awful voice. lol
    Expand
  44. Apr 3, 2016
    8
    Mass effect 2 is a engaging shooter with satisfying gun combat and rpg mechanics. What makes the game particularly enjoyable in addition to the combat and team management is the level of immersion the game is capable of procuring. The audio-visual compartment is captivating. The world and lore is well flesh-out, which confers your choices and actions a sense of credibility and impact.Mass effect 2 is a engaging shooter with satisfying gun combat and rpg mechanics. What makes the game particularly enjoyable in addition to the combat and team management is the level of immersion the game is capable of procuring. The audio-visual compartment is captivating. The world and lore is well flesh-out, which confers your choices and actions a sense of credibility and impact. There are emotionally meaningful choices on offer which contributes greatly to the immersion. The pacing is on point, thanks also to the minimal amount of grinding present. The characters are well designed and like-able. All of this makes the game a highly enjoyable, personalized and entertaining ride from A to Z, which is rare. It is not a masterpiece of tactical combat and rpg elements, but it is a well-designed, coherent experience that does a lot of things well. This one of the most memorable game of the last generation and it is easily recommendable to anyone. Expand
  45. Feb 26, 2016
    9
    Disclaimer:
    I've played the first Mass Effect with all of the DLCs and plays 50+ hours of Mass Effect 2 clearing the story and all story related DLC. RPGs are one of my favourite genres.
    Intro: On Mass Effect 2 we once again take the role of Commander Shepard tasked once again to save the universe from a threat that almost everyone is either ignoring on purpose or just plain doesn't
    Disclaimer:
    I've played the first Mass Effect with all of the DLCs and plays 50+ hours of Mass Effect 2 clearing the story and all story related DLC. RPGs are one of my favourite genres.

    Intro:
    On Mass Effect 2 we once again take the role of Commander Shepard tasked once again to save the universe from a threat that almost everyone is either ignoring on purpose or just plain doesn't know about!

    What I liked:
    - Graphics - A great overall improvement over Mass Effect 1.
    - Combat System - Much better than Mass Effect 1, it feels closer to a Third Person Shooter now.
    - The feeling of making a difference in the galaxy and in my squad mates' lives.
    - The story.

    What I didn't like:
    - No menu hotkeys: a hotkey for the journal and squad menus were much appreciated in the first Mass Effect. Why aren't they in the second game? Why isn't there any way to add them?
    - DLC is somewhat mandatory: I romanced Liara in ME1 and I was very disappointed to find out I had to spend another 8€ on DLC to be able to romance her again in ME2. Not cool!!!
    - Crashes, crashes and CRASHES: This game crashed sooooooo many times on my PC :'(.

    Conclusion:
    This game was just like Skyrim to me: it's incredibly fun to play but OMG it crashes so much :(!
    I highly recommend this RPG but only if you have the patience to reboot the game over and over again when it crashes.
    Expand
  46. Feb 26, 2016
    9
    A great sequel to a great game. This delivers even more on the original and has so much great story and interaction. The actual gun play still leaves a little to be desired but the world it immerses you in more than makes up for it.
  47. Jan 2, 2016
    9
    Amazing sci-fi story. Like playing Star Trek with your own ship. Past Decisions carry over.

    Graphics: 9
    Game play : 9
    World Design: 9
    Content: 9
    Immersion: 10
    Story: 10
  48. Nov 27, 2015
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is one of the greatest games ever made. Perfect story, perfect experience.
    The control developed since the previous part. The graphics is good, but it's 2015, use the graphics tools.
    I can't wait for the new episode. 10/10
  49. Nov 16, 2015
    9
    Ok, the ME universe is one big pile of cliche however this game is epic in every sense, the soundtrack, it's presentation and storyline.

    It's like being in a movie and you're going on a real suicide mission. Marked down slightly because according to a friend who's a Doctor, the start of the game (Lazarus Project) is completely idiotic who also states that Omega would be
    Ok, the ME universe is one big pile of cliche however this game is epic in every sense, the soundtrack, it's presentation and storyline.

    It's like being in a movie and you're going on a real suicide mission.

    Marked down slightly because according to a friend who's a Doctor, the start of the game (Lazarus Project) is completely idiotic who also states that Omega would be un-inhabitable if it was set out as it is in the game.

    Also probably the first game in history to have a HUG button in a QTE.

    One of Bioware's last great games.

    Finally, one of the memes around this game has to be laughed at. It has Commander Shepard with his arms crossed with sunglasses with the slogan "Safest Suicide Mission ever: 100% Survival rate"
    Expand
  50. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is one of its kind, you will experience a great adventure during atleast 20h of gameplay. Characters are very unique and special. One of the best RPG's ever. Personally, this is my best episod.
  51. Oct 30, 2015
    10
    This is to date my favorite game , it has almost everything, excellent voice acting and characters that make care about them, decisions to make that will affect the ending, the normandy and its crew, but the most important thing is the history and is top notch, also the missions ,locations and soundtrack are inmersive and very very good.
  52. Oct 14, 2015
    10
    mass effect 2 is hand down the 2nd place of all my favorite games of all time. the writing is amazingly godlike, excellent voice acting, excellent story and squadmates that you will remember. the twist in this game are very good, (and im not one to look kindly on twists). i think tis should be the one you'll start with. not the first one. i started with mass effect 2 not knowing anythingmass effect 2 is hand down the 2nd place of all my favorite games of all time. the writing is amazingly godlike, excellent voice acting, excellent story and squadmates that you will remember. the twist in this game are very good, (and im not one to look kindly on twists). i think tis should be the one you'll start with. not the first one. i started with mass effect 2 not knowing anything about mass effect but at the end of mass effect 2 i understod everything i needed to know. if you decide you want the game, please get all the downloadable content. you will not regret lair of the shadow broker, kasimu: stolem memories, arrival and maybe project Overlord (that one is kinda of a hit and miss). question. should you get the game?. yes. you will find enjoyment out of it and if you dont know anything about mass effect this is the one to start with Expand
  53. Sep 30, 2015
    9
    Very good game from BioWare. Excellent graphics, fantastic fight mode. I have no words to describe this game. One of the most amazing games from EA - this words could be fine
  54. Sep 16, 2015
    10
    A game that does almost everything right and stays with you forever.
    The plot takes a sharp turn from mass effect 1 and gives the player a chance to take a peek at the wonderful world Bioware crafted. Not everyone approved the changes in mass effect 2, many players put the blame for mass effect 3 shortcomings on the second game. The short comings refer to the change in plot and less sense
    A game that does almost everything right and stays with you forever.
    The plot takes a sharp turn from mass effect 1 and gives the player a chance to take a peek at the wonderful world Bioware crafted. Not everyone approved the changes in mass effect 2, many players put the blame for mass effect 3 shortcomings on the second game. The short comings refer to the change in plot and less sense of immediate threat and direction that were core elements in the first game and were pushed away from the front of the stage in mass effect 2.

    However, this is exactly where Mass effect 2 shines, by choosing a more relaxed course in comparison to the fast roller coaster in the first game. The players are able to feel the gaps in the story with their own imagination. Nothing can be taken at face value. Every decision and piece of information you receive needs to be analyzed and dissected, and it encourages you to read the well made codex.

    There is a reason so many players have played this 20 hours game to completion several times or more.
    It is just that good, and if you haven't jumped on the mass effect wagon, do yourself a favor and go play the first and the second, it will probably be your best game related decision in your life, I know it was mine.
    Just a word of advice. Once you finished this game, avoid the urge to play the third and just complete the story with your own imagination, you won't regret it.
    Expand
  55. Sep 12, 2015
    10
    Game: Mass Effect 2
    Genre: Third Person Shooter - RPG
    Developer: Bioware/EA System: Steam (PC) Total Score: 95/100 Value Score: 9.5/10 • Story: 10/10 • Characters: 10/10 • GamePlay: 9/10 • Graphics: 8/10 • Sound: 10/10 • Music: 8/10 • Length: 10/10 • Replay Value: 10/10 • Player Value: 10/10 Pros +Storyline elements from the first game are retained with
    Game: Mass Effect 2
    Genre: Third Person Shooter - RPG
    Developer: Bioware/EA
    System: Steam (PC)
    Total Score: 95/100
    Value Score: 9.5/10

    • Story: 10/10
    • Characters: 10/10
    • GamePlay: 9/10
    • Graphics: 8/10
    • Sound: 10/10
    • Music: 8/10
    • Length: 10/10
    • Replay Value: 10/10
    • Player Value: 10/10

    Pros
    +Storyline elements from the first game are retained with Paragon/Renegade choices which lead to different results and scenarios.
    +Fantastic voice acting
    +Save files from ME1 can be imported to ME2 and ME2 save files can be exported to ME3
    +New DLC content is heavy with Storyline elements
    +Ability to collect figurines of ships and artifacts
    +Achievement system specifically designed for ME2 is included
    +Ability to scan planets and explore the galaxy is much better than the first game unlike the first game where you go through barren planets.
    +Side missions are more beneficial and much more exciting and challenging than the first game.

    Cons
    -The ability to alter a character's appearance depending on what equipment they have on no longer exists
    -No more armor equipment for any characters, only weapons
    -Class system still exists but barebones compared to the original
    -Game is more of a Shooter than a RPG unlike the first game
    -DLC is expensive and can only be obtained either via Amazon or Bioware Store
    Expand
  56. Aug 2, 2015
    9
    It's more like a science fiction TPS than an RPG but it still has some elements of it like the free to go places with many NPCs, and there are always some smaller missions. But character upgrade is quite linear, and the missions are always a big shooting fest, a real adrenaline rush. The world of the game is incredibly detailed and I also like the characters who join us during theIt's more like a science fiction TPS than an RPG but it still has some elements of it like the free to go places with many NPCs, and there are always some smaller missions. But character upgrade is quite linear, and the missions are always a big shooting fest, a real adrenaline rush. The world of the game is incredibly detailed and I also like the characters who join us during the missions. Overall it's a nearly perfect game with nice graphics and well-written story. Expand
  57. Jul 5, 2015
    10
    An awesome sequel to the first Mass Effect, with an engaging story and graphics far superior to its predecessor. They removed one annoying element (cumbersome inventory management) with another one (tedious scanning of planets to collect resources for upgrades), but overall gameplay goes smoothly and is very entertaining. The RPG elements are a bit light though, with the limited choices ofAn awesome sequel to the first Mass Effect, with an engaging story and graphics far superior to its predecessor. They removed one annoying element (cumbersome inventory management) with another one (tedious scanning of planets to collect resources for upgrades), but overall gameplay goes smoothly and is very entertaining. The RPG elements are a bit light though, with the limited choices of skills and upgrades. Expand
  58. Jun 30, 2015
    10
    One of the best video games there is out there. A true turning point for bioware in understanding the importance of creating interesting characters for their players. The attachment to these characters will stick with you long after you have played this game.
  59. Jun 26, 2015
    9
    - Good: Gameplay, Story, Characters, Setting
    - Mixed: Atmosphere/Mood, Exploration, Writing
    - Bad: ---

    Great, the best game in the series. Probably one of the most enjoyable game from Bioware i ever played.
  60. Jun 26, 2015
    9
    Mass Effect 2 is mass effect's greatest peak in the entire trilogy. And perhaps bioware's magnum opus at their time. Mostly everything was improved from mass effect 1, such as the poor optimization for PC ports. But some sacrifices had to be made from mass effect 2 which wasn't in the previous games. Such as the RPG elements in mass effect 2 are very, very limited compared to the previousMass Effect 2 is mass effect's greatest peak in the entire trilogy. And perhaps bioware's magnum opus at their time. Mostly everything was improved from mass effect 1, such as the poor optimization for PC ports. But some sacrifices had to be made from mass effect 2 which wasn't in the previous games. Such as the RPG elements in mass effect 2 are very, very limited compared to the previous entry. But otherwise, the story was interesting as you fight with Cerberus, learning from the previous game, Cerberus was know for their terrorist acts.

    Squad members improved as well. They included 2x more squad mates in the second installation as well as 2 old squad members from mass effect 1 rejoin you as well. Not only that you get to have a dedicated mission to increase their loyalty as well as increasing their chances of a romance for some characters.

    So overall this game gives a lot more than it's their previous entry which results in a lot more longer gameplay. (Mass effect 1 clocks around 19-20 hours of 80% gameplay completed and mass effect 2 clocks in about 28-30 hours of 90% completed plus 10 more hours of dlc completed at 100%). Although it does remove RPG elements from the first game and looting and limited the amount of weapons and armor plus the mako removed from the game. I think the game is still worth looking at if you liked the first game. This game has many planets to explore as well as an interesting storyline.

    So to sum it up... Get the game. You won't regret it.
    Expand
  61. Jun 17, 2015
    10
    Quite possibly my favorite video game of all time, Mass Effect 2 improved on the gameplay of the original Mass Effect while offering up a rich new cast of characters that were fascinating to get to know as well as the return of a couple of fan favorites from the original. I wouldn't say that the game was perfect, as the central storyline didn't quite live up to the first game, but it didQuite possibly my favorite video game of all time, Mass Effect 2 improved on the gameplay of the original Mass Effect while offering up a rich new cast of characters that were fascinating to get to know as well as the return of a couple of fan favorites from the original. I wouldn't say that the game was perfect, as the central storyline didn't quite live up to the first game, but it did so much right that I could never not give it a full ten. Mass Effect 2 offered me the things that I really want in my games - great storytelling, a fascinating and rich setting, and engaging characters. A true masterpiece! Expand
  62. May 22, 2015
    8
    Possibly the best in the series and one of my favorite RPGs. The combat is vastly improved from the first game and the story like always is terrific. The final level is terrific. Get it.
  63. May 13, 2015
    9
    Excellent game. Developed characters, epic story, interesting plot. However, i must point out - i feel that the decision between good and bad choices (Paragon vs Renegade) affects the progression of the game in no way whatsoever. Yes, if your Paragon (goodness) is high enough, locked options will become available to you in dialogues; but as to the effect on the overall story - whetherExcellent game. Developed characters, epic story, interesting plot. However, i must point out - i feel that the decision between good and bad choices (Paragon vs Renegade) affects the progression of the game in no way whatsoever. Yes, if your Paragon (goodness) is high enough, locked options will become available to you in dialogues; but as to the effect on the overall story - whether you are an angel or a bad ass - has no effect whatsoever. I wish in some way it did, and an alternative path could be taken by a Renegade than the paragon fan. It is not the case, unfortunately. The rhythm of the game is, too, a little bit off - it seems every character (from your gathered team) waits until the very end of the game, to pour his entire life's story on you. Very anti-climatic, considering how the ending picks up the pacing of the story. These are the only negatives i have for this game - otherwise, a solid blockbuster for me! Enjoyed highly! Expand
  64. Apr 5, 2015
    8
    Must I say that I adored the first Mass Effect game!
    It was very much entertaining, unique in its own way, action-packed and both the story and the characters are very well developed. I'm not a big fan of science-fiction in general but this franchise made me reconsider some of my choices and probably in a near future I'll try to play other videogames within this genre.
    Mass Effect 2 was
    Must I say that I adored the first Mass Effect game!
    It was very much entertaining, unique in its own way, action-packed and both the story and the characters are very well developed. I'm not a big fan of science-fiction in general but this franchise made me reconsider some of my choices and probably in a near future I'll try to play other videogames within this genre.
    Mass Effect 2 was a really good sequel and I enjoyed it a lot. A more darker tone was present throughout the whole thing that made the story itself more compelling and addictive and also managed to shape the characters somehow along the way.
    A new set of squadmates was present and we get to see some familiar faces such as Tali and Garrus. And each one of them had their own storyline (or sidequest, if you want to call it that) that explored more of their backgrounds and if you succeded, their loyalty towards you would increase. And I can honestly say that character development was one of the best components in ME2.
    There was an obvious improvement in graphic quality, which I appreciated. In terms of gameplay, not so much. There were still a couple things that I liked but at the same time, it felt like there was almost nothing that I could pinpoint that felt trully good in this specific component.
    The weapons were basically the same with just slight differences between each other and only a few newer ones were added that really helped defeating the enemies. There was also a new component in ME2 which was the "Planet Scanning" and even that felt a little bit disappointing. Yes, in order to have more upgrades to either the Normandy itself or the character's power, we'd have to scan a lot of planets searching for resources that allowed to make the said upgrades. I guess it was okay, I never really cared about that... and it could be distracting at times.
    But the thing that bothered the most was the map. Whenever I wanted to check the map and see where I had to go, I always had to click on a specific button and a few seconds later, the map itself would disappear. This made me repeat the same process a lot of times and that, in comparison to ME1, was really difficult to deal with.
    Overall, it was a very enjoyable videogame that had its ups and downs with a really good storyline.
    Expand
  65. Mar 25, 2015
    10
    Gonna keep this short and sweet. You need the "Better ME2 (unofficial patch)" mod to enjoy this game, but it's amazing. Anti-aliasing is a MAJOR problem on PC, because there's no way to activate it in the mass effect 2 launcher, but the quick mod I mentioned instantly clears it up. Besides that it's outstanding and just as good as the original.
  66. Mar 14, 2015
    10
    A brilliant game, one of my all time favourites. Awesome story, immersion, cut scenes, quests, graphic style, decisions, companions (Miranda!!, Tali,...) and NPCs. It's just a pity the RPG elements were cut back.
  67. Feb 16, 2015
    8
    The sequel to the first ME it's good but not that good as the first.
    The things I did enjoy in the sequel. NPC's still good and there is a lot more to chose from. I missed Wrex and the other Krogan Grunt was not my type. Favorite characters in this part are Garus, Thane, Jack and Zaeed.
    Dialogue options were expanded even more. Combat was improved and the cover system felt more fluid.
    The sequel to the first ME it's good but not that good as the first.
    The things I did enjoy in the sequel. NPC's still good and there is a lot more to chose from. I missed Wrex and the other Krogan Grunt was not my type. Favorite characters in this part are Garus, Thane, Jack and Zaeed.
    Dialogue options were expanded even more. Combat was improved and the cover system felt more fluid.
    What is missing is the world exploration. Now it's just scamning. The game is more combat focused. The side quest are mostly gone. Insted we get NPC side quests which are interesting but there are only few of them.
    Good game but they didn't have to change it in that many ways. Played it twice from start to finish.
    For me 8 out of 10.

    PS. There is a good selection of interesting DLC. Worth to play them just for the story.
    Expand
  68. Feb 6, 2015
    10
    There are very few games which can be described as having truly perfected their formula. One could say that Mario and Sonic perfected the platformer, that mario galaxy perfected the 3D platformer, perhaps even that games like GTA: San Andreas perfected the open-world formula. Mass Effect 2 is a game that has created its own formula by delicately fusing RPG elements with third-personThere are very few games which can be described as having truly perfected their formula. One could say that Mario and Sonic perfected the platformer, that mario galaxy perfected the 3D platformer, perhaps even that games like GTA: San Andreas perfected the open-world formula. Mass Effect 2 is a game that has created its own formula by delicately fusing RPG elements with third-person shooter gameplay, and the result is simply pure perfection.

    The game picks up a few years after the first Mass Effect game and revolves around the protagonist from the first game, John (or Jane) Shepard, who after waking up from a coma and being essentially brought back from the dead by a shadowy organisation named Cerberus must stop an invasion of deadly aliens known as the Collectors, who are abducting entire colonies of humans for some unknown purpose. To do this, he must assemble a team and travel beyond the Omega 4 Relay, from which no ship has ever returned. As he recruits new allies and old friends for his suicide mission, Shepard makes new discoveries which reveal more and more of the mysterious Collectors' nature and goals.

    The story in this game is absolutely amazing. How the plot progresses depends partly on the actions that Shepard took in the first Mass Effect, so I highly reccommend playing that first before this. The rest is decided through the game's morality system - "Paragon" choices make Shepard a much more noble, just character, whereas "Renegade" choices make him bolder, harsher and colder. This allows for a different experience and different character developments for Shepard depending on what choices the player makes throughout the game and its predecessor - anything that you do could change the course of the whole game. And when you reach the ending, I absolutely guarantee that you will be on the edge of your computer chair with tension. Also returning from Mass Effect 1 is the ability to start a romantic relationship with one of the characters on board the ship. This has little effect on the storyline itself but it's kind of cute to see Shepard finding love.

    As for the gameplay, Mass Effect 2 builds upon the starndard third person shooter formula with some innovative features, for instance Shepard and his team can use various abilities in battle, including various technological abilities, different weapon ammo types and "biotics" - psychic-like abilities which can be used for both offence and defence. This seems to make battles flow much more as you swictn betwnn shooting and using your powers to find the best way of dispatching your enemy.

    The game has a "loyalty mission" system, wherein you can gain special missions from particular characters, and if you complete these missions you will unlock an extra outfitm and extra power and that character's "loyalty" - in the endgame thhis will become very important, so after you start receiving these missions, try to avoid other missions until you have recruited everyone and completed all of their loyalty missions. Shepard can also purchase upgrades for his allies and for his ship, the Normandy - these will also be much needed in the endgame.

    All in all, Mass Effect 2 is hard to describe with any other word other than its own title. With an awe-inspiring story, action-packed gameplay and endless replay value, no self-respecting gamer should pass it up.
    Expand
  69. Jan 30, 2015
    10
    Possibly the greatest RPG of all time for its style(character and story driven with light combat and character development). Do not get this game expecting it to be Fallout or Skyrim, it is about a journey and more importantly the characters of that journey, it is closer to A telltale game than a traditional RPG, but it is incredible. Many people viewed the softer combat as a negative butPossibly the greatest RPG of all time for its style(character and story driven with light combat and character development). Do not get this game expecting it to be Fallout or Skyrim, it is about a journey and more importantly the characters of that journey, it is closer to A telltale game than a traditional RPG, but it is incredible. Many people viewed the softer combat as a negative but really that was the game removing non core elements, and it shows because the bond you feel for the characters in this series is greater than any other RPG I have played. Part of the reason that people were so let down by the ending is that this game and the majority of the third game are where you will find great moment after great moment, this series really picks up in the second game and its an incredible journey to experience. Expand
  70. Dec 18, 2014
    10
    "An Epic Sci-fi Space Adventure"
    -------------------------------------------
    Mass Effect 2 is simply the Pinnacle of role play games. It is the most satisfying game up to date, the game surpasses all the expectations. It builds it's own unique sci fi universe with a incredible story and a superb and unforgettable cast of characters Mass Effect 2 is simply THE BEST game of all time.
    "An Epic Sci-fi Space Adventure"
    -------------------------------------------
    Mass Effect 2 is simply the Pinnacle of role play games. It is the most satisfying game up to date, the game surpasses all the expectations. It builds it's own unique sci fi universe with a incredible story and
    a superb and unforgettable cast of characters Mass Effect 2 is simply THE BEST game of all time.
    --------------------------------------------------
    PROS-
    + Spectacular Story
    + Very Deep Character Interactions
    + Unforgettable Cast Of Characters
    + New UI Doesn't Confuse Things Up
    + Improved Cover System
    + Paragon/Renegade Choices
    + Engaging Interruption System
    + Redone Hacking/Bypassing
    + NPCs Are Voiced By Popular Actors
    + Interesting NPC Facial Expressions
    + Techno-Trance Orchestral Music
    + Infinite Replayability
    + Cinematic Cutscenes
    + Interactive Galaxy Map
    + Choices Matters
    + Grapically Amazing
    + Distinct Classes To Play As
    + Rich Lore
    + Distinct Side Missions
    + Loved Characters Are Romance Able
    + Lots Of Meaningful Exploration
    + Mass Destructive Heavy Weapons
    + All Flaws Are Overshadowed
    + Fantastic Improvement

    CONS-
    - Story Feels Disconnected To ME
    - Lack Of Weapon Selection
    - Class Restrictions
    - Lengthy Firefights Are Repetitive
    - Planet Mining Minigame
    - Boss Fights Could Have Been Better
    - Few Annoying Linear Sections
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    The Price Of Revenge DLC
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    + Adds One New Squad Member

    - Zaeed Lacks Character Development
    - Too Short

    /SCORE: 4.3
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    Kasumi Stolen Memory DLC
    --------------------------------------------------------- + Kasumi's Story + Bekenstein Looks Great - Kasumi Feels Uninteresting - Bit Overpriced /SCORE: 6.7 --------------------------------------------------------- Worthwhile Downloadable Packs --------------------------------------------------------- + Normandy Crash Site + Arc Projector + Alternate Appearance Pack 1 + Equalizer Pack + Mass Effect: Genesis + Alternate Appearance Pack 2 + Firepower Pack - Cerberus Weapon And Armor - Firewalker Pack - Aegis Pack --------------------------------------------------------- Overlord DLC --------------------------------------------------------- + Hammerhead Is Better Than Mako + Gorgeous Visuals + Great Wildlife + Deep Ending + Engaging Music - Not Much Dialogue /SCORE: 9.3 --------------------------------------------------------- Lair Of The Shadow Broker DLC --------------------------------------------------------- + Planet Hagalaz Is Stunning + Humorous Writing + One Impressive Car Chase + Top Notch Action + Choices Carry Over To ME3 - Pretty Short /SCORE: 9.8 --------------------------------------------------------- Arrival DLC --------------------------------------------------------- + Important Plot + Choices Has Consequences In ME3 + Engaging Combat + Lengthy But For A Low Price + Creates Tension + The Final Confrontation - Squad Members Aren't Allowed - Lacking Dialogue /SCORE: 9.8 ======GAMESCORE: 10.0 - "PINNACLE"======
    Expand
  71. Dec 4, 2014
    9
    Played it again recently with all the DLC's installed. Great game. Some things were improved others were a little step back. Story is great. Character selection is fantastic. RPG elements were cut back a bit but it still felt alright. I liked customizable armor but did not like how I couldn't change/upgrade companions armor, you could change their look which is something I guess. MiningPlayed it again recently with all the DLC's installed. Great game. Some things were improved others were a little step back. Story is great. Character selection is fantastic. RPG elements were cut back a bit but it still felt alright. I liked customizable armor but did not like how I couldn't change/upgrade companions armor, you could change their look which is something I guess. Mining for minerals is boring. Doing research to upgrade your equipment is good. Side missions are better than in previous game. Really good and fun game. Expand
  72. Nov 24, 2014
    9
    A well-rounded and very solid sequel to the original. It improves on the first game in almost every aspect. The combat feels more fluid and much more fun, the graphics, story, and sound are better than ever.

    It plays much like the original - an over the shoulder action/RPG. If you liked the first one, you will love this. There are reoccurring characters from the first game and the
    A well-rounded and very solid sequel to the original. It improves on the first game in almost every aspect. The combat feels more fluid and much more fun, the graphics, story, and sound are better than ever.

    It plays much like the original - an over the shoulder action/RPG. If you liked the first one, you will love this. There are reoccurring characters from the first game and the ability to import your ME1 character, along with all the decisions (and consequences). A really nice touch.

    My only (minor) gripes is that the inventory and level-up system seems even further dumbed down compared to the first one. A definite con for those of you that like customisation in their RPGs. The galaxy map is also a little silly (and pointless). These however, are nit-picking an otherwise superb game - a game that it probably on my top 10 games of all time. Everyone should play it. Period.

    Jimbo Rating: 9/10
    Expand
  73. Nov 21, 2014
    10
    A rare exception to the rule of sequels, ME2 is even more enjoyable than its acclaimed predecessor. ME2 continues in the tradition of the series with a solid plot, exceptionally well-written companions, the ability to shape the plot, and gives the user a truly immersive gaming experience.

    Pros: -Well written plot and dialogue -Well written party and ample room for character
    A rare exception to the rule of sequels, ME2 is even more enjoyable than its acclaimed predecessor. ME2 continues in the tradition of the series with a solid plot, exceptionally well-written companions, the ability to shape the plot, and gives the user a truly immersive gaming experience.

    Pros:

    -Well written plot and dialogue
    -Well written party and ample room for character development
    -Vastly improved combat system with cover/heat clips
    -Excellent music
    -Side quests are generally enjoyable and much improved over ME1

    Cons:

    -Would have liked to have had more options for main character to interact in political settings like we saw in ME1 and ME3.

    This game is certainly a "must play" for any gamer.
    Expand
  74. Nov 19, 2014
    10
    Brilliant. Other than DA:O, never have I cared so much about a group of characters. The writing, the dialogue, the story-line, the depth of characterization, the graphics, the game play are all stunning. Bioware has created a space epic masterpiece with this game. From the awesomeness of the opening sequence to the nail-biting suicide mission, I was enthralled. Highly re-playable too. EachBrilliant. Other than DA:O, never have I cared so much about a group of characters. The writing, the dialogue, the story-line, the depth of characterization, the graphics, the game play are all stunning. Bioware has created a space epic masterpiece with this game. From the awesomeness of the opening sequence to the nail-biting suicide mission, I was enthralled. Highly re-playable too. Each side mission had delicious moments as well. Nothing felt throw-away. Kudus Bioware! Expand
  75. Oct 22, 2014
    9
    There's a very, very few games out there as satisfying as Bioware's action RPG masterpiece. From combat strategy variations to mining planets to gather resource, from taking important decisions (specially at the final stages) to pursuing a relationship with crew members; everything is mind bending. not for a single moment, you'll not fell thrilled. It's a must, must play game for anyThere's a very, very few games out there as satisfying as Bioware's action RPG masterpiece. From combat strategy variations to mining planets to gather resource, from taking important decisions (specially at the final stages) to pursuing a relationship with crew members; everything is mind bending. not for a single moment, you'll not fell thrilled. It's a must, must play game for any gamer.

    I don't know when I'll play something like Mass Effect 2 in future - probably ever? Yeah, this is simply THAT MUCH good!!
    Expand
  76. Oct 7, 2014
    10
    I emplore anybody to find a game of its kind that makes you care about the story or its characters more...one of the best pecies of art to grace any platform
  77. Oct 1, 2014
    10
    For the most part, Mass Effect 2 improves on it's predecessor in every way, from the combat to the squad characters and production values, ME2 gives the player a customizable cinematic experience. The game has some small flaws, such as bugged quests and the mining mechanic which can become tedious, although it's a fun diversion the first few times. The enemy variety is a little lessFor the most part, Mass Effect 2 improves on it's predecessor in every way, from the combat to the squad characters and production values, ME2 gives the player a customizable cinematic experience. The game has some small flaws, such as bugged quests and the mining mechanic which can become tedious, although it's a fun diversion the first few times. The enemy variety is a little less diverse than ME1, but it fits with the narrative and the shift from un peacekeeper to corporate mercenary. The end game, while dramatic, can be frustrating as keeping your crew alive isn't overtly explained, although through trial and error given the proper precautions it can easily be done. Although it follows some sci-fi tropes, it feels fresh enough to warrant exploring its universe, and stands up just fine on its own. Expand
  78. Sep 21, 2014
    10
    Great Game. Combat is fun. Mainstoryline is a bit lackluster, but the sidestories are on of the best I have ever enjoyed in a game. Memorable characters and a lot of character interaction. Choices matter sometimes (more than in dragon age, but less than in witcher 2) .Overall: 10/10
  79. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    I only have one word: Masterpiece! There is no other way to describe this game.

    Especially, and I can't stress this enough, if you have been continuing from Mass Effect 1. If you haven't, you're missing out. Granted, there is the Genesis DLC which apparently lets you make all the important decisions from ME1, but you're still not going to get the full experience. You might get the
    I only have one word: Masterpiece! There is no other way to describe this game.

    Especially, and I can't stress this enough, if you have been continuing from Mass Effect 1. If you haven't, you're missing out. Granted, there is the Genesis DLC which apparently lets you make all the important decisions from ME1, but you're still not going to get the full experience. You might get the knowledge of the storyline, but not the ambience. The essence of what makes Mass Effect what it is, the beginning of it all, is lost.

    ME1 is by far not as detailed and "massive" as the second installment (also referring to the places you can visit, and mission diversity), but it's still a lot of fun and the amount of "aha" effects and experience of encountering all your former squad members again in ME2, after a few years have passed and things have changed, are one of the greatest experiences in computer gaming today.

    Bioware also did a great job at carrying over your ME1 character's appearance. There are not many games where your character becomes that important. In the game itself, and to the gamer. You care about the reputation and notoriety you achieve. That hasn't really ever happened to me before in a game. Not on this level.

    The atmosphere overall is excellent, the combat satisfying, since it turns out differently depending on which squad members you take along for the mission, there is a lot more emphasis on resources since they are required for researching new abilities, but it's a fun way to achieve this, and you can quickly do some resource grinding between missions. No longwinded MACO surveys that yield a few resources that really didn't seem to have much of any effect other than credits.

    The new Normandy is much bigger, it has 4 separate decks and it's a nice motivation that parts of the ship unlock, the further you progress through the storyline. It's worth seeing. You're not going to get to drive the MACO as far as I've seen, but a DLC offers a hover vehicle which you can control in a set of missions.

    The voice acting and animations are top notch, and especially Miranda's character was also modelled after the actress who lent her voice (Yvonne Strahovski). This was done so well, that I recognized the actress in the CG character. Great job Bioware! There are also a number of other, well known actors involved, all of them reprising their roles from ME1 (incl. Lance Henriksen & Seth Green), which provides great continuity. Names include Carrie-Anne Moss (Matrix), Adam Baldwin (Chuck, Firefly, X-Files etc.), Michael Dorn, Armin Shimerman, Dwight Schultz (all in Star Trek among others), Claudia Black (Stargate, Farscape) and Martin Sheen (Apocalypse Now, Wall Street) -- [movies/shows quoted from memory, I realize all of these guys have done much more]!

    If you ever watched a great science-fiction action-adventure movie and wished you could be part of it, this is your chance. In Mass Effect you can be. Stop reading, and go protect the galaxy! Do it now!
    Expand
  80. Sep 5, 2014
    10
    One of the very few games that I beat in one sitting. One of the few games that I was sad because of the Characters that died. One of the few games that I really enjoyed. It was the high point of the series. Mass Effect was Ok. held back by bad graphics and gameplay. Mass Effect 3 was trying to appeal to a huge audience. Mass Effect was just perfect, no doubt about it. Its ended up on manyOne of the very few games that I beat in one sitting. One of the few games that I was sad because of the Characters that died. One of the few games that I really enjoyed. It was the high point of the series. Mass Effect was Ok. held back by bad graphics and gameplay. Mass Effect 3 was trying to appeal to a huge audience. Mass Effect was just perfect, no doubt about it. Its ended up on many peoples "Best Games Ever" lists, and im no exception Expand
  81. Aug 29, 2014
    10
    EA surprised me with this game. Normally EA doesn't do so well with gaming, but this! EA and BioWare really did a good job on improving this franchise. Let's start from the top: A near-perfect beginning, that got my heart racing and immersing me into the story (I'm not gonna spoil it). The rest of the story is near perfect, giving more room than all other games for what you want yourEA surprised me with this game. Normally EA doesn't do so well with gaming, but this! EA and BioWare really did a good job on improving this franchise. Let's start from the top: A near-perfect beginning, that got my heart racing and immersing me into the story (I'm not gonna spoil it). The rest of the story is near perfect, giving more room than all other games for what you want your character and your squad to be. Example: You can have your character be a warm-hearted kind guy who does stuff for the people, or the epic badass who always trusts the bad way of doing things. You can have your squad master this power or that, or have an even balance between things. The combat is the best I've seen ever, and makes Mass Effect 1's combat seem poorly done (ME1's combat is great, btw). And powers are greatly improved, as well- cool-down reduction, great looking, and very useful (especially for biotics). Infinite ammo is removed, which really removes a lot of stress (overheating weapons in ME1 is a pain in the @**). All in all, I think this game's a genius's work. Credits to EA and BioWare! Expand
  82. Aug 24, 2014
    10
    There is nothing bad I can say about this game. It pretty much single-handedly got me back into sci-fi in a big way. Great characters, great plot, massive worlds and seemingly endless scope for exploration. This thing sucked me in like few games do and I couldn't get enough of it. One of the truly great games on PS3 that's for sure.
  83. Aug 8, 2014
    9
    The controls....all the details....the storytelling....THE CHARACTERS! Mass Effect 2 improved a lot on Mass Effect's flaws, but kept all the lovely characters and details in storytelling the same. Mass Effect 2 was thrilling all the way to the end, nothing of it felt tedious and boring. I would always recommend this game to anyone.
  84. Jul 30, 2014
    8
    Frustrating on some parts but with an awesome lore. It should please pro gamers as well as those who play for the story because everything you do (or don't do) affects on the final result. Casual gamers, stay away from this, it's a masterpiece but with some flaws like the lack of mission markers for sidequest (ehemZeldaSyndromeehem) or the dificulty spikes. Even there are some dificultyFrustrating on some parts but with an awesome lore. It should please pro gamers as well as those who play for the story because everything you do (or don't do) affects on the final result. Casual gamers, stay away from this, it's a masterpiece but with some flaws like the lack of mission markers for sidequest (ehemZeldaSyndromeehem) or the dificulty spikes. Even there are some dificulty holes that demando no skill from the player whatsoever. Like a Picasso painting with some wine stains. Expand
  85. Jul 7, 2014
    8
    Extremely good game like many said before. Brilliant storytelling, fluid gameplay, excellent graphics, music and sound. My only problems: lot of overpriced DLCs, after the first game's crew I felt a bit let down, because I found only a handful of sympathic "companion" characters (Grunt, Garrus, Mordin). The mining was horrible and I felt bored while doing most of the side mission (withExtremely good game like many said before. Brilliant storytelling, fluid gameplay, excellent graphics, music and sound. My only problems: lot of overpriced DLCs, after the first game's crew I felt a bit let down, because I found only a handful of sympathic "companion" characters (Grunt, Garrus, Mordin). The mining was horrible and I felt bored while doing most of the side mission (with notable exceptions). There were some balance issues between the classes as for example with a simple soldier I had a MUCH easier gameplay on insane than with my first playthrough (default) adept due to the mechanics for the powers. Still, one of the best game! Expand
  86. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    This is my favorite game ever the story was hands down the best it had a huge improvement from the first game like NO **** ATV (it annoyed the hell out of me) and I do like the clips instead of unlimited (it was so overpowered) the characters are just bad-ass and you also get to see the characters from the first game and fight with some of them again the gameplay is just fun (u finallyThis is my favorite game ever the story was hands down the best it had a huge improvement from the first game like NO **** ATV (it annoyed the hell out of me) and I do like the clips instead of unlimited (it was so overpowered) the characters are just bad-ass and you also get to see the characters from the first game and fight with some of them again the gameplay is just fun (u finally get to slide over things). I have played over 200 hours on this game doing ever choice every class every ending. Overall amazing game I highly recommend getting this game. Expand
  87. Jul 4, 2014
    10
    ITS MORE THAN A GAME........this is my first MASS EFFECT game,i have'nt played the previous part..Usually i love playing 3rd person shooter games but not found of playing science-fiction games... But i really loved this game..good graphics as its a 2010 game,also gameplay,storyline are all excellent...the characters are also great including commander shepard and miranda is damm hot andITS MORE THAN A GAME........this is my first MASS EFFECT game,i have'nt played the previous part..Usually i love playing 3rd person shooter games but not found of playing science-fiction games... But i really loved this game..good graphics as its a 2010 game,also gameplay,storyline are all excellent...the characters are also great including commander shepard and miranda is damm hot and sexyy ;)... now i playing mass effect 2 and will play mass effect 3 for sure...i became a big fan of MASS EFFECT :) Expand
  88. Jun 26, 2014
    9
    Sequels are always a scary thing. Mass Effect 2 came out and a lot of stuff that I found accessible enough from 1 was simplified. Sure, I didn't particularly enjoy driving around on a planet for 10 minutes, but would have preferred that over probing. Each game was better in its own way. I liked the wider range of well, everything you could do in 1, but enjoyed the story and characters moreSequels are always a scary thing. Mass Effect 2 came out and a lot of stuff that I found accessible enough from 1 was simplified. Sure, I didn't particularly enjoy driving around on a planet for 10 minutes, but would have preferred that over probing. Each game was better in its own way. I liked the wider range of well, everything you could do in 1, but enjoyed the story and characters more in 2. I like to think the thought of reapers made everyone get better training and stop being as clunky, but that's just me. Expand
  89. sft
    Jun 15, 2014
    8
    Very nearly the full kilo

    I enjoyed Mass Effect 1 but was only able to give it 3/5 due to some pretty annoying flaws. I’m glad to say that most of those flaws have been eradicated in ME2. Gone are the endless slow elevator rides. Gone are the tedious, bouncy buggy rides on dull, lifeless planets. And gone is the ridiculously complex HUD. What hasn’t changed are its strong points, which
    Very nearly the full kilo

    I enjoyed Mass Effect 1 but was only able to give it 3/5 due to some pretty annoying flaws. I’m glad to say that most of those flaws have been eradicated in ME2. Gone are the endless slow elevator rides. Gone are the tedious, bouncy buggy rides on dull, lifeless planets. And gone is the ridiculously complex HUD. What hasn’t changed are its strong points, which remain in the storyline and RPG elements. Once again there is a detailed and compelling story along with many side plots and missions, which are more diverse and creative than those in ME1. The voice acting is excellent throughout as are the character models and animations, which are fluid and naturalistic. Graphically it’s very good for a four-year-old game, although there’s little in the way of physics, which is a shame. The combat has also improved, although it remains rather clunky and lacklustre compared to other games. The Mass Effect franchise is clearly about providing a rich and developed universe in which to place the player and to give that player a full-bodied RPG experience peppered with combat and action along the way. And in this respect ME2 really delivers. If not for the so-so combat I would have given it 5/5.
    Expand
  90. Jun 12, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game. A game where choices actually matter, and the galaxy is epic and brilliant. This game is only held back by its lack of true side/optional missions, boring scanning for minerals, and an ending that really doesnt matter what your choices were, all you have to do is follow a flow chart Expand
  91. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    By far my favorite game. Fantastic storyline, character development, and gameplay. You get to choose your class as well as everything you say in the game.... pretty amazing piece of art. Good job fellaz.
  92. May 20, 2014
    10
    Cons:
    EA published, less RPG feel compared to the first one.

    Pros:
    Great characters, great story, nice decision system, fun gameplay, immersive atmosphere, great sci-fi universe, politically charged & nice classes to choose from.
  93. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    I love this game. I love it so much, you can sink in it's own world so easily, the world of ME2 feels so alive, everyone reacts to the things you do, it's a feeling of a world being alive I had in Fallout 3 the last time, and it's (besides Bully which is an amazing game too) the only game I had such a feeling in. (Wow, this sounds kinda stoned.) I can JUST recommend it. It may be that II love this game. I love it so much, you can sink in it's own world so easily, the world of ME2 feels so alive, everyone reacts to the things you do, it's a feeling of a world being alive I had in Fallout 3 the last time, and it's (besides Bully which is an amazing game too) the only game I had such a feeling in. (Wow, this sounds kinda stoned.) I can JUST recommend it. It may be that I like the game so much, just because I didn't expect much, to be honest, when I bought it I didn't even wanna install it. Then I watched like 2 Reviews of it and started playing it. But still, you should really get it.

    I REALLY don't know how anyone could give this game anything under 80.
    Expand
  94. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    Loooooved the story,emotion is this game fuel.You feel responsable for every word,act,charachter and universe.Great job.My top 10 of all times is here.
  95. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    True sequel to the first masterpiece,again great story,improved gameplay elements.(only backfire is the new weapon and skill system in my opinion,but its easy to overlook that).
    And what catched me is,that how the game feedbacks on your imported savegame,you backstory.
    PLAY THE FIRST GAME FIRST!!!!! MUST HAVE FOR EVERYONE. Looking foward for the third one which i will start next week.
    True sequel to the first masterpiece,again great story,improved gameplay elements.(only backfire is the new weapon and skill system in my opinion,but its easy to overlook that).
    And what catched me is,that how the game feedbacks on your imported savegame,you backstory.
    PLAY THE FIRST GAME FIRST!!!!!
    MUST HAVE FOR EVERYONE.
    Looking foward for the third one which i will start next week.
    And so far,the best optimized game i've seen.It runs so well on my old P4 that im amazed.

    [spoiler] it is really satisfying to hear how are the rachni(just save them :D),to meet old friends,to get **** up by krogans.:D
    To look at the universe,and see what you made with your choices.(council or TV report from ME1.)
    Expand
  96. Mar 6, 2014
    9
    This game was my first in the Mass Effect series. Unfortunately I discovered the series way after it was popular. So at first I didn't know what the hub bub was about. If your new to the series at first it just seems a little flat. It seemed it was more about graphics and such. And the series seemed to be a more modern and not Star Wars universe rip off of KOTOR.

    After you get playing
    This game was my first in the Mass Effect series. Unfortunately I discovered the series way after it was popular. So at first I didn't know what the hub bub was about. If your new to the series at first it just seems a little flat. It seemed it was more about graphics and such. And the series seemed to be a more modern and not Star Wars universe rip off of KOTOR.

    After you get playing you see what the series is about. It has a lot going for it. First it is a first person shooter for the average Joe. Then they throw in coordinated squad combat. They up the anti by giving you a character that can allow you to chose good or bad actions, as you choose without ruining the storyline. They wisely have you playing the title character but allow you to customize your story and looks. They also have you choose a class, but allow you to chose the way your character levels up. Which can greatly alter your game experience when you choose to replay the game.

    Then they allow you to upgrade weapons, your ship and even choose how your squad mates level up. You can even just let your squad mates help you in fights or command them who to attack. But to make the game better they add mini games. Which just adds an entire new level of enjoyment to the game.

    But the big draw is probably story. The game has a story line for you. You make choices that can affect the way your companions see you. And may subtly affect other aspects of the story. On top of that story you get other stories very much like the KOTOR series does.

    In the end the game seems to take the best of the KOTOR series and change it up enough so that you have similarly great aspects. But with enough changes to make the system seem fresh and exciting.

    Because you can choose to go in so many directions the game has great replay value. Certainly a game worth owning. And probably should be in any RPG fan's collection.
    Expand
  97. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    I've always loved Mass Effect 1 when it was first out on 360, i just loved, the storytelling,combat everything and i just thought Mass Effect 2 (before it cam out) was just the same as Mass Effect 1, like it cant be improved, (BETTER), but Mass Effect 2 came out and i played it and it blew me away it was better, but still like mass effect 1 and always will, but mass effect 2 just blew meI've always loved Mass Effect 1 when it was first out on 360, i just loved, the storytelling,combat everything and i just thought Mass Effect 2 (before it cam out) was just the same as Mass Effect 1, like it cant be improved, (BETTER), but Mass Effect 2 came out and i played it and it blew me away it was better, but still like mass effect 1 and always will, but mass effect 2 just blew me away it was mind blowing full of awesomeness, great game YOU HAVE TO BUY IT!!!!!! Expand
  98. Feb 5, 2014
    9
    a clear improvement over the original. improved graphics and gameplay, along with an even better story than the first. your character personality can be changed once again based on your actions. the ending is influenced by how loyal your squad members are to you which happens during loyalty missions, and in some cases, dialogue choices. the gameplay itself has been greatly improved and nowa clear improvement over the original. improved graphics and gameplay, along with an even better story than the first. your character personality can be changed once again based on your actions. the ending is influenced by how loyal your squad members are to you which happens during loyalty missions, and in some cases, dialogue choices. the gameplay itself has been greatly improved and now has special actions that take place during some cutscenes, somewhat like qte's. left clicking is a renegade action, and right clicking is a paragon action. there's a larger variety of guns and powers now, although no gun mods which is a little disappointing. the voice acting has improved a bit, and the characters are more interesting now, which is also nice. the only problems are that there are still glitches, mainly getting stuck on pieces of scenery and having to wait to die or restarting the mission or last save. Expand
  99. Jan 19, 2014
    8
    Most things that got potential in the first game were completly removed, but the game works better as a TPS than as a tactical RPG. I am a little dissapointed because the story is weaker and some opportunities were missed, by it has a better gameplay with combat that actually works.
  100. Jan 11, 2014
    8
    The graphics are great, the story is great, the game-play is great and the soundtrack it great. Over all this is a very fun game and it should not be missed out on. This game is GREAT!!!
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 96
    Mass Effect 2 resumes with pride the path opened by the first game. This sequel is a lesson of how things should be made.
  2. Mass Effect 2 delivers a story that's deeper than what many novelists are capable of, and its action is better than what most Hollywood directors are creating nowadays. It's an addictive, engrossing experience that many gamers will replay over and over while they hold their breath waiting for the third game.
  3. A brilliant mix of shooter and role-playing, filled with great characters, excellent design, lots of action and clever dialogue. It's a shame though that Bioware did not improve the inventory and skill system of the first game, but actually reduced it even more. I really wished there were more customization options, more ways to develop and gear up my characters. But all these are merely small points of criticism, since there is so much to feel and experience in this game. Mass Effect 2 is a thrilling, emotional ride and ultimately every bit as good as its predecessor.