Mass Effect 2 PC

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3949 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 25, 2011
    10
    thoroughly enjoyed Mass Effect 2. I replayed this game 3 times. I can not wait for ME3. The only down side is that I can only romance one character at a time! :X
  2. Jan 31, 2012
    9
    Developer's decisions are weird sometimes. Replacing simple weapons stats with a description box... yyyy... haven't they read any design book? How does a pile of text make up for some easy and graphically-presented stats?! Than they replaced a good, interesting story-line with a simple gather-a-team-and-finish-them-all thing. In result the only two thing that I've remembered from thisDeveloper's decisions are weird sometimes. Replacing simple weapons stats with a description box... yyyy... haven't they read any design book? How does a pile of text make up for some easy and graphically-presented stats?! Than they replaced a good, interesting story-line with a simple gather-a-team-and-finish-them-all thing. In result the only two thing that I've remembered from this episode is that I've died at the beginning (nice one Bioware!) and then picking up some members of my team only to make some wrong decisions at the end and almost killed them then... xD The game is very good and I had a lot of fun but I don't agree with some decisions made there.



    Overall:
    ------------
    Graphics 10/10

    Audio 9.5/10 (hate the death sound)

    Gameplay 9/10 (getting companions -> finishing the game)
    Expand
  3. Jul 7, 2014
    8
    Extremely good game like many said before. Brilliant storytelling, fluid gameplay, excellent graphics, music and sound. My only problems: lot of overpriced DLCs, after the first game's crew I felt a bit let down, because I found only a handful of sympathic "companion" characters (Grunt, Garrus, Mordin). The mining was horrible and I felt bored while doing most of the side mission (withExtremely good game like many said before. Brilliant storytelling, fluid gameplay, excellent graphics, music and sound. My only problems: lot of overpriced DLCs, after the first game's crew I felt a bit let down, because I found only a handful of sympathic "companion" characters (Grunt, Garrus, Mordin). The mining was horrible and I felt bored while doing most of the side mission (with notable exceptions). There were some balance issues between the classes as for example with a simple soldier I had a MUCH easier gameplay on insane than with my first playthrough (default) adept due to the mechanics for the powers. Still, one of the best game! Expand
  4. May 11, 2013
    10
    What can i say about this game? It is still the best game I ever played. The combat mechanics are much improved from Mass Effect 1 and feels much more fluid.The story is is great, it keept me intrested the whole time. All characters are intresting each in their own way(especially Mordin & Legion). The game is full of decisions wich have consequences that ripple thru the story and alsoWhat can i say about this game? It is still the best game I ever played. The combat mechanics are much improved from Mass Effect 1 and feels much more fluid.The story is is great, it keept me intrested the whole time. All characters are intresting each in their own way(especially Mordin & Legion). The game is full of decisions wich have consequences that ripple thru the story and also effects in Mass Effect 3. Only gripes i have with the game is that the planet scanning minigame becomes a bit tedious. It takes too long to scan the planets and get the ressources you need. Also the rpg elements have been reduced quite significantly and there is not enough of Liara T'Soni! So are you gonna be the Paragon Shepard who is nice to everyone or are you gonna be Renegade Shepard who punches people in the face? The choice is yours! I'm Commander Shepard and this is my favorite game on the citadel! Expand
  5. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    10/10.

    I cannot believe that people actually WANT TO SPEND THEIR TIME managing a completely useless inventory, when they can go out and smack enemies about in ME2. I enjoyed the fact that there was no inventory to speak of in ME2, and it was one of the good points of DA II. I like getting new items, I really do, it is awesome to get new good loot. I fully understand that, but I don't
    10/10.

    I cannot believe that people actually WANT TO SPEND THEIR TIME managing a completely useless inventory, when they can go out and smack enemies about in ME2. I enjoyed the fact that there was no inventory to speak of in ME2, and it was one of the good points of DA II. I like getting new items, I really do, it is awesome to get new good loot. I fully understand that, but I don't want to have to manage it in an inventory and I don't want to have to swap from Katana I to Katana II and III every damn time I kill an enemy and receive the new and upgraded weapon. Loot should be meaningful, and rewarded from something special (kill boss or complete difficult mission etc.).

    Mass Effect missed some things. It's combat wasn't all that good (ME2 improved on that), it's exploration "system" sucked (ME2 removed and got in planet scanning, imo just remove both), graphics (ME2 improved bigtime), immersion (I felt more inline with my shepard in ME2 than ME1).
    ME 2 did also miss out on some things. In essence, the main story, is rather shallow, it feels like the game is a big mix of side missions, rather than a big main story and some side missions. The storyline could use a little bit of work. In the end, though, I have enjoyed every minute with ME2 and I am super hyped for ME 3.
    I will give it a 9/10 because of the "little" miss on the storyline.
    Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This game is a triumph. I kid you not, I've played through eight different times, continuing saves from Mass Effect and once starting from scratch on ME2. The story and gameplay are amazing. It's incredibly rewarding to see that your choices matter. The soundtrack is as epic as any Sci-fi adventure. This game is perfect.
  7. May 27, 2011
    9
    Would give this game a 10 had it not been for the simplification of the RP aspect that made ME1 exceptional. In removing the bugs, awful loading times, and terrible mechanics and travel, ME2 also removed inventory, customization, and a crucial story-arc that is truly dimensional. That being said, Mass Effect 2 is still one of the top video games that have ever been created, right up thereWould give this game a 10 had it not been for the simplification of the RP aspect that made ME1 exceptional. In removing the bugs, awful loading times, and terrible mechanics and travel, ME2 also removed inventory, customization, and a crucial story-arc that is truly dimensional. That being said, Mass Effect 2 is still one of the top video games that have ever been created, right up there with anything you throw at it. From its dazzling cut-scenes to its exceptional game-play, Mass Effect 2 MORE than made up for its flaws, and obliterated Mass Effect 1 in terms of overall quality in comparison. The story was compelling and at times even emotional. A true indication that a video game can be art. This was more than a game, and you would shoot yourself in the foot if you never gave this game a chance. Expand
  8. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    First off, I want to point out the stupidity of Users giving low scores at the moment. Almost all are giving it a low score because they release DLC's. Thats like criticising an author for releasing each of his books individually over 5 years instead of putting them in a 1000 page omnibus. Mass Effect 2 is a masterpiece. A symphony of stunning graphics, sublime voice acting, innovativeFirst off, I want to point out the stupidity of Users giving low scores at the moment. Almost all are giving it a low score because they release DLC's. Thats like criticising an author for releasing each of his books individually over 5 years instead of putting them in a 1000 page omnibus. Mass Effect 2 is a masterpiece. A symphony of stunning graphics, sublime voice acting, innovative gameplay, incredibly gripping non-linear story and a rich sci-fi universe, brimming with lively characters. This will go down in the history of gaming. One of the greatest RPG trilogies that will ever be made. Expand
  9. May 30, 2011
    9
    Game play and story line are phenomenal, extremely satisfying, fun and action packed story line with a interesting "Karma" system. Only cons are that the facial graphics and animation in some of the cut scenes are some times awkward and that the cover system is a little corky. Another con is that the lines that Commander Shepard says in some of the cut scenes on occasion are slightlyGame play and story line are phenomenal, extremely satisfying, fun and action packed story line with a interesting "Karma" system. Only cons are that the facial graphics and animation in some of the cut scenes are some times awkward and that the cover system is a little corky. Another con is that the lines that Commander Shepard says in some of the cut scenes on occasion are slightly cheesy. Overall great game with a few minor cons that in no way affect the game play experience but could still be improved. Expand
  10. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    I ended up playing through this one 3 times in full and part of me still feels the draw to have another go. Flat out amazing game one of the best of 2010 for sure and I'd probably rank it in the top 10 games I've played of all time. And I've been gaming since you could fit multiple games on a 5 & 1/4 floppy.
  11. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Leading off with 10. Games are for fun, enjoyment diversion. ME2 delivered that to me in spades. The biggest gripe from others seems to stem from what an RPG is or isn't. For some the R stands for loot, inventory, tons of gear, options etc. For others the R is the characters, story and action. For me, the R is that latter. I really could care less about the drudgery of inventory andLeading off with 10. Games are for fun, enjoyment diversion. ME2 delivered that to me in spades. The biggest gripe from others seems to stem from what an RPG is or isn't. For some the R stands for loot, inventory, tons of gear, options etc. For others the R is the characters, story and action. For me, the R is that latter. I really could care less about the drudgery of inventory and looting that the original ME1 contained. For those that miss that, it's cool... to each their own. However to consider that "RPG Roots" reaches all the way back to pen and paper games, some of those were loot heavy gear fests and some where story, character and action driven. To claim that ME2 "oversimplifies the RPG genre", it really comes down to what you consider and RPG to be. It's a very individual choice... not an 'ending of the genre' as some might claim. My $0.02 Expand
  12. Nov 21, 2014
    10
    A rare exception to the rule of sequels, ME2 is even more enjoyable than its acclaimed predecessor. ME2 continues in the tradition of the series with a solid plot, exceptionally well-written companions, the ability to shape the plot, and gives the user a truly immersive gaming experience.

    Pros: -Well written plot and dialogue -Well written party and ample room for character
    A rare exception to the rule of sequels, ME2 is even more enjoyable than its acclaimed predecessor. ME2 continues in the tradition of the series with a solid plot, exceptionally well-written companions, the ability to shape the plot, and gives the user a truly immersive gaming experience.

    Pros:

    -Well written plot and dialogue
    -Well written party and ample room for character development
    -Vastly improved combat system with cover/heat clips
    -Excellent music
    -Side quests are generally enjoyable and much improved over ME1

    Cons:

    -Would have liked to have had more options for main character to interact in political settings like we saw in ME1 and ME3.

    This game is certainly a "must play" for any gamer.
    Expand
  13. Jul 17, 2011
    9
    The surprising event to occur at the start of ME2 got me very intrigued on my first play through and as the story unfolded I became hooked in anticipation. ME2 is not a good game because it improves on the short comings of Mass Effect 1, its good because it has an interesting story and setting that has depth and things are at stake to care about, well designed characters aesthetically andThe surprising event to occur at the start of ME2 got me very intrigued on my first play through and as the story unfolded I became hooked in anticipation. ME2 is not a good game because it improves on the short comings of Mass Effect 1, its good because it has an interesting story and setting that has depth and things are at stake to care about, well designed characters aesthetically and with personality, the decision making is not only ambitious but is pulled off very well, brilliantly and originally designed environments, creatures, costume and armour, and technically performs well at least on my PC with game play that feels satisfyingly good. The characters are good and memorable, I actually felt dread when some of them die, if you dont fall in love with Garrus, Tali, Legion, and Thane by the end of ME2 you have problems, I even grew attached to the space ship. I also want to make a big shout out to the legendary soundtrack, everyone must download the track Suicide Mission from Itunes now, its freaken awesome. The lack of depth in the RPG at first seems like a good thing as the shooting mechanics are good but after playing the game for over 60 hours it starts to show is thin side and has you missing some of the lacking RPG of the first game. I also dont think the decisions a player can make are perfect, who in their right mine didnt save the alien counsel in ME1? Who didnt save Wrex? But overall ME2 is a remarkable achievement and a new benchmark for modern single player games! Expand
  14. Mar 15, 2012
    8
    This game was actually very good. I am personally not into Sci-Fi RPGs, but this game really got me involved. The story and especially the ending were fantastic. Though there a few bugs such at getting stuck on top of objects requiring you to load your last save and lose your current progress was annoying. Another was the character face creator seemed to be lacking, specially for theThis game was actually very good. I am personally not into Sci-Fi RPGs, but this game really got me involved. The story and especially the ending were fantastic. Though there a few bugs such at getting stuck on top of objects requiring you to load your last save and lose your current progress was annoying. Another was the character face creator seemed to be lacking, specially for the female character. However, the games ending really soaks up all the problems into a fantastic 'you are the hero' feeling in the most interactive cinematic experience i have ever had at my fingertips. Expand
  15. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Mass effect 2 is AMAZING...if you consider yourself a skilled pc gamer,who even past mass effect 1,with ALL its content it should give up to 40-50 gameplay hours,but remember this issn't to be counted as one game,but as a full story,including ME 1 you should have 80-90 hours,this game has an inmense replay value.

    it only has three issues: You have to play the first one if you wish to
    Mass effect 2 is AMAZING...if you consider yourself a skilled pc gamer,who even past mass effect 1,with ALL its content it should give up to 40-50 gameplay hours,but remember this issn't to be counted as one game,but as a full story,including ME 1 you should have 80-90 hours,this game has an inmense replay value.

    it only has three issues:

    You have to play the first one if you wish to ully understand it
    you need a good system,most of the complaints about framerate are because they forgot to get an average video card.
    it has changed to satisfy the action players a bit more,but the rpg players a bit less.

    But overall,with an average to good video card this game shouldt present problems and everyone will enjoy it.
    Expand
  16. Jul 5, 2011
    8
    I have to admit, this game was fun i enjoyed it quite a bit, Although I cant help but feel like this was meant to be a movie more than a game and i'm talking about a Sci-Fi Grade B movie. I still think the game is worth buying but doesn't deserve a 9.
  17. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    From Bioware comes the next installment in their sci fi shooter Mass Effect 2. Things begin right after Mass Effect 1's ending and the Normandy and it's crew are sent to investigate the Terminus System where ships have dissapeared. Once again you can play as Shepard who is violently killed when the Normandy is attacked then the organization Cerberus rebuilds you and you have to find outFrom Bioware comes the next installment in their sci fi shooter Mass Effect 2. Things begin right after Mass Effect 1's ending and the Normandy and it's crew are sent to investigate the Terminus System where ships have dissapeared. Once again you can play as Shepard who is violently killed when the Normandy is attacked then the organization Cerberus rebuilds you and you have to find out what is happening and stop it. Instead of being bossed around by the alliance you are bossed around by the Illusive Man voiced by Martin Sheen. The Game looks beautiful and the sound of plasma rushing past your head is great too. The combat is similar to Mass Effect 1 there is some new powers it is lighter on the RPG side but I did not mind that because the devs put extra detail into the battles. This time you have ammo instead of guns heating up which is great. You go to different planets in the game and gather up a crew to fight the enemy. There are little side missions to gain the crews loyalty too to increse the survivability on the final mission and if you suck bad on the final mission you can even get Shepard killed. I didn't make any sexy relationships this time over all that I did was have a girl over for dinner though but then she died. The game is great I have played through it 15 times since i got it ill give it a 9.5 this review will be on my blog also at http://www.maximalistgtg.blogspot.com/ Expand
  18. Aug 15, 2011
    8
    Despite the fact that nearly all of the RPG content was removed.. Mass Effect 2 still brought in one hell of a game. I seriously wish the main plot line was larger though, you'll easily spend most of this game completing sub quests and building your squad. However, all those dull sounding moments turn out to be truly spectacular.
  19. Jan 27, 2013
    8
    Chest-high walls everywhere! Mass Effect 2 trades in most of the RPG (inventory, loot) elements from the first game, changes its tone (darker, more serious) and expands on the combat elements. Thankfully the dialogue wheel and conversations are just as expansive as before, although hub worlds and areas have been minimized, marginalized (the Citadel is tiny now). No vehicle sectionsChest-high walls everywhere! Mass Effect 2 trades in most of the RPG (inventory, loot) elements from the first game, changes its tone (darker, more serious) and expands on the combat elements. Thankfully the dialogue wheel and conversations are just as expansive as before, although hub worlds and areas have been minimized, marginalized (the Citadel is tiny now). No vehicle sections (amended somewhat with DLC), though the "N7" missions are back and aren't repetitive this time around. Stellar voice acting, music and cinematography as to be expected, writing is very dodgy in places but as far as experiences go, this one is hard to beat - the endgame ("suicide run") is second to none. Expand
  20. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    This game was really charming, beautiful and interesting.
    The plot twists were really though out, the story was very original and not a copycat from the first game.
    The characters were very developed and the action was improved over the last game. Mass Effect offered very great features and story while Mass Effect 2 improved over every aspect of the game. BioWare has made another great
    This game was really charming, beautiful and interesting.
    The plot twists were really though out, the story was very original and not a copycat from the first game.
    The characters were very developed and the action was improved over the last game.
    Mass Effect offered very great features and story while Mass Effect 2 improved over every aspect of the game. BioWare has made another great game with interesting story.
    Expand
  21. May 13, 2015
    9
    Excellent game. Developed characters, epic story, interesting plot. However, i must point out - i feel that the decision between good and bad choices (Paragon vs Renegade) affects the progression of the game in no way whatsoever. Yes, if your Paragon (goodness) is high enough, locked options will become available to you in dialogues; but as to the effect on the overall story - whetherExcellent game. Developed characters, epic story, interesting plot. However, i must point out - i feel that the decision between good and bad choices (Paragon vs Renegade) affects the progression of the game in no way whatsoever. Yes, if your Paragon (goodness) is high enough, locked options will become available to you in dialogues; but as to the effect on the overall story - whether you are an angel or a bad ass - has no effect whatsoever. I wish in some way it did, and an alternative path could be taken by a Renegade than the paragon fan. It is not the case, unfortunately. The rhythm of the game is, too, a little bit off - it seems every character (from your gathered team) waits until the very end of the game, to pour his entire life's story on you. Very anti-climatic, considering how the ending picks up the pacing of the story. These are the only negatives i have for this game - otherwise, a solid blockbuster for me! Enjoyed highly! Expand
  22. Aug 5, 2011
    8
    To put things into perspective: I liked the first Mass Effect, however I will likely never be able to replay it again because some things in it annoyed me so much, the planet exploration being the biggest offender... Now on to Mass Effect 2, it plays like the first game, except the combat has been much improved and the most annoying things from the first game have been cut out (the tediousTo put things into perspective: I liked the first Mass Effect, however I will likely never be able to replay it again because some things in it annoyed me so much, the planet exploration being the biggest offender... Now on to Mass Effect 2, it plays like the first game, except the combat has been much improved and the most annoying things from the first game have been cut out (the tedious exploration being one of them). Fear not though, in most cases there is a... suitable replacement for those things, so it's not like things like exploration are gone entirely. It's just different, simpler - 'dumbed down' if you wish to call it that.

    Indeed, the RPG elements from the first game have been simplified a bit. The inventory system is gone, the skill/level system has been edited (I don't like the changes to that), the weapon/armor mods are gone for the most part... I'm not too thrilled about all the changes, but it all makes sense in its own way. The inventory was very cumbersome to use in the first game, I felt. Improving it would have been a better idea rather than cutting it though.

    I guess you could say that Mass Effect 2 is now an action/adventure game with some light RPG elements but I'm not sure if that's fair. The dialogue things are still very in-depth and choices you make still affect the outcome of things (albeit sometimes in an unexpected or even nonsensical way) which is what makes an RPG in my eyes and not things like an inventory system.

    Now speaking of dialogue... this is my main pet peeve with Mass Effect 2: the story is not very interesting and most of the characters are just really unlikable. You meet most of the characters from the original game again (depending on choices you made in the first game, if you decide to import a save) but all of them have turned into complete bastards. I liked Garrus in the first game, he seemed like an honorable vigilante kind of guy who'd fight to do the right thing. Mass Effect 2 continues that idea but goes a bit overboard with it by turning Garrus into a bitter, violent guy who shoots criminals like there's no tomorrow. It might seem like an OK evolution of the character but I didn't like it. The same can be said for many other characters.

    There are a lot of other things I could say about Mass Effect 2 but what it boils down to for me is this: it's an excellent action/adventure game with RPG elements, lots of dialogue, an interesting story that **** itself inside out near the end, if you like long epic games you'll enjoy it. I spent 35 hours beating the game (this includes sidequests) and it was time well spent, despite the flaws. I'd say it's better than the first game.
    Expand
  23. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Well I could Describe it in one sentence: One of the best kickassing brilliant si-fi addictive Bioware game ever released Bioware Really really impressed me with part one couldn't wait for 2 had to play it,
    And here it was they did it again, again they made me have tears in my eyes, the story in the mass effect sage is so good it will make you cry ^^

    ROCK on Bioware (and ea)

    Sealreth,
  24. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    this game is really story focused...just the way I like it. the story is fun and well written, gameplay is average but the game also has vehicle sections with horrible controls but you get used at the controls ( to bad that is at the last level) overall one of the best RPGs i have played and i mean in which other game can you bang aliens in space!
  25. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    Easily in my all time top 3. People are so afraid to be interested in a game that is not labeled rpg if they have already established themselves as hardcore gamers. Some games that are not role playing, or strategy games are actually good. Believe me when I say its okay to like a couple of shooters. Whether mass effect 2 is a shooter or an rpg, well the definition for rpg can be found allEasily in my all time top 3. People are so afraid to be interested in a game that is not labeled rpg if they have already established themselves as hardcore gamers. Some games that are not role playing, or strategy games are actually good. Believe me when I say its okay to like a couple of shooters. Whether mass effect 2 is a shooter or an rpg, well the definition for rpg can be found all over the internet. It is really sad that before jumping into an amazing game some gamer still have to convince themselves that it is an rpg, seriously guys you're not a gamer if that is all you are interested in. rpg players enjoy story line right? Expand
  26. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    It is easier to list the things i disliked than the things I liked about this game. There was one main character I found slightly annoying, and I found myself wishing I could still drive ME1's landing vehicle around at will. What isn't there to love about ME2? Great characters, exciting plot. You really are compelled to gather a great and loyal team. Every character has his or her ownIt is easier to list the things i disliked than the things I liked about this game. There was one main character I found slightly annoying, and I found myself wishing I could still drive ME1's landing vehicle around at will. What isn't there to love about ME2? Great characters, exciting plot. You really are compelled to gather a great and loyal team. Every character has his or her own entire plot line dedicated to them to ensure your success in the climactic battle, a time where you make gambles as a leader as well as a fighter. Epic stuff in this box! I would have paid more than the $60 I laid down at its release in hindsight. Expand
  27. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    To be simple, "Mass Effect 2" is a astounding game that fixes the problems "Mass Effect" had and even surpasses them with superiority. The gameplay is more of the same thing like "ME" but it's still awfully fun. Graphics and the player screen has drastically improved as well as the money system. Yes, in "ME2" weapons and armor aren't overpriced as they were in "ME". Overall a powerfulTo be simple, "Mass Effect 2" is a astounding game that fixes the problems "Mass Effect" had and even surpasses them with superiority. The gameplay is more of the same thing like "ME" but it's still awfully fun. Graphics and the player screen has drastically improved as well as the money system. Yes, in "ME2" weapons and armor aren't overpriced as they were in "ME". Overall a powerful space opera SF role playing game, a game you WILL play. Expand
  28. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    My favorite game of all times. This is an RPG that takes place in an amazing wold with tons of lore and backstory for the one who's interested. The story and the characters are amazing and the soundtrack is mind blowing.
  29. Sep 16, 2011
    8
    I was impressed by ME1 and when i see the first reviews of ME2 i was sure it will get 10 from me. Unfortunately, reality was brutal. Why BioWare removed sightseeing the planets and substitiuted this dull minigame? Why there's no many weapons and armors? For me, ME2 is a step back.
  30. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    You know, it's really hard to say something about Mass Effect 2. Speaking of myself, i was shocked by it.,really. It was such an amazing experience playing it (and BTW, no' i haven't played ME1 by that time) that it's really hard to write a review on this game. Still, i'll try.
    Well, what are the positive features of the game? First of all-amazing graphics. Trust me, you won't see anything
    You know, it's really hard to say something about Mass Effect 2. Speaking of myself, i was shocked by it.,really. It was such an amazing experience playing it (and BTW, no' i haven't played ME1 by that time) that it's really hard to write a review on this game. Still, i'll try.
    Well, what are the positive features of the game? First of all-amazing graphics. Trust me, you won't see anything like this in any RPG. Definitely. Secondly, the conversations. The style of them, the decisions you make by them-it's all outstanding. The characters themselves are one of the best characters created in the gaming industry. Each one of them is absolutely different from the other, has his own history, personality. And it's really interesting to discover all this.
    The only negative part of ME2 (i don't think it's bad, but some people do) is that Mass Effect Franchise isn't an RPG anymore. It's all about shooting, which is completely different from the first game, and this may dissapoint some people. I think it's more of a good thing, because it makes the game more breath-taking, but some people may not agree.
    So, finally, what can i say about Mass Effect 2? Awesome. Breathtaking. Amazing. And made me buy the First game ;)
    Expand
  31. Mar 17, 2012
    9
    This game is simply "Michal Bay" style production. You could call the game... limited. I do. But I still can appreciate that the way story is told is really amazing. And I mean REALLY. It is worth playing just for seeing it, feeling the loud sound while watching incredible camera doing. Even when I prefer game to be "a game", ME2 still has it's place. And I would recommend it for anyoneThis game is simply "Michal Bay" style production. You could call the game... limited. I do. But I still can appreciate that the way story is told is really amazing. And I mean REALLY. It is worth playing just for seeing it, feeling the loud sound while watching incredible camera doing. Even when I prefer game to be "a game", ME2 still has it's place. And I would recommend it for anyone who hesitated playing this because "it is bad game" comments but still can feel something special watching trailers like Skyrim's or DXHR's over and over :) You will love ME2 in the same way :) Expand
  32. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    highly polished in every aspect and far superior to its predecessor, mass effect 2 is perhaps my favorite game of all time, with intense action, beautiful graphics and art design, large amount of replay value and memorable story/characters
  33. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    Un juego exelente con buenos graficos, entretenido, abierto, con un gameplay inovador. Es la perfecta combinacion entre rol y acción, espero con anciedad la tercera entrega de este maravilloso juego
  34. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Amazing. I can't say enough about it. It's very possibly the best game I've ever played in nearly 15 years of gaming. HIGHLY recommended. Be sure to play the original first, as it makes the experience that much more immersive.
  35. Oct 6, 2011
    8
    Mass Effect 2 is a well-written game whose experience may be hindered by the surprisingly-linear level design. However the game does allow you to make certain choices when it comes to speaking with people which largely affects the outcome of the story. Also, the gameplay might not have as many RPG elements as its predecessor, but it works as a solid shooter in an over-saturated market ofMass Effect 2 is a well-written game whose experience may be hindered by the surprisingly-linear level design. However the game does allow you to make certain choices when it comes to speaking with people which largely affects the outcome of the story. Also, the gameplay might not have as many RPG elements as its predecessor, but it works as a solid shooter in an over-saturated market of modern military shooters i.e. Call of Duty. Visuals are gorgeous too. Between the highly-detailed environments and use of lighting, you might feel like you're watching J.J. Abrams' very own space opera. Definitely check this one out if you haven't already. Expand
  36. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    Best game i ever played. The story is just so amazing i can't stop replaying the game again and again from start to the end. Also the game is very emotional in many ways which made me cry once or twice.
  37. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    I can't really say much about Mass Effect 2 that other people on metacritic and the rest of the Web haven't said already. For all the bugs the vehicle exploration stuff had, it was a nice touch, and help make the game world feel bigger. The planet-scanning was, frankly, terrible, and a bag replacement for the Mako. Also, the main plot was illogical (Derelict reaper that popped up out ofI can't really say much about Mass Effect 2 that other people on metacritic and the rest of the Web haven't said already. For all the bugs the vehicle exploration stuff had, it was a nice touch, and help make the game world feel bigger. The planet-scanning was, frankly, terrible, and a bag replacement for the Mako. Also, the main plot was illogical (Derelict reaper that popped up out of nowhere, no one thinks to show it to the council; the final choice has no impact on what happens in ME3). Aside from that, this is a fairly solid third-person shooter, with much improved music, graphics, and game mechanics over the first, but with a weaker plot and less RPG elements. Oh, and for those who want to get the Kasumi DLC; Don't. It's a waste of your **** money, trust me. Expand
  38. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    This is one of my favorite game. The story, the freedom of the player to choose his way in the scenario, and the gameplay are really perfect. I'd like to have more games like this one.
  39. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    I can´t help my self, but I just love this game. I played it dozen times on the highest dificulty doing all side missions and tried many choices. The story was great - a little worse than mass effect 1 but still great. When I played this game for the first time, I was quite shocked, where did all those rpg elements from mass effect 1 went, but after some time I got used to itI can´t help my self, but I just love this game. I played it dozen times on the highest dificulty doing all side missions and tried many choices. The story was great - a little worse than mass effect 1 but still great. When I played this game for the first time, I was quite shocked, where did all those rpg elements from mass effect 1 went, but after some time I got used to it and found it to be not that bad. The big plus for ME2 is a lot better graphic, much better combat (covering system, heavy weapons, ammunition...)a lot better level design, great side missions and the back stories of every team members. The voice acting is superb again, the cutscenes are awesome and videos as well. So of course this game is not perfect but it is not far from it. I would like to see more abilities in mass effect 3. Expand
  40. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    Big improvement over ME1, streamlined nicely but still RPG enough for most. Incredible characters, graphics+art design=Top-notch. Classes now more interesting, all powers a blast to use. EPIC cannot describe it.
  41. Oct 30, 2011
    9
    I didn't play the first Mass Effect so I came into this game not knowing most of the back story. But I felt like I knew the characters pretty quickly through good story telling and a fun plot. I really enjoyed the art, music and design of this game. The shooter aspect was fun and something different. There were some dull moments mining planets and equipping upgrades. I found myself notI didn't play the first Mass Effect so I came into this game not knowing most of the back story. But I felt like I knew the characters pretty quickly through good story telling and a fun plot. I really enjoyed the art, music and design of this game. The shooter aspect was fun and something different. There were some dull moments mining planets and equipping upgrades. I found myself not changing out my favorite party members very often because it wasn't really necessary. It wasn't a super deep or complex game but it worked very well. Expand
  42. May 14, 2012
    10
    The start of the BEST story-driven trilogy in gaming history. It literally rivals Star Wars in terms of history / content. You'd be a fool not to play this game.
  43. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is the perfect evolution in the Mass Effect series. It's bigger, bolder and more polished. The gunplay is more refined and more enjoyable than Mass Effect 1. Graphics are amazing as well as the sound. The only downside is the lack of emphasis on RPG aspects. If you enjoyed inventory management, huge range of powers, upgrading individual guns in Mass Effect, they are nowhereMass Effect 2 is the perfect evolution in the Mass Effect series. It's bigger, bolder and more polished. The gunplay is more refined and more enjoyable than Mass Effect 1. Graphics are amazing as well as the sound. The only downside is the lack of emphasis on RPG aspects. If you enjoyed inventory management, huge range of powers, upgrading individual guns in Mass Effect, they are nowhere to be found in Mass Effect 2. In a sense, this makes the series more accessible. Mass Effect 2 contains even more hard choices than its previous installment. A must play for any Mass Effect or shooter fan with a superb story! Expand
  44. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    If you thought that the fist one was the winner than you didn't play Mass Effect 2! Absolutely stunning! Universe just got bigger and more alive! Bunch of great missions to do. Your ship just got twice bigger so did your crew! Yes they striped away some of the RPG elements from the first one. But honestly I don't miss them! Great game is great game. It's more action packed now which is okIf you thought that the fist one was the winner than you didn't play Mass Effect 2! Absolutely stunning! Universe just got bigger and more alive! Bunch of great missions to do. Your ship just got twice bigger so did your crew! Yes they striped away some of the RPG elements from the first one. But honestly I don't miss them! Great game is great game. It's more action packed now which is ok with me! Still plenty of guys/gals and aliens to talk to in game! Loved it so much bought it for PS3 game of the year edition as well!! Expand
  45. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    I was waiting for a game to finish updating so to kill time I started up mass effect 2. I spent my ENTIRE weekend playing mass effect and it really shows how in depth the gameplay is and why it has such a good metacritic rating. i was so happy when i finished the suicide mission casualty free on sunday at 5 o'clock
  46. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2 are excellent games and well worth the purchase. The games have a wonderfully crafted story which is very well presented. The characters are memorable for their stories and are very well acted. Some of the Downloadable Content is very good, my favorites were Shadow Broker, Overlord and Stolen Memory in that order each added several hours of play time and theMass Effect and Mass Effect 2 are excellent games and well worth the purchase. The games have a wonderfully crafted story which is very well presented. The characters are memorable for their stories and are very well acted. Some of the Downloadable Content is very good, my favorites were Shadow Broker, Overlord and Stolen Memory in that order each added several hours of play time and the boss battle at the end of Shadow Broker was a refreshing departure from previous bosses. The environments all look and feel unique which is a great step from the recycled optional environments from the original. There is so much good about the game it merits atleast 2 play throughs do you can make different choices and try both renegade and paragon approaches. Where the game could use some improvement is minor and very subjective. Combat is great but the enemies are not all that varied. The first boss figh in the game is recycled several times which gets boring but it is usually only on the optional missions where this is seen. More equipment customization would be nice since the only real option is 2 armor suits some different head gear and the guns (of which there are many). I would have liked to see planet exploration from the first game make a come back but it was not all that disappointing. Overall this is a great game with excellet DLC and well worth full price let alone what ever you can get it for now. Expand
  47. Sep 12, 2015
    10
    Game: Mass Effect 2
    Genre: Third Person Shooter - RPG
    Developer: Bioware/EA System: Steam (PC) Total Score: 95/100 Value Score: 9.5/10 • Story: 10/10 • Characters: 10/10 • GamePlay: 9/10 • Graphics: 8/10 • Sound: 10/10 • Music: 8/10 • Length: 10/10 • Replay Value: 10/10 • Player Value: 10/10 Pros +Storyline elements from the first game are retained with
    Game: Mass Effect 2
    Genre: Third Person Shooter - RPG
    Developer: Bioware/EA
    System: Steam (PC)
    Total Score: 95/100
    Value Score: 9.5/10

    • Story: 10/10
    • Characters: 10/10
    • GamePlay: 9/10
    • Graphics: 8/10
    • Sound: 10/10
    • Music: 8/10
    • Length: 10/10
    • Replay Value: 10/10
    • Player Value: 10/10

    Pros
    +Storyline elements from the first game are retained with Paragon/Renegade choices which lead to different results and scenarios.
    +Fantastic voice acting
    +Save files from ME1 can be imported to ME2 and ME2 save files can be exported to ME3
    +New DLC content is heavy with Storyline elements
    +Ability to collect figurines of ships and artifacts
    +Achievement system specifically designed for ME2 is included
    +Ability to scan planets and explore the galaxy is much better than the first game unlike the first game where you go through barren planets.
    +Side missions are more beneficial and much more exciting and challenging than the first game.

    Cons
    -The ability to alter a character's appearance depending on what equipment they have on no longer exists
    -No more armor equipment for any characters, only weapons
    -Class system still exists but barebones compared to the original
    -Game is more of a Shooter than a RPG unlike the first game
    -DLC is expensive and can only be obtained either via Amazon or Bioware Store
    Expand
  48. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    Mass Effect trilogy has been One of most polished Storytelling Action Graphics and Gameplay combined in one. Apart from the Final Ending Controversy in Mass Effect 3 This is one of the most played and loved RPGs adventures to date. I would have to say if new to series than Please Play in Sequence. Mass Effect 2 is probably the best of series. A game which will make you finish that next bitMass Effect trilogy has been One of most polished Storytelling Action Graphics and Gameplay combined in one. Apart from the Final Ending Controversy in Mass Effect 3 This is one of the most played and loved RPGs adventures to date. I would have to say if new to series than Please Play in Sequence. Mass Effect 2 is probably the best of series. A game which will make you finish that next bit of story everytime Expand
  49. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    This is probably my favorite game of all time (fighting for the top spot with Deus Ex). The world's are fascinating, wandering around them is like exploring a real life community. ME1 was also a phenomenal game (also in my top three or four games of all time), but this one improves upon it's graphics and continues the same amazing quality of writing and character development. It's really aThis is probably my favorite game of all time (fighting for the top spot with Deus Ex). The world's are fascinating, wandering around them is like exploring a real life community. ME1 was also a phenomenal game (also in my top three or four games of all time), but this one improves upon it's graphics and continues the same amazing quality of writing and character development. It's really a must play. The only problem is I really want to play a game I enjoyed as much as this one again, but just can't find one (ME3 just didn't cut it). Expand
  50. Feb 19, 2012
    9
    This game is well written, has a good variety of options and while I can agree it did get simplified slightly from the first one, I can't say those are bad things. This game was very enjoyable in all facets - story, amazing music, game play, leveling, everything is interesting and fun. They did a great job with the game and the only thing keeping me from giving it a 10 is that parts ofThis game is well written, has a good variety of options and while I can agree it did get simplified slightly from the first one, I can't say those are bad things. This game was very enjoyable in all facets - story, amazing music, game play, leveling, everything is interesting and fun. They did a great job with the game and the only thing keeping me from giving it a 10 is that parts of it felt a little rushed, it was mildly buggy at times, and it was abused with some rather stupid DLC .. weapons/armor packs anyone? That's EA at work, though, not Bioware. God, I hate EA so much. Everything they touch is tainted with bad, greedy marketing and the taint of stockholders who care more about profits this year than long term. Expand
  51. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    I've just finished it for the second time, after restarting my character, making a new different shepard. the second time was even better than the first one, it took me long hours, I think between 20-30 to finish it, with lots of side quests.
    This game is amazing for how it makes you get sucked into the characters, the plot, the reactions, the environment, you actually feel they are
    I've just finished it for the second time, after restarting my character, making a new different shepard. the second time was even better than the first one, it took me long hours, I think between 20-30 to finish it, with lots of side quests.
    This game is amazing for how it makes you get sucked into the characters, the plot, the reactions, the environment, you actually feel they are alive, they exist somewhere else, that's the amazing sense you get along the game, and after you finish it.

    I always recommend starting with the first Mass effect, which is a bit uncomfortable by game-play meanings, but is also amazing, by plot and characters.
    Even though some elements were removed like, inventory etc... it won't affect the game in general, hell I didn't even notice that it didn't have those options, until the end. and I didn't care.

    This game gives you the spice and makes you want another one, like this isn't finished yet, and bioware already provided ME3. what else can you ask for?
    Expand
  52. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    Well I thought that Mass Effect 1 was a great game.... until I played Mass Effect 2. Every aspect of the game feels better once you get used to it. For example cover is much more useful and is easier to use. There is one big difference between ME and ME2 and that is the introduction of Thermal clips (read ammo). There are also some small details such as time freezing being mapped to shiftWell I thought that Mass Effect 1 was a great game.... until I played Mass Effect 2. Every aspect of the game feels better once you get used to it. For example cover is much more useful and is easier to use. There is one big difference between ME and ME2 and that is the introduction of Thermal clips (read ammo). There are also some small details such as time freezing being mapped to shift instead of space-bar by default. Expand
  53. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    The game doesn't show true RPG elements, but, who cares? The decisions, gameplay and well made characters is enough to make you enjoy this game. Wonderful RP game where you can truly shape more or less your adventure.
  54. Dec 1, 2011
    8
    Great game, extremely immersive and addictive. The gameplay is really fun, and character customization is just about right. My only gripe is the game kind of forces you to go either full paragon or full renegade, as going half/half will hurt your character's ability to resolve in-game disputes both in quests and amongst your crew. This essentially removes a lot of choice the player hasGreat game, extremely immersive and addictive. The gameplay is really fun, and character customization is just about right. My only gripe is the game kind of forces you to go either full paragon or full renegade, as going half/half will hurt your character's ability to resolve in-game disputes both in quests and amongst your crew. This essentially removes a lot of choice the player has over how his character reacts to different situations in game and takes a way a huge part of what makes a roleplaying game fun. Other than that one issue though I thoroughly enjoyed this game and look forward to playing number 3! Expand
  55. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    Pure awesome distilled into game form. If you have hands, you should play this. The entire series, when played in succession, has the ability to change who you are as a person.
  56. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    Great game albet inventory and mods dummed down from the original, not the butchery that DA2 is, totally abandoning the standard of the original game.
  57. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    This game came out about the same time I met my current girlfriend. Godammn it! Eventually I decided to let her in on a little secret of mine. I told her that frequently after we say goodnight and I drop her off home, I go home to my room and take command of a spaceship, called the Normandy. Didn't make any mention of the little thing I was hoping to get going with one of the cuteThis game came out about the same time I met my current girlfriend. Godammn it! Eventually I decided to let her in on a little secret of mine. I told her that frequently after we say goodnight and I drop her off home, I go home to my room and take command of a spaceship, called the Normandy. Didn't make any mention of the little thing I was hoping to get going with one of the cute hands-on-deck (Ashley I think her name was ). And then I cruise around galaxies and star systems looking for minerals, exploration activities, fights, battles and quests. Thus I had to admit that even though she thought she was starting a relationship with a switched-on intelligent guy, I was actually one of those moronic imbeclies that play RPG games on their computer. Suffice to say it didn't go down to well ... Why you'd want to know that I don't know, but what I'm trying to say is that I had to explain what this game was to a person that has never played a game in their life before. Once she could see that there was "story", "character development", "adventure", "combat" and "politics", she was much more impressed. I actually used this as an excuse to get her round to my place one night, by saying something along the lines, "I'll let you choose which planet we go to :)". Expand
  58. Jan 21, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While it does vastly improve the combat and gameplay of its previous iteration, the story of the game feels so illogical, despite being good and quite interesting. Why do you have to go around the galaxy doing unnecessary sidequests for each character to gain their loyalty, and why would they all want to follow you into an almost certain death anyhow? And how come Shepard with just a small squad is capable of obliterating a god-damn reaper and defeat the whole collectors base on his own, when none else can in the whole damn galaxy with billions, and billions of inhabitants. How come he succeeded so easily? Expand
  59. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Hands down one of the greatest games I've ever played. The story is incredible, and the gameplay is near perfect, and the worlds themselves are beautiful. But the best thing about this about this game would have to be the characters. Each character in your squad gets a unique and thrilling two missions devoted to them that help flesh them out as characters along with a ton of dialogue thatHands down one of the greatest games I've ever played. The story is incredible, and the gameplay is near perfect, and the worlds themselves are beautiful. But the best thing about this about this game would have to be the characters. Each character in your squad gets a unique and thrilling two missions devoted to them that help flesh them out as characters along with a ton of dialogue that helps establish their backstory. Of all of the characters I had on my team, I didn't find a single one to be generic, or uninteresting. I recommend this game to anyone who is into or even has an appreciation for space related science fiction (i.e. star wars, star trek.) Expand
  60. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    So the sequel to one of the best sci-fi games arrived, and even though it came back in 2010 I felt it should be my first review for anyone interested, so lets start through my evaluation method comprised of: Graphics, Gameplay, Story and Soundtrack & Effects.

    Graphics: in 2010 we had a few graphic showcases but nothing as mind blowing as 2011's Crysis 2 or Battlefield 3. However Mass
    So the sequel to one of the best sci-fi games arrived, and even though it came back in 2010 I felt it should be my first review for anyone interested, so lets start through my evaluation method comprised of: Graphics, Gameplay, Story and Soundtrack & Effects.

    Graphics: in 2010 we had a few graphic showcases but nothing as mind blowing as 2011's Crysis 2 or Battlefield 3. However Mass Effect 2 had a very interesting way of mixing the futuristic art-style with the lightning and effects, by that i mean the game is beautiful but do not expect to be amazed by it. All I can say is it shines on where it needs to and shows extremely well how a sci-fi graphic style should be. Graphics Grade: 9.5/10

    Gameplay: this is where Mass Effect 2 really differs from its predecessor, the gameplay is less focused on pointless exploration and more fluid, I believe that the removal of many RPG elements was necessary in order to make the game less level dependant. I tend to prefer a game that relies on my skills; not my level. Of course that completely changes the genre, but in my opinion Bioware has taken the great RPG elements, which were the conversations and decision making and mixed those with a very good shooting dynamic mechanism that simply works better than having to change weapons and go to inventory at every 10 minutes. Gameplay Grade: 9/10

    Story: The story of Mass Effect 2 is simply fantastic, I won't spoil it here, but what i can say is that the player's decisions take a heavy impact on how the characters are developed so think well before choosing just any line of dialog. If you finished the first game than you can already have an idea of how the story plays, however the plot is more focused on character development this time around. Story Grade: 10/10

    Soundtrack: I consider the soundtrack of a game to be of vital importance in order for its atmosphere to be sustained, and Mass Effect 2 has every thing a person needs to hear to become hypnotized by its contagious sci-fi fantasy. The sound effects are the very edge between realistic and fictional and the soundtrack has variable tones of intensity and tranquility. Soundtrack & Effects Grade: 10/10

    The Final Grade is composed of an average of the previous four, so the...

    Final Grade for Mass Effect 2: 9.625/10 which means 10/10.
    Expand
  61. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    This is one of if not the best game I have ever played. Loved the first Mass Effect but this is one has everything going for it imo, story, action, choices etc etc.
  62. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    Simply one of the best games i've ever played. and definitely my all time replayability title.It is a roleplaying/shooter with excellent voice acting, amazing graphics, and the most intense atmosphere!. This game pulls you in and keep you and a wonderful ride. Highly recommended!
  63. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    The games pretty fun, I love the storyline and is one of the best roleplaying games that wasn't made by Bethesda. I found the game not as fun as the first one, but it still doesn't affect my score. It is a fun game until you have to acquire minerals which is pretty boring. I loved how they included Genesis so I could transfer my player from the first game. Overall, I loved the game and IThe games pretty fun, I love the storyline and is one of the best roleplaying games that wasn't made by Bethesda. I found the game not as fun as the first one, but it still doesn't affect my score. It is a fun game until you have to acquire minerals which is pretty boring. I loved how they included Genesis so I could transfer my player from the first game. Overall, I loved the game and I can't wait until the 3rd comes out. Expand
  64. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is definitely one of the best action-rpg games in history. Even though people criticize the lack of inventory and different option, i actually like the streamlined changes. It puts more focus on the story and gameplay instead of stats. The story is definitely one of the best and the voice acting is terrific. t's hard not to love the hateful Illusive Man or Legion or Grunt.Mass Effect 2 is definitely one of the best action-rpg games in history. Even though people criticize the lack of inventory and different option, i actually like the streamlined changes. It puts more focus on the story and gameplay instead of stats. The story is definitely one of the best and the voice acting is terrific. t's hard not to love the hateful Illusive Man or Legion or Grunt. Mass Effect 2 seems to have done many things right and i am glad that it is a commercial and critical success. Expand
  65. Jan 28, 2012
    9
    Absolutely fantastic game! Story, setting, mood, action, companions and looks are all 10/10, but unfortunately I hated the scanning planets for various materials - terrible idea! Therefore it is 9/10 instead.

    Can´t wait for ME3 to come out and enthrall me again for hours and hours!
  66. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    If you still don't know MASS EFFECT, you should... Its all a RPG action game should be. To travel in many areas of the galaxy exploring, (like it would be with that technology), researching, doing espionage, rescue infiltration and search and destroy missions is extremely entertaining in this title. It makes the first title to look slow in combat and other elements (inventory and creditsIf you still don't know MASS EFFECT, you should... Its all a RPG action game should be. To travel in many areas of the galaxy exploring, (like it would be with that technology), researching, doing espionage, rescue infiltration and search and destroy missions is extremely entertaining in this title. It makes the first title to look slow in combat and other elements (inventory and credits makes it slow a bit), funny is that MASS EFFECT 1 is very entertaining, innovative and fun as well, but the second is awesome!! If MASS EFFECT 3 surpasses the second the same way it did to the first, we are not going to see another game so good in years to come, it will elevate you gaming experience. The DLC material is very good indeed and worth every penny spent, believe it, you dont want to leave it out of you gameplay. I singed up metacritic because of it and to warn you against the negative score that seemed nonsense. The mixed opinions are related to their taste for games.Im a big fan of STAR WARS games movies, magazines, toys and other, but everything that born must die a some day. MASS EFFECT came in that way. Expand
  67. Mar 18, 2012
    8
    Game of a generation. My kids will enjoy this 10, 15 years down the line (if there is still Earth to play this on)
    This is a fine-made RPG/FPS game and great sequel to the already successful Mass Effect game. Two points were taken off for these reasons: 1) Looting system is gone. This is not cool (especially when they decided not to bring it in ME3); 2) DLCs involve story-critical
    Game of a generation. My kids will enjoy this 10, 15 years down the line (if there is still Earth to play this on)
    This is a fine-made RPG/FPS game and great sequel to the already successful Mass Effect game. Two points were taken off for these reasons: 1) Looting system is gone. This is not cool (especially when they decided not to bring it in ME3); 2) DLCs involve story-critical missions. I had to go back and get all the DLCs before I start ME3. These years this has been a game publishing trend - (FFXIII-2 I'm talking about you) using DLC as a lure out of hard-working (or playing) gamers' pockets. We'd pay if it's an excellent (or is a fanboy of) game, but not through these little DLC packages. There should totally have been a GOTY edition made to include all DLCs so I didn't have to collect them one by one painfully through the Cerberus Network. I am saddened today to learn that the Mass Effect series ended up like every other (pinnacle at 2, tragedy at 3): Uncharted, Gears of War, God of War etc...
    Expand
  68. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    Just love it (ME1 too).
    Definitely one of the biggest games ever.
    Beatyful storyline, characters, sci-fi setup, deep and detailed world, nice graphics.
  69. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 2 took everything that was great about Mass Effect, and made it better. Most of the annoying aspects of the first game were removed, and I really only have one complaint about the second one (the planet mining -- ugh). What really stood out for me was how well the sequel built upon the decisions that you made in the original. What BioWare has done here is something truly special.
  70. Mar 3, 2012
    9
    Mass Effect 2 is simply Bioware's best RPG to date and is the closest I've played to gaming perfection. Mass Effect 3 will have to do wonders in order to knock its predecessor off its perch.
  71. Mar 9, 2012
    8
    Great game but doesnt stands up to Mass Effect 1, improved on gameplay but downgraded the RPG elements of the prequel, improved on some aspects such as the inventory but also simplified it by alot.
    Epic beggining and even more epic end!
  72. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    I love that game. I have beaten it few times now, which is a lot for a 30 hours long game. I guess that says everything. As much as it could be better game and it could incorporate your choices in more distinctive way (they are mainly one-liners in dialogue), It still has lovable universe, great plot line, rewarding gameplay and it is a "Star Wars saga of Games".
  73. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    Took away 2 points because it's hard to transition from Mass Effect 1 to Mass Effect 2. A lot of the customization has been stripped away, which isn't necessarily a bad thing (no more having to sell/gel items every 5 minutes because of the item limit) but some players enjoy the incremental upgrades in games. The other thing is the sudden change in controls. What used to be run is nowTook away 2 points because it's hard to transition from Mass Effect 1 to Mass Effect 2. A lot of the customization has been stripped away, which isn't necessarily a bad thing (no more having to sell/gel items every 5 minutes because of the item limit) but some players enjoy the incremental upgrades in games. The other thing is the sudden change in controls. What used to be run is now pause. What used to be pause is now run. What used to be interact is now order squad mate, and the new run key is also the new interact key. So if you're coming straight from ME1 be prepared to get frustrated while you get used to the new controls. Besides those 2 things the game is great and a huge improvement over (the already great) mass effect 1. And the way it carries over decisions made in the previous game adds a whole new layer of immersion and replayability. Expand
  74. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    I quite enjoyed this game. It improved on ME1s combat and it was a great story as well. The customization of the weapons saddened me. Too few weapons, no way to improve via modifications. Also, I disliked the running. You couldn't run any other direction but straight, and you couldn't even run for too long. But none of this affected my score too much, if I could give a 9.5, I would. AndI quite enjoyed this game. It improved on ME1s combat and it was a great story as well. The customization of the weapons saddened me. Too few weapons, no way to improve via modifications. Also, I disliked the running. You couldn't run any other direction but straight, and you couldn't even run for too long. But none of this affected my score too much, if I could give a 9.5, I would. And despite these minor faults, the game was still an absolute blast to play. Expand
  75. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    I'll start by stating that I'm anything but a Sci-Fi fan, so I guess what I have to say might carry a bit more weight than if I was.

    I must say I dind't enjoy any game like I enjoyed Dragon Age:Origins for a long time, and yet, given the choice to play DA:O (which is more in line with the games is enjoy the most) or ME2, I'd have to think for a while and then probably choose Mass
    I'll start by stating that I'm anything but a Sci-Fi fan, so I guess what I have to say might carry a bit more weight than if I was.

    I must say I dind't enjoy any game like I enjoyed Dragon Age:Origins for a long time, and yet, given the choice to play DA:O (which is more in line with the games is enjoy the most) or ME2, I'd have to think for a while and then probably choose Mass Effect 2.

    I loved it so much I even started looking for a tactical first person shooter (which not my kind of game, really), which eventually lead to the discovery of Battelfield 3.

    Overall, though not in my usual vein of games, probably the most satisfying game I ever played.
    Expand
  76. Mar 26, 2012
    8
    First off, people should not rate Mass Effect as an Rpg, as this is not the case. Mass Effect 2 presents a solid narration, framed by a deep and compelling sci-fi universe, further enriched by an epic Vangelis-like soundtrack. Most important, the game is not as dull as it has been portrayed. The information you are given throughout the game about the lore and the various civilizations areFirst off, people should not rate Mass Effect as an Rpg, as this is not the case. Mass Effect 2 presents a solid narration, framed by a deep and compelling sci-fi universe, further enriched by an epic Vangelis-like soundtrack. Most important, the game is not as dull as it has been portrayed. The information you are given throughout the game about the lore and the various civilizations are just accurate and interesting; the dialogues, though not within Bioware standards, are well-presented, even though they do lack a more precise choice system, sometimes making the player look awkward.
    On the other hand, the plot is consistent and at times rises to the greatness of the true legend, even though there's a couple of side quests (companions related ones) are definitely below-par.
    Technically speaking, the graphics have been enhanced if compared to the first episode, while the game engine runs flawlessly without any noticeable frame-rate drops. The weapons you are equipped with play just fine and, along with the biotic powers, give the player some really exciting combat sequences (provided you play at least on hardcore more). The overall experience will not be forgotten, as this game will stay with you for quite a long time.
    Expand
  77. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    I LOVE THIS GAME. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT. sorry, i know this is not how you start a review but i've never played a game that got me so engaged i actually cried for joy at some points. love the 'angel' & 'devil' choices as well!
  78. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    I personally love it. I started the game with crying as is see what´s happend with my Normandy. So its the perfect continues story and the gameplay is bether than before. but you have to patch it because ther were many buggs.
  79. May 17, 2017
    9
    Mass Effect 2 improves on the already impressive Mass Effect in almost every way. Space exploration feels deeper, the characters and missions more varied and even better your squad mates can take their guns from their holsters without shooting themselves in the face, an absolute must play.
  80. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    I am a big fan of Mass Effect who loved the first game, and this one is even better. Hopping around the galaxy, walking through the Citadel, and talking to your squad on the Normandy is as cozy as it always were: you snuggle up with blankets, listen to the same lovely music as in Mass Effect 1, and just let yourself be enveloped by the game and by the world. There is no more driving theI am a big fan of Mass Effect who loved the first game, and this one is even better. Hopping around the galaxy, walking through the Citadel, and talking to your squad on the Normandy is as cozy as it always were: you snuggle up with blankets, listen to the same lovely music as in Mass Effect 1, and just let yourself be enveloped by the game and by the world. There is no more driving the infamous Mako, a major drag in Mass Effect 1.

    Combat is as much fun as in Mass Effect 1 â
    Expand
  81. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    Amazing,beatiful,compelling story from the master Drew Karpyshyn a genius writer that give us one of the greatest scifi histories ever,if you love RPG,action and a good story fulll of amazing characters mass effect 2 is for you
  82. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    Let's start with the good points of the game. The combat has been vastly improved and is now way better. The characters are great, they're all unique and have a good backstory to them. The story is... ok for the most part, a bit stupid and nonsensical here and there but it's nothing big. Now for the bad: exploration is completely gone. Instead of improving it like they did with the combatLet's start with the good points of the game. The combat has been vastly improved and is now way better. The characters are great, they're all unique and have a good backstory to them. The story is... ok for the most part, a bit stupid and nonsensical here and there but it's nothing big. Now for the bad: exploration is completely gone. Instead of improving it like they did with the combat they just removed it completely. The replacement for it, the mining game, is not any better. The galaxy seems smaller now but the multitude of hub worlds sort of fills in the gap left by it. They also removed the inventory system (which was very bad in ME1) and replaced it with an upgrade system. It's good but it still would've been better to have an inventory. Conclusion: Small problems here and there but the good parts outweigh them. 9/10 Expand
  83. May 21, 2012
    10
    ME2 is a brilliant game. The graphic, the atmosphere and the characters catch you deep in a story about all or nothing. Sometimes the storytelling is a bit slow, but this is just my opinion. I love this game and play it many times - One of the games I would tell 'Game of the Year'.
  84. May 22, 2012
    10
    I really love this game. It seems that people who think ME 1 was better are suffering from nostalgia, because I played both in order within a week of eachother, and ME II is by far superior. P.S, I'm a Talimancer. Tali FTW!
  85. May 31, 2012
    8
    The acting is almost movie worthy. It's incredible. The story is great, so is the amount of content. The graphics are gorgeous, the maps and design is great. There is only one problem for me - the gameplay, which isn't captivating enough to make me particularly enjoy it. Basically, the gameplay is always the same from start to end and changes little in the entire experience. You duckThe acting is almost movie worthy. It's incredible. The story is great, so is the amount of content. The graphics are gorgeous, the maps and design is great. There is only one problem for me - the gameplay, which isn't captivating enough to make me particularly enjoy it. Basically, the gameplay is always the same from start to end and changes little in the entire experience. You duck behind objects and shoot enemies. I find this game to be overhyped for this reason, along with the fact that ME1 did everything this did. The game deserves a solid 8, overall. Expand
  86. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    Definetly the best game in the series in my opinion. The gameplay is pretty much the same as the other games, but the missions are much more interesting and i really liked the system of having to earn your squads trust. The story is probably also the best in the series and it comes up with some difficult choices every now and then.
  87. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    No much to say here! They fixed all bad things which was annoying in 1st part continuing awesome story and characters. Map system and fighting is also improved which made this game almost perfect. Play 1st part because of story line and this part for fun!
  88. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    This game's suicide mission is one of the best game sequences which combine gameplay, action and atmosphere (The music/soundtrack!!) that I've ever encountered. Overall, this game is truly epic and worth it's 10 out of 10, I still play it regularly. Unfortunately, there are a few too many characters in this game, making squad selection less strategic than in Mass Effect 1. But still, eachThis game's suicide mission is one of the best game sequences which combine gameplay, action and atmosphere (The music/soundtrack!!) that I've ever encountered. Overall, this game is truly epic and worth it's 10 out of 10, I still play it regularly. Unfortunately, there are a few too many characters in this game, making squad selection less strategic than in Mass Effect 1. But still, each character's individual personality and their loyalty missions more than make up for that. Expand
  89. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    True sequel to the first masterpiece,again great story,improved gameplay elements.(only backfire is the new weapon and skill system in my opinion,but its easy to overlook that).
    And what catched me is,that how the game feedbacks on your imported savegame,you backstory.
    PLAY THE FIRST GAME FIRST!!!!! MUST HAVE FOR EVERYONE. Looking foward for the third one which i will start next week.
    True sequel to the first masterpiece,again great story,improved gameplay elements.(only backfire is the new weapon and skill system in my opinion,but its easy to overlook that).
    And what catched me is,that how the game feedbacks on your imported savegame,you backstory.
    PLAY THE FIRST GAME FIRST!!!!!
    MUST HAVE FOR EVERYONE.
    Looking foward for the third one which i will start next week.
    And so far,the best optimized game i've seen.It runs so well on my old P4 that im amazed.

    [spoiler] it is really satisfying to hear how are the rachni(just save them :D),to meet old friends,to get **** up by krogans.:D
    To look at the universe,and see what you made with your choices.(council or TV report from ME1.)
    Expand
  90. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    If you like RPGs this game is a must. Very nice story line combined with charismatic characters and a decent combat system mixing the engaging FPS style with the tactical RPG elements. The scenarios are small and linear but the game itself is so epic that I can't see myself giving it anything but a 9.

    WARNING: Half or more of the game are dialogues and cut scenes, you can skip
    If you like RPGs this game is a must. Very nice story line combined with charismatic characters and a decent combat system mixing the engaging FPS style with the tactical RPG elements. The scenarios are small and linear but the game itself is so epic that I can't see myself giving it anything but a 9.

    WARNING: Half or more of the game are dialogues and cut scenes, you can skip everything if you want of course but the very essence of the game you won't experience if you do. ME2 isn't Counter Strike, RPG comes first, FPS second. Keep it in mind.
    Expand
  91. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    The continuation of amazing Mass Effect 1. The scenario and variety of options are still great. The graphics have been hugely improved. All the characters and the world is really beautiful. Besides, you can still choose how to end the game, whether die or to end like a hero and save the world. You can choose whether to be cruel boss or a great leader, whether to be friendly of flirty...The continuation of amazing Mass Effect 1. The scenario and variety of options are still great. The graphics have been hugely improved. All the characters and the world is really beautiful. Besides, you can still choose how to end the game, whether die or to end like a hero and save the world. You can choose whether to be cruel boss or a great leader, whether to be friendly of flirty... This is the best RPG I have ever played. 100% recommend to buy it !!! Expand
  92. Feb 25, 2013
    8
    If you haven't played the original Mass Effect, what are waiting for? Go play it...it's great. And if you disliked the original, you won't like this sequel any better...it's not that different. And finally, if you played and liked the original, there are numerous changes that you may find pleasing or annoying, but overall it's the same look and feel, the same world, many of the sameIf you haven't played the original Mass Effect, what are waiting for? Go play it...it's great. And if you disliked the original, you won't like this sequel any better...it's not that different. And finally, if you played and liked the original, there are numerous changes that you may find pleasing or annoying, but overall it's the same look and feel, the same world, many of the same characters, and an exciting progression toward whatever conclusion awaits in Mass Effect 3. It does suffer a bit from middle-child syndrome, as part two of any three-part series does, giving you neither the thrill of witnessing the beginning nor the satisfaction of a final conclusion. Still, ME2 has at least 80% of what you liked in ME1, so spend a few bucks for 40+ hours of solid entertainment. Expand
  93. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    A true Sci-Fi game. With amazing visuals, music, writng, voice acting, and gameplay, a diverse cast of characters, a dark and mysterious plot. You can feel actual pressure for your decisions. Option of importing a character from ME1 is amazing.
  94. Jun 26, 2014
    9
    Sequels are always a scary thing. Mass Effect 2 came out and a lot of stuff that I found accessible enough from 1 was simplified. Sure, I didn't particularly enjoy driving around on a planet for 10 minutes, but would have preferred that over probing. Each game was better in its own way. I liked the wider range of well, everything you could do in 1, but enjoyed the story and characters moreSequels are always a scary thing. Mass Effect 2 came out and a lot of stuff that I found accessible enough from 1 was simplified. Sure, I didn't particularly enjoy driving around on a planet for 10 minutes, but would have preferred that over probing. Each game was better in its own way. I liked the wider range of well, everything you could do in 1, but enjoyed the story and characters more in 2. I like to think the thought of reapers made everyone get better training and stop being as clunky, but that's just me. Expand
  95. Jul 24, 2012
    9
    This was the first Mass Effect game that I played, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Like most Bioware RPGs, it featured above-average writing and character development. Throughout the game I felt invested in the story and the characters, who I grew to care about and (eventually) mourn their deaths. The gameplay in general was fun and the environments were interesting. My main complaint is thatThis was the first Mass Effect game that I played, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Like most Bioware RPGs, it featured above-average writing and character development. Throughout the game I felt invested in the story and the characters, who I grew to care about and (eventually) mourn their deaths. The gameplay in general was fun and the environments were interesting. My main complaint is that there is little you can do to customize your characters: your main character can wear different armor pieces which are slightly different, and along the way you collect weapon upgrades which are automatic. The only real customization is in your talent points, but there are few of these and they do not generally affect gameplay as much as you might expect. I ended up taking these limitations with a grain of salt and just enjoyed blasting things instead, but I could see this being a significant setback for some players. Expand
  96. Jul 27, 2012
    9
    Mass Effect 2 should be the game that sets the bar for all other games, from its amazing combat system to its interesting paragon/renegade effects i couldn't bring myself to stop playing it. Perhaps one of the greatest features of this game is that every shepard is different, not just aesthetically but in the advancements, weapons and classes. I spent close to 36 hours playing this gameMass Effect 2 should be the game that sets the bar for all other games, from its amazing combat system to its interesting paragon/renegade effects i couldn't bring myself to stop playing it. Perhaps one of the greatest features of this game is that every shepard is different, not just aesthetically but in the advancements, weapons and classes. I spent close to 36 hours playing this game with all the DLC and enjoyed every second of building up a squad and slowly playing through their loyalty missions in order to leave no one behind at the final mission. My only criticism is that it is it is less open world then it should be as after all you are given a galaxy to explore and yet can only walk around on a small number of them and 3/4 have no purpose other than mineral gathering. But overall the style of this game has one me over 9/10. Expand
  97. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is a modern day RPG masterpiece. From the story to the music, everything is pretty much near perfect. This is a must play for any RPG fan. ME2's development started right after EA acquired Bioware, but had a mostly hands off approach to the game.

    ME1's main flaw was it's battle system. It was lackluster and needed improvement. Bioware decided to take the risk and
    Mass Effect 2 is a modern day RPG masterpiece. From the story to the music, everything is pretty much near perfect. This is a must play for any RPG fan. ME2's development started right after EA acquired Bioware, but had a mostly hands off approach to the game.

    ME1's main flaw was it's battle system. It was lackluster and needed improvement. Bioware decided to take the risk and incorporate a "real" FPS system in ME2. Well, that risk payed off bigtime in one of the best blockbuster RPG's of our time.

    Other traditional RPG elements such as inventory management are eliminated helping to streamline your experiences. And you know what? It works, it fits. It helps you focus on more important, and more enjoyable things in the game. Having a simple upgrade system works much better.

    ME2 takes the game to all new levels. A deeper, more interesting battle system. The character interactions are excellent. The development, the actions you take, the choices you make really do affect the outcome of this story.

    As in Classic Star Wars fashion, the second movie raises the stakes even higher, is darker and more serious than ever. The real possibility of your teammates dying in the final, suicide mission was a brilliant move by Bioware. The game climaxes at the best point the end where you see all your work, all of your choices unfold, leaving some to the next and final part of the trilogy. The raise in tension is felt throughout the game, and drives the player forward.

    The soundtrack is excellent and accurately reflects such high stakes.

    ME2 really surpassed the bar for RPG's. It had me glued to the game. When I am glued to a game playing it every day from start to finish, I know its a hit.

    Its just such a shame that it's sequel, ME3 was unfortunately a lackluster, rushed finish and a real letdown. Obviously, EA had involved themselves in the final game, which really screwed up ME3.

    Most gamers will recognize ME2 as the real climax of the series and the best out of the 3.

    10/10
    Expand
  98. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    In my opinion this is the best installment of the series. We are introduced to some of the best character in the series ■Grunt ■Jack ■Jacob Taylor ■Kasumi Goto
    ■Legion ■Miranda Lawson ■Mordin Solus ■Samara or Morinth ■Tali'Zorah vas Neema / Normandy
    ■Thane Krios ■Zaeed Massani And the old friends also returned. I loved
    In my opinion this is the best installment of the series. We are introduced to some of the best character in the series ■Grunt ■Jack ■Jacob Taylor ■Kasumi Goto
    ■Legion ■Miranda Lawson ■Mordin Solus ■Samara or Morinth ■Tali'Zorah vas Neema / Normandy
    ■Thane Krios ■Zaeed Massani
    And the old friends also returned. I loved the dark and grim atmosphere of the game. The collectors were very interesting villains. The pace of the game and the story were perfect. The graphics were improved. For the first time the player could explore the galaxy, which was a great addition. Weapon and armor customization was introduced. Player decisions really changed the outcome of the ending. I can only recommend the game. Don't forget to import your save files from ME1!
    Expand
  99. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    One of my all-time favorite PC Games ever. This is truly an epic video game with a wonderful story and beautiful graphics. There really aren't many games I enjoy replaying like this one. I have played through the game 3 times and each play through was literally as fun as the last. It really makes me sad because this is the one game I kind of wish would go on forever.
  100. Dec 24, 2013
    9
    A masterpiece. Second best game Bioware made, after with Baldurs Gate II in mine opinion. Original Mass Effect was one of the best RPGs ever made, but ME 2 is even better.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 96
    Mass Effect 2 resumes with pride the path opened by the first game. This sequel is a lesson of how things should be made.
  2. Mass Effect 2 delivers a story that's deeper than what many novelists are capable of, and its action is better than what most Hollywood directors are creating nowadays. It's an addictive, engrossing experience that many gamers will replay over and over while they hold their breath waiting for the third game.
  3. A brilliant mix of shooter and role-playing, filled with great characters, excellent design, lots of action and clever dialogue. It's a shame though that Bioware did not improve the inventory and skill system of the first game, but actually reduced it even more. I really wished there were more customization options, more ways to develop and gear up my characters. But all these are merely small points of criticism, since there is so much to feel and experience in this game. Mass Effect 2 is a thrilling, emotional ride and ultimately every bit as good as its predecessor.