User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2707 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    This game takes the best of storyline, gameplay and graphics and sticks it into one box. You won't regret the all 20 hours it takes to beat the game, and you may even go back to beat it a couple (or five, hehe) more times doing everything different.
  2. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    Very good gaming experience, I loved it from beginning to end. For me this game represent what the future of gaming is like. The story is great, the graphics are amazing, the sound is good and overall the game play is very satisfying indeed. For me this is the best game that came out this year!
  3. Feb 28, 2012
    9
    Bioshock has invented a new genre and I like it very much: a tactical-third person-role playing-shooter. If you enjoy playing video games of any kind, I highly recommend it: they've perfected the type of game they were shooting for in the original game (a somewhat flawed, but also brilliant role-playing shooter). It reminds me most of Deus Ex, but far more fantastical and fascinating. Go buy this game now, as well as it's original incarnation! Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2010
    10
    Best god-damn game ever!
    I mean...I was just speechless when I played it!
    Can't wait for BioWare to release ME3 and import my Commander Shepard of The Normandy to it!!
  5. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    As I played this game for the second time after I bough it when it was released I have to make a small review. And small it is. This game is awesome in every way. 10
  6. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    I entered the Mass Effect universe through this game. I beat it and I enjoy every single fiber of its existence. I played through and beat Mass Effect 1 twice after beating the second game. 2 is an obvious improvement.

    It just glistens with epic. I've witnessed FPS-only, MMO-only, and even RTS-only fans praise this game for its prominence and go out and buy it. I can guarantee that if any
    game will change a genre-strict players mind, this is it. If you like good games, or even good movies, you will like this game.

    I cant even begin to contemplate why anyone would give this less than a 9/10, and even that's being harsh. The game is a complete masterpiece. It blows my mind that somebody had the audacity to say that it's like a mediocre movie. If you fail to perceive this game's quality then you should not be writing reviews, and you shouldn't even be playing games.

    Other developers need to play this game and take notes as I have yet to experience anything of this caliber since Ocarina of Time.

    Hell, the lowest critic score is a 74, and the next one up is an 85, so that should tell you something. Other than the glitches that the PC players experience, it's perfect. That's the only thing keeping it from a 12/10. Ocarina of Time is still the best game of its time. But this is one HELL of a runner up.
    Expand
  7. Yaz
    Sep 5, 2010
    9
    This game is great. The atmosphere makes up for a lack of variety in combat. I did not like the restrictive environments (you can't really go anywhere on the Citadel for example), but in general if you liked the first, you should give this one a chance. Planet scanning does suck though.
  8. Sep 5, 2010
    9
    With attractive graphics, a fantastic score, convincing voice action and a compelling storyline, Mass Effect 2 picks up where the first game left off and will keep you playing late into the night. The second game has improved a few of the niggling gameplay issues in the first game, but still has a little room for improvement. It's easy to forgive any minor flaws in the game though, simply because of its finesse and style overall. The Mass Effect games so far have been two of the most evocative titles released in the last 5 years. If you've played the first game, you probably already bought the second. If you've played neither, start now. Expand
  9. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    The game is absolutely ea at its best.Bioware did a great job with this game.I loved the graphics and story.Rpg elements are awesome.Overall the game is the best of its kind
  10. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    Rarely does a game come along as special as Mass Effect 2. It is an incredible sequel to an already incredible first game, that picks up proceedings two years after the events on the citadel. What has to be said is the sheer amount of content packed into the game, should the player chose to complete it extensively. There are tens of galaxies to explore, planets to scan, and abnormalities to find and investigate, the game basically plays out exactly how you want it to, with your style of combat, perhaps all guns blazing as a Soldier Class or a more tactical approach as a Biotic, with abilities including levitate and slam, to be able to physically lift enemies out of cover, exposing them to your teams support fire. Speaking of support, Mass Effect 2 has a fantastic range of squad members that become available as you progress in the story and get to know them around the galaxy. Without giving too much away, your new mission to save humanity from a new type of enemy, involves you having to put together a squad, the best of the best, to combat this threat to humanity and the other alien races. You will get to know all of your team with individual missions relating to them, in which you can gain their loyalty and trust, which will make them more focused in missions, and give you a better chance of succeeding. Of course, decision making was always a big part of Mass Effect 1, and things are no different here, with the choices you make pivotal, not just to the game, but also in Mass Effect 3, as your character will carry over to complete the trilogy. If you did happen to complete ME1, which would be highly recommended before starting the second, then your character can be imported into the sequel, looking identical, (apart from new higher textures and the usual graphic updates) and how you played ME1 has a baring on who is alive in the second, and their opinions on you. Some people have criticised the game for losing it's way as an RPG, but I think the balance is perfect between RPG and third person shooter, that fans of both genres will enjoy. Of course, as a third person shooter it is considerably slow paced compared to its rivals, but this just goes to make it more interesting, and add meaning behind what you are trying to achieve. Once you've spent the best part of five hours just talking to your squad, getting their background stories, you do feel an emotional attachment that you will carry with you throughout the missions, this adds to the tension, and the desire, to strive and succeed. Of course everyone will have their favourite squad members, largely dependant on personal preference, and whether or not the player has an attachment through the first game, to characters such as Garus. On to the actual missions, and it has to be said the variety is very good, both in terms of the enemies you will be facing and the beautiful, exotic, and sometimes hazardous planets you will find yourselves in. The developers have obviously thought long and hard about different conditions distant planets could have, and this shows in game with some quite genius ideas. There is one mission on an unstable planet where direct sunlight is too hot to pass, so the player must pass from shade to shade, keeping cool in cover, while battling waves of Geth. That one mission in particular makes you realise your not in home comforts anymore! Other locations include mountainous and snowy planets, exotic tropics with mean jungle vegetation and many more. It's fantastic the detail that has been put into - not only the landscapes - but the skies, they all look distinctly different and whenever you land on a new planet you always find yourselves looking at the constellations in the skies, the moons and shooting starts. Mass Effect 2 truly is a masterpiece, both in story telling and space exploration. It grips you with every mission and also makes you appreciate such detailed story telling, when character dialogue changes mission to mission, based on your choices and the sort of person you are. The RPG elements are still there, just perhaps not as predominantly as they were in the first game, but there is so much content in the game it's not even worth condoning it for going with a more shooter approach. The combat is good, the cover system works well, the weapons have a lot of variety in classes and upgrades, as well as ammo types, such as the ability to freeze enemies and shatter them, or burn them. The variety of enemies always keeps you guessing as to what weapon ammo would be best, depending on if the enemy is protected with shields, armour, or has biotic abilities of it's own. All in all a fantastic sequel that will have you just as deeply attached as the first, and will encapsulate you in your own personal story, with your own unique character and your own unique choices, there is no limit to the outcomes on ME2, and as soon as it's over you'll be begging for ME3 so you can import your character and see out this marvellous series. Expand
  11. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    Rpg in true sense beyond all expectations a very good contender for the pc game of the year gameplay n graphics is very nice syory is awesome cant wait for the final part. The ending depends on ur decisions . Bioware is going good with dragon age origins mass effect 2 and many more titles . Hope the expansions are good
  12. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect 2 currently represents the pinnacle in interactive story telling. The consequences of choices made in the first game and the relentless action drive you from plot to plot as you weave your own path to the final epic confrontation. The possibility of permanent story death - though not at all difficult to prevent - gave the game a whole more sinister overtone. Bioware are at the top of the game with this release and we can only hope they improve on gameplay mechanics further and bring them up to par with their superb storytelling skills. Expand
  13. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    Usually in a trilogy the weakest part is the second part, but boy the rules do not apply here. This game is a masterpiece a classic a game that will be talked about for years and years to come. Even if you do not care to play the first game(which I recommend you do) you will still enjoy this game greatly. The only downside is having to wait for ME3 for the conclusion of this trilogy!
  14. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    A definite MUST PLAY! This game is IGN's 2010 #1 must play game for the Xbox360. Now I played the PC version so I can't speak for the 360 game. The PC version is UNBELIEVABLE. This game has some of the most epic storytelling and character development I've played in a long time. It's also a MASSIVE improvement from the first game (even though I loved the first game). Highlights for me:
    1)
    Dialogue options (it's just so much fun)
    2) Exploration (sidequests feel organic especially if there is a connection to the first game)
    3) Character development
    Expand
  15. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    The game is very good and better than i expected. The pros: The game is very long especially compared to most games today although the actual main story alone is not very long, the graphics are excellent, good game play that combines 3rd person shooting with class powers that add a tactical element as well as simply making it more fun, there are some great RPG elements, the main being how you want to act and react as well as allow one to customize ones character very well, excellent story with believable, varied characters and world that keeps ones interest, excellent sound, music and especially voice acting.Neutral points that can be improved upon: the hacking and bypassing mini-games are fine but they are too simple and become tedious relatively fast, scanning planets for resources is okay at first but becomes boring quite quickly Cons: Short main story, feels repetitive at times, although the game allows one to customize ones character very well there are not many different weapons or armour available, the game does a good job of creating an illusion that it is a big game but in actual fact it is not. There are only four landable locations, the rest of the locations one only goes there once for a mission. Overall a excellent game that i enjoyed very much although there are a few things that can make it even better.Mass effect 3 just needs to build on the rpg elements and have a bit more variety as well as be a bigger game to surpass it's predecessor, lets hope it does .9/10 Expand
  16. Jan 4, 2011
    9
    The Good: The difference between a plot and a story is that the plot is what happens, and the story is what the book/movie/video game is about. The plot of ME2 is incredibly awesome. It's epic, fast-paced, and quite original. The story, not so much, but I'll get to that later. The voice acting overall is quite good. The gameplay mechanics are solid and responsive. The bots are average, though I have yet to see good video game AI in any game. The side quests are immersive and entertaining. The characters are relatable and your relationships with them are believable. You don't have to micromanage your squad's weapons, armor, and mods anymore (thank God) and this makes the game much more streamlined, even if it's more of an FPS as a result.

    The Bad: The story seems too short and it's like Bioware stuck in the loyalty missions just to add length to the game. That's not to say that these missions aren't rewarding or entertaining; in fact they're better than some of the plot missions. The final battle is disappointingly easy when compared to the final battle in ME1 and it was actually harder to get to the room where it takes place than to actually win the fight. I also did not like how they took out the driving portions of the game. Now, I know most people hated driving that car in ME1, but I liked it, and it was certainly better than just scanning the planet for the resources you need.

    The Ugly: (DISCLAIMER: Some of these issues may have been due to the fact that my computer is slightly underpowered and not due to the actual game.) Blinking still looks freakin weird with eyelids and eye lashes overlapping and showing through each other and just being a bit disturbing. Occasionally, if I was walking too close to a wall that had kind of a slope, I'd get stuck on it and wouldn't be able to move. Facial expressions look odd and slightly robotic, but the voice acting makes up for it so I'm good. Sometimes during a cut scene the camera would go inside Shepard or some other character and obstruct my view until the camera moved a little. Very rarely (like once or twice) the game would lock up for 30 to 45 seconds inside the Normandy, but then it kept moving and everything was fine.

    Overall, I absolutely loved this game. It has definitely moved to the Number 1 spot on my list of Best Games Ever, beating out Twilight Princess. Buy it. NOW.
    Expand
  17. May 23, 2011
    9
    If you are reading this you are no doubt aware that this is one of the finest games created in this generation. Regardless of what platform you have, this game is a must play. That being said I'm going to describe the pros and cons of playing the PC version. First off the PC version has some bugs and as of this writing they have no been patched. In the Normandy you will occasionally fall through the ship into a pitch black chasm. This is not often, but it happens and it's actually pretty hilarious. When it does happen you can just reload the checkpoint (which is updated often) and go on your merry way. The other problem with the PC version is the Liara mission which was pretty bad. If you don't do Liara's mission immediately after she asks you to do it and you run off to do something else then when you come back there will be a bug where you hack all the terminals but can't proceed in her mission. This ruined one playthrough for me so as long you know to do Liara's mission right away you should be fine. If you can deal with this bugs and you have a good system prepare to be rewarded with the benefits of the PC version. The graphics are far superior to the console versions, with beautiful, high resolution textures and anti-aliasing. Playing it on my 23" 1080p monitor and 5.1 speaker system was a blast. Surprisingly the cutscenes were not rendered in 1080p but in 720p, so the in-game cutscenes looks far better than the pre-rendered cutscenes, ironically. Playing with a mouse and keyboard are also fantastic, but beware that the default keyboard configuration is strange, to say the least. You can quickly customize this to your liking and it will feel much better than playing with a controller, especially since you can now quicksave. Bioware did not map the interactive dialogue to the number keys though, so you're stuck using a mouse to awkwardly choose your dialogue option in a wheel. Overall the problems with the PC version are minimal but if you have the rig to run it, it is definitely worth it. Expand
  18. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    Great game. Graphics are simple, fast and very nice, functional to the game. Main story is good and easy to follow, but there are one or two side-quests in which you haven't a clue about what you're doing. Game is great, i just love combats and i think it's the best part of Mass Effect. Like in the first chapter, you can pause the action to make your choices, and combat is as they often say "easy to learn, difficult to master" like in the best games: football for example. This is a game to taste slowly, like a good wine, because it has a long and very careful work behind. This is the kind of game for which i don't regret spending 50 bucks. Expand
  19. Oct 15, 2010
    9
    Ok, so i've had this game since it came out. Beat it twice- Once time Good- One time doing what i would do in real life. So, the Good: Great Graphics - Superb Story Line - Great Characters The Bad - The RPG elements have been downgraded from ME1. It just doesn't feel the same, strategic feel, of the first ME. I can just run around pressing (spacebar) on everything. With that aside, only small glitches in acting/voice appear rarely. I've had only 2 problems like this since it came out - 1) Miranda -on her loyalty mission- was floating above us when we came out of the elevator. 2) The sound of cars (In Lair of The Shadow Broker) kept continuing after i crashed the detective, and fought her guards. So, besides the RPG elements and rare glitches, this is a very, very good game. With the captivating story line, and stunning graphics, i only wonder how they will beat this with ME3 (It IS a trilogy, and ME3 WILL come out, in-case some of you did not know). The only thing they could've done better, was tone up the RPG element, which i believe they will do in ME3. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is thinking about getting it. Expand
  20. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    Whilst lacking the major array of skills the first had this game is not one that needs them in the least indeed it would be to its detriment. Characters are exactly what you want them to be, alive, colourful, even **** The plot stays strong throughout and visually a cut above what most everything else can dream to offer.
  21. Oct 24, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There are too many good things in this game to list them all, which is fitting since the question isn't "What is good about this game". The question is "What ISN'T good about this game", and the most i can come up with (after playing it many times) is the mining mini game. This is the only part of the game that is seriously lack luster. The last boss was also a slightly disappointing climax, and an illogical overall "evil scheme" made by the bad guys in ME2.

    That said, there are flaws in all games, however compared to the first mass effect (and many other RPGs), Mass Effect 2 is the closest I've seen to a perfect game in the recent decade ever since the first xbox and the N64 was put out of commission.

    Overall, it is an excellent game and a testament to the fact that Bioware remains on the cutting edge of western RPGs, and further solidifies themselves as a world renown game developer
    Expand
  22. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is just simply epic only second to Dragon age Origins and Oblivion. It surpasses Mass Effect in every way possible. Cannot wait for Mass Effect 3.
  23. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    This is the greatest story i ve ever seen in a movie, book or game nothing can compare to this game its the highest achievement in gaming and game of the century/millennium
  24. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    I don't think I've said "wow" playing a video game as many times as I did while playing Mass Effect 2. Just to make things perfectly clear, this game is awe inspiring. I was blown away by Mass Effect when it first came out and decided to play through it once again before taking on 2. Well I just finished Mass Effect and jumped straight on to 2...and the difference is like night and day, and not just from a visual perspective. First off, Mass Effect 2 is NOT your traditional definition of a role playing game, but is more of a hybrid of first person shooter with less role-playing elements (compared to the first game) and with an emphasis on action. Personally I was hesitant to see how this would affect the experience, but I'm very happy to say that the game is even more engrossing than the first. Bioware made some very bold decisions with their treatment of ME 2, and I would say that their judgment was sound. The combat system has been tweaked to be more cover based and with the new thermal clips (think ammo supply, but they re-fluff it to fit the game worlds reality) limit mindless blasting. Now you have to be a bit more careful on your ammo expenditure, which to me adds a new level of dynamics to how you approach combat. Thankfully thermal clips can be found in and out of combat fairly easily, so it isn't to the point where it gets unfair, but I ran out of ammo several times and at one point was forced to use some hand to hand attacks to get a Krogan off my teammates. It was one of the best moments yet. Weapons and powers now have different defense types that they are effective against, which gives you a reason to consider their applications against the current enemy you're facing. Bioware also decided to scrap the inventory system altogether, which as of now I don't really miss at all. One of the things that tended to bog down game play for me was the constant need to omni-gel 3/4ths of my inventory every half-hour, which was more annoying than anything. They really put a lot of thought into that, as it doesn't disrupt the flow of the story any more, but it may be nice in the future to return to a more limited item system. Sadly, for the loot-whores, it's pretty much nonexistent, with more of mind towards researching upgrades from the schematics that you find. That being said, I don't miss their disappearance one bit...yet. One thing that does cause some sadness is the loss of the Mako, but from a design perspective, it was a good decision. As much fun as I had landing on barren planet after planet, it did get old after the 15th or so Assignment and grew very repetitive. The planet scanning mini game that replaces it is actually interesting so far, and I like the concept (once I downloaded the patches for faster scanning). The rest of the mini-games that make up the hacking parts of ME 2 are simple (at first, I jumped in with no idea how to play them) enough and only required a little trial and error if you just jump in with no prior knowledge on how they work. I like them better than the ol' frogger or simon game from the first. With that out of the way, let me get to the thing that really makes ME 2 shine, and that's its excellent cinematic style and character development. The voice work is top notch, I had many different moments where I laughed out loud, got teary eyed at some of the more somber moments, and just cheered out when something amazing or unexpected occurred. The games ability to move me and immediately engross me in the world, right from the start, is impressive, and the developers really improved their cinematography compared to the first. One thing that really helps develop the feel of the game is the music. Mass Effects music has always been spectacular, giving it at times a Blade Runner-like feel, and while I'm not normally a fan of the synth-sound, it does its job extremely well and then some. So far I have very little (if at all) complaints about this game. If anything the controls, especially after playing ME 1, take some getting used to. Being the crouch-whore that I am, I felt a bit out of place when my first reaction was to try to crouch in combat, but now there is no such thing. The cover mechanics work well, but I wish that you could separate the use/take cover/storm commands, as I sometimes had difficulty when near cover when attempting to storm away from an incoming missile. The inclusion of the health regeneration is mixed for me, as I like not having a health bar, but in this game it works. All in all this game is the closest thing to the game I would like to see and play. It may not be for everyone, but I think its appeal transcends any genre, be it rpg, fps, or whatever. An engaging story with dynamic characterization (you and your teammates), well written dialogue, and fun game-play are what make ME 2 one of the best games I have ever played, and I have played many, and it would take a very jaded gamer to hate this one. Expand
  25. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    I was a fan of the original Mass Effect, and I got to say I loved Mass Effect 2. Reworking the combat system to be a bit more action paced was a step forward. I like the character dialog, and the side quests you can do for your crew mates are very satisfying. Although I thought the ending came a bit suddenly, if you explore every single planet and get every single side quest completed, you will clock in a hefty amount of time. All in all, it was a worthy sequel to the first game, and nicely sets the stage for the third game. Expand
  26. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is a continuation of the military sci-fi Mass Effect saga developed by the now-legendary Bioware. Mass Effect 2 does a masterful job of recreating and improving on the sci-fi atmosphere and themes of the original, and brings with it further development of one of the best storylines of the decade. The gameplay, graphics, and soundtrack are all improved.

    The soundtrack, while
    it has lost much of the familiar 80's vibes associated with the original game, is nonetheless phenomenal, and will not disappoint. I liked the new soundtrack so much I ended up buying it as well.

    Perhaps the greatest improvement in Mass Effect 2 was how quickly the game got moving. In the original Mass Effect, masterpiece though it was, I often felt like I was beginning the undertaking of reading a nice book. Despite being a terrific experience on the whole, it had a slow start, and didn't become particularly interesting until after you had played for a couple hours to allow the story to develop more and get through the earlier "groundwork stages" of the game.

    In contrast, Mass Effect 2 has vastly improved in this area, and took my breath away almost as soon as I started playing. The improvements in the combat system, character cast, and riveting story kept me coming back for more and more! This was also likely due to the fact that the sequel builds on the groundwork put in place by the original game of the series. Overall, Mass Effect 2 is essentially flawless. All the familiar elements of the perfect game are here. The thought-provoking story is there. The graphics are good, and complement the setting and themes of the game nicely. The gameplay has improved, both in terms of dialog options, and in terms of pure combat-enjoyment. Don't miss out on the number one military sci-fi epic of our decade!
    Expand
  27. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    A really excellent game. The story is very good, and the outcome of the game can vary dramatically depending on your actions, which I find to be a big plus. The characters are very interesting and fun to interact with. The connection with the previous game and promise of more to come in the sequel feel like a real plus, as opposed to just a marketing gimmick. There are a few very minor things that bugged me and keep my rating at a 9 instead of 10, but I still think this game is well worth buying for anyone who enjoys RPGs at all. Expand
  28. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    Presentation - 10
    Graphics - 10
    Sound - 10
    Gameplay - 10
    Lasting appeal - 10

    Story is great with lots of depth, the graphics and voice acting is awesome and the choices and customisability works really well... Perfection?
  29. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This is a must have game!!!! The best, buy it you won't regret it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    You get to build your own ship,assemble teams and get to choose your missions.
    Plus it has amazing graphics. no bugs, just a great game.
  30. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    One of the best games I've ever played, right up there with Half Life 2 and Call of Duty 4. I don't generally like 3rd person shooters, but Bioware did a great job on it. Game play is very engrossing and story line is quite good (though not the best).
  31. Dec 9, 2010
    10
    It's been a while since I've played a game as good as ME2. I've never felt so connected to the characters before, the combat seemed just right, might use very slight tweaking. Story was awesome, just the whole game rocked.
  32. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. *SOME MINOR SPOILERS*
    I really liked the story, but the combat sometimes gets a little repetitive and the RPG element is just too weak, maybe even weaker than the original Mass Effect.

    Also, thus far (before Mass Effect 3 may reveal some things), the story seemed a little pointless (not saying its not good; it's just mostly irrelevant to ME1). I mean in Mass Effect 1 you discovered about the Reaper threat, and you would have expected that the Reapers show up en masse in ME2, but instead the only thing you find in ME2 that helps with the story long term is what happened to the Protheans and all those before them.

    So really, it is like:
    ME1: Reapers are coming!
    ME2: What, Reapers?
    ME3: Reapers are here!

    Mass Effect 2 could be cut out and the story on the long term is still going to be fine and I doubt anyone would notice it if the new characters are cut out in ME3.
    Expand
  33. Dec 25, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game is a wonderful story but very very nice, seems to think of a movie, but the gameplay and each player makes his decisions based on the various options and this makes it a good game, the characters are done in a very realistic but have also been taken from real people makes it even more interesting a game, the graphics are one of the best I've ever seen, in addition to those scenes where the player can do little at the end as the ship going through the remains destroyed ships from the base of the collectors is a scene from the film, beautiful and well done with many details, the game is very imaginative Expand
  34. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    Really the best shooter to come out for a while, but I can't stand fps games so maybe I'm biased. Its not really an rpg since theres no loot or inventory involved, and customization is strictly powers-based since you're going to get the upgrades for all your guns anyway (and those all have specific uses so you can't be a "shotgun x" 100% of the time really). The story is top notch and Mass Effect is a superb sci-fi universe overall For all you casuals, the graphics are amazing. Expand
  35. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    Best game I have ever played in my life.
    The soundtrack, voice acting, gameplay. exploring and an open world game. Clocked this game 3 times and I intend to play more of it!

    10/10
  36. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    Greatest game ever dudes!!Graphics awesome,the best story,characters are perfect and so much more!!don't listen to the haters cause you will miss the Best game!!!
  37. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Simply awesome, at first its "good" but as you start playing it, it gets a lot better. Depending of what you say or do in the game, affects the story in some way. They are only a few problems like crashing and audio glitching out, but they appear rarely so it doesn't ruin the experience. I highly recommend this.
  38. Jan 13, 2011
    9
    Although completely abandoning the RPG genre, this game is a epic experience which I enjoyed until the very last moment.

    Reaper menace is the most fearsome I have seen on many years, feeling a true sense of urgency many times.

    I feel the new allies are a bit depressing. Most of them are too though and a little of naivety would have been welcomed.
  39. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    Bioware.. is there a better RPG developer? If so, Mass Effect 2 extinguishes any doubt. A stunningly beautiful game with spectacular scenery and amazing visuals, this game will not disappoint when it comes to eye candy. A step up from the traditional RPG style of Bioware, the games combat allows real time combat and decent shooter action, with the well known Bioware stragetical pausing weve grown accustomed to all mixed together. The games real strengths come from the plot, which allows the player to choose various conversation choices aswell as plot paths which can make dramatic consequences to the way the player experiences and inevitably ends the game. If you are a veteran of RPGs or wanting to dip your toe in and test the water, Mass Effect 2 is an excellent game to experience. The worst thing about this game is the time waiting for Mass Effect 3 to be released. 10/10. Expand
  40. Jan 25, 2011
    10
    To me, in short, ME2 is close to plain awesome, in almost every aspect. Hats off to Drew Karpyshyn for inventing the ME universe, for the books and game script (and of course to all the team who participated in game development). The story, the execution, the choices, animations, combat, dialogue, immersion, believable characters, graphics, music - I was impressed. DLCs add some new action to the game, and if you're a fan of the franchise, you know what to do. All in all, you are left wanting more, expecting the final part of the trilogy. Highly recommended! Expand
  41. May 20, 2011
    9
    Great storyline, fun gameplay. Felt a bit like playing through a movie, was quite enjoyable. Not quite as long as I'd hoped for, but that's the only complaint I have. It's one of the few recent RPGs I didn't get bored of before I finished it, which is mainly due to the enjoyable storyline.
  42. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    This is the most satisfying game I have ever played. In many series, the first game makes a hit, but then the sequels are usually just little different versions that are no better or just worse than the first. This is a huge exception. The first was great, but Mass Effect 2 is so much better. People are not happy about the less customizations in the game. Sure, I understand, but it was more satisfying not to have to mess with it and just shoot, throw, and electricute things while fighting. There is still customization, just not as upgrades. It's mostly just armor parts, finding another weapon, or armor colors and pieces. It's better for the people who just want to play and enjoy the movie-like game. The many choices and path ways for your character to go through dictate what happens in the future of the story. Also, some events in this game are a result of what happened in your character's story in the first Mass Effect whether you import your character or not. It's just amazing and easy to get sucked into just like a great movie. Just like my first Mass Effect review, this is something that you have to walk into not expecting it to be like any other game or run the same way as its prequel, which has disappointed people. Mass Effect 2 is in a league of its own, making it one of the top rated PC games of all time on Metacritic (94). Expand
  43. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    1. Bioware is a big dog dev, so all the advertising reviewers must give more than what it really deserve to get more ad money from them. (i.e. After giving bad review on square enix game kane and lynch 2, one of GS reviewers were fired.)

    2. This is no longer an innovative TPS RPG hybrid once ME1 tried. This is average at best 3rd person cover shooter with stupid A.I. (If you want top
    notch 3rd psn cover shooter gears of war is the answer.)

    3. Story is shallow as hell, almost no sidequest, no world exploration, linear story without any meaningful plot variations. repetitive combat, surprisingly stiff/ limited character animation for action game.

    4. Cinematic graphic presentation and SF concept/ artwork and some cool biotic skill effect is the only things that save this mediocre cover shooter from rated more than what it really deserves.

    Conclusion : cool SF concept art/ cool biotic skill effect will deceive your mind but underneath the shiny shallow shell, there's plenty of mediocrity of gameplay and contents at its heart.
    Expand
  44. Mar 6, 2011
    10
    This game was very enjoyable. The graphics were great, the story line was great, the movie clips were not to time consuming and the fighting was fun. The only thing that was borderline boring was the way you went about gaining necessary points or resources for upgrading weapons but it was not bad and I found out in the end I did way more than necessary. The only thing I would complain about is the total lack of need for the sexual content to make this a good game. I don't understand why it was put in there. I would love to have played this game with my son but not going to happen due to this content plus borderline unacceptable as a married man. Most men would probably not feel comfortable with their wives or daughters watching as they played this game. Why is that necessary? Great game other than that though. Expand
  45. Mar 7, 2011
    10
    If you are a fun of mass effect universe then it is an absolute buy.Less rpg then the first one but the story is a masterpiece!It also has a lot of dlc out that gives a great value.
  46. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    The reason I'm giving it a 10 instead of a 9 is because I would honestly feel bad because in my heart it felt like a 10, in my logical mind it felt like a 9. First off the story, the acting, the delivery of both of those is the best I'v EVER seen in any video game. The combat is so crisp, clean, entertaining that I was in disbelief the first time I was able to shoot anything. Rating this game a 10 but there are still improvements I could see being made, like the mini games, a more diverse mini game experience. Honestly this game is so good that dosen't even matter because while doing a mini game I was so pleased with everything else I didn't care. Good games let u ignore the small faults, because those can be improved on. Honestly this game was like watching Star Wars for the first time.....for me it was like when I use to watch Star Trek Voyager every week when that series just came out....it was well...an unforgettable experience. a 10 ALL DAY. Expand
  47. May 29, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. Awesome storytelling, great action sequences, and they removed some of the confusing inventory management from the first game. It's like playing a movie. This is a must-play and is my favorite RPG of all time...it has exceeded Fallout 3.
  48. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    Those who are saying ME2 is one of the best rpg are not familiar with the term 'evolution'.......ME2 is not one of the best rpg......its THE best rpg ever made....its the evolution in rpg genre mixed with third person shooter elements.......epic storyline......hardcore decision making......memorable characters......legendary protagonist which is defined by users........nd extreme graphics(no doubt visually pc version is better than both xbox 360 nd ps3)......the best part of the game is that the decisions made by you in ME1 will directly effect the storyline if save games are imported.....i will not disclose more detail...ITS A MUST PLAY GAME.......MASS EFFECT SERIES IS THE BEST SERIES I HAVE EVER LIVED..........WAITING FOR MASS EFFECT 3.... Expand
  49. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    After playing first game, this one is far more better. In every step, you can see improvements. Graphics are sharper and better, combat system is better, you got more characters to interact with (in your team). Other things like story telling, soundtrack or that high quality of level designs are same. They rip-off some useless RPG elements, so thats good, you don't have to spend points to abilities like hacking. You got this one as passive, so that's the progress. I simply love this game, see ya in ME3 Expand
  50. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game. Different from the first, but great in it's own way. People are afraid of change and that's what this game did. Mass Effect 2 separated itself from the first Mass Effect giving players another great 50+ hour game. I have no complaints whatsoever about ME2, I highly recommend it. But, if you happen to be one of these "I hate change, make the game how I want it" type of players, then move along this might not be for you. Expand
  51. May 26, 2011
    10
    Honestly, this is one of the best games I've ever played. The story, character interaction, and dialog is second to none. I've played it through eight times on different characters and each time the emotional turns and set pieces are still impressive. Several fantastic DLC, such as Shadow Broker, have further boosted the game's standing. True, they've removed a lot of classic RPG elements like inventory management. But they've created a huge and believable universe to explore and fight in, one that should be the envy of any other RPG. Still it's not a true blood RPG and it shouldn't be called that, but that isn't a bad thing. It's an amazing Action-Shooter-RPG hybrid that has only improved with additional playthroughs. Can't wait for Mass Effect 3! Expand
  52. Mar 13, 2011
    9
    Very fun game. Deserved GOTY on IGN.

    Good: Loved the first one, second one's storyline was epic too. Soundtrack epic. Voice acting epic. Beautiful worlds. Graphics were decent. Problems: mining is bad. not enough RPG elements. AI squadmates are slightly annoying.
  53. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    Easily a 10 for the first 90% of the game. The only thing kept me from calling this "perfect" was how much it built up to the conclusion and then ending abruptly (which is to say how badly I wanted more from it). Great game! As for all the haters that are clearly outnumbered here, why not do yourself a favor and actually try to enjoy this game? Don't you know it takes more muscles to type hate than to do this - - - > ^_^ Expand
  54. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Great game with a nice cinematic like gameplay and beautiful graphics. You can play it through multiple times and experience new things each time, and especially learning about your teammates is interesting. The only negative side is balancing the different classes, but at least they simplified the character developement/stats from the first game, and also made the item system work by removing the constant looting and checking details of every item to get the strongest character. They also made side quests interesting, as it is not just a visit to a random planet/moon where you kill some guys and leaves (the fist game, red). Every action has consequences and it is a brilliant rpg. Can't wait for the third game next year where my Shepard will save the universe once again! Expand
  55. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    OMG BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!! Love love love love it!!!! I really like what they have done with this new installment, I mean i love the whole franchise but, it really just gets better everytime i play it lol.
  56. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    The perfect game, more than Mass Effect. Graphics, sound, combat system, story, cinematic animations, missions... all is wonderful. I think this is one of the best gaming experience in the history. Congratulations Bioware
  57. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    The perfect game, more than Mass Effect. Graphics, sound, combat system, story, cinematic animations, background, missions... they are great. Congratulations Bioware!
  58. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    ME2 was a huge improvement over its predecessor. Not only did they remove many of the irritating tidbits that bogged players down in the level-up and equipment screens for hours, but they also improved gameplay drastically. The result is a well-made, fun game that easily makes the top of my list of games in 2010.
  59. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    Simply the best game ever. You will never find a game with a better story line. Period. The graphics make your eyes want to tear up, the story makes you want to never quite player (and you won't) and impact of your decisions are felt throughout the game. An absolute must have. Anyone dissing this game has issues. It has one nearly every single award out there for a reason.
  60. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    A true Sci-Fi epic and the best game I have played. With top notch visuals, music, writng, voice acting, and gameplay, a diverse cast of characters, a dark and mysterious plot, this is the current high bar. Plus, it remembers everything you did in the previous game.
  61. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    Overall, I like mass effect 1's more rpg like focus to it's mechanics and stats than mass effect 2's more functional and bare streamlining. However, while this game is a better rpg - it also has more lows in it's pacing. Some sections in mass effect are incredible and interesting, others are slow moving. I think mass effect 2 should have never removed the planet exploration. In the end. I score both games the same. 9/10. For different reasons, mass effect 2 is a perfectly paced game, that was successfully streamlined. However lost some of it's scale as a result. Mass effect 1 was more ambitious, however it was occasionally boring. Expand
  62. Mar 25, 2011
    9
    Mass Effect 2 improves on many areas of its predecessor, which is no mean feat. The majority of the storyline is enjoyable and continues on from where Mass Effect left off, but it starts off poorly and in an almost unnecessary way. However, the path the story takes; spending 90% of the game recruiting your team is a disappointing way to spend your time. The core storyline missions however are fun and challenging. It was great to see that Bioware have learnt from some of the mistakes they made in Mass Effect 1; mostly the boring and repetitive Mako missions and extremely repetitive side quests where you enter the same bunker 100â Expand
  63. Mar 29, 2011
    9
    I enjoyed this game a lot, but agree with other critics that they took away a very fun element, which was the RPG element, probably a bit less micromanagement was the way to go, not completely removing it.

    I also found it a bit short, kinda disappointed that i have to pay to get any more extra content that should have been included as side quests for the money i payed...
  64. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is the most engaging RPG I have played to date. Having never played the first Mass Effect I was afraid I would be lost jumping in to what I had learned to be an intended trilogy. That was not the case. Bioware did a fantastic job of establishing Mass Effect 2 as its own story while giving the player a feeling of deep historical conflicts in a very active world. Having the ability to choose your own spoken dialogue within the trademarked Bioware dialogue wheel connects players in a way never before experienced. Playing through this game really gives you the feeling that the choices you make matter (because they do) and that you are the star of your own epic journey. For me, the shooter-esque gameplay is secondary to Mass Effects remarkable interactive adventure. The player is in control be it good or bad, and your decisions impact the game flow and dictate morality. What I mostly love about Bioware games is that they don't just give you the choice of good vs evil, in some instances, the choice boils down to which is the greater good, or which is the greater evil. Beyond that, some situations just put the player in a real moral dilemma with no clear right or wrong. All in all, whether you are an RPG fan, or Joe Customer looking for an all inclusive gameplay experience, Biowares Mass Effect series is hands down one of the greatest video game achievements to grace the senses of game enthusiasts. I for one, cannot wait till Bioware releases their third and final installment of the series titles Mass Effect 3 late 2011. If you are looking for a gaming experience, full of twists and turns, redemption and peril, this game will not disappoint. 9.5/10 , I'll be saving my perfect score for what I presume ME3 will undoubtedly deliver. Expand
  65. May 1, 2011
    9
    Too empty for an RPG, too branching for a shooter, Mass Effect 2 sits in a genre all it's own. I'll admit, when it first came out, I thought Mass Effect 2 was just a lousy attempt by Bioware to make money, but with the new free DLC, it began to look like something good. With all the DLC that Bioware's released, it's finally a good game.
  66. Apr 9, 2011
    9
    Mass Effect 2 has a good if not the best story in a game i have ever seen and there for the story is also the main selling point. The gameplay is not Super but it is ok. I would give it 9,5 if i could. But now its 10. Its my favorite game.
  67. Apr 13, 2011
    9
    I have spend above a 100 hours in mass effect 2, so you might as well ask yourself why I dont give this game a perfect 10. Its quite simply really, there are some small flaws. I will try to explain them, but know the game is really an extremely well designed experience. With that said; I find there are two flaws in this game. First, the number of comrades you pick up in the game is to large. Now, you might ask why this could possibly be a problem. This is quite simple, all of them have a "loyalty quest" - and with so many comrades all the sidequests feel a disconnected to the main plot. Add to this that with so many comrades, you never get a special feeling for any of the comrades - like you did in the first mass effect where you had a more limited number of them. Its a shame really.

    The second flaw, is the whole weapon system. This problem is more compounded by several smaller issues. First off is the "new and improved" ammo system, which blows to be honest. The first game had a heatcooldown system, which was actually fine. Now you have what they call "heat clips" that are universal, yet you cant shift them between the your weapons - this is just plain odd. besides the weapon selection is dumbed down to much. You have a severely limited amount of weapontypes to choose from, and the way you upgrade and find them feel.... well to be honest, mildly retarded. But even though the games have these flaws, I will still rate it a 9 for the solid script, plot and surperb gameplay.
    Expand
  68. Apr 14, 2011
    9
    I have spend above a 100 hours in mass effect 2, so you might as well ask yourself why I dont give this game a perfect 10. Its quite simply really, there are some small flaws. I will try to explain them, but know the game is really an extremely well designed experience. With that said; I find there are two flaws in this game. First, the number of comrades you pick up in the game is to large. Now, you might ask why this could possibly be a problem. This is quite simple, all of them have a "loyalty quest" - and with so many comrades all the sidequests feel a disconnected to the main plot. Add to this that with so many comrades, you never get a special feeling for any of the comrades - like you did in the first mass effect where you had a more limited number of them. Its a shame really.

    The second flaw, is the whole weapon system. This problem is more compounded by several smaller issues. First off is the "new and improved" ammo system, which blows to be honest. The first game had a heatcooldown system, which was actually fine. Now you have what they call "heat clips" that are universal, yet you cant shift them between the your weapons - this is just plain odd. besides the weapon selection is dumbed down to much. You have a severely limited amount of weapontypes to choose from, and the way you upgrade and find them feel.... well to be honest, mildly retarded. But even though the games have these flaws, I will still rate it a 9 for the solid script, plot and surperb gameplay.

    Score (9.0)
    Expand
  69. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    ...:::GAME OF THE DECADE:::...

    An epic intergalactic experience that'll totally blow you away..
    This game just totally rocked my world

    Must buy if you love the sci-fi genre!!
  70. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Awesome!!! Mass Effect 1 was a great game all by itself,but in ME2 Bioware removed almost every flaw of ME1 like boring vehicle drives,generic bases on planets,cluttered inventory,difficult aiming of powers etc.ME2 delivers much more streamlined and fast paced combat that is both fun,engaging and challenging (on higher difficulty levels).Some people claim that ME2 is less RPG than ME1,I strongly disagree,neither game is a true RPG,both are action RPGs,and ME1 inventory system with millions of upgrades for weapons and armor were more frustrating to most people than enjoyable.While I think that ME2 solution to that issue isnt the best out there,it is an improvement over ME1 though I must criticize the lack of option to change armors for the party members,alternative outfits after they become loyal dont cut it.Everything is well designed,graphics is beautiful,music is epic,voice acting excellent,storyline and party members mostly very well done.Mass Effect universe sucks you right in through a most beautiful cinematic experience where your decisions actually matter,it feels like you are in an interactive movie that is absolutely epic.Story,characters and party members are all very believable and engaging,something that is rarely seen in games.I havent played a game that involved me this much since Baldur's Gate.The game lore is also very convincing and I found myself more than once reading Mass Effect wiki a lot.Cant wait for Mass Effect 3.If you havent played Mass Effect series,do it now,you will not regret it.One of the best games ever that you will play over and over again.It does have few minor flaws like simplicity of the most quests,planet scanning and mining is slow etc.Despite the minor flaws this game delivers so much and sets new standards for games,almost everything in the game is well polished and absolutely lifelike and believable.I recommend you play ME1 too,to get a better feeling for the entire story.I am generally very critical when it comes to dissecting games but ME2 is tough to criticize,all minor flaws are overshadowed by the awesomeness of the rest of the game that is why I cant give it anything less than 10. Expand
  71. May 14, 2011
    10
    Indeed, a great action RPG game. You should try this, if you are a gamer. Storyline is simplified a little bit, but improved combat system and the depth of characters are compensating that fact.
  72. May 11, 2011
    9
    The most re playable out of any game I have ever owned, far too much fun I cant wait for the third installment. I do hope that they add more RPG element to 3 like more customizable weapons (like in ME1) and armor. And maybe even more powers for biotics. either way I'm looking forward to ME3
  73. May 14, 2011
    10
    Never liked the fantasy genre. By role-playing games treated very coldly. But Mass Effect sunk into the soul and even became a favorite game. Becomes sad when the game ends, because this game want more and more.
  74. May 15, 2011
    10
    This game has been the most satisfying and addicting game that I have played since Diablo II. The game has its shortcomings (Limited choice for weapons, limited free roaming that differs from ME1, and some glitches that get you stuck) but its positives far outweigh the negatives. As a previous ME1 player it was very nice to see some of my decisions actually appear in the second game. The combat system is fun, and it offers different play styles for different players. I have played through all difficulty levels as all of the classes, most recently playing as a soldier on insanity. The replay value in this single player game is amazing. Great characters, great interactions, great story line. Expand
  75. May 22, 2011
    10
    Pure poetry, this is the closest a game has come to true cinematic greatness. Story, characters, feeling, choice, combat, visuals..everything comes together brilliantly in this. Yes please, bring on more of the goodness :)
  76. May 21, 2011
    10
    Lacks pace, but that's pretty much it. The experience is enjoyable, the story is still thrilling (even though paces terribly) and the graphics are very good. The excellent soundtrack and voice acting add to it as well. Now, if you're whining that this isn't an RPG, go play The Bard's Tale or something. It's still an incredible game, and beats its predecessor in almost every aspect.
  77. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    Simply mindblowing! Mass Effect 2 is much darker than the first one in its atmosphere and more of a cyberpunk. It gives off the same vibe as the Deus Ex series. I'd even go as far and to say that perhaps it is even more immersive and engrossing than ME1.
    I loved the first Mass Effect and I wondered how the second could possibly top it. Well, it has managed to improve on a lot of aspects
    from the first one, even though it did dumb down a little bit on the RPG element. Now you no longer have a huge inventory full of weapons and their upgrades. In some ways this is good, because you no longer need to spend time cleaning your inventory off the useless stuff, but on the other hand the game lost out on a lot of customization aspects. Mass Effect 2 is a lot more of a squad oriented shooter than the first one was. It improved a lot on the shooter aspect of the gameplay, like making the cover system better, the weapons are more fun to use, and generally the gameplay feels fresher and more polished. Just as with the first game, Mass Effect 2 is incredibly immersive. Not only do you get to travel all over the galaxy again and completing quests, but this time you have 10 team members (plus 2 more with DLCs) instead of 6. Although it might seem a lot, but each and every one of those characters is captivating and has been developed superbly. Although the main plot is not as much the focus of the game as it was in ME1, the game does not lose out here, because the story is more character-driven. You get to recruit each and every team member separately, and additionally you can also do a loyalty mission for each of them, which helps to uncover more of their background and you get to really know what makes each of them tick. On the romance front you have a lot more choice than in the first game too. The galaxy exploration aspect has improved as well. Now you get to actually scan each planet manually and harvest resources from it, which you then need to use on upgrades to your weapons, armor, and ship. I also want to mention that I was incredibly impressed with the final mission. "Epic" is simply not good enough of a word to describe that finale. The whole team is involved in that mission, and this is something I felt that the first game missed out upon. I am glad ME2 had the finale that it deserved. The mission was so intense that I was on the edge of my seat the entire time. Your decisions in that mission could have huge effects on whether your teammates would survive or not. It is one of the most dramatic and most memorable moments of video gaming for me. And so to conclude, I'd say that Mass Effect 2 is almost perfect of a game. Sure, it might've lost some of the RPG feel that the first game had, but it's amazing in its own right. It did not remove the good stuff. It simply replaced it with something different. The only thing I can nitpick on is that the same button is used for taking cover, running, and interacting with stuff, so at times you might for example want to run, but Shepard will start talking to a nearby person instead, or you might accidentally take cover on the wrong side of the object in the middle of a gunfight. But that is a very minor nitpick and does not detract from the mindblowingly divine experience this game will provide you with. It's only been a day since I completed it and I am already longing to replay the game, so I started a new playthrough. That is how addictive it is. Expand
  78. May 18, 2011
    9
    A satisfying game that lives up to the first game in just about every sense. The game allows you to be the galaxy's most-feared renegade or its most-loved paragon. The only downside is the removal of some RPG elements that made the first game quite enjoyable.
  79. May 25, 2011
    10
    thoroughly enjoyed Mass Effect 2. I replayed this game 3 times. I can not wait for ME3. The only down side is that I can only romance one character at a time! :X
  80. Jan 31, 2012
    9
    Developer's decisions are weird sometimes. Replacing simple weapons stats with a description box... yyyy... haven't they read any design book? How does a pile of text make up for some easy and graphically-presented stats?! Than they replaced a good, interesting story-line with a simple gather-a-team-and-finish-them-all thing. In result the only two thing that I've remembered from this episode is that I've died at the beginning (nice one Bioware!) and then picking up some members of my team only to make some wrong decisions at the end and almost killed them then... xD The game is very good and I had a lot of fun but I don't agree with some decisions made there.




    Overall:
    ------------
    Graphics 10/10

    Audio 9.5/10 (hate the death sound)

    Gameplay 9/10 (getting companions -> finishing the game)
    Expand
  81. May 11, 2013
    10
    What can i say about this game? It is still the best game I ever played. The combat mechanics are much improved from Mass Effect 1 and feels much more fluid.The story is is great, it keept me intrested the whole time. All characters are intresting each in their own way(especially Mordin & Legion). The game is full of decisions wich have consequences that ripple thru the story and also effects in Mass Effect 3. Only gripes i have with the game is that the planet scanning minigame becomes a bit tedious. It takes too long to scan the planets and get the ressources you need. Also the rpg elements have been reduced quite significantly and there is not enough of Liara T'Soni! So are you gonna be the Paragon Shepard who is nice to everyone or are you gonna be Renegade Shepard who punches people in the face? The choice is yours! I'm Commander Shepard and this is my favorite game on the citadel! Expand
  82. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    10/10.

    I cannot believe that people actually WANT TO SPEND THEIR TIME managing a completely useless inventory, when they can go out and smack enemies about in ME2. I enjoyed the fact that there was no inventory to speak of in ME2, and it was one of the good points of DA II. I like getting new items, I really do, it is awesome to get new good loot. I fully understand that, but I don't
    want to have to manage it in an inventory and I don't want to have to swap from Katana I to Katana II and III every damn time I kill an enemy and receive the new and upgraded weapon. Loot should be meaningful, and rewarded from something special (kill boss or complete difficult mission etc.).

    Mass Effect missed some things. It's combat wasn't all that good (ME2 improved on that), it's exploration "system" sucked (ME2 removed and got in planet scanning, imo just remove both), graphics (ME2 improved bigtime), immersion (I felt more inline with my shepard in ME2 than ME1).
    ME 2 did also miss out on some things. In essence, the main story, is rather shallow, it feels like the game is a big mix of side missions, rather than a big main story and some side missions. The storyline could use a little bit of work. In the end, though, I have enjoyed every minute with ME2 and I am super hyped for ME 3.
    I will give it a 9/10 because of the "little" miss on the storyline.
    Expand
  83. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This game is a triumph. I kid you not, I've played through eight different times, continuing saves from Mass Effect and once starting from scratch on ME2. The story and gameplay are amazing. It's incredibly rewarding to see that your choices matter. The soundtrack is as epic as any Sci-fi adventure. This game is perfect.
  84. May 27, 2011
    9
    Would give this game a 10 had it not been for the simplification of the RP aspect that made ME1 exceptional. In removing the bugs, awful loading times, and terrible mechanics and travel, ME2 also removed inventory, customization, and a crucial story-arc that is truly dimensional. That being said, Mass Effect 2 is still one of the top video games that have ever been created, right up there with anything you throw at it. From its dazzling cut-scenes to its exceptional game-play, Mass Effect 2 MORE than made up for its flaws, and obliterated Mass Effect 1 in terms of overall quality in comparison. The story was compelling and at times even emotional. A true indication that a video game can be art. This was more than a game, and you would shoot yourself in the foot if you never gave this game a chance. Expand
  85. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    First off, I want to point out the stupidity of Users giving low scores at the moment. Almost all are giving it a low score because they release DLC's. Thats like criticising an author for releasing each of his books individually over 5 years instead of putting them in a 1000 page omnibus. Mass Effect 2 is a masterpiece. A symphony of stunning graphics, sublime voice acting, innovative gameplay, incredibly gripping non-linear story and a rich sci-fi universe, brimming with lively characters. This will go down in the history of gaming. One of the greatest RPG trilogies that will ever be made. Expand
  86. May 30, 2011
    9
    Game play and story line are phenomenal, extremely satisfying, fun and action packed story line with a interesting "Karma" system. Only cons are that the facial graphics and animation in some of the cut scenes are some times awkward and that the cover system is a little corky. Another con is that the lines that Commander Shepard says in some of the cut scenes on occasion are slightly cheesy. Overall great game with a few minor cons that in no way affect the game play experience but could still be improved. Expand
  87. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    I ended up playing through this one 3 times in full and part of me still feels the draw to have another go. Flat out amazing game one of the best of 2010 for sure and I'd probably rank it in the top 10 games I've played of all time. And I've been gaming since you could fit multiple games on a 5 & 1/4 floppy.
  88. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Leading off with 10. Games are for fun, enjoyment diversion. ME2 delivered that to me in spades. The biggest gripe from others seems to stem from what an RPG is or isn't. For some the R stands for loot, inventory, tons of gear, options etc. For others the R is the characters, story and action. For me, the R is that latter. I really could care less about the drudgery of inventory and looting that the original ME1 contained. For those that miss that, it's cool... to each their own. However to consider that "RPG Roots" reaches all the way back to pen and paper games, some of those were loot heavy gear fests and some where story, character and action driven. To claim that ME2 "oversimplifies the RPG genre", it really comes down to what you consider and RPG to be. It's a very individual choice... not an 'ending of the genre' as some might claim. My $0.02 Expand
  89. Jul 17, 2011
    9
    The surprising event to occur at the start of ME2 got me very intrigued on my first play through and as the story unfolded I became hooked in anticipation. ME2 is not a good game because it improves on the short comings of Mass Effect 1, its good because it has an interesting story and setting that has depth and things are at stake to care about, well designed characters aesthetically and with personality, the decision making is not only ambitious but is pulled off very well, brilliantly and originally designed environments, creatures, costume and armour, and technically performs well at least on my PC with game play that feels satisfyingly good. The characters are good and memorable, I actually felt dread when some of them die, if you dont fall in love with Garrus, Tali, Legion, and Thane by the end of ME2 you have problems, I even grew attached to the space ship. I also want to make a big shout out to the legendary soundtrack, everyone must download the track Suicide Mission from Itunes now, its freaken awesome. The lack of depth in the RPG at first seems like a good thing as the shooting mechanics are good but after playing the game for over 60 hours it starts to show is thin side and has you missing some of the lacking RPG of the first game. I also dont think the decisions a player can make are perfect, who in their right mine didnt save the alien counsel in ME1? Who didnt save Wrex? But overall ME2 is a remarkable achievement and a new benchmark for modern single player games! Expand
  90. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Mass effect 2 is AMAZING...if you consider yourself a skilled pc gamer,who even past mass effect 1,with ALL its content it should give up to 40-50 gameplay hours,but remember this issn't to be counted as one game,but as a full story,including ME 1 you should have 80-90 hours,this game has an inmense replay value.

    it only has three issues:

    You have to play the first one if you wish to
    ully understand it
    you need a good system,most of the complaints about framerate are because they forgot to get an average video card.
    it has changed to satisfy the action players a bit more,but the rpg players a bit less.

    But overall,with an average to good video card this game shouldt present problems and everyone will enjoy it.
    Expand
  91. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    From Bioware comes the next installment in their sci fi shooter Mass Effect 2. Things begin right after Mass Effect 1's ending and the Normandy and it's crew are sent to investigate the Terminus System where ships have dissapeared. Once again you can play as Shepard who is violently killed when the Normandy is attacked then the organization Cerberus rebuilds you and you have to find out what is happening and stop it. Instead of being bossed around by the alliance you are bossed around by the Illusive Man voiced by Martin Sheen. The Game looks beautiful and the sound of plasma rushing past your head is great too. The combat is similar to Mass Effect 1 there is some new powers it is lighter on the RPG side but I did not mind that because the devs put extra detail into the battles. This time you have ammo instead of guns heating up which is great. You go to different planets in the game and gather up a crew to fight the enemy. There are little side missions to gain the crews loyalty too to increse the survivability on the final mission and if you suck bad on the final mission you can even get Shepard killed. I didn't make any sexy relationships this time over all that I did was have a girl over for dinner though but then she died. The game is great I have played through it 15 times since i got it ill give it a 9.5 this review will be on my blog also at http://www.maximalistgtg.blogspot.com/ Expand
  92. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    This game was really charming, beautiful and interesting.
    The plot twists were really though out, the story was very original and not a copycat from the first game.
    The characters were very developed and the action was improved over the last game.
    Mass Effect offered very great features and story while Mass Effect 2 improved over every aspect of the game. BioWare has made another great
    game with interesting story. Expand
  93. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Well I could Describe it in one sentence: One of the best kickassing brilliant si-fi addictive Bioware game ever released Bioware Really really impressed me with part one couldn't wait for 2 had to play it,
    And here it was they did it again, again they made me have tears in my eyes, the story in the mass effect sage is so good it will make you cry ^^

    ROCK on Bioware (and ea)

    Sealreth,
  94. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    this game is really story focused...just the way I like it. the story is fun and well written, gameplay is average but the game also has vehicle sections with horrible controls but you get used at the controls ( to bad that is at the last level) overall one of the best RPGs i have played and i mean in which other game can you bang aliens in space!
  95. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    Easily in my all time top 3. People are so afraid to be interested in a game that is not labeled rpg if they have already established themselves as hardcore gamers. Some games that are not role playing, or strategy games are actually good. Believe me when I say its okay to like a couple of shooters. Whether mass effect 2 is a shooter or an rpg, well the definition for rpg can be found all over the internet. It is really sad that before jumping into an amazing game some gamer still have to convince themselves that it is an rpg, seriously guys you're not a gamer if that is all you are interested in. rpg players enjoy story line right? Expand
  96. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    It is easier to list the things i disliked than the things I liked about this game. There was one main character I found slightly annoying, and I found myself wishing I could still drive ME1's landing vehicle around at will. What isn't there to love about ME2? Great characters, exciting plot. You really are compelled to gather a great and loyal team. Every character has his or her own entire plot line dedicated to them to ensure your success in the climactic battle, a time where you make gambles as a leader as well as a fighter. Epic stuff in this box! I would have paid more than the $60 I laid down at its release in hindsight. Expand
  97. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    To be simple, "Mass Effect 2" is a astounding game that fixes the problems "Mass Effect" had and even surpasses them with superiority. The gameplay is more of the same thing like "ME" but it's still awfully fun. Graphics and the player screen has drastically improved as well as the money system. Yes, in "ME2" weapons and armor aren't overpriced as they were in "ME". Overall a powerful space opera SF role playing game, a game you WILL play. Expand
  98. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    My favorite game of all times. This is an RPG that takes place in an amazing wold with tons of lore and backstory for the one who's interested. The story and the characters are amazing and the soundtrack is mind blowing.
  99. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    You know, it's really hard to say something about Mass Effect 2. Speaking of myself, i was shocked by it.,really. It was such an amazing experience playing it (and BTW, no' i haven't played ME1 by that time) that it's really hard to write a review on this game. Still, i'll try.
    Well, what are the positive features of the game? First of all-amazing graphics. Trust me, you won't see anything
    like this in any RPG. Definitely. Secondly, the conversations. The style of them, the decisions you make by them-it's all outstanding. The characters themselves are one of the best characters created in the gaming industry. Each one of them is absolutely different from the other, has his own history, personality. And it's really interesting to discover all this.
    The only negative part of ME2 (i don't think it's bad, but some people do) is that Mass Effect Franchise isn't an RPG anymore. It's all about shooting, which is completely different from the first game, and this may dissapoint some people. I think it's more of a good thing, because it makes the game more breath-taking, but some people may not agree.
    So, finally, what can i say about Mass Effect 2? Awesome. Breathtaking. Amazing. And made me buy the First game ;)
    Expand
  100. Mar 17, 2012
    9
    This game is simply "Michal Bay" style production. You could call the game... limited. I do. But I still can appreciate that the way story is told is really amazing. And I mean REALLY. It is worth playing just for seeing it, feeling the loud sound while watching incredible camera doing. Even when I prefer game to be "a game", ME2 still has it's place. And I would recommend it for anyone who hesitated playing this because "it is bad game" comments but still can feel something special watching trailers like Skyrim's or DXHR's over and over :) You will love ME2 in the same way :) Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Mass Effect 2 resumes with pride the path opened by the first game. This sequel is a lesson of how things should be made.
  2. Mass Effect 2 delivers a story that's deeper than what many novelists are capable of, and its action is better than what most Hollywood directors are creating nowadays. It's an addictive, engrossing experience that many gamers will replay over and over while they hold their breath waiting for the third game.
  3. A brilliant mix of shooter and role-playing, filled with great characters, excellent design, lots of action and clever dialogue. It's a shame though that Bioware did not improve the inventory and skill system of the first game, but actually reduced it even more. I really wished there were more customization options, more ways to develop and gear up my characters. But all these are merely small points of criticism, since there is so much to feel and experience in this game. Mass Effect 2 is a thrilling, emotional ride and ultimately every bit as good as its predecessor.