User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4021 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 21, 2011
    10
    Lacks pace, but that's pretty much it. The experience is enjoyable, the story is still thrilling (even though paces terribly) and the graphics are very good. The excellent soundtrack and voice acting add to it as well. Now, if you're whining that this isn't an RPG, go play The Bard's Tale or something. It's still an incredible game, and beats its predecessor in almost every aspect.
  2. May 25, 2011
    10
    thoroughly enjoyed Mass Effect 2. I replayed this game 3 times. I can not wait for ME3. The only down side is that I can only romance one character at a time! :X
  3. Jul 7, 2014
    8
    Extremely good game like many said before. Brilliant storytelling, fluid gameplay, excellent graphics, music and sound. My only problems: lot of overpriced DLCs, after the first game's crew I felt a bit let down, because I found only a handful of sympathic "companion" characters (Grunt, Garrus, Mordin). The mining was horrible and I felt bored while doing most of the side mission (withExtremely good game like many said before. Brilliant storytelling, fluid gameplay, excellent graphics, music and sound. My only problems: lot of overpriced DLCs, after the first game's crew I felt a bit let down, because I found only a handful of sympathic "companion" characters (Grunt, Garrus, Mordin). The mining was horrible and I felt bored while doing most of the side mission (with notable exceptions). There were some balance issues between the classes as for example with a simple soldier I had a MUCH easier gameplay on insane than with my first playthrough (default) adept due to the mechanics for the powers. Still, one of the best game! Expand
  4. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    10/10.

    I cannot believe that people actually WANT TO SPEND THEIR TIME managing a completely useless inventory, when they can go out and smack enemies about in ME2. I enjoyed the fact that there was no inventory to speak of in ME2, and it was one of the good points of DA II. I like getting new items, I really do, it is awesome to get new good loot. I fully understand that, but I don't
    10/10.

    I cannot believe that people actually WANT TO SPEND THEIR TIME managing a completely useless inventory, when they can go out and smack enemies about in ME2. I enjoyed the fact that there was no inventory to speak of in ME2, and it was one of the good points of DA II. I like getting new items, I really do, it is awesome to get new good loot. I fully understand that, but I don't want to have to manage it in an inventory and I don't want to have to swap from Katana I to Katana II and III every damn time I kill an enemy and receive the new and upgraded weapon. Loot should be meaningful, and rewarded from something special (kill boss or complete difficult mission etc.).

    Mass Effect missed some things. It's combat wasn't all that good (ME2 improved on that), it's exploration "system" sucked (ME2 removed and got in planet scanning, imo just remove both), graphics (ME2 improved bigtime), immersion (I felt more inline with my shepard in ME2 than ME1).
    ME 2 did also miss out on some things. In essence, the main story, is rather shallow, it feels like the game is a big mix of side missions, rather than a big main story and some side missions. The storyline could use a little bit of work. In the end, though, I have enjoyed every minute with ME2 and I am super hyped for ME 3.
    I will give it a 9/10 because of the "little" miss on the storyline.
    Expand
  5. May 30, 2011
    9
    Game play and story line are phenomenal, extremely satisfying, fun and action packed story line with a interesting "Karma" system. Only cons are that the facial graphics and animation in some of the cut scenes are some times awkward and that the cover system is a little corky. Another con is that the lines that Commander Shepard says in some of the cut scenes on occasion are slightlyGame play and story line are phenomenal, extremely satisfying, fun and action packed story line with a interesting "Karma" system. Only cons are that the facial graphics and animation in some of the cut scenes are some times awkward and that the cover system is a little corky. Another con is that the lines that Commander Shepard says in some of the cut scenes on occasion are slightly cheesy. Overall great game with a few minor cons that in no way affect the game play experience but could still be improved. Expand
  6. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Well I could Describe it in one sentence: One of the best kickassing brilliant si-fi addictive Bioware game ever released Bioware Really really impressed me with part one couldn't wait for 2 had to play it,
    And here it was they did it again, again they made me have tears in my eyes, the story in the mass effect sage is so good it will make you cry ^^

    ROCK on Bioware (and ea)

    Sealreth,
  7. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    Pure awesome distilled into game form. If you have hands, you should play this. The entire series, when played in succession, has the ability to change who you are as a person.
  8. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Hands down one of the greatest games I've ever played. The story is incredible, and the gameplay is near perfect, and the worlds themselves are beautiful. But the best thing about this about this game would have to be the characters. Each character in your squad gets a unique and thrilling two missions devoted to them that help flesh them out as characters along with a ton of dialogue thatHands down one of the greatest games I've ever played. The story is incredible, and the gameplay is near perfect, and the worlds themselves are beautiful. But the best thing about this about this game would have to be the characters. Each character in your squad gets a unique and thrilling two missions devoted to them that help flesh them out as characters along with a ton of dialogue that helps establish their backstory. Of all of the characters I had on my team, I didn't find a single one to be generic, or uninteresting. I recommend this game to anyone who is into or even has an appreciation for space related science fiction (i.e. star wars, star trek.) Expand
  9. Dec 21, 2016
    10
    Key: 1 = Poor, 3 = Average, 5 = Great

    Graphics 5
    Audio 5
    Characters 5
    Story 5
    Controls 5
    Intuitiveness 5

    ...........................................
  10. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    I have not played Mass Effect 1- but I still found this game to be amazing. The characters, the story, the gameplay - it is pure fun. The cover-based squad combat works great. The downsides to this game are that you have very limited options when it comes to choosing weapons- there is often one clear weapon to choose over another when picking a shotgun, pistol, SMG, etc. Also, the gameI have not played Mass Effect 1- but I still found this game to be amazing. The characters, the story, the gameplay - it is pure fun. The cover-based squad combat works great. The downsides to this game are that you have very limited options when it comes to choosing weapons- there is often one clear weapon to choose over another when picking a shotgun, pistol, SMG, etc. Also, the game seems to get into the end-game very quickly- just when you think you're just coming together as a team, you hit the last level. Finally, it seems that choosing different squadmates has a very small impact on gameplay- it makes little difference who I choose to bring with me. They all do about the same amount of damage- the only thing that changes are your abilities, which means that teammates with the more useful abilities should ALWAYS be chosen over those that don't have useful abilities. Other than this, everything about the game (except for the mining mini-game. Don't get me started on that) is phenomenal- there is a universe here that is meant to be explored, and boy is it fun. Expand
  11. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    I loved the first game. This second game is the first with everything improved.In my first gameplay I played 7h without stopping. Nice characters,story,everything! It's perfect!
  12. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    FPS-(semi)RPG. Story. Story. Graphics. Story. Characters. Characters. Story. Characters. Graphics. Effects. Spaceships. etc. etc.

    Sweet graphics and effects. Epic story. Varied and memorable characters (and more of them too!) the terrific voice acting makes them truly come to life. Definitely one of my favorite games ever. ALWAYS CALIBRATING. Again, in my humble opinion, the Mass
    FPS-(semi)RPG. Story. Story. Graphics. Story. Characters. Characters. Story. Characters. Graphics. Effects. Spaceships. etc. etc.

    Sweet graphics and effects. Epic story. Varied and memorable characters (and more of them too!) the terrific voice acting makes them truly come to life. Definitely one of my favorite games ever. ALWAYS CALIBRATING.

    Again, in my humble opinion, the Mass Effect series is first and foremost a story-driven game. Every moment, from the beginning of the series when you first walk aboard the SSV Normandy SR-1 to the scene before the piss-poor, highly disagreeable series ending in ME3, had me begging for more because I wanted to know what was going to happen. Or, often enough, what COULD and WOULD happen given which options I choose to follow to advance the story. I mean, with an opening scene like this that REALLY got your attention and hit you in the gut, it's hard not to like the storyline.

    I think combat gameplay is better in this one than the first game, and I definitely like the more streamlined and simpler inventory system and UI in general. While the extensive customization and looting from the first game was done away with, there continues to be a decent amount of both in this installment of Mass Effect. I particularly like decking out your cabin as well as upgrading your ship those were pretty cool additions and I wish there was more customization like that.

    Buy it. Play it. Enjoy.
    Expand
  13. Feb 4, 2013
    9
    Mass Effect 2 is amazing game from the start. The beginning tells us that this game is going to be epic and massive. The graphics are gorgeous even though the facial expressions can be bit clumsy sometimes. None of this really matters because the part where the game really shines is exploration. You can explore every planet and learn about its history and its properties. The cities areMass Effect 2 is amazing game from the start. The beginning tells us that this game is going to be epic and massive. The graphics are gorgeous even though the facial expressions can be bit clumsy sometimes. None of this really matters because the part where the game really shines is exploration. You can explore every planet and learn about its history and its properties. The cities are gorgeous. You can see that the developers put a lot of effort in the cities and they look really beautiful. Sadly the game faces a small problem. The combat can be very clumsy sometimes. It is not very dynamic, instead it reminds me of trenches combat in World War I. Enemies almost never rush you and as long as you stay in cover you won't die. Your movement is limited also which can make you frustrated sometimes. Overall this game is brilliant in what it tries to do. If you are fan of sci-fi games and like exploring this game is for you. Look no further. Expand
  14. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    I had friends recommending me this series for quite a long time and I never saw what the big deal was about. One day I bought it cause it was on sale and the next thing I know I was sucked in to this universe, in love and like an addict that just wanted more doses of it. I have never played such an engaging and game so rich in depth. The gameplay is not the best, but it's the universe andI had friends recommending me this series for quite a long time and I never saw what the big deal was about. One day I bought it cause it was on sale and the next thing I know I was sucked in to this universe, in love and like an addict that just wanted more doses of it. I have never played such an engaging and game so rich in depth. The gameplay is not the best, but it's the universe and characters that really reel you in. A well deserved 10/10. A MUST OWN Expand
  15. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    Saga continues with the second opus. Just a new hit from Bioware. Graphisms are totally correct, the gameplay is faster than the first opus.

    The story is more around the caracters this time. I didn't like the planet's system but that's really not a big deal. Buy without hesitation if you like SF products of course
  16. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    Overall I have to rate this game an 8 out of 10 this game excels in story. I love the way you control you're actions that is one of the things that separates this game from most RPG's, however this games is lacking the control of the abilities your character should have. You should be able to pick better skills from the skill tree, but their is no reason to hate this game it has almost allOverall I have to rate this game an 8 out of 10 this game excels in story. I love the way you control you're actions that is one of the things that separates this game from most RPG's, however this games is lacking the control of the abilities your character should have. You should be able to pick better skills from the skill tree, but their is no reason to hate this game it has almost all of the key elements a game should have. Expand
  17. Mar 18, 2013
    9
    The game contains more than 10 playable characters and all of them have fully fleshed-out background stories that make you genuinely care about all of them. The dialogue is always well written and the fact that you decide the outcome of the conversations yourself make you feel really engaged. Also, the facial expressions of the characters are amazing and make them look like they areThe game contains more than 10 playable characters and all of them have fully fleshed-out background stories that make you genuinely care about all of them. The dialogue is always well written and the fact that you decide the outcome of the conversations yourself make you feel really engaged. Also, the facial expressions of the characters are amazing and make them look like they are expressing real feelings, more than in any other game I have played.
    You often learn more about the back stories of the playable characters by helping them out in side missions. These missions also make the game becoming more non-linear so that you, most of the time, can decide yourself what to do the next.

    The environments and the music manage to capture the essence of a dark science fiction world and make you feel really absorbed in the game.
    Developing your characters and receiving new powers is satisfying. The powers are fun to use and makes for a dynamic combat. However, despite having a disposal of different kind of powers the combat gets slightly repetitive in the long run.
    Aside from the somewhat repetitive combat there isn't anything to complain about and overall Mass effect 2 is an amazing game.
    Expand
  18. May 20, 2013
    10
    this is this one of the greatest games of all time, i am glad to give this game a 10 mainly because of its great story. combat is also engaging. easily earned 10
  19. May 16, 2013
    10
    To my mind the best game of my generation! Gun shooting improved, nice variety of missions(no boring quests at all), voice acting the same top class, more memorable characters that I've seen in the video game so far! And continuing with your save from predecessor another genius decision from Bioware! And of course 30+ hours of super engaging main plot & lot of appealing side missionsTo my mind the best game of my generation! Gun shooting improved, nice variety of missions(no boring quests at all), voice acting the same top class, more memorable characters that I've seen in the video game so far! And continuing with your save from predecessor another genius decision from Bioware! And of course 30+ hours of super engaging main plot & lot of appealing side missions makes it a full package! Expand
  20. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    Skeleton Summary: PROS/CONS

    PROS: - Amazing Story-Telling - Great Character Development - Average Fighting Mechanics - Great Soundtrack - Massive Customization - Good Graphics - Cinematic Experience - Great Atmosphere - Great Voice-Actors - Interesting Universe/Plot - Decision-Based Story CONS: - Boring Side-Missions - Lack Of Traditional RPG Elements (not necessarily a
    Skeleton Summary: PROS/CONS

    PROS:
    - Amazing Story-Telling
    - Great Character Development
    - Average Fighting Mechanics
    - Great Soundtrack
    - Massive Customization
    - Good Graphics
    - Cinematic Experience
    - Great Atmosphere
    - Great Voice-Actors
    - Interesting Universe/Plot
    - Decision-Based Story

    CONS:
    - Boring Side-Missions
    - Lack Of Traditional RPG Elements (not necessarily a bad thing)
    - Gathering Resources Is Boring

    Addressing Lack of RPG Elements: While I do share similar thoughts regarding how this game compares to traditional RPG games, we do need to get past them. A game isn't created to fit into a certain genre; a game is created to entertain us. Judging the game based on how much enjoyment value it has, rather than how much of a copy/paste formula it has is what truly matters. We could have games that have all the traditional RPG elements we all love, but at the end of the day it could still be a horrible game.

    Mass Effect 2 is a step forward from the original Mass Effect title that launched the trilogy. While it does scrap some traditional RPG elements (weapons, loot, smaller skill tree, etc) it is STILL a "Role Playing Game" (look up the definition rather than saying it's not an RPG because you don't get "loot" after you kill a boss).

    If you loved the original Mass Effect story, you're going to love this one too. If you thought some of the original Mass Effect's dialogue was corny, Mass Effect 2 fixes it! The music intensifies action-packed moments that keep you on your toes. The way the story is portrayed is nothing short of amazing. Some parts feel as if you're watching a movie, others feel like the location around you comes to life (Afterlife anyone?). Your decisions do matter and through various choices of dialogue (which ARE voice acted), you ultimately shape the future of you and your team.

    The fighting mechanics are also fluid and easy to learn. You get to choose from various classes, but you also get a fire-team. With this team you can customize everyone's abilities/weapons. You tell your team where to go and who to kill. Though running in this game isn't that much better than walking (yes it's one of THOSE games).

    You go on a massive adventure with exotic alien allies to uncover the Galaxy's dark secret. Unless your heart is a tiny black-hole, this game will grasp your emotions. It's a third person shooter with the traditional duck-and-cover mechanics, but it isn't bad at all. You can create your OWN character from (almost) the ground-up. With face customization, hairstyles, uniforms, armor, etc. Through your choices you can be a good boy/girl, or your can be the galaxy's ultimate badass.

    If you haven't played the first game, don't worry, you can play this game and still get a thrill out of it. (Highly recommended to check out the first one since you can carry your decisions from the previous Mass Effect game onto the 2nd one)

    Though the main campaign is a pretty damn good, some of the side-missions are boring and repetitive (although a BIG improvement from the 1st one where you boarded a ship, killed everyone searching for a VIP/NPC with the constant spam of husks/thorian creatures).

    In order to upgrade armor/weapons in this game you need to spend resources, in order to find said resources you need to scan planets. This task is cool at first but it gets old fast.

    Get this game, it will make you love the Mass Effect Universe.
    Expand
  21. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    I had just recently rented this game it is an awesome game but there is some draw backs though a shaky cam and a limited time running like the game that is COD.
  22. Nov 16, 2015
    9
    Ok, the ME universe is one big pile of cliche however this game is epic in every sense, the soundtrack, it's presentation and storyline.

    It's like being in a movie and you're going on a real suicide mission. Marked down slightly because according to a friend who's a Doctor, the start of the game (Lazarus Project) is completely idiotic who also states that Omega would be
    Ok, the ME universe is one big pile of cliche however this game is epic in every sense, the soundtrack, it's presentation and storyline.

    It's like being in a movie and you're going on a real suicide mission.

    Marked down slightly because according to a friend who's a Doctor, the start of the game (Lazarus Project) is completely idiotic who also states that Omega would be un-inhabitable if it was set out as it is in the game.

    Also probably the first game in history to have a HUG button in a QTE.

    One of Bioware's last great games.

    Finally, one of the memes around this game has to be laughed at. It has Commander Shepard with his arms crossed with sunglasses with the slogan "Safest Suicide Mission ever: 100% Survival rate"
    Expand
  23. Mar 19, 2017
    10
    I was late to the party on the Mass Effect series. I'm currently drilling the trilogy before Andromeda launches tomorrow. Mass Effect 2 was absolutely incredible. I can't in good conscience give it anything less than a 10 although there are some changes from the first ME game that I think went in the wrong direction.

    The character profiles are top notch. I had fairly strong emotions
    I was late to the party on the Mass Effect series. I'm currently drilling the trilogy before Andromeda launches tomorrow. Mass Effect 2 was absolutely incredible. I can't in good conscience give it anything less than a 10 although there are some changes from the first ME game that I think went in the wrong direction.

    The character profiles are top notch. I had fairly strong emotions towards each member of my team throughout the game, even the DLC characters. Even a character like Miranda, who thoroughly annoyed me for the entire game, at least had a genuine sincerity about her beliefs. Joker & EDI combined for an amazing comedic relief duo. There were multiple scenes that had me busting a gut.

    The side missions did not become overbearing and extremely tedious like they were in ME1, in fact the stories behind many of them were very interesting (I loved the marooned freighter where the survivors turned feral because of the toxic flora). There were significantly less sidequests than ME1, but they were higher quality, which I thought was a great adjustment. The main story followed a familiar course from the first game, and while there weren't many plot twists or major surprises, I thought it flowed very well and at least kept me motivated towards the goal.

    Now for the aspects of the game that I kinda bugged me (but not enough to drop this game's 10 ranking):
    -Money. I did absolutely everything that wasn't DLC-related and still did not have enough credits to purchase every upgrade from the shops, because unlike ME1, there's nothing you can sell in this game. Everything is purchase and upgrade. I had to leave a couple upgrades behind on Tachanka. This was irritating.

    -The probing for metals got old quickly. Thankfully I used probes like crazy in the early game and amassed enough to get me through every upgrade and multiple respecs with plenty to spare. They elimination of planet exploration is a mixed blessing. In ME1 roving around those boring planets was a mind-numbing experience combined with the goofy physics of the vehicle. I was hoping for improved controls and physics in this game but they just removed it completely (if you don't count the Firewalker DLC)

    -The loading times are kinda long, even on a great modern computer.

    -I see why some games now give you clear notification that you are reaching a point of no return. Realizing I couldn't wrap up other quests without it having dire consequences was a bit of a buzzkill.

    Overall this game is an absolute must-play for anyone who is a science fiction fan. The amount of detail they go into with planetary science and astronomy is typically unheard of, and it makes you realize how much thought they put into this. Can't wait to break into ME3!
    Expand
  24. Jul 6, 2016
    9
    Gameplay : 9
    Graphics : 9
    Story : 8
    Sound : 9
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 9
  25. Oct 30, 2015
    10
    This is to date my favorite game , it has almost everything, excellent voice acting and characters that make care about them, decisions to make that will affect the ending, the normandy and its crew, but the most important thing is the history and is top notch, also the missions ,locations and soundtrack are inmersive and very very good.
  26. Feb 26, 2016
    9
    Disclaimer:
    I've played the first Mass Effect with all of the DLCs and plays 50+ hours of Mass Effect 2 clearing the story and all story related DLC. RPGs are one of my favourite genres.
    Intro: On Mass Effect 2 we once again take the role of Commander Shepard tasked once again to save the universe from a threat that almost everyone is either ignoring on purpose or just plain doesn't
    Disclaimer:
    I've played the first Mass Effect with all of the DLCs and plays 50+ hours of Mass Effect 2 clearing the story and all story related DLC. RPGs are one of my favourite genres.

    Intro:
    On Mass Effect 2 we once again take the role of Commander Shepard tasked once again to save the universe from a threat that almost everyone is either ignoring on purpose or just plain doesn't know about!

    What I liked:
    - Graphics - A great overall improvement over Mass Effect 1.
    - Combat System - Much better than Mass Effect 1, it feels closer to a Third Person Shooter now.
    - The feeling of making a difference in the galaxy and in my squad mates' lives.
    - The story.

    What I didn't like:
    - No menu hotkeys: a hotkey for the journal and squad menus were much appreciated in the first Mass Effect. Why aren't they in the second game? Why isn't there any way to add them?
    - DLC is somewhat mandatory: I romanced Liara in ME1 and I was very disappointed to find out I had to spend another 8€ on DLC to be able to romance her again in ME2. Not cool!!!
    - Crashes, crashes and CRASHES: This game crashed sooooooo many times on my PC :'(.

    Conclusion:
    This game was just like Skyrim to me: it's incredibly fun to play but OMG it crashes so much :(!
    I highly recommend this RPG but only if you have the patience to reboot the game over and over again when it crashes.
    Expand
  27. Jun 17, 2015
    10
    Quite possibly my favorite video game of all time, Mass Effect 2 improved on the gameplay of the original Mass Effect while offering up a rich new cast of characters that were fascinating to get to know as well as the return of a couple of fan favorites from the original. I wouldn't say that the game was perfect, as the central storyline didn't quite live up to the first game, but it didQuite possibly my favorite video game of all time, Mass Effect 2 improved on the gameplay of the original Mass Effect while offering up a rich new cast of characters that were fascinating to get to know as well as the return of a couple of fan favorites from the original. I wouldn't say that the game was perfect, as the central storyline didn't quite live up to the first game, but it did so much right that I could never not give it a full ten. Mass Effect 2 offered me the things that I really want in my games - great storytelling, a fascinating and rich setting, and engaging characters. A true masterpiece! Expand
  28. Sep 5, 2014
    10
    One of the very few games that I beat in one sitting. One of the few games that I was sad because of the Characters that died. One of the few games that I really enjoyed. It was the high point of the series. Mass Effect was Ok. held back by bad graphics and gameplay. Mass Effect 3 was trying to appeal to a huge audience. Mass Effect was just perfect, no doubt about it. Its ended up on manyOne of the very few games that I beat in one sitting. One of the few games that I was sad because of the Characters that died. One of the few games that I really enjoyed. It was the high point of the series. Mass Effect was Ok. held back by bad graphics and gameplay. Mass Effect 3 was trying to appeal to a huge audience. Mass Effect was just perfect, no doubt about it. Its ended up on many peoples "Best Games Ever" lists, and im no exception Expand
  29. Sep 16, 2015
    10
    A game that does almost everything right and stays with you forever.
    The plot takes a sharp turn from mass effect 1 and gives the player a chance to take a peek at the wonderful world Bioware crafted. Not everyone approved the changes in mass effect 2, many players put the blame for mass effect 3 shortcomings on the second game. The short comings refer to the change in plot and less sense
    A game that does almost everything right and stays with you forever.
    The plot takes a sharp turn from mass effect 1 and gives the player a chance to take a peek at the wonderful world Bioware crafted. Not everyone approved the changes in mass effect 2, many players put the blame for mass effect 3 shortcomings on the second game. The short comings refer to the change in plot and less sense of immediate threat and direction that were core elements in the first game and were pushed away from the front of the stage in mass effect 2.

    However, this is exactly where Mass effect 2 shines, by choosing a more relaxed course in comparison to the fast roller coaster in the first game. The players are able to feel the gaps in the story with their own imagination. Nothing can be taken at face value. Every decision and piece of information you receive needs to be analyzed and dissected, and it encourages you to read the well made codex.

    There is a reason so many players have played this 20 hours game to completion several times or more.
    It is just that good, and if you haven't jumped on the mass effect wagon, do yourself a favor and go play the first and the second, it will probably be your best game related decision in your life, I know it was mine.
    Just a word of advice. Once you finished this game, avoid the urge to play the third and just complete the story with your own imagination, you won't regret it.
    Expand
  30. Sep 21, 2014
    10
    Great Game. Combat is fun. Mainstoryline is a bit lackluster, but the sidestories are on of the best I have ever enjoyed in a game. Memorable characters and a lot of character interaction. Choices matter sometimes (more than in dragon age, but less than in witcher 2) .Overall: 10/10
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 96
    Mass Effect 2 resumes with pride the path opened by the first game. This sequel is a lesson of how things should be made.
  2. Mass Effect 2 delivers a story that's deeper than what many novelists are capable of, and its action is better than what most Hollywood directors are creating nowadays. It's an addictive, engrossing experience that many gamers will replay over and over while they hold their breath waiting for the third game.
  3. A brilliant mix of shooter and role-playing, filled with great characters, excellent design, lots of action and clever dialogue. It's a shame though that Bioware did not improve the inventory and skill system of the first game, but actually reduced it even more. I really wished there were more customization options, more ways to develop and gear up my characters. But all these are merely small points of criticism, since there is so much to feel and experience in this game. Mass Effect 2 is a thrilling, emotional ride and ultimately every bit as good as its predecessor.