User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3010 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HolgerM.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    Practically perfect. My actual score would be something like 9.5 because there are a few minor bugs and some elements could be refined a little. But the game is awesome. Surpasses ME1 in almost every area. More team members, better and wittier interactions (Talk to Joker, you'll know what I mean). All in all, you will not regret buying this game. Just look at the scores. I'm not Practically perfect. My actual score would be something like 9.5 because there are a few minor bugs and some elements could be refined a little. But the game is awesome. Surpasses ME1 in almost every area. More team members, better and wittier interactions (Talk to Joker, you'll know what I mean). All in all, you will not regret buying this game. Just look at the scores. I'm not the only one praising the game. Expand
  2. K.Hannes
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    Best Sci-Fi Action RPG with best cinematics, best voice acting, incredible Story, bombastic soundtrack and a Main Charactar everyone can identify with. A+, its definitely worth its money (no Bugs encountered through the entire game (15-16 hours with half of the optional Quests) Wonderfull work BioWare. Bioshock/Fallout3 - could never reach this perfectness and deepness and epicness of ME2 Best Sci-Fi Action RPG with best cinematics, best voice acting, incredible Story, bombastic soundtrack and a Main Charactar everyone can identify with. A+, its definitely worth its money (no Bugs encountered through the entire game (15-16 hours with half of the optional Quests) Wonderfull work BioWare. Bioshock/Fallout3 - could never reach this perfectness and deepness and epicness of ME2 story, atmosphere or even the Style and Graphics. Expand
  3. LukeK.
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    This game is overall impressive leaving me in awe at almost every decision I made. people will temper with the fact that it doesn't show 100% rpg elements but the story feeds the addiction to want to play more pulling you in as commander Shepard i was far more than impressed by the story and way it reflects on the end I didn't find any need to repeat actions i recommend playing This game is overall impressive leaving me in awe at almost every decision I made. people will temper with the fact that it doesn't show 100% rpg elements but the story feeds the addiction to want to play more pulling you in as commander Shepard i was far more than impressed by the story and way it reflects on the end I didn't find any need to repeat actions i recommend playing on insanity to really dive you in to some intense game play making your actions reflect that much more on the outcome. Expand
  4. GregoryS
    Mar 15, 2010
    10
    First off, the Story is both Epic and amazing, one of the best stories I've seen in a Video Game and books that I have read. I would go on and babble about every last thing I loved about Mass Effect 2 but that would take weeks to do and is easier to simply say that the entire thing amazing and I loved it all. But due to the fact this game is made by Bioware no one should really be First off, the Story is both Epic and amazing, one of the best stories I've seen in a Video Game and books that I have read. I would go on and babble about every last thing I loved about Mass Effect 2 but that would take weeks to do and is easier to simply say that the entire thing amazing and I loved it all. But due to the fact this game is made by Bioware no one should really be surprised since amazing story lines are the trademark of most if not all Bioware games. Mass Effect 2 improved upon the game elements that were lacking in Mass Effect and either removed them or Improved them; such as the equipment Management that was a real pain in my opinion. I honestly cannot think of a single thing that I can complain about that is apart of the game. The thing I will complain about is that my laptop doesn't support the PC version which is more my fault for buying a crappy laptop rather then it being Bioware's fault. If you haven't played this game you should, if you have and didn't like it something's wrong with you. Expand
  5. SeanR
    Mar 7, 2010
    10
    By far the best game I've ever played. The story is brilliant, the decisions you can make can be extremely difficult, amazing character skill trees, phenomenal voice acting, stunning graphics, incredibly fun gameplay, this game has it all. And in addition, there are virtually no bugs or glitches, saves are instantaneous, and the characters are extremely interesting. The research By far the best game I've ever played. The story is brilliant, the decisions you can make can be extremely difficult, amazing character skill trees, phenomenal voice acting, stunning graphics, incredibly fun gameplay, this game has it all. And in addition, there are virtually no bugs or glitches, saves are instantaneous, and the characters are extremely interesting. The research system is brilliant as well, however I would complain about how the consistent need to gather minerals via scanning can get tedious after awhile. Also, though the side missions are more in depth than in ME1, they still seem to fall short of the rest of the game and seem more as added content to try and appease players rather than missions that were actually well-developed (not to mention there are a very small number of sidequests for an RPG of this scale). All in all, this game has everything any RPG or sci-fi lover could ever hope for in a game. I definitely recommend it for anyone who is a fan of either of the aforementioned genres. Expand
  6. BillZ
    Apr 7, 2010
    10
    Overall Impression: Absolutely Awesome. Most of the big-picture criticism I've been hearing about this game regards it as an RPG, a shooter, or both. But really, describing it as these genres just misses something big: at its heart, it's a *dynamic story* game. It's all about the characters and the plot. The shooting is fun, and adds that crucial element of skill that most Overall Impression: Absolutely Awesome. Most of the big-picture criticism I've been hearing about this game regards it as an RPG, a shooter, or both. But really, describing it as these genres just misses something big: at its heart, it's a *dynamic story* game. It's all about the characters and the plot. The shooting is fun, and adds that crucial element of skill that most gamers need, but it's still nothing I'd quite call a real 'shooter'. Likewise, having control over your face, armor, class and powers adds customization in the sense of an RPG, but player-character development isn't what I'd say is the main focus, and true star, of the game, and you're not just following a rigid character along witnessing his story, either. The greatest aspect of the game is the story - not just the content and succession of events, but the incredible potential that the player has to mold the game around his choices of dialog and action. The characters are deep and enthralling, and the story content itself is very cool, but the thing that makes me want to play Mass Effect 2 over and over - what makes the game so uniquely engaging - is how dynamic it is: how involving and rewarding the player's role in the story feels, and the insane degree of flexibility written into what can happen in a relatively fixed and linear world. Sure it has its flaws: little things like graphics bugs (though these were rare), and frustrating flaws in cover mechanics, and class balance (mainly for Insanity difficulty), and, of course, the super-boring-not-interesting-or-innovative-at-all mining 'activity' (chore), but none of the game's downsides were great enough to take away from that epic and satisfying feeling you get once you're done. Expand
  7. JohnH.
    Apr 7, 2010
    10
    This game was an amazing game. It continues from the first game very well and keeps an interesting story throughout the game. Everything in this game was done brilliantly and always has enough to keep you interested. I hope that Bioware will be able to make Mass Effect 3 as awesome as this.
  8. AkiI
    Apr 7, 2010
    10
    I haven't played a game as satisfying as ME2 in years, on keeping all it's promises and surpassing all expectations. A true roleplaying game, with choices you've made following you to the end, instead of just the hollow leveling. Makers of Fina Fantasy should play this game to learn how to write good and believable characters and outcomes.
  9. JohnW
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Absolute masterpiece. Best game I have ever played - engaging story, characters and environments. Everything in this game feels so perfect - this is the best a game can possibly get.
  10. DanielChapman
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    This is without a doubt the Game Of The Year! I knew it would be fantastic/incredible/unbelievable before it launched and now all I can say is buy this game. You will not be sorry! Well?...what are you waiting for?
  11. GordonF.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Words cannot describe the my awe-struck expression as I played. Brilliant, unbelievable, a masterpiece.
  12. MaxKJ
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    This game is beyond perfect. I love RPG's and Bioware outdid themselves once again! This is, as said, more of a shooter than a hardcore RPG. That said, it doesn't remove any of the fun you've experienced in other RPG's. There is some slight design problems though, the game misses some hotkeys (standard for journal, squad etc). I don't get why people are This game is beyond perfect. I love RPG's and Bioware outdid themselves once again! This is, as said, more of a shooter than a hardcore RPG. That said, it doesn't remove any of the fun you've experienced in other RPG's. There is some slight design problems though, the game misses some hotkeys (standard for journal, squad etc). I don't get why people are complaining about switching weapons though. No, there is no direct hotkeys, but you can scroll, and you can also use tactical-pause to switch weapons like in the first game. Works perfect. I do however miss the equipment handling from the first game, having to decide what bullet/weapon/armor modifiers to use etc. Also, I don't get why they won't allow same gender romances, I want Miranda! ;) The thermal clips (ammo instead of overheat?) works fine, it's not nearly as disturbing as i thought it would be. In short, 10/10. The game is beautiful and well worth the Deluxe Edition money I paid for it. Those minor flaws I named doesn't come nearby anything that could reduce the score. Brilliant Game. Expand
  13. ChrisE
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    An utterly amazing experience. The incredible opening, the experience of meeting your first new crew member, the combat, the 'blade runner' esque settings. Almost a work of gaming art. It's such a shame there are idiots on here giving this game a zero score. Idiots. I mean, seriously. Really zero??
  14. WilliamR
    Feb 10, 2010
    10
    First off I don't like giving 10s to games because it makes me feel like a fanboy. But when I've spent the last two weeks playing this game, gone through the game 3 times, and still can't stop thinking about it, a ten is really all I can give it. I loved the first mass effect because it sucked you into it's universe, I read all the codex entries, talked to every NPC First off I don't like giving 10s to games because it makes me feel like a fanboy. But when I've spent the last two weeks playing this game, gone through the game 3 times, and still can't stop thinking about it, a ten is really all I can give it. I loved the first mass effect because it sucked you into it's universe, I read all the codex entries, talked to every NPC and even read all the planet bios in the galaxy map. Most importantly though is that you actually felt like you were Shepard, you shaped him in the hero you wanted him to be and because of that you actually cared for him. Your squad wasn't as well developed as I'd of liked but you still had that connection to character like Garrus and Wrex since they told you about themselves. Then comes Mass Effect 2 and it blows it's predecesor out of the water. The combat has been tightened with the cover system being more responsive, and teammates (and enemies) that are actually competent and each class has become more distinct with weapon restrictions and special abilities only they can use. They improved the musical score by leaps and bounds with orchestral music that you can't get out of your head. Since the only song worth noting in the original was theme in the ending cutscene that's impressive. But the thing that made Mass Effect 2 great was the story. The main story is decent but not mind blowing till you reach the climax (which will leave you breathless), but the stories of your squadmates are what make the game. They're all well made and do what the original tried to accomplish, make you care about your squad as much as your character. The fact that they can die in the final mission if you made a wrong choice or didn't flesh out their background makes you scared when you need to make a decision. When a character dies you actually feel distressed and guilty, the fact that Bioware assembled a cast full of people you don't just find interesting but actually like is a huge achievement. Don't even get me started on the voice acting, it's not the best voice acting I've ever heard but it's very, very close. The fact that it maintains that quality for almost the entire 31,000 lines of dialogue in the game is nothing short of astounding. Despite my high praise the game isn't for everybody, if you need to shoot something every couple seconds this probably isn't the game for you. But if you're like me and want to get pulled into an interesting and fully fleshed out role playing experience then the only reason you should not be playing this game is that you are currently finishing the first game. Expand
  15. NoelK
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    In all seriousness, this is the best, most amazing, and most epic game I've ever played and/or seen in my entire life. Even though it is only a game, it is better than any movie I've ever seen, any show I've ever watched, and any book I've ever read.
  16. TruthSpeaker
    Feb 13, 2010
    10
    This is frankly one of the best game I have ever played on my PC. It is the best rpg-shooter, period. It improves upon its predecessor in every way. Weapons handling : Aiming is better. New weapons aka heavy weapons such as the Cain nuke launcher or missile launcher are great additions. No more stupid inventory handling (constantly checking weapon/gear stats, and selling the crappy ones This is frankly one of the best game I have ever played on my PC. It is the best rpg-shooter, period. It improves upon its predecessor in every way. Weapons handling : Aiming is better. New weapons aka heavy weapons such as the Cain nuke launcher or missile launcher are great additions. No more stupid inventory handling (constantly checking weapon/gear stats, and selling the crappy ones to the vendors or turning them to omnigel, very boring IMO). Tactics have been streamlined to just two commands (from the previous 4) : hold position using the 'Q' and 'E' keys, and regroup using the 'C' key, much much better. NPC conversations/dialogues are more vibrant and interesting (did they hire a better writer?), story was also more intriguing. No stupid Mako driving on the planet (which never made any sense anyway, not with the current technological level), just scan a planet while you're at orbit and send a probe if you find anything interesting. Brilliant! Bottom-line : where the previous game had a lot of hassles and redundancies, this game has none. Oh and the graphics have also improved, especially the textures which look much more crisp. Excellent game. Can't wait for the third installment. For those who have never played ME1 but would like to after playing ME2, a word of warning, you will be sorely dissapointed, like I said ME2 is a huge improvement upon its predecessor. Expand
  17. LordN
    Feb 14, 2010
    10
    Beautifull cinematic game that builds right through the game. It was refreshing to see a game that had a feeling for timing and heightened the tension at the right moments while questioning your ethical views of the detailed alien universe around you, endless possibilities, and endless fun. This is one of the few games I have ever finished without losing interest, there was only about 20 Beautifull cinematic game that builds right through the game. It was refreshing to see a game that had a feeling for timing and heightened the tension at the right moments while questioning your ethical views of the detailed alien universe around you, endless possibilities, and endless fun. This is one of the few games I have ever finished without losing interest, there was only about 20 minutes during this game where I became a bit bored with dealing with the crews problems. Recommended to anyone who enjoys Sci-Fi or RPGs, the shooter element is a backseat on tradition. Expand
  18. ME2pwns
    Feb 14, 2010
    10
    Good graphics? Check. +1 (improvement upon ME1) Good sfx and music? Check. +1 Good voice acting? Check. +1 Hassle free inventory management? Check. +1 Great & interesting dialogue options? Check. +1 Engrossing story? Check. +1 Hassle free planet scanning? Check. +1 Great controls and weapon handling? Check. +1 More intuitive and streamlined squad tactics? Check. +1 DRM-Free? Check. +1 Good graphics? Check. +1 (improvement upon ME1) Good sfx and music? Check. +1 Good voice acting? Check. +1 Hassle free inventory management? Check. +1 Great & interesting dialogue options? Check. +1 Engrossing story? Check. +1 Hassle free planet scanning? Check. +1 Great controls and weapon handling? Check. +1 More intuitive and streamlined squad tactics? Check. +1 DRM-Free? Check. +1 Interesting level design? Check. +1 (unlike ME1) Whoa wait a minute. That's alot of +1's. I count a rating of 11. Too bad metacritic's ceiling is a 10. Anyway this game is one of the best shooter-rpg's you will ever play - period. It's better than Borderlands and it is definitely better than that overrated garbage Fallout 3. Get it now! Expand
  19. DookS
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    Biowares second foray into the Mass Effect universe is a brilliant Sci-Fi RPG that fixes everything about Mass Effect 1 and attempts to finally pull computer RPG's (kicking and screaming) away from the pen and paper roots that have held them back over recent years. Bioware casts aside the usual character development conventions of yesteryear and daringly challenges the player to Biowares second foray into the Mass Effect universe is a brilliant Sci-Fi RPG that fixes everything about Mass Effect 1 and attempts to finally pull computer RPG's (kicking and screaming) away from the pen and paper roots that have held them back over recent years. Bioware casts aside the usual character development conventions of yesteryear and daringly challenges the player to define their characters not by loot and stats but by actions and interactions with npc's and the game world itself. Of course change is usually met with apprehension and sometimes open hostility. The stat and random number generator crowd decry ME2 as not a real RPG, but i would say it may be the first true computer RPG, where your character is truly defined by his actions and not some color coded piece of loot that requires 20 strength to use. Kudos to Bioware for bravely challenging convention and bringing crpg's into the modern era. Expand
  20. SteveM.
    Feb 25, 2010
    10
    Quite possibly one of the greatest games of modern times. We are seeing the future of gaming with ME2, in depth decision making in the progression of th game. Far more developed than the game-play in ME1, which was good, but this is just better in everyway. Graphics are incredibly eye-pleasing and cinematics suggest this is one of those few games that deserves to be put up on the big Quite possibly one of the greatest games of modern times. We are seeing the future of gaming with ME2, in depth decision making in the progression of th game. Far more developed than the game-play in ME1, which was good, but this is just better in everyway. Graphics are incredibly eye-pleasing and cinematics suggest this is one of those few games that deserves to be put up on the big screen, something which is already being discussed. I look forward the the 3 and final installment of the series and hope they improve on this yet again. Expand
  21. TorV
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    tl:dr, extremely amazing game with a few very minor issues that don't subtract at all from the expereince. 98/100 I approached this title with slight fear. Usually when you have too high expectations to something, you're disappointed. Fortunately, this isn't the case here, Mass Effect 2 took my pretty unreasonable expectations, and exceeded them. This game is one of the tl:dr, extremely amazing game with a few very minor issues that don't subtract at all from the expereince. 98/100 I approached this title with slight fear. Usually when you have too high expectations to something, you're disappointed. Fortunately, this isn't the case here, Mass Effect 2 took my pretty unreasonable expectations, and exceeded them. This game is one of the best games I have ever played. Bioware has done a lot to make this game better than the previous, in fact I can't disagree with a single change they've made to the game. The graphics are better than ever, crisp and clear, though it's still a shame that the engine doesn't support high anti-aliasing. That's a very minor drawback, however, as the graphics truly are the best I've seen in a game since Crysis. The sluggish combat from the first game has been totally eradicated, replaced with a much more fast and streamlined version. The clunky inventory and upgrade system has been abolished too, replaced with an overall better system with no inventory at all, though a few more weapons to pick from would have been nice. The resource gathering for upgrades part has been deepened a bit, now you scan planets for materials with your cursor. It's actually a really cozy mini-game, but it can quickly get lengthy. Interestingly, you can play the entire game without even encountering the resource mini-game (my first playthrough) and still get through to the other side, albeit a bit battered. The two other hacking mini-games are really fun and quick to play, so no issues at all there. Storywise the game is excellent. I won't spoil anything, but The Illusive Man is a highly interesting piece of work, and your cooperation with the notorious organization Cerberus presents a few intriguing moral dilemmas. Speaking of moral dilemmas, this game is riddled with them all over. It's really a very gray game, and there is never a "right" choice. Overall however, the characters, your crew, are the focus of this game. They're developed brilliantly and all of them have a certain depth to them, some more than other, though. You really grow to like them, which you truly find out during the final mission. Some of their personal missions have a few real tear-jerker moments too. Normally they'd seem a bit fake at best, but the writing is so well done and the voiceacting so amazing that it's really believable, which is really rare in a game. It would really be a shame for Bioware to throw the surviving crew away for replacements in the final installment of the series. Of course, some things must be bad about this game. Other than what you may have extrapolated from the wall of text above, there are a few slight graphical issues with tearing around the eyes and the mouth corners at a few points during the game. Gameplay-wise I have nothing derogatory to add. Mass Effect 2 is all the way through a polished and exhilarating experience. I've seen complaints that it's not a true rpg, but to say that you have to ask yourself, what is an RPG game? Let me clarify that RPG tag that gets thrown around so much nowadays. Role Playing Game. It's all about immersiveness and choices. For example, Half Life 2 is almost a role-playing game. You just need choices and dialogue and you're there. Some people however seem to be so far stuck up their own a**holes that they think the definition of an RPG is "DnD ruleset". Wake up, and listen to the word you're saying. For extra clarification, I will say it one more time. RPG = Role Playing Game Is Mass Effect 2 this? Hell yeah. Be sure to buy this wonder while you can. It's a gaming experience that rarely comes around. Expand
  22. TibsC
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    Mass effect introduces a new generation of RPG finally free from all the constraints of D&D from the eighties! No stats, no inventory but a awesome universe in wich YOU are the hero. All you actions have real consequences, THIS is role playing. The characters, the story, but above all, the universe are incredibly well written. With also a very good realization ME2 is one the most Mass effect introduces a new generation of RPG finally free from all the constraints of D&D from the eighties! No stats, no inventory but a awesome universe in wich YOU are the hero. All you actions have real consequences, THIS is role playing. The characters, the story, but above all, the universe are incredibly well written. With also a very good realization ME2 is one the most fascinating games ever created. I go back among the stars :) ... Thx Bioware! Expand
  23. BrandonJ
    Feb 4, 2010
    10
    Possibly my favorite game of all time now (beating out the original Legend of Zelda, Final Fantasy VI, and maybe, just maybe, Morrowind). At first I approached the game cautiously. It seemed like the systems had been stripped down too much. It turned out I was wrong. By the time I was over halfway through the game (about 13 hours or so in), I had as many (or more) combat skills to worry Possibly my favorite game of all time now (beating out the original Legend of Zelda, Final Fantasy VI, and maybe, just maybe, Morrowind). At first I approached the game cautiously. It seemed like the systems had been stripped down too much. It turned out I was wrong. By the time I was over halfway through the game (about 13 hours or so in), I had as many (or more) combat skills to worry about as in the first game. My adept was flinging biotics left and write while using the sniper rifle to take out foes at range, a rocket launcher to take down mechs, and a sub-machine gun for anything that got close. The only thing I was really missing was the wide range of armor for the first game, but that provided the bonus of losing the cluttered inventory system of the first game. I know some people dog the mini-games, but the only one that became tedious toward the end of the game was the scanning/probe launching to harvest materials. My only complaint about the other two is that they probably give you too much time to solve them. The story itself was great. As anyone who reads a lot knows, there's nothing new under the sun. All stories are based on certain universal themes and that's the case here, as well. But no other game's story lets you make choices like the ones in ME2 without cushioning the impact. If you choose to leave innocents to die a horrible death, you'll hear their screams. But spending that time saving them could have other effects you might not be willing to accept. Of course, all of your decisions come down to the suicide run at the end of the game where no member of your team is guaranteed to make it out alive. Having played through this using a save from ME1, I can also safely say that many of your decisions in this game will also affect what happens in ME3. I actually had an ally that I made in ME1 contact my character to say they'd be there when the final conflict occurs (presumably in ME3). I can only imagine how the varied choices in ME2 could impact ME3 (instigating a war? putting dangerous technology in the wrong hands?). Finally we have a game that begins to show the promise of truly interactive storytelling. Expand
  24. GordonF
    Feb 7, 2010
    10
    I gave Mass Effect 2 10 points for a reason. The first piece of the series was very good as well but it also had many-many flaws. (boring fights, space buggy, and e.g. infiltrator class was merely useless as sniper.) But it seems that Bioware learned from these mistakes, they've listened to reviews and polished the flaws into a perfect gem. Before I played I've heard that the RP I gave Mass Effect 2 10 points for a reason. The first piece of the series was very good as well but it also had many-many flaws. (boring fights, space buggy, and e.g. infiltrator class was merely useless as sniper.) But it seems that Bioware learned from these mistakes, they've listened to reviews and polished the flaws into a perfect gem. Before I played I've heard that the RP part of the game is really dull. It is not. I am a great western RPG fan and I found ME2 a wonderful RPG. Why? You have a good reason for both being a Paragon or a Renegade. In many other RPGs evil characters are just slimy bastards, skinning a sad puppy alive just because for one reason: they are eeeeevul. Veeeeery eeeevul. In ME2 you are not purely evil (if that is your choice) but you are a ruthless killing machine with only one goal: complete the mission at any costs. If Dirty Harry was evil, then yes, Renegade is evil. Some might say that there are way too many cutscenes. But you also have to recognize that today games are not like as they used to be. ME2 is a complex masterpiece of an action RPG and a exciting space action movie with a very wellbuilt universe. (I am not a big fan of sci-fi but this world got me.) The best improve was mining tho. It is still better to scan a planet with a mouse than navigating a vehicle that acts like a one-legged blind dog that has rabies. And in ME2 you can actually make use of the minerals. I enjoyed gathering them for the upgrades. So I could craft my very own variety of heavy weapons. The only reason why I WOULD give it a 9, are the DLCs. I hate greedy companies and Bioware became one. It's okay to have more missions for money. But better gear for money... that is lame. And the additional hencheman "quest" is also very lame and pointless. But since I am talking about the game called Mass Effect 2 and not the DLCs, I give it a 10. I am looking forward for part 3. p.s. Okay, the terminator endboss was gay, but we all like huge robots. Expand
  25. AnonYmous
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    Great work from Bioware, once again. It's fun, challenging (on insanity), and makes you wish there was more. While it's not innovative in the least, could use a graphical tune up (at least from a PC user's perspective), and doesn't really move Mass Effect's story very far along, it's a great RPG/FPS shooter that is worth full price, you'll get at least 2 Great work from Bioware, once again. It's fun, challenging (on insanity), and makes you wish there was more. While it's not innovative in the least, could use a graphical tune up (at least from a PC user's perspective), and doesn't really move Mass Effect's story very far along, it's a great RPG/FPS shooter that is worth full price, you'll get at least 2 plays out of this (for about 50-60~ hours total), if not more. Expand
  26. IanS.
    Mar 5, 2010
    10
    Very well made, engrossing game that will easily eat up hundreds of hours of your life because of its incredible re-playability if you let it. The quality and presentation of the story is top of the line, and the game play is smooth and action-packed. If you are looking for a more traditional RPG where a large portion of your game time is spent sifting through piles of loot and armor Very well made, engrossing game that will easily eat up hundreds of hours of your life because of its incredible re-playability if you let it. The quality and presentation of the story is top of the line, and the game play is smooth and action-packed. If you are looking for a more traditional RPG where a large portion of your game time is spent sifting through piles of loot and armor looking to mini-max all your characters, then this game is not for you, because it is an ACTION RPG, with heavy emphasis on the action in this case. (Just like all bioware games, I might add). The game plays well, and is very challenging and requires a tactical approach if you are willing to play it on the highest difficulty settings. Also, why does Metacritic count the ratings of people who haven't even played the game all the way through? This game deserves a user score higher than 8.8. Expand
  27. TomP
    Apr 15, 2010
    10
    The best game ive ever played, amazing story, fantastic graphics, fasinating characters and locations, truly epic score, fast and intense combat, i could go on and on what makes this game great. The only dissapointment for me was the removel of the RPG elements from the first game, Inventory managment, not nearly as much skills in the first game, four upgrades per body region ( head, The best game ive ever played, amazing story, fantastic graphics, fasinating characters and locations, truly epic score, fast and intense combat, i could go on and on what makes this game great. The only dissapointment for me was the removel of the RPG elements from the first game, Inventory managment, not nearly as much skills in the first game, four upgrades per body region ( head, torso, legs, arms, shoulders, ) i expected tons and tons of loot like the first game but we cant have everything, only 3 guns (aside from heavy weapons which has five) per weapon class. but these things can be overlooked easily. Collapse
  28. YongWenC.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    An excellent game with good storyline, characters and combat mechanics. Minor glitches and flaws with user interface but still generally does not affect gameplay.
  29. MichalH.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Simply the best action RPG, and one of the best games released in this decade. Game lets you control an undestructible marine Shepard and puts you into heat of battle better than ever before!
  30. MajorA.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Wondering if some of these critics actually play the game or just bash to help their commitments to other upcomming developments. This game is the top of its kind, and there are no bugs worth giving this less than a 96 in metascore or a 10 user only rating for gameplay. META remove critics paid or giving this game anything below a 90, they have not touched the game to rate so low. Wondering if some of these critics actually play the game or just bash to help their commitments to other upcomming developments. This game is the top of its kind, and there are no bugs worth giving this less than a 96 in metascore or a 10 user only rating for gameplay. META remove critics paid or giving this game anything below a 90, they have not touched the game to rate so low. Reputable critics not less than 98, so go figure. Expand
  31. samS.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    This game is brilliant, even if you choose to look past the amazing graphics, the revamped gameplay and the voice acting there is still the numerous amount of side quests and subplots to get drown into. This is a testament to the amount of depth to be experienced even after completing it. This game is a must for sci fi and 3rd person shooter fans alike .
  32. JackS.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Fantastic. If you are a fan of the first mass effect, the controls definitely take some getting used to, but once you're used to them, the game as a whole is phenomenal. Great graphics, story, and gameplay, not to mention the sound track.
  33. LarryF
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect 1 is now the 2nd best game ever. No game managed to connect with my emotions like ME1 and now ME2 did. It's not about graphics, gameplay, stats or other technical aspects. It's about emotion, it's about experience. I don't care if it's an RPG, an action game, a chicken or whatever. It's just a masterpiece.
  34. TrentS
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect 2 did not disappoint. In my opinion it is better than the first game. The controls seem easier to me, and I like the fact that there is a lot more action and less dragged out dialogue. Also i feel there are some truly memorable moments that really bring you into the story. Over all I give this a 10.
  35. LiamH.
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    I'll tell you this one thing: this game beats the crap out of the first one.
  36. JohnN
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    The story really draws u in, the characters are awesome, Shepard is kick***, the missions are fun, graphics are great, cinematics are very well-done, new cerberus network for downloadable content is another plus, bringing the saved game from ME 1 is a great idea that blended fantastic into ME2's storyline, battles are much smoother, classes are streamlined(which is a good thing) and The story really draws u in, the characters are awesome, Shepard is kick***, the missions are fun, graphics are great, cinematics are very well-done, new cerberus network for downloadable content is another plus, bringing the saved game from ME 1 is a great idea that blended fantastic into ME2's storyline, battles are much smoother, classes are streamlined(which is a good thing) and easier to manage. I can not wait to see what bioware does for ME3! Expand
  37. PeteN
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    The more I play the game, the better I feel the game is. Can't stop thinking about playing it when I'm at work. I wish there are more weapons and armor in the game but that is a minor complaint.
  38. EidicM
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    Initially, I was surprised at the lack of rpg elements from this game (after playing Fallout 3 for a while,) however this game in a whole other genre. Mass Effect 2 falls into a new breed of games descending from the action and rpg genre, named the action-rpg. There are many decisions you must make in the game that will have consequences in the future and even in future games. Choice made Initially, I was surprised at the lack of rpg elements from this game (after playing Fallout 3 for a while,) however this game in a whole other genre. Mass Effect 2 falls into a new breed of games descending from the action and rpg genre, named the action-rpg. There are many decisions you must make in the game that will have consequences in the future and even in future games. Choice made in the first Mass Effect also carry out into this game very effectively. The graphics are a visual achievement and some of the best I have seen in a video game. I have noticed very few glitches that will be patched (sometimes it is possible to fall out the map.) The initial dlc is also great and free. Environments are even more immersive than the first game, and its nice to see old familiar areas return. Voice acting is nothing short of specular. There are many areas to explore, and so far I have played over 60 hours and have not even finished the game, and do not see the end. Also, after playing the pc version extensively, I have found nothing that even says this is a console port (although I have yet to see the 360 version.) What some people don't understand is this is not a really a rpg. It's something entirely new. Other game developers should take note, as this is how games should be made. Expand
  39. AndrewS
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    I've played all of bioware's games since they came out and I have to say Mass Effect 2 is not only my favorite bioware product, it's my favorite game of all time. While there are a few issues with the PC version, it's not enough to take away from the experience. This game submerses you into the story, when you aren't play it, you want to be. This game has a movie I've played all of bioware's games since they came out and I have to say Mass Effect 2 is not only my favorite bioware product, it's my favorite game of all time. While there are a few issues with the PC version, it's not enough to take away from the experience. This game submerses you into the story, when you aren't play it, you want to be. This game has a movie like effect on you, yet still is a great RPG/Shooter. Those who are hardcore RPGERs or Shooters won't like it. Those who value games for the experience at hand this is IT. I honestly get no joy from any of the other games I play now. Great characters, especially Thane. If you take it for what it is it's 10/10. If you're looking for a by the book RPG, look elsewhere. Expand
  40. BrettP
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    It's amazing. I have it for both 360 and PC and plan to play through the game at least twice (one for each system) since I played a Renegade character for PC and a Paragon character on 360. I'm sure this will be most folks' GOTY for 2010!
  41. BillP
    Feb 13, 2010
    10
    What else i can say about this game ? This is a really RPG , maybe we are all want more character skills , loots ,exp , but RPG means Role Playing Character , and in Mass Effect 2 this part is at 200% , your actions affect the world , the NPCs , everything . Mass Effect 2 brings a new definition of role playing games . Thanks Bioware for another gold product so soon (dragon age origins What else i can say about this game ? This is a really RPG , maybe we are all want more character skills , loots ,exp , but RPG means Role Playing Character , and in Mass Effect 2 this part is at 200% , your actions affect the world , the NPCs , everything . Mass Effect 2 brings a new definition of role playing games . Thanks Bioware for another gold product so soon (dragon age origins was the first ) Expand
  42. ErikT
    Feb 17, 2010
    10
    Probably the best game experience I've ever had and I've been playing computer games (a lot) since Intellivision. Almost everything has been tweaked for the better and it's even more rewarding if you import your Shephard from ME1. If this is the level of perfection we are to expect from Bioware in the future I can't wait for DA2 and ME3.
  43. Todd(private)
    Feb 20, 2010
    10
    I would actually give this game a 9.5 or 9.6. It's near perfect; nearly all of the annoyances from Mass Effect have been corrected. The only weaknesses are a lack of armor options, too few side missions, and not enough in-game money. The game is pleasantly long, good graphics, great story, good voice acting, etc. I'm usually unable to play a game through twice in a row without I would actually give this game a 9.5 or 9.6. It's near perfect; nearly all of the annoyances from Mass Effect have been corrected. The only weaknesses are a lack of armor options, too few side missions, and not enough in-game money. The game is pleasantly long, good graphics, great story, good voice acting, etc. I'm usually unable to play a game through twice in a row without getting bored, but I did with ME2 and still want more. Expand
  44. TerenceS
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    This has been by far one of the best games I've played in a few years. I really got involved with the characters and liked every one of them. Granted, I don't think this game is for everyone, and probably isn't as universal as people are making it out to be. However, if you want a great action game with a decent plot and good voice over work, this is your baby.
  45. KaiF
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    This is a gem which will catch and hold you for its entire 25 to 30 hour duration. It's definitely not a traditional roleplaying game; there are no stats to track other than how far you advance a limited set of abilities for your character, based on class. However, the dialog options and sheer number of choices you can make are second to none. You can play through the story in vastly This is a gem which will catch and hold you for its entire 25 to 30 hour duration. It's definitely not a traditional roleplaying game; there are no stats to track other than how far you advance a limited set of abilities for your character, based on class. However, the dialog options and sheer number of choices you can make are second to none. You can play through the story in vastly different ways, and each path is compelling and wonderful. A lot of people will say that this is more of a shooter and less of an RPG, but I maintain that at least in the character choices (and the fact that there are many, many roles to play) this is a true RPG to its core. You don't do this kind of decision making in Call of Duty. Expand
  46. TomK
    Feb 6, 2010
    10
    Great supporting cast, visually stunning, altogether a captivating game. Bioware has again immersed the player in a world where they very literally get to see the results of the choices they have made. Couldn't ask for more from a sequal. Can't wait for the third installment of the series.
  47. Leonardf
    Feb 7, 2010
    10
    This game is most likely the best game that i have ever played, and i have played a lot of games through my life. This game is truly epic, a icon to the games of the 2100 century. the cut scene of this game is breath taking, the story is far beyond exiting and the game play is nothing less then addictive. The only flaw about this game is that it ends.
  48. Leonardf
    Feb 7, 2010
    10
    This game is most likely the best game that i have ever played, and i have played a lot of games through my life. This game is truly epic, a icon to the games of the 2100 century. the cut scene of this game is breath taking, the story is far beyond exiting and the game play is nothing less then addictive. The only flaw about this game is that it ends.
  49. MichaelP
    Feb 7, 2010
    10
    This is one of the best Sci-Fi RPG games I have ever played. Take a great storyline with an amazing world to explore and add third person shooter style game play. There are seemingly hundreds of choices to make that affect plot and you really feel like a part of the Mass Effect universe.
  50. JanB
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    I will give it a short review, because there isn't much to talk about...And that's because this game is EPIC, in nearly all aspects it's incredible, Afterlife on Omega is probably the best location in history of gaming. It's just a shame it isn't a bit longer. 25 hours is very solid piece of gameplay, secadary quests are much more interesting than in ME1... But I will give it a short review, because there isn't much to talk about...And that's because this game is EPIC, in nearly all aspects it's incredible, Afterlife on Omega is probably the best location in history of gaming. It's just a shame it isn't a bit longer. 25 hours is very solid piece of gameplay, secadary quests are much more interesting than in ME1... But still, after you reach the end you want more. And even content developers are adding over time for dowload isn't much. Also, I was kind of dissapointed with how many rpg elements were cut, there's not much left, and there was a lot of it in first Mass Effect. Still, everything bad you can say about ME2 will be about details. The whole game is a masterpiece. One that only Bioware could make. Expand
  51. DanM.
    Mar 10, 2010
    10
    Bioware outdid themselves again! Although rpg elements have been reduced, the gameplay has tremendously been worked on. The shooting mechanics are smooth and work as they should, cover system works better than in the previous game, ai is smart and gives you a good shootout indeed, and dialogue is top notch! Must buy, dont miss out!
  52. Tarkus
    Mar 19, 2010
    10
    Probably the best game I've ever played, and I played a lot of games. Totally deserves all the money spent. If you expect some Oblivion or classic RPG like Dragon Age then step away from this game. If, instead, you have larger "visions" you will love it. Mass Effect 2 is not a classic RPG but more like an interactive movie, in which you choose the dialogues and take part in the Probably the best game I've ever played, and I played a lot of games. Totally deserves all the money spent. If you expect some Oblivion or classic RPG like Dragon Age then step away from this game. If, instead, you have larger "visions" you will love it. Mass Effect 2 is not a classic RPG but more like an interactive movie, in which you choose the dialogues and take part in the action parts. Combat is great and every class has its own meaning: if you choose the soldier, though, the game will be similar to a third person shooting. The story is awesome: it's not that original but voice acting and characters make it one level higher than almost every game (and most of the movies too). You will enjoy this game from the beginning to the end (amazing ending aswell) and beyond. Allied and enemy AI is finally decent, and there's no bug. Mass Effect was a great game, but if you play ME 2 first and ME 1 later, you will not stand all its little "defects". The only negative aspect is planet scanning to get resources, which is ok at first, but then becomes extremely boring. All the negative reviews were made by people who are affect by MMORPG syndrome or expected a classic RPG. It's not any of those: I liked Oblivion, but I also enjoy a good and well told story. I advice you to set the game to a hard difficulty (Veteran or more), otherwise it will be too easy. Expand
  53. JoW
    Mar 6, 2010
    10
    An absolutely phenomenal game. It gives me pretty much everything I could want from this game: quarters that feel like "home", companions I can depend upon, a gripping story that never bores and minigames that are - for the most part - actually fun. Add to that the astounding Gears of War-style combat system and you have the gaming equivalent of chocolate cheesecake: what's not to An absolutely phenomenal game. It gives me pretty much everything I could want from this game: quarters that feel like "home", companions I can depend upon, a gripping story that never bores and minigames that are - for the most part - actually fun. Add to that the astounding Gears of War-style combat system and you have the gaming equivalent of chocolate cheesecake: what's not to love? One of the greatest games I've ever played. The only way to top it is if Bethesda ever get into doing detailed romantic companion storylines; or if Bioware decide to make open-world RPGs. Either way, we win. Expand
  54. ChristopherK.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    One of the greatest RPG games I have ever had the pleasure of playing. As an avid fan of Mass Effect 1, BioWare has successfully delivered with the second piece of their trilogy in every way possible. While the lack of ME1's inventory system and the dumbing down of the skill system was a bit of a shock, Mass Effect 2 makes up for it with it's ingeniously engrossing story and One of the greatest RPG games I have ever had the pleasure of playing. As an avid fan of Mass Effect 1, BioWare has successfully delivered with the second piece of their trilogy in every way possible. While the lack of ME1's inventory system and the dumbing down of the skill system was a bit of a shock, Mass Effect 2 makes up for it with it's ingeniously engrossing story and top-notch, polished action. GOTY 2010 material, a must play. Expand
  55. FilipKocjan
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    This game is truly a masterpiece! Amazing graphics, incredible storyline with many possibility and different endings.. For my, this is the best game ever! It's definitely must buy of the year and beyond..
  56. DerekL.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    I have just logged 18 hours in this game and I have to say that I am completely amazed. Everything from the crisp gameplay mechanics to the amazing cinematics and story. The balance between engaging story and stunning graphics made me actually feel like I was playing out an epic action movie. BioWare has redefined gaming with Mass Effect 2 and I have hours left to go. Well done BioWare, I have just logged 18 hours in this game and I have to say that I am completely amazed. Everything from the crisp gameplay mechanics to the amazing cinematics and story. The balance between engaging story and stunning graphics made me actually feel like I was playing out an epic action movie. BioWare has redefined gaming with Mass Effect 2 and I have hours left to go. Well done BioWare, well done. Expand
  57. RickF.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Exceeds the impressive first Mass Effect. The attention to detail is mind boggling, and the graphics are amazing and yet still run without lag on last years mid teir graphics cards (4850 for me). I've only played for five hours, but I'm just so impressed. This will clearly be at the top of my all time favorites list.
  58. davidshepard
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    best game ever
  59. IanK>
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect 2 takes gaming to a whole new level. Playing it is more like guiding the protagonist through a 40 hour long movie. And a damned good movie at that. Easily the best game I've ever played.
  60. jorion
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Amazing story made even more amazing. Amazing gameplay made even more amazing. My only complaint was the lack of customization you could put into the characters on the original, which really didn't matter by the end of the game because you pretty much had every skill maxed out anyways.
  61. Moo
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Absolute continued brilliance over ME1. Takes a little getting used to the new but much better controls, as well as the slightly altered role Shepard now has. Otherwise the atmosphere, gameplay, graphics, and even performance (modern machine with SLI) are a huge delight on the PC. (Pope needs a new one me thinks. lol)
  62. Ziggy
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    Awesome game, much improved to ME1. ME1 became pretty repetitive after a few missions, this one seems to flow a lot better and is more storyline oriented and less repetitiveness.
  63. FranciscoS.
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    A superb experience in every sense. The story is well paced and engaging, the characters are great, and the combat is greatly improved. Bioware has set thebar very high, and i can't wait to see how they are going to top themselves in ME3
  64. TwinmoldBoss
    Feb 11, 2010
    10
    Mass effect 2 has impressed me and while i won't say its perfect it is not too far from it. The dialogs are interesting and you rarely feel like you have to skip it because its so tedious, scanning is farely boring but not impossible to manage and it is more realistic. Inventory and leveling system has been improved, letting you spend more time playing instead of in the escaoe screen Mass effect 2 has impressed me and while i won't say its perfect it is not too far from it. The dialogs are interesting and you rarely feel like you have to skip it because its so tedious, scanning is farely boring but not impossible to manage and it is more realistic. Inventory and leveling system has been improved, letting you spend more time playing instead of in the escaoe screen managing equipment and leveling. Weapons are balanced and all useful same goes for classes. Missions are varied, fun and interesting while there is mostly mercs for enemys, its still much better than in the first one and the enemyies are varied. They are just put into larger groups. And the combat system is much, much better. Its more fastpaced, tactical, interesting and it fits in with the rest of the game perfectly. So all in all i'd say its a ten, it has very high entertainment value. Expand
  65. GomesM
    Feb 13, 2010
    10
    Excellent jeux d'aventure Futuriste avec très bonne histoire ! La stratégie personnel et fortement sollicité donnant beaucoup plus d'interactivité, à l'inverse qui sur d'autre gameplay du genre serrons de nous l'imposé indirectement. Conseil fortement même sur long terme car est basé sur un système de Excellent jeux d'aventure Futuriste avec très bonne histoire ! La stratégie personnel et fortement sollicité donnant beaucoup plus d'interactivité, à l'inverse qui sur d'autre gameplay du genre serrons de nous l'imposé indirectement. Conseil fortement même sur long terme car est basé sur un système de mise à jours/ apport de missions ou objets donnant un future belle avenir à ce jeux. Expand
  66. RossH
    Feb 17, 2010
    10
    After about 34 hours of this game I realized this is the best game I've ever played. The combat is way more improved from the first game, some of the choices you make at the beginning can really change what happens at the end. If you own the first game (only $20). The different choices you can make almost make a never-ending game. The only complaint I have is that some of the After about 34 hours of this game I realized this is the best game I've ever played. The combat is way more improved from the first game, some of the choices you make at the beginning can really change what happens at the end. If you own the first game (only $20). The different choices you can make almost make a never-ending game. The only complaint I have is that some of the characters aren't completely developed, for example: Miranda was a well made character, while Samara was almost completely developed. Expand
  67. KevinR.
    Feb 17, 2010
    10
    This game is an absolute work of art. The depth of the story along with the enigmatic characters give this game such an organic feel. It's a single player experience but as I played through the game it all feels as though you're never alone. The sound engineering and musical score is some of the best of all time. I'm constantly in awe of the world in which bioware has This game is an absolute work of art. The depth of the story along with the enigmatic characters give this game such an organic feel. It's a single player experience but as I played through the game it all feels as though you're never alone. The sound engineering and musical score is some of the best of all time. I'm constantly in awe of the world in which bioware has created, but just much inspired by the music. Bottom line, this is one of the best games of all time. Expand
  68. JG
    Mar 22, 2010
    10
    This game is so good i realy dont know where to begin, so i wont i shall leave you in awe at this Amazing game!! i recomend it highly. Well deserved 10/10. Everything about this game just feels polished and everything feels just perfect although i leaves you with thoughts of potential and the desire to never want this outstanding game to end!
  69. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    This game takes the best of storyline, gameplay and graphics and sticks it into one box. You won't regret the all 20 hours it takes to beat the game, and you may even go back to beat it a couple (or five, hehe) more times doing everything different.
  70. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    Very good gaming experience, I loved it from beginning to end. For me this game represent what the future of gaming is like. The story is great, the graphics are amazing, the sound is good and overall the game play is very satisfying indeed. For me this is the best game that came out this year!
  71. Aug 26, 2010
    10
    Best god-damn game ever!
    I mean...I was just speechless when I played it!
    Can't wait for BioWare to release ME3 and import my Commander Shepard of The Normandy to it!!
  72. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    As I played this game for the second time after I bough it when it was released I have to make a small review. And small it is. This game is awesome in every way. 10
  73. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    I entered the Mass Effect universe through this game. I beat it and I enjoy every single fiber of its existence. I played through and beat Mass Effect 1 twice after beating the second game. 2 is an obvious improvement.

    It just glistens with epic. I've witnessed FPS-only, MMO-only, and even RTS-only fans praise this game for its prominence and go out and buy it. I can guarantee that if any
    I entered the Mass Effect universe through this game. I beat it and I enjoy every single fiber of its existence. I played through and beat Mass Effect 1 twice after beating the second game. 2 is an obvious improvement.

    It just glistens with epic. I've witnessed FPS-only, MMO-only, and even RTS-only fans praise this game for its prominence and go out and buy it. I can guarantee that if any game will change a genre-strict players mind, this is it. If you like good games, or even good movies, you will like this game.

    I cant even begin to contemplate why anyone would give this less than a 9/10, and even that's being harsh. The game is a complete masterpiece. It blows my mind that somebody had the audacity to say that it's like a mediocre movie. If you fail to perceive this game's quality then you should not be writing reviews, and you shouldn't even be playing games.

    Other developers need to play this game and take notes as I have yet to experience anything of this caliber since Ocarina of Time.

    Hell, the lowest critic score is a 74, and the next one up is an 85, so that should tell you something. Other than the glitches that the PC players experience, it's perfect. That's the only thing keeping it from a 12/10. Ocarina of Time is still the best game of its time. But this is one HELL of a runner up.
    Expand
  74. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    The game is absolutely ea at its best.Bioware did a great job with this game.I loved the graphics and story.Rpg elements are awesome.Overall the game is the best of its kind
  75. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    Rarely does a game come along as special as Mass Effect 2. It is an incredible sequel to an already incredible first game, that picks up proceedings two years after the events on the citadel. What has to be said is the sheer amount of content packed into the game, should the player chose to complete it extensively. There are tens of galaxies to explore, planets to scan, and abnormalitiesRarely does a game come along as special as Mass Effect 2. It is an incredible sequel to an already incredible first game, that picks up proceedings two years after the events on the citadel. What has to be said is the sheer amount of content packed into the game, should the player chose to complete it extensively. There are tens of galaxies to explore, planets to scan, and abnormalities to find and investigate, the game basically plays out exactly how you want it to, with your style of combat, perhaps all guns blazing as a Soldier Class or a more tactical approach as a Biotic, with abilities including levitate and slam, to be able to physically lift enemies out of cover, exposing them to your teams support fire. Speaking of support, Mass Effect 2 has a fantastic range of squad members that become available as you progress in the story and get to know them around the galaxy. Without giving too much away, your new mission to save humanity from a new type of enemy, involves you having to put together a squad, the best of the best, to combat this threat to humanity and the other alien races. You will get to know all of your team with individual missions relating to them, in which you can gain their loyalty and trust, which will make them more focused in missions, and give you a better chance of succeeding. Of course, decision making was always a big part of Mass Effect 1, and things are no different here, with the choices you make pivotal, not just to the game, but also in Mass Effect 3, as your character will carry over to complete the trilogy. If you did happen to complete ME1, which would be highly recommended before starting the second, then your character can be imported into the sequel, looking identical, (apart from new higher textures and the usual graphic updates) and how you played ME1 has a baring on who is alive in the second, and their opinions on you. Some people have criticised the game for losing it's way as an RPG, but I think the balance is perfect between RPG and third person shooter, that fans of both genres will enjoy. Of course, as a third person shooter it is considerably slow paced compared to its rivals, but this just goes to make it more interesting, and add meaning behind what you are trying to achieve. Once you've spent the best part of five hours just talking to your squad, getting their background stories, you do feel an emotional attachment that you will carry with you throughout the missions, this adds to the tension, and the desire, to strive and succeed. Of course everyone will have their favourite squad members, largely dependant on personal preference, and whether or not the player has an attachment through the first game, to characters such as Garus. On to the actual missions, and it has to be said the variety is very good, both in terms of the enemies you will be facing and the beautiful, exotic, and sometimes hazardous planets you will find yourselves in. The developers have obviously thought long and hard about different conditions distant planets could have, and this shows in game with some quite genius ideas. There is one mission on an unstable planet where direct sunlight is too hot to pass, so the player must pass from shade to shade, keeping cool in cover, while battling waves of Geth. That one mission in particular makes you realise your not in home comforts anymore! Other locations include mountainous and snowy planets, exotic tropics with mean jungle vegetation and many more. It's fantastic the detail that has been put into - not only the landscapes - but the skies, they all look distinctly different and whenever you land on a new planet you always find yourselves looking at the constellations in the skies, the moons and shooting starts. Mass Effect 2 truly is a masterpiece, both in story telling and space exploration. It grips you with every mission and also makes you appreciate such detailed story telling, when character dialogue changes mission to mission, based on your choices and the sort of person you are. The RPG elements are still there, just perhaps not as predominantly as they were in the first game, but there is so much content in the game it's not even worth condoning it for going with a more shooter approach. The combat is good, the cover system works well, the weapons have a lot of variety in classes and upgrades, as well as ammo types, such as the ability to freeze enemies and shatter them, or burn them. The variety of enemies always keeps you guessing as to what weapon ammo would be best, depending on if the enemy is protected with shields, armour, or has biotic abilities of it's own. All in all a fantastic sequel that will have you just as deeply attached as the first, and will encapsulate you in your own personal story, with your own unique character and your own unique choices, there is no limit to the outcomes on ME2, and as soon as it's over you'll be begging for ME3 so you can import your character and see out this marvellous series. Expand
  76. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    Rpg in true sense beyond all expectations a very good contender for the pc game of the year gameplay n graphics is very nice syory is awesome cant wait for the final part. The ending depends on ur decisions . Bioware is going good with dragon age origins mass effect 2 and many more titles . Hope the expansions are good
  77. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect 2 currently represents the pinnacle in interactive story telling. The consequences of choices made in the first game and the relentless action drive you from plot to plot as you weave your own path to the final epic confrontation. The possibility of permanent story death - though not at all difficult to prevent - gave the game a whole more sinister overtone. Bioware are at theMass Effect 2 currently represents the pinnacle in interactive story telling. The consequences of choices made in the first game and the relentless action drive you from plot to plot as you weave your own path to the final epic confrontation. The possibility of permanent story death - though not at all difficult to prevent - gave the game a whole more sinister overtone. Bioware are at the top of the game with this release and we can only hope they improve on gameplay mechanics further and bring them up to par with their superb storytelling skills. Expand
  78. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    Usually in a trilogy the weakest part is the second part, but boy the rules do not apply here. This game is a masterpiece a classic a game that will be talked about for years and years to come. Even if you do not care to play the first game(which I recommend you do) you will still enjoy this game greatly. The only downside is having to wait for ME3 for the conclusion of this trilogy!
  79. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    A definite MUST PLAY! This game is IGN's 2010 #1 must play game for the Xbox360. Now I played the PC version so I can't speak for the 360 game. The PC version is UNBELIEVABLE. This game has some of the most epic storytelling and character development I've played in a long time. It's also a MASSIVE improvement from the first game (even though I loved the first game). Highlights for me:
    1)
    A definite MUST PLAY! This game is IGN's 2010 #1 must play game for the Xbox360. Now I played the PC version so I can't speak for the 360 game. The PC version is UNBELIEVABLE. This game has some of the most epic storytelling and character development I've played in a long time. It's also a MASSIVE improvement from the first game (even though I loved the first game). Highlights for me:
    1) Dialogue options (it's just so much fun)
    2) Exploration (sidequests feel organic especially if there is a connection to the first game)
    3) Character development
    Expand
  80. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    Great game. Graphics are simple, fast and very nice, functional to the game. Main story is good and easy to follow, but there are one or two side-quests in which you haven't a clue about what you're doing. Game is great, i just love combats and i think it's the best part of Mass Effect. Like in the first chapter, you can pause the action to make your choices, and combat is as they oftenGreat game. Graphics are simple, fast and very nice, functional to the game. Main story is good and easy to follow, but there are one or two side-quests in which you haven't a clue about what you're doing. Game is great, i just love combats and i think it's the best part of Mass Effect. Like in the first chapter, you can pause the action to make your choices, and combat is as they often say "easy to learn, difficult to master" like in the best games: football for example. This is a game to taste slowly, like a good wine, because it has a long and very careful work behind. This is the kind of game for which i don't regret spending 50 bucks. Expand
  81. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    Whilst lacking the major array of skills the first had this game is not one that needs them in the least indeed it would be to its detriment. Characters are exactly what you want them to be, alive, colourful, even **** The plot stays strong throughout and visually a cut above what most everything else can dream to offer.
  82. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is just simply epic only second to Dragon age Origins and Oblivion. It surpasses Mass Effect in every way possible. Cannot wait for Mass Effect 3.
  83. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    This is the greatest story i ve ever seen in a movie, book or game nothing can compare to this game its the highest achievement in gaming and game of the century/millennium
  84. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    I don't think I've said "wow" playing a video game as many times as I did while playing Mass Effect 2. Just to make things perfectly clear, this game is awe inspiring. I was blown away by Mass Effect when it first came out and decided to play through it once again before taking on 2. Well I just finished Mass Effect and jumped straight on to 2...and the difference is like night and day,I don't think I've said "wow" playing a video game as many times as I did while playing Mass Effect 2. Just to make things perfectly clear, this game is awe inspiring. I was blown away by Mass Effect when it first came out and decided to play through it once again before taking on 2. Well I just finished Mass Effect and jumped straight on to 2...and the difference is like night and day, and not just from a visual perspective. First off, Mass Effect 2 is NOT your traditional definition of a role playing game, but is more of a hybrid of first person shooter with less role-playing elements (compared to the first game) and with an emphasis on action. Personally I was hesitant to see how this would affect the experience, but I'm very happy to say that the game is even more engrossing than the first. Bioware made some very bold decisions with their treatment of ME 2, and I would say that their judgment was sound. The combat system has been tweaked to be more cover based and with the new thermal clips (think ammo supply, but they re-fluff it to fit the game worlds reality) limit mindless blasting. Now you have to be a bit more careful on your ammo expenditure, which to me adds a new level of dynamics to how you approach combat. Thankfully thermal clips can be found in and out of combat fairly easily, so it isn't to the point where it gets unfair, but I ran out of ammo several times and at one point was forced to use some hand to hand attacks to get a Krogan off my teammates. It was one of the best moments yet. Weapons and powers now have different defense types that they are effective against, which gives you a reason to consider their applications against the current enemy you're facing. Bioware also decided to scrap the inventory system altogether, which as of now I don't really miss at all. One of the things that tended to bog down game play for me was the constant need to omni-gel 3/4ths of my inventory every half-hour, which was more annoying than anything. They really put a lot of thought into that, as it doesn't disrupt the flow of the story any more, but it may be nice in the future to return to a more limited item system. Sadly, for the loot-whores, it's pretty much nonexistent, with more of mind towards researching upgrades from the schematics that you find. That being said, I don't miss their disappearance one bit...yet. One thing that does cause some sadness is the loss of the Mako, but from a design perspective, it was a good decision. As much fun as I had landing on barren planet after planet, it did get old after the 15th or so Assignment and grew very repetitive. The planet scanning mini game that replaces it is actually interesting so far, and I like the concept (once I downloaded the patches for faster scanning). The rest of the mini-games that make up the hacking parts of ME 2 are simple (at first, I jumped in with no idea how to play them) enough and only required a little trial and error if you just jump in with no prior knowledge on how they work. I like them better than the ol' frogger or simon game from the first. With that out of the way, let me get to the thing that really makes ME 2 shine, and that's its excellent cinematic style and character development. The voice work is top notch, I had many different moments where I laughed out loud, got teary eyed at some of the more somber moments, and just cheered out when something amazing or unexpected occurred. The games ability to move me and immediately engross me in the world, right from the start, is impressive, and the developers really improved their cinematography compared to the first. One thing that really helps develop the feel of the game is the music. Mass Effects music has always been spectacular, giving it at times a Blade Runner-like feel, and while I'm not normally a fan of the synth-sound, it does its job extremely well and then some. So far I have very little (if at all) complaints about this game. If anything the controls, especially after playing ME 1, take some getting used to. Being the crouch-whore that I am, I felt a bit out of place when my first reaction was to try to crouch in combat, but now there is no such thing. The cover mechanics work well, but I wish that you could separate the use/take cover/storm commands, as I sometimes had difficulty when near cover when attempting to storm away from an incoming missile. The inclusion of the health regeneration is mixed for me, as I like not having a health bar, but in this game it works. All in all this game is the closest thing to the game I would like to see and play. It may not be for everyone, but I think its appeal transcends any genre, be it rpg, fps, or whatever. An engaging story with dynamic characterization (you and your teammates), well written dialogue, and fun game-play are what make ME 2 one of the best games I have ever played, and I have played many, and it would take a very jaded gamer to hate this one. Expand
  85. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    I was a fan of the original Mass Effect, and I got to say I loved Mass Effect 2. Reworking the combat system to be a bit more action paced was a step forward. I like the character dialog, and the side quests you can do for your crew mates are very satisfying. Although I thought the ending came a bit suddenly, if you explore every single planet and get every single side quest completed, youI was a fan of the original Mass Effect, and I got to say I loved Mass Effect 2. Reworking the combat system to be a bit more action paced was a step forward. I like the character dialog, and the side quests you can do for your crew mates are very satisfying. Although I thought the ending came a bit suddenly, if you explore every single planet and get every single side quest completed, you will clock in a hefty amount of time. All in all, it was a worthy sequel to the first game, and nicely sets the stage for the third game. Expand
  86. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is a continuation of the military sci-fi Mass Effect saga developed by the now-legendary Bioware. Mass Effect 2 does a masterful job of recreating and improving on the sci-fi atmosphere and themes of the original, and brings with it further development of one of the best storylines of the decade. The gameplay, graphics, and soundtrack are all improved.

    The soundtrack, while
    Mass Effect 2 is a continuation of the military sci-fi Mass Effect saga developed by the now-legendary Bioware. Mass Effect 2 does a masterful job of recreating and improving on the sci-fi atmosphere and themes of the original, and brings with it further development of one of the best storylines of the decade. The gameplay, graphics, and soundtrack are all improved.

    The soundtrack, while it has lost much of the familiar 80's vibes associated with the original game, is nonetheless phenomenal, and will not disappoint. I liked the new soundtrack so much I ended up buying it as well.

    Perhaps the greatest improvement in Mass Effect 2 was how quickly the game got moving. In the original Mass Effect, masterpiece though it was, I often felt like I was beginning the undertaking of reading a nice book. Despite being a terrific experience on the whole, it had a slow start, and didn't become particularly interesting until after you had played for a couple hours to allow the story to develop more and get through the earlier "groundwork stages" of the game.

    In contrast, Mass Effect 2 has vastly improved in this area, and took my breath away almost as soon as I started playing. The improvements in the combat system, character cast, and riveting story kept me coming back for more and more! This was also likely due to the fact that the sequel builds on the groundwork put in place by the original game of the series. Overall, Mass Effect 2 is essentially flawless. All the familiar elements of the perfect game are here. The thought-provoking story is there. The graphics are good, and complement the setting and themes of the game nicely. The gameplay has improved, both in terms of dialog options, and in terms of pure combat-enjoyment. Don't miss out on the number one military sci-fi epic of our decade!
    Expand
  87. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    Presentation - 10
    Graphics - 10
    Sound - 10
    Gameplay - 10
    Lasting appeal - 10

    Story is great with lots of depth, the graphics and voice acting is awesome and the choices and customisability works really well... Perfection?
  88. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This is a must have game!!!! The best, buy it you won't regret it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    You get to build your own ship,assemble teams and get to choose your missions.
    Plus it has amazing graphics. no bugs, just a great game.
  89. Dec 9, 2010
    10
    It's been a while since I've played a game as good as ME2. I've never felt so connected to the characters before, the combat seemed just right, might use very slight tweaking. Story was awesome, just the whole game rocked.
  90. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. *SOME MINOR SPOILERS*
    I really liked the story, but the combat sometimes gets a little repetitive and the RPG element is just too weak, maybe even weaker than the original Mass Effect.

    Also, thus far (before Mass Effect 3 may reveal some things), the story seemed a little pointless (not saying its not good; it's just mostly irrelevant to ME1). I mean in Mass Effect 1 you discovered about the Reaper threat, and you would have expected that the Reapers show up en masse in ME2, but instead the only thing you find in ME2 that helps with the story long term is what happened to the Protheans and all those before them.

    So really, it is like:
    ME1: Reapers are coming!
    ME2: What, Reapers?
    ME3: Reapers are here!

    Mass Effect 2 could be cut out and the story on the long term is still going to be fine and I doubt anyone would notice it if the new characters are cut out in ME3.
    Expand
  91. Dec 25, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game is a wonderful story but very very nice, seems to think of a movie, but the gameplay and each player makes his decisions based on the various options and this makes it a good game, the characters are done in a very realistic but have also been taken from real people makes it even more interesting a game, the graphics are one of the best I've ever seen, in addition to those scenes where the player can do little at the end as the ship going through the remains destroyed ships from the base of the collectors is a scene from the film, beautiful and well done with many details, the game is very imaginative Expand
  92. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    Really the best shooter to come out for a while, but I can't stand fps games so maybe I'm biased. Its not really an rpg since theres no loot or inventory involved, and customization is strictly powers-based since you're going to get the upgrades for all your guns anyway (and those all have specific uses so you can't be a "shotgun x" 100% of the time really). The story is top notch andReally the best shooter to come out for a while, but I can't stand fps games so maybe I'm biased. Its not really an rpg since theres no loot or inventory involved, and customization is strictly powers-based since you're going to get the upgrades for all your guns anyway (and those all have specific uses so you can't be a "shotgun x" 100% of the time really). The story is top notch and Mass Effect is a superb sci-fi universe overall For all you casuals, the graphics are amazing. Expand
  93. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    Best game I have ever played in my life.
    The soundtrack, voice acting, gameplay. exploring and an open world game. Clocked this game 3 times and I intend to play more of it!

    10/10
  94. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    Greatest game ever dudes!!Graphics awesome,the best story,characters are perfect and so much more!!don't listen to the haters cause you will miss the Best game!!!
  95. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Simply awesome, at first its "good" but as you start playing it, it gets a lot better. Depending of what you say or do in the game, affects the story in some way. They are only a few problems like crashing and audio glitching out, but they appear rarely so it doesn't ruin the experience. I highly recommend this.
  96. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    Bioware.. is there a better RPG developer? If so, Mass Effect 2 extinguishes any doubt. A stunningly beautiful game with spectacular scenery and amazing visuals, this game will not disappoint when it comes to eye candy. A step up from the traditional RPG style of Bioware, the games combat allows real time combat and decent shooter action, with the well known Bioware stragetical pausingBioware.. is there a better RPG developer? If so, Mass Effect 2 extinguishes any doubt. A stunningly beautiful game with spectacular scenery and amazing visuals, this game will not disappoint when it comes to eye candy. A step up from the traditional RPG style of Bioware, the games combat allows real time combat and decent shooter action, with the well known Bioware stragetical pausing weve grown accustomed to all mixed together. The games real strengths come from the plot, which allows the player to choose various conversation choices aswell as plot paths which can make dramatic consequences to the way the player experiences and inevitably ends the game. If you are a veteran of RPGs or wanting to dip your toe in and test the water, Mass Effect 2 is an excellent game to experience. The worst thing about this game is the time waiting for Mass Effect 3 to be released. 10/10. Expand
  97. Jan 25, 2011
    10
    To me, in short, ME2 is close to plain awesome, in almost every aspect. Hats off to Drew Karpyshyn for inventing the ME universe, for the books and game script (and of course to all the team who participated in game development). The story, the execution, the choices, animations, combat, dialogue, immersion, believable characters, graphics, music - I was impressed. DLCs add some new actionTo me, in short, ME2 is close to plain awesome, in almost every aspect. Hats off to Drew Karpyshyn for inventing the ME universe, for the books and game script (and of course to all the team who participated in game development). The story, the execution, the choices, animations, combat, dialogue, immersion, believable characters, graphics, music - I was impressed. DLCs add some new action to the game, and if you're a fan of the franchise, you know what to do. All in all, you are left wanting more, expecting the final part of the trilogy. Highly recommended! Expand
  98. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    This is the most satisfying game I have ever played. In many series, the first game makes a hit, but then the sequels are usually just little different versions that are no better or just worse than the first. This is a huge exception. The first was great, but Mass Effect 2 is so much better. People are not happy about the less customizations in the game. Sure, I understand, but it wasThis is the most satisfying game I have ever played. In many series, the first game makes a hit, but then the sequels are usually just little different versions that are no better or just worse than the first. This is a huge exception. The first was great, but Mass Effect 2 is so much better. People are not happy about the less customizations in the game. Sure, I understand, but it was more satisfying not to have to mess with it and just shoot, throw, and electricute things while fighting. There is still customization, just not as upgrades. It's mostly just armor parts, finding another weapon, or armor colors and pieces. It's better for the people who just want to play and enjoy the movie-like game. The many choices and path ways for your character to go through dictate what happens in the future of the story. Also, some events in this game are a result of what happened in your character's story in the first Mass Effect whether you import your character or not. It's just amazing and easy to get sucked into just like a great movie. Just like my first Mass Effect review, this is something that you have to walk into not expecting it to be like any other game or run the same way as its prequel, which has disappointed people. Mass Effect 2 is in a league of its own, making it one of the top rated PC games of all time on Metacritic (94). Expand
  99. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    1. Bioware is a big dog dev, so all the advertising reviewers must give more than what it really deserve to get more ad money from them. (i.e. After giving bad review on square enix game kane and lynch 2, one of GS reviewers were fired.)

    2. This is no longer an innovative TPS RPG hybrid once ME1 tried. This is average at best 3rd person cover shooter with stupid A.I. (If you want top
    1. Bioware is a big dog dev, so all the advertising reviewers must give more than what it really deserve to get more ad money from them. (i.e. After giving bad review on square enix game kane and lynch 2, one of GS reviewers were fired.)

    2. This is no longer an innovative TPS RPG hybrid once ME1 tried. This is average at best 3rd person cover shooter with stupid A.I. (If you want top notch 3rd psn cover shooter gears of war is the answer.)

    3. Story is shallow as hell, almost no sidequest, no world exploration, linear story without any meaningful plot variations. repetitive combat, surprisingly stiff/ limited character animation for action game.

    4. Cinematic graphic presentation and SF concept/ artwork and some cool biotic skill effect is the only things that save this mediocre cover shooter from rated more than what it really deserves.

    Conclusion : cool SF concept art/ cool biotic skill effect will deceive your mind but underneath the shiny shallow shell, there's plenty of mediocrity of gameplay and contents at its heart.
    Expand
  100. Mar 6, 2011
    10
    This game was very enjoyable. The graphics were great, the story line was great, the movie clips were not to time consuming and the fighting was fun. The only thing that was borderline boring was the way you went about gaining necessary points or resources for upgrading weapons but it was not bad and I found out in the end I did way more than necessary. The only thing I would complainThis game was very enjoyable. The graphics were great, the story line was great, the movie clips were not to time consuming and the fighting was fun. The only thing that was borderline boring was the way you went about gaining necessary points or resources for upgrading weapons but it was not bad and I found out in the end I did way more than necessary. The only thing I would complain about is the total lack of need for the sexual content to make this a good game. I don't understand why it was put in there. I would love to have played this game with my son but not going to happen due to this content plus borderline unacceptable as a married man. Most men would probably not feel comfortable with their wives or daughters watching as they played this game. Why is that necessary? Great game other than that though. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Mass Effect 2 resumes with pride the path opened by the first game. This sequel is a lesson of how things should be made.
  2. Mass Effect 2 delivers a story that's deeper than what many novelists are capable of, and its action is better than what most Hollywood directors are creating nowadays. It's an addictive, engrossing experience that many gamers will replay over and over while they hold their breath waiting for the third game.
  3. A brilliant mix of shooter and role-playing, filled with great characters, excellent design, lots of action and clever dialogue. It's a shame though that Bioware did not improve the inventory and skill system of the first game, but actually reduced it even more. I really wished there were more customization options, more ways to develop and gear up my characters. But all these are merely small points of criticism, since there is so much to feel and experience in this game. Mass Effect 2 is a thrilling, emotional ride and ultimately every bit as good as its predecessor.