Mass Effect 2 PC

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3910 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HolgerM.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    Practically perfect. My actual score would be something like 9.5 because there are a few minor bugs and some elements could be refined a little. But the game is awesome. Surpasses ME1 in almost every area. More team members, better and wittier interactions (Talk to Joker, you'll know what I mean). All in all, you will not regret buying this game. Just look at the scores. I'm not Practically perfect. My actual score would be something like 9.5 because there are a few minor bugs and some elements could be refined a little. But the game is awesome. Surpasses ME1 in almost every area. More team members, better and wittier interactions (Talk to Joker, you'll know what I mean). All in all, you will not regret buying this game. Just look at the scores. I'm not the only one praising the game. Expand
  2. K.Hannes
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    Best Sci-Fi Action RPG with best cinematics, best voice acting, incredible Story, bombastic soundtrack and a Main Charactar everyone can identify with. A+, its definitely worth its money (no Bugs encountered through the entire game (15-16 hours with half of the optional Quests) Wonderfull work BioWare. Bioshock/Fallout3 - could never reach this perfectness and deepness and epicness of ME2 Best Sci-Fi Action RPG with best cinematics, best voice acting, incredible Story, bombastic soundtrack and a Main Charactar everyone can identify with. A+, its definitely worth its money (no Bugs encountered through the entire game (15-16 hours with half of the optional Quests) Wonderfull work BioWare. Bioshock/Fallout3 - could never reach this perfectness and deepness and epicness of ME2 story, atmosphere or even the Style and Graphics. Expand
  3. LukeK.
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    This game is overall impressive leaving me in awe at almost every decision I made. people will temper with the fact that it doesn't show 100% rpg elements but the story feeds the addiction to want to play more pulling you in as commander Shepard i was far more than impressed by the story and way it reflects on the end I didn't find any need to repeat actions i recommend playing This game is overall impressive leaving me in awe at almost every decision I made. people will temper with the fact that it doesn't show 100% rpg elements but the story feeds the addiction to want to play more pulling you in as commander Shepard i was far more than impressed by the story and way it reflects on the end I didn't find any need to repeat actions i recommend playing on insanity to really dive you in to some intense game play making your actions reflect that much more on the outcome. Expand
  4. GregoryS
    Mar 15, 2010
    10
    First off, the Story is both Epic and amazing, one of the best stories I've seen in a Video Game and books that I have read. I would go on and babble about every last thing I loved about Mass Effect 2 but that would take weeks to do and is easier to simply say that the entire thing amazing and I loved it all. But due to the fact this game is made by Bioware no one should really be First off, the Story is both Epic and amazing, one of the best stories I've seen in a Video Game and books that I have read. I would go on and babble about every last thing I loved about Mass Effect 2 but that would take weeks to do and is easier to simply say that the entire thing amazing and I loved it all. But due to the fact this game is made by Bioware no one should really be surprised since amazing story lines are the trademark of most if not all Bioware games. Mass Effect 2 improved upon the game elements that were lacking in Mass Effect and either removed them or Improved them; such as the equipment Management that was a real pain in my opinion. I honestly cannot think of a single thing that I can complain about that is apart of the game. The thing I will complain about is that my laptop doesn't support the PC version which is more my fault for buying a crappy laptop rather then it being Bioware's fault. If you haven't played this game you should, if you have and didn't like it something's wrong with you. Expand
  5. SeanR
    Mar 7, 2010
    10
    By far the best game I've ever played. The story is brilliant, the decisions you can make can be extremely difficult, amazing character skill trees, phenomenal voice acting, stunning graphics, incredibly fun gameplay, this game has it all. And in addition, there are virtually no bugs or glitches, saves are instantaneous, and the characters are extremely interesting. The research By far the best game I've ever played. The story is brilliant, the decisions you can make can be extremely difficult, amazing character skill trees, phenomenal voice acting, stunning graphics, incredibly fun gameplay, this game has it all. And in addition, there are virtually no bugs or glitches, saves are instantaneous, and the characters are extremely interesting. The research system is brilliant as well, however I would complain about how the consistent need to gather minerals via scanning can get tedious after awhile. Also, though the side missions are more in depth than in ME1, they still seem to fall short of the rest of the game and seem more as added content to try and appease players rather than missions that were actually well-developed (not to mention there are a very small number of sidequests for an RPG of this scale). All in all, this game has everything any RPG or sci-fi lover could ever hope for in a game. I definitely recommend it for anyone who is a fan of either of the aforementioned genres. Expand
  6. BillZ
    Apr 7, 2010
    10
    Overall Impression: Absolutely Awesome. Most of the big-picture criticism I've been hearing about this game regards it as an RPG, a shooter, or both. But really, describing it as these genres just misses something big: at its heart, it's a *dynamic story* game. It's all about the characters and the plot. The shooting is fun, and adds that crucial element of skill that most Overall Impression: Absolutely Awesome. Most of the big-picture criticism I've been hearing about this game regards it as an RPG, a shooter, or both. But really, describing it as these genres just misses something big: at its heart, it's a *dynamic story* game. It's all about the characters and the plot. The shooting is fun, and adds that crucial element of skill that most gamers need, but it's still nothing I'd quite call a real 'shooter'. Likewise, having control over your face, armor, class and powers adds customization in the sense of an RPG, but player-character development isn't what I'd say is the main focus, and true star, of the game, and you're not just following a rigid character along witnessing his story, either. The greatest aspect of the game is the story - not just the content and succession of events, but the incredible potential that the player has to mold the game around his choices of dialog and action. The characters are deep and enthralling, and the story content itself is very cool, but the thing that makes me want to play Mass Effect 2 over and over - what makes the game so uniquely engaging - is how dynamic it is: how involving and rewarding the player's role in the story feels, and the insane degree of flexibility written into what can happen in a relatively fixed and linear world. Sure it has its flaws: little things like graphics bugs (though these were rare), and frustrating flaws in cover mechanics, and class balance (mainly for Insanity difficulty), and, of course, the super-boring-not-interesting-or-innovative-at-all mining 'activity' (chore), but none of the game's downsides were great enough to take away from that epic and satisfying feeling you get once you're done. Expand
  7. JohnH.
    Apr 7, 2010
    10
    This game was an amazing game. It continues from the first game very well and keeps an interesting story throughout the game. Everything in this game was done brilliantly and always has enough to keep you interested. I hope that Bioware will be able to make Mass Effect 3 as awesome as this.
  8. AkiI
    Apr 7, 2010
    10
    I haven't played a game as satisfying as ME2 in years, on keeping all it's promises and surpassing all expectations. A true roleplaying game, with choices you've made following you to the end, instead of just the hollow leveling. Makers of Fina Fantasy should play this game to learn how to write good and believable characters and outcomes.
  9. JohnW
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Absolute masterpiece. Best game I have ever played - engaging story, characters and environments. Everything in this game feels so perfect - this is the best a game can possibly get.
  10. DanielChapman
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    This is without a doubt the Game Of The Year! I knew it would be fantastic/incredible/unbelievable before it launched and now all I can say is buy this game. You will not be sorry! Well?...what are you waiting for?
  11. GordonF.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Words cannot describe the my awe-struck expression as I played. Brilliant, unbelievable, a masterpiece.
  12. MaxKJ
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    This game is beyond perfect. I love RPG's and Bioware outdid themselves once again! This is, as said, more of a shooter than a hardcore RPG. That said, it doesn't remove any of the fun you've experienced in other RPG's. There is some slight design problems though, the game misses some hotkeys (standard for journal, squad etc). I don't get why people are This game is beyond perfect. I love RPG's and Bioware outdid themselves once again! This is, as said, more of a shooter than a hardcore RPG. That said, it doesn't remove any of the fun you've experienced in other RPG's. There is some slight design problems though, the game misses some hotkeys (standard for journal, squad etc). I don't get why people are complaining about switching weapons though. No, there is no direct hotkeys, but you can scroll, and you can also use tactical-pause to switch weapons like in the first game. Works perfect. I do however miss the equipment handling from the first game, having to decide what bullet/weapon/armor modifiers to use etc. Also, I don't get why they won't allow same gender romances, I want Miranda! ;) The thermal clips (ammo instead of overheat?) works fine, it's not nearly as disturbing as i thought it would be. In short, 10/10. The game is beautiful and well worth the Deluxe Edition money I paid for it. Those minor flaws I named doesn't come nearby anything that could reduce the score. Brilliant Game. Expand
  13. ChrisE
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    An utterly amazing experience. The incredible opening, the experience of meeting your first new crew member, the combat, the 'blade runner' esque settings. Almost a work of gaming art. It's such a shame there are idiots on here giving this game a zero score. Idiots. I mean, seriously. Really zero??
  14. WilliamR
    Feb 10, 2010
    10
    First off I don't like giving 10s to games because it makes me feel like a fanboy. But when I've spent the last two weeks playing this game, gone through the game 3 times, and still can't stop thinking about it, a ten is really all I can give it. I loved the first mass effect because it sucked you into it's universe, I read all the codex entries, talked to every NPC First off I don't like giving 10s to games because it makes me feel like a fanboy. But when I've spent the last two weeks playing this game, gone through the game 3 times, and still can't stop thinking about it, a ten is really all I can give it. I loved the first mass effect because it sucked you into it's universe, I read all the codex entries, talked to every NPC and even read all the planet bios in the galaxy map. Most importantly though is that you actually felt like you were Shepard, you shaped him in the hero you wanted him to be and because of that you actually cared for him. Your squad wasn't as well developed as I'd of liked but you still had that connection to character like Garrus and Wrex since they told you about themselves. Then comes Mass Effect 2 and it blows it's predecesor out of the water. The combat has been tightened with the cover system being more responsive, and teammates (and enemies) that are actually competent and each class has become more distinct with weapon restrictions and special abilities only they can use. They improved the musical score by leaps and bounds with orchestral music that you can't get out of your head. Since the only song worth noting in the original was theme in the ending cutscene that's impressive. But the thing that made Mass Effect 2 great was the story. The main story is decent but not mind blowing till you reach the climax (which will leave you breathless), but the stories of your squadmates are what make the game. They're all well made and do what the original tried to accomplish, make you care about your squad as much as your character. The fact that they can die in the final mission if you made a wrong choice or didn't flesh out their background makes you scared when you need to make a decision. When a character dies you actually feel distressed and guilty, the fact that Bioware assembled a cast full of people you don't just find interesting but actually like is a huge achievement. Don't even get me started on the voice acting, it's not the best voice acting I've ever heard but it's very, very close. The fact that it maintains that quality for almost the entire 31,000 lines of dialogue in the game is nothing short of astounding. Despite my high praise the game isn't for everybody, if you need to shoot something every couple seconds this probably isn't the game for you. But if you're like me and want to get pulled into an interesting and fully fleshed out role playing experience then the only reason you should not be playing this game is that you are currently finishing the first game. Expand
  15. NoelK
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    In all seriousness, this is the best, most amazing, and most epic game I've ever played and/or seen in my entire life. Even though it is only a game, it is better than any movie I've ever seen, any show I've ever watched, and any book I've ever read.
  16. TruthSpeaker
    Feb 13, 2010
    10
    This is frankly one of the best game I have ever played on my PC. It is the best rpg-shooter, period. It improves upon its predecessor in every way. Weapons handling : Aiming is better. New weapons aka heavy weapons such as the Cain nuke launcher or missile launcher are great additions. No more stupid inventory handling (constantly checking weapon/gear stats, and selling the crappy ones This is frankly one of the best game I have ever played on my PC. It is the best rpg-shooter, period. It improves upon its predecessor in every way. Weapons handling : Aiming is better. New weapons aka heavy weapons such as the Cain nuke launcher or missile launcher are great additions. No more stupid inventory handling (constantly checking weapon/gear stats, and selling the crappy ones to the vendors or turning them to omnigel, very boring IMO). Tactics have been streamlined to just two commands (from the previous 4) : hold position using the 'Q' and 'E' keys, and regroup using the 'C' key, much much better. NPC conversations/dialogues are more vibrant and interesting (did they hire a better writer?), story was also more intriguing. No stupid Mako driving on the planet (which never made any sense anyway, not with the current technological level), just scan a planet while you're at orbit and send a probe if you find anything interesting. Brilliant! Bottom-line : where the previous game had a lot of hassles and redundancies, this game has none. Oh and the graphics have also improved, especially the textures which look much more crisp. Excellent game. Can't wait for the third installment. For those who have never played ME1 but would like to after playing ME2, a word of warning, you will be sorely dissapointed, like I said ME2 is a huge improvement upon its predecessor. Expand
  17. LordN
    Feb 14, 2010
    10
    Beautifull cinematic game that builds right through the game. It was refreshing to see a game that had a feeling for timing and heightened the tension at the right moments while questioning your ethical views of the detailed alien universe around you, endless possibilities, and endless fun. This is one of the few games I have ever finished without losing interest, there was only about 20 Beautifull cinematic game that builds right through the game. It was refreshing to see a game that had a feeling for timing and heightened the tension at the right moments while questioning your ethical views of the detailed alien universe around you, endless possibilities, and endless fun. This is one of the few games I have ever finished without losing interest, there was only about 20 minutes during this game where I became a bit bored with dealing with the crews problems. Recommended to anyone who enjoys Sci-Fi or RPGs, the shooter element is a backseat on tradition. Expand
  18. ME2pwns
    Feb 14, 2010
    10
    Good graphics? Check. +1 (improvement upon ME1) Good sfx and music? Check. +1 Good voice acting? Check. +1 Hassle free inventory management? Check. +1 Great & interesting dialogue options? Check. +1 Engrossing story? Check. +1 Hassle free planet scanning? Check. +1 Great controls and weapon handling? Check. +1 More intuitive and streamlined squad tactics? Check. +1 DRM-Free? Check. +1 Good graphics? Check. +1 (improvement upon ME1) Good sfx and music? Check. +1 Good voice acting? Check. +1 Hassle free inventory management? Check. +1 Great & interesting dialogue options? Check. +1 Engrossing story? Check. +1 Hassle free planet scanning? Check. +1 Great controls and weapon handling? Check. +1 More intuitive and streamlined squad tactics? Check. +1 DRM-Free? Check. +1 Interesting level design? Check. +1 (unlike ME1) Whoa wait a minute. That's alot of +1's. I count a rating of 11. Too bad metacritic's ceiling is a 10. Anyway this game is one of the best shooter-rpg's you will ever play - period. It's better than Borderlands and it is definitely better than that overrated garbage Fallout 3. Get it now! Expand
  19. DookS
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    Biowares second foray into the Mass Effect universe is a brilliant Sci-Fi RPG that fixes everything about Mass Effect 1 and attempts to finally pull computer RPG's (kicking and screaming) away from the pen and paper roots that have held them back over recent years. Bioware casts aside the usual character development conventions of yesteryear and daringly challenges the player to Biowares second foray into the Mass Effect universe is a brilliant Sci-Fi RPG that fixes everything about Mass Effect 1 and attempts to finally pull computer RPG's (kicking and screaming) away from the pen and paper roots that have held them back over recent years. Bioware casts aside the usual character development conventions of yesteryear and daringly challenges the player to define their characters not by loot and stats but by actions and interactions with npc's and the game world itself. Of course change is usually met with apprehension and sometimes open hostility. The stat and random number generator crowd decry ME2 as not a real RPG, but i would say it may be the first true computer RPG, where your character is truly defined by his actions and not some color coded piece of loot that requires 20 strength to use. Kudos to Bioware for bravely challenging convention and bringing crpg's into the modern era. Expand
  20. SteveM.
    Feb 25, 2010
    10
    Quite possibly one of the greatest games of modern times. We are seeing the future of gaming with ME2, in depth decision making in the progression of th game. Far more developed than the game-play in ME1, which was good, but this is just better in everyway. Graphics are incredibly eye-pleasing and cinematics suggest this is one of those few games that deserves to be put up on the big Quite possibly one of the greatest games of modern times. We are seeing the future of gaming with ME2, in depth decision making in the progression of th game. Far more developed than the game-play in ME1, which was good, but this is just better in everyway. Graphics are incredibly eye-pleasing and cinematics suggest this is one of those few games that deserves to be put up on the big screen, something which is already being discussed. I look forward the the 3 and final installment of the series and hope they improve on this yet again. Expand
  21. TorV
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    tl:dr, extremely amazing game with a few very minor issues that don't subtract at all from the expereince. 98/100 I approached this title with slight fear. Usually when you have too high expectations to something, you're disappointed. Fortunately, this isn't the case here, Mass Effect 2 took my pretty unreasonable expectations, and exceeded them. This game is one of the tl:dr, extremely amazing game with a few very minor issues that don't subtract at all from the expereince. 98/100 I approached this title with slight fear. Usually when you have too high expectations to something, you're disappointed. Fortunately, this isn't the case here, Mass Effect 2 took my pretty unreasonable expectations, and exceeded them. This game is one of the best games I have ever played. Bioware has done a lot to make this game better than the previous, in fact I can't disagree with a single change they've made to the game. The graphics are better than ever, crisp and clear, though it's still a shame that the engine doesn't support high anti-aliasing. That's a very minor drawback, however, as the graphics truly are the best I've seen in a game since Crysis. The sluggish combat from the first game has been totally eradicated, replaced with a much more fast and streamlined version. The clunky inventory and upgrade system has been abolished too, replaced with an overall better system with no inventory at all, though a few more weapons to pick from would have been nice. The resource gathering for upgrades part has been deepened a bit, now you scan planets for materials with your cursor. It's actually a really cozy mini-game, but it can quickly get lengthy. Interestingly, you can play the entire game without even encountering the resource mini-game (my first playthrough) and still get through to the other side, albeit a bit battered. The two other hacking mini-games are really fun and quick to play, so no issues at all there. Storywise the game is excellent. I won't spoil anything, but The Illusive Man is a highly interesting piece of work, and your cooperation with the notorious organization Cerberus presents a few intriguing moral dilemmas. Speaking of moral dilemmas, this game is riddled with them all over. It's really a very gray game, and there is never a "right" choice. Overall however, the characters, your crew, are the focus of this game. They're developed brilliantly and all of them have a certain depth to them, some more than other, though. You really grow to like them, which you truly find out during the final mission. Some of their personal missions have a few real tear-jerker moments too. Normally they'd seem a bit fake at best, but the writing is so well done and the voiceacting so amazing that it's really believable, which is really rare in a game. It would really be a shame for Bioware to throw the surviving crew away for replacements in the final installment of the series. Of course, some things must be bad about this game. Other than what you may have extrapolated from the wall of text above, there are a few slight graphical issues with tearing around the eyes and the mouth corners at a few points during the game. Gameplay-wise I have nothing derogatory to add. Mass Effect 2 is all the way through a polished and exhilarating experience. I've seen complaints that it's not a true rpg, but to say that you have to ask yourself, what is an RPG game? Let me clarify that RPG tag that gets thrown around so much nowadays. Role Playing Game. It's all about immersiveness and choices. For example, Half Life 2 is almost a role-playing game. You just need choices and dialogue and you're there. Some people however seem to be so far stuck up their own a**holes that they think the definition of an RPG is "DnD ruleset". Wake up, and listen to the word you're saying. For extra clarification, I will say it one more time. RPG = Role Playing Game Is Mass Effect 2 this? Hell yeah. Be sure to buy this wonder while you can. It's a gaming experience that rarely comes around. Expand
  22. TibsC
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    Mass effect introduces a new generation of RPG finally free from all the constraints of D&D from the eighties! No stats, no inventory but a awesome universe in wich YOU are the hero. All you actions have real consequences, THIS is role playing. The characters, the story, but above all, the universe are incredibly well written. With also a very good realization ME2 is one the most Mass effect introduces a new generation of RPG finally free from all the constraints of D&D from the eighties! No stats, no inventory but a awesome universe in wich YOU are the hero. All you actions have real consequences, THIS is role playing. The characters, the story, but above all, the universe are incredibly well written. With also a very good realization ME2 is one the most fascinating games ever created. I go back among the stars :) ... Thx Bioware! Expand
  23. BrandonJ
    Feb 4, 2010
    10
    Possibly my favorite game of all time now (beating out the original Legend of Zelda, Final Fantasy VI, and maybe, just maybe, Morrowind). At first I approached the game cautiously. It seemed like the systems had been stripped down too much. It turned out I was wrong. By the time I was over halfway through the game (about 13 hours or so in), I had as many (or more) combat skills to worry Possibly my favorite game of all time now (beating out the original Legend of Zelda, Final Fantasy VI, and maybe, just maybe, Morrowind). At first I approached the game cautiously. It seemed like the systems had been stripped down too much. It turned out I was wrong. By the time I was over halfway through the game (about 13 hours or so in), I had as many (or more) combat skills to worry about as in the first game. My adept was flinging biotics left and write while using the sniper rifle to take out foes at range, a rocket launcher to take down mechs, and a sub-machine gun for anything that got close. The only thing I was really missing was the wide range of armor for the first game, but that provided the bonus of losing the cluttered inventory system of the first game. I know some people dog the mini-games, but the only one that became tedious toward the end of the game was the scanning/probe launching to harvest materials. My only complaint about the other two is that they probably give you too much time to solve them. The story itself was great. As anyone who reads a lot knows, there's nothing new under the sun. All stories are based on certain universal themes and that's the case here, as well. But no other game's story lets you make choices like the ones in ME2 without cushioning the impact. If you choose to leave innocents to die a horrible death, you'll hear their screams. But spending that time saving them could have other effects you might not be willing to accept. Of course, all of your decisions come down to the suicide run at the end of the game where no member of your team is guaranteed to make it out alive. Having played through this using a save from ME1, I can also safely say that many of your decisions in this game will also affect what happens in ME3. I actually had an ally that I made in ME1 contact my character to say they'd be there when the final conflict occurs (presumably in ME3). I can only imagine how the varied choices in ME2 could impact ME3 (instigating a war? putting dangerous technology in the wrong hands?). Finally we have a game that begins to show the promise of truly interactive storytelling. Expand
  24. GordonF
    Feb 7, 2010
    10
    I gave Mass Effect 2 10 points for a reason. The first piece of the series was very good as well but it also had many-many flaws. (boring fights, space buggy, and e.g. infiltrator class was merely useless as sniper.) But it seems that Bioware learned from these mistakes, they've listened to reviews and polished the flaws into a perfect gem. Before I played I've heard that the RP I gave Mass Effect 2 10 points for a reason. The first piece of the series was very good as well but it also had many-many flaws. (boring fights, space buggy, and e.g. infiltrator class was merely useless as sniper.) But it seems that Bioware learned from these mistakes, they've listened to reviews and polished the flaws into a perfect gem. Before I played I've heard that the RP part of the game is really dull. It is not. I am a great western RPG fan and I found ME2 a wonderful RPG. Why? You have a good reason for both being a Paragon or a Renegade. In many other RPGs evil characters are just slimy bastards, skinning a sad puppy alive just because for one reason: they are eeeeevul. Veeeeery eeeevul. In ME2 you are not purely evil (if that is your choice) but you are a ruthless killing machine with only one goal: complete the mission at any costs. If Dirty Harry was evil, then yes, Renegade is evil. Some might say that there are way too many cutscenes. But you also have to recognize that today games are not like as they used to be. ME2 is a complex masterpiece of an action RPG and a exciting space action movie with a very wellbuilt universe. (I am not a big fan of sci-fi but this world got me.) The best improve was mining tho. It is still better to scan a planet with a mouse than navigating a vehicle that acts like a one-legged blind dog that has rabies. And in ME2 you can actually make use of the minerals. I enjoyed gathering them for the upgrades. So I could craft my very own variety of heavy weapons. The only reason why I WOULD give it a 9, are the DLCs. I hate greedy companies and Bioware became one. It's okay to have more missions for money. But better gear for money... that is lame. And the additional hencheman "quest" is also very lame and pointless. But since I am talking about the game called Mass Effect 2 and not the DLCs, I give it a 10. I am looking forward for part 3. p.s. Okay, the terminator endboss was gay, but we all like huge robots. Expand
  25. AnonYmous
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    Great work from Bioware, once again. It's fun, challenging (on insanity), and makes you wish there was more. While it's not innovative in the least, could use a graphical tune up (at least from a PC user's perspective), and doesn't really move Mass Effect's story very far along, it's a great RPG/FPS shooter that is worth full price, you'll get at least 2 Great work from Bioware, once again. It's fun, challenging (on insanity), and makes you wish there was more. While it's not innovative in the least, could use a graphical tune up (at least from a PC user's perspective), and doesn't really move Mass Effect's story very far along, it's a great RPG/FPS shooter that is worth full price, you'll get at least 2 plays out of this (for about 50-60~ hours total), if not more. Expand
  26. IanS.
    Mar 5, 2010
    10
    Very well made, engrossing game that will easily eat up hundreds of hours of your life because of its incredible re-playability if you let it. The quality and presentation of the story is top of the line, and the game play is smooth and action-packed. If you are looking for a more traditional RPG where a large portion of your game time is spent sifting through piles of loot and armor Very well made, engrossing game that will easily eat up hundreds of hours of your life because of its incredible re-playability if you let it. The quality and presentation of the story is top of the line, and the game play is smooth and action-packed. If you are looking for a more traditional RPG where a large portion of your game time is spent sifting through piles of loot and armor looking to mini-max all your characters, then this game is not for you, because it is an ACTION RPG, with heavy emphasis on the action in this case. (Just like all bioware games, I might add). The game plays well, and is very challenging and requires a tactical approach if you are willing to play it on the highest difficulty settings. Also, why does Metacritic count the ratings of people who haven't even played the game all the way through? This game deserves a user score higher than 8.8. Expand
  27. TomP
    Apr 15, 2010
    10
    The best game ive ever played, amazing story, fantastic graphics, fasinating characters and locations, truly epic score, fast and intense combat, i could go on and on what makes this game great. The only dissapointment for me was the removel of the RPG elements from the first game, Inventory managment, not nearly as much skills in the first game, four upgrades per body region ( head, The best game ive ever played, amazing story, fantastic graphics, fasinating characters and locations, truly epic score, fast and intense combat, i could go on and on what makes this game great. The only dissapointment for me was the removel of the RPG elements from the first game, Inventory managment, not nearly as much skills in the first game, four upgrades per body region ( head, torso, legs, arms, shoulders, ) i expected tons and tons of loot like the first game but we cant have everything, only 3 guns (aside from heavy weapons which has five) per weapon class. but these things can be overlooked easily. Expand
  28. YongWenC.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    An excellent game with good storyline, characters and combat mechanics. Minor glitches and flaws with user interface but still generally does not affect gameplay.
  29. MichalH.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Simply the best action RPG, and one of the best games released in this decade. Game lets you control an undestructible marine Shepard and puts you into heat of battle better than ever before!
  30. MajorA.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Wondering if some of these critics actually play the game or just bash to help their commitments to other upcomming developments. This game is the top of its kind, and there are no bugs worth giving this less than a 96 in metascore or a 10 user only rating for gameplay. META remove critics paid or giving this game anything below a 90, they have not touched the game to rate so low. Wondering if some of these critics actually play the game or just bash to help their commitments to other upcomming developments. This game is the top of its kind, and there are no bugs worth giving this less than a 96 in metascore or a 10 user only rating for gameplay. META remove critics paid or giving this game anything below a 90, they have not touched the game to rate so low. Reputable critics not less than 98, so go figure. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 96
    Mass Effect 2 resumes with pride the path opened by the first game. This sequel is a lesson of how things should be made.
  2. Mass Effect 2 delivers a story that's deeper than what many novelists are capable of, and its action is better than what most Hollywood directors are creating nowadays. It's an addictive, engrossing experience that many gamers will replay over and over while they hold their breath waiting for the third game.
  3. A brilliant mix of shooter and role-playing, filled with great characters, excellent design, lots of action and clever dialogue. It's a shame though that Bioware did not improve the inventory and skill system of the first game, but actually reduced it even more. I really wished there were more customization options, more ways to develop and gear up my characters. But all these are merely small points of criticism, since there is so much to feel and experience in this game. Mass Effect 2 is a thrilling, emotional ride and ultimately every bit as good as its predecessor.