Mass Effect 2 Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4098 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Mass Effect trilogy is a science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life forms and mysterious uncharted planets. In this dark second chapter, Saren’s evil army of Geth soldiers has just been defeated, and humans, who are still struggling to make theirThe Mass Effect trilogy is a science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life forms and mysterious uncharted planets. In this dark second chapter, Saren’s evil army of Geth soldiers has just been defeated, and humans, who are still struggling to make their mark on the galactic stage, are now faced with an even greater peril. [BioWare] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Mass Effect 2 Overlord - Overlord Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Despite some graphical disappointments and the infamous console-driven imprint, the next chapter of this beautiful Bioware saga stands with right among the most enjoyable and immersive adventures ever created for the videogame industry.
  2. Mass Effect 2 is a triumph of an action game, blending satisfying shooter levels with dark themes and hours of heated debate.
  3. Mass Effect 2 is an epic in every sense, not forgetting anything. It can hold us until the last second, and still allows us to go further.
  4. Mass Effect 2 captures the elements that made the original a game to remember, showing once more the mastery of Bioware creating great stories and unforgettable characters. Not happy with that, the studio shows their will to surpass themselves with a very improved combat system which does a lot of right things to approach the gameplay of the best third person shooters available. Perhaps, in some aspects the team has been too overzealous to streamline certain aspects of the first game, loosing a bit of the original ingenuity, but it can't be discussed that the result is a more polished and focused title.
  5. 92
    On most levels it’s hard to fault Mass Effect 2; this is a sequel that polishes many of the original’s faults, tightening the combat and turning the screw on Shepard in the fight to save humanity with an impressive flair.
  6. Mass Effect 2 may have turned a bit more into a shooter than its predecessor, but the story and the dense atmosphere will appeal to SciFi- and roleplay fans alike.
  7. Remove the ho-hum gunplay, and the rest is an interactive action movie that's decent enough for one walkthrough. Don’t go for seconds, though. And if you’re still craving for a space opera fix by the time you’re done with Mass Effect 2, better rent all five seasons of Babylon 5.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 576
  1. AkiI
    Apr 7, 2010
    10
    I haven't played a game as satisfying as ME2 in years, on keeping all it's promises and surpassing all expectations. A true I haven't played a game as satisfying as ME2 in years, on keeping all it's promises and surpassing all expectations. A true roleplaying game, with choices you've made following you to the end, instead of just the hollow leveling. Makers of Fina Fantasy should play this game to learn how to write good and believable characters and outcomes. Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2014
    10
    Great Game. Combat is fun. Mainstoryline is a bit lackluster, but the sidestories are on of the best I have ever enjoyed in a game. MemorableGreat Game. Combat is fun. Mainstoryline is a bit lackluster, but the sidestories are on of the best I have ever enjoyed in a game. Memorable characters and a lot of character interaction. Choices matter sometimes (more than in dragon age, but less than in witcher 2) .Overall: 10/10 Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is definitely one of the best action-rpg games in history. Even though people criticize the lack of inventory and differentMass Effect 2 is definitely one of the best action-rpg games in history. Even though people criticize the lack of inventory and different option, i actually like the streamlined changes. It puts more focus on the story and gameplay instead of stats. The story is definitely one of the best and the voice acting is terrific. t's hard not to love the hateful Illusive Man or Legion or Grunt. Mass Effect 2 seems to have done many things right and i am glad that it is a commercial and critical success. Expand
  4. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    For me, this is one of the greatest game of all time. I played through 6 times if not more!

    Ofc there are problems like minor bugs, but the
    For me, this is one of the greatest game of all time. I played through 6 times if not more!

    Ofc there are problems like minor bugs, but the ultimate blow to this game is the lack of equipment!!!

    Beside that, i extremely satisfied with this game.
    Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    I recently bought the Mass Effect trilogy, played through the first game, loved it, and came into the second one with very high hopes. WhileI recently bought the Mass Effect trilogy, played through the first game, loved it, and came into the second one with very high hopes. While it lived up to many of my standards, I see why some do complain it doesn't live up to the original. Mass Effect 1 was more focused on RPG elements and choice based plot, with less focus on shooting sequences. Mass Effect 2 changes that. Since ME2 was a very anticipated release, I think Bioware tried to make it a more crowd pleasing game. ME2 thrives in it's combat elements, graphics, and plot, but lags in being an RPG. Leveling up was toned down, along with various other elements. Other than that though, I feel Mass Effect 2 is a great game, with good gameplay as well as a plot and characters that makes you care for others on your pixelated screen of choice. Expand
  6. AndyG
    Feb 1, 2010
    8
    Not a bad game, but i don't want to play it again. Core shooting game-play get a bit repetitive. The level design is a little Not a bad game, but i don't want to play it again. Core shooting game-play get a bit repetitive. The level design is a little uninspiring. RPG elements...hmm you level up but there are no visible stats. Game was not designed for a pc, the menus don't take advantage of the mouse. You can't double click on anything. Mini games were bad, and really take you out of the game. In fallout 3 you had the lock picking that wasn't to bad... The problem with the mini games is you must play them in order to upgrade. The whole time i'm scanning the planets looking for minerals i keep thinking why can't my annoying ship secretary do this. Maybe a flying mini game or space stock market mini game would have been more fun. The other problem is i just play dragon age for PC and loved it, so i was hoping for a similar experience, however this is an action-shooter-adventure. I liked the ending, trying to use plot devices to kill off the more annoying characters, plus i also like the final boss and most of the cutsceens were fun. Thought the music was pretty good. About 19 hours of game play. A lot of Polish, nice graphics. Expand
  7. Mar 11, 2018
    0
    OK, so why such a bad score? Is it fair?

    I want to be clear about one thing. This is NOT a review based on how much I loved the game
    OK, so why such a bad score? Is it fair?

    I want to be clear about one thing. This is NOT a review based on how much I loved the game ORIGINALLY. It is a review of the game as it is NOW.

    Why the difference? The game is still for sale on Origin, which, in my mind, confers a responsibility on the part of EA to ensure that it actually works on modern systems. IT DOES NOT.

    Specifically, there are game ending bugs associated with both the Liara and Kasumi missions. Game ending. As in, no way past.

    I have wasted quite a bit of time on this, and I heartily regret my decision to repurchase this game (my original purchase was via CD, and it was too scratched up to reload).

    Buying this game in 2010 was a great idea. Buying this game today is a complete waste of time and money. Given the spectacular incompetence typically shown by EA in almost everything they do I probably should have expected it, but I didn't. So shame on me.

    Edit: I spent 3 hours online with EA technical support. Three (3) different people. Their technical support is singularly inept. End result? It is a BUG. They could not figure out a way around it. It is a top of the line system that I play tons of games on without any problems. It is SHAMEFUL that they are selling old software that they know probably won't work.
    Expand

See all 576 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Mass Effect 2: Inside the Reviews

    Mass Effect 2: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: January 28, 2010
    We compare Mass Effect 2 to other high-scoring titles, and go deeper inside the reviews to find the specific factors behind all the hype.